News
4

TicWatch Pro 3 GPS with Snapdragon Wear 4100 presented

by Timo24. September 2020
The TicWatch Pro 3 GPS is the first smartwatch based on the new Qualcomm Snapdragon Wear 4100. Today Mobvoi, the company behind the TicWatch brand, officially launched the new Wear OS smartwatch. In addition to the powerful processor, the new TicWatch has other interesting functions to offer.

Mobvoi TicWatch Pro 3

Snapdragon Wear 4100

On the hardware side, Wear OS-based smartwatches really got stuck in 2011. The last Snapdragon Wear 3100 was only End 2018 presented, but the smartwatch processor did not bring any technological progress. The Snapdragon Wear processors released to date were all based on ancient Cortex-A7 coreswhich were first introduced in 2011. With the new Snapdragon Wear 4100 Processor series, Qualcomm breaks away from the old architecture.

TicWatch Pro 3 GPS 85 percent CPU, 150 percent GPU and 25 percent more economical.

The Snapdragon Wear 4100 works with its four Cortex-A53 cores significantly faster and more efficiently. Compared to the old Cortex-A7 cores, the Manufacturing process reduced from 28nm to 12nm and the Clock rate increased from 1.1 GHz to 1.7 GHz. According to Qualcomm, that makes one Performance increase of 85 percent and Consumption decrease of 25 percent. The graphics unit of the system-on-chip, which is a Adreno GPU 504 acts. According to Qualcomm, the performance has increased by a factor of 2.5.

A test will have to show how much faster Wear OS runs on the new TicWatch Pro 3. The processor is supported by RAM 1GB and one 8GB large data storage. It is not possible to expand the data memory with an SD memory card. The possibility of receiving mobile communications is also missing in this model.

Dual-Layer Display 2.0

A special feature of the recently released TicWatch watches and also the new TicWatch Pro 3 is the improved Dual-Layer Display 2.0. A is installed 1.4 inches AMOLED display, that with 454 454 x pixels dissolves. As a retina display, it has a particularly high point density so that individual pixels cannot be seen from a typical viewing distance. Another display that is invisible above the AMOLED panel is the battery-friendly one TN display.

TicWatch Pro 3 GPS with dual display technology

The monochrome display serves as an all-day, dynamic time display and provides an overview of essential data, such as the daily steps. Im so called "Smart Mode"with the AMOLED display active, the battery life is approximately 3 days. The "Essential Mode", which uses the TN display enables a runtime of up to 45 days.

Premium look

Mobvoi himself describes the design of the TicWatch Pro 3 GPS as "Premium industrial design". The bezel is made of stainless steel, which not only looks good, but also appears robust. Compared to the TicWatch Pro, the case is higher despite it Battery capacity (595 mAh) shrunk by 9 percent in thickness (47 x 48 x 12.2mm) and 28 percent lighter (41,9g). Who with the standard attached Silicone watch band If you are not satisfied, you can exchange it for an ordinary 22mm bracelet. After Degree of protection IP68 the housing is protected from water. Showering or swimming is possible without hesitation with the TicWatch Pro 3.

TicWatch Pro 3 GPS Design

Sports, calls and NFC

On the software side, the TicWatch Pro 3 GPS offers extensive application options. In everyday life, the smartwatch monitors the health of the wearer, in which regular Heart rate measurements take place and the Amount of oxygen in the blood (SpO2) is determined. Mobvoi provides the sporty wearer with various sports programs that comprehensively track activities. For precise data acquisition, the smartwatch has numerous sensors integrated. A barometer, a GNNS module (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, Beidou), a gyroscope and an accelerometer. The collected data is synchronized with the help of the Mobvoi app. In addition, the user has the option of displaying all data clearly and graphically.

TicWatch 3 Pro GPS sports programs

The Wear OS Operating system enables the installation of further apps. Use Spotify or WhatsApp directly via the smartwatch? No problem! Watch Faces are freely interchangeable and can be individually adapted. By integrating a microphone and a loudspeaker Calls directly over the smartwatch without having to take the smartphone out of your pocket. NFC allows the use of Google Pay, with which you can pay contactless and therefore particularly convenient.

TicWatch 3 Pro GPS Wear OS operating system

Source: mobvoi.com/ge/pages/ticwatchpro3gps

Price and availability

The TicWatch Pro 3 GPS Smartwatch is available now. At Amazon, the smartwatch is for 299,99 Euros listed. The date of availability is given as September 30th.

Price history

Current prices

Amazon
1-5 working days
299,99€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 27. October 2020 10: 44
guest
4 Comments
Oldest
Latest
Inline feedback
View all comments
Seb

Thank you for the informative article. I'm inclined to get the smartwatch, but would also like to wait for your test. When is it to be expected?

Patrick

Hello, what are the differences to the predecessor? As I can tell, they just installed the new Wear Chip ?!

News
4

TicWatch Pro 3 GPS mit Snapdragon Wear 4100 vorgestellt

by Timo24. September 2020
Die TicWatch Pro 3 GPS ist die erste Smartwatch, die auf dem neuen Qualcomm Snapdragon Wear 4100 basiert. Heute hat Mobvoi, das Unternehmen hinter der Marke TicWatch, die neue Wear OS Smartwatch offiziell vorgestellt. Neben dem leistungsstarken Prozessor, hat die neue TicWatch noch weitere interessante Funktionen zu bieten.

Mobvoi TicWatch Pro 3

Snapdragon Wear 4100

Hardwareseitig sind Wear OS basierende Smartwatches regelrecht im Jahr 2011 steckengeblieben. Der letzte Snapdragon Wear 3100 wurde zwar erst Ende 2018 vorgestellt, doch einen technologischen Fortschritt brachte der Smartwatch Prozessor nicht. Die bis dato erschienenen Snapdragon Wear Prozessoren basierten alle auf uralt Cortex-A7 Kernen, die erstmals 2011 vorgestellt wurden. Mit der neuen Snapdragon Wear 4100 Prozessorreihe löst sich Qualcomm von der alten Architektur.

TicWatch Pro 3 GPS 85 Prozent CPU, 150 Prozent GPU und 25 Prozent sparsamer.

Der Snapdragon Wear 4100 arbeitet mit seinen vier Cortex-A53 Kernen deutlich schneller und effizienter. Im Vergleich zu den alten Cortex-A7 Kernen wurde der Fertigungsprozess von 28nm auf 12nm reduziert und die Takrate von 1.1 GHz auf 1.7 GHz erhöht. Laut Qualcomm ergibt das eine Leistungssteigerung von 85 Prozent und eine Verbrauchsabnahme von 25 Prozent. Neu ist auch die Grafikeinheit des System-on-Chip, bei der es sich um eine Adreno 504 GPU handelt. Hierbei hat sich laut Qualcomm die Leistung um einen Faktor von 2.5 gesteigert.

Wieviel schneller Wear OS auf der neuen TicWatch Pro 3 läuft, wird ein Test zeigen müssen. Unterstützt wird der Prozessor durch 1GB RAM und einen 8GB großen Datenspeicher. Den Datenspeicher zusätzlich mit einer SD-Speicherkarte zu erweitern ist nicht möglich. Die Möglichkeit Mobilfunk zu empfangen fehlt bei diesem Modell ebenfalls.

Dual-Layer Display 2.0

Eine Besonderheit der zuletzt erschienenen TicWatch Uhren und auch der neuen TicWatch Pro 3 ist das verbesserte Dual-Layer Display 2.0. Verbaut ist ein 1.4 Zoll AMOLED Display, das mit 454 x 454 Pixel auflöst. Als Retina-Display weist es eine besonders hohe Punktdichte auf, sodass einzelne Bildpunkte aus einem typischen Betrachtungsabstand nicht zu erkennen sind. Ein weiteres Display, das sich unsichtbar über dem AMOLED Panel befindet, ist das akkufreundliche TN-Display.

TicWatch Pro 3 GPS mit Dual-Display Technologie

Das einfarbige Display dient als ganztägige, dynamische Zeitanzeige und liefert einen Überblick zu wesentlichen Daten, wie z.B. den täglichen Schritten. Im so genannten „Smart Mode“, bei dem das AMOLED Display aktiv ist, liegt die Akkulaufzeit bei ungefähr 3 Tagen. Der „Essential Mode“, der auf das TN-Display zurückgreift, ermöglicht eine Laufzeit mit bis zu 45 Tagen.

Premium-Look

Das Design der TicWatch Pro 3 GPS bezeichnet Mobvoi selbst als „Premium-Industriedesign“. Die Lünette besteht aus Edelstahl, das nicht nur optisch einiges daher macht, sondern auch robust in Erscheinung tritt. Im Vergleich zur TicWatch Pro ist das Gehäuse trotz höherer Akkukapazität (595 mAh) um 9 Prozent in der Dicke geschrumpft (47 x 48 x 12.2mm) und 28 Prozent leichter (41,9g). Wer mit dem standardmäßig befestigten Silikon-Uhrenarmband nicht zufrieden ist, kann dieses gegen ein gewöhnliches 22mm Armband austauschen. Nach der Schutzart IP68 ist das Gehäuse vor Wasser geschützt. Duschen oder Schwimmen ist mit der TicWatch Pro 3 bedenkenlos möglich.

TicWatch Pro 3 GPS Design

Sport, Anrufe und NFC

Softwareseitig bietet die TicWatch Pro 3 GPS umfangreiche Anwendungsmöglichkeiten. Im Alltag überwacht die Smartwatch die Gesundheit des Trägers, in dem regelmäßige Herzfrequenzmessungen erfolgen und die Sauerstoffmenge im Blut (SpO2) ermittelt wird. Dem sportlichen Träger stellt Mobvoi verschiedene Sportprogramme zur Seite, die Aktivitäten umfänglich tracken. Für eine präzise Datenerfassung hat die Smartwatch zahlreiche Sensoren integriert. Zu nennen wären ein Barometer, ein GNNS-Modul (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, Beidou), ein Gyroskop und ein Beschleunigungssensor. Die Synchronisation der gesammelten Daten erfolgt mit Hilfe der Mobvoi App. Darüber hat der Nutzer die Möglichkeit sich alle Daten übersichtlich und grafisch aufbereitet anzeigen zu lassen.

TicWatch 3 Pro GPS Sportprogramme

Das Wear OS Betriebssystem ermöglicht die Installation weiterer Apps. Spotify oder WhatsApp direkt über die Smartwatch nutzen? Kein Problem! Watchfaces sind beliebig austauschbar und lassen sich individuell anpassen. Durch die Integration eines Mikrofons und eines Lautsprechers lassen sich Anrufe direkt über die Smartwatch führen, ohne dass man das Smartphone aus der Hosentatsche nehmen muss. NFC erlaubt die Nutzung von Google Pay, womit man kontaktlos und somit besonders bequem bezahlen kann.

TicWatch 3 Pro GPS Wear OS Betriebssystem

Quelle: mobvoi.com/ge/pages/ticwatchpro3gps

Preis und Verfügbarkeit

Die TicWatch Pro 3 GPS Smartwatch ist ab sofort erhältlich. Bei Amazon ist die Smartwatch für 299,99 Euro gelistet. Als Verfügbarkeitsdatum wird dort der 30. September angegeben.

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
299,99€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 25. Oktober 2020 23:44
guest
4 Comments
Älteste
Neueste
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Seb

Vielen Dank für den informativen Artikel. Bin dazu geneigt mir die Smartwatch zu holen, würde aber auch gerne euren Test abwarten. Wann in etwa ist damit zu rechnen?

Patrick

Hallo, wo liegen denn die Unterschiede zum Vorgänger? So wie ich das erkenne haben die einfach nur den neuen Wear Chip verbaut?!