Reviews
0
Review

Razer Raiju Ultimate in the test - PS4 controller for pro gamers

by 12. February 2020
The Razer Raiju Ultimate is no ordinary DualShock controller but a gamepad of the extra class. This not only reflects the price, but also the abundance of functions that a casual gamer most likely does not need. More on this in the test.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

Razer

Product

Raiju Ultimate

Specifications

General
Suitable for: PS4 and PC
Connection: Bluetooth or cable
Modular: interchangeable thumbsticks & D-Pad
Individual: Razer Chroma ™
Weight: 370g

Details
Keys:
* 4 multifunction buttons
* Mecha-Tactile triangle
* Action buttons
* trigger
Audio: 3.5 mm for audio and microphone
Battery: up to 11 hours
Connection: Micro-USB

What's in the box

1x Razer Raiju Ultimate
1x Micro-USB cable
1x user manual
1x transport bag

Razer Raiju Ultimate - Pro controller

Razer already had the in 2016 Raiju PS4 controller brought to life. Back then officially licensed and for pro-oriented players The concept of the gamepad was impressive due to its extended adjustment options and a particularly ergonomic design.

Three years later Razer Raiju Ultimate (2019) appeared with the intention of expanding the then wired Raiju with a wireless Bluetooth functionality, eliminating errors and providing even more customization options.

The Raiju Ultimate is delivered in this packaging.

Razer Raiju Ultimate - design

The Raiju Ultimate does a lot when it is unpacked. The controller will include one Transport case delivered. The modular D-Pad and analog attachments are nicely lined up in the front of the case.

Razer Raiju Ultimate scope of delivery with cable, controller including case and instructions.

If you take the controller in your hand, it does it directly high dead weight noticeable. proud 352 g brings the Pro controller on the scales and is again 142g heavier than an ordinary DualShock 4 controller. The weight is evenly distributed over the entire controller. Too much head load? - Nothing! However, it should also be noted that the Raiju Ultimate, unlike other Pro controllers, such as the Nacon Revolution Pro Controller 2, does not have any interchangeable weights.

Transport bag for the Raiju Ultimate with modular attachments.

The Raiju Ultimate feels great to the touch. The rubberized grip horns convey a pleasant feeling of support, even during longer gaming sessions. The arrangement of the buttons is also very well implemented. All buttons are easily accessible with normal sized hands. Only the M3 and M4 triggers require a slight familiarization phase due to their very low placement. Likewise, gamers with small hands could experience problems with the M1 and M2 triggers. If your index fingers are too short, they are difficult to reach!

Speaking of buttons, in addition to the basic equipment of a conventional DualShock controller, the Raiju Ultimate offers a touchpad with a chic look RGB chroma lighting and four multifunction buttons. The pressure points of the keys are correct and provide a pleasant mechanical feeling with tactile feedback.

Razer Raiju Ultimate Pro controller front

Razer Raiju Ultimate Features

PC compatibility

The Raiju Ultimate is primarily designed as a PS4 controller. Nevertheless, it is also possible to connect the gamepad to the PC. The mode can be switched between via a switch on the back "PS4 BT", "USB" and "PC BT" switch. The connection establishment went smoothly in the test. In the same way, the connection was kept constant without interruptions. What PC players have to watch out for, however, is that the Raiju Ultimate is still a DualShock controller that has to be configured separately on the PC and in its games.

Razer Raiju Ultimate Pro controller page

eSport Ready

Pro gamers get their money's worth. The modular design allows a quick change of the analog sticks and the D-Pad. Depending on the type of player, the Raiju Ultimate can be equipped with short, concave sticks or an extended convex stick. Hold on - a convex stick? I agree! Razer only includes an elongated concave stick and an elongated convex stick. It's a shame that you didn't choose two identical pairs here.

Razer Raiju Ultimate Pro controller bottom

The D-Pad, which is available as a disc or as a classic directional pad, is also interchangeable. The so-called "Trigger Stopper" enable the key stroke of the L2 and R2 triggers to be changed in no time at all. All you have to do is flip the switches on the back. Due to the shorter path of the trigger, it is possible to react even faster, especially in shooters. In order to avoid unwanted entries of the PS key and the configuration keys, these can be deactivated using the lock key.

Profiles, app and RGB chroma

Depending on the game genre, the Raiju Ultimate can be programmed with different profiles. The key assignment, the vibration level and the RGB chroma lighting can be adjusted. Programming is easiest via app. That is what it stands for "Raiju for PS4" app available for download in the respective app stores (Apple & Google). The connection between the app and controller is established via Bluetooth. In the test, the first connection setup worked right away. A repeated connection was again tricky because the controller was only found after being switched on and off several times by the smartphone. Here Razer should definitely improve!

Are already in the app four pre-programmed profiles for shooter, fight, sport and racing titles to choose from. A Razer ID is required to create a new profile. With Razer ID, up to 500 individual profiles can be stored in the Razer Cloud. However, the pre-programmed profiles can also be customized without a Razer ID. The key assignment includes the M1, M2, M3 and M4 keys. All other keys can be assigned to these special keys. The sensitivity of the analog sticks can be adjusted via a 10-step sensitivity controller. The vibration strength of the left as well as the right vibration motor can be adjusted in steps of 10.

To give the controller a unique look, there is RGB chroma lighting around the touchpad. In addition to an individual choice of colors, there are also six different lighting modes to choose from. Regardless of whether static, pulsating or reactive, the setting options are almost limitless. Last but not least, the battery life. The battery lasted approximately 8 to 10 hours in the test. The charging indicator below the touchpad shows early on when it is time to charge the controller. A complete charging process takes almost 4 hours.

Final Words

rating
Positive

High quality
Modular design
Handy and handy
Precise mecha-tactile switches
Trigger Stopper
RGB chroma lighting

Negative

Loveless app
Razer ID forced for new profiles
Unequal stick pairs

First impression
8.0
-
application
9.0
-
Design
8.0
8.0
connectivity
7.5
9.0
Features
8.5
-
Gaming suitability
9.0
-
App
4.0
-
Summary

The Razer Raiju Ultimate is expensive. So expensive that you should definitely consider 2, 3 if not 4 times whether you really should spend so much money on a game controller. However, if you want the best PS4 "Elite" controller on the market, you can't avoid the Raiju Ultimate. The gamepad is excellently processed, offers a wealth of functions and looks stylish thanks to the RGB chroma lighting.

Nevertheless, the gamepad is not spared criticism. Despite a lot of bells and whistles, Razer implemented the Raiju PS4 app completely unlovingly. In addition, there are isolated connection problems, which the manufacturer now has under control.

7.7
Our rating
8.5
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar

Sonstige
0
Review

Razer Raiju Ultimate im Test – PS4 Controller für Pro-Gamer

by 12. Februar 2020
Der Razer Raiju Ultimate ist kein gewöhnlicher DualShock Controller sondern ein Gamepad der Extraklasse. Das spiegelt nicht nur der Preis wider, sondern auch die Fülle an Funktionen, die ein Casual-Gamer höchstwahrscheinlich nicht benötigt. Mehr dazu im Test.
Überblick
Hersteller

Razer

Produktbezeichnung

Raiju Ultimate

Spezifikationen

Allgemein
Geeignet für: PS4 und PC
Verbindung: Bluetooth oder Kabel
Modular: Austauschbare Thumbsticks & D-Pad
Individuell: Razer Chroma™
Gewicht: 370g

Details
Tasten:
*4 Multifunktionstasten
*Mecha-Tactile Dreieck
*Action Buttons
*Trigger
Audio: 3.5 mm für Audio und Mikrofon
Akku: Bis zu 11 Stunden
Anschluss: Micro-USB

Lieferumfang

1x Razer Raiju Ultimate
1x Micro-USB Kabel
1x Bedienungsanleitung
1x Transporttasche

Razer Raiju Ultimate – Pro-Controller

Bereits 2016 hat Razer den Raiju PS4-Controller ins Leben gerufen. Das damals schon offiziell lizenzierte und für pro-orientierte Spieler konzipierte Gamepad bestach durch erweiterte Anpassungsmöglichkeiten und ein besonders ergonomisches Design.

Drei Jahre später ist der Razer Raiju Ultimate (2019) erschienen, mit der Absicht den damals noch kabelgebundenen Raiju um eine kabellose Bluetooth-Funktionalität zu erweitern, Fehler auszumerzen und für noch mehr Anpassungsmöglichkeiten zu sorgen.

In dieser Verpackung wird der Raiju Ultimate ausgeliefert.

Razer Raiju Ultimate – Design

Bereits beim Auspacken macht der Raiju Ultimate einiges daher. Der Controller wird inklusive einem Transport-Case geliefert. Die modularen D-Pad und Analog-Aufsätze befinden sich schön aufgereiht im vorderen Teil des Case.

Razer Raiju Ultimate Lieferumfang mit Kabel, Controller samt Case und Anleitung.

Nimmt man den Controller in die Hand, macht sich direkt das hohe Eigengewicht bemerkbar. Stolze 352g bringt der Pro-Controller auf die Waage und ist damit nochmal 142g schwerer als ein gewöhnlicher DualShock 4 Controller. Das Gewicht ist gleichmäßig über den ganzen Controller verteilt. Eine zu hohe Kopflast? – Fehlanzeige! Anmerken sollte man allerdings auch, dass der Raiju Ultimate im Gegensatz zu anderen Pro-Controllern, wie z.B. dem Nacon Revolution Pro-Controller 2, keine austauschbaren Gewichte mit sich bringt.

Transporttasche des Raiju Ultimate mit modularen Aufsätzen.

Haptisch fühlt sich der Raiju Ultimate hervorragend an. Die gummierten Griffhörner vermitteln ein angenehmes Haltegefühl, auch bei längeren Gaming-Sessions. Ebenfalls sehr gut umgesetzt ist die Anordnung der Tasten. Mit normal großen Händen sind alle Tasten gut erreichbar. Lediglich die M3 und M4-Trigger benötigen durch ihre sehr tiefe Platzierung eine leichte Eingewöhnungsphase. Genauso könnten Gamer mit kleinen Händen Probleme mit den M1 und M2 Triggern bekommen. Mit zu kurzen Zeigefingern sind diese nur schwer erreichbar!

Apropos Tasten, neben der Grundausstattung eines herkömmlichen DualShock Controllers bietet der Raiju Ultimate ein Touchpad mit schicker RGB-Chroma Beleuchtung und vier Multifunktionstasten. Die Druckpunkte der Tasten stimmen und liefern ein angenehm mechanisches Feeling mit taktilem Feedback.

Razer Raiju Ultimate Pro-Controller Front

Razer Raiju Ultimate – Funktionen

PC-Kompatibilität

Der Raiju Ultimate ist hauptsächlich als PS4-Controller konzipiert. Dennoch ist es auch möglich, das Gamepad mit dem PC zu verbinden. Über einen Schalter auf der Rückseite lässt sich der Modus zwischen “PS4 BT”, “USB” und “PC BT” wechseln. Der Verbindungsaufbau verlief im Test problemlos. Genauso wurde die Verbindung ohne Abbrüche konstant beibehalten. Worauf PC-Spieler achten müssen ist jedoch, dass der Raiju Ultimate weiterhin ein DualShock Controller ist, der am PC und in dessen Spielen gesondert konfiguriert werden muss.

Razer Raiju Ultimate Pro-Controller Seite

eSport Ready

Pro-Gamer kommen auf ihre Kosten. Das modulare Design erlaubt einen schnellen Wechsel der Analog-Sticks und des D-Pads. Je nach Spielertyp kann der Raiju Ultimate mit kurzen, konkaven Sticks oder einem verlängerten Konvex-Stick ausgestattet werden. Moment mal – EINEM Konvex-Stick? Genau! Razer legt lediglich einen verlängerten konkaven Stick und einen verlängerten konvexen Stick bei. Schade, dass man sich hier nicht für zwei identische Paare entschieden hat.

Razer Raiju Ultimate Pro-Controller Unterseite

Ebenfalls austauschbar ist das D-Pad, das als Scheibe oder als klassisches Steuerkreuz zur Verfügung steht. Die so genannten “Trigger-Stopper” ermöglichen es den Tastenhub der L2 und R2 Trigger im Handumdrehen zu ändern. Hierfür müssen lediglich die auf der Rückseite befindlichen Schalter umgelegt werden. Durch den kürzeren Weg des Triggers kann vor allem in Shootern noch schneller reagiert werden. Um ungewollte Eingaben der PS-Taste sowie der Konfirgurationstasten zu vermeiden, können diese über die Sperrtaste deaktiviert werden.

Profile, App und RGB-Chroma

Je nach Spiele-Genre kann der Raiju Ultimate mit unterschiedlichen Profilen programmiert werden. Anpassen lassen sich die Tastenzuweisung, die Vibrationsstärke sowie die RGB-Chroma Beleuchtung. Am einfachsten ist die Programmierung per App. Herfür steht die “Raiju for PS4” App in den jeweiligen App-Stores (Apple & Google) zum Download bereit. Die Verbindung zwischen App und Controller wird per Bluetooth hergestellt. Im Test funktionierte der erste Verbindungsaufbau auf Anhieb. Eine wiederholte Verbindung war wiederum knifflig, denn der Controller wurde erst nach mehrmaligem Ein- und Ausschalten vom Smartphone gefunden. Hier sollte Razer unbedingt nachbessern!

In der App stehen bereits vier vorprogrammierte Profile für Shooter, Kampf, Sport und Racing Titel zur Auswahl. Um ein neues Profil anlegen zu können, wird gezwungenermaßen eine Razer ID benötigt. Mit Razer ID können bis zu 500 individuelle Profile in der Razer Cloud gespeichert werden. Die bereits vorprogrammierten Profile sind jedoch auch ohne Razer ID anpassbar. Die Tastenzuweisung umfasst die Tasten M1, M2, M3 und M4. Auf diese Sondertasten lassen sich alle übrigen Tasten zuweisen. Über einen 10-stufigen Empfindlichkeitsregler ist die Empfindlichkeit der Analog-Sticks anpassbar. Die Vibrationsstärke des linken als auch des rechten Vibrationsmotors ist in 10er Schritten einstellbar.

Um den Controller einen einzigartigen Look zu verleihen, befindet sich um das Touchpad die RGB-Chroma Beleuchtung. Neben einer individuellen Farbwahl stehen auch sechs verschiedene Beleuchtungsmodi zur Auswahl. Egal ob statisch, pulsierend oder reaktiv, die Einstellungsmöglichkeiten sind fast grenzenlos. Zu guter Letzt noch die Akkulaufzeit. Der Akku hielt im Test ungefähr 8 bis 10 Stunden. Der Ladeindikator unterhalb des Touchpads zeigt frühzeitig an, wann es Zeit wird den Controller aufzuladen. Ein kompletter Ladevorgang dauert knapp 4 Stunden.

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Hochwertige Verarbeitung
Modulares Design
Handlich und griffig
Präzise Mecha-Taktile-Schalter
Trigger-Stopper
RGB-Chroma Beleuchtung

Negativ

Lieblose App
Razer ID Zwang für neue Profile
Ungleiche Stick-Paare

Erster Eindruck
8.0
8.8
Verarbeitung
9.0
7.1
Design
8.0
4.5
Konnektivität
7.5
7.8
Funktionsumfang
8.5
10
Gamingtauglichkeit
9.0
9.8
App
4.0
9.2
Fazit

Der Razer Raiju Ultimate ist teuer. So teuer, dass man es sich definitiv 2, 3 wenn nicht sogar 4 Mal überlegen sollte, ob man wirklich so viel Geld für einen Gamecontroller ausgeben sollte. Möchte man allerdings den besten PS4 "Elite" Controller auf dem Markt, kommt man um den Raiju Ultimate nicht herum. Das Gamepad ist hervorragend verarbeitet, bietet eine Fülle an Funktionen und sieht Dank der RGB-Chroma Beleuchtung stylisch aus.

Trotzdem bleibt das Gamepad nicht vor Kritik verschont. Trotz viel Schnick-Schnack hat Razer die Raiju PS4 App völlig lieblos umgesetzt. Hinzu kommen vereinzelte Verbindungsprobleme, die der Hersteller mittlerweile aber gut im Griff hat.

7.7
Unsere Bewertung
8.2
Nutzerbewertung
6 ratings
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments