Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker Product Image

Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker Test - Smart speaker with Google Assistant

Test report prepared by Timo on July 21, 2021

In addition to listening to music, just ask about the weather or check the news - smart speakers with integrated voice assistants make it possible. The focus is on the three most popular voice control systems: Alexa, Google Assistant and Siri.

The Mi Smart Speaker from Xiaomi is a particularly inexpensive speaker with a connection to the Google Assistant. As is well known, Xiaomi stands for good value for money. This test reveals whether this also applies to the Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8.5
Our rating
38 € cyberport
Price Comparison
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

Xiaomi

Model

Mi Smart Speaker (L09G)

Specifications

 Loudspeakers 
Audio processor: Texas Instruments TAS5805M
Driver size: 63,5 mm
Leistung: 12W

 connectivity 
WLAN: 2,4 GHz / 5 GHz
Bluetooth: 4.2

 General 
Voice assistant: Google Assistant
Chromecast: integrated
Microphones: 2 (omnidirectional)

Power supply: 12V DC 1,5A
Dimensions: 131 x 104 x 151 mm
Weight: 853g

What's in the box

1x speaker
1x power supply
1x manual

My Smart Speaker

Xiaomi is represented in China with its own language assistant. Xiao AI - the name of the language assistant there - so far only understands Chinese, which is why the company works closely with Google on the global market.

Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker Review

Design and workmanship

The Mi Smart Speaker looks very similar to the Sonos One. The design is modern, downright timeless and almost ideal for every room. Oval shaped, the dimensions of the loudspeaker are 131 x 104 x 151 mm. The speaker cover consists of a metal grille that surrounds the center of the body. The loudspeaker is finished with a high-quality plastic at the top and bottom. The contrast between the white plastic and the metal grille underlines the simple design of the Mi Smart Speaker.

In addition to voice control, the loudspeaker can also be operated using the touch control panel on the top. Arranged horizontally, there is a button for louder and quieter, a play / pause button and a button that can be used to mute the microphone. Unfortunately, the buttons are not illuminated. A ring of light surrounds the upper edge of the loudspeaker, which lights up when it is addressed. If you mute the microphone, the edge lights up permanently orange. The lighting can only be dimmed (night mode), but not switched off completely.

Mi Smart Speaker power connection

Power is supplied via a 12V 1.5A power supply unit with a DC plug. The power supply unit is plugged in via a connection on the back of the loudspeaker. The processing quality is right and corresponds to what you can expect from Xiaomi.

Facility

Android smartphone users benefit from the extremely simple setup of the Mi Smart Speaker. The Google Home app required for setup is preinstalled on many Android devices. Users of an iOS device must first download the app from the App Store.

As soon as the loudspeaker is connected to the power for the first time, users of an Android device will be informed that a new device is ready to be set up. If you have already set up the Google Home app, the integration of the Mi Smart Speaker is done in just 3 steps. The loudspeaker receives the WLAN data automatically from Google Home. The connection is then established and, if available, the necessary updates are installed.

sound quality

The sound is decisive for a good loudspeaker. A Texas Instruments TAS5805M audio processor and a single 63.5 mm full-frequency driver are responsible for this. The peak power of the Mi Smart Speaker is 12 watts.

The sound can be described as predominantly center-weighted. The fundamental range is pronounced, which on the one hand gives it a warm note, but on the other hand takes away a little of its delicacy and dynamism. However, this is not uncommon for speakers of this size. Of course there are speakers of a similar size that sound a tad better. However, one should not lose sight of the price. For around 40 euros, the sound is pretty good and more than does justice to normal music listeners.

Mi Smart Speaker control panel

Incidentally, you can use the Google Home app to make equalizer settings for bass and treble. Playing with the controls doesn't bring more depth, but it does moderate the dominant mids.

A few words about the volume before we switch to the functions. There is hardly anything to complain about here either. When fully turned up, the Mi Smart Speaker is pretty loud and enough to provide sound in a small apartment. The sound quality is barely audible.

Features

The Mi Smart Speaker is a loudspeaker that can be conveniently controlled remotely using voice commands. For this purpose, the loudspeaker has built in two microphones that record omnidirectionally, i.e. over the entire area of ​​the room. That works really well too. Once you say “Ok Google”, the voice assistant will be activated. The microphones are set to be extremely sensitive. The assistant could even be activated from the adjoining room without any problems.

Mi Smart Speaker in the living room

The voice assistant is the Google Assistant, which in addition to commands for music control also answers questions ("Why is the banana crooked?") And is able to control the entire smart home, provided that other devices (TV, lamps, thermostats and more) are integrated into Google Home.

With the help of the integrated Chromecast, content can be streamed directly from the smartphone or tablet to the speaker. If you hear a song on Spotify on your smartphone, one click is enough to transfer the playback to the Mi Smart Speaker.

The ability to make Google Duo calls over the loudspeaker is practical. The free voice and video telephony service works as long as the person you are talking to also has a Duo-compatible device or has installed the Google Duo app on their mobile device.

If a Mi Smart Speaker is not enough for you, you can combine two speakers to form a stereo sound system. Unfortunately, we couldn't try this function due to the lack of a second speaker.

Price Comparison

iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
37,90€
Rating
Positive

Stylish design
Good workmanship
Easy to set up and use
Integrated Chromecast
Good sound in itself, but ...

Negative

... heavily center-weighted.
Control buttons not illuminated
Illuminated ring cannot be switched off

Summary

The design is timeless and modern and goes with pretty much any home furnishings. The sound quality is right, even if the loudspeaker lacks something in terms of fineness and dynamics. Functionally, the Mi Smart Speaker is in no way inferior to other smart speakers thanks to the Google Assistant and the integrated Chromecast.

In view of the price of just under 40 euros, the Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker is a real alternative to Amazon's Echo series or the smart Nest speakers from Google, which is why we can safely recommend a purchase.

8.5
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

Xiaomi

Model

Mi Smart Speaker (L09G)

Specifications

 Loudspeakers 
Audio processor: Texas Instruments TAS5805M
Driver size: 63,5 mm
Leistung: 12W

 connectivity 
WLAN: 2,4 GHz / 5 GHz
Bluetooth: 4.2

 General 
Voice assistant: Google Assistant
Chromecast: integrated
Microphones: 2 (omnidirectional)

Power supply: 12V DC 1,5A
Dimensions: 131 x 104 x 151 mm
Weight: 853g

What's in the box

1x speaker
1x power supply
1x manual

Advertising

Goboo Xiaomi Pad 5 offer

Goboo Redmi 10 offer

Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker Lautsprecher Product Image

Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker Test – Smarter Lautsprecher mit Google Assistant

Testbericht erstellt von Timo am 21. Juli 2021

Neben dem Musikhören mal eben nach dem Wetter fragen oder die News checken – Smarte Lautsprecher mit integriertem Sprachassistenten machen es möglich. Im Zentrum stehen dabei die drei bekanntesten Sprachsteuerungssysteme: Alexa, Google Assistant und Siri.

Ein besonders preiswerter Lautsprecher mit Anbindung an den Google Assistant ist der Mi Smart Speaker aus dem Hause Xiaomi. Bekanntermaßen steht Xiaomi für eine gute Preis-Leistung. Ob das auch auf den Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker zutrifft, das verrät dieser Test.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp Buffer Pin It
8.5
Unsere Bewertung
40€ cyberport.de
Preisvergleich
Technische Daten
Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Modell

Mi Smart Speaker (L09G)

Spezifikationen

Lautsprecher
Audioprozessor: Texas Instruments TAS5805M
Treibergröße: 63,5 mm
Leistung: 12W

Konnektivität
WLAN: 2,4 GHz / 5 GHz
Bluetooth: 4.2

Allgemein
Sprachassistent: Google Assistant
Chromecast: integriert
Mikrofone: 2 (omnidirektional)

Stromversorgung: 12V DC 1,5A
Abmessungen: 131 x 104 x 151 mm
Gewicht: 853g

Lieferumfang

1x Lautsprecher
1x Netzteil
1x Anleitung

Mi Smart Speaker

In China ist Xiaomi mit einem eigenen Sprachassistenten vertreten. Die Xiao AI – so der Name des dortigen Sprachassistenten – versteht bislang jedoch nur Chinesisch, weshalb das Unternehmen auf dem globalen Markt eng mit Google zusammenarbeitet.

Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker Review

Design und Verarbeitung

Der Mi Smart Speaker sieht dem Sonos One zum Verwechseln ähnlich. Das Design ist modern, regelrecht zeitlos und nahezu ideal für jedes Zimmer. Oval geformt liegen die Abmessungen des Lautsprechers bei 131 x 104 x 151 mm. Die Lautsprecherabdeckung besteht aus einem Metallgitter, das den Korpus mittig umgibt. Nach oben und unten hin ist der Lautsprecher mit einem qualitativ hochwertigen Kunststoff abgeschlossen. Der Kontrast des weißen Kunststoffes zum Metallgitter unterstreicht das schlichte Design des Mi Smart Speaker.

Neben der Sprachsteuerung lässt sich der Lautsprecher auch über das Touch-Bedienfeld auf der Oberseite bedienen. Horizontal angeordnet gibt es jeweils eine Taste für lauter und leiser, eine Play/Pause Taste und eine Taste, mit der sich das Mikrofon stummschalten lässt. Leider sind die Tasten nicht beleuchtet. Den oberen Rand des Lautsprechers umgibt ein Leuchtring, der beim Ansprechen aufleuchtet. Schaltet man das Mikrofon stumm, leuchtet der Rand dauerhaft orange. Die Beleuchtung lässt sich lediglich dimmen (Nachtmodus), nicht aber komplett abschalten.

Mi Smart Speaker Stromanschluss

Die Stromversorgung erfolgt über ein 12V 1.5A Netzteil mit DC Stecker. Eingesteckt wird das Netzteil über einen Anschluss auf der Rückseite des Lautsprechers. Die Verarbeitungsqualität stimmt und entspricht dem, was man von Xiaomi erwarten darf.

Einrichtung

Nutzer eines Android Smartphones profitieren von der überaus einfachen Einrichtung des Mi Smart Speaker. Die zur Einrichtung benötigte Google Home App ist auf vielen Android Geräten bereits vorinstalliert. Nutzer eines iOS Gerätes müssen die App zunächst aus dem App Store herunterladen.

Sobald der Lautsprecher erstmalig am Strom hängt, erhalten Nutzer eines Android Gerätes den Hinweis, dass ein neues Gerät zur Einrichtung bereitsteht. Hat man vorher bereits die Google Home App eingerichtet, ist die Integration des Mi Smart Speaker in nur 3 Schritten erledigt. Die WLAN-Daten bezieht der Lautsprecher automatisch über Google Home. Anschließend wird die Verbindung hergestellt und falls vorhanden, die notwendigen Updates installiert.

Klangqualität

Entscheidend für einen guten Lautsprecher ist der Klang. Für diesen sind ein Texas Instruments TAS5805M Audioprozessor und ein einzelner 63.5 mm Vollfrequenz-Treiber zuständig. Die Spitzenleistung des Mi Smart Speaker liegt bei 12 Watt.

Beschreiben lässt sich der Klang als überwiegend mittenbetont. Der Grundtonbereich ist ausgeprägt, was ihm einerseits eine warme Note verleiht, ihm andererseits aber ein wenig die Feinheit und Dynamik nimmt. Das ist bei Lautsprechern in diesem Größenformat aber auch nicht unüblich. Klar gibt es Lautsprecher ähnlicher Größe, die einen Ticken besser klingen. Man sollte allerdings nicht den Preis aus den Augen verlieren. Für um die 40 Euro ist der Klang ziemlich gut und wird dem normalen Musikhörer mehr als gerecht.

Mi Smart Speaker Bedienfeld

Übrigens hat man über die Google Home App die Möglichkeit, Equalizer-Einstellungen zum Bass und den Höhen vorzunehmen. Mit den Reglern zu spielen, bringt zwar nicht mehr Tiefgang, mäßigt jedoch die dominanten Mitten.

Noch ein paar Worte zur Lautstärke, bevor wir zu den Funktionen wechseln. Auch bei diesem Punkt gibt es kaum etwas auszusetzen. Voll aufgedreht ist der Mi Smart Speaker ganz schön laut und reicht zur Beschallung einer kleinen Wohnung. Die Klangqualität nimmt dabei kaum hörbar ab.

Funktionen

Der Mi Smart Speaker ist ein Lautsprecher, der sich bequem aus der Ferne per Sprachbefehl steuern lässt. Hierzu hat der Lautsprecher zwei Mikrofone verbaut, die omnidirektional, also über die gesamte Raumfläche aufnehmen. Das funktioniert auch richtig gut. Einmal „Ok Google“ gesagt, schon wird der Sprachassistent aktiv. Die Mikrofone sind überaus empfindlich eingestellt. Selbst aus dem Nebenraum heraus ließ sich der Assistent problemlos aktivieren.

Mi Smart Speaker im Wohnzimmer

Der Sprachassistent ist der Google Assistant, der neben Kommandos zur Musiksteuerung auch Fragen beantwortet („Warum ist die Banane krumm?“) und in der Lage ist, das gesamte Smart Home zu steuern, sofern weitere Geräte (TV, Lampen, Thermostate und mehr) in Google Home eingebunden sind.

Mit Hilfe des integrierten Chromecast lassen sich Inhalte vom Smartphone oder Tablet direkt an den Lautsprecher streamen. Hört man über das Smartphone einen Song auf Spotify, genügt ein Klick, um die Wiedergabe auf den Mi Smart Speaker zu übertragen.

Praktisch ist die Möglichkeit, Google Duo Anrufe über den Lautsprecher zu tätigen. Der kostenfreie Sprach- und Videotelefonie-Dienst funktioniert sofern der Gesprächspartner ebenfalls ein Duo-kompatibles Gerät besitzt oder die Google Duo App auf seinem Mobilgerät installiert hat.

Wem ein Mi Smart Speaker nicht genügt, der kann zwei Lautsprecher zu einem Stereo-Soundsystem verbinden. Leider konnten wir diese Funktion mangels eines zweiten Lautsprechers nicht ausprobieren.

Preisvergleich

iconDeutsches Warenlager
iconLieferzeit 2-5 Werktage
39,90€
Bewertung
Positiv

Stilvolles Design
Gute Verarbeitungsqualität
Einfach Einrichtung und Bedienung
Integrierter Chromecast
An sich guter Klang, aber ...

Negativ

... stark mittenbetont.
Bedientasten nicht beleuchtet
Leuchtring nicht abschaltbar

8.5
Fazit

Das Design ist zeitlos-modern und passt zu ziemlich jeder Wohnungseinrichtung. Die Klangqualität stimmt, wenn auch der Lautsprecher etwas an Feinheit und Dynamik vermisst. Funktional steht der Mi Smart Speaker dank des Google Assistant und des integrierten Chromecast anderen smarten Lautsprechern in nichts nach.

In Anbetracht des Preises von knapp 40 Euro ist der Xiaomi Mi Smart Speaker eine echte Alternative zu Amazons Echo Reihe oder den smarten Nest Lautsprechern von Google, weshalb wir bedenkenlos eine Kaufempfehlung aussprechen können.

8.5
Unsere Bewertung
Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Modell

Mi Smart Speaker (L09G)

Spezifikationen

Lautsprecher
Audioprozessor: Texas Instruments TAS5805M
Treibergröße: 63,5 mm
Leistung: 12W

Konnektivität
WLAN: 2,4 GHz / 5 GHz
Bluetooth: 4.2

Allgemein
Sprachassistent: Google Assistant
Chromecast: integriert
Mikrofone: 2 (omnidirektional)

Stromversorgung: 12V DC 1,5A
Abmessungen: 131 x 104 x 151 mm
Gewicht: 853g

Lieferumfang

1x Lautsprecher
1x Netzteil
1x Anleitung

Werbung

Banggood LOTMAXX Promo

Banggood Summer Promo