Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Motorola Edge 30 Pro product image

Motorola Edge 30 Pro Review - So much high-end is in it!

Test report created by Timo A. on August 19, 2022

Motorola is shaking up the high-end smartphone segment with the Motorola Edge 30 Pro. For around 800 euros (RRP) there is, among other things, an lightning-fast Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 processor, a high-resolution 144 Hz OLED display and a triple camera with two 50 MP sensors.

In the test, we put the Motorola Edge 30 Pro to the test.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8.1
Our rating
577 € amazon
Price Comparison
Technical data
Overview
Manufacturer

Motorola

Model

Motorola Pro Edge 30

Specifications

 Processor and memory 
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 1
GPU: Adreno 730
RAM: 12GB LPDDR5
Internal memory: 256GB UFS3.1
Memory extension: no

 Display 
Display diagonal: 6,7 inches
Display resolution: 2400 x 1080 pixels
Display frequency: 144 Hz
Display brightness: 700 nit
Display Type: OLED
Screen Protector: Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Sampling rate: 360 Hz
Multitouch: 10 fingers
HDR10+: Yes

 Cameras 
Main camera: 50 MP OmniVision OV50A (f/1.8 aperture)
Ultra wide-angle camera: 50 MP Samsung S5KJN1 (117° - f/2.2 aperture)
Depth camera: 2 MP (f / 2.4 aperture)

Front camera: 60 MP OmniVision OV60A (f/2.2 aperture)

 mesh 
Dual SIM: Yes
SIM size: Nano SIM
eSIM: No.

GSM: 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
FDD LTE: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B13/B17/B18/B19/B20/B25/B26/B28b/B28a/B32/B66
TDD LTE: B38/B39/B40/B41/B42/B43/B48
5G NSA/SA: n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28b/n28a/n38/n40/n41/n66/n77/n78

 wireless 
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac / ax
Bluetooth: 5.2
GPS: Yes
NFC: Yes

 Sensors 
* Ambient light sensor
* Accelerometer
* Proximity Sensor
* E-Compass
*Gyroscope
* Fingerprint Sensor

 Accumulator 
Battery: 4.800 mAh
Fast charge function: 68 Watt
Qi charging: 15 watts

 other 
Operating system: Android 12
Audio: stereo speakers
Connection: USB-C
Size: 163.1 76 x x 8.8 mm
Weight: 196 g

Review: Motorola Edge 30 Pro

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: design and finish

The design and the processing quality of the Motorola Edge 30 Pro leave almost nothing to be desired. The back of the smartphone, which measures 163.1 x 76 x 8.8 mm and weighs just 196 g, is made of shatterproof and scratch-resistant Corning Gorilla Glass 5. The satin surface, available in the colors Cosmos Blue or Stardust White, gives the smartphone an elegant look. Fingerprints and dirt hardly ever stick to the haptically flattering surface.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro back side

The housing frame is made of plastic and is color-matched to the back. The frame is glossy instead of satin. Motorola has done a good job of placing the ugly logos and (CE) marks that many manufacturers simply print on the back and spoil the smartphone's clean look. Instead, Motorola has put all the imprints on the lower frame section, where they are hardly noticeable.

The placement of the control buttons is questionable. The volume rocker and the power button have slipped so far up that they can hardly be reached in one-handed use. This is particularly annoying because the fingerprint scanner is not in the display but in the power button.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro case side

Finally, at the front is the 6,7" OLED display, which is protected by Corning Gorilla Glass 3 display glass. The 60 MP front camera is embedded in the upper section of the display in a punch-hole style. The display edges (bezel) are pleasantly narrow on all sides. According to IP52, the smartphone is not waterproof, but at least protected against dust and splash water (rain).

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: Display

The Motorola Edge 30 Pro is equipped with a 6,7" OLED display. The resolution reaches 2400 x 1080 pixels, which corresponds to a razor-sharp pixel density of 393 PPI.

A small special feature is the high 144 Hz refresh rate, which ensures a particularly smooth picture experience. The difference between 120 Hz, which is now common in the upper class range, and 144 Hz is not particularly large, but scrolls on the Motorola Edge 30 Pro still feel a bit smoother. Unfortunately, the refresh rate doesn't vary like a dynamic LTPO display. You can choose between 144 Hz, 60 Hz or the automatic change between 144 Hz and 60 Hz. More on how this affects power consumption later.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro Display

Colors are displayed vividly. In the settings you have the choice between a natural and a saturated driving profile. In addition, the color temperature can be continuously adjusted between cold and warm. Typically OLED, the contrast almost reaches infinity. The display brightness is okay, but could be a bit brighter. The display is still reasonably legible outdoors and in sunshine. However, the competition usually shines a bit brighter. Despite everything, the Motorola Edge 30 Pro supports the high HDR10+ dynamic range.

Thanks to its 360 Hz sampling rate, the touchscreen reacts excellently to inputs. The combination of 144 Hz refresh rate and 360 Hz sampling rate make the Motorola Edge 30 Pro the ideal smartphone for mobile gamers.

As a gimmick, the Motorola Edge 30 Pro can also be operated with a stylus. The stylus can be used for writing and drawing or as a remote control for controlling applications. Whether you actually need a stylus with a 6,7" device remains to be seen.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: performance and features

Performance

The Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 gives the smartphone flawless performance. The chip is divided into an 8-core CPU with 3 clusters, whose Kryo Prime core clocks at up to 3 GHz. Graphics are handled by an Adreno 730 graphics accelerator.

On the storage side, the Motorola Edge 30 Pro offers a lavish 12GB LPDDR5 RAM and 256GB UFS3.1 data storage, which is not can be expanded using a microSD memory card.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro connectors

The Motorola Edge 30 Pro copes perfectly with demanding apps and mobile games. Noticeable performance losses are not noticeable in everyday use. One issue that pretty much every Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 smartphone suffers from is performance throttling due to temperature. The smartphone gets noticeably warm in demanding applications and games. The performance is gradually reduced after a short time and drops to around 70% of the performance potential. However, this fact is not too serious since the Motorola Edge 30 Pro has enough reserves even with reduced performance.

Software

On the software side, the smartphone is already delivered with Android 12. Motorola guarantees security patches for 3 years. There should be major Android updates up to and including Android 14. 

The user interface is based on stock Android and is therefore mostly unchanged. Fortunately, not too much annoying bloatware made it onto the smartphone. Only Facebook is pre-installed. The Motorola Edge 30 Pro supports the DRM required for Netflix and Co.

Motorola's "Read For" function has proven to be particularly useful. Projecting the smartphone onto the TV works extremely well and, in contrast to other solutions, allows for much more user-friendly operation. If you also connect the mouse and keyboard to the smartphone via Bluetooth, you can even replace a PC with it.

connectivity

In terms of connectivity, the Motorola Edge 30 Pro is well positioned. The smartphone supports 5G mobile communications, albeit only in the sub-6GHz range. The reception was very good in all situations and the voice quality was very easy to understand.

Those who spend more time in other EU countries will also benefit from the numerous 4G bands with which the Motorola Edge 30 Pro is compatible. VoLTE and VoWiFi are also supported.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro SIM slot

Other connection standards include WiFi6E, Bluetooth 5.2 and NFC , which can be used for contactless payments. Navigating via GPS also works without dropouts and convinced in the test with a consistently high positioning accuracy.

Audio

The stereo speaker with Dolby Atmos support delivers a good sound. The volume is high without distorting. It's perfectly adequate to show colleagues a YouTube video or keep the kids busy with a film in the back seat.

Headphones can be connected via USB-C or wirelessly via Bluetooth. High-resolution and lossless codecs such as aptX, LDAC and LHDC are included. The classic 3,5 mm jack is missing.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: Camera

Motorola Edge 30 Pro rear camera

The main camera of the Motorola Edge 30 Pro is divided into a 50 MP wide-angle camera with optical image stabilization and f/1.8 aperture, a 50 MP ultra wide-angle camera with f/2.2 aperture, which is also suitable for macro shots, and a 2 MP depth camera with f/2.4 Cover. Finally, there is a 60 MP front camera with f/2.2 aperture on the front. Here is an overview of the sensors:

  •  50MP OmniVision OV50A | 1/1.5" sensor size and 1.008 μm pixel size
  •  50MP Samsung S5KJN1 | 1/2.76" sensor size and 0.64 μm pixel size
  •  2MP Unknown 
  •  60MP OmniVision OV60A | 1/2.8" sensor size and 0.61 μm pixel size

Motorola could have done without the depth camera, which is only used to obtain depth information. Smartphones are now able to create a precise bokeh effect on the software side as well. A telephoto camera with an optical zoom would have done justice to a high-end smartphone.

main camera

The Motorola Edge 30 Pro takes photos with a resolution of 12,5 MP. The reduced resolution can be explained by pixel binning, in which 4 pixels are combined into one pixel. This allows more light to be captured and image noise to be reduced in low light conditions. There is a separate photo mode for the full 50 MP, which offers hardly any advantages worth mentioning in relation to the recording quality and the increasing image size.

The photos taken with the wide-angle camera (main camera) convince with a particularly strong and yet natural-looking color reproduction. The dynamic range is good. Due to the high image sharpness, details are shown to their best advantage. Depending on the subject and situation, the high image sharpness can seem a bit too intrusive. The Motorola Edge 30 Pro quickly set the focus. The release time is short due to the fast image processing.

As the lighting conditions deteriorate, the image quality also decreases. Although colors are well preserved, the level of detail and image sharpness decrease. The dynamic range is also reduced, which leads to partially drowning depths. The night mode helps here, which visibly brightens the photos and brings out the picture details better.

Zooming is not a strong point of the Motorola Edge 30 Pro. Due to the lack of a telephoto camera, the enlargement is purely digital. Even at low magnification, the image quality deteriorates visibly.

The main camera is good at taking portraits. The foreground is usually separated cleanly from the background and the blur effect is neither too aggressive nor too weak.

Ultra wide angle camera

The 50 MP ultra wide-angle camera cannot keep up with the main camera. In a direct comparison, the colors of the ultra-wide-angle camera appear visibly pale and the dynamic range is reduced.

Front camera

The 60MP front camera also benefits from 4-in-1 pixel binning, so photos are captured in 15MP by default. The image quality convinces with good color reproduction, a decent dynamic range and a high level of detail.

video function

The Motorola Edge 30 Pro is capable of recording 8K video at 30 frames per second. In 4K60, the resolution is 3264×1468 pixels, so strictly speaking one cannot speak of full 4K here. Recordings are stabilized in all 4K modes, but not in 8K. The video quality is impressive and matches the photo quality of the main camera. The ultra-wide-angle camera records videos in maximum 1080p30 resolution.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: Battery

The Motorola Edge 30 Pro battery has a capacity of 4800 mAh. If you use the smartphone permanently at 144 Hz, you have to reckon with shorter runtimes. In the PCMark battery test, the smartphone achieved a screen-on-time of around 10 hours. Under real usage conditions, the smartphone that was fully charged in the morning had to be plugged in again in the evening. The high consumption in standby is striking, so that about 10% of the battery was lost overnight.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro with 68W fast charger and USB-C charging cable

The included 68 watt quick charger charges the battery to 15% in 50 minutes and to 30% in 85 minutes. The battery is fully charged after about 50 minutes. Wireless charging is supported with 15 watts. Charging in the reverse direction, so that other devices are charged via the Motorola Edge 30 Pro battery, is possible with up to 5 watts.

Price Comparison

iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
577,00€
Rating
Positive

TIMELESS DESIGN
Display with 144 Hz refresh rate
Good performance in everyday life and in mobile games
Clean Android OS
Recording quality of the main camera
Current connection standards (5G, WiFi6, Bluetooth 5.2)
NFC for contactless payment
wireless charging

Negative

Placement of the control buttons
Maximum display brightness
No tele zoom
High standby consumption

Summary

In terms of performance, equipment and price, the Motorola Edge 30 Pro places itself between the middle and upper class. The display is extremely fast with its 144 Hz refresh rate, but weakens when it comes to display brightness, which is below the level of a high-end smartphone.

The Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 offers a lot of performance, which has enough performance reserves in everyday life. Motorola does not have the Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 under control either. The "thermal throttling" typical of the mobile platform also occurs in this smartphone.

The smartphone gets along well with mobile communications. Although only sub 6GHz frequencies are supported, there are numerous 4G bands that make the Motorola Edge 30 Pro a useful globetrotter.

We really liked the clean Android 12, which brings a useful feature with Motorola's "Ready For". At least 3 years of security patches and 2 major version updates can be expected with a smartphone in this price range.

The 50 MP main camera with optical image stabilization takes usable pictures. The video function offers 8K30, but does without the high-end typical 4K60. The digital zoom cannot replace the lack of a telephoto camera. Selfie lovers are guaranteed to get their money's worth with the 60 MP front camera.

A few more words about the battery. The runtimes are rather average at around one day. The 68 watt quick charge function and the 15 watt wireless charging make up for the mediocre battery life to some extent.

Overall, the Motorola Edge 30 Pro is an interesting smartphone with a reasonable price-performance ratio.

8.1
Our rating
Timo Altmeyer Avatar
author

Launched the website techreviewer.de in 2016 and has been an active editor of news and test reports in all areas of technology ever since.

