News
0

Apple is swimming against the current (flow) ...

by Philipp K29. January
The EU Parliament wants to have a uniform connection for all mobile devices in order to reduce electronic waste in Germany and is encountering resistance from California. Because Apple sees the problem completely differently.

The EU Parliament finally wants a uniform connection for mobile devices such as tablets, smartphones, e-readers, etc. ... namely the USB-C connector, In this case, the priority for Parliament is to reduce electrical waste. Apple, on the other hand, does not want to approve of this intervention and is against it. The discussion has been known for a long time, but got lost again.

The argument continues

Now, however, Parliament wants to push through the approach of a uniform charging cable again. Apple has maintained its own connection option, the lighting port, since the iPhone 5, which was released in 2012.

Apple will not want to move away from its own connection. Why is also very clear for Apple:

In einem Feedback Apple refers the European Parliament to its own connection option via the lighting port, which has been on the market for a long time. Apple says a ban on the lighting connection would cause huge amounts of electrical waste:

More than 1 billion Apple devices have shipped using a Lightning connector in addition to an entire ecosystem of accessory and device manufacturers who use Lightning to serve our collective customers

article for feedback

So it seems clear to Apple that a goodbye, which would force Apple to adapt the connection, also produces a lot of garbage. After the law was passed, the lightning cables would gradually become unusable and thus produce more electrical waste.

Another of Apple's reasons is that they feel limited in their progress. Because a uniform connection, such as the USB-C connection, as provided for by the EU Parliament, Apple feels restricted and would probably not continue to research or develop in the direction of a new connection.

Because if a new connection, which can replace the USB-C connection, were ready for the market, the law of the parliament would probably have to be changed or newly adopted.

The EU Parliament, on the other hand, argues in a report that 51.000 tons of electrical waste are generated every year by a non-uniform system. The EU had already drafted a law for a uniform system in 2009 because there were over 30 different charging connections on the market at that time. Because every company has also produced its own charging cable for its own system.

Sources:

https://www.bbc.com

https://www.apple.com

https://www.pcgameshardware.de

https://ec.europa.eu

Leave a comment

avatar

News
0

Apple schwimmt gegen den Strom(-fluss)…

by Philipp K29. Januar 2020
Das EU-Parlament will für alle mobilen Endgeräte einen einheitlichen Anschluss haben, um den Elektronikmüll deutsch zu reduzieren und stößt dabei auf Widerstand aus Kalifornien. Denn Apple selbst sieht das Problem ganz anders.

Das EU-Parlament möchte für mobile Endgeräte, wie Tablets, Smartphones, e-Reader, usw…, endlich ein einheitlichen Anschluss, nämlich den USB-C-Anschluss. Für das Parlament steht in diesem Fall die Reduzierung des Elektromülls im Vordergrund. Apple hingegen möchte diesen Eingriff nicht gutheißen und wettert dagegen. Die Diskussion ist schon länger bekannt, verlief sich aber wieder.

Die Auseinandersetzung geht weiter

Nun möchte das Parlament aber erneut den Ansatz eines einheitlichen Ladekabels durchsetzten. Apple selber pflegt seit dem iPhone 5, welches im Jahre 2012 erschien, seine eigene Anschlussmöglichkeit, den Lighting-Port.

Apple wird nicht von seinem eigenen Anschluss abrücken wollen. Warum, ist für Apple auch ganz klar:

In einem Feedback an das EU-Parlament verweist Apple an die eigene Anschlussmöglichkeit über den Lighting-Port, welcher schon lange auf dem Markt ist. Apple meint, ein Verbot des Lighting-Anschlusses würde somit Unmengen an Elektromüll verursachen:

More than 1 billion Apple devices have shipped using a Lightning connector in addition to an entire ecosystem of accessory and device manufacturers who use Lightning to serve our collective customers

Link zum Feedback

Für Apple scheint also klar zu sein, dass eine Verabschiedung, welche Apple dazu zwingen würde den Anschluss anzupassen, ebenfalls viel Müll produziere. Denn nach einer Verabschiedung des Gesetztes würden die Lightningkabel nach und nach unbrauchbar und somit mehr Elektromüll produzieren.

Ein weitere Grund Apples ist, dass sie sich in ihrem Fortschritt eingeschränkt fühlen. Denn durch einen einheitlichen Anschluss, wie der USB-C-Anschluss, wie ihn das EU-Parlament vorsieht, fühlt Apple sich eingeschränkt und würde vermutlich nicht weiter in Richtung neuer Anschluss forschen oder entwickeln.

Denn wenn ein neuer Anschluss, welcher den USB-C-Anschluss ablösen kann, marktreif wäre, müsste das Gesetz des Parlaments wahrscheinlich geändert oder neu verabschiedet werden.

Das EU-Parlament hingegen argumentiert in einem Bericht, dass jedes Jahr 51.000 Tonnen an Elektroabfall durch ein nicht einheitliches System entstehen. Die EU hatte bereits 2009 ein Gesetz für ein einheitliches System entworfen, weil zu diesem Zeitpunkt über 30 verschiedene Ladeanschlüsse auf dem Markt waren. Denn jedes Unternehmen, hat für sein eigenes System auch ein eigenes Ladekabel hergestellt.

Quellen:

https://www.bbc.com

https://www.apple.com

https://www.pcgameshardware.de

https://ec.europa.eu

guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments