Gaming
0
Review

BenQ ScreenBar Review - Space saving e-reading lamp

by 24. May 2018

The BenQ ScreenBar sees itself as a revolutionary lighting system that replaces the old-fashioned desk lamp in a particularly space-saving way. In the test lasting several weeks, the ScreenBar was able to prove its abilities.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

BenQ

Product

BenQ ScreenBar

Specifications

Lamp
Type: 90 Bi-Color SMD LEDs
Illuminance: 800 Lux (45 cm distance)
Brightness: 320 Lumens
Color temperature: 2700K - 6500K
Power: max. 5W

Other
Dimmable: Yes
Auto dimming function: Yes
Brightness levels: Yes
Color temperature selection: Yes

Material: aluminum and polycarbonate
Power supply: USB

Size: 45 x 9.0 x 9.2 cm
Weight: 530g

Scope of delivery

1x lamp
1x bracket
1x USB Cable (1.5 Meter)

Foreword: BenQ ScreenBar

If you spend a lot of time in front of the computer, you're probably already thinking about it Illumination of the workplace made. Most of the time you can rely on a conventional desk or floor lamp, which illuminates the workplace to some extent, but also occupies a lot of space and does not always optimally distribute the light. The BenQ ScreenBar promises to address these problems by being attached to save space directly on the monitor and ensures according to the manufacturer for a perfect light distribution.

Box of ScreenBar with references to the product

Design, workmanship and delivery

The BenQ ScreenBar uses a unique, asymmetrical optical design, For attachment needed 45 cm long lamp no base or pedestal, but is placed with the help of a clip and counterweight directly on the monitor housing. To avoid scratches, the support surface of the retaining clip is gummed accordingly.

Opened box with the complete scope of delivery

The ScreenBar is made aluminium, The closing ends and the holder are again made of plastic. For operation are located in the middle of the lamp 4 touch sensor buttonswhich, among other things, regulates the brightness and the color temperature. There is also a power button and an automatic dimming function via a Ambient light sensor is controlled. The power supply is via USB. The connection cable is removable and is connected via a MicroUSB socket placed on the back.

The quality of workmanship the ScreenBar is neat. There is a point of criticism regarding the operating element. This uses a sensitive plastic cover, which is why scratches remained on the plastic surface even after the holder had been disconnected and attached twice.

Scope of delivery of the ScreenBar with lamp, holder and cable

The Scope of delivery includes the BenQ ScreenBar, the holding clip and a MicroUSB cable with a length of 1.5 meters. A user manual is not included. Instead, the individual operating steps are explained briefly and concisely on the cardboard insert of the packaging.

Getting started for use

Despite the Spartan hints for using the lamp, the commissioning hurdles to cope with. By inserting the ScreenBar into the holder and turning it lightly, it is firmly connected to the holder.

Mount the ScreenBar

Afterwards, the ScreenBar and its holder only have to be placed on the frame top of the Minitor housing. Monitors with a maximum frame thickness of 1 to 3 cm are suitable. If the lamp is positioned, the light incidence can be readjusted in the 10 ° angle. Now just connect the lamp to a conventional USB Type-A socket and the ScreenBar is ready for use.

LEDs of the ScreenBar

Practical test of the ScreenBar

For the test I tested the ScreenBar with different monitor models. On both monitors, this was easy to attach, although the older model has a sweeping, sloping back. The movable counterweight can be easily bent backwards in the case of protruding monitors. Problems can be caused by the somewhat short USB cable. Especially with a desktop PC, which is also placed on the floor, the 1.5 meter long cable could be too short!

Service

In terms of equipment, the BenQ ScreenBar comes along without a lot of bells and whistles. There is no smart app control or other software connection. The ScreenBar is operated purely via the 4 touch sensor buttons. These are easy to reach and sufficiently marked.

Touch control (1)

These are divided into one Dimming button, One Color temperature key, One Auto-dimming button and Power button, The change of color temperature is infinitely variable. The brightness can be adjusted manually in 15 steps.

Touch control (2)

The Auto dimming function is realized by the ambient light sensor. This automatically detects the lighting conditions and adjusts the lamp brightness to the ambient light. Unfortunately, the Auto Dimming function overwrites the selected color temperature. At the same time, the color temperature is not adjusted to the ambient light. Again, in practice, the ScreenBar remembers the last used brightness and color temperature settings after repeatedly turning it off and on.

Lamp

Bright mode Bright with 6500K light color

On a length of 45 cm are total 90 Bi-Color SMD LEDs arranged alternately. This makes the ScreenBar a particularly capable warm light color (2700 Kelvin) but also a lot cool light color (6500 Kelvin) to create. The warm white light is especially suitable for the late evening hours, for example when you want to relax in front of the computer. The cool light in turn promotes concentration and is suitable for the workplace. Unfortunately, RGB light does not produce the ScreenBar. This feature would have been interesting especially for gamers. The Color rendering index (CRI) only indicates BenQ with> 80.

Light scattering in bright lighting mode

By unidirectional radiation of light, this falls down vertically on the image surface, without affecting the representation by reflections. At the same time, the light does not fall into the field of view of the viewer, so that it is not dazzled. The main thing is that which is located one meter in front of the screen.

Bright mode Bright with 2700K light color

The distance measured below the ScreenBar and in 50 cm distance illuminance is 780 Lux, The whole light output is close 320 lumens, Although this may not sound like an average LED desk lamp, which usually reaches a luminous flux of 500 lumens or more, it should be kept in mind that the BenQ ScreenBar lights up directly from the monitor.

Light scattering in warm light mode

Despite dimmability, the ScreenBar no flicker or flicker on. Nor does it come to disturbing noises, such as a high-frequency buzzing, which is often caused by vibrations of the ballast electronics and also occurs frequently in branded products. BenQ has done a first class job here.

Product page of the manufacturer: link

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
99,00€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 02: 02

Final Words

Positive

► Space-saving use
►Easy operation
►Uncomplicated USB power supply
►No reflections on the display
►No flicker and no whirr
►Similar light distribution
►15 brightness levels
►Generates warm and cool light

Negative

►Mount scratched plastic surface of the control element
►Auto dimming function overwrites color temperature

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.5
8.8
application
8.5
9.0
Design
9.0
9.0
Features
8.0
8.7
usability
8.5
9.0
everyday practicality
9.5
10
power consumption
9.5
10
Summary

In summary, the BenQ ScreenBar can confirm the extremely space-saving feature and the excellent light fall. The asymmetrical optical design illuminates the work area in the best possible way, without dazzling the user or causing light reflections on the screen. By displaying different light colors, the ScreenBar is suitable for relaxed, but also concentrated work, reading or gaming.

8.8
Our rating
9.2
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Gaming
0
Review

BenQ ScreenBar Test – Platzsparende E-Reading-Lampe

by Mai 24, 2018

Die BenQ ScreenBar versteht sich als ein revolutionäres Beleuchtungssystem, das besonders platzsparend die alteingesessene Schreibtischlampe ersetzt. Im mehrwöchigen Test durfte die ScreenBar ihr Können unter Beweis stellen.

Überblick
Hersteller

BenQ

Produktbezeichnung

BenQ ScreenBar

Spezifikationen

Lampe
Typ: 90 Bi-Color SMD-LEDs
Beleuchtungsstärke: 800 Lux (45 cm Abstand)
Helligkeit: 320 Lumen
Farbtemperatur: 2700K - 6500K
Leistung: max. 5W

Sonstige
Dimmbar: Ja
Auto-Dimmfunktion: Ja
Helligkeitsstufen: Ja
Farbtemperaturwahl: Ja

Material: Aluminium und Polycarbonat
Stromversorgung: USB

Größe: 45 x 9.0 x 9.2 cm‎
Gewicht: 530g

Lieferumfang

1x Lampe
1x Halterung
1x USB-Kabel (1.5 Meter)

Vorwort: BenQ ScreenBar

Wer viel Zeit vor dem Computer verbringt, der hat sich mit Sicherheit schon Gedanken zur Ausleuchtung des Arbeitsplatzes gemacht. Meistens greift man auf eine herkömmliche Schreibtisch- oder Stehlampe zurück, die zwar einigermaßen den Arbeitsplatz ausleuchtet, jedoch auch viel Platz einnimmt und das Licht nicht immer optimal verteilt. Die BenQ ScreenBar verspricht sich dieser Probleme anzunehmen, indem sie platzsparend direkt am Monitor befestigt wird und laut Hersteller für eine perfekte Lichtverteilung sorgt.

Box der ScreenBar mit Hinweisen zum Produkt

Design, Verarbeitung und Lieferumfang

Die BenQ ScreenBar verwendet ein einzigartiges, asymmetrisch optische Design. Zur Befestigung benötigt die 45 cm lange Lampe keinen Sockel oder Standfuß, sondern wird mit Hilfe eines Clips samt Gegengewicht direkt am Monitorgehäuse aufgelegt. Um Kratzer zu vermeiden, ist die Auflagefläche des Halte-Clips entsprechend gummiert.

Geöffnete Box mit dem gesamten Lieferumfang

Gefertigt ist die ScreenBar aus Aluminium. Die abschließenden Enden und die Halterung bestehen wiederum aus Kunststoff. Zur Bedienung befinden sich mittig der Lampe 4 Touch-Sensor-Tasten, worüber sich unter anderem die Helligkeit und die Farbtemperatur regeln lassen. Zudem gibt es eine Einschalttaste sowie eine automatische Dimmfunktion die über einen Umgebungslichtsensor gesteuert wird. Die Stromversorgung erfolgt über USB. Das Verbindungskabel ist abnehmbar und wird über eine rückseitig platzierte MicroUSB-Buchse verbunden.

Die Verarbeitungsqualität der ScreenBar ist ordentlich. Einen Kritikpunkt gibt es bezüglich des Bedienelements. Dieses verwendet eine empfindliche Kunststoffabdeckung, weshalb bereits nach zweimaligem Ab- und Anstecken der Halterung, Kratzer auf der Kunststoffoberfläche zurückblieben.

Lieferumfang der ScreenBar mit Lampe, Halterung und Kabel

Der Lieferumfang beinhaltet die BenQ ScreenBar, den Halte-Clip und ein MicroUSB-Kabel mit einer Länge von 1.5 Meter. Eine Bedienungsanleitung liegt nicht bei. Stattdessen sind die einzelnen Bedienschritte kurz und knapp auf der Pappeinlage der Verpackung erklärt.

Erste Schritte zur Verwendung

Trotz der spartanischen Hinweise zur Verwendung der Lampe, ist die Inbetriebnahme hürdenfrei zu bewältigen. Durch Einlegen der ScreenBar in die Halterung und leichtes drehen, wird diese fest mit der Halterung verbunden.

Halterung der ScreenBar

Anschließend muss die ScreenBar samt Halterung lediglich auf die Rahmenoberseite des Minitorgehäuses aufgelegt werden. Geeignet sind Monitore mit einer maximalen Rahmendicke von 1 bis 3 cm. Ist die Lampe positioniert, lässt sich der Lichteinfall im 10° Winkel nachjustieren. Jetzt nur noch die Lampe mit einer herkömmlichen USB-Typ-A Buchse verbinden und schon ist die ScreenBar einsatzbereit.

LEDs der ScreenBar

Praxistest der ScreenBar

Für den Test habe ich die ScreenBar mit verschiedenen Monitormodellen getestet. An beiden Monitoren war diese problemlos zu befestigen, obwohl das ältere Modell eine ausladende, schräg abfallende Rückseite besitzt. Das bewegliche Gegengewicht kann bei ausladenden Monitoren leicht nach hinten weggeknickt werden. Probleme kann das etwas kurze USB-Kabel bereiten. Gerade bei einen Desktop-PC, der zudem auf dem Boden platziert ist, könnte das 1.5 Meter lange Kabel zu kurz sein!

Bedienung

Ausstattungsmäßig kommt die BenQ ScreenBar ohne viel Schnickschnack daher. Eine smarte App-Steuerung oder eine sonstige Softwareanbindung gibt es nicht. Bedient wird die ScreenBar rein über die 4 Touch-Sensor-Tasten. Diese sind einfach zu erreichen und hinreichend gekennzeichnet.

Touchbedienung (1)

Aufgeteilt sind diese in eine Dimm-Taste, eine Farbtemperatur-Taste, eine Auto-Dimm-Taste und eine Einschalt-Taste. Der Wechsel der Farbtemperatur erfolgt stufenlos. Die Helligkeit kann manuell in 15 Stufen angepasst werden.

Touchbedienung (2)

Die Auto-Dimm-Funktion wird durch den Umgebungslichtsensor realisiert. Dieser erkennt automatisch die Lichtverhältnisse und passt die Lampenhelligkeit dem Umgebungslicht an. Leider überschreibt die Auto-Dimm-Funktion die gewählte Farbtemperatur. Gleichzeitig wird die Farbtemperatur nicht dem Umgebungslicht angepasst. Wiederum praktisch ist, dass sich die ScreenBar nach dem wiederholten Aus- und Einschalten die zuletzt verwendeten Helligkeits- und Farbtemperatureinstellungen merkt.

Leuchtmittel

Leuchtmodus Hell mit 6500K Leuchtfarbe

Auf einer Länge von 45 cm sind insgesamt 90 Bi-Color SMD-LEDs abwechselnd angeordnet. Die ScreenBar ist dadurch in der Lage eine besonders warme Lichtfarbe (2700 Kelvin) aber auch eine sehr kühle Lichtfarbe (6500 Kelvin) zu erzeugen. Das warm-weiße Licht eignet sich vor allem für die späteren Abendstunden, wenn man beispielsweise vor dem Computer entspannen möchte. Das kühle Licht wiederum fördert die Konzentration und eignet sich für den Arbeitsplatz. Buntes RGB-Licht erzeugt die ScreenBar leider nicht. Dieses Feature wäre vor allem für Gamer interessant gewesen. Den Farbwiedergabeindex (CRI) gibt BenQ lediglich mit >80 an.

Lichtstreuung im hellen Leuchtmodus

Durch die unidirektionale Abstrahlung des Lichtes, fällt dieses senkrecht an der Bildfläche hinab, ohne die Darstellung durch Reflexionen zu beeinträchtigen. Gleichzeitig fällt das Licht nicht ins Blickfeld des Betrachters, sodass dieser nicht geblendet wird. Angestrahlt wird hauptsächlich das, was sich einen Meter vor dem Bildschirm befindet.

Leuchtmodus Hell mit 2700K Leuchtfarbe

Die unterhalb der ScreenBar und im 50 cm Abstand gemessene Beleuchtungsstärke liegt bei 780 Lux. Die gesamte Lichtausbeute liegt bei knapp 320 Lumen. Im Vergleich zu einer durchschnittliche LED-Schreibtischlampe, die meist einen Lichtstrom von 500 Lumen oder mehr erreicht, mag das zwar wenig klingen, man sollte jedoch bedenken, dass die BenQ ScreenBar zielgerichtet, direkt vom Monitor ausgehend leuchtet.

Lichtstreuung im warmen Leuchtmodus

Trotz Dimmbarkeit weist die ScreenBar keinerlei Flimmern oder Flackern auf. Genauso wenig kommt es zu störenden Geräuschen, wie z.B. einem hochfrequenten Fiepen, das häufig durch Schwingungen der Vorschaltlektronik hervorgerufen wird und auch bei Marken-Produkten nicht selten auftritt. Hier hat BenQ wirklich erstklassige Arbeit geleistet.

Produktseite des Herstellers: Link

Preisvergleich

amzprice
  • 99.99€
  • Versand DE
Positiv

►Platzsparend einsetzbar
►Einfache Bedienung
►Unkomplizierte USB-Stromversorgung
►Keine Reflexionen auf dem Display
►Kein Flimmern und kein Surren
►Gleichmäßige Lichtverteilung
►15 Helligkeitsstufen
►Erzeugt warmes und kühles Licht

Negativ

►Halterung zerkratzt Kunststoffoberfläche des Bedienelements
►Auto-Dimm-Funktion überschreibt Farbtemperatur

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.5
Verarbeitung
8.5
Design
9.0
Funktionsumfang
8.0
Bedienbarkeit
8.5
Alltagstauglichkeit
9.5
Stromverbrauch
9.5
Fazit

Zusammenfassend kann man der BenQ ScreenBar die äußerst platzsparende Eigenschaft und den hervorragendem Lichtfall bestätigen. Durch das asymmetrische optische Design wird der Arbeitsbereich bestmöglich ausgeleuchtet, ohne den Nutzer zu blenden oder Lichtreflexionen auf dem Bildschirm hervorzurufen. Durch die Darstellung verschiedener Lichtfarben, eignet sich die ScreenBar sowohl für entspanntes, aber auch konzentriertes Arbeiten, Lesen oder Gamen.

8.8
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
  Subscribe  
Benachrichtigung