Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

BenQ ScreenBar Lite review

BenQ ScreenBar Lite Review - Smart Notebook Lamp

Test report prepared by Timo on May 24, 2019

BenQ's ScreenBar lighting system has been extended by a new model! The BenQ ScreenBar Lite is a compact version of last year's BenQ ScreenBar e-Reading lamp. Specially designed for notebooks, the Lite model is aimed primarily at the mobile user. More about this in the test.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8.6
Our rating
99 € amazon
Price Comparison
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

BenQ

Model

BenQ ScreenBar Lite

Specifications

 Lamp 
Type: 50 Bi-Color SMD LEDs
Illuminance: 700 Lux (45 cm distance)
Brightness: 250 Lumens
Color temperature: 2700K - 6500K
Power: max. 5W

 other 
Dimmable: Yes
Auto dimming function: Yes
Brightness levels: Yes
Color temperature selection: Yes
App: Yes

Material: aluminum and polycarbonate
Power supply: USB

Size: 26 x 5.5 x 4.6 cm
Weight: 170g

What's in the box

1x lamp
1x transport box

Foreword: BenQ ScreenBar Lite

Last year BenQ released the smart “ScreenBar” lighting system, which can be attached to any monitor to save space and replaces the long-established desk lamp. A year later, the manufacturer launched a more compact notebook version, the ScreenBar Lite. However, one should not be fooled by the word “Lite”! Functionally, the ScreenBar Lite is in no way inferior to its “big brother”!

Here you can buy the BenQ ScreenBar Lite.

 Design, workmanship and delivery 

The ScreenBar Lite uses a unique, triangular design. The housing is largely made of aluminum and measures 26 cm in length. That is almost half of the normal ScreenBar. The lamp is operated via 7 touch sensor buttons. Power is supplied via USB. In contrast to the normal ScreenBar, the cable is unfortunately not detachable.

 

The build quality is good. As with the normal ScreenBar, the sensitive control element, which really attracts scratches and fingerprints, has to be criticized. The lamp is delivered in a practical plastic box. Operating instructions are not included. Instead, reference is made to instructions available online.

Getting started for use

The ScreenBar Lite is attached by clipping it directly to the display. The clip is provided with rubber on both sides and prevents scratches on the housing. The display frame should not be wider than 9 mm. A recess on the clip prevents the camera, which is usually placed above the display, from being covered. For power supply, the lamp only needs to be plugged into any USB type A socket.

 

Practical test of the ScreenBar Lite

For the practical test, the ScreenBar Lite accompanied me in everyday life for several weeks. The lamp was used with a Xiaomi Air 13 Notebook, Assembly and disassembly of the ScreenBar Lite are child's play. Connect, switch on, done! The retaining clip is particularly gentle due to the rubber coating. The suspension of the clip keeps the ScreenBar Lite slipping.

Service

The control buttons of the ScreenBar Lite are located on the front and are easily accessible. In the middle there are buttons for controlling the brightness and color temperature, on the left and right outside a selection button, on the right an auto-dimming button and again next to it the power button. A favorites button enables a setting profile to be saved and called up.

BenQ ScreenBar Lite Auto Dimming Function

Activated auto-dimming function

The lighting of the function and control buttons is practical and enables easy operation in the dark. The ScreenBar Lite detects the ambient light using an ambient light sensor. The lamp can be tilted by 85 ° for targeted illumination.

The “Screenbar SmartLite App”, which can be accessed via benqscreenbar.com can download. The software is available for both Windows and macOS systems. All functions of the lamp can be controlled via the software. In addition, the app can also adjust the brightness and color temperature of the monitor and activate the auto-dimming function after a timer. For the sake of simplicity, the whole thing is graphically appealing.

BenQ ScreenBar Lite App Software

Lamp

A total of 26 bi-color SMD LEDs are arranged alternately over a length of 50 cm. The ScreenBar Lite is able to generate a particularly warm light color (2700 Kelvin) but also a very cool light color (6500 Kelvin). The warm white light is particularly suitable for the later evening hours, for example when you want to relax in front of the computer. The cool light in turn promotes concentration and is suitable for the workplace. Unfortunately, the ScreenBar does not produce colored RGB light. This feature would have been of particular interest to gamers. BenQ gives the color rendering index (CRI) at 88.

The light falls vertically in front of the screen so that there are no annoying reflections. The illuminance measured in the middle at a distance of 45 cm is approx. 700 lux. The total light output is just under 250 lumens. That doesn't sound like much, but the ScreenBar Lite also lights up directly from the screen and doesn't scatter like a conventional desk lamp. Flickering or flickering that strain the eyes does not occur. There is also no background noise from the electronic ballast.

Price Comparison

iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
99,00€
rating
Positive

Mobile use
Easy installation and operation
Uncomplicated USB power supply
No reflections on the display
No flickering and no whirring
Uniform light distribution
Brightness and color temperature adjustable
Software control

Negative

Scratch and fingerprint sensitive control
USB cable cannot be removed

Summary

With the ScreenBar Lite, BenQ has once again launched an excellent lighting system. Functionally, the Lite model even topped the last year's ScreenBar for desktop computers. Due to the compact design and the practical transport box, the ScreenBar Lite can be used very easily on the move. Whether relaxed reading at night or concentrated work during the day, the various color temperatures and brightness levels are the limits of application.

8.6
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

BenQ

Model

BenQ ScreenBar Lite

Specifications

 Lamp 
Type: 50 Bi-Color SMD LEDs
Illuminance: 700 Lux (45 cm distance)
Brightness: 250 Lumens
Color temperature: 2700K - 6500K
Power: max. 5W

 other 
Dimmable: Yes
Auto dimming function: Yes
Brightness levels: Yes
Color temperature selection: Yes
App: Yes

Material: aluminum and polycarbonate
Power supply: USB

Size: 26 x 5.5 x 4.6 cm
Weight: 170g

What's in the box

1x lamp
1x transport box

More from BenQ

BenQ ScreenBar E-Reading LED Task Lamp with Auto Dimming function and Color MatchingBenQ ScreenBar E-Reading LED Task Lamp with Auto Dimming function and Color Matching

Reviews

The BenQ ScreenBar sees itself as a revolutionary lighting system that replaces the long-established desk lamp in a particularly space-saving manner. In a test lasting several weeks, the ScreenBar was able to demonstrate its skills ...

Advertising

Oclean X Elite Amazon Prime Promo

Gaming
0
Review

BenQ ScreenBar Lite Test – Smarte Notebook-Lampe

by 24. Mai 2019

BenQs ScreenBar Beleuchtungssystem wurde um ein neues Modell erweitert! Die BenQ ScreenBar Lite ist eine kompakte Variante der letztjährig erschienenen BenQ ScreenBar e-Reading Lampe. Speziell für Notebooks designt, richtet sich das Lite-Modell vor allem an den mobilen Anwender. Mehr dazu im Test.

Überblick
Hersteller

BenQ

Produktbezeichnung

BenQ ScreenBar Lite

Spezifikationen

Lampe
Typ: 50 Bi-Color SMD-LEDs
Beleuchtungsstärke: 700 Lux (45 cm Abstand)
Helligkeit: 250 Lumen
Farbtemperatur: 2700K - 6500K
Leistung: max. 5W

Sonstige
Dimmbar: Ja
Auto-Dimmfunktion: Ja
Helligkeitsstufen: Ja
Farbtemperaturwahl: Ja
App: Ja

Material: Aluminium und Polycarbonat
Stromversorgung: USB

Größe: 26 x 5.5 x 4.6 cm‎
Gewicht: 170g

Lieferumfang

1x Lampe
1x Transport-Box

Vorwort: BenQ ScreenBar Lite

Letztes Jahr veröffentlichte BenQ das smarte „ScreenBar“ Beleuchtungssystem, das sich platzsparend an jedem Monitor befestigen lässt und die alteingesessene Schreibtischlampe ersetzt. Ein Jahr später bringt der Hersteller mit der ScreenBar Lite eine kompaktere Notebook-Variante auf den Markt. Von dem Wörtchen „Lite“ sollte man sich jedoch keinesfalls beirren lassen! Funktional steht die ScreenBar Lite dem „großen Bruder“ in nichts nach!

Hier kannst du die BenQ ScreenBar Lite kaufen.

Design, Verarbeitung und Lieferumfang

Die ScreenBar Lite nutzt ein einzigartiges, dreieckiges Design. Das Gehäuse ist größtenteils aus Aluminium gefertigt und misst 26 cm in der Länge. Das ist knapp die Hälfte der normalen ScreenBar. Bedient wird die Lampe über 7 Touch-Sensor-Tasten. Die Stromversorgung erfolgt per USB. Im Gegensatz zur normalen ScreenBar ist das Kabel leider nicht abnehmbar.

 

Die Verarbeitungsqualität ist gut. Zu kritisieren ist, wie schon bei der normalen ScreenBar, das empfindliche Bedienelement, das Kratzer und Fingerabdrücke regelrecht anzieht. Geliefert wird die Lampe in einer praktischen Kunststoff-Box. Eine Bedienungsanleitung ist nicht enthalten. Stattdessen wird auf eine online abrufbare Anleitung verwiesen.

Erste Schritte zur Verwendung

Befestigt wird die ScreenBar Lite indem man sie direkt an das Display klemmt. Der Clip ist beidseitig mit Gummi versehen und verhindert so Kratzer am Gehäuse. Der Displayrahmen sollte nicht breiter als 9 mm sein. Eine Aussparung am Clip verhindert, dass die üblicherweise oberhalb des Displays platzierte Kamera nicht verdeckt wird. Zur Stromversorgung muss die Lampe lediglich in eine beliebige USB Typ-A Buchse eingesteckt werden.

 

Praxistest der ScreenBar Lite

Für den Praxistest hat mich die ScreenBar Lite mehrere Wochen im Alltag begleitet. Verwendet wurde die Lampe mit einem Xiaomi Air 13 Notebook. Auf- und Abbau der ScreenBar Lite gehen kinderleicht von der Hand. Anklemmen, einschalten, fertig! Der Halteclip ist durch die Gummierung besonders schonend. Die Federung des Clips hält die ScreenBar Lite ohne Verrutschen.

Bedienung

Die Bedientasten der ScreenBar Lite befinden sich frontal und sind gut erreichbar. Mittig befinden sich Tasten zur Steuerung der Helligkeit und Farbtemperatur, links- und rechts-außen jeweils eine Auswahltaste, rechts davon eine Auto-Dimm-Taste und wiederum daneben die Power-Taste. Eine Favoriten-Taste ermöglicht es ein Einstellungsprofil zu speichern und abzurufen.

BenQ ScreenBar Lite Auto-Dimm-Funktion

Aktivierte Auto-Dimm-Funktion

Praktisch ist die Beleuchtung der Funktions- und Steuertasten, die eine einfach Bedienung im Dunkeln ermöglicht. Das Umgebungslicht erkennt die ScreenBar Lite anhand eines Umgebungslichtsensors. Für eine gezielte Ausleuchtung kann die Lampe um 85° geneigt werden.

Eine smarte Bedienmöglichkeit bietet die „Screenbar SmartLite App“, die man über benqscreenbar.com herunterladen kann. Die Software gibt es sowohl für Windows, als auch für macOS Systeme. Sämtliche Funktionen der Lampe können über die Software gesteuert werden. Zusätzlich kann die App auch die Helligkeit sowie Farbtemperatur des Monitors anpassen und die Auto-Dimm-Funktion nach einem Timer aktivieren. Zur Einfachheit ist das Ganze grafisch ansprechend hergerichtet.

BenQ ScreenBar Lite App Software

Leuchtmittel

Auf einer Länge von 26 cm sind insgesamt 50 Bi-Color SMD-LEDs abwechselnd angeordnet. Die ScreenBar Lite ist dadurch in der Lage eine besonders warme Lichtfarbe (2700 Kelvin) aber auch eine sehr kühle Lichtfarbe (6500 Kelvin) zu erzeugen. Das warm-weiße Licht eignet sich vor allem für die späteren Abendstunden, wenn man beispielsweise vor dem Computer entspannen möchte. Das kühle Licht wiederum fördert die Konzentration und eignet sich für den Arbeitsplatz. Buntes RGB-Licht erzeugt die ScreenBar leider nicht. Dieses Feature wäre vor allem für Gamer interessant gewesen. Den Farbwiedergabeindex (CRI) gibt BenQ mit 88 an.

Das Licht fällt senkrecht vor dem Bildschirm ab, sodass keine störenden Reflexionen entstehen. Die im 45 cm Abstand mittig gemessene Beleuchtungsstärke beträgt ca. 700 Lux. Die gesamte Lichtausbeute liegt bei knapp 250 Lumen. Das klingt zwar wenig, allerdings leuchtet die ScreenBar Lite auch direkt vom Bildschirm aus und streut nicht wie eine herkömmliche Schreibtischlampe. Ein die Augen anstrengendes Flimmern oder Flackern tritt nicht auf. Genausowenig gibt es Störgeräusche durch die Vorschaltelektronik.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
99,00€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 12. Dezember 2019 10:00

Testergebnis

Positiv

►Mobil einsetzbar
►Einfache Installation und Bedienung
►Unkomplizierte USB-Stromversorgung
►Keine Reflexionen auf dem Display
►Kein Flimmern und kein Surren
►Gleichmäßige Lichtverteilung
►Helligkeit und Farbtemperatur anpassbar
►Software-Steuerung

Negativ

►Kratz und fingerabdruckempfindliches Bedienelement
►USB-Kabel nicht abnehmbar

Bewertung
Unsere Bewertung
Nutzerbewertung
Rate Here
Erster Eindruck
8.0
8.6
Verarbeitung
8.0
8.3
Design
7.5
8.0
Funktionsumfang
9.0
8.3
Bedienbarkeit
9.0
8.8
Alltagstauglichkeit
9.5
9.1
Stromverbrauch
9.5
10
Fazit

Mit der ScreenBar Lite hat BenQ abermals ein hervorragendes Beleuchtungssystem auf den Markt gebracht. Funktional toppt das Lite-Modell sogar die letzjährig erschienene ScreenBar für Desktop-Computer. Durch das kompakte Design und die praktische Transport-Box ist die ScreenBar Lite sehr gut mobil einsetzbar. Egal ob entspanntes Lesen bei Nacht oder konzentriertes Arbeiten am Tag, durch die verschiedenen Farbtemperaturen und Helligkeitsstufen sind den Anwendungsmöglichkeiten keine Grenzen gesetzt.

8.6
Unsere Bewertung
8.7
Nutzerbewertung
1 rating
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar