Reviews
0
Review

UWatch U8 Smartwatch Test

by 1. December 2015
Smartwatches are in full swing with 2015 and so the market is literally flooded. Even the big manufacturers are involved, but at prices from 180 € upwards you should consider 2x, if you really need such a gadget. The UWatch U8, however, already exists from about 20 €. What you get offered for this price, I have looked closer.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

U Watch (Hong Kong) Co., Limited

Product

UWatch U8

Specifications

Display: 1.44 inches, 128x128 pixels
SoC: MTK6260
Bluetooth version: Bluetooth V3.0 + EDR
Bluetooth protocol: HFP 1.5, A2DP + HS P 1.2
Power supply: built-in 230mAh battery
Size: 40x47x9.9mm

Review of UWatch U8 Smartwatch

Overview of UWatch U8

Was delivered the UWatch U8 in a well-padded cardboard box. Included in the delivery were also a USB data or charging cable, a small tool with which you can remove the bracelet of the clock, as well as a manual in English and Chinese. A screen protector was already on the display of the U8.

The UWatch U8 is well-made for the low price. The watch case (40x47x9.9mm) is made of plastic, whereas the back is made of a thin metal plate. On the side of the case are a power button, the small micro USB port hiding behind a rubber cap, and a small speaker and a microphone. The back can not be removed, which means you can not replace the 230mAh battery. The UWatch U8 does not have a SIM card slot!

UWatch U8 Smartwatch - Hands-On | Unboxing | Review

The black silicone bracelet makes a solid impression and is also adjustable in size. Incidentally, I could not notice an unpleasant rubber smell.

The touch display of the UWatch U8 is 1.44 inches tall and has a resolution of 128x128 pixels. There are 3 capacitive buttons below the display, which facilitate menu navigation. Unfortunately, the screen protector that was already glued on was not carefully glued on, which is why there was a small speck of dust under the film that disturbed the appearance.

commissioning

If the battery is charged, which also happens quite quickly, you can turn the clock on. To be able to use the watch as a smartwatch you first have to download an app on your smartphone. For this purpose, a QR code appears on the clock that you have to scan with the smartphone to finally get the link to the app. The app is not available in the official App Store! Also, you have to give the app rights to the notification view, so that, for example, received SMS can be forwarded to the smartwatch.
If the UWatch U8 is connected to the smartphone via Bluetooth, you can make initial settings or start apps within the clock.

Features

  • Watch Faces: Overall, there are 4 Watch Faces to choose from. These are 2 Analogs and 2 Digital Watch Faces. Additional watch faces can not be downloaded or installed or modified.
  • Menu design: You can choose between 3 designs, which changes the appearance of the menu icons.
  • Find Phone: Missing his smartphone, this app can help. If you click on the small play button on the smartwatch, a shrill tone sounds on the smartphone.
  • Phonebook: allows you to view your phonebook and make a call from your smartphone.
  • dialing: Allows you to dial a phone number through a small ad on the watch. The call is made via the smartphone.
  • MessagingWith this app you have access to all received and sent SMS.
  • call management: Call management allows you to view all calls made.
  • Music: Music can be played directly from the smartwatch. The music is sent via Bluetooth from the smartphone to the smartwatch.
  • camera: With this app you can start the camera of the smartphone and even gets a live picture on the watch. Pictures can also be taken directly from the Smatwatch.
  • Anti-Lost: If the Bluetooth connection between the smartphone and smartwatch is interrupted, a signal sounds on the watch.
  • Barometer: Displays the air pressure and the temperature.
  • altimeter: Height above a reference surface (unfortunately did not work for me)
  • Pedometer: A pedometer that also allows you to set the stride length and body weight manually.
  • stopwatch: Stopwatch without multiple timekeeping!

App

Among other things, you can synchronize the pedometer or activate a sleep monitor within the app. The app is also used to transfer the notifications from the smartphone to the smartwatch. Unfortunately, you have to download the app from a Chinese server. There is an alternative in the Google Play Store! (Link to the alternative)

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

Buy geekbuying
10-30 working days
9,89€
Gearbest
10-30 working days
10,53€
Amazon
1-5 working days
17,11€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: April 5st, 2020 14:02

Final Words

rating
Positive

Numerous gadgets
Android and iOS compatible
Transfer of all notifications

Negative

Cheap processing
Battery not changeable
Bad battery performance
Bad display resolution
Altimeter doesn't work

First impression
7.0
-
Design
7.0
-
Display
5.0
-
connectivity
7.0
-
everyday practicality
7.5
-
Battery life
5.0
-
Summary

For the low price, the UWatch U8 is an interesting gadget. Although you do not get a full-featured smartwatch here, the functions are numerous. Of course, the clock does not have its own SIM slot or even an HD display. Also, the battery does not last too long. The barometer is partially inaccurate and the altimeter has not worked properly with me. However, what works well is the pedometer, as well as the transmission of notifications. If, for example, I get a WhatsApp message, I do not always have to scramble out my smartphone, but I see the entire message content on the smartwatch. However, you can not respond to the received messages. In terms of price / performance, the UWatch U8 is a nice gadget, but by no means comparable to a real smartwatch.

6.4
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar

Reviews
0
Review

UWatch U8 Smartwatch Test

by 1. Dezember 2015

Smartwatches liegen 2015 voll im Trend und so wird der Markt regelrecht überflutet. Auch die großen Hersteller sind mit von der Partie, jedoch bei Preisen von 180€ aufwärts sollte man sich 2x überlegen, ob man so ein Gadget wirklich braucht. Die UWatch U8 hingegen gibt es bereits ab ca. 20€. Was man für diesen Preis geboten bekommt, habe ich mir näher angesehen.

Überblick
Hersteller

U Watch(Hongkong)Co.,Limited

Produktbezeichnung

UWatch U8

Spezifikationen

Display: 1.44 Zoll, 128x128 Pixel
SoC: MTK6260
Bluetooth-Version: Bluetooth V3.0 + EDR
Bluetooth-Protokoll: HFP 1.5, A2DP + HS P 1.2
Stromversorgung: eingebauter 230mAh Akku
Größe: 40x47x9.9mm

Testbericht zur UWatch U8 Smartwatch

Überblick zur UWatch U8

Geliefert wurde die UWatch U8 in einer gut gepolsterten Pappschachtel. Im Lieferumfang enthalten waren zudem noch ein USB Daten bzw. Ladekabel, ein kleines Werkzeug mit dem man das Armband der Uhr entfernen kann, sowie eine Betriebsanleitung in Englisch und Chinesisch. Eine Displayschutzfolie befand sich bereits auf dem Display der U8.

Die UWatch U8 ist für den geringen Preis gut verarbeitet. Das Uhrengehäuse (40x47x9.9mm) besteht aus Plastik, wohingegen die Rückseite aus einer dünnen Metallplatte besteht. Seitlich am Gehäuse befinden sich ein Einschaltknopf, der kleine micro USB Anschluss der sich hinter einer Gummikappe verbirgt, sowie ein kleiner Lautsprecher und ein Mikrofon. Die Rückseite lässt sich nicht abnehmen, wodurch man auch den 230mAh Akku nicht austauschen kann. Über einen SIM Kartenslot verfügt die UWatch U8 nicht!

UWatch U8 Smartwatch – Hands-On | Unboxing | Review

Das schwarze Silikonarmband macht einen soliden Eindruck und ist zudem größenverstellbar. Einen unangenehmen Gummigeruch konnte ich übrigens nicht wahrnehmen.

Das Touch-Display der UWatch U8 ist 1.44 Zoll groß und besitzt eine Auflösung von 128×128 Pixel. Unterhalb des Displays befinden sich 3 kapazitive Tasten, welche die Menüführung erleichtern. Leider war die bereits aufgeklebte Displayschutzfolie nicht sorgfältig aufgeklebt, weshalb sich ein kleines Staubkorn unter der Folie befand, das die Optik doch etwas störte.

Inbetriebnahme

Ist der Akku aufgeladen, was auch recht zügig vonstattengeht, kann man die Uhr einschalten. Um die Uhr als Smartwatch verwenden zu können muss man sich zunächst noch eine App auf sein Smartphone herunterladen. Hierzu erscheint auf der Uhr ein QR Code den man mit dem Smartphone einscannen muss um schließlich den Link zur App zu erhalten. Die App gibt es nicht im offiziellen App Store! Auch muss man der App Rechte zur Benachrichtigungseinsicht geben, damit beispielsweise empfangene SMS an die Smartwatch weitergeleitet werden können.
Ist die UWatch U8 über Bluetooth mit dem Smartphone verbunden, kann man innerhalb der Uhr erste Einstellungen vornehmen oder Apps starten.

Funktionen

  • Watch Faces: Insgesamt stehen 4 Watch Faces zur Auswahl. Dabei handelt es sich um 2 Analoge und 2 Digitale Watch Faces. Zusätzliche Watch Faces lassen sich nicht herunterladen und auch nicht installieren bzw. verändern.
  • Menü Design: Man kann zwischen 3 Designs wählen, wodurch die Menü-Icons bezüglich des Aussehens verändert werden.
  • Find Phone: Vermisst man sein Smartphone kann diese App helfen. Klickt man die kleine Play Taste auf der Smartwatch ertönt ein schriller Ton auf dem Smartphone.
  • Telefonbuch: Hiermit kann man sein Telefonbuch einsehen und einen Anruf über das Smartphone tätigen.
  • Rufnummernwahl: Hiermit kann man über eine kleine Anzeige auf der Smartwatch eine Telefonnummer wählen. Der Anruf erfolgt über das Smartphone.
  • Messaging: Mit dieser App hat man Einsicht in alle empfangenen und gesendeten SMS.
  • Anrufverwaltung: Die Anrufverwaltung ermöglicht eine Einsicht zu allen getätigten Anrufen.
  • Music: Musik lässt sich direkt über die Smartwatch abspielen. Die Music wird dabei über Bluetooth vom Smartphone zur Smartwatch gesendet.
  • Kamera: Mit dieser App kann man die Kamera des Smartphones starten und bekommt sogar ein live Bild auf der Smartwatch ausgegeben. Bilder lassen sich ebenfalls direkt über die Smatwatch aufnehmen.
  • Anti-Lost: Wird die Bluetooth Verbindung zwischen Smartphone und Smartwatch unterbrochen, ertönt ein Signal auf der Smartwatch.
  • Barometer: Zeigt den Luftdruck und die Temperatur an.
  • Höhenmesser: Höhe über einer Referenzfläche (hat bei mir leider nicht funktioniert)
  • Schrittzähler: Ein Schrittzähler, bei dem man auch die Schrittlänge und das Körpergewicht manuell einstellen kann.
  • Stoppuhr: Stoppuhr ohne multiple Zeitmessung!

App

Innerhalb der App kann man unter anderem den Schrittzähler synchronisieren oder aber auch einen Schlaf Monitor aktivieren. Die App dient ebenfalls zur Übertragung der Benachrichtigungen vom Smartphone zur Smartwatch. Leider muss man die App von einem chinesischen Server herunterladen. Eine Alternative gibt es aber im Google Play Store! (Link zur Alternative)

Preisvergleich

Preisvergleich - Angebot bei GearBest kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
10,07€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Geekbuying kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
6,15€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Amazon kaufen
Versand Versand aus Deutschland
12,88€
Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 15. Dezember 2018 22:04

Positiv

►Zahlreiche Spielereien
►Android und iOS kompatibel
►Übertragung von allen Notifications

Negativ

►Billige Verarbeitung
►Akku nicht wechselbar
►Schlechte Akkuleistung
►Schlechte Displayauflösung
►Höhenmesser funktioniert nicht

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
7.0
Design
7.0
Display
5.0
Konnektivität
7.0
Alltagstauglichkeit
7.5
Akkulaufzeit
5.0
Fazit

Für den geringen Preis ist die UWatch U8 ein interessantes Gadget. Zwar bekommt man hier keine vollwertige Smartwatch gebotenen, doch die Funktionen sind zahlreich. Einen eigenen SIM Slot oder gar ein HD Display besitzt die Uhr natürlich nicht. Auch hält der Akku nicht allzu lange. Das Barometer ist teilweise ungenau und auch der Höhenmesser hat bei mir nicht richtig funktioniert. Was jedoch gut funktioniert ist der Schrittzähler, als auch die Übertragung der Benachrichtigungen. Erreicht mich beispielsweise eine WhatsApp Nachricht muss ich nicht immer das Smartphone hervorkramen sondern bekomme den gesamten Nachrichteninhalt auf der Smartwatch angezeigt. Antworten kann man allerdings nicht auf die empfangenen Nachrichten. Preis-/Leistungstechnisch betrachtet ist die UWatch U8 ein nettes Gadget, das allerdings keinesfalls mit einer richtigen Smartwatch verglichen werden kann.

6.4
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
  Subscribe  
Benachrichtigung