Reviews
0
Review

ZIDOO X10 review - Android Mediaplayer

by 29. March 2018

TV boxes and media players are now available in all price ranges. A media player from the higher price segment is the ZIDOO X10, which among other things builds on the Realtek RTD1295 chipset and promises numerous functions and play possibilities. To what extent that is true, more about this in the review.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

ZIDOO

Product

ZIDOO X10

Specifications

Processor and memory
CPU: Realtek RTD1295
GPU: Mali-T820 MP3
RAM: 2GB DDR3
Internal memory: 16GB eMMC
Memory expansion: SATA-III

Connections
1x HDMI 2.0a Output (HDCP 2.2)
1x HDMI 2.0a Input (HDCP 2.2)
1x AV Out
1x Optical
2x USB 2.0 Type-A
1x USB 3.0 Type-A
1x RJ45 Ethernet (10 / 100 / 1000 Mbps)
1x MicroSD memory card slot
1x DC 12V

connectivity
WiFi: Dual Band AC (802.11a / b / g / n / ac)
Bluetooth: Standard 4.0

Video - Audio
Video resolution: to 4K @ 60fps
Frame rate switching: Yes
HDR: Yes

Video: ua
* H.264
* H.265 HEVC
* VP9

Audio: ua
* Dolby Digital
* Dolby Digital Plus
* Dolby Atmos
* Dolby TureHD
* DTS
* DTS HD
* DTS X

Other
OS: Android 6.0.1 + OpenWRT
Kodi: Yes, ZDMC
Size: 197 197 x x 65 mm
Weight: 1300g

Scope of delivery

1x ZIDOO X10
2x wireless antenna
1x Power Supply (12V - 3A)
1x HDMI cable
1x RCA to 3.5 mm jack cable
1x remote control
1x user manual

First impression of the ZIDOO X10

Box

Media Player with Realtek RTD1295 system-on-chip are more of a rarity. Frequently, manufacturers prefer to use the low-cost Amlogic S905 and Amlogic S912 chipsets. The potential of the Realtek RTD1295 is often misunderstood, the chipset is able to control a SATA interface, to provide an HDMI in recording capability and even to support OpenWRT. The first Android TV box with RTD1295 SoC was the 2016 released ZIDOO X9S Media Player. The ZIDOO X10 is the successor, which is based on the skeleton of the X9S, but in addition can be upgraded with an internal hard drive.

Scope of delivery

The Scope of delivery includes everything needed for commissioning the media player. In addition to the ZIDOO X10 are included a power adapter with EU plug (12V - 3A), a HMDI cable, a cinch to 3.5 mm jack cable, a remote control and a user manual and warranty information. The remote control also requires 2 AAA batteries, which are not included in the delivery.

ZIDOO X10 Scope of delivery

Design and workmanship

Media Player

The ZIDOO X10 media player comes in the noble Full metal housing (aluminum) therefore. The Dimensions are included 197 x 197 x 65 mmThat Weight including antennas at proud 1300g, The box is constructed as follows:

ZIDOO X10 front

At the front is the bright LED "Vacuum Fluorescent Display" (VFD) with IR receiver, which provides information on media playback and time, among other things. The sides of the housing form the left hand side of the Hard disk bay (3.5 "), with a clean-closing access flap, on the right hand side there are two USB Type-A 2.0 sockets and a USB Type-A 3.0 socket.

ZIDOO X10 Hard Disk Drive

All further connection options and control buttons are located on the back of the case. These include a RJ45 (Gigabit LAN) socket, an HDMI 2.0a output and an HDMI 2.0a input (both HDCP 2.2 compatible), an AV output, an optical audio output, a MicroSD memory card slot, a reset button , a 12V DC input, a power switch and two external WiFi antenna connections.

ZIDOO X10 connections

The mediaplayer is cooled by a small one Fan, Ventilation slots are additionally located on the bottom of the housing. 4 rubber cushions ensure a secure footing. The box can be opened by removing a total of 4 screws, of which 3 are under the rubber pads and one is provided with a warranty seal. The quality of workmanship The ZIDOO X10 is not objectionable and corresponds to the price.

ZIDOO X10 from the side with USB sockets

Remote Control

As already mentioned, is also included in the delivery Remote Control contain. The communication between media player and remote control is via Infrared, The remote itself is well made and has one Backlight, which becomes active when a key is pressed. Numerous operating options make it possible for individual users Programming buttons with TV functions, as well as gives different Shortcuts and mouse function.

Hardware

Inside works a powerful Realtek RTD1295 processor with a total of 4 ARM Cortex-A53 processor cores clocking up to 1.4 GHz. The storage equipment amounts to one 2GB DDR3 memory and one 16GB eMMC flash memory, The processor graphic is a Mali-T820 MP3 GPU, The wireless transmission is via Dual-band AC WiFi and a Bluetooth 4.0, Wired is the transmission over a RJ45 Gigabit LAN socket possible.

ZIDOO X10 opened with Realtek system-on-chip

The memory can be extended via the SATA III interface, externally via a USB mass storage device or via MicroSD memory card. The integrated SATA interface recognizes hard disks in the partition style GPT and the File format NTFS / FAT32, The speed of the SATA interface is convincing and sufficient to transmit high-resolution video material with high bit rate, without delay.

ZIDOO X10 front with display and IR receiver

For cooling, the box is a small one active fan equipped with temperature or manual control. The Volume of the fan is still acceptableHowever, this is clearly noticeable with quiet film sequences. The measured after a 2-hour movie playback high was just once 25 ° C - 30 ° Cdepending on whether an HDD / SSD is in the housing. Within the settings it is possible to completely switch off the fan. The maximum temperature then rises to about 30 ° C - 35 ° C. Performance dips due to thermal throttling do not occur.

User Interface

Setup Wizard

If you switch on the ZIDOO X10 for the first time, you will get one Setup wizard welcomed. This leads you through the basic setting options, such as the WLAN or the system language. German is available as system language.

Setup Wizard

System

One booting takes about 30 seconds to complete. The UI is not based on Android TV, but on Android 6.0.1 with appropriately adapted launcher of the manufacturer. Visually, the launcher is kept in a simple tile design. Access to a wide variety of apps and functions is thus possible with just a few clicks. In general, the navigation of the ZIDOO X10 user interface is easy and does not necessarily require a keyboard or an (Air) mouse. If a button can not be clicked on, just click on the mouse function of the remote control to activate the virtual mouse pointer. Periphery can be connected via Bluetooth or USB. Thanks to the extensive support of HDMI CEC, two-way communication between the media player and the display device is also possible.

In-depth settings options can also be adjusted via a Settings menu (Quick Settings) be made. Unfortunately these "Quick Settings" are only available in English despite German language choice. Alternatively, the standard Android settings menu is also available. Here is an overview of the settings.

Network

Network Settings

  • Wi-Fi (on / off status)
  • Ethernet (DHCP status)
  • Bluetooth (on / off status)
  • DLNA DMR (On / Off)

Display

Display settings

  • HDMI Mode (AUTO> to 4K)
  • Screen Scale (0 - 100%)
  • Picture Parameter (Brightness, Contrast, Hue, Saturation)
  • HDR (On / Off)
  • Wallpaper
  • Deep Color Mode (AUTO, 12bit, 10bit, Off)
  • Color Space Mode (AUTO, RGB 444, YCbCr 422, YCbCr 444)
  • HDMI Range Mode (AUTO, Limited Range (16-235), Full Range (0-255)

Audio

Audio settings

  • HDMI Audio (RAW, LPCM 2 Channel, AUTO)
  • S / PDIF Audio (RAW, LPCM 2 Channel)
  • Downmix HD Audio Output (On / Off)
  • Audio Sampling Rate (On / Off)
  • USB Audio (On ​​/ Off)

Playback

Playback Settings

  • Automatic frame switching (switch frame rate, switch frame rate and resolution)
  • Bookmarks (On / Off)
  • Default Language (Default track / Default subtitle / Default download subtitle)
  • Stream Player (Nuplayer, Native Player)
  • 3D forcing 2D (on / off)
  • Bluray Region Code (Region A, Region B, Region C)
  • Subtitles Download (On / Off)
  • Audio Offset
  • Default download table (On / Off)

Other

Other options

  • Language (including German)
  • Power key define (Power off directly / Standby directly / Ask me)
  • Front display panel (Brightness setting / Display setting)
  • Fan Control (On / Off)
  • Upgrade
  • Restore Factory
  • About

Apps and firmware

Already preinstalled are the Google Play Store and an app install manager. Based on a traditional Android 6.0.1, the usual smartphone and tablet applications are available in the Play Store. At the same time apps can be installed in APK format via the App Installation Manager and even via the web interface on the ZIDOO X10. Pre-installed are already useful apps, such as a file manager, a tool for garbage collection and a web browser (Chrome).

ZIDOO X10 firmware update

The media player is already home rooted, Firmware updates are available as OTA package direct from the manufacturer. A return to a previous firmware is possible. For this ZIDOO provides a complete firmware image.

Media Center

The ZIDOO X10 media player is out-of-the-box with a full media center. Movies, music and others can be streamed via disk or over the network. For the wireless or wired network transmission stand the NFS and SMB protocol available, as well as media via DLNA, MiraCast and AirPlay (HappyCast) stream.

User Interface

Home Theater

About the so-called "Home Theater" can create media directories in the cover look. Film title, cover and description are automatically matched with a database, assigned to the respective film and saved. Using filters, the media can be conveniently sorted by year of publication, genre and other metadata. Playback is via the native media player.

Media Player

Video Test

The ZIDOO X10 has been tested with the following video sources. The resolution, frame switching, and color depth settings have been left at AUTO. For the test, the playback took place both wirelessly from a NAS, as well as a USB 3.0 disk and a hard disk connected via the SATA-III interface.

ZIDOO X10 video test

The playback on the native media player convinced. Videos, whether SD, HD, FHD or 4K, are played back without any picture breaks or picture aberrations. At the same time it is possible to adjust the brightness, the contrast, the hue and the saturation via the settings of the media player. Subtitles and soundtracks can be changed at the push of a button. The VFD display provides information about the remaining watch time or time, memory access, HDR, resolution and network. To criticize is that the playback time in seconds range shows inaccurate jumps.

ZIDOO X10 VFD display

Audio Test

Multichannel sound systems prepare the media player also no problems. All common sound systems are recognized and played cleanly, ie without failures or asynchronicity. On Music playerBeing able to cope with different audio formats (MP3, FLAC etc.) is integrated. Unfortunately, the music player has problems with cuesheets, which is why associated titles are not played completely.

ZIDOO X10 audio test

HDR, 3D and Frame Switching

High Dynamic Range (HDR) is fully supported. The change between HDR and SDR succeeds the ZIDOO X10 without problems. The picture quality in HDR mode is first-class, with no fogging or color space shift.

3D media are automatically detected and playback is adjusted accordingly. Detected are the common 3D formats including 3D MVC, In addition, the 3D mode can be manually controlled. Delays or other outliers do not occur during 3D playback.

Another feature is the so-called "Frame & Resolution Switching", The resolution and the frame rate match the ZIDOO X10 according to the video material. To criticize here is that the frame switching takes effect shortly after the first few seconds of video playback and thus the image is already dark with the playback for a brief moment.

ZIDOO X10 Apps

ISO playback

It is also possible Playback of ISO images and Blu-rays with BDMV and BDAV file structure. For example, if you have a Blu-Ray or DVD image in .ISO format, the complete menu can be played in addition to the individual chapters. However, this "playback with BD menu" does not (yet) work satisfactorily. In the test, it often happened that either no menu presentation was possible or that the menu did not work properly.

ZDMC

ZDMC is a unofficial codi fork developed by ZIDOO and tailored for use with a ZIDOO media player (X8, X9S and X10). ZDMC can be downloaded directly from the manufacturer's website. The most recent version is based on Kodi 17.6 (Krypton). A ZDMC 18 Leia build is already under development and is already available for download in an earlier beta release.

ZIDOO ZDMC

Particularly interesting is the possibility of the native ZIDOO media player as external player to integrate in ZDMC. Thus, the numerous features of Kodi can be used in combination with the really very good, native media player ZIDOO X10.

Netflix, YouTube and Co.

The ZIDOO X10 media player is not a classic streaming box and is by the lack of DRM licensing (Widevine and Co.) Also unable to stream Netflix, Sky Go and Amazon Prime video easily and in high-resolution quality.

ZIDOO X10 DRM Info

The YouTube app from the Google Play Store is able to stream videos in maximum 1080p resolution. Alternatively, you can YouTube for Android TV as a sideload to install. Videos plays the YouTube for Android TV app with maximum 4K resolution at 30 frames-per-second. YouTube HDR is not working!

Gaming

One or the other Android Mobile Game is quite fluently playable on the ZIDOO X10. The connection of a Bluetooth game controller is possible. Alternatively, ZIDOO provides the app "Box RC" available, with which the smartphone can be converted into a game controller. An input lag does not occur. Demanding mobile games, such as the recently published PUBG Mobile or even older and especially graphically demanding games such as Asphalt 8 are only playable with significant frame losses.

ZIDOO X10 AnTuTu Benchmark

HDMI-IN recording

The media player is equipped with an HDMI input, which as Personal Video Recorder (PVR) acts. A corresponding App for recording management including picture-in-picture (PiP) Mode is already preinstalled. You can configure the Recording resolution (maximum 1080p), the output format (TS or MP4), the bitrate (1M - 10M), the audio sample rate (8.000 to 96.000), the output method (file or stream (boradcast, multicast or unicast)) and the storage path. Timed recording is possible. 4K UHD Content is recorded at maximum Full HD (1080p) resolution at 30 frames-per-second. The recording quality is impressive. As video compression H.264 is used. The sound is recorded as AAC stereo. HDCP protected signals can not be recorded.

ZIDOO X10 HDMI input

OpenWRT

The ZIDOO X10 media player can also act as a NAS. A preconfigured OpenWRT (CC 15.05.01), which runs simultaneously next to the Android OS, is already pre-installed on the box. Services such as Aria2, OpenVPN, EasyCwmp and other NAS services (Samba, FTP, iTunes, Torrent, DLNA) are already active by default. About the LuCI user interface OpenWRT can be conveniently operated from the web browser. The implementation of OpenWRT has succeeded ZIDOO and does not show any crashes or errors under normal conditions.

power consumption

Finally, let's talk about power consumption. Turned off the power of the media player is about 0.3 watts. In standby, 0.5 watts are reached. When idle, the power consumption between 7 and 10 watts, depending on whether storage media (SATA / USB) are connected. During playback of 4K UHD media, consumption will increase to about 13 watts.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipped from Germany
181,29€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from Europe
207,59€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from China
207,59€
Price comparison - buy offer at TOMTOP
Shipping Shipping from China
208,62€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
228,22€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 05: 01

* Price after deduction by voucher

Final Words

Positive

►A nice design
►Good workmanship
►Stable and fast Android user interface
►Functional extensive remote control
►Easy operation
►Liquid playback capabilities up to 4K @ 60
►Greater support for multi-channel audio
►Supports frame switching, HDR and 3D
►ISO playback capability
►Good app support
►HDMI recording function
►OpenWRT integrated into the system
►OTA update option

Negative

►VFD display lags slightly behind
►Frame switching only shortly after playback
►BD menu in need of improvement
►music player needs improvement
►Not suitable for Netflix, Amazon Video and Co.
►Not suitable for demanding mobile games

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
9.0
9.2
application
8.5
8.3
Design
8.5
8.2
Performance
9.0
9.4
User Interface
9.0
9.2
usability
8.0
8.2
Summary

The ZIDOO X10 is no ordinary streaming box, but a functionally extensive media player, which is aimed primarily at the experienced home cinema user. It offers a sophisticated and powerful Mediacenter, which plays pretty much any video material.

At the same time, the ZIDOO X10 impresses with an easy-to-use Android user interface that extends the range of functions even further and also allows one or the other Android app. However, one should keep in mind that due to the lack of DRM licensing, Netflix, Sky Go or Amazon Prime Video can only be used to a limited extent. Firmware updates with bug fixes and functional enhancements are regularly provided by the manufacturer via OTA update.

The focus is on local playback and streaming of 4K UHD (HDR) (3D) content, the emulated playback of Blu-ray and DVD images, the PVR recording function and compatibility with the Kodi-Fork ZDMC. If you are looking for a professional Android media player with exactly these functions, you will get one of the best media players on the market with the ZIDOO X10!

8.7
Our rating
8.8
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Reviews
0
Review

ZIDOO X10 Testbericht – Android Mediaplayer

by 29. M√§rz 2018
TV Boxen und Mediaplayer gibt es mittlerweile in sämtlichen Preisklassen. Ein Mediaplayer aus dem höheren Preissegment ist der ZIDOO X10, der unter anderem auf dem Realtek RTD1295 Chipsatz aufbaut und zahlreiche Funktionen und Abspielmöglichkeiten verspricht. Inwiefern das zutrifft, dazu mehr im Testbericht.
√úberblick
Hersteller

ZIDOO

Produktbezeichnung

ZIDOO X10

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Realtek RTD1295
GPU: Mali-T820 MP3
RAM: 2GB DDR3
Interner Speicher: 16GB eMMC
Speichererweiterung: SATA-III

Anschl√ľsse
1x HDMI 2.0a Output (HDCP 2.2)
1x HDMI 2.0a Input (HDCP 2.2)
1x AV Out
1x Optical
2x USB 2.0 Typ-A
1x USB 3.0 Typ-A
1x RJ45 Ethernet (10/100/1000 Mbps)
1x MicroSD-Speicherkartenslot
1x DC 12V

Konnektivität
WiFi: Dual Band AC (802.11a/b/g/n/ac)
Bluetooth: Standard 4.0

Video - Audio
Videoauflösung: bis 4K@60fps
Framerate-Switching: Ja
HDR: Ja

Video: u.a.
*H.264
*H.265 HEVC
*VP9

Audio: u.a.
*Dolby Digital
*Dolby Digital Plus
*Dolby Atmos
*Dolby TureHD
*DTS
*DTS HD
*DTS X

Sonstige
OS: Android 6.0.1 + OpenWRT
Kodi: Ja, ZDMC
Größe: 197 x 197 x 65 mm
Gewicht: 1300g

Lieferumfang

1x ZIDOO X10
2x WLAN-Antenne
1x Netzteil (12V - 3A)
1x HDMI Kabel
1x Cinch auf 3.5 mm Klinke-Kabel
1x Fernbedienung
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Erster Eindruck zum ZIDOO X10

Box

Mediaplayer mit Realtek RTD1295 System-on-Chip geh√∂ren eher zu Seltenheit. H√§ufig bedienen sich Hersteller viel lieber den preiswerten Amlogic S905 und Amlogic S912 Chips√§tzen. Das Potential des Realtek RTD1295 wird dabei h√§ufig verkannt, ist der Chipsatz unter anderem in der Lage ein SATA Interface anzusteuern, eine HDMI In Aufnahmem√∂glichkeit zu bieten und sogar OpenWRT zu unterst√ľtzen. Die erste Android TV Box mit RTD1295 SoC war der 2016 erschienene ZIDOO X9S Mediaplayer. Der ZIDOO X10 ist der Nachfolger, der auf dem Grundger√ľst des X9S basiert, zus√§tzlich jedoch mit einer internen Festplatte aufger√ľstet werden kann.

Lieferumfang

Der Lieferumfang beinhaltet alles, was f√ľr die Inbetriebnahme des Mediaplayers ben√∂tigt wird. Enthalten sind neben dem ZIDOO X10 noch ein Netzteil mit EU-Stecker (12V ‚Äď 3A), ein HMDI Kabel, ein Cinch auf 3.5 mm Klinke-Kabel, eine Fernbedienung und eine Bedienungsanleitung sowie Hinweise zur Garantie. Die Fernbedienung ben√∂tigt zus√§tzlich noch 2 AAA Batterien, die dem Lieferumfang nicht beiliegen.

ZIDOO X10 Lieferumfang

Design und Verarbeitung

Mediaplayer

Der ZIDOO X10 Mediaplayer kommt im edlen Vollmetall-Gehäuse (Aluminium) daher. Die Abmessungen liegen bei 197 x 197 x 65 mm, das Gewicht samt Antennen bei stolzen 1300g. Aufgebaut ist die Box folgendermaßen:

ZIDOO X10 Front

Vorderseitig befindet sich das hell leuchtende LED ‚ÄěVacuum Fluorescent Display‚Äú (VFD) mit IR-Empf√§nger, das unter anderem Angaben zur Medienwiedergabe und der Uhrzeit liefert. Die Geh√§useseiten bilden linkerhand der Festplatten-Einschub (3.5‚Äú), mit sauber schlie√üender Zugangsklappe, rechterhand befinden sich zwei USB Typ-A 2.0 Buchsen, sowie eine USB Typ-A 3.0 Buchse.

ZIDOO X10 Festplatteneinschub

Alle weiteren Anschlussm√∂glichkeiten und Bedientasten befinden sich auf der Geh√§user√ľckseite. Diese belaufen sich auf eine RJ45-Buchse (Gigabit-LAN), einen HDMI 2.0a Ausgang und einen HDMI 2.0a Eingang (beide HDCP 2.2 kompatibel), einen AV-Ausgang, einen optischen Audio-Ausgang, einen MicroSD-Speicherkartenslot, eine Reset-Taste, einen 12V DC Eingang, einen Netzschalter und zwei externe WiFi-Antennenanschl√ľsse.

ZIDOO X10 Anschl√ľsse

Gek√ľhlt wird der Mediaplayer √ľber einen kleinen L√ľfter. Bel√ľftungsschlitze befinden sich zus√§tzlich auf der Geh√§useunterseite. F√ľr einen sicheren Stand sorgen 4 Gummipolster. √Ėffnen l√§sst sich die Box durch l√∂sen von insgesamt 4 Schrauben, wovon sich 3 unter den Gummipolstern befinden und eine mit einem Garantiesiegel versehen ist. Die Verarbeitungsqualit√§t des ZIDOO X10 ist nicht zu beanstanden und entspricht dem Preis.

ZIDOO X10 von der Seite mit USB Buchsen

Fernbedienung

Wie bereits erw√§hnt, ist im Lieferumfang auch eine Fernbedienung enthalten. Die Kommunikation zwischen Mediaplayer und Fernbedienung erfolgt √ľber Infrarot. Die Fernbedienung selbst ist gut verarbeitet und verf√ľgt √ľber eine Hintergrundbeleuchtung, die bei Tastendruck aktiv wird. Zahlreiche Bedienm√∂glichkeiten erm√∂glichen es einzelne Tasten mit TV-Funktionen zu programmieren, als auch gibt verschiedene Shortcuts und eine Mausfunktion.

Hardware

Im Inneren arbeitet ein leistungsstarker Realtek RTD1295 Prozessor mit insgesamt 4 ARM Cortex-A53 Prozessorkernen, die mit bis zu 1.4 GHz takten. Die Speicherausstattung bel√§uft sich auf einen 2GB DDR3 Arbeitsspeicher und einen 16GB eMMC Flash-Speicher. Bei der Prozessorgrafik handelt es sich um eine¬†Mali-T820 MP3 GPU. Die kabellose √úbertragung erfolgt via Dual-Band AC WiFi und Bluetooth 4.0. Kabelgebunden ist die √úbertragung √ľber eine RJ45 Gigabit-LAN-Buchse m√∂glich.

ZIDOO X10 geöffnet mit Realtek System-on-Chip

Erweitern l√§sst sich der Speicher √ľber das SATA-III-Interface, extern √ľber einen USB-Massenspeicher oder mittels MicroSD-Speicherkarte. Das integrierte SATA-Interface erkennt Festplatten im Partitionsstil GPT und dem Dateiformat NTFS / FAT32. Die Geschwindigkeit der SATA-Schnittstelle √ľberzeugt und gen√ľgt um hochaufl√∂sendes Videomaterial mit hoher Bitrate, ohne Verz√∂gerung zu √ľbertragen.

ZIDOO X10 Front mit Display und IR Empfänger

Zur K√ľhlung ist die Box mit einem kleinen aktiven L√ľfter ausgestattet, der temperatur- oder manuell-gesteuert agiert. Die Lautst√§rke des L√ľfters ist noch akzeptabel, bei leisen Filmsequenzen ist dieser jedoch deutlich zu h√∂ren. Die nach einer 2-st√ľndigen Filmwiedergabe gemessene H√∂chsttemperatur lag bei gerade einmal 25¬įC – 30 ¬įC, je nachdem ob sich eine HDD / SSD im Geh√§use befindet. Innerhalb der Einstellungen ist es m√∂glich den L√ľfter komplett abzuschalten. Die H√∂chsttemperatur steigt dann auf etwa 30¬įC – 35¬įC. Leistungseinbr√ľche durch Thermal-Throttling treten nicht auf.

Benutzeroberfläche

Einrichtungsassistent

Schaltet man den ZIDOO X10 das erste Mal ein, wird man von einem Einrichtungsassistenten begr√ľ√üt. Dieser leitet einen durch die grundlegenden Einstellungsm√∂glichkeiten, wie z.B. dem WLAN oder der Systemsprache. Deutsch steht als Systemsprache zur Auswahl.

Einrichtungsassistent

System

Ein Bootvorgang nimmt in etwa 30 Sekunden in Anspruch. Die Benutzeroberfl√§che basiert nicht etwa auf Android TV, sondern auf Android 6.0.1 mit entsprechend angepassten Launcher des Herstellers. Optisch ist der Launcher im schlichten Kachel-Design gehalten. Zugriffe auf verschiedenste Apps und Funktionen sind dadurch mit wenigen Klicks m√∂glich. Allgemein geht die Navigation der ZIDOO X10 Benutzeroberfl√§che einfach von der Hand und ben√∂tigt nicht zwangsl√§ufig eine Tastatur oder eine (Air)Maus. Sollte sich ein Button nicht anklicken lassen, gen√ľgt ein Klick auf die Mausfunktion der Fernbedienung um den virtuellen Mauszeiger zu aktivieren. Peripherie l√§sst sich via Bluetooth oder USB verbinden. Durch die umfangreiche Unterst√ľtzung von HDMI CEC gelingt auch die beidseitige Kommunikation zwischen Mediaplayer und Anzeigeger√§t.

Tiefgreifende Einstellungsm√∂glichkeiten k√∂nnen √ľber ein ebenfalls angepasstes Einstellungsmen√ľ (Quick-Settings) vorgenommen werden. Leider stehen diese ‚ÄěQuick Settings‚Äú trotz deutscher Sprachwahl nur auf Englisch zur Verf√ľgung. Alternativ steht auch das standardm√§√üige Android-Einstellungsmen√ľ zur Auswahl. Hier eine √úbersicht zu den Einstellungsm√∂glichkeiten.

Netzwerk

Netzwerkeinstellungen

  • Wi-Fi (An / Aus ‚Äď Status)
  • Ethernet (DHCP ‚Äď Status)
  • Bluetooth (An / Aus ‚Äď Status)
  • DLNA DMR (An / Aus)

Display

Displayeinstellungen

  • HDMI Mode (AUTO > bis 4K)
  • Screen Scale (0 ‚Äď 100%)
  • Picture Parameter (Helligkeit, Kontrast, Farbton, S√§ttigung)
  • HDR (An / Aus)
  • Wallpaper
  • Deep Color Mode (AUTO, 12bit, 10bit, Aus)
  • Color Space Mode (AUTO, RGB 444, YCbCr 422, YCbCr 444)
  • HDMI Range Mode (AUTO, Limited Range (16-235), Full Range (0-255)

Audio

Audioeinstellungen

  • HDMI Audio (RAW, LPCM 2 Channel, AUTO)
  • S/PDIF Audio (RAW, LPCM 2 Channel)
  • Downmix HD Audio Output (An / Aus)
  • Audio Sampling Rate (An / Aus)
  • USB Audio (An / Aus)

Playback

Wiedergabeeinstellungen

  • Automatic Framw Switching (Aus, Switch frame rate only, Switch frame rate and resolution)
  • Bookmarks (An / Aus)
  • Default Language (Default track / Default subtitle / Default download subtitle)
  • Stream Player (Nuplayer, Native Player)
  • 3D forcing 2D (An / Aus)
  • Bluray Region Code (Region A, Region B, Region C)
  • Subtitles Download (An / Aus)
  • Audio Offset
  • Default download table (An / Aus)

Other

Andere Einstellungen

  • Language (u.a. Deutsch)
  • Power key define (Power off directly / Standby directly / Ask me)
  • Front display panel (Brightness setting / Display setting)
  • Fan Control (An / Aus)
  • Upgrade
  • Restore Factory
  • About

Apps und Firmware

Bereits vorinstalliert sind der Google Play Store und ein App-Installationsmanager. Auf Grundlage eines herk√∂mmlichen Android 6.0.1, stehen im Play Store die √ľblichen Smartphone und Tablet Applikationen bereit. Gleichzeitig k√∂nnen Apps im Format APK √ľber den App-Installationsmanager und sogar per Web-Interface auf dem ZIDOO X10 installiert werden. Vorinstalliert sind bereits n√ľtzliche Apps, wie z.B. ein Dateimanager, ein Tool zur Speicherbereinigung und ein Webbrowser (Chrome).

ZIDOO X10 Firmware Update

Der Mediaplayer ist bereits von Haus aus gerootet. Firmware Updates erh√§lt man als OTA-Paket direkt vom Hersteller. Eine R√ľckkehr auf eine fr√ľhere Firmware ist m√∂glich. Hierf√ľr stellt ZIDOO ein komplettes Firmware-Image bereit.

Mediacenter

Der ZIDOO X10 Mediaplayer ist ‚Äěout-of-the-box‚Äú mit einem vollumf√§nglichen Mediacenter ausgestattet. Filme, Musik und Sonstige k√∂nnen mittels Datentr√§ger, oder √ľber das Netzwerk zugespielt werden. F√ľr die kabellose oder kabelgebunde Netzwerk√ľbertragung stehen der NFS und SMB Protokoll zur Verf√ľgung, als auch lassen sich Medien via DLNA, MiraCast und AirPlay (HappyCast) streamen.

Benutzeroberfläche

Hometheater

√úber das so genannte ‚ÄěHometheater‚Äú lassen sich Medienverzeichnisse im Cover-Look anlegen. Filmtitel, Cover und Beschreibung werden dabei automatisch mit einer Datenbank abgeglichen, dem jeweiligen Film zugeordnet und gespeichert. Mittels Filter lassen sich die Medien komfortabel nach dem Erscheinungsjahr, dem Genre und weiteren Metadaten sortieren. Die Wiedergabe erfolgt √ľber den nativen Mediaplayer.

Mediaplayer

Video-Test

Mit folgenden Videoquellen wurde der ZIDOO X10 getestet. Die Einstellungen zur Aufl√∂sung, dem Frame-Switching und der Farbtiefe wurden auf AUTO belassen. F√ľr den Test erfolgte die Wiedergabe sowohl kabellos von einem NAS, als auch √ľber einen USB 3.0 Datentr√§ger und eine, √ľber die SATA-III Schnittstelle angeschlossene Festplatte.

ZIDOO X10 Videotest

Die Wiedergabe √ľber den nativen Mediaplayer √ľberzeugt. Videos, egal ob SD, HD, FHD oder 4K, werden ohne Bildeinbr√ľche und ohne Bildfehler abgespielt. Gleichzeitig ist es m√∂glich die Helligkeit, den Kontrast, den Farbton und die S√§ttigung √ľber die Einstellungen des Mediaplayers anzupassen. Untertitel und Tonspuren lassen sich auf Knopfdruck wechseln. Das VFD Display liefert Informationen zur verbleibenden Wiedergabezeit bzw. der Uhrzeit, dem Speicherzugriff, HDR, der Aufl√∂sung und dem Netzwerk. Zu kritisieren ist, dass die Wiedergabezeit im Sekundenbereich unpr√§zise Spr√ľnge zeigt.

ZIDOO X10 VFD Display

Audio-Test

Mehrkanal-Tonsysteme bereiten dem Mediaplayer ebenfalls keine Probleme. Alle g√§ngigen Tonsysteme werden erkannt und sauber, sprich ohne Ausf√§lle oder Asynchronit√§t abgespielt. Ein Musikplayer, der mit verschiedenen Audioformaten (MP3, FLAC usw.) zurechtkommt, ist integriert. Leider hat der Musikplayer Probleme mit Cuesheets, weshalb zusammengeh√∂rige Titel nicht l√ľckenlos abgespielt werden.

ZIDOO X10 Audiotest

HDR, 3D und Frame Switching

High-Dynamic-Range (HDR) wird vollumf√§nglich unterst√ľtzt. Der Wechsel zwischen HDR und SDR gelingt dem ZIDOO X10 ohne Probleme. Die Bildqualit√§t im HDR-Modus ist erstklassig, ganz ohne Grauschleier oder Farbraumverschiebung.

3D-Medien werden automatisch erkannt und die Wiedergabe entsprechend angepasst. Erkannt werden die gängigen 3D-Formate inklusive 3D MVC. Zusätzlich kann der 3D-Modus manuell gesteuert werden. Verzögerungen oder sonstige Ausreißer treten bei der 3D-Wiedergabe nicht auf.

Ein weiteres Feature ist das so genannte ‚ÄěFrame & Resolution Switching‚Äú. Die Aufl√∂sung und die Bildwiederholrate passt der ZIDOO X10 entsprechend dem Videomaterial an. Zu kritisieren ist hierbei, dass das Frame Switching erst kurz nach den ersten Sekunden der Videowiedergabe greift und dadurch das Bild bereits mit der Wiedergabe f√ľr einen kurzen Moment dunkel wird.

ZIDOO X10 Apps

ISO-Wiedergabe

M√∂glich ist auch die Wiedergabe von ISO-Abbildern und Blu-Rays mit BDMV und BDAV Dateistruktur. Liegt z.B. ein Blu-Ray oder DVD Image im Format .ISO vor, l√§sst sich neben den einzelnen Kapiteln auch das komplette Men√ľ abspielen. Diese ‚ÄěWiedergabe mit BD-Men√ľ‚Äú funktioniert jedoch (noch) nicht zufriedenstellend. Im Test kam es h√§ufig vor, dass entweder keine Men√ľ-Darstellung m√∂glich war oder aber dass die Men√ľf√ľhrung nicht richtig funktionierte.

ZDMC

ZDMC ist ein inoffizieller Kodi-Fork der von ZIDOO entwickelt und auf die Verwendung mit einem ZIDOO Mediaplayer (X8, X9S und X10) zugeschnitten wurde. Herunterladen l√§sst sich ZDMC direkt von der Webseite des Herstellers. Die zuletzt erschienene Version basiert auf Kodi 17.6 (Krypton). Ein ZDMC 18 Leia Build befindet sich bereits in der Entwicklung und steht in einer fr√ľheren Beta-Version zum Download bereits.

ZIDOO ZDMC

Besonders interessant ist die Möglichkeit den nativen ZIDOO Mediaplayer als externen Player in ZDMC einzubinden. Somit lassen sich die zahlreichen Features von Kodi in Kombination mit dem wirklich sehr guten, nativen Mediaplayer des ZIDOO X10 nutzen.

Netflix, YouTube und Co.

Der ZIDOO X10 Mediaplayer ist keine klassische Streaming-Box und ist durch die mangelnde DRM Lizenzierung (Widevine und Co.) auch nicht in der Lage Netflix, Sky Go und Amazon Prime Video problemlos und in hochauflösender Qualität zu streamen.

ZIDOO X10 DRM Info

Die YouTube App aus dem Google Play Store ist in der Lage Videos in maximaler 1080p Aufl√∂sung zu streamen. Alternativ l√§sst sich YouTube f√ľr Android TV als Sideload installieren. Videos spielt die YouTube f√ľr Android TV App mit maximaler 4K Aufl√∂sung bei 30 Bildern-pro-Sekunde ab. YouTube HDR funktioniert nicht!

Gaming

Das ein oder andere Android Mobile Game ist auf dem ZIDOO X10 durchaus fl√ľssig spielbar. Die Verbindung eines Bluetooth Game-Controllers ist m√∂glich. Alternativ stellt ZIDOO die App ‚ÄěBox RC‚Äú zur Verf√ľgung, womit sich das Smartphone zum Game-Controller umfunktionieren l√§sst. Ein Eingabe-Lag tritt nicht auf. Anspruchsvolle Mobile Games, wie z.B. das zuletzt erschienene PUBG Mobile oder aber auch √§ltere und vor allem grafisch anspruchsvolle Spiele wie z.B. Asphalt 8 sind nur mit deutlichen Frame-Einbu√üen spielbar.

ZIDOO X10 AnTuTu Benchmark

HDMI-IN Aufnahme

Der Mediaplayer ist mit einem HDMI Eingang ausgestattet, welcher als Personal Video Recorder (PVR) agiert. Eine entsprechende App zur Aufnahmeverwaltung inklusive Picture-in-Picture (PiP) Modus ist bereits vorinstalliert. Konfigurieren lassen sich die Aufnahmeaufl√∂sung (maximal 1080p), das Ausgabeformat (TS oder MP4), die Bitrate (1M ‚Äď 10M), die Audio SampleRate (8.000 bis 96.000), die Ausgabemethode (Datei oder Stream (Boradcast, Multicast oder Unicast)) und der Speicherpfad. Eine zeitgesteuerte Aufnahme ist m√∂glich. 4K UHD Content wird mit maximaler Full-HD (1080p) Aufl√∂sung bei 30 Bildern-pro-Sekunde aufgenommen. Die Aufnahmequalit√§t kann sich sehen lassen. Als Videokompression kommt H.264 zum Einsatz. Der Ton wird als AAC Stereo aufgenommen. HDCP gesch√ľtzte Signale k√∂nnen nicht aufgenommen werden.

ZIDOO X10 HDMI Input

OpenWRT

Der ZIDOO X10 Mediaplayer kann auch als NAS agieren. Ein vorkonfiguriertes OpenWRT (CC 15.05.01), das simultan neben dem Android OS l√§uft, befindet sich bereits vorinstalliert auf der Box. Services wie z.B. Aria2, OpenVPN, EasyCwmp und weitere NAS Services (Samba, FTP, iTunes, Torrent, DLNA) sind standardm√§√üig bereits aktiv. √úber die LuCI Benutzeroberfl√§che kann OpenWRT komfortabel vom Webbrowser aus bedient werden. Die Implementierung von OpenWRT ist ZIDOO gelungen und weist unter normalen Bedingungen keine Abst√ľrze oder Fehler auf.

Stromverbrauch

Kommen wir zu guter Letzt noch zur Leistungsaufnahme. Ausgeschaltet liegt die Leistungsaufnahme des Mediaplayer bei etwa 0.3 Watt. Im Standby werden 0.5 Watt erreicht. Im Idle liegt die Leistungsaufnahme zwischen 7 und 10 Watt, je nachdem ob Speichermedien (SATA / USB) verbunden sind. Während der Wiedergabe von 4K UHD Medien steigt der Verbrauch auf etwa 13 Watt an.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Geekbuying kaufen
1-5 Werktage
179,95€
Geekbuying kaufen
3-7 Werktage
206,05€
Geekbuying kaufen
10-30 Werktage
206,05€
Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
236,10€
TOMTOP
10-30 Werktage
293,52€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 1. April 2020 17:02

*Preis nach Abzug durch Gutschein

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Ansprechendes Design
Gute Verarbeitung
Stabiles und schnelle Android Benutzeroberfläche
Funktional umfangreiche Fernbedienung
Einfache Bedienung
Fl√ľssige Wiedergabef√§higkeiten bis 4K@60
Umfangreiche Unterst√ľtzung von Mehrkanal-Audio
Unterst√ľtzt Frame-Switching, HDR und 3D
ISO-Wiedergabemöglichkeit
Gute App-Unterst√ľtzung
HDMI Aufnahmefunktion
OpenWRT in System integriert
OTA Updatemöglichkeit

Negativ

VFD Display hinkt leicht nach
Frame-Switching erst kurz nach Wiedergabe
BD-Men√ľ verbesserungsw√ľrdig
Musikplayer verbesserungsw√ľrdig
Nicht geeignet f√ľr Netflix, Amazon Video und Co.
Nicht geeignet f√ľr anspruchsvolle Mobile Games

Erster Eindruck
9.0
9.2
Verarbeitung
8.5
8.3
Design
8.5
8.2
Leistung
9.0
7.9
Benutzeroberfläche
9.0
9.2
Bedienbarkeit
8.0
8.2
Fazit

Der ZIDOO X10 ist keine gew√∂hnliche Streaming-Box, sondern ein funktional umfangreicher Mediaplayer, der sich vor allem an den ge√ľbten Heimkinoanwender richtet. Geboten wird ein durchdachtes und auch leistungsstarkes Mediacenter, das so ziemlich jedes Videomaterial abspielt.

Gleichzeitig √ľberzeugt der ZIDOO X10 durch eine einfach zu bedienende Android Benutzeroberfl√§che, die den Funktionsumfang nochmals erweitert und auch die ein oder andere Android App zul√§sst. Bedenken sollte man allerdings, dass durch die mangelnde DRM Lizenzierung Netflix, Sky Go oder Amazon Prime Video nur eingeschr√§nkt nutzbar sind. Firmware-Updates mit Bugfixes und Funktionserweiterungen reicht der Hersteller regelm√§√üig via OTA-Update nach.

Im Vordergrund stehen das lokale Abspielen und Streamen von 4K UHD (HDR) (3D) Inhalten, die emulierte Wiedergabe von Blu-Ray und DVD Images, die PVR Aufnahmefunktion und die Kompatibilität zum Kodi-Fork ZDMC. Wer einen professionellen Android Mediaplayer mit genau diesen Funktionen sucht, erhält mit dem ZIDOO X10 einen der derzeit besten Mediaplayer auf dem Markt!

8.7
Unsere Bewertung
8.5
Nutzerbewertung
1 rating
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar