Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Product Image

Govee Flow Pro Light Bar Test - Smart LED light columns

Test report prepared by Timo on October 19, 2021

With the Govee Flow Pro Light Bar, the company "Govee", which specializes in RGB lighting, presents a particularly inexpensive alternative to the Philips Hue Play Lightbar.

Whether as synchronized backlighting for monitor and television or as ambient lighting, the RGB light columns promise numerous application possibilities. There are also smart functions via app. More on this in this review.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8
Our rating
80 € amazon
Price Comparison
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

Govee

Model

Govee Flow Pro Light Bar (H60543D1DE)

Specifications

 Lamp 
Type: RGBIC LED
Lumens: 400LM
Colors: 16 million
Color temperature: 2200 - 6500 Kelvin

 connectivity 
App: Govee Home
Connection: bluetooth & WiFi
Voice control: Google Home, Alexa & Siri

 General 
Power consumption: 24 watts
Size: 25 x 4 cm
Cable length: 2 x 1,8 m

What's in the box

2x light bar
2x stand holder
2x screen mount
1x control unit
1x ColorSense camera
1x power supply
8x calibration pads
1x User's Guide

Test: Govee Flow Pro Light Bar

Information (October 19, 2021)

With our discount code you can save when buying the Govee Flow Pro Light Bar on Amazon. The price is reduced to 55,99 euros. To get the price, the discount must first be activated on the product page.

Then you enter the coupon at the end of the ordering process. The sale takes place through the official Govee Store, the Fulfillment through Amazon.

Amazon - Govee Smart LED Lightbar for € 55,99

With this coupon you can buy the Govee Lightbar reduced for only 59,99 €.
GOVEE6054A
SHOW COUPON
25€ Discount
31.10.2021

When it comes to smart RGB light columns, the Philips Hue Play Lightbar, released in 2018, was unrivaled for a long time. There has been no comparable product in recent years. That changes with the Govee Flow Pro Light Bar, which is functionally and technically very similar and can be compared to the Hue Play Lightbar.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar front

The price is particularly interesting, because the Govee Light Bar Set, consisting of two light columns, a camera and other accessories, costs just under half the Philips Hue Play Light Bar Set (70 euros) at 150 euros.

Scope of delivery and processing

The scope of delivery includes everything you need to operate the light bars. It contains two light columns with a stand and monitor holder, a control unit, a camera, a power supply unit, adhesive foils and a multilingual user manual.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar scope of delivery

Both light columns are each 25 cm high and connected by a 1,80 m long cable on both sides. This means that the columns can be placed approximately 3,60 m apart. The cable of the camera is 1 m long.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Camera

The triangular housings of the light bars are made of plastic. The back is simply black, while the front is milky white. This in turn ensures a particularly soft, diffuse light distribution. The build quality does not come close to the Philips Hue Play Lightbar, but is reasonable for the price.

Installation

The Govee Light Bars can be used in different ways thanks to the stand and monitor holder. Placing it on its side or connecting it to the base is recommended as pure ambient lighting. The light columns are simply plugged into these.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Brackets

Mounting with a monitor bracket is recommended as a colored accent on the PC monitor or television screen. This is inserted into the indentation provided on the back of the light pillars. Then the light columns are glued to the back of the screen. Adhesive pads (3M) that have already been applied ensure sufficient hold.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar screen mount

A 12V 2A power supply is responsible for the power supply. The power cable and the converging adapter cable of the light bars (USB-C) are now connected to the control unit. This has 3 buttons, which you can use to switch the light columns on and off, change the color, switch to music mode or adjust the brightness.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Control

These and other control options are also available via the Govee app.

Facility

To set up the Govee Flow Pro Light Bars, the Govee Home app is required, which in turn requires the creation of a user account (email). The setup process is well explained and takes just a few steps. The first connection is established via Bluetooth.

In the Bluetooth network, you already have access to most of the customization options and functions. If you want to control the Light Bars via Google Home, Alexa or Siri, a WiFi connection is required.

In order to integrate the Govee Light Bars into the WLAN, the camera included in the scope of delivery must be plugged into the USB-A socket on the control unit. Another setup wizard then guides you through the connection process. 2.4 GHz networks are supported. The connection to a 5 GHz network is not possible.

 Unfortunately, the camera has to be plugged in permanently for a WLAN connection. That's a shame if you only want to use the light bars as ambient lighting and don't have to rely on the camera. Integrating the WLAN module into the control unit would have been the better solution.

Smart “ColorSense” camera

The "ColorSense camera" is the key to the color synchronization of the light bars with the screen or monitor. For this purpose, the camera is glued above and in the middle of the screen frame. The camera is easier to mount on straight and flat edges than on curved or angled edges of the screen.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Monitor Calibration

The next step is to glue the orange foam blocks to the corners of the screen for calibration. Use the Govee app to drag the calibration points shown onto the adhesive pads. Then you can remove the foam blocks again. The adhesive pads are reusable and can be removed without leaving any adhesive residue. In theory, calibration is also possible without adhesive pads. In the test there was no difference whether calibration was carried out with or without adhesive pads. Only selecting the corners of the screen during calibration is a little easier with adhesive pads.

The camera then analyzes what is displayed on the screen. Similar to an Ambilight background lighting, the light bars adapt in color to the display of the screen.

field test

The Govee Light Bar with a 34 inch curved monitor was used for the practical test. The installation and set-up turned out to be extremely simple, as already indicated. Despite the curved edge of the screen, the ColorSense camera could be attached without any problems. You can be annoyed by looking at the camera. After all, the camera protrudes visibly over the edge of the screen. Especially with PC monitors that are in close proximity to the viewer, the camera is a bit irritating at first. However, over time you get used to it. If the light bars are only used as ambient lighting, the camera is simply left out.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar behind the monitor

The Govee Home app provides numerous setting options at hand. The light bars can be switched on and off separately from each other, it is possible to operate the light bars by timer, the brightness can be adjusted in percentages and there is an effects laboratory that can be used to download different color compositions. Functionally, the light bars can be controlled in 5 modes.

Music mode synchronizes sound and color. Here you can choose between the device microphone or the microphone of the connected smartphone. “Device microphone” means a microphone integrated in the control unit. The music synchronization worked well in the test. The color changes are well coordinated with the music and happen quickly. The sensitivity of the microphone can be adjusted using a slider. The color sequence can be individualized using 4 music effects and profound color settings.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar light color

The "Video" mode uses the ColorSense camera. Here you can choose between full screen and split screen and whether it is a game or a film. If you choose "Game", the color changes are particularly crisp and quick. In “Film” the changes are still synchronized with the image, but the transitions are smoother.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Header

Color matching was not always comprehensible in the test. Although it is obvious that the strongest color is shown in the picture, high-contrast scenes tend to be pink and dark scenes a strong blue. The saturation can be adjusted using a slider. On the whole, the Ambilight effect is convincing and it is visibly more fun to watch a film or play a game with the light bars.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar ambient lighting

The "Color" mode is intended for use as ambient lighting. Each light bar is divided into 6 sections, which can be adjusted in terms of brightness, color and hue. So that you don't have to reconfigure the Light Bars every time, it is possible to save the settings in profiles.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar bright red

The "Scene" mode provides 12 different effects at hand. One effect simulates flickering candlelight, another simulates falling snowflakes. Each mode offers its own color change.

The "DIY" mode is an editor for effects. Colors and processes can be created and saved in profiles.

Price Comparison

iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
79,99€
Rating
Positive

Easy commissioning
Versatile
Many functions and setting options
Pleasant diffuse light

Negative

WLAN connection only with a connected camera
Colors in sync partly arbitrary

Summary

The Govee Flow Pro Light Bars are a versatile RGB product with which you can set the scene for games, films, music and the ambience for little money. In addition to the versatility, the simple installation, the numerous control and setting options and the pleasantly diffuse light with 16 million color options were convincing. The Govee Light Bars are particularly recommended as ambient lighting. Govee implemented various dynamic effects and the synchronization to the music well.

It can also be used as a synchronous backlight, but the choice of colors is not always comprehensible, and sometimes it appears a bit arbitrary. Nonetheless, a successful RGB gadget that doesn't need to hide from the significantly more expensive Philips Hue Play Lightbar!

8
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

Govee

Model

Govee Flow Pro Light Bar (H60543D1DE)

Specifications

 Lamp 
Type: RGBIC LED
Lumens: 400LM
Colors: 16 million
Color temperature: 2200 - 6500 Kelvin

 connectivity 
App: Govee Home
Connection: bluetooth & WiFi
Voice control: Google Home, Alexa & Siri

 General 
Power consumption: 24 watts
Size: 25 x 4 cm
Cable length: 2 x 1,8 m

What's in the box

2x light bar
2x stand holder
2x screen mount
1x control unit
1x ColorSense camera
1x power supply
8x calibration pads
1x User's Guide

Advertising

Goboo Xiaomi Pad 5 offer

Goboo Redmi 10 offer

Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Product Image

Govee Flow Pro Light Bar Test – Smarte LED Lichtsäulen

Testbericht erstellt von Timo am 16. Juli 2021

Mit der Govee Flow Pro Light Bar präsentiert das auf RGB-Beleuchtung spezialisierte Unternehmen „Govee“ eine besonders preiswerte Alternative zur Philips Hue Play Lightbar.

Egal ob als synchronisierte Hintergrundbeleuchtung für Monitor und Fernsehen oder als Ambientebeleuchtung, die RGB-Lichtsäulen versprechen vielzählige Anwendungsmöglichkeiten. Dazu gibt es smarte Funktionen per App. Mehr dazu in diesem Test.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp Buffer Pin It
8
Unsere Bewertung
68€ amazon.de
Preisvergleich
Technische Daten
Überblick
Hersteller

Govee

Modell

Govee Flow Pro Light Bar (H60543D1DE)

Spezifikationen

Leuchtmittel
Typ: RGBIC LED
Lumen: 400LM
Farben: 16 Millionen
Farbtemperatur: 2200 - 6500 Kelvin

Konnektivität
App: Govee Home
Verbindung: Bluetooth & WiFi
Sprachsteuerung: Google Home, Alexa & Siri

Allgemein
Stromverbrauch: 24 Watt
Größe: 25 x 4 cm
Kabellänge: 2 x 1,8 m

Lieferumfang

2x Light Bar
2x Standhalterung
2x Bildschirmhalterung
1x Steuereinheit
1x ColorSense Kamera
1x Netzteil
8x Kalibrierungspad
1x Benutzerhandbuch

Test: Govee Flow Pro Light Bar

Information

Mit unserem Rabattcode kannst du beim Kauf der Govee Flow Pro Light Bar auf Amazon sparen. Der Preis reduziert sich damit auf 61,99 Euro. Die Aktion gilt vom 18. Juli bis zum 26. Juli. Der Verkauf erfolgt durch den offiziellen Govee Store, der Versand durch Amazon.

Amazon - Govee Smart LED Lightbar für 61,99€

Mit diesem Coupon kannst du die Govee Lightbar reduziert für nur 61,99€ kaufen.
J632RPSO
COUPON ZEIGEN
18€ Rabatt
26.07.2021

Wenn es um smarte RGB-Lichtsäulen geht, war die 2018 erschienene Philips Hue Play Lightbar lange Zeit konkurrenzlos. Es gab in den letzten Jahren kein vergleichbares Produkt. Das ändert sich mit der Govee Flow Pro Light Bar, die funktional und technisch einen sehr ähnlichen Ansatz verfolgt und sich mit der Hue Play Lightbar vergleichen lässt.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Vorderseite

Interessant ist vor allem der Preis, denn das Govee Light Bar Set, bestehend aus zwei Lichtsäulen, einer Kamera und weiterem Zubehör kostet mit 70 Euro nur knapp die Hälfte des Philips Hue Play Lightbar Sets (150 Euro).

Lieferumfang und Verarbeitung

Der Lieferumfang beinhaltet alles, was man für den Betrieb der Light Bars benötigt. Enthalten sind zwei Lichtsäulen samt Stand- und Monitorhalterung, eine Steuereinheit, eine Kamera, ein Netzteil, Klebefolien und ein mehrsprachiges Benutzerhandbuch.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Lieferumfang

Beide Lichtsäulen sind je 25 cm hoch und mit einem beidseitig 1,80 m langen Kabel verbunden. Damit lassen sich die Säulen im Abstand von ungefähr 3,60 m platzieren. Das Kabel der Kamera hat eine Länge von 1 m.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Kamera

Die dreieckigen Gehäuse der Light Bars bestehen aus Kunststoff. Die Rückseite ist schlicht Schwarz, die Vorderseite dagegen milchig Weiß. Das wiederum sorgt für eine besonders weiche, diffuse Lichtverteilung. Die Verarbeitungsqualität kommt zwar nicht an die Philips Hue Play Lightbar heran, ist dem Preis jedoch angemessen.

Installation

Die Govee Light Bars sind durch die Stand- und Monitorhalterung unterschiedlich einsetzbar. Als reine Ambientebeleuchtung empfiehlt sich liegende Platzierung oder die Verbindung mit dem Standfuß. In diesen werden die Lichtsäulen einfach eingesteckt.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Halterungen

Als farbiger Akzent an PC-Monitor oder Fernsehbildschirm empfiehlt sich die Montage per Monitorhalterung. Diese steckt man rückseitig in die vorgesehene Einbuchtung der Lichtsäulen. Anschließend werden die Lichtsäulen auf die Rückseite des Bildschirms geklebt. Bereits aufgetragene Klebepads (3M) sorgen für genügend Halt.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Bildschirmhalterung

Für die Stromversorgung ist ein 12V 2A Netzteil zuständig. Das Netzkabel und das zusammenlaufende Adapterkabel der Light Bars (USB-C) verbindet man nun noch mit der Steuereinheit. Diese verfügt über 3 Tasten, worüber man die Lichtsäulen ein- und ausschaltet, die Farbe ändert, in den Musikmodus wechselt oder die Helligkeit anpasst.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Steuerelement

Diese und weitere Steuerungsmöglichkeiten stehen auch über die Govee App zur Verfügung.

Einrichtung

Zur Einrichtung der Govee Flow Pro Light Bars wird die Govee Home App benötigt, die wiederum das Anlegen eines Benutzerkontos (E-Mail) voraussetzt. Der Einrichtungsprozess ist gut erklärt und innerhalb weniger Schritte erledigt. Der erste Verbindungsaufbau erfolgt via Bluetooth.

Im Bluetooth-Verbund hat man bereits Zugriff auf die meisten Anpassungsmöglichkeiten und Funktionen. Möchte man die Light Bars über Google Home, Alexa oder Siri steuern, wird eine WLAN-Verbindung vorausgesetzt.

Um die Govee Light Bars in das WLAN einzubinden, muss die im Lieferumfang enthaltene Kamera in die USB-A Buchse der Steuereinheit gesteckt werden. Anschließend führt ein weiterer Einrichtungsassistent durch den Verbindungsprozess. Unterstützt werden 2.4 GHz Netzwerke. Die Verbindung zu einem 5 GHz Netzwerk ist nicht möglich.

Leider muss die Kamera für eine WLAN-Verbindung dauerhaft eingesteckt sein. Das ist schade, sofern man die Light Bars nur als Ambientebeleuchtung benutzen möchte und nicht auf die Kamera angewiesen ist. Das WLAN-Modul in die Steuereinheit zu integrieren wäre die bessere Lösung gewesen.

Smarte “ColorSense” Kamera

Die „ColorSense Kamera“ ist der Schlüssel zur farblichen Synchronisierung der Light Bars mit dem Bildschirm bzw. Monitor. Hierzu wird die Kamera oberhalb und mittig des Bildschirmrahmens aufgeklebt. Auf geraden und flachen Rändern ist die Kamera einfacher zu befestigen als auf gekrümmten oder schrägen Bildschirmrändern.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Monitor Kalibrierung

Im nächsten Schritt müssen die orangenen Schaumstoffklötze zur Kalibrierung an die Bildschirmecken geklebt werden. Über die Govee App zieht man die dargestellten Kalibrierungspunkte auf die Klebepads. Danach kann man die Schaumstoffklötze wieder entfernen. Die Klebepads sind wiederverwendbar und lassen sich ohne Kleberückstände entfernen. Theoretisch ist eine Kalibrierung auch ohne Klebepads möglich. Im Test gab es nämlich keinen Unterschied, ob mit oder ohne Klebepads kalibriert wurde. Lediglich das Auswählen der Bildschirmecken während der Kalibrierung gestaltet sich mit Klebepads etwas einfacher.

Die Kamera analysiert anschließend, was auf dem Bildschirm angezeigt wird. Ähnlich einer Ambilight Hintergrundbeleuchtung passen sich die Light Bars farblich an die Darstellung des Bildschirms an.

Praxistest

Für den Praxistest wurde die Govee Light Bar mit einem 34 Zoll Curved Monitor genutzt. Die Installation und Einrichtung gestalteten sich, wie zuvor bereits angedeutet, als überaus einfach. Trotz gekrümmten Bildschirmrandes ließ sich die ColorSense Kamera problemlos befestigen. Am Anblick der Kamera kann man sich durchaus stören. Immerhin ragt die Kamera sichtbar über den Bildschirmrand hinaus. Gerade bei PC-Monitoren, die sich in nächster Nähe zum Betrachter befinden, ist die Kamera anfangs etwas irritierend. Mit der Zeit gewöhnt man sich jedoch daran. Nutzt man die Light Bars nur als Ambientebeleuchtung, lässt man die Kamera einfach weg.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar hinter Monitor

Die Govee Home App gibt zahlreiche Einstellungsmöglichkeiten zur Hand. So lassen sich die Light Bars separat voneinander ein- und ausschalten, es ist möglich die Light Bars per Timer zu bedienen, die Helligkeit ist in Prozentschritten anpassbar und es gibt ein Effekt-Labor, über das man verschiedene Farbkompositionen herunterladen kann. Funktional sind die Light Bars in 5 Modi steuerbar.

Der Modus „Musik“ synchronisiert Ton und Farbe. Hier kann man zwischen dem Gerätemikrofon oder dem Mikrofon des verbundenen Smartphones wählen. Mit „Gerätemikrofon“ ist ein in die Steuereinheit integriertes Mikrofon gemeint. Die Musik-Synchronisierung hat im Test gut funktioniert. Die Farbwechsel sind gut auf die Musik abgestimmt und erfolgen schnell. Die Sensibilität des Mikrofons ist über einen Slider einstellbar. Individualisieren lässt sich der Farbablauf über 4 Musikeffekte und tiefgreifende Farbeinstellungen.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Lichtfarbe

Der Modus „Video“ greift auf die ColorSense Kamera zurück. Hier kann zwischen Vollbild und Split-Screen wählen und ob es sich beim Dargestellten um ein Spiel oder einen Film handelt. Wählt man „Spiel“, erfolgen die Farbwechsel besonders knackig und schnell. Bei „Film“ erfolgen die Wechsel zwar auch noch synchron mit dem Bild, die Übergänge sind allerdings geschmeidiger.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Header

Im Test war Farbabstimmung nicht immer nachvollziehbar. Zwar ist offensichtlich, dass die kräftigste Farbe im Bild dargestellt wird, kontrastreiche Szenen tendieren jedoch meist zu Pink und dunkle Szenen zu einem kräftigen Blau. Die Sättigung ist über einen Slider anpassbar. Im Großen und Ganzen überzeugt der Ambilight-Effekt und es macht sichtbar mehr Spaß, einen Film mit den Light Bars zu schauen oder ein Spiel damit zu spielen.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar Ambientebeleuchtung

Der Modus „Farbe“ ist für die Verwendung als Ambientebeleuchtung gedacht. Jede Light Bar ist in 6 Abschnitte unterteilt, die sich in Helligkeit, Farbe und Farbton anpassen lassen. Damit man die Light Bars nicht jedes Mal neu konfigurieren muss, ist es möglich, die Einstellungen in Profilen zu speichern.

Govee Smart LED Lightbar knalliges Rot

Der Modus „Szene“ gibt 12 verschiedene Effekte zur Hand. Ein Effekt simuliert flackerndes Kerzenlicht, ein anderer simuliert fallende Schneeflocken. Jeder Modus bietet einen eigenen Farbwechsel.

Der Modus „DIY“ versteht sich als Editor für Effekte. Farben und Abläufe können erstellt und in Profilen gespeichert werden.

Preisvergleich

iconDeutsches Warenlager
iconLieferzeit 2-5 Werktage
67,99€
Bewertung
Positiv

Einfache Inbetriebnahme
Vielseitig einsetzbar
Viele Funktionen und Einstellungsmöglichkeiten
Angenehm diffuses Licht

Negativ

WLAN-Verbindung nur mit angeschlossener Kamera
Farben im Sync teilweise willkürlich

8
Fazit

Die Govee Flow Pro Light Bars sind ein vielseitig einsetzbares RGB-Produkt, mit dem man für wenig Geld, Spiele, Filme, Musik und das Ambiente in Szene setzen kann. Überzeugt haben neben der Vielseitigkeit die einfache Installation, die zahlreichen Steuerungs- und Einstellungsmöglichkeiten und das angenehm diffuse Licht mit 16 Millionen Farbmöglichkeiten. Vor allem als Ambientebeleuchtung sind die Govee Light Bars zu empfehlen. Verschiedene dynamische Effekte und die Synchronisation zur Musik hat Govee gut umgesetzt.

Die Verwendung als synchrone Hintergrundbeleuchtung funktioniert ebenfalls, allerdings ist die Farbwahl nicht immer nachvollziehbar, zum Teil erscheint sie auch etwas willkürlich. Nichtsdestotrotz ein gelungenes RGB-Gadget, das sich vor der deutlich teureren Philips Hue Play Lightbar nicht zu verstecken braucht!

8
Unsere Bewertung
Überblick
Hersteller

Govee

Modell

Govee Flow Pro Light Bar (H60543D1DE)

Spezifikationen

Leuchtmittel
Typ: RGBIC LED
Lumen: 400LM
Farben: 16 Millionen
Farbtemperatur: 2200 - 6500 Kelvin

Konnektivität
App: Govee Home
Verbindung: Bluetooth & WiFi
Sprachsteuerung: Google Home, Alexa & Siri

Allgemein
Stromverbrauch: 24 Watt
Größe: 25 x 4 cm
Kabellänge: 2 x 1,8 m

Lieferumfang

2x Light Bar
2x Standhalterung
2x Bildschirmhalterung
1x Steuereinheit
1x ColorSense Kamera
1x Netzteil
8x Kalibrierungspad
1x Benutzerhandbuch

Werbung

Banggood LOTMAXX Promo

Banggood Summer Promo