News
3

[UPDATE] Google Pixel 5 - Cheaper, bigger battery and 5G

by Timo14. October 2020
The Google Pixel 5 is here and is taking a slightly different route! Goodbye high-end and experimental features. At a price of 613,15 euros, the current Google top model with a 6-inch OLED display, a significantly more powerful 4080 mAh battery and the usual Google Experience is rather a smartphone for the masses. All the details about the Pixel 5 await you in this post!
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

Google

Product

Google Pixel 5

Specifications

Processor and memory
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G
GPU: Adreno 620
RAM: 8GB (LPDDR4x)
Internal memory: 128GB (UFS2.1)
Memory extension: no

Display
Display diagonal: 6 inches
Display resolution: 2340 x 1080 pixels
Display Type: OLED
Screen Protector: Gorilla Glass 6
Refresh rate: 90 Hz

cameras
Main camera: 12.2 MP dual pixel, F / 1.7, 1.4 µm
* Two-phase auto focus
* OIS + EIS
* 77 ° aperture

Wide angle camera: 16 MP ultra wide angle, F / 2.2, 1.0 µm, 107 °
Front camera: 8 MP, F / 2.0, 1.12 µm, fixed focus, 83 °

Mesh
Dual SIM: Yes (eSIM)
SIM size: Nano SIM
eSIM: Yes
Cellular: up to 5G

wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac
Bluetooth: 5.0
GPS: Yes
NFC: Yes

sensors
* Ambient light sensor
* Accelerometer
* Proximity Sensor
* Hall sensor
* E-Compass
*Gyroscope
* Fingerprint Sensor
* NFC

Accumulator
Battery: 4.080 mAh
Fast charge function: Yes
Wireless charging: yes
Reverse charging: yes

other
Operating system: Android 11
Connection: USB-C (USB3.1)
Size: 144.7 70.4 x x 8.0 mm
Weight: 151g

Google Pixel 5 - All information

Update 14. October 2020

The Pixel 5 will officially appear in stores tomorrow. Some already left today Reviews of the Google Pixel 5 on-line. According to the majority of testers, the Pixel 5 is a worthy continuation of Google's smartphone series. The economical Snapdragon 765G, the display with a particularly smooth display, the high-quality workmanship and clearly the camera, which has a lot to offer in terms of software, are praised.

The Main selling point In general, the Android operating system is the one that will be provided with updates by Google in the long term. Of course we try to convince ourselves of the functions of the new Pixel 5. As soon as a test device reaches us, the review will follow at this point!

Update 06. October 2020

Google explains how contactless charging remains possible despite the aluminum housing. Accordingly, the housing is with one layer "Bio-Resin" overdrawn. It is a special plastic that gives the smartphone the appropriate look and feel.

The coil required for contactless charging is hidden in a recess and is covered by the resin. As a result, the coil does not come into contact with the aluminum and contactless charging is still possible.

Every year, Google presents a new generation of its Pixel smartphone. In contrast to the Google Pixel 4a, the publication of which was postponed by a few months due to Corona, Google was able to keep the release cycle with the Pixel 5. However, Google has moved away from high-end, technical experiments and the magical 1000 euro limit. Instead, they want to win over the broad middle class.

Google Pixel 5 Sorta Sage and Just Black

Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G

This is already noticeable in the processor. In the Pixel 5 is not Qualcomm's current spearhead “Snapdragon 865”, but one that can be classified in the upper middle class, “Snapdragon 765G”Installed. The 765G is clearly inferior to the 865 in the benchmark, but this difference should not be noticeable in everyday use. Google attaches great importance to a smooth "Google Experience". This means that the Google Pixel 5 sees itself as a feature-rich smartphone with an optimized Android user interface and the latest updates.

The integrated 5G Modem the Pixel 5 is prepared for the next generation of cellular communications. In addition to a physical SIM slot, the smartphone also has one eSIM installed. The provides more security Titan M security chipwhich was already used in the older generation of pixels. The chip protects, among other things, the bootloader, the lock screen and the memory of the smartphone. And where we are now with the storage facility, they are built in 8GB LPDDR4X Memory and an 128GB UFS2.1 data store. Google does not have the option of expanding the memory using an SD memory card.

6 inch OLED with 90 Hz

The display solves at a diagonal of 6 inches with 2340 x 1080 pixels on. Of the OLED The display type ensures a particularly brightly colored representation with almost infinite contrast. By the high Refresh rate of 90 Hz content is displayed more fluently. The display is protected by Corning Gorilla Glass 6, which is considered particularly scratch-resistant and shatterproof. Other special features are Always-On and the HDR capability. The auricle and speaker are hidden under the display. The front camera is embedded in the display in a “punch-hole” style.

Goodbye radar sensor solos!

Google has said goodbye to the Soli radar sensor. The experimental feature obviously could not prevail, it was mostly decried as superfluous or not yet fully developed. This also means that face recognition is no longer necessary, which still unlocked the smartphone fairly reliably in the Pixel 4. Instead, a tried and tested fingerprint scanner adorns the back of the Pixel 5.

Google Pixel 5 Sorta Sage (2)

Wide angle instead of zoom camera

With the built-in cameras, too, the decision was made clearly against experiments. Instead of showing off with megapixels, the main sensor continues to only trigger 12.2 Megapixel, uses a f / 1.7 aperture and focused by Two-phase autofocus. Video can be viewed in high resolution 4K with up to 60 images-per-second and in 1080p at up to 240 frames per second record, tape. The combination of ensures particularly smooth video recordings OIS + EIS (image stabilization). Google has deleted the zoom camera of the Pixel 4, which still enabled a loss-free 2x zoom. Instead, you have to go for one 16 megapixel wide angle camera with a 107 degree of field of vision and f / 2.2 aperture decided.

Google is known for undermining the camera's recording quality, especially through software algorithms. This is shown very clearly by the night mode of the Google camera, which ensures astonished faces even in total darkness. Presumably that has also led to relying purely on a digital zoom, which has been getting better and better in recent years thanks to AI support. As a new software feature, Google has the Portrait lighting, The Portrait night vision mode and Cinema effects introduced. The front camera has a resolution of 8 megapixels, uses an f / 2.0 aperture and an 83 degree wide angle.

Google Pixel 5 Sorta Sage (2)

Lightweight despite the large battery

With dimensions of 144,7 x 70,4 x 8,0 mm and a weight of only 151g the Pixel 5 is an extremely light smartphone. Amazing, because at least the battery capacity is up 4080 mAh grown. According to Google, the case is closed 100 percent made from recycled aluminum, combined with a hardened Corning Gorilla Glass 6 cover slip. As a result, the Pixel 5 is not only particularly robust, but also after IP68 also protected from water and dust. Wired charging is possible with up to 18 Watt possible. Despite the alot of aluminum, too Wireless charging supported. New is Reverse chargingwhich can be used to charge other devices in the opposite direction.

Price and availability

The Google Pixel 5 comes in only one size and one storage configuration. The colors offered are so far limited to “Sorta Sage”, a kind of green, and "Just Black".

From the 15. October The smartphone is available in the Google Store, at MediaMarkt, Saturn, mobilcom-debitel, Vodafone, Telekom, o2, OTTO, DeinHandy, Sparhandy, Klarmobil and Blau. The sales price has been reduced to the current level due to the reduction in VAT Euro 613,15. Who the smartphone pre-ordered until October 14th, get one Bose QC 35 IIs headphones (Value about 200 euros) for free.

Source: store.google.com/de/product/pixel_5

guest
3 Comments
Oldest
Latest
Inline feedback
View all comments
PixelFan

In my opinion the right path that Google is taking here. This ever increasing price growth is just annoying. I would rather buy a new mid-range device every 2 years than afterwards hold a € 1000 smartphone in my hand that no longer receives updates. With the Pixel 5 I will replace my 3 series.

Steffen

Where are the first tests for the Pixel 5?

Steffen

When will your test report be online?

News
3

[UPDATE] Google Pixel 5 – Günstiger, größerer Akku und 5G

by Timo14. Oktober 2020
Das Google Pixel 5 ist da und schlägt einen etwas anderen Weg ein! Tschüss High-End und experimentelle Features. Zum Preis von 613,15 Euro ist das aktuelle Google Top-Modell mit 6 Zoll OLED Display, einem deutlich stärkeren 4080 mAh Akku und gewohnter Google Experience vielmehr ein Smartphone für die breite Masse. Alle Einzelheiten zum Pixel 5 erwarten dich in diesem Beitrag!
Überblick
Hersteller

Google

Produktbezeichnung

Google Pixel 5

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G
GPU: Adreno 620
RAM: 8GB (LPDDR4x)
Interner Speicher: 128GB (UFS2.1)
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Display
Displaydiagonale: 6 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 2340 x 1080 Pixel
Displaytyp: OLED
Displayschutz: Gorilla Glass 6
Bildwiederholfrequenz: 90 Hz

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 12.2 MP Dual-Pixel, F/1.7, 1.4 µm
*Zwei-Phasen-Autofokus
*OIS+EIS
*77° Blendenweite

Weitwinkelkamera: 16 MP Ultra-Weitwinkel, F/2.2, 1.0 µm, 107°
Frontkamera: 8 MP, F/2.0, 1.12 µm, Fix-Fokus, 83°

Netz
Dual-SIM: Ja (eSIM)
SIM-Größe: Nano SIM
eSIM: Ja
Mobilfunk: bis 5G

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth: 5.0
GPS: Ja
NFC: Ja

Sensoren
*Umgebungslichtsensor
*Beschleunigungssensor
*Näherungssensor
*Hall-Sensor
*E-Kompass
*Gyroskop
*Fingerabdrucksensor
*NFC

Akku
Akku: 4.080 mAh
Schnellladefunktion: Ja
Wireless-Charging: Ja
Reverse-Charging: Ja

Sonstige
Betriebssystem: Android 11
Anschluss: USB-C (USB3.1)
Größe: 144.7 x 70.4 x 8.0 mm
Gewicht: 151g

Google Pixel 5 – Alle Infos

Update 14. Oktober 2020

Morgen erscheint das Pixel 5 offiziell im Handel. Heute gingen bereits einige Testberichte zum Google Pixel 5 online. Laut der Mehrheit der Tester setzt das Pixel 5 Googles Smartphone-Reihe würdig fort. Gelobt werden der sparsame Snapdragon 765G, das Display mit besonders smoother Darstellung, die hochwertige Verarbeitung und ganz klar die Kamera, die softwareseitig einiges zu bieten hat.

Ein Haupt-Kaufargument im Allgemeinen ist das Android Betriebssystem, das auch auf längere Sicht von Google mit Updates versorgt wird. Natürlich sind wir bemüht, uns selbst von den Funktionen des neuen Pixel 5 zu überzeugen. Sobald uns ein Testgerät erreicht, folgt das Review an dieser Stelle!

Update 06. Oktober 2020

Google erklärt, wie trotz des Aluminium-Gehäuses kontaktloses Laden möglich bleibt. Demnach ist das Gehäuse mit einer Schicht „Bio-Resin“ überzogen. Es handelt sich dabei um einen speziellen Kunststoff, der dem Smartphone den entsprechenden Look und die besondere Haptik verleiht.

Die zum kontaktlosen Laden benötigte Spule befindet sich versteckt in einer Aussparung und wird durch das Resin überdeckt. Dadurch kommt die Spule gar nicht mit dem Aluminium im Berührung und kontaktloses Laden bleibt weiterhin möglich.

Alle Jahre wieder präsentiert Google eine neue Generation seines Pixel Smartphones. Im Gegensatz zum Google Pixel 4a, dessen Veröffentlichung wegen Corona um einige Monate verschoben wurde, konnte Google mit dem Pixel 5 den Release-Zyklus einhalten. Von High-End, technischen Experimenten und der magischen 1000 Euro Grenze hat sich Google allerdings entfernt. Stattdessen möchte man die breite Mittelklasse für sich gewinnen.

Google Pixel 5 Sorta Sage und Just Black

Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G

Das macht sich bereits beim Prozessor bemerkbar. Im Pixel 5 ist nicht etwa Qualcomms aktuelle Speerspitze „Snapdragon 865“, sondern ein, im Bereich der gehobenen Mittelklasse einzuordnender, „Snapdragon 765G“ verbaut. Zwar ist der 765G dem 865 im Benchmark deutlich unterlegen, im Alltag sollte sich dieser Unterschied allerdings nicht gravierend bemerkbar machen. Google legt viel Wert auf eine reibungslose „Google Experience„. Das heißt, das Google Pixel 5 versteht sich als feature-rich Smartphone mit optimierter Android Benutzeroberfläche und den neuesten Updates.

Durch das integrierte 5G-Modem ist das Pixel 5 dem Mobilfunk der nächste Generation gewappnet. Neben einem physischen SIM-Slot hat das Smartphone auch eine eSIM verbaut. Für mehr Sicherheit sorgt der Titan M Sicherheits-Chip, der bereits in der älteren Pixel-Generation zum Einsatz kam. Der Chip schützt unter anderem den Bootloader, den Sperrbildschirm und den Speicher des Smartphones. Und wo wir gerade beim Speicher sind, verbaut sind 8GB LPDDR4X Arbeitsspeicher und ein 128GB UFS2.1 Datenspeicher. Auf die Möglichkeit, den Speicher mit Hilfe einer SD-Speicherkarte zu erweitern, verzichtet Google.

6 Zoll OLED mit 90 Hz

Das Display löst bei einer Diagonale von 6 Zoll mit 2340 x 1080 Pixel auf. Der OLED Displaytyp sorgt für eine besonders farbkräftige Darstellung mit nahezu unendlichem Kontrast. Durch die hohe Bildwiederholrate von 90 Hz werden Inhalte flüssiger dargestellt. Geschützt wird das Display durch Corning Gorilla Glass 6, das als besonders kratzresistent und bruchsicher gilt. Weitere Besonderheiten sind Always-On und die HDR-Fähigkeit. Ohrmuschel bzw. Lautsprecher befinden sich unter dem Display versteckt. Die Frontkamera ist im „Punch-hole“ Stil in das Display eingelassen.

Tschüss Radarsensor Soli!

Vom Radarsensor Soli hat sich Google verabschiedet. Das experimentelle Feature konnte sich offensichtlich nicht durchsetzen, wurde es zumeist als überflüssig oder noch nicht ausgereift verschrien. Damit fällt auch die Gesichtserkennung weg, die noch beim Pixel 4 das Smartphone einigermaßen zuverlässig entsperrte. Stattdessen ziert ein altbewährter Fingerabdruckscanner die Rückseite des Pixel 5.

Google Pixel 5 Sorta Sage (2)

Weitwinkel- statt Zoom-Kamera

Auch bei den verbauten Kameras hat man sich ganz klar gegen Experimente entschieden. Statt mit Megapixel zu protzen, löst der Hauptsensor weiterhin mit nur 12.2 Megapixel, verwendet eine f/1.7 Blende und fokussiert per Zwei-Phasen-Autofokus. Video lassen sich in hochauflösenden 4K mit bis zu 60 Bildern-pro-Sekunde und in 1080p mit bis zu 240 Bildern-pro-Sekunde aufnehmen. Für besonders smoothe Videoaufnahmen sorgt die Kombination aus OIS+EIS (Bildstabilisierung). Die Zoom-Kamera des Pixel 4, die noch einen verlustfreien 2-fach Zoom ermöglichte, hat Google gestrichen. Stattdessen hat man sich für eine 16 Megapixel Weitwinkelkamera mit 107 Grad Sichtfeld und f/2.2 Blende entschieden.

Google ist bekannt dafür, vor allem durch softwareseitige Algorithmen die Aufnahmequalität der Kamera aufzubohren. Sehr deutlich zeigt das der Nachtmodus der Google Kamera, der selbst bei totaler Dunkelheit für staunende Gesichter sorgt. Vermutlich hat das auch dazu geführt, sich rein auf einen digitalen Zoom zu verlassen, der in den letzten Jahren durch AI-Unterstützung immer besser wird. Als neue Software-Features hat Google die Porträtbeleuchtung, den Porträt-Nachtsichtmodus und Kinoeffekte eingeführt. Die Frontkamera löst mit 8 Megapixel auf, verwendet eine f/2.0 Blende und einen 83 Grad Weitwinkel.

Google Pixel 5 Sorta Sage (2)

Leichtgewicht trotz großem Akku

Mit Maßen von 144,7 x 70,4 x 8,0 mm und einem Gewicht von nur 151g ist das Pixel 5 ein überaus leichtes Smartphones. Erstaunlich, denn immerhin ist die Akkukapazität auf 4080 mAh gewachsen. Laut Google besteht das Gehäuse zu 100 Prozent aus recyceltem Aluminium, kombiniert mit einem gehärteten Corning Gorilla Glass 6 Deckglas. Dadurch ist das Pixel 5 nicht nur besonders robust, sondern nach IP68 auch vor Wasser und Staub geschützt. Kabelgebundenes Laden ist mit bis zu 18 Watt möglich. Trotz des vielen Aluminium wird auch Wireless-Charging unterstützt. Neu ist Reverse-Charging, womit sich in umgekehrte Richtung andere Geräte laden lassen.

Preis und verfügbarkeit

Das Google Pixel 5 gibt es in nur einer Größe und einer Speicherkonfiguration. Die angebotenen Farben beschränken sich bisher auf „Sorta Sage“, eine Art Grün, und „Just Black“.

Ab dem 15. Oktober ist das Smartphone im Google Store, bei MediaMarkt, Saturn, mobilcom-debitel, Vodafone, Telekom, o2, OTTO, DeinHandy, Sparhandy, Klarmobil und Blau verfügbar. Durch die Mehrwertsteuersenkung reduziert sich der Verkaufspreis auf derzeit 613,15 Euro. Wer das Smartphone bis zum 14. Oktober vorbestellt, erhält einen Bose QC 35 IIs Kopfhörer (Wert etwa 200 Euro) gratis dazu.

Quelle: store.google.com/de/product/pixel_5

guest
3 Comments
Älteste
Neueste
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
PixelFan

Meiner Meinung nach der richtige Weg den Google hier einschlägt. Dieses immer zunehmende Preiswachstum nervt einfach nur noch. Da kaufe ich mir lieber alle 2 Jahre ein neues Mittelklasse Gerät, als dass ich nachher ein 1000€ Smartphone in der Hand halte, das keine Updates mehr bekommt. Mit dem Pixel 5 werde ich mein 3er ersetzen.

Steffen

Wo bleiben eigentlich die ersten Tests zum Pixel 5?

Steffen

Wann kommt euer Testbericht online?