Comment on

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

Overview
Manufacturer

Motorola

Model

Motorola Pro Edge 30

Specifications

 Processor and memory 
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 1
GPU: Adreno 730
RAM: 12GB LPDDR5
Internal memory: 256GB UFS3.1
Memory extension: no

 Display 
Display diagonal: 6,7 inches
Display resolution: 2400 x 1080 pixels
Display frequency: 144 Hz
Display brightness: 700 nit
Display Type: OLED
Screen Protector: Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Sampling rate: 360 Hz
Multitouch: 10 fingers
HDR10+: Yes

 Cameras 
Main camera: 50 MP OmniVision OV50A (f/1.8 aperture)
Ultra wide-angle camera: 50 MP Samsung S5KJN1 (117° - f/2.2 aperture)
Depth camera: 2 MP (f / 2.4 aperture)

Front camera: 60 MP OmniVision OV60A (f/2.2 aperture)

 mesh 
Dual SIM: Yes
SIM size: Nano SIM
eSIM: No.

GSM: 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
FDD LTE: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B13/B17/B18/B19/B20/B25/B26/B28b/B28a/B32/B66
TDD LTE: B38/B39/B40/B41/B42/B43/B48
5G NSA/SA: n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28b/n28a/n38/n40/n41/n66/n77/n78

 wireless 
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac / ax
Bluetooth: 5.2
GPS: Yes
NFC: Yes

 Sensors 
* Ambient light sensor
* Accelerometer
* Proximity Sensor
* E-Compass
*Gyroscope
* Fingerprint Sensor

 Accumulator 
Battery: 4.800 mAh
Fast charge function: 68 Watt
Qi charging: 15 watts

 other 
Operating system: Android 12
Audio: stereo speakers
Connection: USB-C
Size: 163.1 76 x x 8.8 mm
Weight: 196 g

Advertising

ECOVACS Black Friday Banner

GOGOBest November Banner

Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Motorola Edge 30 Pro Produktbild

Motorola Edge 30 Pro im Test – So viel High-End steckt drin!

Testbericht erstellt von Timo A. am 19. August 2022

Motorola mischt mit dem Motorola Edge 30 Pro das High-End Smartphone-Segment auf. Für ca. 800 Euro (UVP) gibt es unter anderem einen pfeilschnellen Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 Prozessor, ein hochauflösendes 144 Hz OLED-Display und eine Dreifachkamera mit gleich zwei 50-MP-Sensoren.

Im Test haben wir das Motorola Edge 30 Pro auf die Probe gestellt.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp Buffer Pin It
8.1
Unsere Bewertung
709€ amazon.de
Preisvergleich
Technische Daten
Überblick
Hersteller

Motorola

Modell

Motorola Edge 30 Pro

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 1
GPU: Adreno 730
RAM: 12GB LPDDR5
Interner Speicher: 256GB UFS3.1
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Display
Displaydiagonale: 6,7 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 2400 x 1080 Pixel
Displayfrequenz: 144 Hz
Displayhelligkeit: 700 nit
Displaytyp: OLED
Displayschutz: Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Abtastrate: 360 Hz
Multitouch: 10 Finger
HDR10+: Ja

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 50 MP OmniVision OV50A (f/1.8 Blende )
Ultraweitwinkelkamera: 50 MP Samsung S5KJN1 (117° - f/2.2 Blende)
Tiefenkamera: 2 MP (f/2.4 Blende)

Frontkamera: 60 MP OmniVision OV60A (f/2.2 Blende)

Netz
Dual-SIM: Ja
SIM-Größe: Nano SIM
eSIM: Nein

GSM: 850/900/1800/1900
WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
FDD LTE: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B13/B17/B18/B19/B20/B25/B26/B28b/B28a/B32/B66
TDD LTE: B38/B39/B40/B41/B42/B43/B48
5G NSA/SA: n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28b/n28a/n38/n40/n41/n66/n77/n78

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax
Bluetooth: 5.2
GPS: Ja
NFC: Ja

Sensoren
*Umgebungslichtsensor
*Beschleunigungssensor
*Näherungssensor
*E-Kompass
*Gyroskop
*Fingerabdrucksensor

Akku
Akku: 4.800 mAh
Schnellladefunktion: 68 Watt
Qi-Laden: 15 Watt

Sonstige
Betriebssystem: Android 12
Audio: Stereo-Lautsprecher
Anschluss: USB-C
Größe: 163.1 x 76 x 8.8 mm
Gewicht: 196 g

Test: Motorola Edge 30 Pro

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: Design und Verarbeitung

Das Design und die Verarbeitungsqualität des Motorola Edge 30 Pro lassen so gut wie keine Wünsche offen. Die Rückseite des 163.1 x 76 x 8.8 mm großen und 196 g leichten Smartphones besteht aus bruch- und kratzsicherem Corning Gorilla Glass 5. Die satinierte Oberfläche, wahlweise in den Farben Cosmos Blue oder Stardust White erhältlich, verleiht dem Smartphone einen edlen Look. Fingerabdrücke und Schmutz haften auf der haptisch schmeichelnden Oberfläche so gut wie gar nicht.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro Rückseite

Der Gehäuserahmen besteht wiederum aus Kunststoff und ist farblich der Rückseite angepasst. Statt satiniert ist der Rahmen glänzend. Gut gelöst hat Motorola die Platzierung der unschönen Logos und (CE-)-Kennzeichnungen, die viele Hersteller einfach auf die Rückseite drucken und damit den sauberen Look des Smartphones verunstalten. Motorola hat stattdessen sämtliche Aufdrucke auf den unteren Rahmenabschnitt gepackt, wo sie sich kaum bemerkbar machen.

Fragwürdig ist die Platzierung der Bedientasten. Die Lautstärkewippe und die Einschalttaste sind so weit nach oben gerutscht, dass sie im Ein-Hand-Betrieb kaum zu erreichen sind. Das ist gerade deshalb störend, weil sich der Fingerabdruckscanner nicht etwa im Display, sondern in der Einschalttaste befindet.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro Gehäuseseite

Vorne befindet sich schließlich das 6,7“ OLED-Display, das durch Corning Gorilla Glass 3 Displayglas geschützt wird. Die 60 MP Frontkamera ist im Punch-Hole-Stil im oberen Displayabschnitt eingelassen. Die Displayränder (Bezel) fallen zu allen Seiten hin angenehm schmal aus. Nach IP52 ist das Smartphone zwar nicht wasserdicht, aber immerhin vor Staub und Spritzwasser (Regen) geschützt.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: Display

Das Motorola Edge 30 Pro ist mit einem 6,7“ OLED-Display ausgestattet. Die Auflösung erreicht 2400 x 1080 Pixel, was einer gestochen-scharfen Pixeldichte von 393 PPI entspricht.

Eine kleine Besonderheit ist die hohe 144 Hz Bildwiederholrate, die für ein besonders flüssiges Bilderlebnis sorgt. Der Unterschied zwischen 120 Hz, was im Oberklasse-Bereich mittlerweile üblich ist, und 144 Hz fällt zwar nicht sonderlich groß aus, dennoch fühlen sich Scrolls auf dem Motorola Edge 30 Pro nochmal eine Nummer flüssiger an. Leider variiert die Bildwiederholfrequenz nicht wie bei einem dynamischen LTPO-Display. Zur Auswahl stehen 144 Hz, 60 Hz oder der automatische Wechsel zwischen 144 Hz und 60 Hz. Wie sich das auf den Stromverbrauch auswirkt, dazu später mehr.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro Display

Farben werden lebendig dargestellt. In den Einstellungen hat man die Wahl zwischen einem natürlichen und einem gesättigten Fahrprofil. Zusätzlich lässt sich die Farbtemperatur stufenlos zwischen kalt und warm anpassen. Typisch OLED reicht der Kontrast nahezu ins Unendliche. Die Displayhelligkeit geht in Ordnung, könnte aber gerne etwas heller ausfallen. Im Freien und bei Sonnenschein ist das Display noch einigermaßen lesbar. Die Konkurrenz leuchtet aber meist etwas heller. Trotz allem unterstütz das Motorola Edge 30 Pro den hohen HDR10+ Dynamikbereich.

Der Touchscreen reagiert dank seiner 360 Hz Abtastrate hervorragend auf Eingaben. Die Kombination aus 144 Hz Bildwiederholfrequenz und 360 Hz Abtastrate machen das Motorola Edge 30 Pro zum idealen Smartphone für Mobile-Gamer.

Als Gimmick lässt sich das Motorola Edge 30 Pro auch mit einem Stylus bedienen. Nutzen lässt sich der Stylus zum Schreiben und Zeichnen oder als Fernbedienung zur Steuerung von Anwendungen. Ob man einen Stylus bei einem 6,7“ Gerät tatsächlich braucht, das sei dahingestellt.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: Leistung und Ausstattung

Performance

Der Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 verleiht dem Smartphone eine astreine Performance. Der Chip unterteilt sich dabei in eine 8-Kern CPU mit 3 Clustern, deren Kryo-Prime-Kern mit bis zu 3 GHz taktet. Die Grafik übernimmt ein Adreno 730 Grafikbeschleuniger.

Auf Speicherseite bietet das Motorola Edge 30 Pro üppige 12GB LPDDR5 RAM und einen 256GB UFS3.1 Datenspeicher, der sich nicht mittels microSD-Speicherkarte erweitern lässt.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro Anschlüsse

Mit anspruchsvollen Apps und Mobile Games kommt das Motorola Edge 30 Pro bestens zurecht. Spürbare Leistungseinbußen machen sich im Alltag nicht bemerkbar. Ein Problem, unter dem so ziemlich jedes Smartphone mit Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 leidet, ist das temperaturbedingte Heruntertakten der Leistung. In anspruchsvollen Anwendungen und Spielen wird das Smartphone spürbar warm. Die Leistung wird nach kurzer Zeit nach und nach reduziert und fällt auf ca. 70% des Leistungspotenzials ab. Allzu gravierend ist dieser Umstand jedoch nicht, da das Motorola Edge 30 Pro auch unter reduzierter Leistung genügend Reserven mitbringt.

Software

Softwareseitig wird das Smartphone bereits mit Android 12 ausgeliefert. Sicherheitspatches garantiert Motorola für 3 Jahre. Größere Android-Updates soll es bis einschließlich Android 14 geben.

Die Benutzeroberfläche orientiert sich an Stock-Android und ist damit größtenteils unverändert. Zu viel nervige Bloatware hat es erfreulicherweise nicht auf das Smartphone geschafft. Lediglich Facebook ist vorinstalliert. Die für Netflix und Co. benötigte DRM unterstützt das Motorola Edge 30 Pro.

Als besonders nützlich hat sich Motorolas „Read For“ Funktion erwiesen. Das Smartphone auf den TV zu projizieren, klappt damit hervorragend und erlaubt im Gegensatz zu anderen Lösungen eine deutlich benutzerfreundliche Bedienung. Verbindet man zusätzlich Maus und Tastatur per Bluetooth mit dem Smartphone, lässt sich sogar ein PC damit ersetzen.

Konnektivität

In Sachen Konnektivität ist das Motorola Edge 30 Pro gut aufgestellt. Das Smartphone unterstützt 5G-Mobilfunk, wenn auch nur den sub-6GHz Bereich. Der Empfang war dabei in allen Situationen sehr gut und die Sprachqualität von hoher Verständlichkeit.

Wer sich häufiger im EU-Ausland aufhält, profitiert außerdem von den zahlreichen 4G-Bändern, zu denen das Motorola Edge 30 Pro kompatibel ist. Zudem werden VoLTE und VoWiFi unterstützt.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro SIM-Einschub

Weitere Verbindungsstandards sind WiFi6E, Bluetooth 5.2 und NFC, das zum kontaktlosen Bezahlen verwendet werden kann. Navigieren per GPS funktioniert ebenfalls ohne Aussetzer und überzeugte im Test durch eine konstant hohe Ortungsgenauigkeit.

Audio

Der Stereo-Lautsprecher mit Dolby Atmos Unterstützung liefert einen guten Sound. Die Lautstärke ist hoch, ohne dabei zu verzerren. Um den Kollegen mal eben ein YouTube Video zu zeigen oder die Kids mit einem Film auf der Rückbank zu beschäftigen, reicht er vollkommen aus.

Kopfhörer lassen sich per USB-C oder kabellos über Bluetooth verbinden. Hochauflösende und verlustfreie Codecs wie aptX, LDAC und LHDC sind enthalten. Die klassische 3,5 mm Klinkenbuchse fehlt.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: Kamera

Motorola Edge 30 Pro Kamera auf der Rückseite

Die Hauptkamera des Motorola Edge 30 Pro unterteilt sich in eine 50 MP Weitwinkelkamera mit optischer Bildstabilisierung und f/1.8 Blende, eine 50 MP Ultra-Weitwinkelkamera mit f/2.2 Blende, die sich auch für Makroaufnahmen eignet und eine 2 MP Tiefenkamera mit f/2.4 Blende. Auf der Vorderseite befindet sich schließlich noch eine 60 MP Frontkamera mit f/2.2 Blende. Hier noch die Sensorik im Überblick:

  • 50 MP OmniVision OV50A | 1/1.5“ Sensorgröße und 1.008 μm Pixelgröße
  • 50 MP Samsung S5KJN1 | 1/2.76“ Sensorgröße und 0.64 μm Pixelgröße
  • 2 MP Unbekannt
  • 60 MP OmniVision OV60A | 1/2.8“ Sensorgröße und 0.61 μm Pixelgröße

Auf die Tiefenkamera, die ausschließlich der Gewinnung von Tiefeninformationen dient, hätte Motorola gut und gerne verzichten können. Mittlerweile sind Smartphones in der Lage, auch softwareseitig einen präzisen Bokeh-Effekt zu erzeugen. Eine Tele-Kamera mit optischem Zoom wäre einem Oberklassen-Smartphone gerechter geworden.

Hauptkamera

Fotos nimmt das Motorola Edge 30 Pro in 12,5 MP Auflösung auf. Die reduzierte Auflösung erklärt sich durch Pixel-Binning, bei dem 4 Pixel zu einem Pixel zusammengefasst werden. Dadurch lässt sich bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen mehr Licht einfangen und Bildrauschen reduzieren. Für die vollen 50 MP gibt es einen eigenen Fotomodus, der in Relation zwischen Aufnahmequalität und wachsender Bildgröße kaum nennenswerte Vorteile bietet.

Die mit der Weitwinkelkamera (Hauptkamera) aufgenommenen Fotos überzeugen durch eine besonders kräftige und dennoch natürlich erscheinende Farbwiedergabe. Der Dynamikumfang ist gut. Durch die hohe Bildschärfe kommen Details sehr gut zur Geltung. Je nach Motiv und Situation wirkt die hohe Bildschärfe etwas zu aufdringlich. Den Fokus hat das Motorola Edge 30 Pro schnell gesetzt. Die Auslösezeit fällt durch die schnelle Bildverarbeitung kurz aus.

Mit zunehmend schlechteren Lichtverhältnissen verringert sich auch die Bildqualität. Zwar bleiben Farben gut erhalten, Detailgrad und Bildschärfe nehmen jedoch ab. Auch der Dynamikumfang fällt reduzierter aus, was zu teilweise absaufenden Tiefen führt. Hier hilft der Nachtmodus nach, der die Fotos sichtbar aufhellt und Bilddetails besser zur Geltung bringt.

Zoomen ist keine Stärke des Motorola Edge 30 Pro. Wegen der fehlenden Tele-Kamera erfolgt die Vergrößerung rein digital. Bereits unter geringer Vergrößerung wird die Bildqualität sichtbar schlechter.

Portraits gelingen der Hauptkamera gut. Der Vordergrund wird meistens sauber vom Hintergrund freigestellt und der Unschärfeeffekt erscheint weder zu aggressiv noch zu schwach.

Ultraweitwinkelkamera

Die 50 MP Ultraweitwinkelkamera kann mit der Hauptkamera nicht mithalten. Im direkten Vergleich wirken die Farben der Ultraweitwinkelkamera sichtbar blass und der Dynamikumfang reduziert.

Frontkamera

Die 60 MP Frontkamera profitiert ebenfalls von 4-in-1 Pixel-Binning, sodass Fotos standardmäßig in 15 MP aufgenommen werden. Die Bildqualität überzeugt durch eine gute Farbwiedergabe, einen ordentlichen Dynamikumfang und einen hohen Detailgrad.

Videofunktion

Das Motorola Edge 30 Pro ist in der Lage, Videos in 8K bei 30 Bildern-pro-Sekunde aufzunehmen. In 4K60 liegt die Auflösung bei 3264×1468 Pixel, sodass hier streng genommen nicht von vollen 4K gesprochen werden kann. Stabilisiert werden Aufnahmen in allen 4K-Modi, nicht aber in 8K. Die Videoqualität kann sich sehen lassen und schließt an die Fotoqualität der Hauptkamera an. Die Ultraweitwinkelkamera nimmt Videos in maximaler 1080p30 Auflösung auf.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro: Akku

Der Akku des Motorola Edge 30 Pro hat eine Kapazität von 4800 mAh. Wer das Smartphone dauerhaft auf 144 Hz betreibt, muss mit verkürzten Laufzeiten rechnen. Im Akkutest von PCMark erzielte das Smartphone eine Screen-on-Time von ca. 10 Stunden. Unter realen Nutzungsbedingungen musste das morgens vollgeladene Smartphone abends wieder an die Steckdose. Auffällig ist der hohe Verbrauch im Standby, sodass über Nacht ca. 10% Akku verloren gingen.

Motorola Edge 30 Pro mit 68W Schnellladegerät und USB-C Ladekabel

Das mitgelieferte 68 Watt Schnellladegerät lädt den Akku in 15 Minuten auf 50% und in 30 Minuten auf 85%. Vollständig geladen ist der Akku nach ungefähr 50 Minuten. Kabelloses Laden wird mit 15 Watt unterstützt. Laden in umgekehrte Richtung, sodass andere Geräte über den Akku des Motorola Edge 30 Pro geladen werden, ist mit bis zu 5 Watt möglich.

Preisvergleich

iconDeutsches Warenlager
iconLieferzeit 2-5 Werktage
709,00€
Bewertung
Positiv

Zeitloses Design
Display mit 144 Hz Bildwiederholrate
Gute Performance im Alltag und in Mobile Games
Sauberes Android OS
Aufnahmequalität der Hauptkamera
Aktuelle Verbindungsstandards (5G, WiFi6, Bluetooth 5.2)
NFC für kontaktloses Bezahlen
Wireless-Charging

Negativ

Platzierung der Bedientasten
Maximale Displayhelligkeit
Keine Tele-Zoom
Hoher Standby-Verbrauch

Fazit

In Sachen Leistung, Ausstattung und Preis platziert sich das Motorola Edge 30 Pro zwischen Mittel- und Oberklasse. Das Display ist mit seiner 144 Hz Bildwiederholrate überragend schnell, schwächelt aber bei der Displayhelligkeit, die unter dem Niveau eines High-End Smartphones liegt.

Viel Performance bietet der Snapdragon 8 Gen 1, der im Alltag genügend Leistungsreserven mitbringt. Den Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 hat aber auch Motorola nicht vollständig im Griff. Das für die Mobilplattform typische "Thermal Throttling" tritt auch bei diesem Smartphone auf.

Im Mobilfunk findet sich das Smartphone gut zurecht. Es werden zwar nur Sub 6GHz-Frequenzen unterstützt, dafür gibt es zahlreiche 4G-Bänder, die das Motorola Edge 30 Pro zum brauchbaren Weltenbummler machen.

Gut gefallen hat uns das saubere Android 12, das mit Motorolas "Ready For" ein nützliches Feature mitbringt. Mindestens 3 Jahre Sicherheitspatches und 2 große Versionsupdates darf man bei einem Smartphone dieser Preisklasse durchaus erwarten.

Die 50 MP Hauptkamera mit optischer Bildstabilisierung schießt brauchbare Bilder. Die Videofunktion bietet zwar 8K30, verzichtet aber auf High-End typisches 4K60. Den Verzicht auf eine Tele-Kamera kann der digitale Zoom nicht ersetzen. Selfie-Liebhaber kommen mit der 60 MP Frontkamera garantiert auf ihre Kosten.

Noch ein paar Worte zum Akku. Die Laufzeiten fallen mit ungefähr einem Tag eher durchschnittlich aus. Die 68 Watt Schnellladefunktion und das 15 Watt Wireless-Charging gleichen die mäßige Akkulaufzeit einigermaßen aus.

Insgesamt ist das Motorola Edge 30 Pro ein interessantes Smartphone zu einem vernünftigen Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.

8.1
Unsere Bewertung
Timo Altmeyer Avatar
Verfasser

Hat 2016 die Website techreviewer.de ins Leben gerufen und ist seither aktiver News- und Testberichte-Redakteur in allen Technik-Bereichen.

Kommentieren

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Überblick
Hersteller

Motorola

Modell

Motorola Edge 30 Pro

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 1
GPU: Adreno 730
RAM: 12GB LPDDR5
Interner Speicher: 256GB UFS3.1
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Display
Displaydiagonale: 6,7 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 2400 x 1080 Pixel
Displayfrequenz: 144 Hz
Displayhelligkeit: 700 nit
Displaytyp: OLED
Displayschutz: Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Abtastrate: 360 Hz
Multitouch: 10 Finger
HDR10+: Ja

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 50 MP OmniVision OV50A (f/1.8 Blende )
Ultraweitwinkelkamera: 50 MP Samsung S5KJN1 (117° - f/2.2 Blende)
Tiefenkamera: 2 MP (f/2.4 Blende)

Frontkamera: 60 MP OmniVision OV60A (f/2.2 Blende)

Netz
Dual-SIM: Ja
SIM-Größe: Nano SIM
eSIM: Nein

GSM: 850/900/1800/1900
WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
FDD LTE: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B13/B17/B18/B19/B20/B25/B26/B28b/B28a/B32/B66
TDD LTE: B38/B39/B40/B41/B42/B43/B48
5G NSA/SA: n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28b/n28a/n38/n40/n41/n66/n77/n78

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax
Bluetooth: 5.2
GPS: Ja
NFC: Ja

Sensoren
*Umgebungslichtsensor
*Beschleunigungssensor
*Näherungssensor
*E-Kompass
*Gyroskop
*Fingerabdrucksensor

Akku
Akku: 4.800 mAh
Schnellladefunktion: 68 Watt
Qi-Laden: 15 Watt

Sonstige
Betriebssystem: Android 12
Audio: Stereo-Lautsprecher
Anschluss: USB-C
Größe: 163.1 x 76 x 8.8 mm
Gewicht: 196 g

Werbung

GOGOBest September Banner