Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

WE.LOCK Smart Door Lock

WE.LOCK Smart Door Lock Review

Test report created by Timo on March 14, 2021

Via PIN, app, RFID or fingerprint. Smart door locks are a convenient and safe alternative to classic door locks. At least in theory, if you believe manufacturers of security technology.

For this test, I took a closer look at a lock from the middle price segment. The smart door lock from WE.LOCK.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
7
Our rating
139 € amazon
Price Comparison
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

WE.LOCK

Model

SOHO Smart Lock PCB10EBL01

Specifications

 Castle 
Cylinder material: brass
Handle: stainless steel
Cylinder dimensions (outside): 40mm - 55mm
Cylinder dimensions (inside): 30mm - 60mm
Security level: Super B level

 Unlocking 
* PIN (up to 9 PINs)
* RFID (up to 20 tags)
* App (up to 20 users)

 General 
Power supply: 3x AAA batteries
Battery life: approx. 1 year
Temperature: -30 ° C to 60 ° C
Splashproof: IP44

Door thickness: 55mm - 105mm
Total length: variable 18,5cm - 23cm
Weight: 495 g

WE.LOCK Smart Door Lock

Before I go into more detail about the WE.LOCK door lock, let's take a look at the manufacturer of the same name. On the official website WE.LOCK describes itself as a leading supplier in the field of electronic door locks with worldwide sales. The company is based in China.

WE.LOCK door lock with brass cylinder and stainless steel knobs

The WE.LOCK door lock with a keypad on the knob.

The product portfolio is extensive and includes various door locks tailored to businesses and consumers. The "SOHO Smart Lock PCB10EBL01" I tested is one of the popular models for the European market that can be unlocked via PIN, RFID or an app. The identical door lock can also be found on Amazon under a different name, which in turn speaks for an OEM product.

Installation of the WE.LOCK

The WE.LOCK Smart Lock is suitable for all common doors with a thickness of 55 to 105 mm. The lock cylinder is supplied with the two pre-assembled door knobs, the appropriate tool (Allen key), three RFID cards, a silicone protector and an instruction manual. The three AAA batteries required for commissioning are not included in the scope of delivery.

WE.LOCK door lock battery compartment

Three AAA batteries are required to start up the WE.LOCK.

The installation is uncomplicated and takes place like a classic door lock. Simply loosen the locking screws on the doorknobs, insert the batteries on one side, remove the other side, insert the lock cylinder, tighten the forend screw, mount the knob and you're done.

Establishment of the WE.LOCK

The German-language operating instructions explain in pictures and text how to configure the lock. The configuration can be carried out independently of the app using the number pad on the door knob.

Initially you should change the Admin PIN, which is set to 123456 by default. The respective configuration menu is accessed via the numbers 1-6 + lock symbol and then entering the Admin PIN. The admin is able to define up to 9 additional PINs (6-12 digits), 20 RFID cards and 20 app users. All access can be revoked directly via the lock.

WE.LOCK RFID tags

This is what the supplied RFID tags of the WE.LOCK look like.

The RFID tags are of the Mifare Classic (13,56 Mhz) type. If you need more than the 3 included tags, you can buy cards of the current type at low cost. You don't have to rely on the manufacturer's tags.

WE.LOCK (Lite) app

Another configuration and unlocking option is the WE.LOCK app (Android & iOS). With the help of Bluetooth, the lock can be unlocked via the app. However, before you can use the app with the lock, you have to create a WE.LOCK account that requires the phone number or email.

Once the access has been created, the WE.LOCK can be added to the app using the QR code on the door knob and the lock ID on the lock cylinder.

About two months ago, the app was still a major criticism of the WE.LOCK. There was no talk of an appealing design and also with regard to the susceptibility to errors, the app crashed more often or the lock was simply not recognized.

If you search for “WE.LOCK Lite” in the respective app store, you will find another app from the manufacturer. The Lite app is compatible with all WE.LOCK locks, has a much more appealing design and is also more stable. There are no functional differences between the two apps.

In contrast to the configuration via the lock, the app offers the option of creating temporary PINs with an expiration date. If the lock is unlocked via the app, a notification is also sent to the smartphone.

Practical test of the WE.LOCK

I have been using the WE.LOCK door lock on my apartment door for about 2 months. For me it is a practical solution to give family members access to the apartment without having to have extra keys made.

The lock is usually unlocked using a PIN or RFID. Although the app is on the smartphone, it does not initially offer any added value. The lock can be unlocked faster with a PIN or RFID tag. It takes time until the app is started and a connection to the lock is established. A stable Bluetooth connection is only established over a short distance of about one meter.

WE.LOCK door lock with PIN entry

The illuminated keypad of the WE.LOCK door lock.

The notification function would be a useful feature, but fails because unlocking by PIN or RFID is not registered. The process is only visible in the process when the lock is unlocked via the app. Fortunately, the Bluetooth function can be completely deactivated using the lock.

As far as the security and design of the WE.LOCK are concerned, there are no major points of criticism. The door knobs are made of stainless steel and the door lock cylinder is made of brass. The keys are illuminated and the entry is confirmed with a tone, which can also be deactivated.

WE.LOCK door lock installed in apartment door

The WE.LOCK door lock in a conventional apartment door.

If you unlock the WE.LOCK, a servomotor inside drives a pin into the freewheel, which moves the opening bolt. After about 10 seconds the pen moves back and the doorknob turns freely again. The lock cannot be manipulated with a strong magnet. When closed, there is no way to remove the lock.

The WE.LOCK is extremely economical in terms of power consumption. Even after two months, the battery indicator has barely moved and still shows 95%. According to WE.LOCK, the batteries last about 1 year, provided the lock is unlocked 10 times a day. If the battery level falls below 20%, you will be notified at the lock and via the app. The batteries can be exchanged from the outside.

WE.LOCK door lock USB socket

The MicroUSB socket is hidden under this QR code.

In the event of a total failure, an emergency release is available. A microUSB socket is hidden behind the printed QR code. If you connect a power bank to it, the lock is supplied with electricity. The lock can now be unlocked via the app. An important reason why you should have the app ready on your smartphone anyway.

Price Comparison

iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
139,00€
rating
Positive

Easy construction
Lots of unlock options
Unlocks quickly
Temporary PIN
Emergency power supply via USB

Negative

App requires registration
Notification scope of the app
No Google Home / HomeKit / Alexa connection

Summary

Whether via PIN, RFID or app, the smart door lock from WE.LOCK has always unlocked reliably after a test phase of around two months. Still, it's not quite as smart as the representatives of well-known brands.

This is particularly noticeable with the app, which lacks some useful functions. Only the unlocks made via the app are displayed in the course of the process. The door lock also lacks a HomeKit, Google Home or Alexa connection.

When it comes to security, one should always keep in mind that any possibility of unlocking the lock brings with it another security risk. On the other hand, no lock is unbreakable. How much trust you have in the lock and on which door you use it, everyone has to find out for themselves. Personally, I would only install it on intermediate doors and not security-related doors.

7
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

WE.LOCK

Model

SOHO Smart Lock PCB10EBL01

Specifications

 Castle 
Cylinder material: brass
Handle: stainless steel
Cylinder dimensions (outside): 40mm - 55mm
Cylinder dimensions (inside): 30mm - 60mm
Security level: Super B level

 Unlocking 
* PIN (up to 9 PINs)
* RFID (up to 20 tags)
* App (up to 20 users)

 General 
Power supply: 3x AAA batteries
Battery life: approx. 1 year
Temperature: -30 ° C to 60 ° C
Splashproof: IP44

Door thickness: 55mm - 105mm
Total length: variable 18,5cm - 23cm
Weight: 495 g

Advertising

Banggood LOTMAXX Promo

Banggood Summer Promo

Reviews
0
Review

WE.LOCK Smartes Türschloss im Test

by 14. März 2021

Per PIN, App, RFID oder Fingerabdruck. Smarte Türschlösser sind eine komfortable und sichere Alternative zum klassischen Türschloss. Zumindest in der Theorie, sofern man Herstellern von Sicherheitstechnik Glauben schenkt.

Für diesen Test habe ich mir ein Schloss aus dem mittleren Preissegment näher angesehen. Das smarte Türschloss von WE.LOCK.

Überblick
Hersteller

WE.LOCK

Produktbezeichnung

SOHO Smart Lock PCB10EBL01

Spezifikationen

Schloss
Zylindermaterial: Messing
Griff: Edelstahl
Zylindermaße (Außen): 40mm – 55mm
Zylindermaße (Innen): 30mm – 60mm
Sicherheitslevel: Super B Level

Entriegelung
*PIN (bis 9 PINs)
*RFID (bis 20 Tags)
*App (bis 20 Nutzer)

Allgemein
Stromversorgung: 3x AAA Batterien
Batterielebensdauer: ca. 1 Jahr
Temperatur: -30°C bis 60°C
Spritzwassergeschützt: IP44

Türdicke: 55mm – 105mm
Gesamtlänge: variabel 18,5cm – 23cm
Gewicht: 495 g

WE.LOCK Smart Door Lock

Bevor ich näher auf das WE.LOCK Türschloss eingehe, werfen wir noch einen Blick auf den gleichnamigen Hersteller. Auf der offiziellen Webseite bezeichnet sich WE.LOCK als ein führender Anbieter im Bereich elektronischer Türschlösser mit weltweitem Vertrieb. Seinen Sitz hat das Unternehmen in China.

WE.LOCK Türschloss mit Messing Zylinder und Edelstahl Knäufen

Das WE.LOCK Türschloss mit Tastenfeld am Knauf.

Das Produktportfolio ist umfänglich und umfasst verschiedene Türschlösser, die auf Unternehmen und Verbraucher zugeschnitten sind. Das von mir getestete „SOHO Smart Lock PCB10EBL01“ ist eines der gängigen Modelle für den europäischen Markt, das sich per PIN, RFID oder App entriegeln lässt. Auf Amazon findet man das identische Türschloss auch unter anderem Namen, was wiederum für ein OEM Produkt spricht.

Einbau des WE.LOCK

Das WE.LOCK Smart Lock eignet sich für alle gängigen Türen mit einer Stärke von 55 bis 105 mm.  Geliefert werden der Schließzylinder mit den beiden vormontierten Türknäufen, das passende Werkzeug (Inbus), drei RFID-Karten, ein Silikonschutz und eine Bedienungsanleitung. Die für die Inbetriebnahme benötigten drei AAA Batterien sind nicht im Lieferumfang enthalten.

WE.LOCK Türschloss Batteriefach

Für die Inbetriebnahme des WE.LOCK werden drei AAA-Batterien benötigt.

Der Einbau ist unkompliziert und erfolgt wie bei einem klassischen Türschloss. Einfach die Feststellschrauben an den Türknäufen lösen, auf der einen Seite die Batterien einlegen, die andere Seite abmontieren, Schließzylinder einsetzen, Stulpschraube festziehen, Knauf montieren und fertig.

Einrichtung des WE.LOCK

In der deutschsprachigen Bedienungsanleitung wird in Bildern und Text erklärt, wie man das Schloss konfiguriert. Die Konfiguration lässt sich unabhängig von der App direkt über das Zahlenfeld des Türknaufs vornehmen.

Anfänglich sollte man die Admin PIN ändern, die standardmäßig auf 123456 eingestellt ist. Über die Zahlen 1-6 + Schlosssymbol und anschließender Eingabe der Admin PIN gelangt man in das jeweilige Konfigurationsmenü. Der Admin ist in der Lage, bis zu 9 weitere PINs (6-12 Stellen), 20 RFID-Karten und 20 App-Nutzer zu bestimmen. Sämtliche Zugänge lassen sich direkt über das Schloss widerrufen.

WE.LOCK RFID Tags

So sehen die mitgelieferten RFID-Tags des WE.LOCK aus.

Die RFID-Tags sind vom Typ Mifare Classic (13,56 Mhz). Benötigt man mehr als die 3 mitgelieferten Tags, kann man Karten vom gängigen Typ kostengünstig nachkaufen. Man ist nicht auf die Tags des Herstellers angewiesen.

WE.LOCK (Lite) App

Eine weitere Konfigurations- und Entsperrmöglichkeit ist die WE.LOCK App (Android & iOS). Mit Hilfe von Bluetooth lässt sich per App das Schloss entriegeln. Bevor man die App allerdings mit dem Schloss nutzen kann, muss man sich einen WE.LOCK Zugang anlegen, der die Telefonnummer oder E-Mail verlangt.

Ist der Zugang angelegt, kann man über den QR-Code am Türknauf und die Schloss-ID am Schließzylinder das WE.LOCK in der App hinzufügen.

Die App war vor rund zwei Monaten noch ein großer Kritikpunkt des WE.LOCK. Von einem ansprechenden Design war nicht die Rede und auch was die Fehleranfälligkeit betrifft, ist die App häufiger abgestürzt oder aber das Schloss wurde einfach nicht erkannt.

Sucht man im jeweiligen App-Store nach „WE.LOCK Lite“, findet man eine weitere App des Herstellers. Die Lite App ist mit allen WE.LOCK Schlössern kompatibel, deutlich ansprechender im Design und läuft auch stabiler. Funktional gibt es zwischen beiden Apps keine Unterschiede.

Im Gegensatz zur Konfiguration über das Schloss bietet die App die Möglichkeit, temporäre PINs mit Ablaufdatum anzulegen. Wird das Schloss über die App entriegelt, enthält man zudem eine Benachrichtigung auf das Smartphone.

Praxistest des WE.LOCK

Ich benutze das WE.LOCK Türschloss seit ungefähr 2 Monaten an meiner Wohnungstür. Für mich ist es eine praktische Lösung, Familienmitgliedern einen Zugang zur Wohnung zu geben, ohne extra Schlüssel anfertigen zu lassen.

Entsperrt wird das Schloss meistens per PIN oder RFID. Die App befindet sich zwar auf dem Smartphone, bietet aber zunächst keinen größeren Mehrwert. Per PIN oder RFID-Tag ist das Schloss schneller entsperrt. Bis man die App gestartet hat und eine Verbindung zum Schloss aufgebaut ist, dauert. Eine stabile Bluetooth-Verbindung wird nur auf kurze Distanz von etwa einem Meter hergestellt.

WE.LOCK Türschloss mit PIN Eingabe

Das beleuchtete Tastenfeld des WE.LOCK Türschlosses.

Die Benachrichtigungsfunktion wäre ein nützliches Feature, scheitert aber daran, dass Entriegelungen durch PIN oder RFID nicht registriert werden. Nur wenn das Schloss über die App entriegelt wird, ist der Vorgang im Verlauf sichtbar. Erfreulicherweise lässt sich die Bluetooth-Funktion über das Schloss komplett deaktivieren.

Was die Sicherheit und Aufmachung des WE.LOCK betrifft, gibt es keine größeren Kritikpunkte. Die Türknäufe bestehen aus Edelstahl und der Türschließzylinder aus Messing. Die Tasten sind beleuchtet und die Eingabe wird mit einem Ton bestätigt, den man aber auch deaktivieren kann.

WE.LOCK Türschloss in Wohnungstür installiert

Das WE.LOCK Türschloss in einer herkömmlichen Wohnungstür.

Entsperrt man das WE.LOCK, wird per Stellmotor im Inneren ein Stift in den Freilauf gefahren, der den Öffnungsriegel bewegt. Nach ungefähr 10 Sekunden fährt der Stift wieder zurück und der Türknauf dreht wieder frei. Mit einem starken Magneten lässt sich das Schloss nicht manipulieren. Im geschlossenen Zustand hat man keine Möglichkeit, das Schloss auszubauen.

Im Stromverbrauch ist das WE.LOCK überaus sparsam. Selbst nach zwei Monaten hat sich die Batterieanzeige kaum bewegt und zeigt noch 95% an. Laut WE.LOCK halten die Batterien ungefähr 1 Jahr, sofern das Schloss täglich 10x entsperrt wird. Sollte der Batteriestand unter 20% fallen, wird man am Schloss und über die App benachrichtigt. Die Batterien lassen sich von außen tauschen.

WE.LOCK Türschloss USB Buchse

Unter diesem QR-Code verbirgt sich die MicroUSB-Buchse.

Im Falle eines Totalausfalls ist eine Notfallentriegelung vorhanden. Hinter dem aufgedruckten QR-Code verbirgt sich eine MicroUSB-Buchse. Schließt man darüber eine Powerbank an, wird das Schloss mit Strom versorgt. Per App lässt sich das Schloss nun entsperren. Ein wichtiger Grund, wieso man trotzdem die App auf seinem Smartphone bereithalten sollte.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
169,00€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 14. März 2021 20:48

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Einfache Montage
Viele Entsperrmöglichkeiten
Entsperrt schnell
Temporäre PIN
Notfallstromversorgung per USB

Negativ

App verlangt Registrierung
Benachrichtigungsumfang der App
Keine Google Home / HomeKit / Alexa Anbindung

Bewertung
7.0
Fazit

Egal ob per PIN, RFID oder App, das smarte Türschloss von WE.LOCK hat nach rund zweimonatiger Testphase immer zuverlässig entsperrt. Trotzdem ist es nicht ganz so smart wie die Vertreter bekannter Marken.

Das fällt vor allem bei der App auf, die einige nützliche Funktionen vermisst. So werden im Verlauf lediglich die über die App vorgenommenen Entriegelungen angezeigt. Auch fehlt es dem Türschloss an einer HomeKit, Google Home oder Alexa Anbindung.

Was die Sicherheit betrifft, so sollte man immer im Hinterkopf behalten, dass jede Möglichkeit, das Schloss zu entsperren, auch ein weiteres Sicherheitsrisiko mit sich bringt. Andererseits ist kein Schloss unknackbar. Wie viel vertrauen man in das Schloss hat und an welcher Tür man es verwendet, das muss jeder für sich selbst ausmachen. Ich persönlich würde es nur an Zwischentüren und keinen sicherheitsrelevanten Türen installieren.

7.0
Unsere Bewertung
Nutzerbewertung
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments