Connect with us

Hey what are you looking for?

Aqara Camera Hub G3 headers

Aqara Camera Hub G3 Review - Smart indoor security camera with Zigbee 3.0 hub

Updated by Timo Altmeyer on the 24. October 2023

The Aqara Camera Hub G3 combines a smart indoor surveillance camera with a Zigbee 3.0 hub. So perfect for anyone who wants to enter the world of the smart home? We put the smart all-in-one solution to the test.

8.2
Our rating
95 € amazon
Price Comparison

Review: Aqara Camera Hub G3

If you want to set up a Smart Home, you first have to ask yourself one crucial question: Which radio standard do I actually want? 

 Zigbee is one of the most popular wireless technologies in the smart home sector. The advantages of Zigbee are its flexibility, intuitive usability and high energy efficiency. However, you also need a gateway so that the Zigbee devices can communicate with each other.

This is where the Aqara Camera Hub G3 comes in, which is the Zigbee control center and surveillance camera at the same time.

Aqara Camera Hub G3: Design and Package Contents

Cuddly ears and a sleepy look: The Aqara Camera Hub G3 could easily pass as a toy, but the device is actually more of a wolf in sheep's clothing. The cute ears are just a rubber cover that can be removed in no time at all.

Detachable ears

The case measures 123,4 x 85,1 x 67,8 mm and weighs approx. 500 g and is made entirely of plastic. There is no IP rating, which is why the Aqara Camera Hub G3 is mainly suitable for indoor use. Due to the plain white housing color, the Camera Hub can be combined very well with different furnishing styles.

The scope of delivery includes the Camera Hub, a 2 m long USB-C charging cable, a 10W charger and a multilingual user manual.

Aqara Camera Hub G3 scope of delivery

Aqara Camera Hub G3: Getting Started

To start up the Camera Hub, we need the Aqara app, which can be downloaded for Android and iOS devices from the official stores.

In the test, the setup went smoothly and only took a few minutes. However, there are two drawbacks. In order to be able to use the app at all, you have to register with Aqara. There is no guest mode. In addition, the Aqara app does not support German, so you have to be content with English, Chinese, Korean or Russian.

But even those who don't understand any of these languages ​​can get along well with the few and understandably illustrated setup steps. All you have to do is enter your own WiFi access data in the app, hold the generated QR code in front of the camera and the Aqara Camera Hub G3 will do the rest automatically.

The integration into Apple Homekit is even easier, which is done using the code on the bottom. In contrast to the Aqara app, however, the range of functions via Homekit is limited. The video resolution is limited to Full HD, the camera cannot be panned and tilted, and the smart AI functions (tracking, gestures, etc.) do not work.

Aqara Camera Hub G3: camera and video quality

The black camera module is embedded in the rounded housing head of the Aqara Camera Hub G3. The module is divided into the camera lens, a brightness sensor and two microphones, which are placed to the left of the lens and to the right of the brightness sensor.

pan and tilt

The housing of the Aqara Camera Hub G3 sits on a base with a tripod thread, so that the camera hub can optionally be connected to a universal mount. The housing itself can be rotated horizontally by 340° with a motor. The camera head embedded in the housing can also be motorized to move 30° up and 15° down.

Base with tripod thread

The wide 110° field of view covers the full 360° on the horizontal plane. It is controlled manually via a control pad in the Aqara app. Automatic motion sequences are programmable.

Private mode

You can access the microSD memory card slot when it is switched off or if you move the camera module all the way up. The camera lens then disappears into the housing, the microSD slot becomes visible and printed eye lines indicate "privacy mode".

The private mode is perfectly implemented because the camera is no longer physically able to transmit or record an image due to the covered lens.

Camera in private mode

Stream and record

The maximum video resolution is 2304×1296p. The resolution can be selected from Auto (at least 360p), 720p and 1296p via the app. The transmitted live image provides information on the quality of the stream in KB/s. The image can be displayed as an app overlay or in full-screen mode.

It is recorded either constantly or after a triggered event. How the recording should take place can also be set via the Aqara app. Saved recordings end up either on the local storage of the smartphone or on the microSD memory card.

Aqara Camera Hub G3 front side

Memory cards are supported from CLASS 4 with up to 128GB. If the memory card is full, either the oldest recording will be overwritten or you will be informed by notification. One minute corresponds to about 20 MB.

If you have integrated the camera into Homekit, the recordings are automatically uploaded to the iCloud. In addition, recordings can be provided with various watermarks (eg date and time).

video quality

The quality of the recordings is okay. Faces are easily recognizable, albeit a bit blurred. The dynamic and contrast range is reduced, so that colors look a bit washed out and shadows are slightly drowned out. Image artefacts can occasionally occur when the camera pans quickly.

recording quality day

In night vision mode (black and white), the recording quality is still okay, provided the camera is not supposed to monitor too large a section of the room. Faces are only clearly visible up close. At a distance, the level of detail is too low.

Recording quality night

Two-way audio

Communicating via the Aqara Camera Hub G3 works well. The microphones record in an understandable quality and the playback through the speaker is clear.

Loudspeaker and USB-C socket

Aqara Camera Hub G3: AI features

face recognition

The Aqara Camera Hub G3 is able to recognize trained secured persons. Photos of faces can be uploaded via the Aqara app and synchronized with the camera AI.

Possibilities of face recognition is, for example, push notification as soon as a known face has been recognized. The same also works in the opposite direction. If a face is not recognized, the Aqara Camera Hub G3 can emit an alarm signal. Face recognition worked well in the test as long as the face and camera were not too far apart.

gesture control

The Aqara Camera Hub G3 can be controlled smartly using five predefined gestures. Which action is executed with which gesture, however, can be adjusted. For example, recordings and processes can be started or alarm signals played back by gesture. Gestures and face recognition can be combined so that gestures are only accepted by previously trained people.

Aqara Camera Hub G3 camera module

People and animal tracking

People and animals can be tracked or tracked. If people or animals are detected, the camera automatically follows their movement. In the test, the function worked well for a tracked person. However, as soon as several people or animals moved in the image area, the camera quickly became confused and didn't really know who or what to track. Also noticeable was the slight delay in motion tracking, so fast-moving people or animals were quickly lost.

Aqara Camera Hub G3: Zigbee hub

As a Zigbee 3.0 hub, the Aqara Camera Hub G3 is able to control up to 128 Aqara devices. The Aqara product range includes numerous sensors, switches and cameras for different purposes. The main advantage of the Aqara product range is the low price, so that a comprehensive smart home can be set up with little money.

The Aqara Camera Hub G3 also supports integration into existing smart home systems, such as Google Home, Apple HomeKit or Amazon Alexa, which can be used to manage all Aqara devices. For this purpose, the Camera Hub is equipped with Dual-AC WiFi (2,4 and 5 GHz) and supports the WPA3 encryption protocol.

Aqara Camera Hub G3 headers

Aqara Camera Hub G3

8.2
Rating
Positive

Chic design with good workmanship
Integrated Zigbee 3.0 hub
Simple smart home integration
Supports Google Home, Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa and IFTTT
Rotatable camera with night vision function
privacy mode
Two-way audio system
Many AI functions (gestures, tracking, etc.)
Power supply via USB-C

Negative

Recording quality could be better
App with room for improvement
Motion tracking a bit sluggish

Conclusion

The Aqara Camera Hub G3 cleverly combines an indoor surveillance camera with a Zigbee 3.0 hub. The surveillance camera can be quickly and easily integrated into existing smart home systems, such as Google Home or Apple HomeKit. The extensive AI functions of the surveillance camera proved useful. The camera recognizes people and animals that have been trained, can be operated by gesture and has two-way communication so that you can talk to the camera remotely.

However, we can only recommend the Aqara Camera Hub G3 if you are looking for an all-in-one solution and want to build a smart home with other Aqara products. If you only need a Zigbee hub or a surveillance camera, it is usually cheaper to buy them individually.

Price Comparison
94,99€
Timo Altmeyer avatar
author

Timo is the founder of techreviewer.de and a real technology expert. From smartphones to e-bikes, from home cinema to smart homes, he always has his finger on the pulse of the latest trends.

Comment on

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

Overview
Manufacturer

Aqara

Model

Aqara Camera Hub G3

Specifications

Image sensor: Unknown
Image Processor: Unknown
Resolution: Auto (640×360), HD (720p), Full HD (1080p) and 2K (2304×1296)
Codec: Unknown
Field of view: 110 °

Memory: Unknown
Memory expansion: Micro SD memory card up to 128GB
Cloud: Yes

Zigbee: Zigbee 3.0 IEEE 802.15.4
WLAN: Wi-Fi IEEE 802.11 b/g/n/a/ac (2.4 / 5 GHz)
Encryption: WPA3
Smart Home: Aqara Home, Home Assistant, Google Home, Alexa, IFTTT

Night Vision: Yes (940nm LED)
Speaker: Yes
Microphone: Yes

Power consumption: 10W
Power supply: USB-C

Size: 123.4 85.1 x x 67.8 mm
Weight: 251g

Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Aqara Camera Hub G3 Produktbild

Aqara Camera Hub G3 Test – Smarte Indoor-Überwachungskamera mit Zigbee-3.0-Hub

Testbericht erstellt von Timo A. am 16. Mai 2022

Der Aqara Camera Hub G3 kombiniert eine smarte Überwachungskamera für den Innenbereich mit einem Zigbee-3.0-Hub. Perfekt also für alle, die in die Welt des Smart Home einsteigen möchten? Wir haben die smarte All-In-One Lösung einem Test unterzogen.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp Buffer Pin It
8.2
Unsere Bewertung
83€ amazon.de
Preisvergleich
Technische Daten
Überblick
Hersteller

Aqara

Modell

Aqara Camera Hub G3

Spezifikationen

Bildsensor: Unbekannt
Bildprozessor: Unbekannt
Auflösung: Auto (640×360), HD (720p), Full HD (1080p) und 2K (2304×1296)
Codec: Unbekannt
Sichtfeld: 110°

Speicher: Unbekannt
Speichererweiterung: Micro SD-Speicherkarte bis 128GB
Cloud: Ja

Zigbee: Zigbee 3.0 IEEE 802.15.4
WLAN: Wi-Fi IEEE 802.11 b/g/n/a/ac (2.4 / 5 GHz)
Verschlüsselung: WPA3
Smart Home: Aqara Home, Home Assistant, Google Home, Alexa, IFTTT

Nachtsicht: Ja (940 nm LED)
Lautsprecher: Ja
Mikrofon: Ja

Leistungsaufnahme: 10W
Stromversorgung: USB-C

Größe: 123.4 x 85.1 x 67.8 mm
Gewicht: 251g

Test: Aqara Camera Hub G3

Wer sich ein Smart Home aufbauen möchte, muss sich zunächst eine alles entscheidende Frage stellen: Welche Funkstandard möchte ich eigentlich?

Zigbee gehört zu den populärsten Funktechnologien im Smart-Home Bereich. Vorteile von Zigbee sind seine Flexibilität, intuitive Bedienbarkeit und hohe Energieeffizienz. Man benötigt allerdings, auch ein Gateway, damit die Zigbee-Geräte untereinander kommunizieren können.

Bei diesem Punkt setzt der Aqara Camera Hub G3 an, der Zigbee Steuerzentrale und Überwachungskamera zugleich ist.

Aqara Camera Hub G3: Design und Lieferumfang

Knuffige Ohren und verschlafener Blick: Der Aqara Camera Hub G3 könnte auch glatt als Spielzeug durchgehen, doch tatsächlich ist das Gerät mehr ein Wolf im Schafspelz. Die putzigen Ohren sind lediglich ein Gummiüberzug, der sich im Handumdrehen abnehmen lässt.

Abnehmbare Ohren

Das 123,4 x 85,1 x 67,8 mm große und ca. 500 g schwere Gehäuse besteht komplett aus Kunststoff. Ein IP-Rating gibt es nicht, weshalb sich der Aqara Camera Hub G3 hauptsächlich für den Innenbereich eignet. Durch die schlicht-weiße Gehäusefarbe lässt sich der Camera Hub sehr gut mit verschiedenen Einrichtungsstilen kombinieren.

Der Lieferumfang beinhaltet den Camera Hub, ein 2 m langes USB-C Ladekabel, ein 10W Ladegerät und eine mehrsprachige Bedienungsanleitung.

Aqara Camera Hub G3 Lieferumfang

Aqara Camera Hub G3: Inbetriebnahme

Für die Inbetriebnahme des Camera Hub benötigen wir die Aqara App, die für Android und iOS Geräte in den offiziellen Stores zum Download bereitsteht.

Im Test verlief die Einrichtung ohne Probleme und dauerte nur wenige Minuten. Es gibt allerdings zwei Mankos. Damit man die App überhaupt benutzen kann, muss man sich bei Aqara registrieren. Einen Gastmodus gibt es nicht. Außerdem unterstützt die Aqara App keine deutsche Sprache, sodass man sich mit Englisch, Chinesisch, Koreanisch oder Russisch zufriedengeben muss.

Aber auch wer keine dieser Sprachen versteht, kommt mit den wenigen und verständlich bebilderten Einrichtungsschritten gut zurecht. Man muss lediglich die eigenen WLAN-Zugangsdaten in der App eintragen, den anschließend generierten QR-Code vor die Kamera halten und den Rest erledigt der Aqara Camera Hub G3 automatisch.

Noch einfacher ist die Einbindung in Apple Homekit, die über den Code auf der Unterseite erfolgt. Im Gegensatz zur Aqara App ist der Funktionsumfang über Homekit allerdings eingeschränkt. So ist die Videoauflösung auf Full-HD begrenzt, die Kamera lässt sich nicht schwenken und neigen, und die smarten AI-Funktionen (Tracking, Gesten, etc.) funktionieren nicht.

Aqara Camera Hub G3: Kamera und Videoqualität

Das schwarze Kameramodul ist in den rundlichen Gehäusekopf des Aqara Camera Hub G3 eingelassen. Das Modul unterteilt sich in das Kameraobjektiv, einen Helligkeitssensor und zwei Mikrofone, die man links neben dem Objektiv und rechts neben dem Helligkeitssensor untergebracht hat.

Pan und Tilt

Das Gehäuse des Aqara Camera Hub G3 sitzt auf einem Sockel mit Stativgewinde, sodass sich der Camera Hub optional mit einer Universalhalterung verbinden lässt. Das Gehäuse selbst ist motorisiert um 340° horizontal drehbar. Der in das Gehäuse eingelassene Kamerakopf lässt sich ebenfalls motorisiert um 30° nach oben und 15° nach unten bewegen.

Sockel mit Stativgewinde

Durch das breite 110° Blickfeld werden die vollen 360° auf horizontaler Ebene abgedeckt. Die Steuerung erfolgt manuell über ein Steuerkreuz in der Aqara App. Automatische Bewegungsabläufe sind programmierbar.

Privatmodus

Zugriff auf den microSD-Speicherkartenslot erhält man im ausgeschalteten Zustand bzw. wenn man das Kameramodul komplett nach oben bewegt. Die Kameralinse verschwindet dann im Gehäuse, der microSD-Slot wird sichtbar und aufgedruckte Augenstriche weisen auf den „Privacy-Modus“ hin.

Der Privatmodus ist perfekt umgesetzt, weil die Kamera durch das verdeckte Objektiv physisch nicht mehr in der Lage ist, ein Bild zu übertragen bzw. aufzuzeichnen.

Kamera im Privatmodus

Stream und Aufzeichnung

Die maximale Videoauflösung liegt bei 2304×1296p. Über die App lässt sich die Auflösung in Auto (mind. 360p), 720p und 1296p wählen. Das übertragene Live-Bild liefert Hinweise zur Qualität des Streams in KB/s. Anzeigen lässt sich das Bild als App-Overlay oder im Vollbildmodus.

Aufgezeichnet wird entweder ständig oder nach einem ausgelösten Event. Wie die Aufzeichnung erfolgen soll, ist ebenfalls über die Aqara App einstellbar. Gespeicherte Aufnahmen landen entweder auf dem lokalen Speicher der Smartphones oder auf der microSD-Speicherkarte.

Aqara Camera Hub G3 Vorderseite

Speicherkarten werden ab CLASS 4 mit bis zu 128GB unterstützt. Bei voller Speicherkarte wird entweder die älteste Aufnahme überschrieben oder man wird per Benachrichtigung informiert. Eine Minute entspricht in etwa 20 MB.

Hat man die Kamera in Homekit eingebunden, werden die Aufnahmen automatisch in die iCloud hochgeladen. Außerdem lassen sich Aufzeichnungen mit verschiedenen Wasserzeichen (z.B. Datum und Uhrzeit) versehen.

Videoqualität

Die Qualität der Aufzeichnungen geht in Ordnung. Gesichter sind gut erkennbar, wenn auch etwas weichgezeichnet. Der Dynamik- und Kontrastumfang ist reduziert, sodass Farben etwas verwaschen wirken und Schatten leicht absaufen. Bei schnellen Kameraschwenks können hin und wieder Bildartefakte entstehen.

Aufnahmequalität Tag

Im Nachtsichtmodus (Schwarz-Weiß) geht die Aufnahmequalität ebenfalls noch in Ordnung, sofern die Kamera keinen zu großen Raumabschnitt überwachen soll. Gesichter sind nur aus nächster Nähe gut zu erkennen. Auf Entfernung ist der Detailgrad zu gering.

Aufnahmequalität Nacht

Zwei-Wege-Audio

Über den Aqara Camera Hub G3 zu kommunizieren, klappt gut. Die Mikrofone nehmen in verständlicher Qualität auf und die Wiedergabe über den Lautsprecher ist klar.

Lautsprecher und USB-C Buchse

Aqara Camera Hub G3: AI-Funktionen

Gesichtserkennung

Der Aqara Camera Hub G3 ist in der Lage, angelernte Gesicherter zu erkennen. Über die Aqara App lassen sich Fotos von Gesichtern hochladen und mit der Kamera-AI synchronisieren.

Möglichkeiten der Gesichtserkennung, ist z.B. die Push-Benachrichtigung, sobald ein bekanntes Gesicht erkannt wurde. Gleiches funktioniert aber auch in umgekehrte Richtung. Wird ein Gesicht nicht erkannt, kann der Aqara Camera Hub G3 ein Alarmsignal abgeben. Im Test hat die Gesichtserkennung gut funktioniert, sofern Gesicht und Kamera nicht zu weit voneinander entfernt waren.

Gestensteuerung

Smart steuern lässt sich der Aqara Camera Hub G3 über fünf vorgegebene Gesten. Welche Aktion bei welcher Geste ausgeführt wird, ist hingegen einstellbar. Per Geste lassen sich beispielsweise Aufnahmen und Abläufe starten oder Alarmsignale abspielen. Gesten und Gesichtserkennung sind kombinierbar, sodass Gesten nur von vorher angelernten Personen akzeptiert werden.

Aqara Camera Hub G3 Kameramodul

Personen und Tier-Tracking

Tracken bzw. verfolgen lassen sich Mensch und Tier. Werden Personen oder Tiere erkannt, folgt die Kamera automatisch deren Bewegung. Im Test hat die Funktion bei einer getrackten Person gut funktioniert. Sobald sich jedoch mehrere Personen oder Tiere im Bildbereich bewegten, war die Kamera schnell verwirrt und wusste nicht so recht, wen oder was sie verfolgen sollte. Ebenfalls aufgefallen ist die leichte Verzögerung der Bewegungsverfolgung, sodass sich schnell bewegende Personen oder Tiere schnell verloren gingen.

Aqara Camera Hub G3: Zigbee-Hub

Als Zigbee-3.0-Hub ist der Aqara Camera Hub G3 in der Lage bis zu 128 Aqara Geräte zu steuern. Das Aqara Produktsortiment umfasst dabei zahlreiche Sensoren, Schalter und Kameras für unterschiedliche Einsatzzwecke. Großer Vorteil er Aqara Produktreihe ist vor allem der günstige Preis, sodass sich mit wenig Geld ein umfängliches Smart Home einrichten lässt.

Außerdem unterstützt der Aqara Camera Hub G3 die Einbindung in bestehende Smart Home Systeme, wie z.B. Google Home, Apple HomeKit oder Amazon Alexa, worüber sich alle Aqara Geräte verwalten lassen. Hierfür ist der Camera Hub mit Dual-AC WiFi (2,4 und 5 GHz) ausgestattet und unterstützt den WPA3-Verschlüsselungsprotokoll.

Preisvergleich

iconDeutsches Warenlager
iconLieferzeit 2-5 Werktage
83,32€
Bewertung
Positiv

Schickes Design mit guter Verarbeitung
Integrierter Zigbee-3.0-Hub
Einfache Smart-Home Integration
Unterstützt Google Home, Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa und IFTTT
Drehbare Kamera mit Nachtsichtfunktion
Privatsphäre-Modus
Zwei-Wege-Audiosystem
Viele AI-Funktionen (Gesten, Tracking usw.)
Stromversorgung über USB-C

Negativ

Aufnahmequalität könnte besser sein
App mit Luft nach oben
Bewegungsverfolgung etwas träge

Fazit

Der Aqara Camera Hub G3 kombiniert geschickt eine Indoor-Überwachungskamera mit einem Zigbee-3.0-Hub. In bestehende Smart Home Systeme, wie z.B. Google Home oder Apple HomeKit, lässt sich die Überwachungskamera einfach und schnell integrieren. Nützlich erwiesen sich die umfangreichen AI-Funktionen der Überwachungskamera. So erkennt die Kamera angelernte Personen und Tiere, lässt sich per Geste bedienen und verfügt über eine Zwei-Wege-Kommunikation, sodass man sich der Ferne über die Kamera unterhalten kann.

Eine Empfehlung für den Aqara Camera Hub G3 können wir aber nur dann aussprechen, wenn man gerade auf der Suche nach einer All-In-One Lösung ist und sich ein Smart Home mit weiteren Aqara Produkten aufbauen möchte. Wer lediglich einen Zigbee-Hub oder eine Überwachungskamera benötigt, kommt im Einzelkauf meist günstiger weg.

8.2
Unsere Bewertung
Verfasser

Hat 2016 die Website techreviewer.de ins Leben gerufen und ist seither aktiver News- und Testberichte-Redakteur in allen Technik-Bereichen.

Kommentieren

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Überblick
Hersteller

Aqara

Modell

Aqara Camera Hub G3

Spezifikationen

Bildsensor: Unbekannt
Bildprozessor: Unbekannt
Auflösung: Auto (640×360), HD (720p), Full HD (1080p) und 2K (2304×1296)
Codec: Unbekannt
Sichtfeld: 110°

Speicher: Unbekannt
Speichererweiterung: Micro SD-Speicherkarte bis 128GB
Cloud: Ja

Zigbee: Zigbee 3.0 IEEE 802.15.4
WLAN: Wi-Fi IEEE 802.11 b/g/n/a/ac (2.4 / 5 GHz)
Verschlüsselung: WPA3
Smart Home: Aqara Home, Home Assistant, Google Home, Alexa, IFTTT

Nachtsicht: Ja (940 nm LED)
Lautsprecher: Ja
Mikrofon: Ja

Leistungsaufnahme: 10W
Stromversorgung: USB-C

Größe: 123.4 x 85.1 x 67.8 mm
Gewicht: 251g

Werbung

Banggood Big Sale

GOGOBest Juni Banner