Reviews
0
Review

UMi Touch Test - Smartphone

by 13. May 2016

The UMi Touch is a mid-April 2016 released middle-class smartphone of the Chinese producer "UMi". The design is reminiscent of the well-known (former) flagship Meizu MX5, but what the much cheaper UMi Touch has to offer, we have looked at in the detailed test closer.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

UMi

Product

UMi Touch

Specifications

OS: Android 6.0 Marshmallow
Display: 5.5 inches Full HD; 2.5D Arc Corning Gorilla Glass 3
SoC: MTK6753 64bit Octa Core
RAM: 3GB RAM
Memory: 16GB
Camera: 5.0MP (Hynix HI553) + 13.0MP (Sony IMX 328)

Sensors: G-sensor, Glonass, P-sensor, L-sensor, accelerometer
Other: Front fingerprint scanner

SIM Cards: Dual SIM (Dual Micro SIM or 1 Micro SIM)
Network:
2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz
3G: 900 WCDMA / 2100MHz
4G: FDD-LTE 800 / 1800 / 2600MHz

Scope of delivery

1x UMi Touch
1x SIM pin
1x user manual
1x charger
1x USB cable

First impression of the UMi Touch

UMi surprises again and again with creative and visually appealing packaging, which is why the UMi Touch was also delivered in a modern cardboard box. In addition to the smartphone, the package included a SIM pin to open the SIM slot, an English manual, and a charger (5V 1A) and a USB data or charging cable included. A screen protector was already applied by the factory.

UMi Touch - Unboxing (Review Part 1) [German]

As indicated in the introduction, the backside design of the UMi Touch is very reminiscent of the Meizu MX5. Also, the UMi smartphone has a metal unibody back, which can not be removed in normal use. The upper and lower housing closure, however, consists of plastic. On the right edge of the case are the physical control buttons of the device. These amount to a power button and a volume rocker. Another physical button that also contains the fingerprint scanner is the Home button below the display. Next to it are two capacitive buttons. Above the display are the pinna, a proximity sensor, the 5 megapixel front camera and an additional LED flash. Connection options include a micro USB port for charging the smartphone and an 3.5mm audio output.

In the first hands-on I initially felt the UMi Touch as quite powerful. With a weight of well 200g, the new UMi smartphone is comparatively heavy. Despite the metal back, the smartphone sits well in the hand and leaves a valuable impression.

Regarding the processing, there are also some criticisms. Unfortunately, the Home button on my test device sits a bit diagonally in the front. In addition, the completion of the metal back is not processed properly. Here was my UMi Touch a small protruding gap, but only visually affected the device.

UMi Touch Smartphone - Review & Hands-On (Review Part 2) [German]

Display

The display of the UMi Touch has a diagonal of 5.5 inches. Installed is a Full HD display of an unspecified manufacturer, which dissolves with 1920 × 1080 pixels. The pixel density is 400 PPI. On the surface, the touch uses so-called 2.5D Curved Glass, which creates slightly rounded edges. The user manual for the UMi Touch also mentions Gorilla Glass 3 from Corning, which is particularly break-proof and scratch-resistant. To what extent that corresponds to the truth I could not understand. Particularly with UMi one should note that often hardly verifiable specifications are mentioned, which did not come true in the end.

The color representation of the display is good. The colors do not look too overdriven and are presented in a pleasant way. The viewing angle stability is also good. Colors will remain depending on how you tend to get the smartphone. Even the font remains legible from every angle. The maximum display brightness is average. In direct and strong sunlight, the display was barely readable.

For additional correction of the display presentation, there is the menu item "MiraVision". In addition to preset profiles, you can adjust the contrast, the saturation, the image brightness, but also the sharpness and color temperature, individually. The touch screen of the UMi Touch works accurately. Multitouch is supported with up to 5 fingers.

Performance

The UMi Touch uses a meanwhile older MediaTek MT6753. This octa-core processor clocks with a maximum of 1.5GHz and is additionally supported by 3GB RAM and a Mali-T720 GPU. The internal memory is 16GB and can be extended with a micro SD memory card to further 128GB. It should be noted, however, that a memory expansion is done via the SIM tray. Result of such a "hybrid slots" is that either the dual SIM function of the smartphone uses or gives a slot of the memory expansion.

The performance of the UMi Touch was convincing in the test. The MT6753 is still a solid processor that allows for a fluid user experience. Multitasking is no problem thanks to the 3GB RAM for the UMi Touch. Also with the Mali-T720 GPU can play games like "Asphalt 8", but one should give up for a liquid game enjoyment on too high graphics settings.

User Interface

The UMi Touch is the first UMi smartphone with the latest Android 6.0 Marshmallow. The user interface comes as an Android stick therefore. Themes or even third-party apps were not preinstalled. The settings have been expanded to include a gesture control and smart wake.

The gesture control works via the proximity sensor, which is located above the display. Various swipes can be combined with different actions that facilitate the usability of the smartphone.

The smart wake function allows the smartphone to be activated even when the display is switched off. If, for example, a "C" is drawn on the deactivated display, the camera app opens automatically.

Updates will be received OTA (Over The Air). Since the release in April 2016, the device has already received several updates, so you can only hope that UMi will continue to provide updates on this smartphone continue. The rumored shortly before the publication rumor that should run on the UMi Touch Windows 10 has not yet proven true.

Camera

The main camera of the smartphone dissolves with 13 megapixels. The image sensor used is a Sony IMX328, to which even Sony does not give a detailed description. The main camera is supported by a dual LED flash, which emits in different yellow tones to create a natural picture in the dark. For focusing, the device has an autofocus.

The image quality of the main camera can convince by color fastness. An image noise is barely perceptible, however, especially at close-ups, the edges were unevenly blurred. A criticism of the main camera, however, is the rather slow autofocus. Partially it took 8 to 10 seconds until the main camera of the UMi Touch automatically focused.

The front camera resolves with 5 megapixels. Again, the image sensor is named closer, which amounts to a hynix HI553. The pictures taken with the front camera are also good and suitable as viewable selfies. To my taste, the front camera could produce a bit more detail. The pictures often look like edited by a blur later.

The camera app is unspectacular. Here the conventional MediaTek camera app was used, which, however, contains only three recording modes. An interesting extension, however, is the filter mode, which allows the image to be edited on-the-fly.

Fingerprint scanner

The fingerprint scanner has been integrated into the physical home button on the UMi Touch. Unlocking the device via the scanner works fast. There were only false identifications in certain cases. You should put your finger quite flat on the sensor. Especially with the one-hand operation, in which I unlocked the smartphone with my thumb, it often came to misrecognitions, because my thumb was on the side of the scanner.

Telephony, WLAN, Bluetooth

Telephoning works quite well with the UMi Touch. Both my interlocutor understood me well, as well as I understood him clearly. For network coverage the UMi Touch supports all common 2G, 3G and 4G standards.

The speaker was convincing both in the handsfree function, but also in the playback of music. The sound was a bit dull, but the maximum volume was considerable. A scratching of the speaker did not occur at maximum volume.

According to UMi, the WiFi protocols 802.11 a / b / g / n 2.4GHz / 5GHz are supported. In the 5GHz network of my router, the UMi Touch but did not want to book. Even different settings on the router did not succeed. The stability and range over the 2.4GHz network was good, though.

The Bluetooth 4.1 module of the device also does a good job. A hands-free device and an external Bluetooth speaker were immediately recognized in the test and also the connection stability was convincing.

GPS and sensors

The GPS fix was done quickly. On a cross-country trip, the signal was consistently stable, within the city canyons, the signal was not quite so accurate, but I was able to navigate safely with the UMi Touch. An e-compass is unfortunately not available with this smartphone.

Other sensors include a gyroscope, a proximity sensor, a brightness sensor and an acceleration sensor.

Accumulator

The battery of the UMi Touch has a capacity of 4000mAh (according to the manufacturer). In the test with a USB multimeter I was able to understand this value as far as possible. With intensive use I had to charge the smartphone inevitably in the evening. With normal usage, 2 days work well. In standby, however, the touch consumes very little energy.

Unfortunately, the UMi Touch does not have a quick charge function. A complete charge thus takes about 3 ½ hours.

Final Words

Positive

►Good display
►Good picture and video quality
►Fast fingerprint scanner
►Good performance with Android 6
►Design
►Long-lasting battery

Negative

►Second home button
►Unfortunately processed back side
►Very slower autofocus

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.0
-
application
3.5
-
Design
8.0
-
Display
8.5
-
Performance
8.5
-
User Interface
8.5
-
Camera
8.0
-
Fingerprint scanner
7.5
-
connectivity
8.5
-
GPS & sensors
7.5
-
Audio
8.0
-
Accumulator
7.0
-
Summary

With the UMi Touch, the often-criticized manufacturer has finally brought back a decent low-budget smartphone that lives up to its price. The performance is good and the other features of the smartphone was convincing in the review. However, the processing of the device is worthy of improvement. A crooked home button and an inaccurately processed back are visually a damper.

7.6
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Reviews
0
Review

UMi Touch Test – Smartphone

by 13. Mai 2016
Das UMi Touch ist ein Mitte April 2016 erschienenes Mittelklasse Smartphone des chinesischen Produzenten „UMi“. Das Design erinnert weitestgehend an das bekannte (damalige) Flaggschiff Meizu MX5, doch was das weitaus preiswertere UMi Touch zu bieten hat, haben wir uns im ausfĂŒhrlichen Test nĂ€her angesehen.
Überblick
Hersteller

UMi

Produktbezeichnung

UMi Touch

Spezifikationen

OS: Android 6.0 Marshmallow
Display: 5.5 Zoll Full HD; 2.5D Arc Corning Gorilla Glass 3
SoC: MTK6753 64bit Octa Core
RAM: 3GB RAM
Speicher: 16GB
Kamera: 5.0MP (Hynix HI553) + 13.0MP (Sony IMX 328)

Sensoren: G- Sensor, Glonass, P- Sensor, L-Sensor, Accelerometer
Sonstige: Front Fingerabdruckscanner

SIM-Karten: Dual SIM ( Dual Micro SIM oder 1 Micro SIM)
Netz:
2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz
3G: WCDMA 900/2100MHz
4G: FDD-LTE 800/1800/2600MHz

Lieferumfang

1x UMi Touch
1x SIM-Pin
1x Bedienungsanleitung
1x LadegerÀt
1x USB Kabel

Erster Eindruck zum UMi Touch

UMi ĂŒberrascht immer wieder aufs Neue mit kreativen und optisch ansprechenden Verpackungen, weshalb auch das UMi Touch in einem modernen Pappkarton geliefert wurde. Neben dem Smartphone waren im Lieferumfang noch ein SIM-Pin zum Öffnen des SIM-Slots, eine englischsprachige Bedienungsanleitung, sowie ein LadegerĂ€t (5V 1A) und ein USB Daten- bzw. Ladekabel, enthalten. Eine Displayschutzfolie war bereits von Werk aus aufgetragen.

UMi Touch - Unboxing (Testbericht Teil 1) [Deutsch / German]

Wie bereits in der Einleitung angedeutet, erinnert das rĂŒckseitige Design des UMi Touch sehr stark an das Meizu MX5. Auch das UMi Smartphone besitzt eine metallene Unibody RĂŒckseite, die sich bei ĂŒblichem Gebrauch nicht abnehmen lĂ€sst. Der obere und untere GehĂ€useabschluss besteht hingegen aus Kunststoff. Am rechten GehĂ€userand befinden sich die physischen Bedientasten des GerĂ€tes. Diese belaufen sich auf eine Power-Taste und eine LautstĂ€rkewippe. Eine weitere physische Bedientaste, die zugleich den Fingerabdruckscanner beinhaltet, ist die Home-Taste unterhalb des Displays. Daneben befinden zwei kapazitive Tasten. Oberhalb des Displays befinden sich die Ohrmuschel, ein NĂ€herungssensor, die 5 Megapixel Frontkamera und ein zusĂ€tzlicher LED Blitz. Anschlussmöglichkeiten sind ein micro USB Anschluss zum Laden des Smartphones und ein 3.5mm Audioausgang.

Im ersten Hands-On empfand ich das UMi Touch zunĂ€chst als recht wuchtig. Mit einem Gewicht von gut 200g ist das neue UMi Smartphone vergleichsweise schwer. Trotz der metallenen RĂŒckseite liegt das Smartphone gut in der Hand und hinterlĂ€sst einen wertigen Eindruck.

Hinsichtlich der Verarbeitung gibt es aber auch einige Kritikpunkte. Die Home-Taste sitzt bei meinem TestgerĂ€t leider etwas schrĂ€g in der Front. ZusĂ€tzlich ist der Abschluss der metallenen RĂŒckseite nicht sauber verarbeitet. Hier hatte mein UMi Touch einen kleinen abstehenden Spalt, der sich allerdings nur optisch auf das GerĂ€t auswirkte.

UMi Touch Smartphone - Review & Hands-On (Testbericht Teil 2) [Deutsch / German]

Display

Das Display des UMi Touch besitzt eine Diagonale von 5.5 Zoll. Verbaut ist ein Full HD Display eines nicht nĂ€her benannten Herstellers, das mit 1920x1080 Pixel auflöst. Die Pixeldichte betrĂ€gt 400 PPI. OberflĂ€chlich nutzt das Touch so genanntes 2.5D Curved Glass, das optisch leicht abgerundete Kanten erzeugt. In der Bedienungsanleitung des UMi Touch wird zudem Gorilla Glass 3 von Corning benannt, das besonders bruchsicher und kratzresistent ist. Inwiefern das der Wahrheit entspricht konnte ich nicht nachvollziehen. Gerade bei UMi sollte man beachten, dass oftmals kaum ĂŒberprĂŒfbare Spezifikationen genannt werden, die sich letztendlich nicht bewahrheitet haben.

Die Farbdarstellung des Displays ist gut. Die Farben wirken nicht zu ĂŒbersteuert und werden auf angenehme Art und Weise dargestellt. Die BlickwinkelstabilitĂ€t ist ebenfalls gut. Farben bleiben je nachdem wie man das Smartphone neigt erhalten. Auch die Schrift bleibt aus jedem Blickwinkel gut lesbar. Die maximale Displayhelligkeit ist durchschnittlich. Bei direkter und starker Sonneneinstrahlung war das Display kaum mehr ablesbar.

Zur zusĂ€tzlichen Korrektur der Displaydarstellung gibt es den MenĂŒpunkt „MiraVision“. Neben vorgegebenen Profilen kann man den Kontrast, die SĂ€ttigung, die Bildhelligkeit, aber auch die SchĂ€rfe und Farbtemperatur, individuell einstellen. Der Touchscreen des UMi Touch arbeitet akkurat. Multitouch wird mit bis zu 5 Fingern unterstĂŒtzt.

Leistung

Im UMi Touch arbeitet ein mittlerweile etwas Ă€lterer MediaTek MT6753. Dieser Octa-Core Prozessor taktet mit maximal 1.5GHz und wird zusĂ€tzlich durch 3GB RAM und eine Mali-T720 GPU unterstĂŒtzt. Der interne Speicher betrĂ€gt 16GB und kann zusĂ€tzlich mit einer micro SD-Speicherkarte um weitere 128GB erweitert werden. Man sollte allerdings beachten, dass eine Speichererweiterung ĂŒber den SIM-Tray erfolgt. Folge eines solchen „Hybrid-Slots“ ist, dass man entweder die Dual-SIM Funktion des Smartphones nutzt oder einen Slot der Speichererweiterung hergibt.

Die Leistung des UMi Touch konnte im Test ĂŒberzeugen. Der MT6753 ist immer noch ein solider Prozessor, der ein flĂŒssiges Nutzererlebnis erlaubt. Multitasking ist dank der 3GB RAM fĂŒr das UMi Touch kein Problem. Auch mit der Mali-T720 GPU lassen sich Spiele wie „Asphalt 8“ spielen, doch sollte man fĂŒr einen flĂŒssigen Spielegenuss auf allzu hohe Grafikeinstellungen verzichten.

BenutzeroberflÀche

Das UMi Touch ist das erste UMi Smartphone mit dem aktuellen Android 6.0 Marshmallow. Die BenutzeroberflÀche kommt als Stock Android daher. Themes oder gar Drittanbieter-Apps waren keine vorinstalliert. Die Einstellungen wurden zusÀtzlich um eine Gestensteuerung und Smart Wake erweitert.

Die Gestensteuerung funktioniert ĂŒber den NĂ€herungssensor, der sich oberhalb des Displays befindet. Verschiedenen Wischbewegungen lassen sich mit unterschiedlichen Aktionen verknĂŒpfen, die die Bedienbarkeit des Smartphones erleichtern.

Über die Smart Wake Funktion lĂ€sst sich das Smartphone auch bei ausgeschaltetem Display ansprechen. Zeichnet man beispielsweise ein „C“ auf das ausgeschaltete Display, öffnet sich automatisch die Kamera-App.

Updates werden OTA (Over The Air) empfangen. Seit der Veröffentlichung im April 2016 hat das GerĂ€t bereits mehrere Updates erhalten, weshalb man nur hoffen kann, dass UMi bei diesem Smartphone auch weiterhin regelmĂ€ĂŸige Updates nachreichen wird. Das kurz vor der Veröffentlichung gestreute GerĂŒcht, dass auf dem UMi Touch Windows 10 laufen soll hat sich bisher nicht bewahrheitet.

Kamera

Die Hauptkamera des Smartphones löst mit 13 Megapixel auf. Beim verwendeten Bildsensor handelt es sich um einen Sony IMX328, zu dem es selbst von Sony keine nĂ€here Beschreibung gibt. UnterstĂŒtzt wird die Hauptkamera durch einen dualen LED Blitz, der in unterschiedlichen Gelbtönen auslöst, um auch im Dunkeln ein natĂŒrliches Bild zu erzeugen. Zur Fokussierung besitzt das GerĂ€t einen Autofokus.

Die BildqualitĂ€t der Hauptkamera kann durch Farbechtheit ĂŒberzeugen. Ein Bildrauschen ist kaum wahrnehmbar, allerdings waren gerade bei Nahaufnahmen die RĂ€nder ungleichmĂ€ĂŸig verschwommen. Ein Kritikpunkt der Hauptkamera ist jedoch der recht langsame Autofokus. Teilweise dauerte es 8 bis 10 Sekunden bis die Hauptkamera des UMi Touch automatisch fokussierte.

Die Frontkamera löst mit 5 Megapixel auf. Auch hier wird der Bildsensor nÀher benannt, welcher sich auf einen hynix HI553 belÀuft. Auch die mit der Frontkamera geschossenen Bilder sind gut und eignen sich als ansehbare Selfies. Meinem Geschmack nach könnte die Frontkamera allerdings etwas mehr Details erzeugen. Die Bilder wirken vielfach wie von einem Weichzeichner nachtrÀglich bearbeitet.

Die Kamera-App ist unspektakulĂ€r. Hier wurde die herkömmliche MediaTek Kamera-App verwendet, die allerdings nur drei Aufnahme-Modi beinhaltet. Eine interessante Erweiterung ist jedoch der Filter Modus, mit dem sich das Bild „on-the-fly“ bearbeiten lĂ€sst.

Fingerabdruckscanner

Der Fingerabdruckscanner wurde beim UMi Touch in die physische Home-Taste integriert. Das Entsperren des GerĂ€tes ĂŒber den Scanner funktioniert fix. Fehlerkennungen gab es nur in bestimmten FĂ€llen. Man sollte den Finger recht flach auf den Sensor legen. Gerade bei der Einhandbedienung, bei der ich das Smartphone mit dem Daumen entsperrte, kam es öfters zu Fehlerkennungen, weil mein Daumen seitlich auf dem Scanner lag.

Telefonie, WLAN, Bluetooth

Telefonieren klappt mit dem UMi Touch recht gut. Sowohl mein GesprĂ€chspartner hat mich gut verstanden, als auch habe ich ihn klar und deutlich verstanden. Zur Netzabdeckung unterstĂŒtzt das UMi Touch alle gĂ€ngigen 2G, 3G und 4G Standards.

Der Lautsprecher konnte sowohl bei der Freisprechfunktion, aber auch bei der Wiedergabe von Musik ĂŒberzeugen. Der Klang war zwar etwas dumpf, aber die maximale LautstĂ€rke hingegen beachtlich. Ein Kratzen des Lautsprechers trat auf maximaler LautstĂ€rke nicht auf.

Laut UMi werden die WiFi Protokolle 802.11 a/b/g/n 2.4GHz/5GHz unterstĂŒtzt. In das 5GHz Netz meines Routers wollte sich das UMi Touch allerdings nicht einbuchen. Selbst unterschiedliche Einstellungen am Router brachten keinen Erfolg. Die StabilitĂ€t und Reichweite ĂŒber das 2.4GHz Netz war allerdings gut.

Auch das Bluetooth 4.1 Modul des GerĂ€tes verrichtet eine ordentliche Arbeit. Eine Freisprecheinrichtung und ein externer Bluetooth Lautsprecher wurden im Test sofort erkannt und auch die VerbindungsstabilitĂ€t hat ĂŒberzeugt.

GPS und Sensoren

Der GPS Fix erfolgte zĂŒgig. Bei einer Überlandfahrt war das Signal durchweg stabil, innerhalb der HĂ€userschluchten einer Stadt, war das Signal zwar nicht mehr ganz so akkurat, jedoch konnte ich mit dem UMi Touch sicher navigieren. Ein E-Kompass ist bei diesem Smartphone leider nicht vorhanden.

Weitere Sensoren sind ein Gyroskop, ein NĂ€herungssensor, ein Helligkeitssensor und ein Beschleunigungssensor.

Akku

Der Akku des UMi Touch besitzt eine KapazitĂ€t von 4000mAh (laut Hersteller). Im Test mit einem USB Multimeter konnte ich diesen Wert auch weitestgehend nachvollziehen. Bei intensiver Nutzung musste ich das Smartphone zwangslĂ€ufig am Abend aufladen. Bei normaler Nutzung kommt man gut 2 Tage ĂŒber die Runden. Im Standby hingegen verbraucht das Touch nur sehr wenig Energie.

Leider besitzt das UMi Touch keine Schnellladefunktion. Ein kompletter Ladevorgang dauert somit ungefĂ€hr 3 Âœ Stunden.

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Gutes Display
Gute Bild- und VideoqualitÀt
Schneller Fingerabdruckscanner
Gute Performance mit Android 6
Design
Langanhaltender Akku

Negativ

Schief sitzende Home-Taste
Unschön verarbeitete RĂŒckseite
Sehr langsamer Autofokus

Erster Eindruck
8.0
Verarbeitung
3.5
Design
8.0
Display
8.5
Leistung
8.5
BenutzeroberflÀche
8.5
Kamera
8.0
Fingerabdruckscanner
7.5
KonnektivitÀt
8.5
GPS & Sensoren
7.5
Audio
8.0
Akku
7.0
Fazit

Mit dem UMi Touch hat der oftmals kritisierte Hersteller endlich wieder ein ordentliches Low Budget Smartphone auf den Markt gebracht, das seinem Preis allemal gerecht wird. Die Performance ist gut und auch die sonstige Ausstattung des Smartphones konnte im Review ĂŒberzeugen. VerbesserungswĂŒrdig ist allerdings die Verarbeitung des GerĂ€tes. Eine schief sitzende Home-Taste und eine ungenau verarbeitete RĂŒckseite sind vor allem optisch ein DĂ€mpfer.

7.6
Unsere Bewertung
Nutzerbewertung
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar