News
2

Geniusidea Follow - Selfie drone with 4K video feature

by Timo5. January

And every day the selfie drone greets you - one could easily say, if one has followed our previous contributions to selfie drones. The Geniusidea Follow RC is now another selfie drone released, whose specifications are quite close to a ZEROTECH Dobby.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Genius Idea

Product

Geniusidea Follow

Specifications

Type
Type: quadcopter
Engine Type: Brushless engine
Channel: 4 channel

Processor
CPU: Snapdragon 801
RAM: 2GB
Flash: 16GB

Camera
Image sensor: Sony IMX214
Image resolution: 13 megapixels
Video resolution: 720p, 1080p and 4K
Image stabilization: EIS (1080p only)
Viewing angle: 117 °
Aperture: f / 2.2
FPV: 720p

sensors
Gyro: 6 axes
GPS: Yes (+ / - 0.5m)
Sensors: Optical Flow & Sonar (+ / - 0.1m)

Other
WiFI: 2.4 & 5GHz
Battery: 18650 7.4V 2500mAh

Flight range: ~ 100m
Flight time: 18-20 minutes
Charging time: 3-4 hours

Geniusidea Follow - 4K Selfie Drone

Geniusidea selfie drone test

Design and batteries

With dimensions of just once 160mm x 160mm x 50mm and a Weight of 273g Geniusidea is one of the more compact 4K camera drones. The propeller arms are not retractable, unlike many competing models. Even the propellers themselves are fixed and use a patented design, making them even lighter, quieter and easier to change. The top of the Geniusidea Follow is held in showy yellow. A special one surface texture ensures lower air resistance and improved flight behavior. Below the top cover is a passive one cooling element, which should cool the underlying board particularly well. The removable underside, which adjusts color to the top, can hold two 18650 batteries be inserted. This one is not dependent on any special battery manufacturer and can buy very cheap replacement batteries. Disadvantage of such 18650 batteries is the slightly increased weight, which affects in particular the flight time negative.

Snapdragon 801 processor and sensors

As a platform, Geniusidea Follow uses one Qualcomm Snapdragon 801 processor with a 2GB large memory and a 16GB large internal memory, The same processor was already in the ZEROTECH Dobby which offers similar functions and specifications. Video or still images can be saved directly to the internal memory. In addition, the internal memory with a MicroSD card be extended again with 64GB. The sensors of the Geniusidea Selfie drone are impressive. The flight navigation takes place via GPS and GLONASS, For environmental orientation, the drone has several Distance sensors (Optical Flow and Sonar) on the bottom. The accuracy of the satellite navigation is +/- 0.5 meters, that of the distance sensors at +/- 0.1 meters.

Sony image sensor and 4K video recording

The built-in image sensor is on Sony IMX214, the one with 13 Megapixel dissolves. Meanwhile, the image sensor has come a bit in the days, however, has been used in many popular smartphones, such as the OnePlus One or the Oppo Find 7. Videos takes the Geniusidea Follow drone in 1080p at 60 images-per-second or at 2K and 4K with 30 images-per-second on. The electronic image stabilization (EIS) can only be activated with a resolution of 1080p. The field of view of the camera is 117 °. The aperture is one f / 2.2 aperture, The shooting angle of the camera can be changed manually 0 ° / -20 ° / -45 ° / ° -90 be adjusted. The ISO and the exposure can also be adjusted individually. Pictures are in the format JPG, Videos in MP4 added. Videos are compressed according to the standard MPEG-4 AVC / H.264.

Control and flight modes

The Geniusidea Follow is controlled with a smartphone or tablet over the so-called "G-IDEA" App, Compatible are Android as well as iOS devices. On the one hand the configuration of the drone takes place via the app, one can have a live image displayed in 720p and via virtual joysticks or tilting movements of the smartphone the drone can be steered in the respective direction. The connection is via WiFi. For this the follow drone is with one 802.11n 2 × 2 MIMO WiFi Module equipped.

Geniusidea Follow flight modes

The functions are versatile and the operation is also suitable for beginners. In the so-called "Route Planning" Mode the Geniusidea Follow flies fully automatic predefined flight points and is based on GPS / GLONASS. in the "Visual Follow" Mode, the drone flies fully automatically behind a fixed object. in the "Orbit" Mode, objects or people can be orbited. If the battery of the drone becomes too weak in the course of the flight, a landing is automatically initiated. Shots can be retrieved directly from the "G-IDEA" app and shared on social media.

2
Leave a comment

avatar
1 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
TimoM. App Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
M. App
guest
M. App

The one here or rather the Dobby?

News
2

Geniusidea Follow – Selfie Drohne mit 4K Videofunktion

by Timo5. Januar 2017

Und täglich grüßt die Selfie Drohne - könnte man glatt meinen, wenn man unsere bisherigen Beiträge zu Selfie Drohnen verfolgt hat. Mit der Geniusidea Follow RC ist nun eine weitere Selfie Drohne erschienen, deren Spezifikationen sich doch recht nah an einer ZEROTECH Dobby orientieren.

Überblick
Hersteller

Geniusidea

Produktbezeichnung

Geniusidea Follow

Spezifikationen

Typ
Typ: Quadcopter
Motor Typ: Brushless Motor
Kanal: 4-Kanal

Prozessor
CPU: Snapdragon 801
RAM: 2GB
Flash: 16GB

Kamera
Bildsensor: Sony IMX214
Bildauflösung: 13 Megapixel
Videoauflösung: 720p, 1080p und 4K
Bildstabilisierung: EIS (nur 1080p)
Blickwinkel: 117°
Blende: f/2.2
FPV: 720p

Sensorik
Gyro: 6-Achsen
GPS: Ja (+ / - 0.5m)
Sensoren: Optical Flow & Sonar (+ / - 0.1m)

Sonstige
WiFI: 2.4 & 5GHz
Akku: 18650 7.4V 2500mAh

Flugreichweite: ~100m
Flugzeit: 18-20 Minuten
Ladezeit: 3-4 Stunden

Geniusidea Follow – 4K Selfie Drohne

Geniusidea Selfie Drohne Test

Design und Akkus

Mit Maßen von gerade einmal 160mm x 160mm x 50mm und einem Gewicht von 273g gehört die Geniusidea Follow zu den kompakteren 4K Kamera-Drohnen. Die Propellerarme sind im Gegensatz zu vielen Konkurrenz-Modellen nicht einklappbar. Auch die Propeller selbst sind fix und verwenden ein patentiertes Design, wodurch diese noch leichter, leiser und einfacher zu wechseln sind. Die Oberseite der Geniusidea Follow ist im auffälligen Gelb gehalten. Eine spezielle Oberflächentextur sorgt für einen geringeren Luftwiderstand und ein verbessertes Flugverhalten. Unterhalb der oberen Abdeckung befindet sich ein passives Kühlelement, das die darunterliegende Platine besonders gut kühlen soll. Über die abnehmbare Unterseite, die sich farblich der Oberseite anpasst, können zwei 18650 Akkus eingelegt werden. Dadurch ist man auf keinen speziellen Akku des Herstellers angewiesen und kann überaus preiswert Ersatzakkus erwerben. Nachteil solcher 18650 Akkus ist das leicht erhöhte Gewicht, das vor allem die Flugzeit negativ beeinflusst.

Snapdragon 801 Prozessor und Sensoren

Als Plattform nutzt die Geniusidea Follow einen Qualcomm Snapdragon 801 Prozessor mit einem 2GB großen Arbeitsspeicher und einem 16GB großen internen Speicher. Der gleiche Prozessor wurde bereits in der ZEROTECH Dobby verwendet, die ähnliche Funktionen und Spezifikationen bietet. Video- oder Bildaufnahmen können direkt auf den internen Speicher gespeichert werden. Zusätzlich kann der interne Speicher mit einer MicroSD-Karte nochmals um 64GB erweitert werden. Die Sensorik der Geniusidea Selfie Drohne kann sich sehen lassen. Die Flugnavigation erfolgt über GPS und GLONASS. Zur Umgebungsorientierung besitzt die Drohne mehrere Abstandssensoren (Optical Flow und Sonar) auf der Unterseite. Die Genauigkeit der Satellitennavigation liegt bei +/- 0.5 Meter, die der Abstandssensoren bei +/- 0.1 Meter.

Sony Bildsensor und 4K Videoaufnahmen

Der verbaute Bildsensor ist ein Sony IMX214, der mit 13 Megapixel auflöst. Mittlerweile ist der Bildsensor zwar etwas in die Tage gekommen, wurde allerdings in zahlreichen bekannten Smartphones, wie z.B. dem OnePlus One oder dem Oppo Find 7 verwendet. Videos nimmt die Geniusidea Follow Drohne in 1080p bei 60 Bildern-pro-Sekunde oder bei 2K und 4K mit 30 Bildern-pro-Sekunde auf. Die elektronische Bildstabilisierung (EIS) kann nur bei einer Auflösung von 1080p aktiviert werden. Das Blickfeld der Kamera liegt bei 117°. Bei der Blende handelt es sich um eine f/2.2 Blende. Der Aufnahmewinkel der Kamera kann manuell um 0°/-20°/-45°/-90° angepasst werden. Der ISO und die Belichtung lassen sich ebenfalls individuell einstellen. Bilder werden im Format JPG, Videos in MP4 aufgenommen. Videos werden nach dem Standard MPEG-4 AVC / H.264 komprimiert.

Steuerung und Flugmodi

Gesteuert wird die Geniusidea Follow mit einem Smartphone oder Tablet über die so genannte „G-IDEA“ App. Kompatibel sind Android als auch iOS Geräte. Über die App erfolgt einerseits die Konfiguration der Drohne, man kann sich ein Live-Bild in 720p ausgeben lassen und über virtuelle Joysticks bzw. über Kippbewegungen des Smartphones lässt sich die Drohne in die jeweilige Richtung steuern. Die Verbindung erfolgt über WiFi. Hierfür ist die Follow Drohne mit einem 802.11n 2×2 MIMO WiFi Modul ausgestattet.

Geniusidea Follow Flugmodi

Die Funktionen sind vielseitig und die Bedienung ist auch für Anfänger geeignet. Im so genannten „Route Planning“ Modus fliegt die Geniusidea Follow vollautomatisch vorgegebene Flugpunkte ab und orientiert sich anhand von GPS / GLONASS. Im „Visual Follow“ Modus fliegt die Drohne einem festgelegten Objekt vollautomatisch hinterher. Im „Orbit“ Modus können Objekte oder Personen umkreist werden. Wird im Laufe des Fluges der Akku der Drohne zu schwach, wird automatisch ein Landung eingeleitet. Geschossene Aufnahmen können direkt über die „G-IDEA“ App abgerufen und in sozialen Medien geteilt werden.

2
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
1 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
TimoM. Ersch Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
Neueste Älteste
Benachrichtigung
M. Ersch
Gast
M. Ersch

Die hier oder lieber die Dobby?