News
0

Xiaomi MiReader on the march!

by Timo19. November 2019

Xiaomi's product portfolio continues to grow! Under the sub-brand "MIJIA", the Chinese electronics giant publishes the "MiReader", an eBook reader that has a lot to offer for the equivalent of € 77 €. In addition to an 6 inch E-Ink display, the compact reader will use Android 8.1 as operating system and also provide access to a cloud library. More about this in the post.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Xiaomi

Product

MIReader

Specifications

Processor and memory
CPU: Allwinner B300 SoC
RAM: 1GB
Internal memory: 16GB
Memory extension: no

Display
Display diagonal: 6 inches
Display resolution: 221 PPI
Display Type: E-Ink

Software
Operating system: Android 8.1
formats:
* TXT
* EPUB
* PDF
* MOBI
* WPS Office

connectivity
WiFi: 2.4 GHz
Bluetooth: 4.0

Accumulator
Capacity 1800 mAh
Charging socket: USB-C

other
Size: 159 116 x x 8.3 mm
Weight: 178g

Xiaomi eBook Reader

Handy design

For the first time Xiaomi ventures to an e-book reader with e-ink display. The MiReader is a compact 6 inch eBook reader that is very similar in design and functionality to Amazon's Kindle. The dimensions of MiReader are handy 159 x 116 x 8.3 mm, With a weight of 178g.

Xiaomi MiReader in the test

High-resolution e-ink display

The energy-saving E-Ink display achieved High-resolution 221 PPI and thus places itself between you Kindle 2019 (167 PPI) and a Kindle Paperwhite (300 PPI), A special feature of the display is the LED backlight, in the 24 brightness levels is customizable. This makes it possible to use Xiaomi's eBook Reader even at night without an additional light source. Incidentally, the display can also be adapted to other preferences. You can adjust, among others, the Contrast and font size.

Allwinner B300 system

Under the hood, the specially developed for eBook Reader works Allwinner B300 system-on-chip, Supports the quad-core processor (4x Cortex-A7 1.8 GHz) 1GB memory and 16GB data storage to the side. In comparison, a Kindle 2019 comes on only 512MB memory and 4GB data storage. The possibility to expand the memory additionally by MicroSD memory card does not exist. However, considering that traditional eBooks only use 3-10MB, 16GB data storage should be sufficient, even during intensive use.

Xiaomi e-reader in handy design and e-ink display

Other hardware features include the support of 2.4 GHz WiFi and Bluetooth 4.0, One battery charge of 1800 mAh large batteries should allow, according to Xiaomi a running time of several weeks. The MiReader is loaded over the current one USB-C standard.

Android 8.1 with WPS support

On the software side, the miReader relies on Android 8.1, Even if the reader appears exclusively in the Chinese market, hobby developers will certainly find a way to make the MiReader tasty for the global user. After all, Android is completely independent of the localization, compatible with all Android apps.

Buy Xiaomi eBook Reader for the converted 77 €

The release is the eBook Reader with books in the format TXT, EPUB, PDF and MOBI, Interesting is the integration of WPS Officeso that even Excel, Word and PowerPoint documents are readable. Users with WeChat or Xiaomi Account can share their books and documents directly with each Cloud offerings synchronize.

assessment

For converted 77 € The Xiaomi eBook Reader will be released in China. Despite better features, the MiReader would even be cheaper than Amazon's current Kindle model. And that even without annoying advertising!

Especially interesting is the Android 8.1 operating system. This not only offers versatile uses, but also lets hope that the eBook reader in this country in one Global version will appear. After all, Xiaomi is very interested in also conquering the European market! Nevertheless, an import could be worthwhile. It remains to be seen whether the operating system will offer a purely Chinese or at least English voice output.

As soon as further information follows or a test copy reaches us, follow the info / the test at this point!

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

News
0

Xiaomi MiReader im Anmarsch!

by Timo19. November 2019

Xiaomis Produktportfolio wächst weiter! Unter der Submarke "MIJIA" veröffentlicht der chinesische Elektronikriese den "MiReader", einen eBook Reader, der für umgerechnet 77€ einiges zu bieten hat. Neben einem 6 Zoll E-Ink Display soll der kompakte Reader Android 8.1 als Betriebssystem nutzen und auch Zugriff auf eine Cloud-Bibliothek bieten. Mehr dazu im Beitrag.

Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Produktbezeichnung

MiReader

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Allwinner B300 SoC
RAM: 1GB
Interner Speicher: 16GB
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Display
Displaydiagonale: 6 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 221 PPI
Displaytyp: E-Ink

Software
Betriebssystem: Android 8.1
Formate:
*TXT
*EPUB
*PDF
*MOBI
*WPS Office

Konnektivität
WiFi: 2.4 GHz
Bluetooth: 4.0

Akku
Kapazität 1800 mAh
Ladebuchse: USB-C

Sonstige
Größe: 159 x 116 x 8.3 mm
Gewicht: 178g

Xiaomi eBook Reader

Handliches Design

Erstmals wagt sich Xiaomi an einen eBook Reader mit E-Ink Display. Der MiReader ist ein kompakter 6 Zoll eBook Reader der in Sachen Design und Funktionalität sehr stark an Amazons Kindle angelehnt ist. Die Maße des MiReader betragen handliche 159 x 116 x 8.3 mm, bei einem Gewicht von 178g.

Xiaomi MiReader im Test

Hochauflösendes E-Ink Display

Das energiesparende E-Ink Display erreicht hochauflösende 221 PPI und platziert sich somit zwischen einem Kindle 2019 (167 PPI) und einem Kindle Paperwhite (300 PPI). Eine Besonderheit des Displays ist die LED-Hintergrundbeleuchtung, die in 24 Helligkeitsstufen anpassbar ist. Damit lässt sich Xiaomis eBook Reader auch bei Nacht ohne zusätzliche Lichtquelle nutzen. Übrigens kann das Display auch nach sonstigen Vorlieben angepasst werden. Einstellen lassen sich unter anderem der Kontrast und die Schriftgröße.

Allwinner B300 System

Unter der Haube werkelt das speziell für eBook Reader entwickelte Allwinner B300 System-on-Chip. Unterstützend stehen dem Quad-Core Prozessor (4x Cortex-A7 1.8 GHz) 1GB Arbeitsspeicher und 16GB Datenspeicher zur Seite. Im Vergleich dazu kommt ein Kindle 2019 auf lediglich 512MB Arbeitsspeicher und 4GB Datenspeicher. Die Möglichkeit den Speicher zusätzlich per MicroSD-Speicherkarte zu erweitern gibt es nicht. Bedenkt man allerdings, dass herkömmliche eBooks lediglich 3-10MB einnehmen, sollten 16GB Datenspeicher selbst bei intensiver Nutzung ausreichend sein.

Xiaomi E-Reader im handlichen Design und E-Ink Display

Zu den weiteren Hardwaremerkmalen zählt die Unterstützung von 2.4 GHz WiFi und Bluetooth 4.0. Eine Akkuladung des 1800 mAh großen Akkus soll laut Xiaomi eine Laufzeit von mehreren Wochen ermöglichen. Geladen wird der MiReader über den aktuellen USB-C Standard.

Android 8.1 mit WPS Unterstützung

Softwareseitig verlässt sich der MiReader auf Android 8.1. Selbst wenn der Reader ausschließlich auf dem chinesischen Markt erscheint, werden Hobby-Entwickler sicherlich einen Weg finden, den MiReader dem globalen Nutzer schmackhaft zu machen. Immerhin ist Android, völlig unabhängig von der Lokalisierung, zu sämtlichen Android Apps kompatibel.

Xiaomi eBook Reader für umgerechnet 77€ kaufen

Zum Release versteht sich der eBook Reader mit Büchern im Format TXT, EPUB, PDF und MOBI. Interessant ist die Integration von WPS Office, sodass auch Excel, Word und PowerPoint Dokumente lesbar sind. Nutzer mit WeChat oder Xiaomi Account können ihre Bücher und Dokumente direkt mit den jeweiligen Cloud-Angeboten synchronisieren.

Einschätzung

Für umgerechnet 77€ wird der Xiaomi eBook Reader in China erscheinen. Trotz besserer Ausstattung wäre der MiReader damit sogar günstiger als Amazons aktuelles Kindle-Modell. Und das sogar ohne nervige Werbung!

Besonders interessant ist das Android 8.1 Betriebssystem. Dieses bietet nicht nur vielseitige Nutzungsmöglichkeiten, sondern lässt hoffen, dass der eBook Reader auch hierzulande in einer Global-Version erscheinen wird. Immerhin ist Xiaomi sehr daran interessiert auch den europäischen Markt zu erobern! Nichtsdestotrotz könnte sich auch ein Import lohnen. Es bleibt abzuwarten, ob das Betriebssystem eine rein chinesische oder zumindest auch englische Sprachausgabe bieten wird.

Sobald weitere Infos folgen oder uns ein Testexemplar erreicht, folgen die Infos / der Test an dieser Stelle!

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar