Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

LG 27GL850-B monitor

LG 27GL850-B Review - All-rounder among gaming monitors

Test report prepared by Timo on October 13, 2020

The LG 27GL850 is one of the hottest gaming monitors currently. What makes the monitor so special is the built-in nano-IPS panel. LG takes advantage of the reaction advantage of a TN panel without sacrificing the color, contrast and viewing angle advantages of IPS technology.

In combination with a 27 inch display diagonal, 2560 x 1440 resolution, 144 Hz refresh rate and adaptive sync, the LG 27GL850 is, at least on the data sheet, a dream come true for gamers. The following test report reveals whether this also applies in practice.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8.4
Our rating
377 € amazon
Price Comparison
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

LG

Model

LG 27GL850-B

Specifications

 Screen 
Screen type: LG Nano-IPS (White-LED)
Screen size: 27 inches / 68,58 cm
Screen resolution: 2560 x 1440 pixels (WQHD)
Refresh rate: up to 144 Hz

Color depth: 8 bit + FRC
Brightness: 350 cd / m²
Contrast ratio: 1000: 1 (static)
Response time: 1 ms (GtG)

Adaptive synchronization:
* Adaptive sync
* AMD FreeSync
* G-Sync Compatible

 Ergonomics 
Tilt: -5 ° to + 15 °
Swivel: No.
Pivot: Yes
Height adjustable: 110 mm
VESA mount: 100 x 100 mm

 Connections 
1x DisplayPort 1.4
2x HDMI 2.0
1x USB 3.0 type B (upstream)
2x USB 3.0 type A (downstream)
1x 3,5 mm jack (line-out)

 General 
Dimensions (with pedestal): 614,2 x 574,8 x 274,4 mm
Dimensions (without stand): 614,2 x 364,8 x 56,3 mm
Weight (with / without stand): 6,1 kg / 4,2 kg

What's in the box

1x monitor
1x stand
1x power cable
1x driver CD
1x HDMI cable
1x DisplayPort cable
1x USB 3.0 cable
1x mouse holder
1x user manual

Update 24. November 2020

The LG 27GL850-B is available from Amazon at the current low price of only 349 euros. More information on the product page.

Get Offer

Design, ergonomics and connectivity

When you hear the word “gaming”, you usually think of an extravagant design and lots of RGB lighting. The LG 27GL850-B also belongs to the gaming category, but it takes a more subtle path. The design is smart, that is out of the question, but you won't find RGB bling-bling in vain. Instead, LG focuses on a few accents that cleverly stage the black plastic of the monitor.

LG 27GL850-B front

Stand with adjustable support arm

If we take a closer look at the exterior of the monitor, we have a spacious stand in a sleek V-shape. The material of choice is plastic. The base is matted black when facing the viewer. On the back there is a shiny red accent.

The transition to the support arm follows the actual foot. This consists of a pipe system that ends in a rotating mechanism and the holding plate attached to it. The following alignment options are available:

  •  Stand height: The monitor can be adjusted in height by 11 cm. The locking mechanism works continuously and enables precise height adjustment.
  •  Tilt: The monitor can be tilted forward by 5 degrees. Backwards by 15 degrees.
  •  Pivoting (Pivot): The monitor can be aligned in portrait format. It can be rotated 90 degrees clockwise.
  •  Rotation (swivel): The rotation around its own axis is NOT possible.

A cable holder can be attached to the pipe for better cable routing. If you find this annoying, just leave it out. The stand and monitor can be connected without tools using the click system. Alternatively, wall mounting is possible (VESA 100 × 100).

LG 27GL850-B rear monitor with stand

Particularly narrow edges

Viewed from the front, the LG 27GL850-B shows its particularly narrow bezels. At the top and to the sides, these are just 0.8 cm. It is 2 cm downwards. The LG logo is emblazoned in the middle. There is a sticker on the left that indicates the G-Sync compatibility of the monitor.

