Reviews
3

Honor Watch GS Pro Review - First Impression of the Outdoor Smartwatch

by Timo4. September 2020

Honor presented numerous new products at this year's IFA. One of them is the Honor Watch GS Pro, a smartwatch with a robust design that not only supports a wide variety of sports and health functions, but is also intended to inspire outdoor fans. The Watch GS Pro has built in a long-lasting battery especially for this purpose, acts as an altimeter and is able to navigate and record routes via GPS.

The Honor Watch GS Pro has been on my wrist for a few days. Of course, I don't want to withhold my first impressions of the Smartwatch from you. More on this in this (preliminary) test!

Overview
Manufacturer/Model

Honor

Product

Honor Watch GS Pro

Specifications

Display
Display: AMOLED
Display diagonal: 1.39 inches
Display resolution: 454 x 454 pixels (326 PPI)
Screen Protector: Unknown

Processor and memory
CPU: Huawei Kirin A1
RAM: Unknown
Internal memory: 4GB
Memory extension: no

sensors
* Optical heart rate sensor
*Barometer
* Accelerometer
*Gyroscope
* Geomagnetic sensor
* Ambient light sensor

Accumulator
Capacity: 790 mAh
Duration: up to 25 days (up to 100 hours outdoors / 45 hours GPS)
Charging time: less than 2 hours

other
Bluetooth: 5.1
WiFi: no
GPS: Yes (GPS + GLONASS)
OS: Android / iOS

Waterproof: Yes, up to 5ATM
Size: 48 48 x x 13.6 mm
Weight: 45.5g (without bracelet)

Test: Honor Watch GS Pro

Smartwatch in rugged design

The new Honor Watch GS Pro does not want to be an ordinary smartwatch, but rather addresses users who are looking for a particularly robust smartwatch. This is particularly reflected in the design of the watch, which is made up of a massive Polycarbonate case with stylish stainless steel bezel is shaped. Blows, high temperatures and Water (5ATM waterproof) the Smartwatch withstands. To underpin this resilience, the GS Pro 14 endurance tests according to military standards (MIL-STD810G) Than the best.

Honor Watch GS Pro Unboxing

It is just as robust as the housing interchangeable bracelet. A nylon mesh makes this particularly hard-wearing. Despite the massive appearance, the GS Pro remains lightweight. Re-measured 77g brings the smartwatch with bracelet on the scales. Operation is via two side control buttons and 1.39 inch AMOLED touch displaythat with razor sharp 454 454 x pixels dissolves. The numerous ones ensure more individuality Watch Facesthat can be selected via the watchface manager of the Huawei Health app.

Pair Honor Watch GS Pro.

Before use, the smartwatch must be paired with the Huawei Health app!

Outdoor companion

Designed as an outdoor smartwatch, the GS Pro comes with a larger than average battery and useful sensors fitted. The sensor system includes a specially designed for outdoor use Barometerthat provides information on air pressure and altitude, and a GPS + GLONASS modulethat enables precise position determination. In order to get reliably through challenging and unknown terrain, useful Outdoor information recall. Weather warnings, sunrise and sunset, moon phases and even tide phases are clearly displayed. Should you still get lost, there is one “Route Back” functionthat navigates safely back to the starting point in an emergency.

Honor Watch GS Pro Outdoor Smartwatch (1)

In a short test, the Honor Watch GS Pro accompanied me for a test run through the forest. The “Walking (Outdoor)” training program is ideal for a short walk. The “Hiking” training program, which also includes a Power saving mode disposes. Once you have selected the right training program for you, the search for that begins with outdoor activities GPS fix. The GS Pro succeeds in doing this very quickly, and precise position determination takes place after just a few seconds.

The distance covered is continuously recorded. A detailed Map does not provide the smartwatch, however. Only the route is shown in the form of a line. Only by synchronizing the training data with the Huawei Health app can the route be mapped out afterwards.

Honor Watch GS Pro Outdoor Smartwatch (2)

Via the integrated in the smartwatch Loudspeakers the user receives announcements about the activity progress. The volume can be adjusted and announcements are clearly audible. The readability of the display outdoors is good. With direct sunlight However, the particularly bright display of the GS Pro also reaches its limits.

A highlight is the comparatively large one Battery with 790 mAh capacity. In comparison, the one we recently tested has Amazfit t-rex, which also falls into the category of outdoor smartwatch, only has a 390 mAh battery installed! In the course of this short test phase it was of course not possible to bring the battery to its knees. Honor himself gives it Runtime with up to 25 days on. How long the battery actually lasts depends heavily on the usage habits of the respective wearer. In the short test, the daily consumption with an hour's walk including active GPS, active always-on display, continuous heart rate measurement and the repeated receipt of notifications as well as synchronization with the health app was included 10 Prozent. The targeted 25 days are a very plausible value if used sparingly!

Sports Companion

They are hard to beat more than 100 training programsthat Honor gives the user to hand. In addition to classic running and fitness activities, programs tailored to winter sports, martial arts and various dance styles can also be selected. Even niches are served with programs such as hunting, fishing, Frisbee, kite flying or swings. Each of the programs is individually tailored to the respective activity.

Honor Watch GS Pro (3)

Up to 500 songs can be stored in the smartwatch's memory so that there is no boredom when doing sports. If the Music playback via the smartphone, this can be conveniently controlled via the smartwatch. Wireless headphones can also be connected directly to the smartwatch. The Telefoniefunktion The GS Pro allows incoming calls on the smartphone to be forwarded to the smartwatch and made using the smartwatch's microphone. Of the Receive notifications (WhatsApp, email and co.) Is also possible.

Health companion

The Honor Watch GS Pro is capable of an extensive Physical fitness and health overview to grant. There is an optical on the underside of the case of the Smartwatch Heart rate monitor and an SpO2 sensor, A 24/7 continuous heart rate measurement is supported and can be set via the Health app. Warnings in the event of a heart rate that is too high or too low can also be set user-friendly there.

Honor Watch GS Pro (4)

There are also other health functions, such as Huawei TruSleep, a sleep monitor that monitors sleep quality and breathing behavior, the automatic stress test, which calculates the stress level based on heart rate fluctuations, or the Activity reminderthat reminds you to move again after sitting for an hour.

Note: This is a short test that only reflects the first impressions and goes into the functions of the smartwatch. The evaluation will follow with the publication of the full test report!

Price and availability

The Honor Watch GS Pro can from September 07th hihonor.de pre-ordered become. Those who pre-order will receive the smartwatch until September 20th at the offer price of 199,90 Euros. Regular sales will start on September 21 at an RRP of EUR 249,90. The smartwatch will be available in Charcoal Black, Marl White, and Camo Blue.

Price history

Current prices

Amazon
1-5 working days
199,99€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 27. October 2020 14: 43
guest
3 Comments
Oldest
Latest
Inline feedback
View all comments
Svenii

Hello, does the watch have NFC and if so, can I use it to make contactless payments? LG

Estrefan

Thanks for the helpful report. Do you already know when the watch will be available in white? On the Honor side, only the black one is listed.

Reviews
3

Honor Watch GS Pro Test – Erster Eindruck zur Outdoor-Smartwatch

by Timo4. September 2020

Honor hat im Rahmen der diesjährigen IFA zahlreiche neue Produkte vorgestellt. Eines davon ist die Honor Watch GS Pro, eine Smartwatch im robusten Design, die nicht nur verschiedenste Sport- und Gesundheitsfunktionen unterstützt, sondern auch den Outdoor-Fan begeistern soll. Speziell dafür hat die Watch GS Pro einen langanhaltenden Akku verbaut, agiert als Höhenmesser und ist in der Lage per GPS zu navigieren und Routen aufzuzeichnen.

Seit einigen Tagen befindet sich die Honor Watch GS Pro bei mir am Handgelenk. Meine ersten Eindrücke zur Smartwatch möchte ich euch selbstverständlich nicht vorenthalten. Mehr dazu in diesem (Vorab)Test!

Überblick
Hersteller

Honor

Produktbezeichnung

Honor Watch GS Pro

Spezifikationen

Display
Display: AMOLED
Displaydiagonale: 1.39 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 454 x 454 Pixel (326 PPI)
Displayschutz: Unbekannt

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Huawei Kirin A1
RAM: Unbekannt
Interner Speicher: 4GB
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Sensoren
*Optischer Herzfrequenzsensor
*Barometer
*Beschleunigungssensor
*Gyroskop
*Geomagnetischer Sensor
*Umgebungslichtsensor

Akku
Kapazität: 790 mAh
Laufzeit: bis 25 Tage (bis 100 Stunden Outdoor / 45 Stunden GPS)
Ladezeit: weniger als 2 Stunden

Sonstige
Bluetooth: 5.1
WiFi: Nein
GPS: Ja (GPS + GLONASS)
OS: Android / iOS

Wasserdicht: Ja, bis 5ATM
Größe: 48 x 48 x 13.6 mm
Gewicht: 45.5g (ohne Armband)

Test: Honor Watch GS Pro

Smartwatch im Rugged-Design

Die neue Honor Watch GS Pro möchte keine gewöhnliche Smartwatch sein, sondern spricht gezielt Nutzer an, die auf der Suche nach einer besonders robusten Smartwatch sind. Das spiegelt sich vor allem im Design der Uhr wider, das durch ein massives Polycarbonat-Gehäuse mit stilechter Edelstahl-Lünette geprägt ist. Schlägen, hohen Temperaturen und Wasser (5ATM wasserdicht) hält die Smartwatch stand. Um diese Widerstandsfähigkeit zu untermauern, hat die GS Pro 14 Härtetests nach Militärstandard (MIL-STD810G) bestanden.

Honor Watch GS Pro Unboxing

Genauso robust wie das Gehäuse ist auch das austauschbare Armband. Ein Nylon-Geflecht macht dieses besonders strapazierfähig. Trotz des massiven Auftretens, bleibt die GS Pro ein Leichtgewicht. Nachgemessene 77g bringt die Smartwatch mit Armband auf die Waage. Die Bedienung erfolgt über zwei seitliche Bedientasten und das 1.39 Zoll AMOLED Touchdisplay, das mit gestochen scharfen 454 x 454 Pixel auflöst. Für mehr Individualität sorgen die vielzähligen Watchfaces, die über den Watchface-Manager der Huawei Health App auswählbar sind.

Honor Watch GS Pro koppeln.

Vor der Verwendung muss die Smartwatch mit der Huawei Health App gekoppelt werden!

Outdoor-Begleiter

Als Outdoor-Smartwatch konzipiert, ist die GS Pro mit einem überdurchschnittlich großen Akku und nützlicher Sensorik ausgestattet. Speziell für die Outdoor-Verwendung umfasst die Sensorik ein Barometer, das Auskunft zu Luftdruck und Höhe liefert, sowie ein GPS+GLONASS Modul, das eine präzise Positionsbestimmung ermöglicht. Um zuverlässig durch anspruchsvolles und unbekanntes Gelände zu gelangen, lassen sich nützliche Outdoor-Informationen abrufen. Wetterwarnungen, Sonnenauf- und Sonnenuntergang, Mondphasen und sogar Gezeitenphasen werden in übersichtlicher Darstellung angezeigt. Sollte man sich trotzdem mal verlaufen haben, gibt es die “Route Back” Funktion, die im Notfall sicher zum Ausgangspunkt zurücknavigiert.

Honor Watch GS Pro Outdoor Smartwatch (1)

Im Kurztest hat mich die Honor Watch GS Pro für einen Probelauf durch den Wald begleitet. Ideal für einen kurzen Spasziergang ist das Trainingsprogramm “Gehen (Outdoor)”. Für längere Strecken eignet sich das Trainingprogramm “Wandern”, das zusätzlich über einen Stromsparmodus verfügt. Hat man das für sich passende Trainingsprogramm ausgewählt, beginnt bei Outdoor-Aktivitäten die Suche nach dem GPS-Fix. Dieser gelingt der GS Pro beachtlich schnell und bereits nach wenigen Sekunden erfolgt eine präzise Positionsbestimmung.

Die zurückgelegte Strecke wird ständig aufgezeichnet. Eine detaillierte Kartenansicht stellt die Smartwatch allerdings nicht zur Verfügung. Lediglich der Streckenverlauf wird in Form einer Linie dargestellt. Erst durch Synchronisation der Trainingsdaten mit der Huawei Health App, lässt sich im Nachhinein der Streckenverlauf über eine Karte legen.

Honor Watch GS Pro Outdoor Smartwatch (2)

Über den in die Smartwatch integrierten Lautsprecher erhält der Nutzer Ansagen zum Aktivitätsverlauf. Die Lautstärke ist anpassbar und Ansagen werden deutlich hörbar wiedergegeben. Die Lesbarkeit des Displays im Freien ist gut. Bei direkter Sonneneinstrahlung kommt allerdings auch das besonders helle Display der GS Pro an seine Grenzen.

Ein Highlight ist der vergleichsweise große Akku mit 790 mAh Kapazität. Im Vergleich dazu hat die kürzlich von uns getestete Amazfit T-Rex, die ebenfalls in die Kategorie Outdoor-Smartwatch fällt, lediglich einen 390 mAh Akku verbaut! Im Laufe dieser kurzen Testphase war es selbstverständlich nicht möglich den Akku in die Knie zu zwingen. Honor selbst gibt die Laufzeit mit bis zu 25 Tagen an. Wie lange der Akku tatsächlich hält, ist stark von den Nutzungsgewohnheiten des jeweiligen Trägers abhängig. Im Kurztest lag der Tagesverbrauch mit einer Stunde spazieren samt aktivem GPS, aktivem Always-On Display, kontinuierlicher Herzfrequenzmessung und dem mehrmaligen Benachrichtungsempfang sowie der Synchronisation mit der Health App, bei 10 Prozent. Die angepeilten 25 Tage sind bei sparsamer Nutzung ein durchaus plausibler Wert!

Sport-Begleiter

Kaum zu überbieten sind die mehr als 100 Trainingsprogramme, die Honor dem Nutzer mit an die Hand gibt. Neben klassischen Lauf- und Fitnessaktivitäten sind auch auf Wintersport zugeschnittene Programme, Kampfsportarten und verschiedene Tanzstile auswählbar. Selbst Nischen werden mit Programmen wie Jagen, Angeln, Frisbee, Drachensteigen oder Schaukeln bedient. Jedes der Programme ist individuell auf die jeweilige Aktivität zugeschnitten.

Honor Watch GS Pro (3)

Damit beim Sport keine Langeweile aufkommt, lassen sich bis zu 500 Songs auf dem Speicher der Smartwatch ablegen. Erfolgt die Musikwiedergabe über das Smartphone, lässt sich diese bequem über die Smartwatch steuern. Kabellose Kopfhörer können zudem direkt mit der Smartwatch verbunden werden. Die Telefoniefunktion der GS Pro erlaubt es auf dem Smartphone eingehende Anrufe an die Smartwatch weiterzuleiten und über das Mikrofon der Smartwatch zu führen. Der Empfang von Benachrichtigungen (WhatsApp, E-Mail und co.) ist ebenfalls möglich.

Gesundheits-Begleiter

Die Honor Watch GS Pro ist in der Lage einen umfangreichen Überblick zur körperlichen Fitness und Gesundheit zu gewähren. Auf der Gehäuseunterseite der Smartwatch befinden sich ein optischer Herzfrequenzsensor und ein SpO2-Sensor. Eine 24/7 kontinuierliche Herzfrequenzmessung wird unterstützt und ist über die Health App einstellbar. Dort lassen sich auch Warnungen bei einer zu hohen oder zu niedrigen Herzfrequenz nutzergerecht einstellen.

Honor Watch GS Pro (4)

Daneben gibt es weitere Gesundheitsfunktionen, wie z.B. Huawei TruSleep, ein Schlafmonitor der die Schlafqualität und das Atemverhalten überwacht, den Automatischen Stresstest, der den Stresslevel anhand von Herzfrequenzschwankungen berechnet, oder die Aktivitätserinnerung, die nach einstündigem Sitzen daran erinnert, dass man sich mal wieder bewegen sollte.

Hinweis: Es handelt sich hierbei um einen Kurztest, der lediglich die Ersteindrücke widerspiegelt und auf die Funktionen der Smartwatch eingeht. Die Wertung folgt mit der Veröffentlichung des vollständigen Testberichts!

Preis und Verfügbarkeit

Die Honor Watch GS Pro kann ab dem 07. September auf hihonor.de vorbestellt werden. Vorbesteller erhalten die Smartwatch bis zum 20. September zum Angebotspreis von 199,90 Euro. Der reguläre Verkauf folgt ab dem 21. September zu einer UVP von 249,90 Euro. Die Smartwatch wird in den Farben Charcoal Black, Marl White, und Camo Blue erhältlich sein.

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
203,79€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 21. September 2020 12:41
guest
3 Comments
Älteste
Neueste
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Svenii

Hallo, hat die Uhr NFC und wenn ja, kann ich damit kontaktlos bezahlen? LG

Estrefan

Danke für den hilfreichen Erfahrungsbericht. Weiß man schon ab wann die Watch in Weiß verfügbar sein wird? Auf der Honor Seite ist nur die Schwarze geführt.