Reviews
3
Review

Xiaomi Redmi 7 review - Inexpensive, but also good?

by 3. May 2019

Under Xiaomi's budget brand "Redmi" regularly appear particularly inexpensive smartphones. Since January, it has been known that Redmi will continue to develop and continue as an independent brand. Comparable to Huawei's young brand "Honor", Xiaomi also wants to serve a young, price-conscious audience with "Redmi".

The Xiaomi Redmi 7 or Redmi 7 continues the budget model range. In the test lasting several weeks, the 150 € smartphone was able to prove its abilities.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Xiaomi

Product

Xiaomi Redmire 7

Specifications

Processor and memory
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
GPU: Adreno 506
RAM: 2GB / 3GB / 4GB (LPDDR3)
Internal memory: 16GB / 32GB / 64GB (eMMC5.1)
Memory extension: Yes

Display
Display Type: IPS
Display diagonal: 6.26 inches
Display resolution: 1520 x 720 pixels
Screen Protector: Corning Gorilla Glass 5
Multitouch: 10 fingers

cameras
Main Camera: 12 MP OmniVision OV12A10 + 2 MP OmniVision OV02A10
Front camera: 8 MP Samsung S5K4H7

Network
Dual SIM: Yes
SIM size: Nano SIM

Mobile
* GSM: B2 / B3 / B5 / B8
*WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
*LTE FDD: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B20
* LTE TDD: B38 / B40

wireless
WiFi: 802.11 b / g / n
Bluetooth: 4.2
GPS: Yes

sensors
* Ambient light sensor
* Accelerometer
* Proximity Sensor
* E-Compass
*Gyroscope
* Fingerprint Sensor
* IR transmitter

Accumulator
Battery: 4.000 mAh

other
Connection: MicroUSB
Operating system: Android 9
Size: 158.73 75.58 x x 8.47 mm
Weight: 18Gg

Scope of delivery

1x smartphone
1x protective cover
1x SIM needle
1x charger
1x charging cable

Foreword: Redmi 7

Redmi smartphone is in the 7. generation reached. Like the predecessor models, this too tries redmi 7 one possible good equipment for a small price to offer. Nevertheless, a lot has happened at Redmi. Instead of high-quality metal housing, there is only plastic. Also the size difference to the Redmi Note models has disappeared. Instead of being compact, the Redmi 7 is an 6.26 inch phablet.

Design, workmanship and delivery

Small and light was yesterday. The redmi 7 is with one Size of 15.87 x 7.56 x 0.85 cm and a Weight of 180g a true phablet. Except for the front, which is protected by the way, by Corning Gorilla Glass 5, the housing is made entirely of plastic. The frame is black matte, whereas the back is in the Colors black, blue and red shiny is available.

The smartphone is set up as follows:

On front is the 6.26 inch IPS display. Following the trend, they are relying on a drop-shaped Notch, which surrounds the 8 megapixel front camera. Above the front camera is the narrow but wide receiver.

Here you can buy the Xiaomi Redmi 7.

The smartphone is operated via virtual display buttons or gestures. A white-shining one Notification LED is present and is located on the right side of the lower edge of the housing. The display margins are 3 mm to the sides and 8 mm to the bottom of the case.

The housing frame includes on the right a power button and volume rocker. Left hand is the dual SIM slot. Below are a MicroUSB jack, the mono speaker and a microphone. At the top, the smartphone is equipped with an 3.5 mm audio jack, another microphone and an IR blaster.

Xiaomi Redmi 7 back

The back The Redmi 7 is shiny and offers at least in the colors red and blue an interesting gradient. Unfortunately, the back is not made of glass, but of plastic. This makes them particularly susceptible to scratches, which is why you should definitely use the included protective cover. But otherwise the back is very vulnerable to fingerprints and dirt. Further features of the back are a vertically arranged main camera with LED flash and a center fingerprint scanner.

Xiaomi Redmi 7 included

The quality of workmanship is good according to the price. However, the smartphone feels haptic cheap, which in turn is due to the many plastic and the extremely thick housing. The Scope of delivery In addition to the smartphone includes a silicone protective cover, a charger, a charging cable, a SIM needle and a bulletin board.

Display

Xiaomi has signed up for the Redmi 7 6.26 inch IPS display decided. The Resolution is 1520 720 x pixelswhich corresponds to 269 pixels. Despite the comparatively low density of the dots, individual pixels only become visible with a very close look. The aspect ratio is typical for a Notch smartphone 19:9.

display measurement

Xiaomi specifies the display with a maximum luminance of 450 cd / m². A colorimetric display measurement resulted in a display brightness of maximum 415 cd / m², The distributed over the display brightness variation is a maximum of 20 cd / m². The Black Level is at 0.29 cd / m². The contrast ratio 1 is 1454.

The color deviations measured in standard color mode for sRGB color space are at an average Delta E of 4.35 and a maximum Delta E of 7.37. The grayscale represents the Redmi 7 with a slight blue cast.

Display in everyday life

In view of the price, the Redmi 7 is equipped with a very good display. Despite low resolution, no pixels can be seen at normal viewing distance. The Color rendering looks pleasantly natural to the naked eye. Colors are neither too warm nor too cold. Only black looks rather dark gray.

Also the Viewing angles convinced. Tilting the smartphone, slight changes in brightness are visible. The color fastness is largely retained. Outdoors, the Redmi 7 is easy to read. Only with direct sunlight the readability is impaired by the reflective display glass.

Display settings and functions

The display settings include various settings for brightness, colors, and contrast. There is an automatic brightness mode, three color profiles including a manual color mode and an automatic contrast mode.

The font size can be adjusted in several steps. On Reading or night mode filters blue light, which is much more pleasant for the eyes. The mode can be activated according to schedule and the intensity of the filter can be adjusted according to your own needs.

Touchscreen

The touch screen recognizes up to 10 simultaneous inputs. Unfortunately, entries are registered somewhat delayed, which is especially noticeable when writing fast. The recognition accuracy is good. The display is protected by Corning Gorilla Glass 5, The anti-fingerprint coating makes display glass easy to clean.

Performance

Qualcomm Snapdragon 632

The built in the Redmi 7 Qualcomm Snapdragon 632 is a mid-range 2018 middle-class processor. The 14 nm chip replaces the 2017 released Snapdragon 630. Qualcomm promises an additional performance of just under 30%. The CPU is divided into 4 Kryo 250 Gold Cores (Cortex-A73) and 4 Kryo 250 Silver Cores (Cortex-A53)that clock up to 1.8 GHz. The GPU is one Adreno 506.

The system-on-chip (SoC) uses an LPDDR3 memory controller. Accordingly, the Redmi 7 is available with an optional 2GB, 3GB or 4GB (CN version) memory available. At the Data storage (eMMC) can between 16GB, 32GB and 64GB to get voted. A memory expansion MicroSD memory card supports up to 512GB. Fortunately, it is a triple slot that does not affect the dual-SIM capability.

Benchmark

In the benchmark tests, the Redmi 7 cuts a fine figure. in the AnTuTu Benchmark testing the overall system will score 103.788. In GeekbenchIn addition to a processor benchmark, the Snapdragon 632 achieves a single-core score from 1.245 and a multi-core score from 4325. Wacker also beats the smartphone in 3D applications, especially the 3DMark Benchmark that tests the graphics performance. In the demanding Sling Shot Extreme Test 514 or 547 (volcano) points are reached.

The built-in memory of the tested 3 + 32GB model reaches RAM speeds of 5.233 MB / s. The data memory moves within a write speed of almost 90 MB / s and a read speed of about 280 MB / s.

Performance in everyday life

In everyday life, the Redmi 7 can be used fluently. The user interface responds quickly to inputs, animations are mostly run smoothly and the loading times of individual apps are appropriate according to the equipment. Multitasking is possible to a certain extent. Depending on your storage configuration, sooner or later you may experience a limitation of the apps in memory.

Rendering web pages takes a bit longer compared to high end models, but does not affect the user experience. Scrolling succeeds without annoying jerks.

Gaming

Casual gaming is no problem for the Redmi 7. Especially the low display resolution allows most mobile games to play smoothly. However, if you prefer sophisticated titles (eg PUBG), you must reduce the graphics settings accordingly. A reduction in system performance due to thermal throttling does not occur.

User Interface

The tested Redmi 7 are the Global Version (M1810F6LG), The smartphone comes with MIUI 10.2 Global Stable delivered. The operating system is based on Android 9 Pie, The security updates are on the 01.03.2019 booth. Future updates can be conveniently received over-the-air (OTA).

In the global version MIUI is adapted to the western market. The system is multilingual and can be used completely in German. In contrast to the Chinese counterpart is the Google Play Store including Google Apps already preinstalled. Chinese bloatware is waived. Third-party apps include Facebook, Opera and Aliexpress on the device. If you do not need the apps, you can uninstall them via the App Manager.

MIUI can be loved or hated. The user interface deviates from the structure and visually strong from Stock Android. The system offers a wealth of additional features, such as a security manager, the use of dual apps or a Mi-Cloud integration.

camera

The Dual main camera the Redmi 7 uses one 12 Megapixel OmniVision OV12A10 Main Sensor with f / 2.2 aperture and PDAF autofocus. The secondary sensor is on 2 Megapixel OmniVision OV02A10who is only responsible for a visual depth effect. The front camera uses one 8 Megapixel Samsung S5K4H7 Image sensor.

Practical test of the main camera

Photo mode

Judging by the price range convinced the main camera of the Redmi 7 by a decent recording quality. at good lighting conditions create colorful shots with appropriate dynamic range and good detail. To the edges of the picture, a slight blur is noticeable. The PDAF autofocus reacts quickly and focuses precisely. HDR is available in an automatic mode.

The Camera-AI Detects up to 27 scenes and adjusts the recording according to the scene. For example, plants are recognized by the AI ​​and colors are slightly raised for a more juicy green. The Bokeh mode works surprisingly well and extracts objects and people mostly clean. For complex contours, however, the Redmi 7 reaches its limits.

With increasing poorer lighting conditions decreases the recording quality. Colors fade a bit, the noise increases and the autofocus is a bit sluggish.

All full-resolution test shots can be found under this one link

video mode

Videos takes the MIUI camera app with maximum 1080p resolution with up to 60 images-per-second on. The autofocus works very well in video mode and the exposure is adjusted continuously. Unfortunately, the camera does not offer optical or electronic image stabilization. With alternative camera apps, such as OpenCamera videos can also be recorded in high-resolution 4K resolution.

Practical test of the front camera

The 8 megapixel front camera gives good results. As with the main camera, the images are convincing in good light conditions by an appropriate detail reproduction, but decrease rapidly with increasing low light conditions in terms of quality. The color reproduction could be a bit stronger.

A Bokeh mode is available and extracts people precisely. Various beauty filters can be added via the MIUI Camera app. Videos captures the front camera in 1080p at 30 pictures-per-second.

connectivity

The Redmi 7 Global is well prepared for local mobile communications. The Dual-SIM Smartphone supports the usual mobile radio frequencies in this country. VoLTE and HD Voice available. VoWiFi, however, not. The following bands are offered by the smartphone:

  • mobile: B2, B3, B5, B8
  • WCDMA: B1, B2, B4, B5, B8
  • TDD LTE: B38, B40
  • FDD LTE: B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20, B28

The voice quality is neat. Spoken words are transmitted clearly and intelligibly in both directions. Due to the strong noise reduction, speech can easily distort. The signal strength is very good. This is mainly due to the completely made of plastic housing.

Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

The smartphone only supports Single-band WiFi (802.11 b / g / n), Bluetooth is available in version 4.2. In the WLAN, the smartphone is signal strong. The data throughput is average with about 50 Mbit / s.

GPS and sensors

The GPS tracking succeeds both outdoors and indoors. Outdoors, the Redmi 7 quickly finds a GPS fix. The location accuracy is about 3 meters. Inside it takes much longer until a GPS fix is ​​found. Here, the accuracy varies between 8 and 15 meters. The navigation with Google Maps ran smoothly in the test.

The others sensors includes a brightness sensor, a gyroscope, a proximity sensor, and an e-compass. NFC does not exist. As a small feature is a FM receiver on board. An IR blaster allows the control of TVs and other IR receivers via app.

Fingerprint scanner and face unlock

On the back of the smartphone is a circular Fingerprint scanner, This unlocks the smartphone reliably and quickly. As another unlocking method is Face-Unlock integrated into the system. Face recognition is done with the help of the front camera. The unlock process via face recognition is a bit slower, but was not tricked out with a photo in the test. Prerequisite, however, are good lighting conditions.

Accumulator

The battery has a Capacity of 4.000 mAh, The generously sized battery keeps the user safe throughout the day. With some surfing the Web, watching videos on YouTube, whatsapping and telephony is the Runtime on well 2 1 / 2 days, Under standby, the smartphone is also very economical and loses overnight only 1-3%. Unfortunately, the Redmi 7 comes only with a MicroUSB socket. Qualcomm's Quick Charge is not supported. The battery is charged with 5V 2A in about 2 hours.

Price Comparison

You want to know where to buy the Xiaomi Redmi 7? In our price comparison we list the current offers of the most popular shops. All prices are checked and updated several times a day. Should a shop appear several times, it concerns the different warehouses of the dealer.

Price history

Current prices

GearVita
10-30 working days
114,85€
Banggood
10-30 working days
129,85€
Amazon
1-5 working days
148,00€
Buy geekbuying
3-7 working days
155,19€
Gearbest
10-30 working days
172,92€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 6. December 2019 04: 01

Price history

Current prices

Banggood
10-30 working days
145,79€
GearVita
10-30 working days
149,85€
Amazon
1-5 working days
159,00€
Gearbest
10-30 working days
178,31€
Buy geekbuying
10-30 working days
186,96€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 6. December 2019 04: 01

Final Words

Positive

►Good build quality
►Display with good color rendering and brightness
►Good everyday performance
►Main camera under good lighting conditions
►Dual SIM + memory expansion
►Good mobile reception and good voice quality
►Precise GPS module
►Long-lasting battery

Negative

► Scratch-prone plastic back
►Only HD display
►No dual-band WiFi
►No USB-C
►No Quick Charge

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.0
9.3
application
8.0
8.0
Design
7.0
8.4
Display
7.5
7.8
Performance
7.5
8.9
User Interface
8.0
7.5
camera
7.5
8.0
Fingerprint scanner
7.5
7.9
connectivity
8.0
8.1
GPS & sensors
7.5
8.2
Audio
7.0
8.5
Accumulator
9.0
8.4
Summary

For almost 150 € Xiaomi again offers a satisfactory low-budget smartphone. The Redmi 7 Global convinces with great battery life, a smooth Android user experience, an appealing design and good camera equipment.

There are point deduction for the no longer up-to-date MicroUSB connection, the missing dual-band WiFi and the scratch-prone plastic backside.

7.7
Our rating
8.3
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

3
Leave a comment

avatar
1 Comment threads
2 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
SamuelTimo Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
Samuel
guest
Samuel

Hello, I've also had the Redmi 7 for a week. This is a really great smartphone and I can only recommend it for the price. What I did not manage yet is the WLAN. I enter my data, but it just does not connect. At work it connects without problems. Does anyone have a hint for me how I can solve the problem?

Reviews
3
Review

Xiaomi Redmi 7 Test – Preiswert, aber auch gut?

by 3. Mai 2019

Unter Xiaomis Budget-Marke „Redmi“ erscheinen regelmĂ€ĂŸig besonders preiswerte Smartphones. Seit Januar ist bekannt, dass sich Redmi weiterentwickelt und als eigenstĂ€ndige Marke fortgefĂŒhrt wird. Vergleichbar mit Huaweis junger Marke „Honor“, möchte auch Xiaomi mit „Redmi“ ein junges, preisbewusstes Publikum bedienen.

Das Xiaomi Redmi 7 bzw. Redmi 7 fĂŒhrt die Budget-Modellreihe fort. Im mehrwöchigen Test durfte das 150€ Smartphone sein Können unter Beweis stellen.

Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Produktbezeichnung

Xiaomi Redmi 7

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
GPU: Adreno 506
RAM: 2GB / 3GB / 4GB (LPDDR3)
Interner Speicher: 16GB / 32GB / 64GB (eMMC5.1)
Speichererweiterung: Ja

Display
Displaytyp: IPS
Displaydiagonale: 6.26 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 1520 x 720 Pixel
Displayschutz: Corning Gorilla Glass 5
Multitouch: 10 Finger

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 12 MP OmniVision OV12A10 + 2 MP OmniVision OV02A10
Frontkamera: 8 MP Samsung S5K4H7

Netz
Dual-SIM: Ja
SIM-GrĂ¶ĂŸe: Nano SIM

Mobilfunk
*GSM: B2/B3/B5/B8
*WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
*LTE FDD: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B20
*LTE TDD: B38/B40

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 b/g/n
Bluetooth: 4.2
GPS: Ja

Sensoren
*Umgebungslichtsensor
*Beschleunigungssensor
*NĂ€herungssensor
*E-Kompass
*Gyroskop
*Fingerabdrucksensor
*IR-Sender

Akku
Akku: 4.000 mAh

Sonstige
Anschluss: MicroUSB
Betriebssystem: Android 9
GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 158.73 x 75.58 x 8.47 mm
Gewicht: 18ßg

Lieferumfang

1x Smartphone
1x SchutzhĂŒlle
1x SIM-Nadel
1x LadegerÀt
1x Ladekabel

Vorwort: Redmi 7

Das Redmi Smartphone ist in der 7. Generation angelangt. Wie bereits die VorgĂ€ngermodelle, versucht auch das Redmi 7 eine möglichst gute Ausstattung zum kleinen Preis zu bieten. Trotzdem hat sich bei Redmi einiges getan. Statt hochwertigem MetallgehĂ€use gibt es nur noch Plastik. Auch der GrĂ¶ĂŸenunterschied zu den Redmi Note Modellen ist verschwunden. Statt handlich kompakt ist das Redmi 7 ein 6.26 Zoll Phablet.

Design, Verarbeitung und Lieferumfang

Klein und leicht war gestern. Das Redmi 7 ist mit einer GrĂ¶ĂŸe von 15.87 x 7.56 x 0.85 cm und einem Gewicht von 180g ein waschechtes Phablet. Bis auf die Vorderseite, die ĂŒbrigens durch Corning Gorilla Glass 5 geschĂŒtzt wird, besteht das GehĂ€use komplett aus Kunststoff. Der Rahmen ist schwarz-matt gehalten, wohingegen die RĂŒckseite in den Farben Schwarz-, Blau- und Rot-glĂ€nzend erhĂ€ltlich ist.

Aufgebaut ist das Smartphone folgendermaßen:

Auf der Vorderseite befindet sich das 6.26 Zoll IPS-Display. Dem Trend folgend, setzt man auf eine tropfenförmige Notch, welche die 8 Megapixel Frontkamera umgibt. Oberhalb der Frontkamera befindet sich der schmale, aber breite Hörer.

Hier kannst du das Xiaomi Redmi 7 kaufen.

Bedient wird das Smartphone ĂŒber virtuelle Displaytasten oder Gesten. Eine weiß-leuchtende Benachrichtigungs-LED ist vorhanden und befindet sich rechts am unteren GehĂ€userand. Die DisplayrĂ€nder betragen zu den Seiten hin 3 mm und zum unteren GehĂ€userand hin 8 mm.

Der GehÀuserahmen umfasst rechterhand eine Einschalttaste und LautstÀrkewippe. Linkerhand befindet sich der Dual-SIM-Slot. Unten befinden sich eine MicroUSB-Buchse, der Mono-Lautsprecher und ein Mikrofon. Oben wiederum ist das Smartphone mit einer 3.5 mm Audiobuchse, einem weiteren Mikrofon und einem IR-Blaster ausgestattet.

Xiaomi Redmi 7 RĂŒckseite

Die RĂŒckseite des Redmi 7 ist glĂ€nzend und bietet zumindest in den Farben Rot und Blau einen interessanten Farbverlauf. Leider besteht die RĂŒckseite nicht aus Glas, sondern aus Kunststoff. Das macht diese besonders anfĂ€llig fĂŒr Kratzer, weshalb man unbedingt die mitgelieferte SchutzhĂŒlle verwenden sollte. Aber auch sonst ist die RĂŒckseite sehr anfĂ€llig fĂŒr FingerabdrĂŒcke und Schmutz. Weitere Merkmale der RĂŒckseite sind eine vertikal angeordnete Hauptkamera samt LED-Blitz und ein mittig befindlicher Fingerabdruckscanner.

Xiaomi Redmi 7 Lieferumfang

Die VerarbeitungsqualitĂ€t ist dem Preis entsprechend gut. Haptisch fĂŒhlt sich das Smartphone jedoch billig an, was wiederum auf den vielen Kunststoff und das ĂŒberaus dicke GehĂ€use zurĂŒckzufĂŒhren ist. Der Lieferumfang umfasst neben dem Smartphone eine Silikon-SchutzhĂŒlle, ein LadegerĂ€t, ein Ladekabel, eine SIM-Nadel und ein Hinweisblatt.

Display

Xiaomi hat sich beim Redmi 7 fĂŒr ein 6.26 Zoll IPS Display entschieden. Die Auflösung betrĂ€gt 1520 x 720 Pixel, was 269 Bildpunkten entspricht. Trotz vergleichsweise niedriger Punktdichte werden einzelne Pixel erst bei sehr genauem Hinsehen sichtbar. Das SeitenverhĂ€ltnis betrĂ€gt fĂŒr ein Notch-Smartphone typische 19:9.

Displaymessung

Xiaomi spezifiziert das Display mit einer maximalen Leuchtdichte von 450 cd/mÂČ. Eine mit dem Kolorimeter durchgefĂŒhrte Displaymessung ergab eine Displayhelligkeit von maximal 415 cd/mÂČ. Die ĂŒber das Display verteilte Helligkeitsabweichung betrĂ€gt maximal 20 cd/mÂČ. Der Schwarzwert liegt bei 0.29 cd/mÂČ. Das KontrastverhĂ€ltnis betrĂ€gt 1:1454.

Die im Standard-Farbmodus gemessenen Farbabweichungen zum sRGB Farbraum liegen bei einem durchschnittlichen Delta E von 4.35 und einem maximalen Delta E von 7.37. Die Graustufen stellt das Redmi 7 mit einem leichten Blaustich dar.

Display im Alltag

In Anbetracht des Preises ist das Redmi 7 mit einem durchaus guten Display ausgestattet. Trotz niedriger Auflösung sind bei normalen Betrachtungsabstand keine Pixel zu erkennen. Die Farbwiedergabe wirkt fĂŒr das bloße Auge angenehm natĂŒrlich. Farben werden weder zu warm, noch zu kalt dargestellt. Lediglich Schwarz wirkt eher dunkelgrau.

Auch die BlickwinkelstabilitĂ€t ĂŒberzeugt. Neigt man das Smartphone sind leichte HelligkeitsverĂ€nderungen sichtbar. Die Farbechtheit bleibt weitestgehend erhalten. Im Freien ist das Redmi 7 gut lesbar. Erst bei direkter Sonneneinstrahlung wird die Lesbarkeit durch das spiegelnde Displayglas beeintrĂ€chtigt.

Displayeinstellungen und Funktionen

Die Displayeinstellungen umfassen verschiedene Einstellungsmöglichkeiten zur Helligkeit, den Farben und dem Kontrast. Es gibt einen automatischen Helligkeitsmodus, drei Farbprofile inklusive einem manuellen Farbmodus sowie einen automatischen Kontrastmodus.

Die SchriftgrĂ¶ĂŸe ist in mehreren Stufen anpassbar. Ein Lese- bzw. Nachtmodus filtert blaues Licht, was deutlich angenehmer fĂŒr die Augen ist. Der Modus kann nach Zeitplan aktiviert und die IntensitĂ€t des Filters nach den eigenen BedĂŒrfnissen angepasst werden.

Touchscreen

Der Touchscreen erkennt bis zu 10 gleichzeitige Eingaben. Leider werden Eingaben etwas verzögert registriert, was vor allem beim schnellen Schreiben auffĂ€llt. Die Erkennungsgenauigkeit ist gut. GeschĂŒtzt wird das Display durch Corning Gorilla Glass 5. Durch die Anti-Fingerabdruck Beschichtung ist Displayglas einfach zu reinigen.

Leistung

Qualcomm Snapdragon 632

Der im Redmi 7 verbaute Qualcomm Snapdragon 632 ist ein Mitte 2018 erschienener Mittelklasse-Prozessor. Der im 14 nm Verfahren gefertigte Chip löst den 2017 erschienenen Snapdragon 630 ab. Qualcomm verspricht eine Mehrleistung von knapp 30%. Die CPU unterteilt sich in 4 Kryo 250 Gold Kerne (Cortex-A73) und 4 Kryo 250 Silber Kerne (Cortex-A53), die mit bis zu 1.8 GHz takten. Die GPU ist eine Adreno 506.

Das System-on-Chip (SoC) verwendet einen LPDDR3 Speichercontroller. Dementsprechend ist das Redmi 7 mit einem wahlweise 2GB, 3GB oder 4GB (CN Version) Arbeitsspeicher erhĂ€ltlich. Beim Datenspeicher (eMMC) kann zwischen 16GB, 32GB und 64GB gewĂ€hlt werden. Eine Speichererweiterung mittels MicroSD-Speicherkarte wird bis 512GB unterstĂŒtzt. Erfreulicherweise handelt es sich um einen Dreifach-Slot, der die Dual-SIM FĂ€higkeit nicht beeintrĂ€chtigt.

Benchmark

In den durchlaufenen Benchmark-Tests gibt das Redmi 7 eine gute Figur ab. Im AnTuTu Benchmark, der das Gesamtsystem testet, wird eine Punktzahl von 103.788 erreicht. In Geekbench, einem Prozessor-Benchmark erreicht der Snapdragon 632 einen Single-Core Score von 1.245 und einen Multi-Core Score von 4325. Wacker schlÀgt sich das Smartphone auch in 3D-Anwendungen, insbesondere dem 3DMark Benchmark, der die Grafikleistung testet. Im anspruchsvollen Sling Shot Extreme Test werden 514 bzw. 547 (Vulkan) Punkte erreicht.

Der verbaute Speicher des getesteten 3+32GB Modells erreicht RAM-Geschwindigkeiten von 5.233 MB/s. Der Datenspeicher bewegt sich innerhalb einer Schreibgeschwindigkeit von knapp 90 MB/s und einer Lesegeschwindigkeit von ca. 280 MB/s.

Leistung im Alltag

Im Alltag lĂ€sst sich das Redmi 7 flĂŒssig bedienen. Die BenutzeroberflĂ€che reagiert zĂŒgig auf Eingaben, Animationen werden grĂ¶ĂŸtenteils flĂŒssig ausgefĂŒhrt und die Ladezeiten einzelner Apps sind entsprechend der Ausstattung angemessen. Multitasking ist bis zu einem gewissen Grad möglich. Je nach Speicherausstattung kann es frĂŒher oder spĂ€ter zu einer Limitierung der im Speicher gehaltenen Apps kommen.

Das Rendern von Webseiten dauert im Vergleich zu High-End Modellen etwas lÀnger, beeintrÀchtigt aber keinesfalls das Nutzungserlebnis. Scrollen gelingt ohne nervige Ruckler.

Gaming

Casual Gaming ist fĂŒr das Redmi 7 kein Problem. Gerade die niedrige Displayauflösung erlaubt es die meisten Mobile Games flĂŒssig zu spielen. Wer allerdings anspruchsvolle Titel (z.B. PUBG) bevorzugt, muss die Grafikeinstellungen entsprechend reduzieren. Eine Reduzierung der Systemleistung durch Thermal Throttling tritt nicht auf.

BenutzeroberflÀche

Bei dem getesteten Redmi 7 handelt es sich um die Global Version (M1810F6LG). Das Smartphone wird mit MIUI 10.2 Global Stable ausgeliefert. Das Betriebssystem basiert auf Android 9 Pie. Die Sicherheitsupdates befinden sich auf dem Stand vom 01.03.2019. ZukĂŒnftige Updates können bequem Over-The-Air (OTA) empfangen werden.

In der Global Version ist MIUI an den westlichen Markt angepasst. Das System ist mehrsprachig und kann komplett auf Deutsch genutzt werden. Im Gegensatz zum chinesischen Pendant ist der Google Play Store inklusive der Google Apps bereits vorinstalliert. Auf chinesische Bloatware wird verzichtet. Als Drittanbieter-Apps befinden sich Facebook, Opera und Aliexpress auf dem GerĂ€t. Wer die Apps nicht benötigt, kann diese ĂŒber den App-Manager deinstallieren.

MIUI kann man lieben oder hassen. Die BenutzeroberflĂ€che weicht vom Aufbau und auch optisch stark von Stock Android ab. Das System bietet eine FĂŒlle zusĂ€tzlicher Funktionen, wie z.B. einen Sicherheitsmanager, die Nutzung von Dual-Apps oder eine Mi-Cloud Integration.

Kamera

Die Dual-Hauptkamera des Redmi 7 nutzt einen 12 Megapixel OmniVision OV12A10 Hauptsensor mit f/2.2 Blende und PDAF Autofokus. Der SekundĂ€rsensor ist ein 2 Megapixel OmniVision OV02A10, der lediglich unterstĂŒtzend fĂŒr einen visuellen Tiefeneffekt zustĂ€ndig ist. Die Frontkamera verwendet einen 8 Megapixel Samsung S5K4H7 Bildsensor.

Praxistest der Hauptkamera

Fotomodus

Gemessen an der Preisklasse ĂŒberzeugt die Hauptkamera des Redmi 7 durch eine ordentliche AufnahmequalitĂ€t. Bei guten LichtverhĂ€ltnissen entstehen farbkrĂ€ftige Aufnahmen mit angemessenem Dynamikumfang und guter Detaildarstellung. Zu den BildrĂ€ndern hin macht sich eine leichte UnschĂ€rfe bemerkbar. Der PDAF Autofokus reagiert zĂŒgig und fokussiert prĂ€zise. HDR steht in einem automatischen Modus zur VerfĂŒgung.

Die Kamera-AI erkennt bis zu 27 Szenen und passt die Aufnahme entsprechend der jeweiligen Szene an. So werden z.B. Pflanzen durch die AI erkannt und Farben fĂŒr ein noch saftigeres GrĂŒn leicht angehoben. Der Bokeh-Modus funktioniert ĂŒberraschend gut und extrahiert Objekte und Personen großenteils sauber. Bei komplexen Konturen stĂ¶ĂŸt das Redmi 7 jedoch an seine Grenzen.

Mit zunehmend schlechteren LichtverhÀltnissen nimmt die AufnahmequalitÀt ab. Farben verblassen ein wenig, das Bildrauschen nimmt zu und auch der Autofokus reagiert etwas trÀge.

SÀmtliche Testaufnahmen in voller Auflösung findest du unter diesem Link

Videomodus

Videos nimmt die MIUI Kamera-App mit maximaler 1080p Auflösung mit bis zu 60 Bildern-pro-Sekunde auf. Der Autofokus funktioniert auch im Videomodus ĂŒberaus gut und die Belichtung wird stufenlos angepasst. Eine optische oder elektronische Bildstabilisierung bietet die Kamera leider nicht. Mit alternativen Kamera-Apps, wie z.B. OpenCamera können Videos auch in hochauflösender 4K Auflösung aufgenommen werden.

Praxistest der Frontkamera

Die 8 Megapixel Frontkamera liefert gute Ergebnisse. Wie auch bei der Hauptkamera ĂŒberzeugen die Aufnahmen bei guten LichtverhĂ€ltnissen durch eine angemessene Detailwiedergabe, nehmen jedoch bei zunehmen schlechten LichtverhĂ€ltnissen in Sachen QualitĂ€t schnell ab. Die Farbwiedergabe könnte etwas krĂ€ftiger sein.

Ein Bokeh-Modus ist vorhanden und extrahiert Personen prĂ€zise. Verschiedene Beauty-Filter können ĂŒber die MIUI Kamera-App hinzugeschaltet werden. Videos nimmt die Frontkamera in 1080p bei 30 Bildern-pro-Sekunde auf.

KonnektivitÀt

FĂŒr den hiesigen Mobilfunk ist das Redmi 7 Global bestens gerĂŒstet. Das Dual-SIM Smartphone unterstĂŒtzt die hierzulande ĂŒblichen Mobilfunkfrequenzen. VoLTE und HD Voice sind vorhanden. VoWiFi allerdings nicht. Folgende BĂ€nder bietet das Smartphone:

  • GSM: B2, B3, B5, B8
  • WCDMA: B1, B2, B4, B5, B8
  • TDD-LTE: B38, B40
  • FDD-LTE: B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20, B28

Die SprachqualitĂ€t ist ordentlich. Gesprochenes wird in beide Richtungen klar und verstĂ€ndlich ĂŒbertragen. Durch die starke StörgerĂ€uschreduzierung kann Gesprochenes leicht verzerren. Die SignalstĂ€rke ist sehr gut. Hierzu trĂ€gt vor allem das komplett aus Kunststoff bestehende GehĂ€use bei.

WLAN und Bluetooth

Das Smartphone unterstĂŒtzt lediglich Single-Band WiFi (802.11 b/g/n). Bluetooth steht in Version 4.2 zur VerfĂŒgung. Im WLAN gibt sich das Smartphone signalstark. Der Datendurchsatz ist mit ca. 50 Mbit/s durchschnittlich.

GPS und Sensoren

Die GPS-Ortung gelingt sowohl im Außen- als auch im Innenbereich. Im Freien findest das Redmi 7 zĂŒgig einen GPS-Fix. Die Ortungsgenauigkeit liegt bei ca. 3 Metern. Im Innenbereich dauert es deutlich lĂ€nger bis ein GPS-Fix gefunden wird. Hier schwankt die Genauigkeit zwischen 8 und 15 Metern. Die Navigation mit Google Maps verlief im Test problemlos.

Die weitere Sensorik umfasst einen Helligkeitssensor, ein Gyroskop, einen NÀherungssensor und einen E-Kompass. NFC ist nicht vorhanden. Als kleine Besonderheit ist ein UKW-EmpfÀnger mit an Bord. Ein IR-Blaster ermöglicht das Steuern von FernsehgerÀten und sonstigen IR-EmpfÀngern per App.

Fingerabdruckscanner und Face-Unlock

Auf der RĂŒckseite des Smartphones befindet sich ein kreisrunder Fingerabdruckscanner. Dieser entsperrt das Smartphone zuverlĂ€ssig und schnell. Als weitere Entsperrmethode ist Face-Unlock in das System integriert. Die Gesichtserkennung erfolgt mit Hilfe der Frontkamera. Der Entsperrvorgang via Gesichtserkennung ist etwas langsamer, ließ sich im Test jedoch nicht mit einem Foto austricksen. Voraussetzung sind jedoch gute LichtverhĂ€ltnisse.

Akku

Der Akku besitzt eine KapazitĂ€t von 4.000 mAh. Der großzĂŒgig bemessene Akku bringt den Nutzer sicher ĂŒber den Tag. Mit etwas Surfen im Web, Videos auf YouTube schauen, WhatsAppen und Telefonie liegt die Laufzeit bei gut 2 1/2 Tagen. Unter Standby ist das Smartphone ebenfalls sehr sparsam und verliert ĂŒber Nacht nur 1-3%. Leider kommt das Redmi 7 nur mit einer MicroUSB-Buchse daher. Qualcomms Quick Charge wird nicht unterstĂŒtzt. Geladen wird der Akku mit 5V 2A in ca. 2 Stunden.

Preisvergleich

Du möchtest wissen, wo du das Xiaomi Redmi 7 kaufen kannst? In unserem Preisvergleich listen wir die aktuellen Angebote der bekanntesten Shops. Alle Preise werden mehrmals tĂ€glich ĂŒberprĂŒft und aktualisiert. Sollte ein Shop mehrmals auftauchen, handelt es sich um die verschiedenen Warenlager des HĂ€ndlers.

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Banggood
3-7 Werktage
122,71€
Notebooksbilliger
1-5 Werktage
139,90€
Alternate
1-5 Werktage
139,90€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 1. April 2020 08:03

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Banggood
10-30 Werktage
141,80€
Notebooksbilliger
1-5 Werktage
149,90€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 1. April 2020 08:03

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Gute VerarbeitungsqualitÀt
Display mit guter Farbwiedergabe und Helligkeit
Gute Alltagsperformance
Hauptkamera unter guten Lichtbedingungen
Dual-SIM + Speichererweiterung
Guter Mobilfunkempfang und gute SprachqualitÀt
PrÀzises GPS-Modul
Langanhaltender Akku

Negativ

KratzanfĂ€llige KunststoffrĂŒckseite
Nur HD Display
Kein Dual-Band WiFi
Kein USB-C
Kein Quick Charge

Erster Eindruck
8.0
9.3
Verarbeitung
8.0
8.0
Design
7.0
8.4
Display
7.5
7.8
Leistung
7.5
8.9
BenutzeroberflÀche
8.0
7.5
Kamera
7.5
8.0
Fingerabdruckscanner
7.5
7.9
KonnektivitÀt
8.0
8.1
GPS & Sensoren
7.5
8.2
Audio
7.0
8.5
Akku
9.0
8.4
Fazit

FĂŒr knapp 150€ bietet Xiaomi erneut ein zufriedenstellendes Low-Budget Smartphone. Das Redmi 7 Global ĂŒberzeugt durch super Akkulaufzeiten, ein flĂŒssiges Android Nutzungserlebnis, ein ansprechendes Design und eine gute Kameraausstattung.

Punktabzug gibt es fĂŒr den nicht mehr zeitgemĂ€ĂŸen MicroUSB-Anschluss, das fehlende Dual-Band WiFi und die kratzanfĂ€llige KunststoffrĂŒckseite.

7.7
Unsere Bewertung
8.3
Nutzerbewertung
1 rating
You have rated this

3
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
Neueste Älteste
Samuel
Gast
Samuel

Hallo, ich habe das Redmi 7 auch seit einer Woche. Das ist ein echt tolles Smartphone und ich kann es bei dem Preis nur empfehlen. Was ich noch nicht hinbekommen habe ist das WLAN. Ich gebe meine Daten ein, aber es verbindet einfach nicht. Auf der Arbeit verbindet es ohne Probleme. Hat jemand einen Tipp fĂŒr mich, wie ich das Problem lösen kann?