Reviews
0
Review

Vasco Translator M3 Review - Smart voice translator with free data plan

by 27. November 2020
If foreign language skills are not sufficient on vacation, the language barrier can become a real obstacle. The Vasco Translator M3, which translates more than 70 languages ​​at the push of a button, promises a remedy.

Test: Vasco Translator M3

Electronic language translators are real, pocket-sized interpreters. The little helpers not only have a huge vocabulary, they also translate almost any language in real time. Let's look at that Vasco Translator M3 closer to.

Vasco Translator M3 (1)

Design

A language translator should be as compact as possible in size and pleasantly light in weight. It's practical to always have the device with you.

In the case of the Vasco Translator M3, these criteria certainly apply. The voice translator comes with a Size of 12.5 x 4.9 x 1.3 cm and a Weight of 88g significantly smaller than a normal smartphone.

Vasco Translator M3 front

Basically, the translator is structured similar to a smartphone. There is a in front 2 inch IPS color displaythat responds to touch. Below that are two interpreter buttons, which enable voice input in the desired language.

If we hike to the device pages, the is on the left SIM slot with volume rocker underneath, on the right is the power button with a menu navigation button.

Vasco Translator M3 scope of delivery

A USB-C socket for charging the device awaits us on the bottom. Vasco has placed a 3.5 mm audio jack next to it if you want to use the translator with headphones. The two noise-reducing microphones are aligned so that they point horizontally in both speaker directions. The camera with LED flash and loudspeaker are located on the back.

Color accents set the overall 6 different colorswhere the translator is available.

Vasco Translator M3 colors

Hardware

Let's get a little technical, because in terms of hardware and software, the Vasco Translator M3 is very similar to a smartphone.

A MediaTek MT6737V system-on-chip, which was designed for smartphones, is installed. This combines a quad-core CPU (4x Cortex-A53), a Mali-720 MP2 GPU and a Cat.4 LTE modem.

On the software side, the translator is based on Android. In the event of an update, this can be conveniently downloaded via WLAN.

field test

Vasco Translator M3 functions

Setup and SIM

The Vasco Translator M3 is set up in next to no time. After switching on the device for the first time, the preferred menu language is selected. Then you agree to the Vasco user guidelines and you can start translating.

Vasco Translator M3 with SIM

In contrast to other real-time translators, in which an eSIM is permanently integrated into the device, Vasco relies on a classic one SIM slot. A SIM card with a free data tariff that can be used worldwide (up to 200 countries) is already inserted. Activating the SIM is not required.

Operation and user interface

The velvety-soft plastic surface of the Vasco Translator M3 ensures a pleasant feel. All buttons and the touch display are easy to reach by hand and the translator is generally easy to use.

The user interface is particularly clear, so that you can quickly land where you want. All functions can be reached via a 3-point menu without having to search too hard.

Vasco Translator M3 user interface

Languages ​​and translation

70+ languages

Let's get to the most important point - the translation. The Vasco Translator 3 is able to from and to more than 70 languages to translate. In some languages, however, text-to-speech output is not supported, so it is translated into text only. How the speech output sounds in the respective language can be seen on the Vasco Translator M3 product page listen to.

The noise-reducing microphones were able to convince us in the test with a high recording accuracy. Spoken words are recorded with a high degree of consistency even in loud ambient noise. The Real-time translation happens surprisingly quickly and is played at a pleasantly high volume. The translation can also be followed in text on the display.

Vasco Translator M3 | New language translator | Just talk together!

Photo translation

A special feature in which the Vasco Translator M3 differs from other real-time translators is that Photo translation. Simply record a street sign, menu or other text with the camera and the translated text will be saved as a Overlay faded in. Just like real-time translation, this function also fulfills its purpose, provided the lighting conditions are right and the text is not too tiny.

TranslaCall and MultiTalk

Two other translation functions of the Vasco Translator M3 are TranslaCall and MultiTalk. TranslaCall translates calls in real time. To do this, the translator must be held up to the loudspeaker of the telephone. A short instruction helps the other person understand that a translation is taking place. MultiTalk is a function that is suitable for international teams and that translates group discussions with up to 100 participants in real time.

Product page of the manufacturer: vasco-electronics.de/translator/vasco-translator-m3.html

Final Words

application
9.0
6.4
Design
9.0
7.1
Display
8.0
7.6
connectivity
8.5
7.6
Accumulator
8.5
6.6
Features
8.5
6.4
Summary

The Vasco Translator M3 is a first-class helper for people who are confronted with a wide variety of languages ​​on a daily basis. The advertised functions are mastered and the translations are carried out precisely and almost in real time.

Although there are now many translator apps with offline functionality that make the Vasco Translator superfluous, most apps use an online database for an accurate translation. A big advantage over the smartphone is the included SIM with worldwide free data usage, because especially when traveling outside the EU you don't always have a suitable data tariff at hand.

8.6
Our rating
7.0
user Rating
13 ratings
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline feedback
View all comments

Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Vasco Translator M3

Vasco Translator M3 Test – Smarter Sprachübersetzer mit gratis Datentarif

Testbericht erstellt von Timo am 27. November 2020

Wenn im Urlaub die Fremdsprachenkünste nicht ausreichen, dann kann die Sprachbarriere zum echten Hindernis werden. Abhilfe verspricht der Vasco Translator M3, der auf Knopfdruck mehr als 70 Sprachen übersetzt.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp Buffer Pin It
8.6
Unsere Bewertung
299€ amazon.de
Preisvergleich

Test: Vasco Translator M3

Elektronische Sprachübersetzer sind waschechte Dolmetscher im Hosentaschenformat. Die kleinen Helfer verfügen nicht nur über ein riesiges Vokabular, sondern übersetzten fast jede Sprache in Echtzeit. Schauen wir uns den Vasco Translator M3 näher an.

Vasco Translator M3 (1)

Design

Ein Sprachübersetzter sollte in seiner Größe möglichst kompakt und vom Gewicht her angenehm leicht sein. Praktischerweise hat man das Gerät nämlich immer dabei.

Im Falle des Vasco Translator M3 treffen diese Kriterien durchaus zu. Der Sprachübersetzer ist mit einer Größe von 12.5 x 4.9 x 1.3 cm und einem Gewicht von 88g deutlich kleiner als ein gewöhnliches Smartphone.

Vasco Translator M3 Front

Im Grunde ist der Übersetzter ähnlich einem Smartphone aufgebaut. Vorne befindet sich ein 2 Zoll IPS Farb-Display, das auf Berührungen reagiert. Darunter befinden sich zwei Dolmetscher-Tasten, worüber die Spracheingabe in der gewünschten Sprache aktiviert wird.

Wandern wir zu den Geräteseiten, so befindet sich links der SIM-Slot mit darunterliegender Lautstärkewippe, rechts befindet sich die Einschalttaste mit einer Menüführungstaste.

Vasco Translator M3 Lieferumfang

Auf der Unterseite erwartet uns eine USB-C Buchse zum Laden des Geräts. Daneben hat Vasco eine 3.5 mm Audiobuchse platziert, sofern man den Übersetzer mit einem Kopfhörer verwenden möchte. Die beiden geräuschreduzierenden Mikrofone sind so ausgerichtet, dass sie horizontal in beide Sprecherrichtungen zeigen. Rückseitig befinden sich die Kamera samt LED-Blitz und der Lautsprecher.

Farbliche Akzente setzten die insgesamt 6 verschiedenen Farben, in denen der Übersetzter erhältlich ist.

Vasco Translator M3 Farben

Hardware

Werden wir etwas technisch, denn auch was die Hardware und Software betrifft, so ist der Vasco Translator M3 einem Smartphone sehr ähnlich.

Verbaut ist ein MediaTek MT6737V System-on-Chip, das für Smartphones konzipiert wurde. Dieses vereint eine Quad-Core CPU (4x Cortex-A53), eine Mali-720 MP2 GPU und ein Cat.4 LTE-Modem.

Softwareseitig basiert der Übersetzer auf Android. Im Falle eines Updates lässt sich dieses bequem über WLAN herunterladen.

Praxistest

Vasco Translator M3 Funktionen

Einrichtung und SIM

Der Vasco Translator M3 ist im Handumdrehen eingerichtet. Nach dem erstmaligen Einschalten des Geräts wählt man die bevorzugte Menüsprache. Anschließend stimmt man noch den Vasco Nutzerrichtlinien zu und schon kann man mit dem Übersetzen loslegen.

Vasco Translator M3 mit SIM

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Echtzeitübersetzern, bei denen eine eSIM fest in das Gerät integriert ist, setzt Vasco auf einen klassischen SIM-Einschub. Eine SIM-Karte mit kostenlosem und weltweit (bis zu 200 Länder) nutzbarem Datentarif ist bereits eingelegt. Die SIM zu aktivieren, wird nicht verlangt.

Bedienung und Benutzeroberfläche

Für eine angenehme Haptik sorgt die samtig-weiche Kunststoffoberfläche des Vasco Translator M3. Sämtliche Tasten sowie das Touchdisplay sind aus der Hand heraus sehr gut zu erreichen und der Übersetzer insgesamt gut zu bedienen.

Die Benutzeroberfläche ist besonders übersichtlich aufgebaut, sodass man schnell an gewünschter Stelle landet. Sämtliche Funktionen sind, ohne groß suchen zu müssen, über ein 3-Punkt-Menü zu erreichen.

Vasco Translator M3 Benutzeroberfläche

Sprachen und Übersetzung

70+ Sprachen

Kommen wir zum wichtigsten Punkt – der Übersetzung. Der Vasco Translator 3 ist in der Lage, von und in mehr als 70 Sprachen zu übersetzen. Bei einigen Sprachen wird jedoch keine Text-to-Speech Ausgabe unterstützt, sodass hier rein in Text übersetzt wird. Wie die Sprachausgabe in der jeweiligen Sprache klingt, kann man sich auf der Vasco Translator M3 Produktseite anhören.

Die geräuschreduzierenden Mikrofone konnten uns im Test durch eine hohe Aufnahmegenauigkeit überzeugen. Gesprochenes wird selbst bei lautem Umgebungslärm mit hoher Übereinstimmung aufgenommen. Die Echtzeitübersetzung erfolgt überraschend schnell und wird in angenehm hoher Lautstärke abgespielt. Über das Display lässt sich die Übersetzung zusätzlich in Text verfolgen.

Vasco Translator M3 | Neuer Sprachübersetzer | Einfach zusammen reden!

Foto-Übersetzung

Ein besonderes Feature, worin sich der Vasco Translator M3 von anderen Echtzeitübersetzern unterscheidet, ist die Foto-Übersetzung. Einfach mit der Kamera ein Straßenschild, eine Speisekarte oder einen sonstigen Text festhalten und der übersetzte Text wird als Overlay eingeblendet. Genauso wie die Echtzeitübersetzung erfüllt auch diese Funktion ihren Zweck, sofern die Lichtverhältnisse stimmen und der Text nicht zu winzig ist.

TranslaCall und MultiTalk

Zwei weitere Übersetzungsfunktionen des Vasco Translator M3 sind TranslaCall und MultiTalk. TranslaCall übersetzt Anrufe in Echtzeit. Dazu muss der Übersetzer an den Lautsprecher des Telefons gehalten werden. Eine kurze Anweisung hilft dem Gegenüber zu verstehen, dass eine Übersetzung erfolgt. MultiTalk ist eine Funktion, die sich für internationale Teams eignet und Gruppengespräche mit bis zu 100 Teilnehmern in Echtzeit übersetzt.

Produktseite des Herstellers: vasco-electronics.de/translator/vasco-translator-m3.html

Preisvergleich

iconDeutsches Warenlager
iconLieferzeit 2-5 Werktage
299,00€
Fazit

Der Vasco Translator M3 ist ein erstklassiger Helfer für Personen, die sich täglich mit verschiedensten Sprachen konfrontiert sehen. Die beworbenen Funktionen werden beherrscht und die Übersetzungen erfolgen präzise sowie nahezu in Echtzeit.

Zwar gibt es mittlerweile viele Übersetzer-Apps mit Offline-Funktion, die den Vasco Translator überflüssig erscheinen lassen, für eine genaue Übersetzung greifen die meisten Apps jedoch auf eine Online-Datenbank zurück. Ein großer Vorteil gegenüber dem Smartphone ist die enthaltene SIM mit weltweit kostenfreier Datennutzung, denn gerade auf Reisen außerhalb der EU hat man nicht immer einen passenden Datentarif parat.

8.6
Unsere Bewertung
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Werbung

Banggood LOTMAXX Promo

Banggood Summer Promo