Joystick control and Kensington lock

Before we look at the back, there are a few words about the bottom. If you orient yourself on the LG logo, you can feel the joystick control on the underside. The joystick is both a power button and an OSD control. To the left of the joystick is the recess for a Kensington lock. This can be used to secure the monitor if necessary.

LG 27GL850-B bottom with joystick control

Rear with connection options

All connection options are on the back. A distinctive feature on the back is the round raised housing with a red accent. Ventilation slots arranged in a circle ensure good ventilation. The connection options include two HDMI 2.0 sockets, a DisplayPort 1.4 socket, two USB 3.0 downstream sockets, a USB 3.0 upstream socket, a 3.5 mm jack audio socket and a DC power input. All sockets are easily accessible and placed with sufficient distance from one another.

LG 27GL850-B connectivity

Processing quality and scope of delivery

The LG 27GL850-B is mostly made of plastic, but the monitor doesn't look cheap due to its matt finish and subtle color accents. The build quality is good. All parts are neatly put together and the mechanism of the stand runs smoothly. In addition to the monitor and stand, the scope of delivery also includes a lot of paperwork, a CD with the same paperwork, a DisplayPort, HDMI and USB 3.0 cable and two cable holders.

Hardware

IPS vs. Nano IPS

Monitors with In-Plane Switching Technology (IPS) have been on our smartphones, televisions and PC monitors for a long time. Advantages over other display technologies are particularly stable viewing angles and better color and contrast display. The usually slow response time of IPS panels is a disadvantage, which is why gamers often prefer TN panels (Twisted Nematic).

LG 27GL850-B monitor from the side

 But what does it look like if you do sophisticated image and video editing and are also a passionate gamer? 

To make it easier to choose between monitor technologies, LG introduced the so-called Nano-IPS at the beginning of 2018. This further development of the IPS technology relies on a layer of fine nanoparticles that separates color spectra more precisely. As a result, the panel is able to display the sRGB color space to 135 percent. The extended DCI-P3 color space is covered to 98 percent. The AdobeRGB color space is at least 88 percent. At the same time, Nano-IPS shortens the response time to 1ms (GtG) and is therefore particularly attractive for gamers.

On-Screen Display (OSD)

LG 27GL850-B OSD game mode

The OSD of the LG 27GL850-B is optically tailored to gamers. The active settings are clearly displayed in a bar. Below that, the menu is divided into the categories “Game Mode”, “Game Settings”, “Image Adjustment”, “Input” and “General”. There are 8 presets to choose from in the “Game Mode” category. Unfortunately, only the first preset is freely configurable. In the other modes, more extensive settings for brightness or color temperature are usually not possible.

The “Game Settings” category includes setting options for Adaptive Sync, the black stabilizer, the response time and an on-screen crosshair. The remaining categories are no different from other monitors. The options include setting options for brightness, image sharpness, color temperature and gamma value.

As an option to the OSD, the monitor can be operated using the LG OnScreen Control application. The software, which is available for Windows and MacOS, enables the essential monitor settings to be accessed with a click of the mouse. In addition, the application offers an extensive split-screen function and a picture-in-picture display mode.

picture quality

We tested the image quality of the LG 27GL850-B using the factory settings (player 1, brightness 100, contrast 70, sharpness 50, gamma mode 2) and the given presets.

Brightness and contrast

LG 27GL850-B measurement with the colorimeter

According to LG, the panel achieves a luminance of 350 cd / m². We measured a luminance of 342 cd / m² in the factory settings. With a CCT beyond the 7200, the monitor has a slight bluish cast. The contrast ratio also does not reach the value of 1000: 1 promised by LG. The factory settings resulted in a contrast ratio of 732: 1.

Viewing angle stability and illumination

The monitor has extremely stable viewing angles. Strong horizontal and vertical viewing angles hardly affected the display. There are no noticeable color deviations and no noticeably reduced contrast. The monitor shows weaknesses in terms of illumination. So-called backlight bleeding is noticeable on a black surface. Uneven backlighting occurs at the edges of the display. Also available and typical for IPS panels is the so-called IPS glow. This is noticeable through slight, angle-dependent brightening of the panel. Both can be seen in the following picture. The picture was taken in the dark, with a slight overexposure.

LG 27GL850-B IPS Glow

Color rendering

Except for the somewhat cool color temperature, the LG 27GL850-B is well calibrated ex works. The monitor covers 100 percent of the most common sRGB color space. AdobeRGB, which is considered the standard in professional color image processing, is covered to 89 percent. The monitor covers 3 percent of the comparatively young DCI-P98 color space that is used for digital film projection. The measured values ​​are almost congruent with the values ​​given by LG. The average DeltaE in the factory settings is 3.48. In addition, the monitor also offers an sRGB mode, which delivers an average DeltaE of 2.33. The gamma curve does not quite follow the ideal line. A mean gamma value of 2.11 is achieved without calibration.

(Gaming) performance

Gaming on the LG 27GL850-B

Responsiveness

LG speaks of a "gaming revolution" and specifies the LG 27GL850-B with a response time of 1ms (GtG). For an IPS panel that would be a fantastic value, which even TN monitors promise, but hardly achieve in reality. A 3-stage overdrive (normal, fast, faster) is used to shorten the response time. With this technique, by applying a higher voltage to the LCD cell, faster alignment of the liquid crystals is achieved. At the same time, overdrive also increases the susceptibility to display errors, which become noticeable in the form of ghosting and streaks.

LG 27GL850-B monitor from above

The colleagues from Techspotwhich measured an average of 144 ms in the "Normal" mode, 5.88 ms in the "Fast" mode and 4.08 ms in the "Faster" mode at a refresh rate of 1.72 Hz. This means that the monitor does not quite reach the promised 1ms (GtG). In “Faster” mode, an average of 72 percent overshoot occurs. This also visibly affects the presentation. There is an unsightly trailing effect that makes gaming in this mode almost impossible. This mode is completely unsuitable for games like Counter-Strike, in which precision is important. The situation is different with the "Fast" mode. The average susceptibility to errors is reduced to 2.5 percent. Ghosting hardly occurs at all in this mode.

Refresh rate and adaptive sync

The native and at the same time maximum refresh rate of the LG 27GL850-B is 144Hz. In addition to the DisplayPort, 144Hz @ 1440p can also be achieved via HDMI 2.0. The monitor did not have a G-Sync hardware module installed, but supports FreeSync and is G-Sync compatible. Both AMD and NVIDIA graphics card users can use Adaptive Sync. The dynamic refresh rate is limited to 48-144Hz (DP) or 48-100Hz (HDMI).

LG 27GL850-B monitor from behind

Input Lag

We come to the input lag, which has to be strictly distinguished from the response time. Input lag describes the time between input and display. In the case of the LG 27GL850-B, there is no noticeable input lag. 

power consumption

LG specifies the maximum power consumption as 65 watts. In the test, the power consumption was 144 Hz @ 1440p and the maximum display brightness was 45 watts. With a reduced luminance of 180 cd / m², the power consumption is just under 30 watts. The consumption drops to 0.4 watts in standby.

Price Comparison

iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
377,00€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
379,00€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
395,99€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
396,94€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
rating
Positive

Subtle design and good build quality
Clear OSD
Good color space coverage
Viewing angles
Low response time
No noticeable input lag
144 Hz also via HDMI
power consumption

Negative

No swivel
Low contrast ratio
Backlight bleeding and IPS glow

Summary

The LG 27GL850 is an all-rounder among gaming monitors. The screen is not only interesting for gamers, but is also very suitable for office work, film and video editing and for watching films.

The Nano-IPS panel convinces with a good color space coverage ex works, a high display brightness and a wide viewing angle stability. The nano-IPS panel does not achieve the promised response time of 1ms (GtG), but with an average response time of 4ms it is currently the fastest IPS panel on the market. There are minor weaknesses in contrast, which is somewhat low with a measured contrast ratio of 732: 1.

8.4
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

LG

Model

LG 27GL850-B

Specifications

 Screen 
Screen type: LG Nano-IPS (White-LED)
Screen size: 27 inches / 68,58 cm
Screen resolution: 2560 x 1440 pixels (WQHD)
Refresh rate: up to 144 Hz

Color depth: 8 bit + FRC
Brightness: 350 cd / m²
Contrast ratio: 1000: 1 (static)
Response time: 1 ms (GtG)

Adaptive synchronization:
* Adaptive sync
* AMD FreeSync
* G-Sync Compatible

 Ergonomics 
Tilt: -5 ° to + 15 °
Swivel: No.
Pivot: Yes
Height adjustable: 110 mm
VESA mount: 100 x 100 mm

 Connections 
1x DisplayPort 1.4
2x HDMI 2.0
1x USB 3.0 type B (upstream)
2x USB 3.0 type A (downstream)
1x 3,5 mm jack (line-out)

 General 
Dimensions (with pedestal): 614,2 x 574,8 x 274,4 mm
Dimensions (without stand): 614,2 x 364,8 x 56,3 mm
Weight (with / without stand): 6,1 kg / 4,2 kg

What's in the box

1x monitor
1x stand
1x power cable
1x driver CD
1x HDMI cable
1x DisplayPort cable
1x USB 3.0 cable
1x mouse holder
1x user manual

More from LG

LG DSH5 2.1 SoundbarLG DSH5 2.1 Soundbar

Reviews

A soundbar is pretty much the easiest and most compact solution to spice up the sound of your own home theater. The LG DSH5 2.1 is a 300W soundbar ...

Advertising

Oclean X Elite Amazon Prime Promo

Reviews
0
Review

LG 27GL850-B im Test – Allrounder unter den Gaming Monitoren

by 12. Mai 2020

Der LG 27GL850 ist einer der derzeit angesagtesten Gaming Monitore. Was den Monitor so besonders macht, ist das verbaute Nano-IPS Panel. LG macht sich dabei den Reaktionsvorteil eines TN-Panels zunutze, ohne dabei auf die Farb-, Kontrast- und Blickwinkelvorteile der IPS-Technologie zu verzichten.

In Kombination mit einer 27 Zoll Displaydiagonale, 2560 x 1440 Auflösung, 144 Hz Bildwiederholrate und Adaptive-Sync, ist der LG 27GL850 zumindest auf dem Datenblatt ein wahrgewordener Gamer-Traum. Ob das auch in der Praxis zutrifft, das verrät der folgende Testbericht.

Überblick
Hersteller

LG

Produktbezeichnung

LG 27GL850-B

Spezifikationen

Bildschirm
Bildschirmtyp: LG Nano-IPS (White-LED)
Bildschirmdiagonale: 27 Zoll / 68,58 cm
Bildschirmauflösung: 2560 x 1440 Pixel (WQHD)
Bildwiederholfrequenz: bis zu 144 Hz

Farbtiefe: 8 Bit + FRC
Helligkeit: 350 cd/m²
Kontrastverhältnis: 1000:1 (statisch)
Reaktionszeit: 1 ms (GtG)

Adaptive Synchronisation:
*Adaptive-Sync
*AMD FreeSync
*G-Sync Compatible

Ergonomie
Tilt (Neigen): -5° bis +15°
Swivel (Schwenken): Nein
Pivot (Drehen): Ja
Höhenverstellbar: 110 mm
VESA-Mount: 100 x 100 mm

Anschlüsse
1x DisplayPort 1.4
2x HDMI 2.0
1x USB 3.0 Typ B (Upstream)
2x USB 3.0 Typ A (Downstream)
1x 3,5 mm Klinke (Line-Out)

Allgemein
Maße (mit Standfuß): 614,2 x 574,8 x 274,4 mm
Maße (ohne Standfuß): 614,2 x 364,8 x 56,3 mm
Gewicht (mit / ohne Standfuß): 6,1 kg / 4,2 kg

Lieferumfang

1x Monitor
1x Standfuß
1x Netzkabel
1x Treiber-CD
1x HDMI-Kabel
1x DisplayPort-Kabel
1x USB-3.0-Kabel
1x Maushalter
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Design, Ergonomie und Konnektivität

Wenn man das Wörtchen „Gaming“ hört, denkt man zumeist an ein extravagantes Design und viel RGB-Beleuchtung. Der LG 27GL850-B gehört zwar ebenfalls zur Gaming-Kategorie, schlägt allerdings einen eher dezenteren Weg ein. Das Design ist fesch, das steht außer Frage, doch RGB Bling-Bling sucht man vergebens. Stattdessen konzentriert sich LG auf ein paar wenige Akzente, die den schwarzen Kunststoff des Monitors geschickt in Szene setzen.

LG 27GL850-B Vorderseite

Standfuß mit verstellbarem Tragarm

Wenn wir das Äußere des Monitors näher betrachten, haben wir einen weitläufigen Standfuß im schnittigen V-Shape. Das Material der Wahl ist Kunststoff. Zum Betrachter gerichtet ist der Standfuß schwarz-mattiert. Rückseitig hält wiederum ein rot-glänzender Akzent Einzug.

Dem eigentlichen Fuß folgt der Übergang in den Tragarm. Dieser setzt sich aus einem Rohrsystem zusammen, das schließlich in einem Drehmechanismus und der daran befestigten Halteplatte endet. Folgende Ausrichtungsmöglichkeiten gibt es:

  • Standhöhe: Der Monitor ist um 11 cm in der Höhe verstellbar. Der Feststellmechanismus arbeitet stufenlos und ermöglicht eine präzise Höhenanpassung.
  • Neigen (Tilt): Nach vorne ist der Monitor um 5 Grad neigbar. Nach hinten um 15 Grad.
  • Schwenken (Pivot): Der Monitor lässt sich im Hochformat ausrichten. Eine Drehung ist um 90 Grad im Uhrzeigersinn möglich.
  • Drehen (Swivel): Die Drehbarkeit um die eigene Achse ist NICHT möglich.

Für eine bessere Kabelführung lässt sich am Rohr ein Kabehalter befestigen. Wer diesen als störend empfindet, lässt ihn einfach weg. Standfuß und Monitor lassen sich werkzeugfrei per Klicksystem verbinden. Alternativ ist eine Wandbefestigung möglich (VESA 100×100).

LG 27GL850-B Monitor Rückseite mit Standfuß

Besonders schmale Ränder

Von vorne betrachtet, zeigt der LG 27GL850-B seine besonders schmalen Ränder. Oben und zu den Seiten hin, betragen diese gerade einmal 0.8 cm. Nach unten sind es 2 cm. Mittig prangt das LG Logo. Linkerhand befindet sich ein Aufkleber, der auf die G-Sync Kompatibilität des Monitors hinweist.

Joystick-Steuerung und Kensington-Schloss

Bevor wir uns die Rückseite anschauen, gibt es noch ein paar Worte zur Unterseite. Orientiert man sich am LG Logo, lässt sich die unterseitige Joystick-Steuerung ertasten. Der Joystick ist Power-Taste und OSD-Steuerung zugleich. Links neben dem Joystick befindet sich die Aussparung für ein Kensington-Schloss. Damit lässt sich der Monitor bei Bedarf sichern.

LG 27GL850-B Unterseite mit Joystick Steuerung

Rückseite mit Anschlussmöglichkeiten

Sämtliche Anschlussmöglichkeiten befinden sich rückseitig. Markant für die Rückseite ist die runde Gehäuseabhebung mit rotem Farbakzent. Für eine gute Belüftung sorgen im Kreis angeordneten Belüftungsschlitze. Die Anschlussmöglichkeiten umfassen zwei HDMI 2.0 Buchsen, eine DisplayPort 1.4 Buchse, zwei USB 3.0 Downstream Buchsen, eine USB 3.0 Upstream Buchse, eine 3.5 mm Klinken-Audiobuchse und einen DC-Stromeingang. Alle Buchsen sind gut erreichbar und mit genügend Abstand zueinander platziert.

LG 27GL850-B Anschlussmöglichkeiten

Verarbeitungsqualität und Lieferumfang

Der LG 27GL850-B besteht zwar größtenteils aus Kunststoff, allerdings wirkt der Monitor durch seine Mattierung und die dezenten Farbakzente keinesfalls billig. Die Verarbeitungsqualität ist gut. Sämtliche Teile sind sauber zusammengesetzt und die Mechanik des Standfußes läuft geschmeidig. Der Lieferumfang beinhaltet neben dem Monitor samt Standfuß noch viel Papierkram, eine CD mit dem gleichen Papierkram, ein DisplayPort-, HDMI- und USB 3.0-Kabel sowie zwei Kabelhalterungen.

Hardware

IPS vs. Nano-IPS

Monitore mit In-Plane-Switching-Technologie (IPS) halten schon länger Einzug auf unseren Smartphones, Fernsehern und auch PC-Monitoren. Vorteile gegenüber anderen Display-Technologien sind besonders stabile Betrachtungswinkel und eine bessere Farb- und Kontrastdarstellung. Nachteilig ist die üblicherweise langsame Reaktionszeit von IPS-Panels, weshalb Gamer oftmals TN-Panels (Twisted Nematic) bevorzugen.

LG 27GL850-B Monitor von der Seite

Doch wie sieht es aus, wenn man anspruchsvolle Bild- und Videobearbeitung betreibt und nebenbei noch ein passionierter Gamer ist?

Um die Entscheidung zwischen den Monitor-Technologien zu erleichtern, hat LG Anfang 2018 das so genannte Nano-IPS vorgestellt. Diese Weiterentwicklung der IPS-Technologie setzt auf eine Schicht feiner Nanopartikel, die Farbspektren präziser trennt. Das Panel ist dadurch in der Lage, den sRGB Farbraum zu 135 Prozent darzustellen. Der erweiterte DCI-P3 Farbraum wird zu 98 Prozent abgedeckt. Der AdobeRGB Farbraum immerhin zu 88 Prozent. Gleichzeitig verkürzt Nano-IPS die Reaktionszeit auf 1ms (GtG) und ist damit auch für Gamer besonders attraktiv.

On-Screen-Display (OSD)

LG 27GL850-B OSD Spiele Modus

Das OSD des LG 27GL850-B ist optisch auf Gamer zugeschnitten. Die aktiven Einstellungen werden übersichtlich in einer Leiste dargestellt. Darunter unterteilt sich das Menü in die Kategorien „Spiel Modus“, „Spieleinstellungen“, „Bildanpassung“, „Eingang“ und „Allgemein“. In der Kategorie „Spiel Modus“ stehen 8 Presets zur Auswahl. Leider ist nur das erste Preset frei konfigurierbar. In den übrigen Modi sind weiterreichende Einstellungen zur Helligkeit oder der Farbtemperatur meist nicht möglich.

Unter die Kategorie „Spieleinstellungen“ fallen Einstellungsmöglichkeiten zu Adaptive Sync, dem Schwarz Stabilisator, der Reaktionszeit und einem On-Screen Fadenkreuz. Die übrigen Kategorien unterscheiden sich nicht von anderen Monitoren. Zur Auswahl stehen unter anderem Einstellungsmöglichkeiten zur Helligkeit, der Bildschärfe, der Farbtemperatur und dem Gammawert.

Optional zum OSD, lässt sich der Monitor über die LG OnScreen Control Anwendung bedienen. Die für Windows und MacOS erhältliche Software ermöglicht es, per Mausklick auf die wesentlichen Monitoreinstellungen zuzugreifen. Daneben bietet die Anwendung eine umfangreiche Split-Screen Funktion und einen Picture-in-Picture Anzeigemodus.

Bildqualität

Die Bildqualität des LG 27GL850-B haben wir anhand der Werkseinstellungen (Spieler 1, Helligkeit 100, Kontrast 70, Schärfe 50, Gamma Modus 2) und den vorgegebenen Presets getestet.

Helligkeit und Kontrast

LG 27GL850-B Messung mit dem Kolorimeter

Laut LG erreicht das Panel eine Leuchtdichte von 350 cd/m². Auf den Werkseinstellungen konnten wir eine Leuchtdichte von 342 cd/m² messen. Mit einer CCT jenseits der 7200 ist der Monitor leicht blaustichig. Auch das Kontrastverhältnis erreicht nicht den von LG versprochenen Wert von 1000:1. Die Werkseinstellungen ergaben ein Kontrastverhältnis von 732:1.

Blickwinkelstabilität und Ausleuchtung

Der Monitor ist äußerst blickwinkelstabil. Stark horizontale und vertikale Betrachtungswinkel beeinträchtigten die Darstellung kaum. Es kommt zu keinen auffälligen Farbabweichungen und zu keinem spürbar verminderten Kontrast. Schwächen zeigt der Monitor bezüglich der Ausleuchtung. Auf schwarzer Fläche macht sich so genanntes Backlight-Bleeding bemerkbar. Dabei treten an den Displayrändern ungleichmäßige Einstrahlungen der Hintergrundbeleuchtung auf. Ebenfalls vorhanden und für IPS-Panels typisch, ist der so genannte IPS-Glow. Dieser macht sich durch leichte, winkelabhängige Aufhellungen des Panels bemerkbar. Beides ist auf dem folgenden Bild zu erkennen. Das Bild wurde im Dunkeln, mit leichter Überbelichtung aufgenommen.

LG 27GL850-B IPS Glow

Farbwiedergabe

Bis auf die etwas kühl geratene Farbtemperatur, ist der LG 27GL850-B ab Werk gut kalibriert. Den gängigsten sRGB Farbraum deckt der Monitor zu 100 Prozent ab. AdobeRGB, der als Standard in der professionellen Farbbildverarbeitung gilt, wird zu 89 Prozent abgedeckt. Den vergleichsweise jungen DCI-P3 Farbraum, der für digitale Filmprojektion eingesetzt wird, deckt der Monitor zu 98 Prozent ab. Die gemessenen Werte sind damit fast deckungsgleich mit den von LG genannten Werten. Innerhalb der Werkseinstellungen liegt der durchschnittliche DeltaE bei 3.48. Daneben bietet der Monitor auch einen sRGB Modus, welcher einen durchschnittlichen DeltaE von 2.33 liefert. Die Gammakurve folgt nicht ganz der Ideallinie. Unkalibriert wird ein mittlerer Gammawert von 2.11 erreicht.

(Gaming)Leistung

Gaming auf dem LG 27GL850-B

Reaktionsverhalten

LG spricht von einer „Gamingrevolution“ und spezifiziert den LG 27GL850-B mit einer Reaktionszeit von 1ms (GtG). Für ein IPS-Panel wäre das ein fantastischer Wert, den selbst TN Monitore zwar versprechen, aber in der Realität kaum erreichen. Zur Verkürzung der Reaktionszeit kommt ein 3-Stufen Overdrive (Normal, Fast, Faster) zum Einsatz. Bei dieser Technik wird durch Anlegen einer höheren Spannung an die LCD-Zelle eine schnellere Ausrichtung der Flüssigkristalle erreicht. Gleichzeitig steigt mit dem Overdrive auch die Anfälligkeit für Darstellungsfehler, die sich in Form von Ghosting und Schlieren bemerkbar machen.

LG 27GL850-B Monitor von oben

Die genauen Messergebnisse liefern die Kollegen von Techspot, die bei 144 Hz Bildwiederholrate im Modus „Normal“ durchschnittlich 5.88ms, im Modus „Fast“ 4.08ms und im Modus „Faster“ 1.72 ms messen konnten. Damit erreicht der Monitor nicht ganz die versprochenen 1ms (GtG). Im Modus „Faster“ tritt ein durchschnittlich 72-prozentiger Overshoot auf. Darunter leidet auch die Darstellung sichtbar. Es kommt zu einem unschönen Nachzieheffekt, der Gaming in diesem Modus fast unmöglich macht. Für Spiele wie Counter-Strike, in denen es auf Präzision ankommt, ist dieser Modus gänzlich ungeeignet. Anders sieht es mit dem Modus „Fast“ aus. Die durchschnittliche Fehleranfälligkeit reduziert sich auf 2.5 Prozent. Ghosting tritt in diesem Modus so gut wie gar nicht auf.

Bildwiederholrate und Adaptive Sync

Die native und gleichzeitig auch maximale Bildwiederholrate des LG 27GL850-B liegt bei 144Hz. Neben dem DisplayPort, werden 144Hz @1440p auch über HDMI 2.0 erreicht. Der Monitor hat war kein G-Sync Hardwaremodul verbaut, unterstützt aber FreeSync und ist G-Sync kompatibel. Sowohl Nutzer einer AMD, als auch einer NVIDIA Grafikkarte, können Adaptive Sync nutzen. Die dynamische Bildwiederholrate ist auf 48-144Hz (DP) bzw. 48-100Hz (HDMI) begrenzt.

LG 27GL850-B Monitor von hinten

Input Lag

Kommen wir noch zum Input Lag, den man strikt von der Reaktionszeit unterscheiden muss. Input Lag bzw. Eingabeverzögerung beschreibt die Zeitspanne zwischen Eingabe und Darstellung. Im Falle des LG 27GL850-B gibt es keinen spürbaren Input Lag.

Stromverbrauch

Die maximale Leistungsaufnahme wird von LG mit 65 Watt angegeben. Im Test lag die Leistungsaufnahme bei 144 Hz @1440p und maximaler Displayhelligkeit bei 45 Watt. Mit einer reduzierten Leuchtdichte von 180 cd/m², beträgt die Leistungsaufnahme knapp 30 Watt. Im Standby sinkt der Verbrauch auf 0.4 Watt.

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Dezentes Design und gute Verarbeitungsqualität
Übersichtliches OSD
Gute Farbraumabdeckung
Blickwinkelstabilität
Geringe Reaktionszeit
Kein spürbarer Input Lag
144 Hz auch über HDMI
Stromverbrauch

Negativ

Kein Swivel
Niedriges Kontrastverhältnis
Backlight-Bleeding und IPS-Glow

Erster Eindruck
8.5
8.1
Verarbeitung
8.5
9.6
Alltagstauglichkeit
8.5
9.3
Gamingtauglichkeit
9.0
8.3
Bildqualität
8.5
9.2
Stromverbrauch
7.5
9.2
Fazit

Der LG 27GL850 ist ein Allrounder unter den Gaming Monitoren. Der Bildschirm ist nicht nur für Gamer interessant, sondern eignet sich auch sehr gut für Office Arbeiten, Film- und Videobearbeitung und zum Filmeschauen.

Das Nano-IPS Panel überzeugt durch eine ab Werk gute Farbraumabdeckung, eine hohe Displayhelligkeit und eine weitreichende Blickwinkelstabilität. Die versprochene Reaktionszeit von 1ms (GtG) erreicht das Nano-IPS Panel zwar nicht, mit einer durchschnittlichen Reaktionszeit von 4ms ist es allerdings das derzeit schnellste IPS Panel auf dem Markt. Kleinere Schwächen gibt es beim Kontrast, der mit einem nachgemessenen Kontrastverhältnis von 732:1 etwas niedrig ausfällt.

8.4
Unsere Bewertung
9.0
Nutzerbewertung
22 ratings
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments