News
7

MECOOL BB2 PRO - Android TV Box with Kodi 17

by Timo29. January

An Android TV Box is probably the easiest solution to turn a conventional TV into a Smart TV. The MECOOL BB2 Pro promises a lot and presents itself as one of the currently most powerful Android TV boxes, which supports not only Android 6.0, but also Kodi 17 in the best possible way.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

MECOOL

Product

MECOOL BB2 Pro

Specifications

Hardware
Processor: Amlogic S912
Memory: 3GB DDR4
Internal memory: 16GB eMMC 5.1
Memory extension: Yes

Connections
USB: 2x USB 2.0
HDMI: 1x HDMI 2.0a
Ethernet: 1x Gigabit Ethernet
Audio: 1x S / PDIF
Video: 1x AV

connectivity
WiFi: Dual Band AC (802.11 b / g / n / ac)
Bluetooth: Standard 4.0

Video - Audio
Video resolution: to 4K 60fps
Codec: H.264, H.265 HEVC, VP9

Other
OS: Android 6.0
Kodi: Yes
Size: 10.90 x 10.90 x 2.10 cm
Weight: 206g

MECOOL BB2 Pro

High-performance hardware

Much of the Android TV boxes is based on a processor from the manufacturer "Amlogic". The Amlogic S912, which was also installed in the MECOOL BB2 Pro, is currently the manufacturer's most powerful processor with a total of 8 Cortex A53 processor coresthat clock with clocks 4 x 1.5 GHz and 4 x 1.0 GHz. In combination with the Mali-T820MP3 processor graphics is well catered for a high-performance interface, lossless streaming and even one or the other liquid playable Android Game. Probably the most interesting hardware feature are the 3GB DDR4 memory, which in contrast to the mostly built DDR3 memory provides even higher bandwidth. The internal one eMMC 5.1 flash memory coincides 16GB not very big, but can be retrofitted with a Micro SD memory card be extended.

Connectors and connectivity

The BB2 Pro TV Box has a wide range of connectivity options. about two USB 2.0 sockets You can connect storage media and other devices with a USB port. For picture and sound transmission, the TV box has a HDMI 2.0a socket, One optical S / PDIF socket and AV connection option, The network connection can on the one hand via a Gigabit Ethernet port or WiFi respectively. All common WiFi standards (802.11 b / g / n / ac) are supported. In addition, there is an external WiFi antenna on the device, which amplifies the signal again. Another way to connect is Bluetooth 4.0, An IR remote control for easy operation is included.

MECOOL BB2 Pro Test

Operating system, features and power consumption

The TV box is delivered with one 64bit Android 6.0 Marshmallow. The launcher is adapted to a TV and streaming usage and has pre-installed the most important streaming apps and media players like Miracast, MX Player or Netflix. Also Kodi 17 is already preinstalled and set up. Additional apps can be downloaded and installed from the Google Play Store. Firmware updates receives the box OTA (Over The Air).

high-resolution 4K video footage can be played smoothly with up to 60 pictures per second. The current version is supported H.265 HEVC (High Efficiency Video Coding) and VP9, In addition, the MECOOL BB2 Pro HDR (High Dynamic Range) compatible. With an appropriate output device and HDR video footage, the picture appears even more brilliant and stronger in contrast. The power consumption is about one watt in off mode, about 1.3 watt in standby and 3 watt in idle. The maximum values ​​are a maximum of 4 watts.

MECOOL BB2 PRO TV Box - Gearbest.com

Summary

For about 75 € the MECOOL BB2 Pro has a lot to offer and is well prepared for 4K video material. Although the differences to TV boxes from other manufacturers are rather low, for the same price, the choice of BB2 Pro with DDR4 memory is preferable. As soon as we receive our test copy for the MECOOL Android TV Box, the detailed test report will appear at this point!

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer at TOMTOP
Shipping Shipping from Europe
72,87€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipped from Germany
77,04€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from Europe
79,06€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from China
89,99€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 14: 03

7
Leave a comment

avatar
3 Comment threads
4 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
4 Comment authors
TimoguestPitmaxDS Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
max
guest
max

Hello, I would like to share my experiences with the TV Box, which I have been running in continuous operation for 2 weeks now. I use only Kodi and that runs first class on the BB2 Pro. MP4, MKV ... files encoded with h.264 or h.265 with DTS / Dolby 5.1 are played without problems. VP9 was a bit tricky, but I got up and running with a special movieplayer. The performance is good. There is nothing to complain about. Kodi runs smoothly on it. But there are also things that bother me. Widevine for DRM content is supported only with level 3 and off still pulls the box 1W. Otherwise, the BB2 Pro is top and has my Beelink GT1 replaced.

Greetings, the Max

DS
guest
DS

Can I roughen the box and I can no matter what hard drive to connect?

max
guest
max

I have a normal 2.5er USB 3.0 hard drive connected to 1TB and was recognized directly. The read times are okay, for there is only UBS 2.0. Root was already on my firmware on it. There is also a floor without root in the WWW. My build is MHC19J 20161209.

Pit
guest
Pit

Give it a ubdate on android 7.1

guest
guest
guest

Yes, there is an update to Android 7. Currently running on my Android 7.1.1, my build: 7.1.1 NMF26Q 20170728.190646.V0321; the box was delivered in the rooted condition.

Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

MECOOL BB2 Pro

News

MECOOL BB2 PRO – Android TV Box mit Kodi 17

MECOOL BB2 Pro

Performante Hardware

Ein Großteil der Android TV Boxen basiert auf einem Prozessor des Herstellers “Amlogic”. Der Amlogic S912, der auch in der MECOOL BB2 Pro verbaut wurde, ist der derzeit leistungsstärkste Prozessor des Herstellers mit insgesamt 8 Cortex A53 Prozessorkernen, die mit takten 4 x 1.5 GHz und 4 x 1.0 GHz takten. In Kombination mit der Mali-T820MP3 Prozessorgrafik ist für eine performante Oberfläche, verlustfreies Streaming und sogar das ein oder andere flüssig spielbare Android Game bestens gesorgt. Das wohl interessanteste Hardware-Merkmal sind die 3GB DDR4 Arbeitsspeicher, der im Gegensatz zum meist verbauten DDR3 Arbeitsspeicher eine noch höhere Bandbreite liefert. Der interne eMMC 5.1 Flash-Speicher fällt mit 16GB nicht sonderlich groß aus, kann aber nachträglich mit einer Micro SD-Speicherkarte erweitert werden.

Anschlüsse und Konnektivität

Die BB2 Pro TV Box besitzt ein breites Spektrum an Anschlussmöglichkeiten. Über zwei USB 2.0 Buchsen lassen sich Speichermedien und andere Geräte mit USB Anschluss verbinden. Zur Bild- und Tonübertragung besitzt die TV Box eine HDMI 2.0a Buchse, eine optische S/PDIF Buchse und eine AV Anschlussmöglichkeit. Die Netzwerkverbindung kann einerseits über einen Gigabit Ethernet Port oder WiFi erfolgen. Alle gängigen WiFi Standards (802.11 b/g/n/ac) werden unterstützt. Zusätzlich befindet sich am Gerät eine externe WiFi-Antenne, die das Signal nochmals verstärkt. Eine weitere Verbindungsmöglichkeit ist Bluetooth 4.0. Eine IR-Fernbedienung zur vereinfachten Bedienung ist im Lieferumfang enthalten.

MECOOL BB2 Pro Test

Betriebssystem, Funktionen und Stromverbrauch

Ausgeliefert wird die TV Box mit einem 64bit Android 6.0 Marshmallow. Der Launcher ist entsprechend auf eine TV und Streaming Nutzung angepasst und hat die wichtigsten Streaming-Apps und MediaPlayer wie z.B. Miracast, MX Player oder Netflix, bereits vorinstalliert. Auch Kodi 17 ist bereits vorinstalliert und eingerichtet. Zusätzliche Apps lassen sich über den Google Play Store herunterladen und installieren. Firmware Updates empfängt die Box OTA (Over The Air).

Hochauflösendes 4K Videomaterial kann mit bis zu 60 Bildern-pro-Sekunde flüssig abgespielt werden. Unterstützt wird das aktuelle H.265 HEVC (High Efficiency Video Coding) und VP9. Zusätzlich ist die MECOOL BB2 Pro HDR (High Dynamic Range) kompatibel. Mit einem entsprechenden Ausgabegerät und HDR Videomaterial erscheint das Bild noch brillanter und kontraststärker. Der Stromverbrauch liegt bei einem Watt im ausgeschalteten Zustand, ungefähr 1.3 Watt im Standby und 3 Watt im Idle. Die Höchstwerte liegen bei maximal 4 Watt.

MECOOL BB2 PRO TV Box - Gearbest.com

Fazit

Für ungefähr 75€ hat die MECOOL BB2 Pro einiges zu bieten und ist für 4K Videomaterial bestens gerüstet. Zwar fallen die Unterschiede zu TV Boxen anderer Hersteller eher gering aus, bei gleichem Preis ist die Wahl der BB2 Pro mit DDR4 Arbeitsspeicher jedoch zu bevorzugen. Sobald wir unser Testexemplar für die MECOOL Android TV Box erhalten, erscheint der ausführliche Testbericht selbstverständlich an dieser Stelle!

7 Comments

7 Comments

  1. Max

    30. Januar 2017 at 12:30

    Guten Tag, ich möchte mal meine Erfahrungen mit der TV Box mitteilen, die ich jetzt seit 2 Wochen im Dauerbetrieb laufen habe. Ich benutze damit ausschließlich Kodi und das läuft erstklassig auf der BB2 Pro. MP4, MKV … Files kodiert mit h.264 oder h.265 mit DTS / Dolby 5.1 werden ohne Probleme abgespielt. VP9 war etwas knifflig, habe ich aber mit einem speziellen Movieplayer zum Laufen gekriegt. Die Leistung ist gut. Da gibt es nix zu meckern. Kodi läuft darauf richtig flüssig. Es gibt aber auch Dinge die mich stören. Widevine für DRM Content wird nur mit Level 3 unterstützt und ausgeschaltet zieht die Box trotzdem noch 1W. Ansonsten ist die BB2 Pro top und hat meine Beelink GT1 ersetzt.

    Grüße, der Max

  2. D. S.

    1. Februar 2017 at 19:02

    Kann ich die Box rooten und kann ich egal welche Festplatte daran anschließen?

    • Max

      2. Februar 2017 at 11:05

      Ich habe eine ganz normale 2.5er USB 3.0 Festplatte mit 1TB angeschlossen und die wurde direkt erkannt. Die Lesezeiten sind okay, für dass es nur UBS 2.0 gibt. Root war bei meiner Firmware auch schon drauf. Es gibt im WWW aber auch eine Stock ohne Root. Mein Build ist MHC19J 20161209.

  3. Pit

    15. Juli 2017 at 09:42

    Gibs den ein ubdate auf android 7.1

    • Timo Administrator

      18. Juli 2017 at 10:23

      Nein, es gibt kein Update auf Android 7.1. Allerdings ist im Netz eine Custom ROM zu finden, die die Box um einige Funktionen erweitert.

    • Gast

      7. November 2018 at 10:22

      Doch, es gibt ein Update auf Android 7. Derzeit läuft bei mir Android 7.1.1, mein Build: 7.1.1 NMF26Q 20170728.190646.V0321 ; die Box wurde im gerooteten Zustand ausgeliefert.

      • Timo Administrator

        7. November 2018 at 17:17

        Danke für den Hinweis. Letztes Jahr gab es das Update noch nicht 🙂

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Überblick
Hersteller

MECOOL

Modell

MECOOL BB2 Pro

Spezifikationen

Hardware
Prozessor: Amlogic S912
Arbeitsspeicher: 3GB DDR4
Interner Speicher: 16GB eMMC 5.1
Speichererweiterung: Ja

Anschlüsse
USB: 2x USB 2.0
HDMI: 1x HDMI 2.0a
Ethernet: 1x Gigabit Ethernet
Audio: 1x S/PDIF
Video: 1x AV

Konnektivität
WiFi: Dual-Band AC (802.11 b/g/n/ac)
Bluetooth: Standard 4.0

Video - Audio
Videoauflösung: bis 4K 60fps
Codec: H.264, H.265 HEVC, VP9

Sonstige
OS: Android 6.0
Kodi: Ja
Größe: 10.90 x 10.90 x 2.10 cm
Gewicht: 206g

Mehr von MECOOL

Mecool M8S PRO L TV BoxMecool M8S PRO L TV Box

News

Die Mecool M8S PRO L ist eine Android 7.1 TV Box mit Amlogic S912 System-on-Chip und smarter Sprachsteuerung. Als eine der wenigen China-TV-Boxen ist...

Werbung

Banggood LOTMAXX Promo

Banggood Summer Promo