News
1

PIMAX 4K UHD Virtual Reality Headset

by Timo10. October 2018
overview
Manufacturer/Model

PIMAX

Product

PIMAX 4K VR

Specifications

FOV: 110 °
Pupil distance correction: Yes
Pupil distance: 58 - 71mm
Connections: HDMI, USB
Resolution: 3840 x 2160P
OS: Windows 7 / 8 / 10

Weight: 499g
Size: 18.00 x 11.70 x 9.00 cm

Scope of delivery

1x PIMAX 4K
1x cleaning cloth

The year 2016 is the year of virtual reality headsets and also many Chinese manufacturers jumped on the bandwagon and in recent months have announced a variety of VR products and also published. The PIMAX 4K VR Headset is another candidate to appear in August and is connected to the PC similar to a HTC Vive. The special thing about this VR glasses is 4K UHD panelwhich resolves with 3840 × 2160 pixels. Reviews for the PIMAX 4K Headset are not yet available, so we take a closer look at the glasses in this preview.

PIMAX 4K VR Headset

PIMAX 4K Review

The PIMAX 4K eyewear was announced in April and is on 20. August 2016 appeared. The main focus is on the remarkable resolution of 3840 × 2160 pixels (806 PPI), which even the well-known brand products HTC Vive or Oculus Rift do not reach. Thus, the PIMAX 4K is one of the first VR glasses that dissolve in UHD. Just the display resolution plays a crucial role in VR glasses. If the resolution is too low, the so-called "fly screen effect" arises, in which individual pixels stand out clearly. Already on VR models with an 2K resolution, this effect has been reduced immensely, but remains visible. At 4K resolution, this effect will still appear, but not nearly as annoying as the first VR models that were still equipped with Full HD panels.

In order to prevent the also unpleasant "Nachzieh effect", the PIMAX 4K glasses has dual gyroscope with 1000Hz, as well as the input lag on 18 milliseconds reduced. The Field of view is 110 ° and is therefore identical to that of a HTV Vive. Also the used lenses (53mm, aspheric) differ from those of conventional China VR goggles. So should the lenses with a "Anti-blur" coating be provided, whereby a general blur is avoided, as well as the lenses should not be able to start in moisture. To protect the eyes, the brightness is adjusted automatically. Also at myopia the PIMAX VR headset is easy to use. To -5 diopters Myopia and one Pupil distance from 58-71mm a clear view is guaranteed.

A decisive purchase argument for the PIMAX 4K glasses is the existing one HDMI connection, Many China VR glasses do without PC compatibility and are released as so-called standalone glasses that have the hardware of a smartphone and put on Android as the operating system. In China, such glasses are very successful, but in this country you prefer a conventional VR headset, which is connected to the PC. head movements should be adopted according to the manufacturer. A location is very likely not possible. About integrated in the headband Loudspeakers a virtual 5.1 sound is possible. On SDK should be available with the release of the headset, as well as being compatible Steam VR guaranteed.

Summary

The PIMAX 4K Virtual Reality Headset is a reasonably priced VR goggle with a remarkable UHD display. It should be noted, however, that such a high resolution requires a corresponding computing power to display liquid 60 images per second. Even a high end gaming PC can quickly stumble here. Also because of the missing position tracker, the PIMAX VR glasses is not a direct competitor to the well-known brand products. If you would like to have a full-fledged VR experience, you should not refrain from determining your position.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from China
361,69€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
409,44€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 11: 03

1
Leave a comment

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
Hitop Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
Hitop
guest
Hitop

I would be interested in whether they have installed a single display or two displays. An 4K display sounds great, but my PC could never render the resolution fluently, lol. 2K would have been enough too.

News
1

PIMAX 4K UHD Virtual Reality Headset

by Timo10. Oktober 2018
Überblick
Hersteller

PIMAX

Produktbezeichnung

PIMAX 4K VR

Spezifikationen

FOV: 110°
Pupillenabstand-Korrektur: Ja
Pupillenabstand: 58 - 71mm
AnschlĂŒsse: HDMI,USB
Auflösung: 3840 x 2160P
OS: Windows 7 / 8 / 10

Gewicht: 499g
GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 18.00 x 11.70 x 9.00 cm

Lieferumfang

1x PIMAX 4K
1x Reinigungstuch

Das Jahr 2016 ist das Jahr der Virtual Reality Headsets und auch viele chinesische Hersteller sind auf den Zug aufgesprungen und haben in den letzten Monaten verschiedenste VR Produkte angekĂŒndigt und auch veröffentlicht. Das PIMAX 4K VR Headset ist ein weiterer Kandidat, der im August erscheinen soll und Ă€hnlich einer HTC Vive mit dem PC verbunden wird. Das besondere an dieser VR Brille ist 4K UHD Panel, welches mit 3840×2160 Pixel auflöst. Reviews zum PIMAX 4K Headset gibt es bislang noch nicht, weshalb wir uns die Brille in dieser Vorschau nĂ€her ansehen.

PIMAX 4K VR Headset

PIMAX 4K Review

Die PIMAX 4K Brille wurde bereits im April angekĂŒndigt und ist am 20. August 2016 erschienen. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt bei der beachtlichen Auflösung von 3840×2160 Pixeln (806 PPI), welche sogar die bekannten Markenprodukte HTC Vive oder Oculus Rift bisher nicht erreichen. Somit gehört die PIMAX 4K zu den ersten VR Brillen, die in UHD auflösen. Gerade die Displayauflösung spielt bei VR Brillen eine entscheidende Rolle. Ist die Auflösung zu gering, entsteht der so genannte „Fliegengittereffekt“, bei dem einzelne Pixel deutlich hervorstechen. Bereits bei VR Modellen mit einer 2K Auflösung wurde dieser Effekt immens reduziert, bleibt aber dennoch sichtbar. Bei einer 4K Auflösung wird dieser Effekt zwar immer noch auftreten, aber bei weitem nicht mehr so störend sein, wie bei den ersten VR Modellen, die noch mit Full HD Panels ausgestattet waren.

Um den ebenfalls unangenehm auftretenden „Nachzieh-Effekt“ zu verhindern, besitzt die PIMAX 4K Brille ein duales Gyroskop mit 1000Hz, als auch wird der Inputlag auf 18 Millisekunden reduziert. Das Blickfeld betrĂ€gt 110° und ist somit identisch mit dem einer HTV Vive. Auch die verwendeten Linsen (53mm; asphĂ€risch) unterscheiden sich von denen herkömmlicher China-VR Brillen. So sollen die Linsen mit einer „Anti-Blur“ Beschichtung versehen sein, wodurch eine allgemeine UnschĂ€rfe vermieden wird, als auch sollen die Linsen bei Feuchtigkeit nicht anlaufen können. Zum Schutz der Augen wird die Helligkeit automatisch angepasst. Auch bei Kurzsichtigkeit kann das PIMAX VR Headset problemlos verwendet werden. Bis -5 Dioptrien Kurzsichtigkeit und einem Pupillenabstand von 58-71mm ist eine klare Sicht garantiert.

Ein entscheidendes Kaufargument fĂŒr die PIMAX 4K Brille ist der vorhandene HDMI Anschluss. Viele China-VR-Brillen verzichten auf eine PC KompatibilitĂ€t und werden als so genannte Standalone Brillen veröffentlicht, die die Hardware eines Smartphones besitzen und auf Android als Betriebssystem setzen. In China sind solche Brillen ĂŒberaus erfolgreich, hierzulande bevorzugt man allerdings ein herkömmliches VR Headset, welches mit dem PC verbunden wird. Kopfbewegungen sollen laut dem Hersteller ĂŒbernommen werden. Eine Positionsbestimmung ist sehr wahrscheinlich nicht möglich. Über im Kopfband integrierte Lautsprecher wird ein virtueller 5.1 Klang ermöglicht. Ein SDK soll mit der Veröffentlichung des Headsets zur VerfĂŒgung stehen, als auch wird eine KompatibilitĂ€t zu Steam VR garantiert.

Fazit

Das PIMAX 4K Virtual Reality Headset ist eine preisgĂŒnstige VR Brille mit beachtlichem UHD Display. Man sollte allerdings beachten, dass eine solch hohe Auflösung auch eine entsprechende Rechenleistung benötigt um flĂŒssige 60 Bilder pro Sekunde darzustellen. Selbst ein High End Gaming-PC kann hier schnell ins Straucheln geraten. Auch wegen des fehlenden Position-Trackers ist die PIMAX VR Brille keine direkte Konkurrenz zur den bekannten Markenprodukten. Wer ein vollwertiges VR Erlebnis geboten haben möchte, sollte keinesfalls auf eine Positionsbestimmung verzichten.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Geekbuying kaufen
10-30 Werktage
356,99€
Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
644,37€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 2. Juli 2020 12:00
guest
1 Kommentar
Älteste
Neueste
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Hitop

Es wĂŒrde mich interessieren, ob die ein einzelnes Display oder zwei Displays verbaut haben. Ein 4K Display klingt super, aber mein PC könnte die Auflösung niemals flĂŒssig darstellen, lol. 2K hĂ€tten auch gereicht.