Reviews
0
Review

BALMUDA Rain Review - humidifier in an elegant design

by 24. November 2019
The BALMUDA Rain is a humidifier with an elegant design, effective air cleaning effect and enzyme pre-filter to produce a pleasant and health-promoting air humidity level in a particularly hygienic way. This test reveals how the rain is doing.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

BALMUDA

Product

Rain

Specifications

Performance
Air volume: 150 - 600 ml / h
Operating Levels: 5
Operating noise: 6 - 42 dB
Water tank capacity: 4.2 l
Humidification time: 6-25 hours

General
Power consumption: 2 - 23 W (* 2)
Size: 350 350 x x 374 mm
Weight: 5.7 kg (10 kg after filling)

BALMUDA Rain

Especially in winter, many households struggle with dry heating air. The humidity in the room falls below 30 percent, which in turn causes dry mucous membranes and promotes colds. The optimum indoor humidity should be between 40-50 percent. To achieve such values, we recommend a humidifier such as the BALMUDA Rain.

Modern design

If you hear the word "humidifier", many will most likely think of one of these compact ultrasonic humidifiers. Quite different is the Rain, the with Dimensions of 35 x 35 x 37.4 cm and a Dead weight of proud 5.7kg anything but compact.BALMUDA Rain Humidifier

Just as own is that too Design of the Rain, BALMUDA draws the comparison to the elegant one Vase, Visitors who were allowed to view the Rain over the past few weeks saw in it a chunky something, an urn, but also a vase. However, the design is a matter of taste, which is why I will not go into detail here. Many like the design of the Rain, many not.

It can be said, however, that the design is actually thought through. Hard-to-reach corners do not exist because of the round structure, so that no stubborn dirt can accumulate.

The BALMUDA Rain in everyday life

Building and refilling the Rain

Removed from the pack is the Rain ready to use in no time, The upper control unit with the display and the control ring can be removed from the lower water tank with filter system by simply lifting it up. The instructions explain in detail how to assemble the filters. You should place the rain at a lateral distance of 30cm and 120cm above the wall and objects.

BALMUDA Rain Filter with main filter, enzyme pre-filter and ion cartridge

The BALMUDA Rain is filled directly via the slightly curved top. Pour the water like a vase, done! The small display under the top provides information about the fill level. The container has a capacity of 5 liters of water. Oils and other additives are taboo! The use of distilled water is not essential. In the long-term test, there were no disadvantages when used with tap water. But you should definitely keep an eye on the local hardness of the water. If there is no water in the rain or if the water level is running low, the humidifier switches off automatically.

BALMUDA Rain Water top up

Operation of the Rain

The operation is done by Turn and click the control ring at the top. The OLED display in the middle of the top provides information about the operating status. The water level, the current air humidity in the room, the operating mode and the air volume level are clearly displayed. The operating modes are divided into one automatic mode, which keeps the humidity level between 40-60 percent depending on the setting, and the manual mode, which controls the room humidity after a total of five air volume levels. On 24h timer with 1 hours distance is additionally programmable.

BALMUDA Rain control buttons on the side of the humidifier

The power button and an overlying 24h timer button are located on the back of the Rain. If you keep the power button pressed in the switched-on state for 2 seconds, the childproof lock activates, which blocks the operation. All entries are confirmed by a service tone. In the Settings Among other things, the display brightness and speaker volume can be adjusted. If not operated, the display darkens automatically.

Operation and volume of the rain

The BALMUDA Rain is especially suitable for large living spaces. Up to 600 ml / h (level 5), the device maintains the humidity in the room upright. The humidification is done by a natural and very energy-efficient evaporation process.

In the test, the Rain was allowed to let off steam in an 40m² room with 35% humidity. In automatic mode, with the preset 50% humidity level, it takes about 30 minutes at 50% humidity to reach. The Rain switches very quickly to operating level 4, which is clearly audible. On Operating level 1-2 the humidifier is barely audible. From Operating level 3 the operating volume increases significantly. Continuous operation at 4 and 5 levels can be annoying!

BALMUDA Rain OLED display with info display

The Energy consumption is according to BALMUDA between 2 and 23 watts. This also corresponds approximately to the values ​​recorded in the test. It was in the Standby 3 Watt, on Level 1 low 5 Watt and on Level 5 only 26 Watt measured.

Filter system and cleaning of the rain

BALMUDA recommends the main filter all 6 months exchange. Replacement filters cost about 45 €. During operation, the Rain informs about an upcoming cleaning, which should be carried out monthly depending on the intensity of use. By the way, unpleasant odors did not occur in the long-term test.

The Cleaning the main filter Can be done completely uncomplicated with warm water, citric acid and baking soda / soda. The enzyme pre-filter is cleaned by simply vacuuming with the vacuum cleaner. The silver ion cartridge is washed off under running water.

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

Amazon
1-5 working days
388,94€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 12. August 2020 00: 58

Final Words

rating
Positive

Modern design
Good workmanship
Easy construction
Easy handling
Easy maintenance
Geringer Energieverbrauch

Negative

High purchase price
Operation volume at high levels

First impression
8.0
8.7
application
8.5
9.0
Design
8.0
8.9
Features
8.0
8.7
usability
8.5
8.8
Operation Volume
6.5
8.6
Energy consumption
8.5
8.9
Summary

The BALMUDA Rain is a super humidifier. The design is modern, the handling extremely easy and the performance respectable. In addition, there is an extremely low energy consumption, which leaves no crying eye in continuous operation. To criticize is in turn the operating volume, which significantly increases from level 3 and 5 at the highest level can be perceived as unpleasant.

However, those who are not afraid of the high purchase price of the Rain, receives a very interesting humidifier, which copes well with large premises and its sophisticated filter system not only moistens the air, but also keeps clean.

8.0
Our rating
8.8
user Rating
2 ratings
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline feedback
View all comments

Reviews
0
Review

BALMUDA Rain Test – Luftbefeuchter im eleganten Design

by 24. November 2019
Der BALMUDA Rain ist ein Luftbefeuchter im eleganten Design, effektiver Luftreinigungswirkung und Enzym-Vorfilter um auf besonders hygienische Weise einen angenehmen und gesundheitsfördernden Luftfeuchtigkeitspegel herzustellen. Wie sich der Rain schlÀgt, verrÀt dieser Test.
Überblick
Hersteller

BALMUDA

Produktbezeichnung

Rain

Spezifikationen

Leistung
Luftvolumen: 150 - 600 ml/h
Betriebsstufen: 5
BetriebsgerÀusch: 6 - 42 dB
WassertankkapazitÀt: 4.2 l
Befeuchtungsdauer: 6-25 Stunden

Allgemein
Stromverbrauch: 2 - 23 W (*2)
GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 350 x 350 x 374 mm
Gewicht: 5.7 kg (10 kg nach BefĂŒllung)

BALMUDA Rain

Gerade im Winter haben viele Haushalte mit trockener Heizungsluft zu kÀmpfen. Dabei fÀllt die Luftfeuchtigkeit im Raum gerne mal unter 30 Prozent, was wiederum trockene SchleimhÀute hervorruft und ErkÀltungskrankheiten fördert. Die optimale Luftfeuchtigkeit in WohnrÀumen sollte zwischen 40-50 Prozent betragen. Um solche Werte zu erreichen, empfiehlt sich ein Luftbefeuchter wie der BALMUDA Rain.

Modernes Design

Wenn man das Wörtchen „Luftbefeuchter“ hört, werden viele höchstwahrscheinlich an einen dieser kompakten Ultraschallbefeuchter denken. Ganz anders ist der Rain, der mit Maßen von 35 x 35 x 37.4 cm und einem Eigengewicht von stolzen 5.7kg alles andere als kompakt ist.BALMUDA Rain Luftbefeuchter

Genauso eigen ist auch das Design des Rain. BALMUDA zieht den Vergleich zur eleganten Vase. Besucher, die den Rain ĂŒber die letzten Wochen hinweg begutachten durften, sahen darin ein klobiges Etwas, eine Urne, aber auch in der Tat eine Vase. Das Design ist jedoch Geschmackssache, weshalb ich hierauf nicht nĂ€her eingehen werde. Vielen gefĂ€llt das Design des Rain, vielen auch nicht.

Festhalten lÀsst sich jedoch, dass das Design tatsÀchlich durchdacht ist. Schwer zugÀngliche Ecken gibt es wegen des runden Aufbaus nicht, sodass sich kein hartnÀckiger Schmutz festsetzen kann.

Der BALMUDA Rain im Alltag

Aufbau und AuffĂŒllen des Rain

Aus der Packung genommen ist der Rain blitzschnell einsatzbereit. Die obere Bedieneinheit mit dem Display und dem Steuerungsring kann vom unteren WasserbehĂ€lter mit Filtersystem durch bloßes aufheben abgenommen werden. Die Anleitung erklĂ€rt im Detail, wie man die Filter zusammensetzt. Platzieren sollte man den Rain im seitlichen 30cm Abstand und 120cm oberen Abstand zu WĂ€nden und GegenstĂ€nden.

BALMUDA Rain Filter mit Hauptfilter, Enzym-Vorfilter und Ionen-Patrone

BefĂŒllt wird der BALMUDA Rain direkt ĂŒber die leicht gekrĂŒmmte Oberseite. Wie bei einer Vase das Wasser eingießen, fertig! Das kleine Display unter der Oberseite gibt Auskunft zum FĂŒllstand. Der BehĂ€lter hat ein Fassungsvermögen von 5 Litern Wasser. Öle und sonstige ZusĂ€tze sind tabu! Die Verwendung von destilliertem Wasser ist nicht zwangslĂ€ufig notwendig. Im Langzeittest ergaben sich durch die Verwendung mit Leitungswasser keine Nachteile. Man sollte aber durchaus den lokalen HĂ€rtegrad des Wassers im Blick behalten. Sollte sich im Rain kein Wasser befinden, oder neigt sich der Wasserstand dem Ende zu, schaltet der Luftbefeuchter automatisch ab.

BALMUDA Rain Wasser nachfĂŒllen ĂŒber Oberseite

Bedienung des Rain

Die Bedienung erfolgt durch Drehen und Klicken des Steuerungsrings an der Oberseite. Das mittig der Oberseite befindliche OLED-Display liefert Informationen zum Betriebszustand. In ĂŒbersichtlicher Darstellung werden der Wasserstand, die aktuelle Luftfeuchtigkeit im Raum, der Betriebsmodus und die Luftvolumenstufe angezeigt. Die Betriebsmodi unterteilen sich wiederum in einen automatischen Modus, der den Luftfeuchtigkeitspegel je nach Einstellung zwischen 40-60 Prozent hĂ€lt, und den manuellen Modus, der nach insgesamt fĂŒnf Luftvolumenstufen die Raumluftfeuchtigkeit steuert. Ein 24h-Timer mit 1 Stunden Abstand ist zusĂ€tzlich programmierbar.

BALMUDA Rain Bedientasten an der Seite des Luftbefeuchters

Die Powertaste und eine darĂŒberliegende 24h-Timer-Taste befinden sich rĂŒckseitig am Rain. HĂ€lt man die Powertaste im eingeschalteten Zustand 2 Sekunden gedrĂŒckt, aktiviert sich die Kindersicherung, welche die Bedienung sperrt. SĂ€mtliche Eingaben werden durch einen Bedienton bestĂ€tigt. In den Einstellungen können unter anderem die Displayhelligkeit und die LautsprecherlautstĂ€rke angepasst werden. Bei Nichtbedienung dunkelt das Display automatisch ab.

Betrieb und LautstÀrke des Rain

Der BALMUDA Rain eignet sich vor allem fĂŒr große WohnflĂ€chen. Mit bis zu 600 ml/h (Stufe 5), hĂ€lt das GerĂ€t die Luftfeuchtigkeit im Raum aufrecht. Die Luftbefeuchtung erfolgt durch ein natĂŒrliches und besonders energiesparendes Verdampfungsverfahren.

Im Test durfte sich der Rain in einem 40mÂČ Raum mit 35% Luftfeuchtigkeit austoben. Im automatischen Modus, mit voreingestelltem 50% Luftfeuchtigkeitspegel, dauert es ungefĂ€hr 30 Minuten um 50% Luftfeuchtigkeit zu erreichen. Der Rain schaltet dabei sehr schnell auf Betriebsstufe 4, die deutlich hörbar ist. Auf Betriebsstufe 1-2 ist der Luftbefeuchter kaum hörbar. Ab Betriebsstufe 3 steigert sich die BetriebslautstĂ€rke deutlich. Ein andauernder Betrieb auf Stufe 4 und 5 kann durchaus als störend empfunden werden!

BALMUDA Rain OLED-Display mit Info-Anzeige

Der Energieverbrauch liegt laut BALMUDA zwischen 2 und 23 Watt. Das entspricht auch in etwa den im Test erfassten Werten. Dabei wurden im Standby 3 Watt, auf Stufe 1 niedrige 5 Watt und auf Stufe 5 lediglich 26 Watt gemessen.

Filtersystem und Reinigung des Rain

BALMUDA empfiehlt den Hauptfilter alle 6 Monate auszutauschen. Ersatzfilter kosten ungefĂ€hr 45€. WĂ€hrend des Betriebs informiert der Rain ĂŒber eine anstehende Reinigung, die je nach NutzungsintensitĂ€t monatlich durchgefĂŒhrt werden sollte. Unangenehme GerĂŒche sind im Langzeittest ĂŒbrigens nicht aufgetreten.

Die Reinigung des Hauptfilters kann völlig unkompliziert mit warmem Wasser, ZitronensĂ€ure und Backpulver / Natron durchgefĂŒhrt werden. Der Enzym-Vorfilter wird durch bloßes Absaugen mit dem Staubsauger gereinigt. Die Silberionen-Patrone wird unter fließendem Wasser abgewaschen.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
399,00€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 1. Juni 2020 02:01

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Modernes Design
Gute VerarbeitungsqualitÀt
Einfacher Aufbau
Einfache Bedienung
Einfache Wartung
Geringer Energieverbrauch

Negativ

Hoher Anschaffungspreis
BetriebslautstÀrke auf hoher Stufen

Erster Eindruck
8.0
8.7
Verarbeitung
8.5
9.0
Design
8.0
8.9
Funktionsumfang
8.0
8.7
Bedienbarkeit
8.5
8.8
BetriebslautstÀrke
6.5
8.6
Energieverbrauch
8.5
8.9
Fazit

Der BALMUDA Rain ist ein Luftbefeuchter der Oberklasse. Das Design ist modern, die Handhabung ĂŒberaus einfach und die Leistung beachtlich. Hinzu kommt ein ĂŒberaus geringer Energieverbrauch, der beim Dauerbetrieb kein weinendes Auge hinterlĂ€sst. Zu kritisieren ist wiederum die BetriebslautstĂ€rke, die ab Stufe 3 deutlich zulegt und auf höchster Stufe 5 als unangenehm empfunden werden kann.

Wer jedoch den hohen Anschaffungspreis des Rain nicht scheut, erhĂ€lt einen ĂŒberaus interessanten Luftbefeuchter, der auch mit großen RĂ€umlichkeiten sehr gut zurechtkommt und durch sein ausgeklĂŒgeltes Filtersystem die Luft nicht nur befeuchtet, sondern auch sauber hĂ€lt.

8.0
Unsere Bewertung
8.8
Nutzerbewertung
2 ratings
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments