Reviews
0
Review

enjoyEC V9 Test - Outdoor Smartphone

by 21. November 2015

A real outdoor smartphone should not only be waterproof, but also be protected from any external impact as much as possible. Water, dust, bumps, heat and cold should not affect a good outdoor smartphone. How are these properties on the enjoyEC V9 Outdoor Smartphone apply and how the smartphone otherwise strikes, I have looked closer.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

enjoyEC

Product

enjoyEC V9

Specifications

Network: Network Dual SIM Cards Dual Standby Unlocked 2G GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 MHz; 3G WCDMA 2100MHz / 1900MHZ / 850MHZ
SoC: CPU-MTK6572 dual-core 1.2GHz
OS: Operating system Android 4.4.2
Memory: RAM 512MB ROM, 4GB External support TF memory card up to 32 GB
Display: Screen 4.5 inches IPS Touch Screen Resolution: 960 * 540 pixels, 16000K colors
Camera: 0.3MP front / rear 8MP with flash, auto focus
Other: WiFi WiFi 802.11b / g / n, Bluetooth 2.1, GPS + AGPS, FM Radio
Sensors: G-sensor, proximity sensor, light sensor, e-compass
Battery: 4000mAh

Scope of delivery

Charger with USB socket
USB data or charging cable
Sachets with stickers
Band with carabiner and compass
Red in-ear headphones with remote control including microphone
Small tool for opening the smartphone back
4000mAh battery
Operating instructions in English and Chinese

Review of the enjoyEC V9 Outdoor Smartphone

enjoyEC Outdoor Smartphone V9 - Hands-On | Unboxing | Review

Overview to enjoyEC V9

The smartphone was delivered in a simple cardboard box. On the back of the box also individual technical details were printed. When you open the box, you will first see the enjoyEC V9 packed in a plastic wrap. In addition, were included in the delivery:

  • a charger with USB socket
  • a USB data or charging cable
  • a bag with stickers
  • a strap with carbine and compass
  • a red in-ear headphone with remote control including microphone
  • a small tool for opening the smartphone back
  • the 4000mAh battery
  • an operating manual in English and Chinese

A screen protector was already on the screen, but not very accurate.

First impression

When I first picked up the smartphone it seemed very powerful. Especially the case makes the smartphone look very large with only a 4.5 inch large screen. But also rightly. An outdoor smartphone is currently characterized by a massive housing, which should protect the hardware from any impact as much as possible. The case itself is made of a hard rubber and partly of hard plastic. The back is held by 6 screws, which you have to open first to get to the battery at all, but also to even insert a SIM card or SD card. Due to the massive housing and the numerous function keys of the smartphone, which are mounted both on the left and on the right, a little harder to use. Below the display are 3 capacitive buttons. The charging socket or the audio output, which are located on the lower and upper edge of the housing, are closed with a rubber sealing cap. A notification LED does not have the smartphone. Overall, my first impression is quite positive.

Hardware

The built-in hardware of the V9 is more in the low budget range. The 4.5 Zoll Display offers only a resolution of 960 × 540 pixels, also only one 1.2 GHz dual core processor from Mediatek is installed. Regarding the memory we come to only 512MB and the internal memory is a bit tight with 4GB, but can be extended by a micro SD card. Without memory expansion you still have about 270MB available.

The enjoyEC V9 is only capable of 2G and 3G. On 4G, so LTE, you have to do without.

Nevertheless, you should not be disappointed with this rather inferior hardware, because the strengths of the enjoyEC V9 are otherwise, namely in the outdoor suitability. What brings me a high end smartphone that crashes into 10 parts immediately after an impact, or that just gives up after a quick dip in the water.

The strengths

I have tested the enjoyEC V9 several times to prove its outdoor suitability. First, I dipped the V9 in a bowl of water to see if the smartphone is actually waterproof. In this case, one should especially make sure that the back is firmly screwed and also the rubber caps are firmly on the individual connections. After a water bath, I could still use the smartphone without any problems. Water has not penetrated water (see video).
In another test, I dropped the smartphone from a standing height to the ground. Even this fall, the smartphone has survived easily.

In the third and final test, I put the switched-on V9 in the freezer for several hours. The V9 was visibly frozen, but it still worked perfectly.

The V9 also has a high-quality GPS chip integrated, which supports not only the conventional GPS standard but also A-GPS. As a result, the position determination is performed even faster and more accurate. An electronic compass is also integrated so that the V9 can also be used as 'pedestrian navigation' or just for orientation in the forest.

Enjoyec V9 water test

User Interface

The operating system was Android 4.4.2. The Android used here is also largely based on Stock Android, so except for me 2 not known apps, no other third-party apps were installed. The V9 can be updated directly via the settings menu. Updates can be received here OTA (Over The Air). Unfortunately there was no current update to a higher Android version.

Except for a crash of Google search, the system was quite stable. Despite the rather meager hardware, I was able to move smoothly through the user interface and apps could be opened quickly. The system is quite well matched to the hardware used here.

Display

Although no HD display was used here, but with a display with only 4.5 inches (according to CPU-Z only 4.08 inches) this circumstance is not further tragic. Despite the numerically low resolution of 960 × 540 pixels, the display looks sharp. Only when you look closely, fall apart just fonts, individual pixels. According to CPU-Z, the dot density is 239dpi.

The displayed colors of the display are strong and the viewing angle stability is neat.

Camera

The strengths of the smartphone are clearly not in the cameras used here. Although the V9 comes with 2 cameras, namely a rear camera with 8 megapixels and a front camera with 0.3 megapixels, but the shot images are interspersed with a picture noise even in good lighting conditions.

It is interesting, however, that the rear camera has both an LED flash, as well as a car focus. For spontaneous shots, the rear camera of the V9 is certainly sufficient, but who puts much value on a good camera, will not be too happy with the camera used here.

Telephony, WLAN, Bluetooth

The reception with the V9 is good. My interlocutor understood me well, as well as I understood him well. The wireless connection and also the Bluetooth (2.1 only) connection are also stable and there were no crashes.

Accumulator

With 4000mAh the V9 Outdoor Smartphone has a rather big battery. Even after 5 hours Screen On Time, I have not reached 50% yet. Especially with an outdoor smartphone you should expect a large battery.

Final Words

Positive

►Waterproof, dustproof and impact resistant
►Despite low resolution, good display
►Good GPS module
►Toller delivery

Negative

►Something slow hardware

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.0
-
application
7.5
-
Design
8.0
-
Display
7.0
-
Performance
6.5
-
User Interface
7.0
-
Camera
3.5
-
connectivity
8.5
-
GPS & sensors
8.5
-
Audio
7.0
-
Accumulator
8.5
-
Summary

The enjoyEC V9 may not have the best hardware installed, but someone looking for a high end smartphone will certainly not get an outdoor smartphone. Especially if you need a solid smartphone, with which you can sometimes handle something rough, you are well served with the V9. Regarding the outdoor suitability, the V9 met my expectations.

7.3
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Reviews
0
Review

enjoyEC V9 Test – Outdoor Smartphone

by 21. November 2015
Ein echtes Outdoor Smartphone soll nicht nur wasserdicht sein, sondern zudem vor jeglicher Ă€ußerlichen Einwirkung weitestgehend geschĂŒtzt sein. Wasser, Staub, StĂ¶ĂŸe, Hitze und KĂ€lte sollten einem guten Outdoor Smartphone nichts anhaben. Inwiefern diese Eigenschaften auf das enjoyEC V9 Outdoor Smartphone zutreffen und wie sich das Smartphone sonst so schlĂ€gt, habe ich mir nĂ€her angeschaut.
Überblick
Hersteller

enjoyEC

Produktbezeichnung

enjoyEC V9

Spezifikationen

Netz: Netzwerk Dual-SIM-Karten Dual-Standby Entriegelt 2G GSM 850/900/1800/1900 MHz; 3G WCDMA 2100MHz / 1900MHZ / 850MHZ
SoC: CPU-MTK6572-Dual-Core 1.2GHz
OS: Betriebssystem Android 4.4.2
Speicher: RAM 512MB ROM, 4GB Externe UnterstĂŒtzung TF Speicherkarte bis zu 32 GB
Display: Bildschirm-4.5 Zoll IPS Touch Screen Resolution: 960 * 540 Pixel, 16000K Farben
Kamera: 0.3MP vorne / hinten 8MP mit Blitzlicht, Autofokus
Sonstige: WiFi WiFi 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth 2.1, GPS + AGPS, FM Radio
Sensoren: G-Sensor, AnnÀherungssensor, Lichtsensor, E-Kompass
Akku: 4000mAh

Lieferumfang

LadegerÀt mit USB Buchse
USB Daten- bzw. Ladekabel
TĂŒtchen mit Aufklebern
Band mit Karabiner und Kompass
Roter In-Ear Kopfhörer mit Fernbedienung samt Mikrofon
Kleines Werkzeug zum Öffnen der Smartphone RĂŒckseite
4000mAh Akku
Betriebsanleitung in Englisch und Chinesisch

Testbericht zum enjoyEC V9 Outdoor Smartphone
enjoyEC Outdoor Smartphone V9 - Hands-On | Unboxing | Review

Überblick zum enjoyEC V9

Geliefert wurde das Smartphone in einer schlichten Pappschachtel. Auf der RĂŒckseite der Schachtel waren zudem einzelne technische Details abgedruckt. Öffnet man die Schachtel kommt zunĂ€chst das in einer Plastikfolie verpackte enjoyEC V9 zum Vorschein. Zudem waren im Lieferumfang enthalten:

  • ein LadegerĂ€t mit USB Buchse
  • ein USB Daten- bzw. Ladekabel
  • ein TĂŒtchen mit Aufklebern
  • ein Band mit Karabiner und Kompass
  • ein roter In-Ear Kopfhörer mit Fernbedienung samt Mikrofon
  • ein kleines Werkzeug zum Öffnen der Smartphone RĂŒckseite
  • der 4000mAh Akku
  • eine Betriebsanleitung in Englisch und Chinesisch

Eine Displayschutzfolie war bereits auf dem Display aufgebracht, jedoch nicht sehr akkurat.

Erster Eindruck

Als ich das Smartphone das erste Mal in die Hand nahm wirkte es doch sehr wuchtig. Gerade das GehĂ€use lĂ€sst das Smartphone mit einem nur 4.5 Zoll großen Display sehr groß wirken. Allerdings auch zurecht. Ein Outdoor Smartphone zeichnet sich gerade durch ein massives GehĂ€use aus, welches die Hardware vor jeglichen Einwirkungen weitestgehend schĂŒtzen soll. Das GehĂ€use an sich besteht aus einem harten Gummi und auch teilweise aus Hartplastik. Die RĂŒckseite wird von 6 Schrauben gehalten, die man zunĂ€chst öffnen muss, um ĂŒberhaupt an den Akku zu gelangen, aber auch um ĂŒberhaupt eine SIM Karte oder SD Karte einzulegen. Durch das massive GehĂ€use sind auch die zahlreichen Funktionstasten des Smartphones, die sowohl links als auch rechts angebracht sind, etwas schwerer zu bedienen. Unterhalb des Displays befinden sich 3 kapazitive Tasten. Die Ladebuchse oder aber die Audioausgang, die sich am unteren und oberen GehĂ€userand befinden, sind mit einer Gummiverschlusskappe verschlossen. Eine Benachrichtigungs-LED besitzt das Smartphone nicht. Insgesamt ist mein erster Eindruck durchaus positiv.

Hardware

Die verbaute Hardware des V9 ist eher im low budget Bereich einzuordnen. Das 4.5 Zoll Display bietet lediglich eine Auflösung von 960x540 Pixel, auch ist nur ein 1.2 GHz Dual Core Prozessor von Mediatek verbaut. BezĂŒglich des Arbeitsspeichers kommen wir auf nur 512MB und auch der interne Speicher ist mit 4GB etwas knapp bemessen, lĂ€sst sich aber durch eine micro SD Karte erweitern. Ohne Speichererweiterung hat man noch ungefĂ€hr 270MB zur VerfĂŒgung.

Das enjoyEC V9 ist nur 2G und 3G fÀhig. Auf 4G, also LTE, muss man hier verzichten.

Dennoch sollte man von dieser eher minderen Hardware nicht enttÀuscht sein, weil die StÀrken des enjoyEC V9 anderweitig liegen, nÀmlich eben in der Outdoor-Tauglichkeit. Was bringt mir ein High End Smartphone, das nach einem Aufprall sofort in 10 Teile zerspringt, oder das nach einem kurzen Bad im Wasser direkt den Geist aufgibt.

Die StÀrken

Ich habe das enjoyEC V9 mehreren Tests unterzogen, die seine Outdoor-Tauglichkeit unter Beweis stellen sollten. ZunĂ€chst habe ich das V9 in eine SchĂŒssel mit Wasser getaucht um zu sehen, ob das Smartphone tatsĂ€chlich wasserdicht ist. Hierbei sollte man vor allem darauf achten, dass die RĂŒckseite fest verschraubt ist und auch die Gummikappen fest auf den einzelnen AnschlĂŒssen sitzen. Nach einem Wasserbad konnte ich das Smartphone noch problemlos verwenden. Wasser ist keines eingedrungen (siehe Video).
In einem weiteren Test habe ich das Smartphone aus Standhöhe auf den Boden fallen gelassen. Auch diesen Sturz hat das Smartphone problemlos ĂŒberstanden.

Im dritten und letzten Test habe ich das eingeschaltete V9 fĂŒr mehrere Stunden in das Gefrierfach gelegt. Das V9 war zwar sichtlich angefroren, funktionierte aber weiterhin tadellos.

Das V9 hat zudem einen hochwertigen GPS Chip integriert, der neben dem herkömmlichen GPS Standard auch A-GPS unterstĂŒtzt. Hierdurch wird die Positionsbestimmung noch schneller und auch genauer durchgefĂŒgt. Ein elektronischer Kompass ist ebenfalls integriert, sodass man das V9 auch als ‚FußgĂ€ngernavi‘ oder eben zur Orientierung im Wald verwenden kann.

Enjoyec V9 Wasser Test

BenutzeroberflÀche

Als Betriebssystem wurde Android 4.4.2 verwendet. Das hier verwendete Android orientiert sich auch weitestgehend an Stock Android, sodass bis auf mir 2 nicht bekannte Apps, keine weiteren Drittanbieter-Apps installiert waren. Updaten lĂ€sst sich das V9 direkt ĂŒber das EinstellungsmenĂŒ. Hier können Updates OTA (Over The Air) empfangen werden. Leider lag kein aktuelles Update auf eine höhere Android Version vor.

Bis auf einen Absturz der Google Suche lief das System recht stabil. Auch trotz der eher mageren Hardware konnte ich mich flĂŒssig durch die BenutzeroberflĂ€che bewegen und auch Apps ließen sich zĂŒgig öffnen. Das System ist recht gut auf die hier verwendete Hardware abgestimmt.

Display

Zwar wurde hier kein HD Display verwendet, doch bei einem Display mit lediglich 4.5 Zoll (laut CPU-Z nur 4.08 Zoll) ist dieser Umstand auch nicht weiter tragisch. Trotz der zahlenmĂ€ĂŸig geringen Auflösung von 960x540 Pixel wirkt das Display scharf. Lediglich bei nĂ€herem Betrachten fallen gerade bei Schriften, einzelne Pixel auf. Laut CPU-Z betrĂ€gt die Punktdichte 239dpi.

Die dargestellten Farben des Displays sind krÀftig und auch die BlickwinkelstabilitÀt ist ordentlich.

 

Kamera

Die StĂ€rken des Smartphones liegen eindeutig nicht bei den hier verwendeten Kameras. Zwar kann das V9 mit 2 Kameras aufwarten und zwar einer RĂŒckkamera mit 8 Megapixel und einer Frontkamera mit 0.3 Megapixel, doch die geschossenen Bilder sind auch bei guten LichtverhĂ€ltnissen mit einem Bildrauschen durchzogen.

Interessant ist jedoch, dass die RĂŒckkamera sowohl einen LED Blitz, als auch einen Auto Fokus besitzt. FĂŒr spontane Aufnahmen reicht die RĂŒckkamera des V9 sicherlich aus, doch wer viel Wert auf eine gute Kamera legt, wird mit der hier verwendeten Kamera nicht allzu viel Freude haben.

Telefonie, WLAN, Bluetooth

Der Empfang mit dem V9 ist gut. Mein GesprĂ€chspartner hat mich gut verstanden, als auch habe ich ihn gut verstanden. Die WLAN Verbindung und auch die Bluetooth (lediglich 2.1) Verbindung sind auch stabil und AbbrĂŒche gab es keine.

Akku

Mit 4000mAh besitzt das V9 Outdoor Smartphone einen recht großen Akku. Selbst nach 5 Stunden Screen On Time bin ich noch nicht bei 50% angelangt. Gerade bei einem Outdoor Smartphone sollte man einen großen Akku voraussetzen.

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Wasserdicht, staubdicht und sturzresistent
Trotz niedriger Auflösung, gutes Display
Gutes GPS Modul
Toller Lieferumfang

Negativ

Etwas langsame Hardware

Erster Eindruck
8.0
Verarbeitung
7.5
Design
8.0
Display
7.0
Leistung
6.5
BenutzeroberflÀche
7.0
Kamera
3.5
KonnektivitÀt
8.5
GPS & Sensoren
8.5
Audio
7.0
Akku
8.5
Fazit

Das enjoyEC V9 mag zwar nicht die beste Hardware verbaut haben, doch jemand der ein High End Smartphone sucht wird sich mit Sicherheit auch kein Outdoor Smartphone zulegen. Gerade wenn man ein solides Smartphone benötigt, mit dem man auch mal etwas rauer umgehen kann, ist man mit dem V9 gut bedient. BezĂŒglich der Outdoor-Tauglichkeit wurde das V9 meinen Erwartungen gerecht.

7.3
Unsere Bewertung
Nutzerbewertung
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments