Reviews
0
Review

ZIDOO H6 Pro Review - Android TV Box

by 4. April 2018

The ZIDOO H6 Pro streaming box is an mid-range Android 7.0 media player. As one of the few China TV boxes, the H6 Pro supports Netflix HD as well as Amazon Prime Video. In the test, we look at what the compact media player actually has on the box.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

ZIDOO

Product

ZIDOO H6 Pro

Specifications

Processor and memory
CPU: Allwinner H6
GPU: Mali-T720 MP2
RAM: 2GB DDR4
Internal memory: 16GB eMMC

Connections
1x HDMI 2.0a Output (HDCP 2.2)
1x AV Out
1x Optical
2x USB 2.0 Type-A
1x USB 3.0 Type-A
1x RJ45 Ethernet (10 / 100 / 1000 Mbps)
1x MicroSD memory card slot
1x DC 5V

connectivity
WiFi: Dual Band AC (802.11a / b / g / n / ac)
Bluetooth: Standard 4.1

Video - Audio
Video resolution: to 4K @ 60fps
Frame rate switching: Yes
HDR: Yes

Video: ua
* H.264
* H.265 HEVC
* VP9

Audio: ua
* Dolby Digital
* Dolby Digital Plus
* Dolby TureHD
* DTS
* DTS HD
* DTS X

Other
OS: Android 7.0
Kodi: Yes
Size: 105.6 105.6 x x 17.5 mm

Scope of delivery

1x ZIDOO H6 Pro
1x Power Supply (5V - 2A)
1x HDMI cable
1x remote control
1x user manual

First impression of the ZIDOO H6 Pro

Box

The End 2017 released ZIDOO H6 Pro TV Box was one of the first steaming boxes with one Allwinner H6 system-on-chip, The on Android 7.0 Among other things, based media player supports the playback of high-resolution 4K video material, offers a fast USB 3.0 connection and is also well-networked, both wirelessly using dual-band AC WiFi and wired with Gigabit Ethernet.

Scope of delivery

The Scope of delivery includes everything needed to use the TV Box. Included are in addition to the media player nor a power adapter with EU plug adapter (5V - 2A), a HMDI cable, a remote control and a user guide and warranty information. The remote control also requires 2 AAA batteries, which are not included in the delivery.

Scope of delivery

Design and workmanship

Media Player

The ZIDOO H6 Pro streaming box comes with Dimensions of 105.6 x 105.6 x 17.5 mm extremely compact. The golden case frame and the case bottom are made of metal. The upper side of the case is made of glass and bears the manufacturer's logo in the middle. The box is constructed as follows:

front view

front side There is a black-tinted window with an IR receiver behind. Right next to it, a status LED was placed. The left side of the case contains two USB Type-A 2.0 sockets with USB-OTG support, as well as a MicroSD memory card slot. On the right hand side is a USB Type-A 3.0 jack.

sideview

All further connection options are located on the back of the case. These include a RJ45 (Gigabit-LAN) socket, an HDMI 2.0a output (HDCP 2.2 compatible), an AV output and an optical audio output, as well as an 5V DC input.

ZIDOO H6 Pro connectors

The TV box can be opened by loosening 4 screws on the bottom of the housing. One of the screws is additionally provided with a warranty seal. Cooling takes place via a passive heat sink. For sufficient air supply provide several vents on the bottom. The quality of workmanship the ZIDOO H6 Pro Box is not objectionable and corresponds to the price.

Side view (2)

Remote Control

The included remote control communicates via both Infrared, as well as over Bluetooth, The remote control is made of plastic, the buttons are made of rubber. Overall, the remote control is well made. The operating options are clear, but contain everything that is necessary for the operation of the TV box. Among other things, there is a circular control with center entry, three typical buttons for back, home and menu, as well as buttons for volume control. An advantage is the mouse button, which at the push of a button cursor on the screen, which is conveniently controlled by the control.

Remote Control

Hardware

The basis of the ZIDOO H6 Pro media player forms Allwinner H6 system-on-chip, This SoC was specially designed for set-top boxes and is made up of, among other things Quad-Core CPU (ARM Cortex-A53) with maximum 1.8 GHz clock rate and one Mali-T720 MP2 GPU zusammen.

bottom

The storage facilities amounts to one 2GB DDR4 memory and one 16GB eMMC flash memory, The memory can be extended via an external USB mass storage device or via microSD memory card. The wireless transmission is via Dual-band AC WiFi and a Bluetooth 4.1, Wired is the transmission over a RJ45 Gigabit LAN socket possible.

User Interface

Setup Wizard

If you switch on the ZIDOO H6 Pro media player for the first time, you will be greeted by a multilingual user Setup wizard welcomed. This leads you through the basic settings, such as the connection of the Bluetooth remote control or the configuration of the WLAN. German is available as system language.

Setup Wizard

System

One booting takes about 15 seconds to complete. The user interface is based on Android 7.0 and was optically adapted according to the use as a media player. The Launcher used by ZIDOO is strongly inspired by the design of the Leanback Launcher and relies on a similar tile look. Access to apps and features is possible with just a few clicks.

The User Interface is clearly structured and overall easy to use. Improvement is the animation speed. Depending on how fast you navigate through the user interface, the animations are less fluid. A keyboard or an (Air) mouse facilitate the operation, but are not necessarily needed. If a button can not be clicked on, just click on the mouse function of the remote control to activate the virtual mouse pointer. Periphery can be connected via Bluetooth or USB. Unfortunately the TV Box does not support HDMI CEC. An overall operation with only one remote control (eg that of the display device) is therefore not possible.

Settings can be made both over the ZIDOO "Quick-Settings", as well as via the standard Android settings menu. Despite the German system language, the "Quick Settings" are only available in English. Here is an overview of the settings.

Network

Network Settings

  • Wi-Fi (on / off status)
  • Ethernet (DHCP status)
  • Bluetooth (on / off status)

Display

Display settings

  • Screen Resolution (to 4K)
  • Screen Position (0 - 100%)
  • MediaCodec Framte Rate (On / Off)
  • Wallpaper
  • User Featured Data (On / Off)

Sound

Audio settings

  • Audio Output (Enable Pass Through - HDMI / SPDIF / CVBS)
  • System Sound (On / Off)

Other

Advanced Settings

  • Language (including German)
  • Factory Data Reset
  • Advanced Settings
  • About

Apps and firmware

The Google Play Store and an App Installation Manager are already preinstalled. The app selection on the Play Stores is limited and includes, similar to an Android TV system, only apps that are tailored to the device type. Alternatively, APK apps can be installed through the App Installation Manager (Sideload).

Pre-installed are already useful apps, such as a file manager, a tool for garbage collection and a web browser. Special streaming apps, such as HappyCast, but also a wide video on demand offer, among others Netflix, Amazon Video, TED and Hulu are also on the box.

Firmware updates

Firmware updates will Over-the-Air (OTA) receive. A return to a previous firmware is possible. A reset button is hidden in the AV socket. If this is pressed when the box is switched on, a factory reset is performed on the delivery firmware.

Media Center

The ZIDOO H6 Pro TV Box comes with a full-featured Media Center equipped, including one Videoplayer, one Music player and one picture viewer includes. Movies, music and others can be streamed via disk or over the network.

ZIDOO Launcher

Network

For the wireless or wired network transmission stand the NFS and SMB protocol available, as well as movies and music via DLNA, MiraCast and AirPlay (HappyCast) be streamed. ZIDOO did not succeed in implementing the SMB and NFS protocols. A network memory access of the media player via SMB, as well as NFS, failed in the test with an "unknown error". The installation of Kodi, which SMB and NFS work well for, helps.

Another criticism is the incorrect implementation of HappyCast. The pre-installed app says goodbye a few seconds after launch with a crash. Again, you should switch to any third-party app. Hope that these errors will be eliminated in future updates, at least the last published beta updates.

Video Test

The following video sources tested the ZIDOO H6 Pro video player. Frame switching has been enabled for the test. The playback was due to lack of functioning NAS access, only via a USB 3.0 disk.

ZIDOO H6 Pro video test

The playback on the native video player convinced. Videos, regardless of whether SD, HD, FHD or 4K, are played largely without image breaks and without image aberration. At the same time it is possible over the "SmartColor Engine" from different color profiles, as well as create your own profile with settings for brightness, contrast, saturation and the detail and noise level. Subtitles and soundtracks can be changed at the push of a button.

Audio Test

With Multi-channel audio the TV box gets along well. The common sound systems are recognized and the HDMI Pass Through works. Only DTS-HD and DTS: X have a fallback on DTS 5.1. Serious failures or asynchronism have not been noticed in the test. On Music playerBeing able to cope with various audio formats (MP3, FLAC etc) is included.

ZIDOO H6 Pro audio test

HDR, 3D and Frame Switching

The playback of High Dynamic Range (HDR) Content is fully supported. Switching between HDR and SDR is automatic. The HDR image quality leaves nothing to be desired. Grayscale or color space shifts do not occur.

The playback of 3D content is possible. However, the matching 3D playback mode must be set manually using the settings of the video player. The choices include 3D-MVC, SBS and TAB. Delays or other outliers do not occur during 3D playback. Via the settings menu of the video player 3D material can also be played in 2D (2D-SBS / 2D-TAB).

Another feature is the so-called "Frame switching", The refresh rate matches the ZIDOO H6 Pro according to the video material. The adaptation works reliably and even before the actual playback.

ZIDOO UI App Drawer

ISO playback

It is also possible Playback of ISO images, If a Blu-Ray image is in .ISO format, it can be played back directly from the video player. In contrast to ZIDOO X10 media player the manufacturer has no "playback with BD menu" integrated. A menu is not called before playback, and no chapter selection is possible. The test also showed that the media player does not play DVD images, but the .ISO playback is purely limited to Blu-ray images.

Netflix, YouTube and Co.

As one of the few China TV boxes, the ZIDOO H6 Pro Mediaplayer is capable Netflix and Amazon Prime Video in Full HD to stream. The required apps are already available as a shortcut on the system and can be downloaded with one click. A look at the DRM support reveals that the TV box Widevine L1 is licensed. However, other DRM licensing such as Microsoft Playready, Marlin or VCAS is missing.

ZIDOO H6 Pro DRM Information

Both streaming through Netflix, as well as Amazon Video is no problem for the media player. The video transmission is smooth and without image errors. The likewise pre-installed YouTube app is limited to a maximum 2K resolution (1440p). Sky Go can be installed after the fact by Sideload.

Kodi

Kodi is not preinstalled, but in version 17.6 (Kyrpton) using the Google Play Store be downloaded. In contrast to the native video player, playback on the Kodi media player is disastrous. Hardly a title, no matter whether H.264, HEVC or VP9 coded, is fluently playable. In addition there are regular color errors, an artifact formation and sound dropouts. The automatic frame rate adjustment does not work in Kodi.

Kodi

Gaming

As a gaming box, the ZIDOO H6 Pro media player can only be used to a limited extent. Just graphically demanding games such as Asphalt 8 are liquid playable only on low graphics settings. The connection of a Bluetooth game controller is possible. Alternatively, ZIDOO provides the app "Box RC" available, with which the smartphone can be converted into a game controller. An input lag does not occur.

ZIDOO H6 Pro AnTuTu Benchmark Score

power consumption

Finally, let's talk about power consumption. Switched off is the power consumption of the media player at 0 watts. in the standby 3.5 watts are achieved. in the Idle The power consumption between 6.5 and 8.5 Watts depends on whether storage media is connected. During playback of 4K UHD media, consumption will increase to about 10 watts.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from China
89,74€
Price comparison - buy offer at TOMTOP
Shipping Shipping from China
90,19€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from Europe
90,64€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipped from Germany
90,64€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from Europe
96,89€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
100,17€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 05: 03

Final Words

Positive

►Compact design
►Good workmanship
►Align Android interface
►Bluetooth + IR remote control
►Easy operation
►Liquid playback capabilities up to 4K @ 60
►Good support for multi-channel audio
►Supports frame switching, HDR and 3D
►ISO playback capability
►Netflix, Amazon Video and Co. in FHD
►OTA update option

Negative

►SMB and NFS miserably implemented
►No HDMI CEC
►Google Play Store shows only device-specific apps
►Animations of the user interface partly not fluid
►Little support from Kodi
►DTS-HD Pass Through does not work
►DVD ISO playback not possible
►Not suitable for demanding mobile games

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.0
8.5
application
8.5
8.5
Design
8.0
8.5
Performance
7.0
9.0
User Interface
6.5
8.5
usability
8.0
8.5
Summary

The ZIDOO H6 Pro TV Box is (still) software immature and requires optimization. First and foremost criticize the miserable implementation of the network protocols SMB and NFS, which ended with an "unknown error" in the network access. With Kodi, the Allwinner H6 system is difficult to handle. High-resolution playback material is hardly playable liquid and is accompanied by sound skipping and color errors.

However, the ZIDOO H6 Pro media player also has positive sides. Pleasantly good is the native video player. This comes with pretty much any playback material (4K, HDR, 3D, BD-ISO) copes, provides a working frame switching and can be used thanks to the SmartColor engine for custom color matching. Another positive aspect is the ability to stream both Netflix and Amazon video in Full HD. In addition to the manageable, licensed media players (Nvidia Shield / Xiaomi Mi Box), the ZIDOO H6 Pro TV Box is one of the few China TV boxes that is capable of doing so.

7.7
Our rating
8.6
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Reviews
0
Review

ZIDOO H6 Pro Testbericht – Android TV Box

by 4. April 2018

Die ZIDOO H6 Pro Streaming-Box ist ein Android 7.0 Mediaplayer aus dem mittleren Preissegment. Als eine der wenigen China-TV-Boxen unterstützt die H6 Pro unter anderem Netflix HD, als auch Amazon Prime Video. Im Test schauen wir uns an, was der kompakte Mediaplayer tatsächlich auf dem Kasten hat.

Überblick
Hersteller

ZIDOO

Produktbezeichnung

ZIDOO H6 Pro

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Allwinner H6
GPU: Mali-T720 MP2
RAM: 2GB DDR4
Interner Speicher: 16GB eMMC

Anschlüsse
1x HDMI 2.0a Output (HDCP 2.2)
1x AV Out
1x Optical
2x USB 2.0 Typ-A
1x USB 3.0 Typ-A
1x RJ45 Ethernet (10/100/1000 Mbps)
1x MicroSD-Speicherkartenslot
1x DC 5V

Konnektivität
WiFi: Dual Band AC (802.11a/b/g/n/ac)
Bluetooth: Standard 4.1

Video - Audio
Videoauflösung: bis 4K@60fps
Framerate-Switching: Ja
HDR: Ja

Video: u.a.
*H.264
*H.265 HEVC
*VP9

Audio: u.a.
*Dolby Digital
*Dolby Digital Plus
*Dolby TureHD
*DTS
*DTS HD
*DTS X

Sonstige
OS: Android 7.0
Kodi: Ja
Größe: 105.6 x 105.6 x 17.5 mm

Lieferumfang

1x ZIDOO H6 Pro
1x Netzteil (5V - 2A)
1x HDMI Kabel
1x Fernbedienung
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Erster Eindruck zum ZIDOO H6 Pro

Box

 

Die Ende 2017 erschienene ZIDOO H6 Pro TV Box war eine der ersten Steaming-Boxen mit einem Allwinner H6 System-on-Chip. Der auf Android 7.0 basierende Mediaplayer unterstützt unter anderem die Wiedergabe von hochauflösendem 4K Videomaterial, bietet eine schnelle USB 3.0 Anbindung und ist auch netzwerktechnisch, sowohl kabellos mittels Dual-Band AC WiFi sowie kabelgebunden mit Gigabit Ethernet, gut ausgestattet.

Lieferumfang

Der Lieferumfang beinhaltet alles, was zur Verwendung der TV Box benötigt wird. Enthalten sind neben dem Mediaplayer noch ein Netzteil mit EU-Steckadapter (5V – 2A), ein HMDI Kabel, eine Fernbedienung und eine Bedienungsanleitung sowie Hinweise zur Garantie. Die Fernbedienung benötigt zusätzlich noch 2 AAA Batterien, die dem Lieferumfang nicht beiliegen.

Lieferumfang

Design und Verarbeitung

Mediaplayer

Die ZIDOO H6 Pro Streaming-Box ist mit Maßen von 105.6 x 105.6 x 17.5 mm äußerst kompakt gehalten. Der goldene Gehäuserahmen und die Gehäuseunterseite bestehen aus Metall. Die Gehäuseoberseite wiederum besteht aus Glas und trägt mittig das Logo des Herstellers. Aufgebaut ist die Box folgendermaßen:

Frontansicht

Vorderseitig befindet sich ein schwarz getöntes Fenster mit dahinterliegendem IR-Empfänger. Direkt daneben wurde eine Status-LED platziert. Die linke Gehäuseseite umfasst zwei USB Typ-A 2.0 Buchsen mit USB-OTG Unterstützung, sowie einen MicroSD-Speicherkartenslot. Rechterhand befindet sich eine USB Typ-A 3.0 Buchse.

Seitenansicht

Alle weiteren Anschlussmöglichkeiten befinden sich auf der Gehäuserückseite. Diese belaufen sich auf eine RJ45-Buchse (Gigabit-LAN), einen HDMI 2.0a Ausgang (HDCP 2.2 kompatibel), einen AV-Ausgang und einen optischen Audio-Ausgang, sowie einen 5V DC Eingang.

ZIDOO H6 Pro Anschlüsse

Öffnen lässt sich die TV Box durch lösen von 4 Schrauben auf der Gehäuseunterseite. Eine der Schrauben ist zusätzlich mit einem Garantiesiegel versehen. Die Kühlung erfolgt über einen passiven Kühlkörper. Für eine ausreichende Luftzufuhr sorgen mehrere Lüftungsschlitze auf der Unterseite. Die Verarbeitungsqualität der ZIDOO H6 Pro Box ist nicht zu beanstanden und entspricht dem Preis.

Seitenansicht (2)

Fernbedienung

Die im Lieferumfang enthaltene Fernbedienung kommuniziert sowohl über Infrarot, als auch über Bluetooth. Die Fernbedienung besteht aus Kunststoff, die Tasten bestehen aus Gummi. Insgesamt ist die Fernbedienung gut verarbeitet. Die Bedienmöglichkeiten fallen übersichtlich aus, beinhalten jedoch alles, was für die Bedienung der TV Box notwendig ist. Unter anderem gibt es ein kreisrundes Steuerelement mit mittiger Eingabetaste, drei typische Tasten für Zurück, Home und Menü, sowie Tasten zur Lautstärkesteuerung. Von Vorteil ist die Maus-Taste, die auf Knopfdruck einen Mauszeiger auf dem Bildschirm erscheinen lässt, der komfortabel über das Steuerelement gesteuert wird.

Fernbedienung

Hardware

Die Basis des ZIDOO H6 Pro Mediaplayers bildet ein Allwinner H6 System-on-Chip. Dieses SoC wurde speziell für Set-Top-Boxen entworfen und setzt sich unter anderem aus einer Quad-Core CPU (ARM Cortex-A53) mit maximaler 1.8 GHz Taktrate und einer Mali-T720 MP2 GPU zusammen.

Unterseite

Die Speicherausstattung beläuft sich auf einen 2GB DDR4 Arbeitsspeicher und einen 16GB eMMC Flash-Speicher. Erweitern lässt sich der Speicher über einen externen USB-Massenspeicher oder mittels MicroSD-Speicherkarte. Die kabellose Übertragung erfolgt via Dual-Band AC WiFi und Bluetooth 4.1. Kabelgebunden ist die Übertragung über eine RJ45 Gigabit-LAN-Buchse möglich.

Benutzeroberfläche

Einrichtungsassistent

Schaltet man den ZIDOO H6 Pro Mediaplayer das erste Mal ein, wird man von einem mehrsprachigen Einrichtungsassistenten begrüßt. Dieser leitet einen durch die grundlegenden Einstellungsmöglichkeiten, wie z.B. der Verbindung der Bluetooth-Fernbedienung oder der Konfiguration des WLANs. Deutsch steht als Systemsprache zur Auswahl.

Einrichtungsassistent

System

Ein Bootvorgang nimmt in etwa 15 Sekunden in Anspruch. Die Benutzeroberfläche basiert auf Android 7.0 und wurde optisch entsprechend der Nutzung als Mediaplayer angepasst. Der von ZIDOO verwendete Launcher ist stark an das Design des Leanback Launchers angelehnt und setzt auf einen ähnlichen Kachel-Look. Zugriffe auf Apps und Funktionen sind dadurch mit wenigen Klicks möglich.

Die Benutzeroberfläche ist übersichtlich aufgebaut und insgesamt einfach zu bedienen. Verbesserungswürdig ist die Animationsgeschwindigkeit. Je nachdem wie schnell man durch die Benutzeroberfläche navigiert, wirken die Animationen weniger flüssig. Eine Tastatur oder eine (Air)Maus erleichtern die Bedienung, werden aber nicht zwangsläufig benötigt. Sollte sich ein Button nicht anklicken lassen, genügt ein Klick auf die Mausfunktion der Fernbedienung um den virtuellen Mauszeiger zu aktivieren. Peripherie lässt sich via Bluetooth oder USB verbinden. Leider unterstützt die TV Box kein HDMI CEC. Eine übergreifende Bedienung mit nur einer Fernbedienung (z.B. der des Anzeigegerätes) ist somit nicht möglich.

Einstellungen können sowohl über die ZIDOO „Quick-Settings“, als auch über das standardmäßige Android-Einstellungsmenü vorgenommen werden. Trotz deutscher Systemsprache stehen die „Quick Settings“ nur auf Englisch zur Verfügung. Hier eine Übersicht zu den Einstellungsmöglichkeiten.

Netzwerk

Netzwerkeinstellungen

  • Wi-Fi (An / Aus – Status)
  • Ethernet (DHCP – Status)
  • Bluetooth (An / Aus – Status)

Display

Displayeinstellungen

  • Screen Resolution (bis 4K)
  • Screen Position (0 – 100%)
  • MediaCodec Framte Rate (An / Aus)
  • Wallpaper
  • User Featured Data (An / Aus)

Sound

Audioeinstellungen

  • Audio Output (Enable Pass Through – HDMI / SPDIF / CVBS)
  • System Sound (An / Aus)

Other

Erweiterte Einstellungen

  • Language (u.a. Deutsch)
  • Factory Data Reset
  • Advanced Settings
  • About

Apps und Firmware

Der Google Play Store und ein App-Installationsmanager sind bereits vorinstalliert. Die App-Auswahl über den Play Stores ist eingeschränkt und beinhaltet, ähnlich einem Android TV System, ausschließlich Apps die auf den Gerätetyp abgestimmt sind. Alternativ können Apps im Format APK über den App-Installationsmanager (Sideload) installiert werden.

Vorinstalliert sind bereits nützliche Apps, wie z.B. ein Dateimanager, ein Tool zur Speicherbereinigung und ein Webbrowser. Spezielle Streaming-Apps, wie z.B. HappyCast, aber auch ein breites Video on Demand Angebot, unter anderem Netflix, Amazon Video, TED und Hulu befinden sich ebenfalls auf der Box.

Firmware Updates

Firmware Updates werden Over-The-Air (OTA) empfangen. Eine Rückkehr auf eine frühere Firmware ist möglich. Eine Reset-Taste befindet sich hierfür versteckt in der AV-Buchse. Wird diese mit dem Einschalten der Box gedrückt, wird ein Werksreset auf die Auslieferungs-Firmware durchgeführt.

Mediacenter

Die ZIDOO H6 Pro TV-Box ist mit einem vollumfänglichen Mediacenter ausgestattet, das unter anderem einen Videoplayer, einen Musikplayer und einen Bildbetrachter beinhaltet. Filme, Musik und Sonstige können mittels Datenträger, oder über das Netzwerk zugespielt werden.

ZIDOO Launcher

 

Netzwerk

Für die kabellose oder kabelgebunde Netzwerkübertragung stehen der NFS und SMB Protokoll zur Verfügung, als auch können Filme und Musik via DLNA, MiraCast und AirPlay (HappyCast) gestreamt werden. Die Implementierung des SMB und NFS Protokolls ist ZIDOO nicht gelungen. Ein Netzwerkspeicher-Zugriff des Mediaplayers über SMB, als auch NFS, scheiterte im Test mit einem „Unknown Error“. Abhilfe schafft die Installation von Kodi, worüber SMB und NFS problemlos funktionieren.

Zu kritisieren ist auch die fehlerhafte Implementierung von HappyCast. Die vorinstallierte App verabschiedet sich bereits wenige Sekunden nach dem Start mit einem Absturz. Auch hier sollte man auf eine beliebige Drittanbieter-App ausweichen. Hoffnung, dass diese Fehler in zukünftigen Updates beseitigt werden, geben zumindest die zuletzt erschienenen Beta-Updates.

Video-Test

Mit folgenden Videoquellen wurde der ZIDOO H6 Pro Videoplayer getestet. Frame-Switching wurde für den Test aktiviert. Die Wiedergabe erfolgte mangels funktionierendem NAS Zugriff, ausschließlich über einen USB 3.0 Datenträger.

ZIDOO H6 Pro Videotest

Die Wiedergabe über den nativen Videoplayer überzeugt. Videos, egal ob SD, HD, FHD oder 4K, werden weitestgehend ohne Bildeinbrüche und ohne Bildfehler abgespielt. Gleichzeitig ist es möglich über die „SmartColor Engine“ aus verschiedenen Farbprofilen zu wählen, als auch lässt sich ein eigenes Profil mit Einstellungen zur Helligkeit, dem Kontrast, der Sättigung und dem Detail- sowie Rauschlevel anlegen. Untertitel und Tonspuren können auf Knopfdruck gewechselt werden.

Audio-Test

Mit Mehrkanal-Tonsystemen kommt die TV Box gut zurecht. Die gängigen Tonsysteme werden erkannt und der HDMI Pass Through funktioniert. Lediglich bei DTS-HD und DTS:X gibt es einen Fallback auf DTS 5.1. Gravierende Ausfälle oder eine Asynchronität haben sich im Test nicht bemerkbar gemacht. Ein Musikplayer, der mit verschiedenen Audioformaten (MP3, FLAC usw.) zurechtkommt, ist enthalten.

ZIDOO H6 Pro Audiotest

HDR, 3D und Frame Switching

Die Wiedergabe von High-Dynamic-Range (HDR) Inhalten wird vollumfänglich unterstützt. Der Wechsel zwischen HDR und SDR erfolgt automatisch. Die HDR-Bildqualität lässt keine Wünsche offen. Grauschleier oder Farbraumverschiebungen treten nicht auf.

Die Wiedergabe von 3D-Inhalten ist möglich. Der passende 3D-Wiedergabemodus muss jedoch manuell über die Einstellungen des Videoplayers eingestellt werden. Zur Auswahl stehen unter anderem 3D-MVC, SBS und TAB. Verzögerungen oder sonstige Ausreißer treten bei der 3D-Wiedergabe nicht auf. Über das Einstellungsmenü des Videoplayers kann 3D-Material auch in 2D (2D-SBS / 2D-TAB) abgespielt werden.

Ein weiteres Feature ist das so genannte „Frame Switching“. Die Bildwiederholrate passt der ZIDOO H6 Pro entsprechend dem Videomaterial an. Die Anpassung funktioniert zuverlässig und noch vor der eigentlichen Wiedergabe.

ZIDOO UI App Drawer

ISO-Wiedergabe

Möglich ist auch die Wiedergabe von ISO-Abbildern. Liegt ein Blu-Ray Image im Format .ISO vor, kann dieses direkt über den Videoplayer abgespielt werden. Im Gegensatz zum ZIDOO X10 Mediaplayer hat der Hersteller keine „Wiedergabe mit BD-Menü“ integriert. Ein Menü wird vor der Wiedergabe nicht aufgerufen, als auch ist keine Kapitel-Auswahl möglich. Im Test zeigte sich auch, dass der Mediaplayer keine DVD Images abspielt, sondern die .ISO Wiedergabe rein auf Blu-Ray Images beschränkt ist.

Netflix, YouTube und Co.

Als eine der wenigen China-TV-Boxen, ist der ZIDOO H6 Pro Mediaplayer in der Lage Netflix und Amazon Prime Video in Full-HD zu streamen. Die hierfür benötigten Apps befinden sich bereits als Shortcut auf dem System und können mit einem Klick heruntergeladen werden. Ein Blick auf die DRM-Unterstützung verrät, dass die TV Box Widevine L1 lizenziert ist. Andere DRM-Lizenzierungen, wie z.B. Microsoft Playready, Marlin oder VCAS fehlen jedoch.

ZIDOO H6 Pro DRM Infomationen

Sowohl das Streamen über Netflix, als auch Amazon Video bereitet dem Mediaplayer keine Probleme. Die Videoübertragung erfolgt flüssig und ohne Bildfehler. Die ebenfalls vorinstallierte YouTube App ist auf eine maximale 2K Auflösung (1440p) limitiert. Sky Go kann lauffähig im Nachhinein per Sideload installiert werden.

Kodi

Kodi ist zwar nicht vorinstalliert, kann jedoch in Version 17.6 (Kyrpton) über den Google Play Store heruntergeladen werden. Im Gegensatz zum nativen Videoplayer, fällt die Wiedergabe über den Kodi-Mediaplayer desaströs aus. Kaum ein Titel, egal ob H.264, HEVC oder VP9 kodiert, ist flüssig abspielbar. Hinzukommen regelmäßige Farbfehler, eine Artefaktbildung und Tonaussetzer. Die automatische Frame-Rate Anpassung funktioniert in Kodi nicht.

Kodi

Gaming

Als Gaming Box ist der ZIDOO H6 Pro Mediaplayer nur eingeschränkt nutzbar. Gerade grafisch anspruchsvolle Spiele wie z.B. Asphalt 8 sind nur auf niedrigen Grafikeinstellungen flüssig spielbar. Die Verbindung eines Bluetooth Game-Controllers ist möglich. Alternativ stellt ZIDOO die App „Box RC“ zur Verfügung, womit sich das Smartphone zum Game-Controller umfunktionieren lässt. Ein Eingabe-Lag tritt nicht auf.

ZIDOO H6 Pro AnTuTu Benchmark Ergebnis

Stromverbrauch

Kommen wir zu guter Letzt noch zur Leistungsaufnahme. Ausgeschaltet liegt die Leistungsaufnahme des Mediaplayers bei 0 Watt. Im Standby werden 3.5 Watt erreicht. Im Idle liegt die Leistungsaufnahme zwischen 6.5 und 8.5 Watt, je nachdem ob Speichermedien verbunden sind. Während der Wiedergabe von 4K UHD Medien steigt der Verbrauch auf etwa 10 Watt an.

Preisvergleich

Preisvergleich - Angebot bei GearBest kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
81,89€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei GearBest kaufen
Versand Versand aus Europa
91,28€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Geekbuying kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
81,48€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Geekbuying kaufen
Versand Versand aus Deutschland
76,38€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Geekbuying kaufen
Versand Versand aus Europa
81,48€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei TOMTOP kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
87,32€
Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 21. September 2018 08:00
Positiv

►Kompaktes Design
►Gute Verarbeitung
►Übersichtliche Android Benutzeroberfläche
►Bluetooth + IR Fernbedienung
►Einfache Bedienung
►Flüssige Wiedergabefähigkeiten bis 4K@60
►Gute Unterstützung von Mehrkanal-Audio
►Unterstützt Frame-Switching, HDR und 3D
►ISO-Wiedergabemöglichkeit
►Netflix, Amazon Video und Co. in FHD
►OTA Updatemöglichkeit

Negativ

►SMB und NFS miserabel implementiert
►Kein HDMI CEC
►Google Play Store zeigt nur gerätespezifische Apps
►Animationen der Benutzeroberfläche teils nicht flüssig
►Schlechte Unterstützung von Kodi
►DTS-HD Pass Through funktioniert nicht
►DVD ISO Wiedergabe nicht möglich
►Nicht geeignet für anspruchsvolle Mobile Games

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.0
Verarbeitung
8.5
Design
8.0
Leistung
7.0
Benutzeroberfläche
6.5
Bedienbarkeit
8.0
Fazit

Die ZIDOO H6 Pro TV Box ist softwareseitig (noch) unausgereift und verlangt Optimierungsbedarf. Allen voran zu kritisieren ist die miserable Implementierung der Netzwerkprotokolle SMB und NFS, die beim Netzwerkzugriff mit einem „Unknown Error“ endeten. Mit Kodi verträgt sich das Allwinner H6 System nur schwer. Hochauflösendes Wiedergabematerial ist kaum flüssig abspielbar und geht mit Tonaussetzern und Farbfehlern einher.

Allerdings hat der ZIDOO H6 Pro Mediaplayer auch positive Seiten. Erfreulich gut schlägt sich der native Videoplayer. Dieser kommt mit so ziemlich jedem Abspielmaterial (4K, HDR, 3D, BD-ISO) zurecht, bietet ein funktionierendes Frame Switching und kann dank der SmartColor Engine auch zur individuellen Farbanpassung genutzt werden. Ein weiterer positiver Aspekt ist die Möglichkeit sowohl Netflix, als auch Amazon Video in Full-HD zu streamen. Neben den überschaubaren, lizenzierten Mediaplayern (Nvidia Shield / Xiaomi Mi Box), ist die ZIDOO H6 Pro TV Box eine der wenigen China-TV-Boxen, die dazu überhaupt in der Lage ist.

7.7
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
  Subscribe  
Benachrichtigung