Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Xiaomi Pad 5 product picture

Xiaomi Pad 5 review - super tablet with good price / performance!

Test report prepared by Timo on September 22, 2021

The long wait ends! After more than 3 years of abstinence from tablets, Xiaomi has launched the long-awaited Xiaomi Pad 5 tablet. Key features are a high-resolution 120 Hz display with an 11 inch screen diagonal, a fast Qualcomm Snapdragon 860 mobile processor and a long-lasting 8720 mAh battery.

Packed full of versatile functions, the Xiaomi Pad 5 is suitable for entertainment of any kind or as a smart workstation. I took a closer look at the tablet in the test.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8.7
Our rating
397 € banggood.com
Price Comparison
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

Xiaomi

Model

Xiaomi pad 5

Specifications

 Processor and memory 
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 860
GPU: Adreno 640
Storage: 6 + 128GB, 6 + 256GB LPDDR4X UFS3.1
Memory extension: no

 Display 
Display diagonal: 11 inches
Display resolution: 2560 x 1600 pixels
Display frequency: 120 Hz
Display Type: LCD
Display brightness: 500 nit
Multitouch: 10 fingers

 cameras 
Main camera: 13 MP
Front camera: 8 MP

 wireless 
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac
Bluetooth: 5.0
GPS: No.
NFC: No.

 Accumulator 
Battery: 8.720 mAh
Fast charge function: 22.5W

 other 
Operating system: Android 11 (MIUI 12.5)
Audio: Quad stereo speakers
Headphone jack: No.
USB port: USB-C

Test: Xiaomi Pad 5

It's been a long time since Xiaomi last launched a tablet in 2018. A good three years later, we can finally look forward to a new Xiaomi tablet with the Xiaomi Pad 5.

The Xiaomi Pad 5 has been on the market in China for a few weeks. There is even a Pro version there, which is a bit better equipped in detail. After all, the Xiaomi Pad 5 only reached the global market a short time after the China release.

Offer (November 03, 2021)

The new Xiaomi tablet is sold out almost everywhere. Xiaomi's official sales partner "Goboo" now has a few copies in stock again. The model with 128GB is already available for 329 euros. If you take 30 euros more in your hand, you get the tablet with 256GB of data storage.

Buy Xiaomi Pad 5 cheap at Goboo.

By the way, Goboo now also has the Xiaomi Smart Pen in stock. This makes it easy to write and draw on the tablet. You can get this for 79 euros under this one  Link .

Offer at Goboo

Xiaomi Pad 5: design and workmanship

“Can I have a quick look on your iPad?” - those were the first words I was allowed to hear when the Xiaomi Pad 5 was in the house for two days and happened to be on the sofa when friends were visiting.

The Xiaomi Pad 5 tablet lying on the couch.

Chic IPS display in WQHD + resolution.

Those familiar with both devices would immediately notice the difference. However, if you don't own any of the tablets, you can confuse the iPad and the Xiaomi Pad 5. It cannot be denied that Xiaomi and many other manufacturers like to be inspired by Apple. But let's be honest. Nobody reinvents the wheel (tablet).

Rectangular, with dimensions of 254,69 x 166,25 x 6,85 mm and a weight of 511g, the Xiaomi Pad 5 takes the stage. Compared to the iPad 10.2 (9th generation), the Xiaomi Pad 5 is even a bit narrower (11 mm) and thinner (7,85 mm) than the Apple competitor, despite the larger 0,65 inch display.

The back of the new Xiaomi tablet is made of plastic, but by no means looks cheap. Rather the opposite. In the color “Pearl White”, the tablet shimmers elegantly in the light. Just like a pearl! If you can't do anything with white, you can also get the tablet in "Cosmic Gray".

The Xiaomi Pad 5 Tablet in Pearl White.

The back in the color "Pearl White".

However, scratches cannot be ruled out on plastic, which is why the test device ended up in a protective cover fairly quickly. Matching Smart Covers or protective sleeves are available in all colors and variations, so you don't have to worry about the availability of accessories (eBay, Amazon and Co.) has to do. Xiaomi is a global player after all!

Less is more definitely does not apply to the rear camera base. Although there is only a single 13 MP sensor on the back and there would be enough space for a second sensor, this space has been left unused. Instead, there is a "13MP" lettering with a lens-like border under the camera lens.

The reason for this lies in the Xiaomi Pad 5 Pro. In this model there is another 5 MP camera sensor at the point mentioned above. Presumably to save development and production processes, both devices were simply given the same housing.

The 13 MP camera lens of the Xiaomi Pad 5

The rear camera hill with 13 MP camera and LED flash.

The back merges into the aluminum frame without a noticeable transition. Due to the slim design, the bevelled edges and the rounded corners, the Xiaomi Pad 5 lies comfortably in one or both hands.

The tablet can be switched on at the top right using a power button. A fingerprint scanner has been integrated in the Pro version. Unfortunately, we have to do without this with the standard version. What remains are the PIN, password, pattern and face recognition as unlocking methods. The volume rocker is within easy reach of the power button on the top right-hand side. Like the frame, both buttons are made of aluminum, sit firmly in the case and offer a comfortable pressure point.

Note

The Xiaomi Pad 5 does not offer water protection! The tablet will not pass a water test in the thermal baths, the swimming pool, at the pool or in the sea (especially not there).

If we continue walking on the right side, the contact area for the Xiaomi Smart Pen (stylus) is in the middle. On the opposite side there are three contacts for a magnetic keyboard. This is already available in China. So far, only the Xiaomi Smart Pen has been announced for the global market.

The bottom of the Xiaomi Pad 5 with USB-C socket and stereo speakers.

The USB-C connection with the speaker outputs.

At the lower end we would have the USB-C socket (USB 2.0) with one of the four microphones in the middle. On the outside are two of the four outputs of the quad stereo speaker system with Dolby Atmos surround sound technology. If you grab the tablet in landscape format, two of the speaker outputs are usually covered with your hands. How this affects the sound, more on that later.

Xiaomi Pad 5: display

It continues with the 11-inch display of the Xiaomi Pad 5. Instead of the brightly colored OLED, “only” an IPS panel has been installed here, but the display is still convincing. With a resolution of 2560 x 1600 pixels (WQHD +), which in turn corresponds to 275 PPI, the display is extremely sharp and no pixels can be seen from a normal viewing distance. The screen edges (bezel) are not too large at 0,8 mm on all sides.

Overview of all functions of the Xiaomi Pad 5

The 120 Hz refresh rate nips unsightly trailing effects in the bud. It feels and looks great when animations, scrolling and swiping movements are as smooth as butter. In addition to 120 Hz, you have the option of selecting 60 Hz in the display settings. This also saves the battery and ensures a slightly longer runtime. A separate Adaptive Sync mode, which automatically adapts the frame rate to the circumstances, does not seem to exist. The sampling rate of the display reaches 240 Hz. Inputs on the display are processed precisely and quickly.

The screen brightness of 500 nit doesn't sound like much, but it is enough to be able to read the display reasonably outdoors. Still, lying in the sun on the beach and reading something on the tablet could be difficult. The sunlight mode, which can be activated via the display settings, does not help either.

The Xiaomi Pad 5 can be operated with one hand.

The tablet can be easily held in one hand.

Incidentally, this mode can only be activated if the automatic brightness adjustment is switched off. If the mode is active and the ambient light rises above 5 lux for 12000 seconds, the mode automatically switches to the highest brightness level. If the value falls, the display returns to the manually set brightness level. The automatic brightness mode basically does the same thing, but scales variably depending on the ambient light.

There are fingerprints and reflections on the display glass. And speaking of the display glass, after about 2 days of use, slight scratches were already visible on the display. It is not known which protective glass Xiaomi has installed here. If you choose the Xiaomi Pad 5, you should also order the right protective film (e.g. here at Goboo).

Color rendering, contrast and black level are really good despite not using OLEDs. The illumination of the screen runs evenly up to the edges. As far as the colors are concerned, the "vivid" color mode is active by default, which displays the colors in a nice, crisp way. But of course, the IPS display of the Xiaomi Pad 5 cannot match the bright colors of an OLED.

Other color schemes are "Saturated" and "Standard". The panel is matched to the DCI-P3 color space, which is optimized for digital film projection. An adaptive color mode automatically adjusts the colors to the ambient light. There are also setting options for the color temperature, which can be set using a color wheel or in the "Standard", "Warm" and "Cool" modes.

Friends of moving images can look forward to the compatibility with HDR10 and Dolby Vision content. Both technologies provide brighter images, more accurate colors and more details in dark scenes. Streaming providers such as Netflix already offer numerous films and series in HDR streaming formats. Dolby Vision content is even mastered with up to 12-bit color depth, while HDR10 supports up to 10-bit. Another benefit of Dolby Vision is the dynamic metadata control, which controls color and brightness improvements for each individual frame.

Netflix on the Xiaomi Pad 5 in high resolution thanks to Widevine L1.

Netflix in FHD is no problem with Widevine L1.

 Enjoying Netflix, Disney + or Amazon Prime Video on the Xiaomi Pad 5 is really fun. In the test, I grabbed Dolby Vision compatible films on Netflix and compared them. Dolby Vision looks really good on the Xiaomi Pad 5 and the difference to a Samsung Galaxy Tab A7, which currently does not support Dolby Vision, is clearly visible. The Widevine L1 DRM to stream content in Full HD is supported by the global version of the Xiaomi Pad 5.

Note

An app is circulating on the net that adds an additional PC mode to the Xiaomi Pad 5. The app was originally developed for the Xiaomi Mix Fold, but also works without problems on the Xiaomi Pad 5.

The PC mode of the Xiaomi Pad 5.

This is what PC mode looks like on the Xiaomi Pad 5.

If you install the app, the tablet only supports Widevine L3, so that some streaming providers only stream content in SD quality. Uninstalling the app and then restarting the tablet will bring Widevine L1 back.

Xiaomi Pad 5: Smart Pen and Keyboard

From the display we switch to the Xiaomi Smart Pen (Link), an active stylus that has 4.096 pressure levels, can be magnetically docked to the tablet and is fully charged in just 18 minutes. The battery lasts up to 8 hours when fully charged. A function key on the pen can be used to switch between pen and eraser in no time at all or screenshots at the push of a button.

Overview of the functions of the Xiaomi Pad 5 Smart Pen.

According to Xiaomi, there are no limits to creativity. Precise drawing, writing or sketching should therefore be possible. The emphasis here is on should, because I currently don't have a Xiaomi Smart Pen. As soon as this arrives, the test will be added at this point.

Another accessory of the Xiaomi Pad 5 is the keyboard cover. In combination with the PC mode app, the tablet can be used as a mini notebook for university, school or work. Unfortunately, the keyboard has only appeared in China so far. As soon as there is more information on global availability, this paragraph will also be added.

Xiaomi Pad 5: performance and gaming

The system-on-chip of the Xiaomi Pad 5 is the Qualcomm Snapdragon 860. This is manufactured in the 7nm process and is therefore quite efficient. The chip is divided among other things into an 8-core CPU and an Adreno 640 GPU.

Xiaomi Pad 5 Snapdragon 860

The somewhat fast Snapdragon 5 is used in the Xiaomi Pad 870 Pro. In the benchmark, the Snapdragon 870 performs around 25 percent faster than the Snapdragon 860. This difference may sound like a lot, but it is hardly noticeable in practice.

 

It passed all everyday tasks (web browsing, streaming, social media and gaming) that the Xiaomi Pad 5 was able to face in the test without any problems. In conjunction with the MIUI 12.5 user interface based on Android 11, the tablet delivers a consistently smooth and stable user experience.

When it comes to storage, you can choose between 6GB RAM and 128GB / 256GB data storage. The memory types are LPDDR4X and UFS3.1. Both known for their fast transfer rates. A small note here again about the Xiaomi Pad 5 Pro, which (theoretically) has received even faster LPDDR4 RAM instead of LPDDR5X RAM. The difference in performance will only be noticeable here in the benchmark. In practice, apps start without a long wait and are kept in memory for a long time. If you need more than 128GB of data storage, you should definitely use the larger 256GB model. The data memory of the Xiaomi Pad 5 cannot be expanded with a microSD memory card.

Gamers will definitely get their money's worth with the Xiaomi Pad 5. The combination of a 120 Hz display and a fast Snapdragon 860 chip is addictive. Demanding games such as PUBG do not exhaust the frame limit, but run even on high graphic details without noticeable stuttering. Thermal throttling, i.e. the temperature-related downclocking of the performance, does not occur even after longer gaming sessions. I also liked the compatibility with Google Stadia. If you own a Stadia controller, you can stream high-quality PC games to your tablet in no time at all. The performance of the Dual-AC WiFi is sufficient for this. Additional external peripherals can be connected via Bluetooth (5.0). The USB-C connection is also OTG-capable. The picture

Google Stadia with controller on Xiaomi Pad 5.

Stadia also runs on the Xiaomi Pad 5.

Xiaomi Pad 5: sensors, cameras and speakers

The sensors of the Xiaomi Pad 5 are manageable. There is an ambient light sensor, an accelerometer, an e-compass, and a gyroscope. NFC, GPS or the IR blaster, which is very popular with Xiaomi devices, are not on board. Conversely, this means that you cannot pay on the go with the Xiaomi Pad 5, you cannot navigate and you cannot control TVs with it. Very few people would probably use an 11-inch tablet for mobile payments or navigation. The Pro model, on the other hand, has a built-in GPS module!

The back of the tablet.

Multi-faceted look in "Pearl White".

The Xiaomi Pad 5 is well equipped for video calls. An 8 MP front camera records videos in high resolution 1080p. The 13 MP main camera on the back is suitable for snapshots. The recording quality fits both cameras. Pictures and videos are sharp, the colors are crisp and the detailed images are impressive. Sure, most smartphones in this price range take better pictures, but overall the quality is reasonable.

PUBG on the Xiaomi Pad 5.

Play PUBG at a high level of detail? No problem!

The sound of the quad stereo speaker system is also convincing. To watch a movie or play a mobile game with the tablet, the volume and sound quality are completely sufficient. The sound is comparable with a good notebook. Thanks to the Dolby Atmos surround sound technology, the sound is pleasantly clear and details are easy to hear. The stereo effect is conveyed well. What the speaker lacks is the depth.

Xiaomi Pad 5: battery

The 8720 mAh battery provides enough power throughout the day for longer gaming sessions or to watch several films at a time. A two-hour stream on Netflix consumed about 15 percent of the battery. Frugal users can achieve a 2-3 day runtime. Standby consumption, for example overnight, is around 3 percent.

The battery of the Xiaomi Pad 5 is charged with up to 22.5 watts. In comparison, the Pro model can be charged with up to 67 watts. What sounds like a lot here, too, only takes half an hour in practice. The tablet's battery is fully charged in just 90 minutes. A short tablet break that is easy to put away.

Price Comparison

iconChinese warehouse
iconDelivery time 15 to 20 working days
397,20€
iconEuropean warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
399,00€
Rating
Positive

Stylish design and good workmanship
Great IPS display with 120 Hz refresh rate and Dolby Vision
Good performance in apps and games
Fast Android 11 user interface
Widevine L1 DRM for FHD streaming
Good front and main camera for video telephony
Good quad stereo speaker with Dolby Atmos
Long battery life and short charging time

Negative

No water protection (IP protection)
Display prone to scratches
No memory expansion
No fingerprint scanner
(No GPS, NFC & SIM slot)

Summary

The Xiaomi Pad 5 is a tablet for everyone. Regardless of whether you use it to watch a film, read books, draw and design graphics or use it as a smart workstation. The good equipment and numerous functions make the Xiaomi Pad 5 a successful all-rounder.

Unfortunately, it wasn't quite enough to be a real all-rounder. Small things that the Xiaomi Pad 5 misses include the support of GPS, a jack connection, a memory expansion option or a cellular connection. If you can do without it, you can get a recommended tablet with a decent price / performance ratio for 399 euros RRP (* 299 euros at Gobo).

8.7
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

Xiaomi

Model

Xiaomi pad 5

Specifications

 Processor and memory 
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 860
GPU: Adreno 640
Storage: 6 + 128GB, 6 + 256GB LPDDR4X UFS3.1
Memory extension: no

 Display 
Display diagonal: 11 inches
Display resolution: 2560 x 1600 pixels
Display frequency: 120 Hz
Display Type: LCD
Display brightness: 500 nit
Multitouch: 10 fingers

 cameras 
Main camera: 13 MP
Front camera: 8 MP

 wireless 
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac
Bluetooth: 5.0
GPS: No.
NFC: No.

 Accumulator 
Battery: 8.720 mAh
Fast charge function: 22.5W

 other 
Operating system: Android 11 (MIUI 12.5)
Audio: Quad stereo speakers
Headphone jack: No.
USB port: USB-C

Advertising

Geekbuying Black Friday Sale Sidebar

Banggood Black Friday Sale Sidebar

Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Xiaomi Pad 5 Testbericht Produktbild

Xiaomi Pad 5 Test – Super Tablet mit guter Preis-/Leistung!

Testbericht erstellt von Timo am 22. September 2021

Das lange Warten hat ein Ende! Nach mehr als 3 Jahren Tablet-Abstinenz hat Xiaomi das langersehnte Xiaomi Pad 5 Tablet auf den Markt gebracht. Key-Features sind ein hochauflösendes 120 Hz Display bei einer 11 Zoll Bildschirmdiagonale, ein schneller Qualcomm Snapdragon 860 Mobilprozessor und ein langanhaltender 8720 mAh Akku.

Vollgepackt mit vielseitigen Funktionen eignet sich das Xiaomi Pad 5 für Unterhaltung jeglicher Art oder aber als smarte Workstation. Im Test habe ich mir das Tablet näher angesehen.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp Buffer Pin It
8.7
Unsere Bewertung
363€ banggood.com
Preisvergleich
Technische Daten
Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Modell

Xiaomi Pad 5

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 860
GPU: Adreno 640
Speicher: 6+128GB, 6+256GB LPDDR4X UFS3.1
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Display
Displaydiagonale: 11 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 2560 x 1600 Pixel
Displayfrequenz: 120 Hz
Displaytyp: LCD
Displayhelligkeit: 500 nit
Multitouch: 10 Finger

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 13 MP
Frontkamera: 8 MP

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth: 5.0
GPS: Nein
NFC: Nein

Akku
Akku: 8.720 mAh
Schnellladefunktion: 22.5W

Sonstige
Betriebssystem: Android 11 (MIUI 12.5)
Audio: Quad-Stereo-Lautsprecher
Kopfhöreranschluss: Nein
USB-Anschluss: USB-C

Test: Xiaomi Pad 5

Lange ist es her, als Xiaomi zuletzt im Jahr 2018 ein Tablet auf den Markt brachte. Gute drei Jahre später dürfen wir uns mit dem Xiaomi Pad 5 endlich wieder auf ein neues Xiaomi Tablet freuen.

In China ist das Xiaomi Pad 5 schon seit einigen Wochen auf dem Markt. Dort gibt es sogar eine Pro-Version, die im Detail ein bisschen besser ausgestattet ist. Immerhin erreicht das Xiaomi Pad 5 nur kurze Zeit nach dem China-Release den globalen Markt.

Angebot

Das neue Xiaomi Tablet ist so gut wie überall ausverkauft. Einige wenige Exemplare des Xiaomi Pad 5 mit 6+256GB Speicher und in der EU-Version sind noch beim Online-Händler Banggood erhältlich.

Xiaomi Pad 5 im Angebot bei Banggood.

Mit unserem Rabattcode gibt es das Tablet dort für 348 Euro. Der Versand und alle weiteren Kosten sind in diesem Preis bereits enthalten.

43€ Coupon - Xiaomi Pad 5 (6+256GB)

Mit diesem Banggood Gutschein kannst du das Tablet reduziert für nur 348€ kaufen.
BGc3c8b7
COUPON ZEIGEN
43€ Rabatt
18.09.2021

Xiaomi Pad 5: Design und Verarbeitung

„Kann ich mal kurz etwas auf deinem iPad nachschauen?“ – das waren die ersten Worte, die ich hören durfte, als das Xiaomi Pad 5 gerade zwei Tage im Haus war und zufällig auf dem Sofa lag als Freunde zu Besuch waren.

Das Xiaomi Pad 5 Tablet auf der Couch liegend.

Schickes IPS Display in WQHD+ Auflösung.

Kennern beider Geräte würde der Unterschied sofort auffallen. Wer allerdings keines der Tablets sein Eigen nennt, der kann iPad und Xiaomi Pad 5 durchaus verwechseln. Es lässt sich nicht abstreiten, dass sich Xiaomi und auch viele andere Hersteller gerne von Apple inspirieren lassen. Aber seien wir mal ehrlich. Keiner erfindet das Rad (Tablet) neu.

Rechteckig, mit einer Abmessung von 254,69 x 166,25 x 6,85 mm und einem Gewicht von 511g tritt das Xiaomi Pad 5 auf die Bühne. Im Vergleich zum iPad 10.2 (9. Generation) ist das Xiaomi Pad 5 trotz größerem 11 Zoll Display sogar etwas schmäler (7,85 mm) und dünner (0,65 mm) als der Apple Konkurrent.

Die Rückseite des neuen Xiaomi Tablets besteht aus Kunststoff, sieht aber keinesfalls billig aus. Eher im Gegenteil. In der Farbe „Pearl White“ schimmert das Tablet elegant im Licht. Wie eine Perle eben! Wer mit Weiß nichts anfangen kann, der bekommt das Tablet auch in „Cosmic Gray“.

Das Xiaomi Pad 5 Tablet in Pearl White.

Die Rückseite in der Farbe “Pearl White”.

Kratzer sind bei Kunststoff allerdings nicht ausgeschlossen, weshalb das Testgerät ziemlich schnell in einer Schutzhülle landete. Passende Smart Cover bzw. Schutzhüllen sind in allen Farben und Variationen erhältlich, sodass man sich keine Gedanken zur Verfügbarkeit von Zubehör (eBay, Amazon und Co.) machen muss. Xiaomi ist immerhin ein Global Player!

Weniger ist mehr trifft auf den rückseitigen Kamerasockel definitiv nicht zu. Obwohl es auf der Rückseite nur einen einzigen 13 MP Sensor gibt und es genügend Fläche für einen zweiten Sensor gäbe, hat man diesen Platz ungenutzt gelassen. Stattdessen befindet sich unter der Kameralinse ein „13MP“ Schriftzug mit linsenähnlicher Umrandung.

Der Grund liegt hier beim Xiaomi Pad 5 Pro. Bei diesem Modell befindet an oben genannter Stelle ein weiterer 5 MP Kamerasensor. Vermutlich um Entwicklungs- und Produktionsprozesse einzusparen, hat man beiden Geräten einfach das identische Gehäuse verpasst.

Die 13 MP Kameralinse des Xiaomi Pad 5

Der rückseitige Kamerahügel mit 13 MP Kamera und LED-Blitz.

Ohne spürbaren Übergang geht die Rückseite in den Aluminiumrahmen über. Durch den schlanken Aufbau, die abgeschrägten Seitenränder und die abgerundeten Ecken liegt das Xiaomi Pad 5 angenehm griffig in einer bzw. beiden Händen.

Einschalten lässt sich das Tablet rechts oben über eine Powertaste. In der Pro-Version hat man dort einen Fingerabdruckscanner integriert. Auf diesen müssen wir mit der Standard-Version leider verzichten. Übrig bleiben PIN, Passwort, Muster und Gesichtserkennung als Entsperrmethoden. In greifbarer Nähe zur Einschalttaste befindet sich an der Seite rechts oben die Lautstärkewippe. Beide Tasten bestehen wie auch der Rahmen aus Aluminium, sitzen fest im Gehäuse und bieten einen angenehmen Druckpunkt.

Hinweis

Das Xiaomi Pad 5 bietet keinen Wasserschutz! Einen Wassertest in der Therme, dem Schwimmbad, am Pool oder im Meer (da erst recht nicht) wird das Tablet nicht bestehen.

Wandern wir auch der rechten Seite weiter, befindet sich mittig die Kontaktfläche für den Xiaomi Smart Pen (Stylus). Auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite befinden sich drei Kontakte für eine Magnet-Tastatur. In China ist diese bereits erhältlich. Für den globalen Markt wurde bisher nur der Xiaomi Smart Pen angekündigt.

Die Unterseite des Xiaomi Pad 5 mit USB-C Buchse und Stereo-Lautsprecher.

Der USB-C Anschluss mit den Lautsprecherausgängen.

Am unteren Ende hätten wir mittig die USB-C Buchse (USB 2.0) mit einem der insgesamt vier Mikrofone. Jeweils außen befinden sich zwei der insgesamt vier Ausgänge des Quad-Stereo-Lautsprechersystems mit Dolby Atmos Surround-Sound-Technologie. Greift man das Tablet im Querformat (Landscape), werden meist zwei der Lautsprecherausgänge mit den Händen verdeckt. Wie sich das auf den Klang auswirkt, dazu später mehr.

Xiaomi Pad 5: Display

Weiter geht es mit dem 11 Zoll Display des Xiaomi Pad 5. Statt farbkräftigem OLED hat man hier zwar „nur“ ein IPS-Panel verbaut, die Darstellung überzeugt trotzdem. Mit einer Auflösung von 2560 x 1600 Pixel (WQHD+), was wiederum 275 PPI entspricht, ist das Display überaus scharf und aus normalem Sehabstand sind keine Pixel zu erkennen. Die Bildschirmränder (Bezel) fallen mit 0,8 mm zu allen Seiten hin nicht allzu groß aus.

Übersicht zu allen Funktionen des Xiaomi Pad 5

Durch die 120 Hz Bildwiederholrate werden unschöne Nachzieheffekte im Keim erstickt. Es fühlt sich spitze an und sieht auch spitze aus, wenn Animationen, Scroll- und Wischbewegungen butterweich erfolgen. Neben 120 Hz hat man in den Displayeinstellungen die Möglichkeit, 60 Hz zu wählen. Das schont zusätzlich den Akku und sorgt für eine etwas längere Laufzeit. Einen separaten Adaptive Sync Modus, der automatisch die Bildwiederholrate an die Gegebenheiten anpasst, gibt es allen Anschein nach nicht. Die Abtastrate des Displays erreicht 240 Hz. Eingaben auf dem Display werden präzise und schnell verarbeitet.

Die Bildschirmhelligkeit von 500 nit hört sich zwar nach nicht viel an, genügt aber, um das Display auch im Freien einigermaßen lesen zu können. In der Sonne am Strand liegen und dabei etwas auf dem Tablet zu lesen könnte dennoch schwierig werden. Da hilft auch der Sonnenlicht-Modus nicht, der sich über die Displayeinstellung aktivieren lässt.

Das Xiaomi Pad 5 lässt sich mit einer Hand bedienen.

Das Tablet kann gut in einer Hand gehalten werden.

Dieser Modus lässt sich übrigens nur dann aktivieren, wenn die automatische Helligkeitsanpassung ausgeschaltet ist. Ist der Modus aktiv und steigt das Umgebungslicht für 5 Sekunden über 12000 Lux, schaltet der Modus automatisch auf die höchste Helligkeitsstufe. Sinkt der Wert, kehrt das Display auf die manuell eingestellte Helligkeitsstufe zurück. Der automatische Helligkeitsmodus macht im Grunde das Gleiche, skaliert aber variabel je nach Umgebungslicht.

Fingerabdrücke und Spiegelungen bleiben auf dem Displayglas nicht aus. Und wo wir auch gerade beim Displayglas sind, nach ca. 2 Tagen Verwendung waren bereits leichte Kratzer auf dem Display sichtbar. Welches Schutzglas Xiaomi hier verbaut hat, ist nicht bekannt. Wer sich für das Xiaomi Pad 5 entscheidet, sollte gleich die passende Schutzfolie mitbestellen (z.B. hier bei Goboo).

Farbwiedergabe, Kontrast und Schwarzwert sind trotz Verzicht auf OLED richtig gut. Die Ausleuchtung des Bildschirms verläuft gleichmäßig bis zu den Rändern hin. Was die Farben betrifft, so ist standardmäßig der „Lebhafte“ Farbmodus aktiv, der die Farben schön knackig darstellt. Aber klar, an die knalligen Farben eines OLED kommt das IPS Display des Xiaomi Pad 5 natürlich nicht ran.

Weitere Farbschema sind „Gesättigt“ und „Standard“. Abgestimmt ist das Panel auf den DCI-P3 Farbraum, der für die digitale Filmprojektion optimiert ist. Ein adaptiver Farbmodus passt die Farben automatisch an das Umgebungslicht an. Außerdem gibt es noch Einstellungsmöglichkeiten zur Farbtemperatur, die sich über einen Farbkreis oder in den Modi „Standard“, „Warm“ und „Kühl“ einstellen lässt.

Freunde des Bewegtbildes dürfen sich über die Kompatibilität zu HDR10- und Dolby-Vision-Inhalten freuen. Beide Technologien sorgen für hellere Bilder, genauere Farben und mehr Details in dunklen Szenen. Streaming-Anbieter wie Netflix bieten bereits zahlreiche Filme und Serien in HDR-Streaming-Formaten an. Dolby Vision Inhalte werden dabei sogar mit bis zu 12-Bit-Farbtiefe gemastert, während HDR10 bis 10-Bit unterstützt. Ein weiterer Vorteil von Dolby Vision ist die dynamische Metadatensteuerung, die Farb- und Helligkeitsverbesserungen für jeden einzelnen Frame steuert.

Netflix auf dem Xiaomi Pad 5 in hoher Auflösung dank Widevine L1.

Netflix in FHD ist mit Widevine L1 kein Problem.

Netflix, Disney+ oder Amazon Prime Video auf dem Xiaomi Pad 5 zu genießen, macht richtig Spaß. Im Test habe ich mir Dolby Vision kompatible Filme auf Netflix geschnappt und verglichen. Auf dem Xiaomi Pad 5 sieht Dolby Vision richtig gut aus und der Unterschied zu einem Samsung Galaxy Tab A7, welches gerade kein Dolby Vision unterstützt, ist deutlich sichtbar. Die Widevine L1 DRM um Inhalte in Full-HD zu streamen, wird von der Global Version des Xiaomi Pad 5 unterstützt.

Hinweis

Im Netz kursiert eine App, die das Xiaomi Pad 5 um einen zusätzlichen PC-Modus erweitert. Die App wurde ursprünglich für das Xiaomi Mix Fold entwickelt, funktioniert allerdings auch ohne Probleme auf dem Xiaomi Pad 5.

Der PC-Modus des Xiaomi Pad 5.

So sieht der PC-Modus auf dem Xiaomi Pad 5 aus.

Installiert man die App, unterstützt das Tablet nur noch Widevine L3, sodass Inhalte bei manchen Streaming-Anbietern nur noch in SD-Qualität gestreamt werden. Die Deinstallation der App und ein anschließender Neustart des Tablets bringen Widevine L1 zurück.

Xiaomi Pad 5: Smart Pen und Keyboard

Vom Display wechseln wir zum Xiaomi Smart Pen, einen aktiven Stylus der 4.096 Druckstufen besitzt, sich magnetisch an das Tablet andocken lässt und in nur 18 Minuten komplett aufgeladen ist. Vollgeladen hält der Akku bis zu 8 Stunden. Über eine Funktionstaste am Stift wechselt man im Handumdrehen zwischen Stift und Radiergummi oder fertig auf Knopfdruck Screenshots an.

Übersicht zu den Funktionen des Xiaomi Pad 5 Smart Pen.

Der Kreativität sind laut Xiaomi keine Grenzen gesetzt. Präzises Zeichnen, Schreiben oder Skizzieren sollte also möglich sein. Die Betonung liegt hier auf sollte, denn aktuell liegt mir kein Xiaomi Smart Pen vor. Sobald dieser eintrifft, wird der Test an dieser Stelle ergänzt.

Ein weiteres Zubehörteil des Xiaomi Pad 5 ist das Tastatur Cover. In Kombination mit der PC-Modus App ließe sich das Tablet als Mini-Notebook für die Uni, Schule oder den Beruf verwenden. Leider ist die Tastatur bisher nur in China erschienen. Sobald es nähere Infos zur globalen Verfügbarkeit gibt, wird auch dieser Absatz ergänzt.

Xiaomi Pad 5: Leistung und Gaming

Das System-on-Chip des Xiaomi Pad 5 ist der Qualcomm Snapdragon 860. Dieser wird im 7nm-Verfahren gefertigt und ist dadurch ziemlich effizient. Der Chip unterteilt sich unter anderem in eine 8-Kern CPU und eine Adreno 640 GPU.

Xiaomi Pad 5 Snapdragon 860

Im Xiaomi Pad 5 Pro kommt der etwas schnelle Snapdragon 870 zum Einsatz. Im Benchmark performt der Snapdragon 870 ungefähr 25 Prozent schneller als der Snapdragon 860. Dieser Unterschied mag zwar nach viel klingen, ist im Praxisbetrieb aber kaum spürbar.

 

Alle Alltagsaufgaben (Webbrowsing, Streaming, Social Media und Gaming), denen sich das Xiaomi Pad 5 im Test stellen durfte, hat es ohne Probleme bestanden. Im Zusammenspiel mit der MIUI 12.5 Benutzeroberfläche auf Android 11 Basis liefert das Tablet ein durchweg flüssiges und stabiles Nutzererlebnis.

Beim Speicher hat man die Wahl zwischen 6GB RAM und 128GB / 256GB Datenspeicher. Die Speichertypen sind LPDDR4X und UFS3.1. Beide bekannt für schnelle Transferraten. Eine kleine Anmerkung auch hier wieder zum Xiaomi Pad 5 Pro, das statt LPDDR4X RAM (theoretisch) noch schnelleren LPDDR5 RAM spendiert bekommen hat. Der Leistungsunterschied wird sich aber auch hier nur im Benchmark bemerkbar machen. In der Praxis starten Apps ohne lange Wartezeit und werden lange im Speicher gehalten. Benötigt man mehr als 128GB Datenspeicher, sollte man unbedingt zum größeren 256GB Modell greifen. Mit einer microSD-Speicherkarte lässt sich der Datenspeicher des Xiaomi Pad 5 nämlich nicht erweitern.

Gamer kommen mit dem Xiaomi Pad 5 definitiv auf ihre Kosten. Die Kombination aus 120 Hz Display und schnellem Snapdragon 860 Chip hat Suchtpotential. Anspruchsvolle Spiele wie PUBG reizen das Framelimit zwar nicht aus, laufen aber selbst auf hohen Grafikdetails ohne spürbare Ruckler. Thermal-Throttling, also das temperaturbedingte Heruntertakten der Leistung, tritt selbst nach längeren Gaming-Sessions nicht auf. Gefallen hat mir auch die Kompatibilität zu Google Stadia. Wer einen Stadia-Controller sein Eigen nennt, kann im Handumdrehen PC-Spiele in hoher Qualität auf das Tablet streamen. Die Leistung des Dual-AC WiFi ist hierfür ausreichend. Über Bluetooth (5.0) lässt sich weitere externe Peripherie verbinden. Der USB-C Anschluss ist zudem OTG-fähig. Die Bild

Google Stadia mit Controller auf Xiaomi Pad 5.

Stadia läuft auch auf dem Xiaomi Pad 5.

Xiaomi Pad 5: Sensoren, Kameras und Lautsprecher

Die Sensorik des Xiaomi Pad 5 ist überschaubar. Es gibt einen Umgebungslichtsensor, einen Beschleunigungssensor, einen E-Kompass und ein Gyroskop. NFC, GPS oder der bei Xiaomi Geräten sehr beliebte IR-Blaster sind nicht mit an Bord. Das heißt im Umkehrschluss, dass man mit dem Xiaomi Pad 5 nicht mobil bezahlen kann, nicht navigieren kann und auch keine TV-Geräte damit steuern kann. Zum mobilen Bezahlen oder Navigieren würden vermutlich die wenigsten ein 11 Zoll Tablet verwenden. Das Pro-Modell hat wiederum ein GPS-Modul verbaut!

Die Rückseite des Tablets.

Facettenreicher Look in “Pearl White”.

Für Videotelefonie ist das Xiaomi Pad 5 gut gerüstet. Eine 8 MP Frontkamera nimmt Videos in hochauflösenden 1080p auf. Für Schnappschüsse eignet sich die 13 MP Hauptkamera auf der Rückseite. Die Aufnahmequalität passt bei beiden Kameras. Bilder und Videos sind scharf, die Farben knackig und die Detailabbildung kann sich sehen lassen. Klar, die meisten Smartphones in dieser Preisklasse schießen bessere Aufnahmen, insgesamt ist die Qualität aber angemessen.

PUBG auf dem Xiaomi Pad 5.

PUBG auf hoher Detailstufe spielen? Kein Problem!

Der Klang des Quad-Stereo-Lautsprechersystems überzeugt ebenfalls. Um mit dem Tablet einen Film zu schauen oder ein Mobile Game zu spielen, sind Lautstärke und Klangqualität vollkommen ausreichend. Vergleichbar ist der Klang mit einem guten Notebook. Durch die Dolby Atmos Surround-Sound-Technologie ist der Klang angenehm klar und Details sind gut herauszuhören. Der Stereo-Effekt wird gut vermittelt. Was dem Lautsprecher etwas fehlt ist der Tiefgang.

Xiaomi Pad 5: Akku

Der 8720 mAh Akku bietet über den Tag hinweg genügend Leistung für längere Gaming Sessions oder um mehrere Filme am Stück zu schauen. Ein zweistündiger Stream über Netflix hat in etwa 15 Prozent des Akkus verbraucht. Sparsame Nutzer erreichen durchaus 2-3 Tage Laufzeit. Der Standby-Verbrauch z.B. über Nacht liegt bei ca. 3 Prozent.

Geladen wird der Akku des Xiaomi Pad 5 mit bis zu 22.5 Watt. Im Vergleich lässt sich das Pro-Modell mit bis zu 67 Watt laden. Was auch hier wieder nach viel klingt, macht in der Praxis nur eine knappe halbe Stunde aus. Vollständig geladen ist der Akku des Tablets nämlich nach nur 90 Minuten. Eine kurze Tablet-Pause, die man gut wegsteckt.

Preisvergleich

iconChinesisches Warenlager
iconLieferzeit 15 bis 20 Werktage
363,47€
iconEuropäisches Warenlager
iconLieferzeit 2-5 Werktage
399,00€
Bewertung
Positiv

Stilvolles Design und gute Verarbeitungsqualität
Tolles IPS-Display mit 120 Hz Bildwiederholrate und Dolby Vision
Gute Performance in Apps und Spielen
Schnelle Android 11 Benutzeroberfläche
Widevine L1 DRM für FHD Streaming
Gute Front- und Hauptkamera für Videotelefonie
Guter Quad-Stereo-Lautsprecher mit Dolby Atmos
Hohe Akkulaufzeit und kurze Ladezeit

Negativ

Kein Wasserschutz (IP-Schutz)
Display anfällig für Kratzer
Keine Speichererweiterung
Kein Fingerabdruckscanner
(Kein GPS, NFC & SIM-Slot)

Fazit

Das Xiaomi Pad 5 ist ein Tablet für alle. Egal ob man damit einen Film schaut, Bücher damit liest, zeichnet und Grafiken entwirft oder es als smarte Workstation einsetzt. Die gute Ausstattung und zahlreichen Funktionen machen das Xiaomi Pad 5 zum gelungenen Allrounder.

Zum waschechten Allrounder hat es leider nicht ganz gereicht. Kleinigkeiten, die das Xiaomi Pad 5 vermisst, sind unter anderem die Unterstützung von GPS, ein Klinkenanschluss, eine Speicherweiterungsmöglichkeit oder aber eine Mobilfunkanbindung. Wer darauf verzichten kann, der erhält für 399 Euro UVP (*299 Euro bei Gobo) ein empfehlenswertes Tablet mit ordentlicher Preis-/Leistung.

8.7
Unsere Bewertung
Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Modell

Xiaomi Pad 5

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 860
GPU: Adreno 640
Speicher: 6+128GB, 6+256GB LPDDR4X UFS3.1
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Display
Displaydiagonale: 11 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 2560 x 1600 Pixel
Displayfrequenz: 120 Hz
Displaytyp: LCD
Displayhelligkeit: 500 nit
Multitouch: 10 Finger

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 13 MP
Frontkamera: 8 MP

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth: 5.0
GPS: Nein
NFC: Nein

Akku
Akku: 8.720 mAh
Schnellladefunktion: 22.5W

Sonstige
Betriebssystem: Android 11 (MIUI 12.5)
Audio: Quad-Stereo-Lautsprecher
Kopfhöreranschluss: Nein
USB-Anschluss: USB-C

Mehr von Xiaomi

Werbung

Goboo Xiaomi Pad 5 Angebot

Goboo Redmi 10 Angebot