Reviews
0
Review

Balmuda The GreenFan Review - Whisper-quiet fan

by 16. July 2019

The whisper-quiet Balmuda "The GreenFan" fan has just arrived at the beginning of summer in a new edition. With rotor blade technology specially developed by Balmuda, the GreenFan, which can be used as a floor and table fan, sets itself apart from the competition. If this succeeds, you will find out in the following test report!

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Balmuda

Product

The Green Fan

Specifications

Ventilation
Engine: Brushless
Rotor: two-ply
Operating volume: from 13 dB

Stages: 4
Shutdown timer: Yes
Swing angle: 150 °
Tilt angle: 30 °

power consumption
Voltage: 100-240V
Mains frequency: 50 / 60 Hz
Power consumption: 1.5 - 20W

General
App control: no
Remote control: Yes, IR

Size: 33 x 32 x 87.1 (49.7) cm
Weight: 4.1 kg

Scope of delivery

8x fan parts
1x power supply
1x remote control with battery
1x user manual
1x warranty card

First impression of the Balmuda GreenFan

Update 2019

With the start of the summer 2019, the Balmuda GreenFan battery is now available. In battery operation, the fan can be used flexibly. Battery and charging dock are available in the set from 109 €.

Details on battery operation can be found at the end of the article.

Scope of delivery and assembly

With an RRP of 359 € is the "The GreenFan" fan anything but cheap. Accordingly high were my expectations of the scope of delivery, the quality of workmanship and the assembly. The fan is packed well and safely 8 items delivered. The assembly is designed user-friendly and carried out in a few simple steps. Tool is not needed for the construction of the fan. A German -language manual leads understandably through the individual construction steps.

GreenFan delivery part 1

The Scope of delivery contains in addition to the 8 parts of the fan nor a power supply (12V - 3A) with modular connector, a remote control including the included button cell, as well as the previously mentioned instructions and warranty. Unfortunately, the battery required for battery operation is not included. This can only be purchased from Japan and costs 85 €.

GreenFan delivery part 2

Design and workmanship

Designed and manufactured in Japan, the Balmuda GreenFan understands itself as "Design-fan", Visually, the fan impresses with a modern, downright minimalist appearance. Thanks to its classic round rotor head, the straight center bar and the round base, the GreenFan is suitable for a wide variety of interior design styles.

GreenFan delivery part 3

Depending on whether the GreenFan as Stand or table fan uses, amount to Dimensions 330 x 320 x 871 mm or 497 mm. Das Weight the largely made of plastic fan is enclosed about 4.1 kg, The GreenFan is available either in classic white or in subtle dark gray.

The quality of workmanship is good, although the choice of materials a bit disappointed. Although the many plastic does not look cheap, a higher-quality choice of materials, such as a central rod made of aluminum, would have been the rather high price rather fair.

Bottom of the fan with battery compartment

All parts of the fan can be easily assembled and closed without unsightly gaps. The stability in the brewed state is not objectionable.

field test

Service

The fan can be operated via the control buttons on the motor or the remote control supplied. A smart app control does not exist!

Both the Control buttons on the fan, as well as the Control buttons on the remote control are identical. Next to a power button there is a speed control button, a swing angle adjustment button and a timer button. About pairs, each 4 superposed LEDs is the Operating status (ventilation speed and timer) read. Unfortunately, it is not possible to turn off the LEDs for night operation.

The GreenFan as a standing fan

The Remote Control works with infrared. The receiver is located in the upper part of the center bar. The reception range is in frontal alignment at well 8 meters. The reception angle is approximately 80 ° both horizontally and vertically. A automatic switch-off function (12 hours) is available. On timer settles in 4 levels (1 - 4 hours) hinzuschalten.

The GreenFan as a table fan

Ventilation

To generate the air flow, the Balmuda GreenFan uses a specially developed rotor blade technology. Two-layer rotor blades generate a fast and a slow air flow (maximum speed 775 rpm). By bundling both air streams, unpleasant swirls are eliminated. Thus, the GreenFan can be both a stand or table fan, but also as year-round air circulator use.

Front of the GreenFan

At Level 1 creates a broad, gentle breeze, which is noticeable even on several meters. The ventilation is so quiet that it goes down in the everyday noise level. Even at night, only with a lot of concentration is a soft whirring to make out, which does not disturb the sleep, however.

At Level 2 The fan generates about twice as much airflow that hits the skin noticeably from a short distance. The ventilation volume is still pleasantly quiet, which is why the gentle whirring of the fan sinks into the everyday noise level.

Control buttons of the GreenFan

At Level 3 The airflow and its broad distribution continue to increase significantly. The ventilation is so strong that it is less suitable for the short distance. Level 3 is especially suitable for the ventilation of a smaller room section. The fan now works audibly, while the volume remains low, so that an undisturbed work is possible.

Back side of the GreenFan

At Level 4 The GreenFan generates a very strong airflow that puts conventional fans in the shade. Level 4 is particularly suitable for the ventilation of a larger room section. The volume increases significantly compared to the previous levels and is comparable to a conventional floor standing fan from the supermarket.

Pendulum and tilt angle

The fan can be manually tilted 19 ° up and 11 ° down. Of the horizontal pendulum angle is at 75 ° to the left and 75 ° to the right. The end points of the automatic pendulum angle can be set as desired. Vibrations or grinding noises do not occur in pendulum mode.

The GreenFan from the side

power consumption

The measured input lies in standby at about 6 Watt, On Level 1 is the consumption at 8.7 Watt, Consumption up Level 2 is 10.8 Watt, on Level 3 this is included 12.8 Watt and on Level 4 will take a power of 23.8 Watt reached. The added shuttle mode increases the power consumption by 1-2 Watt.

Accumulator

Running the Balmuda GreenFan completely wireless is no longer a problem. For about 109 € The optional set of battery and charging dock can be purchased. Outlets are among others Amazon.

The installation of the battery is easy by hand. Remove the bottom flap, insert the battery and close the cap with a coin or a screwdriver. Instead of a permanently connected cable, the fan is now operated or charged via the loading dock. The connection between the loading dock and the fan takes place via two contact points. If you want to charge the battery, you just put the fan on the loading dock. The charging starts automatically and lasts depending on the remaining capacity up to 8 hours.

The operating time in battery mode depends strongly on the ventilation level.

  • At Level 1 the running time is about 19 hours.
  • At Level 2 the runtime already reduces to 15 hours.
  • On the highest on battery power Level 3, the runtime is only longer 5 hours.

Balmuda battery charging dock

Unfortunately, the maximum level 4 can not be used on battery power. If you place the fan on the loading dock again, operation during loading is also possible at 4 level. For more safety, the battery is protected against overvoltage and overheating. Note that the set of battery and charging dock exclusively with the "The GreenFan" (Model: EGF-1600) is compatible.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
109,00€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 6. October 2019 23: 03

Final Words

Positive

►Modern design
►Easy construction
►Good build quality
►Suitable as a floor and table fan
►low to high ventilation
►Very low operating volume
►Abschalttimer
►Low energy consumption

Negative

►Materialwahl
►No battery included
►No smart app control
►LEDs can not be switched off
►No motorized tilt

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.5
9.0
application
8.5
8.7
Design
9.0
9.1
Features
7.5
8.7
usability
9.0
8.5
Operation Volume
9.5
9.3
Battery life
9.0
9.0
power consumption
8.5
9.0
ventilation performance
9.5
9.5
Operation Volume
9.5
9.3
Summary

The Balmuda The GreenFan is a visually and performance-friendly fan. The two-ply rotor blade technology was able to prove its abilities in the test and convinced by a pleasant air distribution throughout the room. Also for the GreenFan speaks the very low ventilation volume, allowing undisturbed working, but also sleep is possible.

To criticize is the missing battery, which can only be purchased as an option. The choice of materials could have turned out better in view of the price.

8.9
Our rating
9.0
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Reviews
0
Review

Balmuda The GreenFan Test – FlĂŒsterleiser Ventilator

by 16. Juli 2019
Der flĂŒsterleise Balmuda "The GreenFan" Ventilator ist pĂŒnktlich zum Sommeranfang in einer Neuauflage erschienen. Mit eigens von Balmuda entwickelter Rotorblatt-Technologie versucht sich der als Stand- und Tischventilator nutzbare GreenFan von der Konkurrenz abzuheben. Ob das gelingt, erfĂ€hrst du im folgenden Testbericht!
Überblick
Hersteller

Balmuda

Produktbezeichnung

The GreenFan

Spezifikationen

Ventilation
Motor: Brushless
Rotor: Zweilagig
BetriebslautstÀrke: ab 13 dB

Stufen: 4
Abschalttimer: Ja
Pendelwinkel: 150°
Neigungswinkel: 30°

Stromverbrauch
Spannung: 100-240V
Netzfrequenz: 50 / 60 Hz
Leistungsaufnahme: 1.5 - 20W

Allgemein
App-Steuerung: Nein
Fernbedienung: Ja, IR

GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 33 x 32 x 87.1 (49.7) cm
Gewicht: 4.1 kg

Lieferumfang

8x Ventilator Einzelteile
1x Netzteil
1x Fernbedienung mit Batterie
1x Bedienungsanleitung
1x Garantiekarte

Erster Eindruck zum Balmuda GreenFan

Update 2019

Mit dem Startschuss fĂŒr den Sommer 2019 ist auch der Balmuda GreenFan Akku ab sofort erhĂ€ltlich. Im Akkubetrieb ist der Ventilator flexibel einsetzbar. Akku und Ladedock gibt es im Set ab 109€.

Einzelheiten zum Akkubetrieb findest du am Ende des Beitrags. 

Lieferumfang und Zusammenbau

Mit einem UVP von 359€ ist der „The GreenFan“ Ventilator alles andere als gĂŒnstig. Dementsprechend hoch waren meine Erwartungen an den Lieferumfang, die VerarbeitungsqualitĂ€t und den Zusammenbau. Gut und sicher verpackt wird der Ventilator in 8 Einzelteilen geliefert. Der Zusammenbau ist benutzerfreundlich ausgestaltet und mit wenigen Handgriffen durchgefĂŒhrt. Werkzeug wird fĂŒr den Aufbau des Ventilators nicht benötigt. Eine deutschsprachige Bedienungsanleitung fĂŒhrt verstĂ€ndlich durch die einzelnen Aufbauschritte.

GreenFan Lieferumfang Teil 1

Der Lieferumfang enthĂ€lt neben den 8 Einzelteilen des Ventilators noch ein Netzteil (12V – 3A) mit modularer Steckverbindung, eine Fernbedienung inklusive enthaltener Knopfzelle, sowie die bereits erwĂ€hnte Bedienungsanleitung und Hinweise zur Garantie. Bedauerlicherweise ist der fĂŒr den Akkubetrieb notwendige Akku nicht enthalten. Dieser kann nach bisherigem Stand nur direkt aus Japan bezogen werden und kostet umgerechnet 85€.

GreenFan Lieferumfang Teil 2

Design und Verarbeitung

Der in Japan entworfene und auch produzierte Balmuda GreenFan versteht sich als „Design-Ventilator“. Optisch besticht der Ventilator durch ein modernes, regelrecht minimalistisches Äußeres. Durch seinen klassisch-runden Rotorkopf, die gradlinige Mittelstange und den abschließend-runden Standfuß eignet sich der GreenFan fĂŒr verschiedenste Einrichtungsstile.

GreenFan Lieferumfang Teil 3

Je nachdem ob man den GreenFan als Stand- oder Tischventilator nutzt, betragen die Maße 330 x 320 x 871 mm bzw. 497 mm. Das Gewicht des grĂ¶ĂŸtenteils aus Kunststoff gefertigten Ventilators liegt bei ca. 4.1 kg. ErhĂ€ltlich ist der GreenFan wahlweise im klassischen Weiß oder aber auch im dezenten Dunkelgrau.

Die VerarbeitungsqualitÀt ist gut, wenn auch die Materialwahl etwas enttÀuscht. Der viele Kunststoff wirkt zwar keinesfalls billig, eine hochwertigere Materialwahl, wie z.B. eine Mittelstange aus Aluminium, wÀre dem doch recht hohen Preis eher gerecht geworden.

Unterseite des Ventilators mit Akkuschacht

SĂ€mtliche Teile des Ventilators lassen sich ohne MĂŒhe zusammenfĂŒgen und schließen ohne unschöne Spaltmaße. Die StabilitĂ€t im aufgebrauten Zustand ist nicht zu beanstanden.

Praxistest

Bedienung

Bedienen lĂ€sst sich der Ventilator ĂŒber die am Motor befindlichen Bedientasten oder die mitgelieferte Fernbedienung. Eine smarte App-Steuerung gibt es nicht!

Sowohl die Bedientasten am Ventilator, als auch die Bedientasten der Fernbedienung sind identisch aufgebaut. Neben einer Einschalttaste gibt es eine Taste zur Geschwindigkeitssteuerung, eine Taste zur Anpassung des Schwingungswinkels und eine Timer-Taste. Über paarweise, je 4 ĂŒbereinander angeordnete LEDs ist der Betriebsstatus (Ventilationsgeschwindigkeit und Timer) ablesbar. Leider ist es nicht möglich die LEDs fĂŒr den Nachtbetrieb auszuschalten.

Der GreenFan als Standventilator

Die Fernbedienung arbeitet mit Infrarot. Der EmpfĂ€nger befindet sich im oberen Teil der Mittelstange. Die Empfangsreichweite liegt bei frontaler Ausrichtung bei gut 8 Metern. Der Empfangswinkel liegt sowohl horizontal als auch vertikal bei etwa 80°. Eine automatische Abschaltfunktion (12 Stunden) ist vorhanden. Ein Timer lĂ€sst sich in 4 Stufen (1 – 4 Stunden) hinzuschalten.

Der GreenFan als Tischventilator

Ventilation

Zur Erzeugung des Luftstroms setzt der Balmuda GreenFan auf eine eigens entwickelte Rotorblatt-Technologie. Zweilagige RotorblĂ€tter erzeugen einen schnellen und einen langsamen Luftstrom (Höchstdrehzahl 775 U/Min). Durch BĂŒndelung beider Luftströme werden unangenehme Wirbelanteile beseitigt. Somit lĂ€sst sich der GreenFan einerseits als Stand- oder Tischventilator, aber auch als ganzjĂ€hriger Luft-Zirkulator nutzen.

Front des GreenFan

Auf Stufe 1 wird eine breitflĂ€chige, sanfte Brise erzeugt, die selbst auf mehrere Meter noch spĂŒrbar wahrzunehmen ist. Die Ventilation erfolgt dabei so leise, dass diese im AlltagsgerĂ€uschpegel untergeht. Selbst bei Nacht ist nur mit viel Konzentration ein sanftes Surren auszumachen, das den Schlaf jedoch keineswegs stört.

Auf Stufe 2 erzeugt der Ventilator einen ungefĂ€hr doppelt so starken Luftstrom der aus kurzer Entfernung spĂŒrbar auf die Haut trifft. Die VentilationslautstĂ€rke ist weiterhin angenehm leise, weshalb das sanfte Surren des Ventilators im AlltagsgerĂ€uschpegel untergeht.

Bedientasten des GreenFan

Auf Stufe 3 nehmen der Luftstrom und dessen breitflĂ€chige Verteilung nochmals deutlich zu. Die Ventilation ist dabei so stark, dass diese sich weniger fĂŒr die kurze Distanz eignet. Stufe 3 eignet sich vor allem zur Ventilation eines kleineren Raumabschnitts. Der Ventilator arbeitet nun hörbar, wobei die LautstĂ€rke weiterhin gering ausfĂ€llt, sodass ein ungestörtes Arbeiten möglich ist.

RĂŒckseite des GreenFan

Auf Stufe 4 erzeugt der GreenFan einen ĂŒberaus starken Luftstrom, der herkömmliche Ventilatoren in den Schatten stellt. Stufe 4 eignet sich vor allem zur Ventilation eines grĂ¶ĂŸeren Raumabschnitts. Die LautstĂ€rke nimmt im Vergleich zu den vorherigen Stufen deutlich zu und ist mit einem herkömmlichen Standventilator aus dem Supermarkt vergleichbar.

Pendel- und Neigungswinkel

Der Ventilator lÀsst sich manuell um 19° nach oben und 11° nach unten neigen. Der horizontale Pendelwinkel liegt bei 75° nach links und 75° nach rechts. Die Endpunkte des automatischen Pendelwinkels lassen sich beliebig einstellen. Vibrationen oder SchleifgerÀusche treten im Pendelbetrieb nicht auf.

Der GreenFan von der Seite

Stromverbrauch

Die gemessene Leistungsaufnahme liegt im Standby bei ungefÀhr 6 Watt. Auf Stufe 1 liegt der Verbrauch bei 8.7 Watt. Der Verbrauch auf Stufe 2 betrÀgt 10.8 Watt, auf Stufe 3 liegt dieser bei 12.8 Watt und auf Stufe 4 wird eine Leistungsaufnahme von 23.8 Watt erreicht. Der hinzugeschaltete Pendelbetrieb erhöht die Leistungsaufnahme um 1-2 Watt.

Akku

Den Balmuda GreenFan komplett kabellos zu betrieben ist mittlerweile auch kein Problem mehr. FĂŒr ca. 109€ kann das optional erhĂ€ltliche Set aus Akku und Ladedock hinzugekauft werden. Verkaufsstellen sind unter anderem Amazon.

Die Installation des Akkus geht einfach von der Hand. Unterseitige Klappe abnehmen, Akku einsetzen und den Verschluss mit einer MĂŒnze oder einem Schraubenzieher schließen. Statt fest verbundenem Kabel wird der Ventilator ab sofort ĂŒber das Ladedock betrieben bzw. geladen. Die Verbindung zwischen Ladedock und Ventilator erfolgt ĂŒber zwei Kontaktpunkte. Möchte man den Akku laden, stellt man den Ventilator lediglich auf das Ladedock. Der Ladevorgang beginnt automatisch und dauert je nach RestkapazitĂ€t bis zu 8 Stunden.

Die Betriebsdauer im Akkumodus ist stark von der Ventilationsstufe abhÀngig.

  • Auf Stufe 1 liegt die Lauftzeit bei ungefĂ€hr 19 Stunden.
  • Auf Stufe 2 reduziert sich die Laufzeit bereits auf 15 Stunden.
  • Auf der im Akkubetrieb höchsten Stufe 3, betrĂ€gt die Laufzeit nur mehr 5 Stunden.

Balmuda Akku Ladedock

Die maximale Stufe 4 ist im Akkubetrieb leider nicht nutzbar. Stellt man den Ventilator wiederum auf das Ladedock, ist ein Betrieb wĂ€hrend des Ladens auch auf Stufe 4 möglich. FĂŒr mehr Sicherheit ist der Akku gegen Überspannung und Überhitzen geschĂŒtzt. Beachten sollte man, dass das Set aus Akku und Ladedock ausschließlich mit dem „The GreenFan“ (Modell: EGF-1600) kompatibel ist.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
349,95€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 8. Juli 2020 20:02

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Modernes Design
Einfacher Aufbau
Gute VerarbeitungsqualitÀt
Als Stand- und Tischventilator nutzbar
Niedrige bis hohe VentilationsstÀrke
Sehr geringe BetriebslautstÀrke
Abschalttimer
Geringer Energieverbrauch

Negativ

Materialwahl
Kein Akku enthalten
Keine smarte App-Steuerung
LEDs nicht abschaltbar
Keine motorisierte Neigung

Erster Eindruck
8.5
7.4
Verarbeitung
8.5
8.7
Design
9.0
9.1
Funktionsumfang
7.5
8.7
Bedienbarkeit
9.0
8.5
Akkulaufzeit
9.0
9.0
Stromverbrauch
8.5
9.0
Ventilationsleistung
9.5
9.5
BetriebslautstÀrke
9.5
9.3
Fazit

Der Balmuda The GreenFan ist ein optisch und auch leistungstechnisch ansprechender Ventilator. Die zweilagige Rotorblatt-Technologie konnte im Test ihr Können unter Beweis stellen und ĂŒberzeugte durch eine angenehme Luftverteilung im gesamten Raum. Ebenfalls fĂŒr den GreenFan spricht die sehr geringe VentilationslautstĂ€rke, wodurch ein ungestörtes Arbeiten, aber auch Schlafen möglich ist.

Zu kritisieren ist der fehlende Akku, der nur optional hinzugekauft werden kann. Auch die Materiawahl hÀtte in Anbetracht des Preises besser ausfallen können.

8.9
Unsere Bewertung
8.8
Nutzerbewertung
1 rating
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments