News
1

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone - All information about the VR Headset

by Timo31. May 2018

At this year's Consumer Electronics Show 2018, Xiaomi and Oculus (Facebook) jointly announced the Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone, as well as the identical and Western-based Oculus Go. The Mi VR Standalone is a standalone virtual reality glasses that can be used without a PC or smartphone. More in the following post!

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Xiaomi

Product

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone / Oculus Go

Specifications

Display
Display Type: LCD
Display diagonal: 5.5 inches
Display resolution: 2560 × 1440

Processor and memory
Processor: Qualcomm Snapdragon 821
Memory: 32GB / 64GB

Other
Audio: Stereo speaker + 3.5 mm audio jack
Battery: 2600 mAh
Weight: 425g

Xiaomi Mi VR standalone

Update 31. May 2018

Xiaomi has the, in collaboration with Oculus originated Standalone VR glasses "Mi VR" officially published. The VR headset is identical to the Oculus Go and is also available in 32GB and 64GB versions. How to behave, that is User interface of Mi VR to the Sales country China adapted and thus differs from the user interface of the Oculus Go. To what extent the firmware of the devices can be exchanged, will have to show. It is not unlikely that games of the Oculus Go will run on the Mi VR. After all, both companies also share the software development of the respective platforms.

Buy Xiaomi Mi VR

Price is that 32GB model of Xiaomi Mi VR at 1499 Yuan, what in about 200 € equivalent. The 64GB model in turn costs 1799 Yuan, converted about 240 €, The price difference to the Oculus Go (from 216 €) is therefore extremely low, which is why, according to the current state, an import will not be worthwhile.

The CES 2018 holds many surprises ready. Especially if suddenly Hugo Barraformer Google Mobile Team Product Manager, then vice president for international affairs at Xiaomi and now vice president of the Facebook virtual reality team, enters the stage of the Qualcomm press conference and one Collaboration between Xiaomi and Oculus announced. Xiaomi occurs as Hardware partner besides Oculus and will be both the ones already announced in October of last year, Oculus Go, as well as the identical Xiaomi Mi VR standalone to produce.

Qualcomm press conference with presentation of two new VR glasses

Identical hardware

Oculus Go and Mi VR Standalone are called identical devices appear that differ only in brand logo and software. Equipped with one Qualcomm Snapdragon 821 processorAmong other things, in the flagship smartphones of the past year, the standalone VR glasses will do without a PC or mobile device. For a sharp view provides a high-resolution 2K LCD (2560 × 1440 pixels), which in addition to a large field of view should also offer a flicker-free VR experience. An appropriate one surround sound the user receives via a, in the headset integrated speaker.

Different software

The most important difference lies in the software. It would be unthinkable if Facebook, still subject to Chinese censorship, would suddenly release VR glasses on the Chinese market. Therefore, the Xiaomi VR standalone will appear with customized software exclusively in the Chinese market and the Xiaomi's own VR surface, as well as the Xiaomi Store use. Nevertheless, the Mi VR standalone with Oculus Mobile SDK compatible so apps can be easily ported. A release date of both VR glasses Hugo Barra did not say at the Qualcomm press conference. However, it is known that both glasses still 2018 appear should and at the same time about $ 199 cost.

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone and Oculus Go VR glasses

First impression

The Xiaomi VR goggles and the Oculus Go promise to bring virtual reality to life. With support for the Oculus Mobile SDK on both devices, there are many ways to publish apps for both VR glasses simultaneously. In part, consumer electronics from China are significantly cheaper than their counterparts intended for the Western market. To what extent both glasses will appear at the same price, will have to show. Maybe the Xiaomi VR glasses could even be cheaper to buy. It should be very interesting, therefore, to what extent the hardware can be equipped with the respective other software interface. It will be interesting to see what awaits us in the coming months!

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
324,17€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from China
361,69€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 05: 00
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
418,67€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from China
452,34€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 05: 00

1
Leave a comment

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
Steffen Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
Steffen
guest
Steffen

I ordered the Oculus Go. Although I'm also interested in whether you can swap the firmware with each other but at the price, the Mi VR would really be a NoGo. See no reason to prefer the Xiaomi headset to the Oculus.

News
1

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone – Alle Infos zum VR Headset

by TimoMai 31, 2018

Auf der diesjährigen Consumer Electronics Show 2018 haben Xiaomi und Oculus (Facebook) gemeinsam die Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone, als auch die baugleiche und für den westlichen Markt bestimmte Oculus Go angekündigt. Die Mi VR Standalone ist eine eigenständige Virtual Reality Brille, die ganz ohne PC oder Smartphone genutzt werden kann. Mehr dazu im folgenden Beitrag!

Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Produktbezeichnung

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone / Oculus Go

Spezifikationen

Display
Displaytyp: LCD
Displaydiagonale: 5.5 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 2560 × 1440

Prozessor und Speicher
Prozessor: Qualcomm Snapdragon 821
Speicher: 32GB / 64GB

Sonstige
Audio: Stereo Lautsprecher + 3.5 mm Audiobuchse
Akku: 2600 mAh
Gewicht: 425g

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone

Update 31. Mai 2018

Xiaomi hat die, in Zusammenarbeit mit Oculus entstandene Standalone VR-Brille „Mi VR“ offiziell veröffentlicht. Das VR-Headset ist baugleich zur Oculus Go und ist ebenfalls in einer 32GB und 64GB Ausführung erhältlich. Wie zu erwaten gewesen, ist die Benutzeroberfläche der Mi VR an das Verkaufsland China angepasst und unterscheidet sich somit von der Benutzeroberfläche der Oculus Go. Inwiefern sich die Firmware der Geräte austauschen lässt, wird sich zeigen müssen. Dass Spiele der Oculus Go auf der Mi VR lauffähig sein werden ist nicht unwahrscheinlich. Immerhin teilen beide Unternehmen auch die softwareseitige Entwicklung der jeweiligen Plattformen.

Xiaomi Mi VR kaufen

Preislich liegt das 32GB Modell der Xiaomi Mi VR bei 1499 Yuan, was in etwa 200€ entspricht. Das 64GB Modell kostet wiederum 1799 Yuan, umgerechnet etwa 240€. Der Preisunterschied zur Oculus Go (ab 216€) fällt somit äußerst gering aus, weshalb sich nach derzeitigem Stand ein Import nicht lohnen wird.

Die CES 2018 hält vielerlei Überraschungen bereit. Vor allem dann, wenn plötzlich Hugo Barra, damaliger Produktmanager des Google Mobile Teams, anschließender Vizepräsident für Internationale Angelegenheiten bei Xiaomi und mittlerweile Vizepräsident des Facebook Virtual Reality Teams, die Bühne der Qualcomm Pressekonferenz betritt und eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Xiaomi und Oculus verkündet. Xiaomi tritt dabei als Hardwarepartner neben Oculus und wird sowohl die, bereits im Oktober des vergangenen Jahres angekündigte, Oculus Go, als auch die baugleiche Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone produzieren.

Qualcomm Pressekonferenz mit Vorstellung zwei neuer VR Brillen

Baugleiche Hardware

Oculus Go und Mi VR Standalone werden als baugleiche Geräte erscheinen, die sich nur bezüglich des Markenlogos und der Software unterscheiden. Ausgestattet mit einem Qualcomm Snapdragon 821 Prozessor, der unter anderem in Flaggschiff-Smartphones des vergangenen Jahres vorkam, wird die Standalone VR Brille ganz ohne PC oder Mobilgerät auskommen. Für eine scharfe Sicht sorgt ein hochauflösendes 2K LCD (2560 × 1440 Pixel), das neben einem großen Sichtfeld auch ein flackerfreies VR-Erlebnis bieten soll. Einen entsprechenden Raumklang erhält der Nutzer über einen, in das Headset integrierten Lautsprecher.

Unterschiedliche Software

Der wesentlichste Unterschied liegt in der Software. Es wäre unausdenklich, wenn Facebook, das noch immer der chinesischen Zensur unterliegt, plötzlich eine VR-Brille auf dem chinesischen Markt veröffentlichen würde. Deshalb wird die Xiaomi VR Standalone mit angepasster Software ausschließlich auf dem chinesischen Markt erscheinen und dabei die Xiaomi-eigene VR-Oberfläche, als auch den Xiaomi Store nutzen. Dennoch wird auch die Mi VR Standalone mit Oculus Mobile SDK kompatibel sein, sodass sich Apps unkompliziert portieren lassen. Einen Veröffentlichungstermin beider VR Brillen ließ Hugo Barra auf der Qualcomm Pressekonferenz nicht verlauten. Bekannt ist allerdings, dass beide Brillen noch 2018 erscheinen sollen und dabei ungefähr $199 kosten werden.

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone und Oculus Go VR Brille

Ersteindruck

Die Xiaomi VR Brille und auch die Oculus Go versprechen Virtual Reality alltagsgerecht werden zu lassen. Durch die Unterstützung des Oculus Mobile SDK auf beiden Geräten, ergeben sich vielseitige Möglichkeiten, Apps simultan für beide VR Brillen zu veröffentlichen. Teilweise ist Unterhaltungselektronik aus China deutlich günstiger als deren Pendants, die für den westlichen Markt bestimmt sind. Inwiefern beide Brillen zum gleichen Preis erscheinen werden, wird sich zeigen müssen. Eventuell könnte die Xiaomi VR Brille sogar günstiger zu beziehen sein. Durchaus interessant dürfte es deshalb werden, inwiefern sich die Hardware mit der jeweilig anderen Softwareoberfläche ausstatten lässt.  Man darf gespannt sein, was uns in den kommenden Monaten erwarten wird!

1
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
Steffen Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
Neueste Älteste
Benachrichtigung
Steffen
Gast
Steffen

Ich hab mir die Oculus Go bestellt. Bin zwar auch interessiert ob man die Firmware untereinander tauschen kann aber bei dem Preis wäre die Mi VR echt ein NoGo. Sehe keinen Grund das Xiaomi Headset der Oculus vorzuziehen.