other
0
Review

GPD Pocket Review - Mini Laptop for the Pocket

by 6. October 2017

GamePad Digital (GPD) is a manufacturer that wants to conquer the market, especially with niche products. After releasing the Windows 10 GPD WIN handheld console just last year, GPD has a compact 7 inch laptop - the "GPD Pocket" - packaged this year. For this review, I've tested the Pocket PC for several weeks in everyday life.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

GamePad Digital

Product

GPD Pocket

Specifications

Display
Display Type: IPS
Resolution: 1920 x 1080
Diagonal: 7 inches

Performance
CPU: Intel Atom X7-Z8750
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 405
RAM: 8GB LPDDR3 RAM
Internal memory: 128GB eMMC5.1

Connections
1x USB Type-C
1x USB Type-A 3.0
1x Micro HDMI
1x headphone jack

Accumulator
Capacity: 7000 mAh
Running time: up to 12 hours
Charging time: 3 1 / 2 hours

other
WiFi: 802.11a / b / g / n / ac
Bluetooth: BT 4.1
Size: 18 x 10.6 x 1.85 cm
Weight: 503g

Scope of delivery

1x GPD Pocket
1x charger
1x USB-C cable
1x screen protector
1x user manual

First impression of the GPD Pocket

Scope of delivery

The Scope of delivery of the GPD Pocket Hardly different from the scope of delivery of a conventional smartphone. Contained are next to the Pocket PC yet another Screen Protector, charger with USB-C socket and NEMA-1 plug (5V 3A - 9V 2.67A - 12V - 2A), one USB-C to USB-C cable as well as a Chinese Manual.

GPD Pocket included

Design and workmanship

The GPD Pocket understands itself as a laptop for the trouser pocket, which is intended above all for the traveling business user and mobile ITler. The dimensions of the Aluminum housing are at one Length of 18 cm, one Depth of 10.6 cm and a Height or thickness of 1.85 cm. Das Weight is just once 503g.

The connection options are all located on the right side of the case and amount to a multi-functional USB-C socket, a Micro HDMI socket, a 3.5m jack audio connection and a USB 3.0 type-A socket. Personally missing I have an additional Micro-SD memory card slot. Also on the right side of the housing is a fan grille, because the system is not passive, but actively cooled! Four little ones rubber feet, which are located in the respective corners of the housing bottom, ensure a stable stand.

Interesting is also the Keyboard (US layout) of the GPD laptop. Despite the compact housing, the most important keys, as well as function keys, are available. Mouse movements are not detected by a trackpad, but by a pointer. The way the pointer works is similar to the TrackPoint of the Lenovo ThinkPad series.

The quality of workmanship the GPD Pocket is straightforward. The housing is made faultless and the connections are tight. The display hinge opens cleanly, with a pleasant resistance. The glass-protected display, the keyboard and the little blue pointer also leave a high-quality impression.

Keyboard and pointer

Despite the compact design, the Keyboard of the GPD Pocket out of total 84 buttons, The keyboard is doing after US-American layout occupied. For space-saving reasons, numerous keys have been made considerably more compact and moved closer to each other. The first attempts to write with the GPD Pocket are therefore a bit hard to get used to. However, once you get used to the compact and US-American layout, it's no problem to write smaller texts with the Pocket PC, without constantly looking for the keys. However, you will not break a speed record and you should not be prepared for a fluent 10 fingerprint. The typing feeling is particularly positive. Keystrokes feel comfortable and are barely audible. But I missed one keyboard lightthat would have made working in the dark much easier.

Keyboard and display of the GPD Pocket

Mouse movements are over a trackpad, over a trackPoint controlled. As the name suggests, this is a small pressure-sensitive point that moves more or less joystick-like in all directions. The mouse speed is controlled by the pressure intensity. A reinvention, however, is not the way the trackpoint works. Anyone familiar with the Lenovo ThinkPad series will also recognize the trackpoint!

In practice, the trackpoint control also proves to be getting used to. You have a good grip on the blue rubber cap and can precisely control the mouse pointer, but the speed and ease of a mouse can not be approached. Nevertheless, the trackpoint is sufficient to master everyday tasks. If you can not handle it at all, it is not a problem to connect a mouse or operate the Pocket PC via the touch screen of the display.

Keyboard and trackpoint of the GPD Pocket

Display and touch screen

Roughly speaking, the GPD Pocket is a tablet with a fixed keyboard. The display of the type IPS dissolves at a diagonal of 7 inches in Full HD (1920 x 1080 pixels) and is equipped with a 5 finger multitouch touch screen. GPD uses Corning Gorilla Glass 3 for display protection.

The sharpness and color fastness of the fully laminated display is excellent. Due to the high dot density of 323 PPI, individual pixels can not be seen at a normal working distance. The color display is neither too full nor too pale. The display can also score with respect to the Viewing angles, If you look diagonally on the display, the sharpness and the color representation are retained. Unevenly lit display areas did not exist in the copy I tested. There are criticisms regarding the display brightness, Especially outdoors and in strong sunshine, the display with maximum brightness setting is difficult to read. On the one hand, the display lacks luminance, while the display glass reflects at the same time.

The Touchscreen is also a good figure. Entries are precisely recognized and there are no complaints regarding the reaction time. The only noticeable ones are the less smooth surface and the susceptibility to fingerprints.

User interface and performance

Windows 10 and Linux

Ex works is already activated Windows 10 Home 64 bit preinstalled. The manufacturer also attaches a suitable license key. This is located on the packaging in which the device is delivered. The pre-installed Windows 10 is ready to use right from the first start. All drivers are already preinstalled. Alternatively, it is also possible different Linux distributions to install on the GPD Pocket. Community projects and instructions can be found on the net.

Performance

The built-in Processor is a Intel Atom X7-Z8750who is already in GPD WIN was installed. This 14-engineered processor, introduced at the beginning of 2016, offers a total of 4 processor cores that clock with 1.6 GHz and reach a maximum clock rate of 2.56 GHz in the burst. The processor is cooled by a active fan cooling system. The processor graphics is a Intel HD 405 Although theoretically able to cope with 4K or H.265 video material, it is less suitable for playing.

PCMark 10 benchmark

Main application area of ​​the GPD Pocket are Office applications. Some console work, image editing and web browsing are no problem for the Pocket PC. Even high-resolution YouTube videos, the device plays without image collapses. Challenging tasks such as video editing and gaming are hardly conceivable. Playing current game titles on the device is not possible. Again, it works well as a streaming PC. HEVC encoded video material to other devices to work easily.

AnTuTu Benchmark

The storage facilities amounts to one 8GB large LPDDR3 memory and one 128GB eMMC5.1 memory, A memory expansion via SD memory card is not possible, as already mentioned. In addition, the internal memory can not be exchanged. Due to the very large memory Multitasking tasks pose no problem for the GPD Pocket dar. The memory speed the internal eMMC memory could be better. The test achieved a moderate read speed of 142 MB / s and a write speed of 89 MB / s. Also the RAM clock does not keep what GPD promises. According to GPD, the RAM clock should be 1600 MHz. In fact, this is at 1066 MHz. A subsequent raising of the clock is only possible by flashing a modified BIOS (link).

The surprise was positive cooling capacity of the active cooling system. Air is sucked in through the bottom, passed through a heat pipe and discharged to the side. In idle, the core temperature was at average 36 ° C. Under permanent full load, a maximum temperature of 74 ° C was reached. Even the highest speed, the volume of the fan is still acceptable. But that is far from satisfactory "Thermal Throttling"which already hits at mild 68 ° C and reduces processor performance. This is due to the aggressive Intel DPTF settings in the BIOS. One solution to the problem is flashing a modified BIOS!

Connectivity and audio

Im WLAN the mini laptop supports the Protocols 802.11a / b / g / n / ac and can therefore be operated both in the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz network. Bluetooth is in the version 4.1 to disposal. In WLAN, the GPD Pocket behaves on average good. The signal remains constant over a longer distance and also the data throughput remains in a reasonable, if not outstanding, frame. When connecting with Bluetooth devices, there were no abnormalities. Sensitive is the device with a G-Sensor and a Hall encoder equipped.

Knead Klang The Pocket PC generates by a discreet, concealed under the keyboard Stereo speakers, The loudspeaker is powered by one Realtek ALC5645 chip, The sound quality is good according to the size of the device, which is why the GPD Pocket is also suitable for spontaneous film viewing or listening to music. A sound talent with rich bass is not to be expected. In addition, the speaker tends to overdrive at high volume.

A no-go is the 3.5mm audio port. In the test it was not possible even after a number of new installations of the audio driver to produce a trouble-free sound. If you connect a headphone, the sound is initially free of errors. However, if you start any audio file or watch a video on YouTube, the sound starts to distort and stutter. Other users on the net also report the problem. The cause is probably the software side.

Accumulator

The Capacity of the battery Gives GPD 7000 mAh at. The battery life achieved after several charge and discharge processes was on average at 6 hours. From the 12 hours given by GPD one is thus far away. A complete charge via the supplied charger takes about 4 hours. It is disturbing that even during charging the fan of the GPD Pocket becomes active and blows at full speed.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
490,09€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from China
498,57€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from China
509,99€
Price comparison - buy offer at TOMTOP
Shipping Shipping from China
510,15€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 17. October 2019 23: 00

Final Words

Positive

►Compact design
►Very good workmanship
►Keyboard and trackpoint
►Sharp and color-fast display
►Precise touch screen
►Good everyday performance
►Good cooling performance
►Windows 10 and Linux support

Negative

►No micro-SD memory card slot
►No keyboard illumination
►Displayhelligkeit
►Thermal throttling
►RAM clock
►Audio bug over 3.5 mm
►Fat Activity when charging

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.5
-
application
9.0
-
Design
9.0
-
Display
8.5
-
Performance
7.5
-
connectivity
8.0
-
Audio
6.0
-
Battery life
7.5
-
Summary

An 7 inch mini notebook is not a reinvention. Already since 2007 Asus distributed the mini-notebook series "Eee PC", which however 2010 was set again. In general, the mini-notebook faked a niche existence and could not prevail against the emerging tablets. Also the GPD Pocket is a niche product, which offers interesting application possibilities however because of the compact structure and the support of Windows as well as Linux, above all in the IT range.

However, a bitter aftertaste left the currently still high price and the numerous software blunders, which can be ironed out only with profound BIOS modifications. Anyone who likes extraordinary gadgets and knows how to get started with the device will surely enjoy the GPD Pocket. As a conventional consumer without computer skills, however, one should rather stay away from it.

8.0
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Sonstige
0
Review

GPD Pocket Test – Mini Laptop für die Hosentasche

by October 6, 2017

GamePad Digital (GPD) ist ein Hersteller, der den Markt vor allem mit Nischenprodukten erobern möchte. Nachdem der Hersteller erst vergangenes Jahr die Windows 10 Handheld-Konsole "GPD WIN" veröffentlichte, hat GPD dieses Jahr einen kompakten 7 Zoll Laptop - den "GPD Pocket" - im Gepäck. Für diesen Testbericht habe ich den Hosentaschen-PC über mehrere Wochen hinweg im Alltag getestet.

Überblick
Hersteller

GamePad Digital

Produktbezeichnung

GPD Pocket

Spezifikationen

Display
Displaytyp: IPS
Auflösung: 1920 x 1080
Diagonale: 7 Zoll

Leistung
CPU: Intel Atom X7-Z8750
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 405
RAM: 8GB LPDDR3 RAM
Interner Speicher: 128GB eMMC5.1

Anschlüsse
1x USB Typ-C
1x USB Typ-A 3.0
1x Micro HDMI
1x Kopfhöreranschluss

Akku
Kapazität: 7000 mAh
Laufzeit: bis 12 Stunden
Ladezeit: 3 1/2 Stunden

Sonstige
WiFi: 802.11a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth: BT 4.1
Größe: 18 x 10.6 x 1.85 cm
Gewicht: 503g

Lieferumfang

1x GPD Pocket
1x Ladegerät
1x USB-C Kabel
1x Displayschutzfolie
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Sonstige

Zum Preisvergleich

Erster Eindruck zum GPD Pocket

Update 04. November 2017

Aktuell hast du die Möglichkeit, bei GearBest das GPD Pocket Mini Notebook für nur 378.71€ zu erhalten. Alle weiteren Infos zur Aktion findest du in der folgenden Box!

GearBest Coupon - GPD Pocket Mini Laptop

Erhalten den GPD Pocket Mini Laptop für nur 378.71€. Klicke auf Gutschein anzeigen um den Rabatt-Code angezeigt zu bekommen.

GearBest Coupon - GPD Pocket Mini Laptop

Erhalten den GPD Pocket Mini Laptop für nur 378.71€. Klicke auf Gutschein anzeigen um den Rabatt-Code angezeigt zu bekommen.

Lieferumfang

Der Lieferumfang des GPD Pocket unterscheidet sich kaum vom Lieferumfang eines herkömmlichen Smartphones. Enthalten sind neben dem Pocket PC noch eine Displayschutzfolie, ein Ladegerät mit USB-C Buchse und NEMA-1 Stecker (5V 3A – 9V 2.67A – 12V – 2A), ein USB-C auf USB-C Kabel sowie eine chinesische Bedienungsanleitung.

GPD Pocket Lieferumfang

Design und Verarbeitung

Der GPD Pocket versteht sich als Laptop für die Hosentasche, der vor allem für den vielreisenden Business-Anwender und mobilen ITler gedacht ist. Die Abmessungen des Aluminium-Gehäuses liegen bei einer Länge von 18 cm, einer Tiefe von 10.6 cm und einer Höhe bzw. Dicke von 1.85 cm. Das Gewicht beträgt gerade einmal 503g.

Die Anschlussmöglichkeiten befinden sich allesamt auf der rechten Gehäuseseite und belaufen sich auf eine multifunktionale USB-C Buchse, eine Micro-HDMI Buchse, einen 3.5m Klinke-Audioanschluss sowie eine USB 3.0 Typ-A Buchse. Persönlich vermisst habe ich einen zusätzlichen Micro-SD Speicherkartenslot. Ebenfalls auf der rechten Gehäuseseite befindet sich ein Lüftergitter, denn das System wird nicht passiv, sondern aktiv gekühlt! Vier kleine Gummifüße, die sich in den jeweiligen Ecken der Gehäuseunterseite befinden, sorgen für einen stabilen Stand.

Interessant ist auch die Tastatur (US Layout) des GPD Laptops. Trotz des kompakten Gehäuses, sind die wichtigsten Tasten, sowie Funktionstasten, vorhanden. Mausbewegungen werden nicht über ein Trackpad, sondern über einen Pointer erfasst. Die Funktionsweise des Pointers ist ähnlich dem TrackPoint der Lenovo ThinkPad Reihe.

Die Verarbeitungsqualität des GPD Pocket ist anstandslos. Das Gehäuse ist fehlerfrei gefertigt und auch die Anschlüsse sitzen fest. Das Display-Scharnier öffnet sauber, mit einem angenehmen Widerstand. Einen hochwertigen Eindruck hinterlassen auch das durch Glas geschützte Display, die Tastatur und der kleine blaue Pointer.

Tastatur und Pointer

Trotz der kompakten Bauweise besteht die Tastatur des GPD Pocket aus insgesamt 84 Tasten. Die Tastatur ist dabei nach dem US-amerikanischen Layout belegt. Aus Platzspargründen wurden zahlreiche Tasten deutlich kompakter gestaltet und näher beieinander gerückt. Die ersten Schreibversuche mit dem GPD Pocket sind daher etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig. Hat man sich jedoch an das kompakte und US-amerikanische Layout gewöhnt, ist es kein Problem mit dem Pocket PC kleinere Texte zu verfassen, ohne ständig nach den Tasten Ausschau zu halten. Einen Geschwindigkeitsrekord wird man dabei allerdings nicht brechen und auch auf ein flüssiges 10-Finger-Schreiben sollte man sich nicht einstellen. Besonders positiv verhält sich das Tippgefühl. Tastenanschläge fühlen sich angenehm an und sind kaum hörbar. Vermisst habe ich jedoch eine Tastaturbeleuchtung, die das Arbeiten im Dunkeln deutlich erleichtert hätte.

Tastatur und Display des GPD Pocket

Mausbewegungen werden statt über ein Trackpad, über einen Trackpoint gesteuert. Wie der Name bereits erahnen lässt, handelt es sich dabei um einen kleinen druckempfindlichen Punkt der sich mehr oder weniger joystickähnlich zu allen Richtungen hin bewegen lässt. Die Mausgeschwindigkeit steuert man durch die Druckintensität. Eine Neuerfindung ist die Funktionsweise des Trackpoints jedoch nicht. Wer die Lenovo ThinkPad-Reihe kennt, wird auch den Trackpoint wiedererkennen!

In der Praxis erweist sich die Trackpoint-Steuerung ebenfalls als zunächst gewöhnungsbedürftig. Man hat auf der blauen Gummikappe zwar einen guten Halt und kann den Mauszeiger präzise steuern, an die Geschwindigkeit und Leichtigkeit einer Maus kommt man jedoch nicht heran. Nichtsdestotrotz reicht der Trackpoint aus um alltägliche Aufgaben zu meistern. Kommt man überhaupt nicht damit zurecht, ist es auch kein Problem eine Maus anzuschließen oder man bedient den Pocket PC über den Touchscreen des Displays.

Tastatur und Trackpoint des GPD Pocket

Display und Touchscreen

Grob könnte man sagen, dass der GPD Pocket ein Tablet mit fest verbundener Tastatur ist. Das Display vom Typ IPS löst bei einer Diagonale von 7 Zoll in Full-HD (1920 x 1080 Pixel) auf und ist mit einem 5 Finger-Multitouch-Touchscreen ausgestattet. Beim Displayschutz setzt GPD auf Corning Gorilla Glass 3.

Die Schärfe und Farbechtheit des volllaminierten Displays ist hervorragend. Durch die hohe Punktdichte von 323 PPI sind einzelne Pixel bei einem normalen Arbeitsabstand nicht zu erkennen. Die Farbdarstellung ist weder zu satt noch zu blass. Punkten kann das Display auch bezüglich der Blickwinkelstabilität. Schaut man schräg auf das Display, bleiben die Schärfe und die Farbdarstellung erhalten. Ungleichmäßig ausgeleuchtete Displaybereiche gab es bei dem von mir getesteten Exemplar nicht. Kritikpunkte gibt es bezüglich der Displayhelligkeit. Gerade im Freien und bei starkem Sonnenschein ist das Display mit maximaler Helligkeitseinstellung nur schwer ablesbar. Einerseits fehlt es dem Display an Leuchtdichte, gleichzeitig spiegelt das Displayglas.

Der Touchscreen gibt ebenfalls eine gute Figur ab. Eingaben werden präzise erkannt und auch hinsichtlich der Reaktionszeit gibt es keine Beanstandungen. Einzig auffällig sind die weniger glatte Oberfläche und die Anfälligkeit für Fingerabdrücke.

Benutzeroberfläche und Leistung

Windows 10 und Linux

Ab Werk ist bereits ein aktiviertes Windows 10 Home 64 Bit vorinstalliert. Einen passenden Lizenzschlüssel legt der Hersteller ebenfalls bei. Dieser befindet sich auf der Verpackung, in der das Gerät ausgeliefert wird. Das vorinstallierte Windows 10 ist mit dem ersten Start direkt einsatzbereit. Sämtliche Treiber sind bereits vorinstalliert. Alternativ ist es auch möglich verschiedene Linux-Distributionen auf dem GPD Pocket zu installieren. Community-Projekte und Anleitungen dazu findet man im Netz.

Leistung

Der verbaute Prozessor  ist ein Intel Atom X7-Z8750, der bereits im GPD WIN verbaut wurde. Dieser, im 14nm Verfahren gefertigte und Anfang 2016 vorgestellte Prozessor, bietet insgesamt 4 Prozessorkerne, die mit 1.6 GHz takten und im Burst eine maximale Taktrate von 2.56 GHz erreichen. Gekühlt wird der Prozessor durch ein aktives Lüfter-Kühlsystem. Die Prozessorgrafik ist eine Intel HD 405 die theoretisch zwar mit 4K bzw. H.265 Videomaterial zurechtkommt, sich zum Spielen allerdings weniger eignet.

PCMark 10 Benchmark

 

Hauptanwendungsgebiet des GPD Pocket sind Office-Anwendungen. Etwas Konsolenarbeit, Bildbearbeitung und Browsing im Web sind kein Problem für den Pocket PC. Auch hochauflösende YouTube Videos spielt das Gerät ohne Bildeinbrüche ab. Anspruchsvollere Aufgaben wie Videoschnitt und Gaming sind jedoch kaum denkbar. Aktuelle Spieletitel auf dem Gerät flüssig zu spielen ist nicht möglich. Wiederum gut, funktioniert der Einsatz als Streaming-PC. HEVC kodiertes Videomaterial an andere Geräte zu streamen klappt problemlos.

AnTuTu Benchmark

Die Speicherausstattung beläuft sich auf einen 8GB großen LPDDR3 Arbeitsspeicher und einen 128GB eMMC5.1 Speicher. Eine Speichererweiterung mittels SD-Speicherkarte ist wie bereits erwähnt nicht möglich. Zudem kann auch der interne Speicher nicht getauscht werden. Durch den überaus großen Arbeitsspeicher stellen Multitasking-Aufgaben kein Problem für den GPD Pocket dar. Die Speichergeschwindigkeit des internen eMMC Speichers könnte allerdings besser sein. Im Test wurden eine mäßige Lesegeschwindigkeit von 142 MB/s und eine Schreibgeschwindigkeit von 89 MB/s erreicht. Auch der RAM-Takt hält nicht, was GPD verspricht. Laut GPD sollte der RAM-Takt 1600 MHz betragen. Tatsächlich liegt dieser bei 1066 MHz. Ein nachträgliches Anheben des Taktes ist nur durch das Flashen eines modifizierten BIOS möglich (Link).

Positiv überrascht hat die Kühlleistung des aktiven Kühlsystems. Luft wird über die Unterseite angesaugt, durch ein Wärmerohr geleitet und an der Seite abgegeben. Im Idle lag die Kerntemperatur bei durchschnittlichen 36°C. Unter dauerhafter Volllast wurde eine maximale Temperatur von 74°C erreicht. Selbst auch höchster Drehzahl ist die Lautstärke des Lüfters noch akzeptabel. Alles andere als zufriedenstellend ist jedoch das “Thermal Throttling”, das bereits bei milden 68°C einschlägt und die Prozessorleistung mindert. Ursache hierfür sind die aggressiven Intel DPTF Einstellungen im BIOS. Eine Lösung des Problems ist wiederum das Flashen eines modifizierten BIOS!

Konnektivität und Audio

Im WLAN unterstützt der Mini Laptop die Protokolle 802.11a/b/g/n/ac und kann somit sowohl im 2.4 GHz und 5 GHz Netz betrieben werden. Bluetooth steht in der Version 4.1 zur Verfügung. Im WLAN verhält sich der GPD Pocket durchschnittlich gut. Das Signal bleibt auf größere Distanz konstant und auch der Datendurchsatz bleibt in einem angemessenen, wenn auch nicht überragenden, Rahmen. Beim Verbund mit Bluetooth-Geräten gab es keine Auffälligkeiten. Sensorisch ist das Gerät mit einem G-Sensor und einem Hall-Geber ausgestattet.

Den Klang erzeugt der Pocket PC durch einen unauffällig, unter der Tastatur verborgenen Stereo-Lautsprecher. Angetrieben wird der Lautsprecher von einem Realtek ALC5645 Chip. Die Klangqualität ist der Größe des Gerätes entsprechend gut, weshalb sich der GPD Pocket auch zum spontanen Filmschauen oder Musikhören eignet. Ein Klangtalent mit satten Bässen ist jedoch nicht zu erwarten. Zudem neigt der Lautsprecher dazu, auf hoher Lautstärke zu übersteuern.

Ein No-Go ist der 3.5mm Audioanschluss. Im Test war es selbst nach etlichen Neuinstallationen der Audio-Treiber nicht möglich, einen störungsfreien Klang zu erzeugen. Schließt man einen Kopfhörer an, ist der Klang zunächst noch fehlerfrei. Startet man jedoch irgendein Audio-File oder schaut ein Video auf YouTube, beginnt der Klang zu verzerren und zu stottern. Andere Nutzer im Netz berichten ebenfalls von dem Problem. Die Ursache ist vermutlich softwareseitig.

Akku

Die Kapazität des Akkus gibt GPD mit 7000 mAh an. Die nach mehreren Lade- und Entladevorgängen erreichte Akkulaufzeit lag im Schnitt bei 6 Stunden. Von den von GPD angegebenen 12 Stunden ist man somit weit entfernt. Ein kompletter Ladevorgang über das mitgelieferte Ladegerät dauert in etwa 4 Stunden. Störend ist, dass auch während des Ladevorganges der Lüfter des GPD Pocket aktiv wird und auf voller Drehzahl bläst.

Preisvergleich

gearbestprice
  • 378.71€*
  • Versand CN
tomtop
  • 426.55€
  • Versand CN
banggoodprice
  • 386.23€
  • Versand CN

*Preis nach Abzug durch Gutschein

Positiv

►Kompaktes Design
►Sehr gute Verarbeitungsqualität
►Tastatur und Trackpoint
►Scharfes und farbechtes Display
►Präziser Touchscreen
►Gute Alltagsperformance
►Gute Kühlleistung
►Windows 10 und Linux-Unterstützung

Negativ

►Kein Micro-SD Speicherkartenslot
►Keine Tastaturbeleuchtung
►Displayhelligkeit
►Thermal Throttling
►RAM-Takt
►Audio-Bug über 3.5 mm
►Lüfteraktivität beim Aufladen

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.5
Verarbeitung
9.0
Design
9.0
Display
8.5
Leistung
7.5
Konnektivität
8.0
Audio
6.0
Akkulaufzeit
7.5
Fazit

Ein 7 Zoll Mini-Notebook ist keine Neuerfindung. Bereits seit 2007 vertrieb Asus die Mini-Notebook Reihe „Eee PC“, die jedoch 2010 schon wieder eingestellt wurde. Allgemein fristete der Mini-Notebook ein Nischendasein und konnte sich damals gegen die aufkommenden Tablets nicht durchsetzen. Auch der GPD Pocket ist ein Nischenprodukt, das allerdings durch den kompakten Aufbau und die Unterstützung von Windows als auch Linux, vor allem im IT-Bereich interessante Anwendungsmöglichkeiten bietet.

Einen bitteren Beigeschmack hinterlassen jedoch der aktuell noch hohe Preis und die zahlreichen Software-Patzer, die sich nur mit tiefgreifenden BIOS-Modifikationen ausbügeln lassen. Wer auf außergewöhnliche Gadgets steht und mit dem Gerät etwas anzufangen weiß, der wird mit dem GPD Pocket sicherlich Spaß haben. Als herkömmlicher Verbraucher ohne Computer-Kenntnisse sollte man jedoch lieber die Finger davon lassen.

8.0
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Sei der Erste, der kommentiert!

Benachrichtigung
avatar
wpDiscuz