Reviews
0
Review

FRITZ! Mesh Set Test - FRITZ! Box 7590 & WLAN Repeater 1750E

by 25. November 2018
The FRITZ! Box 7590 is the current showcase router from AVM. In the so-called FRITZ! Mesh Set will get interested the router including a wireless repeater 1750E. In the following test we take a closer look at the mesh set.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

AVM

Product

FRITZ! Mesh set

Specifications

FRITZ! 7590
Hardware
CPU: AnyWAN GRX550
RAM: 512MB
NAND: 512MB

Connections
1x DSL
4x Gigabit Ethernet
1x Gigabit WAN
2x USB 3.0
2x a / b port
1x ISDN

Network
4 x 4 WLAN AC + N with multi-user MIMO
300 Mbit VDSL ports including supervving
Telephone system with DECT base

2.4G WiFi: up to 800Mbps
5G WiFi: up to 1.733Mbps

other
OS: FRITZ! OS
NAS: External USB media
Mesh: Yes
Usage: 9-10 Watt

Size: 250 48 x x 184 mm
Weight: 522g

What's in the box

1x FRITZ! Box 7590
1x FRITZ! WLAN Repeater 1750E
1x power supply
1x 4.25m DSL telephone connection cable
1x 4m DSL cable
1x 15m LAN cable
1x installation guide
1x TAE / RJ45 adapter
1x TAE / RJ11 adapter

Foreword: FRITZ! Mesh set

To provide a larger living area with only one wireless router is difficult. Mostly there are several dead spots where no WLAN signal is received. Help is provided by repeaters that expand the network. However, there are problems with the WLAN change of the terminals. So it may happen that the terminal still remains connected to the original network despite better reception to the repeater network and no change takes place. Intelligent Mesh should compensate for this disadvantage and enable a seamless and uninterrupted WLAN coverage.

Fritzbox Mesh Set

Design, workmanship and delivery

The FRITZ! Mesh Set includes everything needed to build a small mesh net. Included in delivery are the FRITZ! Box 7590 including the respective connection cable and instructions, as well as a FRITZ WLAN Repeater 1750E.

The FRITZ! Box 7590 comes in a sleek red and white design. The router can be used both lying and mounted on the wall. The antennas are visually inconspicuous hidden in the housing. The top of the case contains the status LEDs, which provide information about the DSL, the WLAN, the telephone, the WPS and the Info. Detailed labels are available. Adjacent control buttons control the respective function.

The connection options are a lateral USB 3.0 connection and a connection for analog telephony. On the back there is another USB 3.0 connection, a WAN connection, four Gigabit LAN ports, two analogue telephone connections, an ISDN connection, a connection for the Internet and the power connection.

Fritzbox router 7590

Commissioning & user interface

The setup of the FRITZ! Box and the repeater is easy. The setup wizard guides you through all steps in an understandable way. Users of an older FRITZ! Box can transfer existing configurations to the new model. The FRITZ! Box 7590 comes with FRITZ! OS 6.83, but can already be upgraded to FRITZ! OS 7.

Fritzbox user interface

The FRITZ! OS 7 user interface is extensive. There are many settings and functions. As a result, the system is also nested and the desired function can only be found after several clicks. Useful features include an integrated media server, a NAS, a smart home control and mesh management.

Performance

Wi-Fi & mesh

The FRITZ! Box 7590 is among other things a dual-band AC router, which can build a 2.4GHz and 5GHz net. The theoretical maximum possible transmission speed is up to 1.733 Mbit / s in the 5GHz network. With MU-MIMO support, multiple clients can be serviced simultaneously to provide the maximum available bandwidth as needed.

Fritzbox connections

For the performance test, the powerful Intel Wireless AC-8265 WLAN card was used. The transmission speed was determined by transmitting a file via a NAS. The distance of the router to the clients is 2 meters. In the 2.4GHz network, a maximum transmission speed of 30 MB / s was measured. The 5GHz network has reached 95 MB / s.

Important is of course the wireless range. Compared to other WLAN routers, the range is at the highest level and can cover an 3-floored residential building. If you want to extend the range, we recommend the FRITZ WLAN Repeater 1750E, which is included in the Mesh Set. The construction of a dense network has made AVM user-friendly. Connect the repeater, pair with the router and a mesh will automatically be established. In the mesh composite, the delivery of the respective node succeeds fluently, so that no connection gaps arise.

DSL

The DSL modem of the FRITZ! Box 7590 supports for the first time 300 Mbit Supervectoring VDSL connections. Due to the lack of a powerful DSL connection, the FRITZ! Box could only be tested on a DSL 16.000 connection. There was what the management maximum loosely achieved. Stability problems did not occur.

Fritzbox Repeater 1750E

.

Worth mentioning is also the NAS function of the FRITZ! Box. Data media can be connected to the router via USB 3.0. The write speed measured in the test with a FAT32 formatted USB stick is moderate 20 MB / s. The reading speed reaches a maximum of 23 MB / s. A highlight is the FRITZ! NAS not off. In turn, the administration interface of the NAS is well implemented. Connected media can be accessed easily with just one click via the browser.

power consumption

Last but not least, the power consumption. In idle, the consumption is about 10 watts. Under higher load the consumption likes to increase to 12 Watt. Very decent values!

Ad: This post contains ads. The content and my opinion were not affected. Further information: www.trusted-blogs.com/werbekennzeichnung

Final Words

rating
Positive

Design and workmanship
Fast dual AC WLAN with MU-MIMO
signal stability
Signal range
DSL supervectoring compatible
DECT and many telephone functions
FRITZ Mesh
Low energy consumption

Negative

Slow USB 3.0 sockets
Somewhat confusing user interface

First impression
9.0
8.9
Performance
9.0
9.8
User Interface
7.5
9.5
power consumption
8.0
9.5
Summary

You can not go wrong with the FRITZ! Box Mesh Set. Excluding the weak transmission speeds of the USB 3.0 sockets, the FRITZ! Box 7590 offers an all-round carefree package consisting of high-performance hardware and functionally extensive user interface.

Particularly interesting is the AVM mesh, which is easy to build and expand. WLAN to the last corner is guaranteed no problem!

8.4
Our rating
9.4
user Rating
2 ratings
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar

Reviews
0
Review

FRITZ! Mesh Set Test – FRITZ!Box 7590 & WLAN Repeater 1750E

by 25. November 2018

Die FRITZ!Box 7590 ist der aktuelle Vorzeige-Router aus dem Hause AVM. Im so genannten FRITZ! Mesh Set erhalten Interessenten den Router inklusive einem WLAN Repeater 1750E. Im folgenden Test werfen wir einen näheren Blick auf das Mesh Set.

Überblick
Hersteller

AVM

Produktbezeichnung

FRITZ! Mesh Set

Spezifikationen

FRITZ!Box 7590
Hardware
CPU: AnyWAN GRX550
RAM: 512MB
NAND: 512MB

Anschlüsse
1x DSL
4x Gigabit-Ethernet
1x Gigabit WAN
2x USB 3.0
2x a/b-Port
1x ISDN

Netzwerk
4 x 4 WLAN AC + N mit Multi-User MIMO
300-MBit-VDSL-Anschlüsse inklusive Supervectoring
Telefonanlage mit DECT-Basis

2.4G WiFi: bis zu 800Mbps
5G WiFi: bis zu 1.733Mbps

Sonstige
OS: FRITZ!OS
NAS: Externes USB Medium
Mesh: Ja
Verbrauch: 9-10 Watt

Größe: 250 x 48 x 184 mm
Gewicht: 522g

Lieferumfang

1x FRITZ!Box 7590
1x FRITZ!WLAN Repeater 1750E
1x Netzteil
1x 4.25m DSL-Telefon-Anschlusskabel
1x 4m DSL-Kabel
1x 15m LAN-Kabel
1x Installationsanleitung
1x TAE-/RJ45-Adapter
1x TAE-/RJ11-Adapter

Vorwort: FRITZ! Mesh Set

Einen größeren Wohnbereich mit nur einem WLAN-Router zu versorgen ist schwierig. Meist entstehen mehrere Funklöcher an denen kein WLAN-Signal empfangen wird. Abhilfe schaffen Repeater, die das Netz erweitern. Probleme bereitet jedoch der WLAN-Wechsel der Endgeräte. So kann es passieren, dass das Endgerät trotz besserem Empfang zum Repeater-Netz weiterhin mit dem ursprünglichen Netz verbunden bleibt und kein Wechsel erfolgt. Intelligentes Mesh soll diesen Nachteil ausgleichen und eine lückenlose und unterbrechungsfreie WLAN-Versorgung ermöglichen.

Fritzbox Mesh Set

Design, Verarbeitung und Lieferumfang

Das FRITZ! Mesh Set umfasst alles, was für den Aufbau eines kleinen Mesh-Netzes benötigt wird. Im Lieferumfang enthalten sind die FRITZ!Box 7590 inklusive der jeweiligen Anschlusskabel und Anleitungen, sowie ein FRITZ WLAN Repeater 1750E.

Die FRITZ!Box 7590 kommt im schnittigen rot-weißen Design daher. Der Router kann sowohl liegend, als auch an der Wand befestigt genutzt werden. Die Antennen sind optisch unscheinbar im Gehäuse versteckt. Auf der Gehäuseoberseite befinden sich die Status-LEDs, die Hinweise zum DSL, dem WLAN, dem Telefon, dem WPS und der Info liefern. Ausführliche Beschriftungen sind vorhanden. Danebenliegende Bedientasten steuern die jeweilige Funktion.

Die Anschlussmöglichkeiten belaufen sich auf einen seitlichen USB 3.0 Anschluss und einen Anschluss für analoge Telefonie. Rückseitig befinden sich ein weiterer USB 3.0 Anschluss, ein WAN-Anschluss, vier Gigabit LAN-Anschlüsse, zwei analoge Telefonanschlüsse, ein ISDN Anschluss, ein Anschluss für das Internet und der Stromanschluss.

Fritzbox Router 7590

Inbetriebnahme & Benutzeroberfläche

Die Einrichtung des FRITZ!Box und des Repeaters geht einfach von der Hand. Der Einrichtungsassistent führt verständlich durch sämtliche Schritte. Nutzer einer älteren FRITZ!Box können bestehende Konfigurationen auf das neue Modell übertragen. Die FRITZ!Box 7590 wird mit FRITZ!OS 6.83 ausgeliefert, kann aber bereits auf FRITZ!OS 7 aktualisiert werden.

Fritzbox Benutzeroberfläche

Die FRITZ!OS 7 Benutzeroberfläche ist umfänglich. Es gibt viele Einstellungsmöglichkeiten und Funktionen. Dadurch ist das System allerdings auch verschachtelt und die gewünschte Funktion erst nach mehreren Klicks zu finden. Nützliche Funktionen sind ein integrierter Mediaserver, ein NAS, eine Smart Home Steuerung und die Mesh Verwaltung.

Leistung

WLAN & Mesh

Die FRITZ!Box 7590 ist unter anderem ein Dual-Band AC Router, der ein 2.4GHz und 5GHz Netz aufbauen kann. Die theoretisch maximal mögliche Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit beträgt bis zu 1.733 Mbit/s im 5GHz Verbund. Durch die Unterstützung von MU-MIMO können mehrere Clients gleichzeitig versorgt werden, um je nach Bedarf die maximal verfügbare Bandbreite zu erhalten.

Fritzbox Anschlüsse

Für den Leistungstest wurde die leistungsstarke Intel Wireless AC-8265 WLAN-Karte genutzt. Die Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit wurde durch Übertragung einer Datei über ein NAS ermittelt. Die Entfernung des Routers zu den Clients beträgt 2 Meter. Im 2.4GHz Netz wurde so einer Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit von maximal 30 MB/s gemessen. Im 5GHz Netz wurden 95 MB/s erreicht.

Wichtig ist natürlich auch die WLAN-Reichweite. Verglichen mit anderen WLAN Routern ist die Reichweite auf Spitzenniveau und kann ein 3-etagiges Wohnhaus abdecken. Möchte man die Reichweite erweitern, empfiehlt sich der FRITZ WLAN Repeater 1750E, der im Mesh Set direkt mitgeliefert wird. Den Aufbau eines engmaschigen Netzes hat AVM benutzerfreundlich gestaltet. Repeater anschließen, mit dem Router koppeln und schon wird automatisch ein Mesh aufgebaut. Im Mesh-Verbund gelingt die Abgabe des jeweiligen Knotenpunktes fließend, sodass keine Verbindungslücken entstehen.

DSL

Das DSL Modem der FRITZ!Box 7590 unterstützt erstmalig 300 Mbit Supervectoring VDSL-Anschlüsse. Mangels leistungsstarkem DSL-Anschluss konnte die FRITZ!Box lediglich an einem DSL 16.000 Anschluss getestet werden. Dort wurde das was die Leitung maximal hergibt locker erreicht. Stabilitätsprobleme traten nicht auf.

Fritzbox Repeater 1750E

NAS

Erwähnenswert ist auch die NAS Funktion der FRITZ!Box. Datenträger können per USB 3.0 mit dem Router verbunden werden. Die im Test gemessene Schreibgeschwindigkeit mit einem FAT32 formatierten USB-Stick liegt bei mäßigen 20 MB/s. Die Lesegeschwindigkeit erreicht maximal 23 MB/s. Eine Glanzleistung gibt das FRITZ! NAS somit nicht ab. Gut umgesetzt ist wiederum die Verwaltungsoberfläche des NAS. Auf angeschlossene Datenträger kann völlig unkompliziert mit nur einem Klick über den Browser zugegriffen werden.

Stromverbrauch

Zu guter Letzt noch der Stromverbrauch. Im Idle liegt der Verbrauch bei ca. 10 Watt. Unter höherer Auslastung steigt der Verbrauch gerne auf 12 Watt. Durchaus ordentliche Werte!

Anzeige: Dieser Beitrag enthält Werbung. Der Inhalt und meine Meinung wurden dadurch nicht beeinflusst. Weitere Infos: www.trusted-blogs.com/werbekennzeichnung
Positiv

►Design und Verarbeitung
►Schnelles Dual-AC WLAN mit MU-MIMO
►Signalstabilität
►Signalreichweite
►DSL Supervectoring kompatibel
►DECT und viele Telefonfunktionen
►FRITZ Mesh
►Geringer Stromverbrauch

Negativ

►Langsame USB 3.0 Buchsen
►Etwas unübersichtliche Benutzeroberfläche

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
9.0
Leistung
9.0
Benutzeroberfläche
7.5
Stromverbrauch
8.0
Fazit

Mit dem FRITZ!Box Mesh Set kann man nichts falsch machen. Die schwachen Übertragungsgeschwindigkeiten der USB 3.0 Buchsen ausgeschlossen, bietet die FRITZ!Box 7590 ein Rundum-sorglos-Paket, aus performanter Hardware und funktional umfangreicher Bedienoberfläche.

Besonders interessant ist das AVM Mesh, das sich kinderleicht aufbauen und erweitern lässt. WLAN bis in den letzten Winkel ist damit garantiert kein Problem!

8.4
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
  Subscribe  
Benachrichtigung