News
4

Zepp E - Huami (Amazfit) unveils new smartwatch

by Timo10. September 2020
With "Zepp", the Chinese smartwatch manufacturer "Huami" has put another brand into the race. The Zepp E is the first smartwatch from the new (premium) brand that focuses entirely on the digital well-being of the user and wants to improve habits through artificial intelligence.

Huami - Amazfit - Zepp

Update 10. September 2020

New information on the German launch of the Zepp E! With a recommended retail price of 249 Euros the smartwatch is now also available in Germany. Of the Amazfit Official Store on Amazon has listed the Zepp E in 5 different colors.

Some Amazfit users have certainly already noticed. At the end of August, the Amazfit app was renamed Zepp. Except for the new name and a “Σ” (Sigma) as a logo, the app has remained unchanged so far. However, there is a long history behind the Zepp brand. Zepp was founded in Los Gatos, California (USA) back in 2012. The company's focus was on smart sensors for baseball players, tennis players and golfers. In mid-2018, Zepp was finally taken over by Huami, the company behind the much better-known “Amazfit” brand.

Zepp E in round and square.

Zepp is a good example of how Huami is trying that Market strategy in the area of ​​sport and fitness to develop further. By taking over Zepp, the Chinese company was able to secure patents for sensors, algorithms and deep learning, which enables the development of (health) systems such as PAI (Personal Activity Intelligence) became possible. A good two years after the takeover, Huami is reviving the almost forgotten brand.

Zepp E smartwatch

Elegant design with AMOLED display

Zepp positions itself alongside Amazfit as a “professional brand for the digital management of user wellbeing”. The Zepp E is the first smartwatch that Huami markets under the Zepp label. In terms of design, the company attaches great importance to a particularly elegant appearance that also does justice to a business casual dress code. The smartwatch is available in two versions for this purpose. The Zapp E Circle with circular 1.28 inch AMOLED display (326 DPI), embedded in a high-quality stainless steel case, or the Zepp e square with square 1.65 inch AMOLED display (341 DPI), also in a stylish stainless steel case.

Zepp E Smartwatch (1)

The hardened one protective glass is curved towards the edges of both models and merges almost seamlessly into the housing. The Zapp E in appears for even more variety more than 5 different colors. Depending on the color, the smartwatch comes with a Leather, fluoroelastomer or metal bracelet fitted. Interchangeable Watch Faces also ensure individuality.

GeneralBrand: Zepp
Model: Zepp E.
Type: smartwatch
DisplayType: AMOLED
Diagonal: 1.28 ″ (Square) 1.65 ″ (Circle)
Resolution: 348 × 442 (Square) 416 × 416 (Circle)
sensors* Biological Tracking Optical Sensor
* Acceleration sensor
* Geomagnetic sensor
* Ambient Light Sensor
* Linear vibration motor
AccumulatorCapacity: 188 mAh
Duration: up to 15 days
Charging time: 2 hours
DimensionsWeight: 36g (Square) 32g (Circle)
Size: 43.3 × 35.7 × 9.0 mm (Square) 42.2 × 42.2 × 9.1 mm (Circle)

Functions of the Zepp E Smartwatch

The range of functions of the Zepp E has so far not shown any major differences to the Amazfit models. The smartwatch with the Amazfit GTS comparable, with the Zepp E without GPS gets by. The state of health of the wearer is determined by an optical BioTracker supervised. The sensor measures the heart rate and estimates it Amount of oxygen in the blood (SpO2). Artificial intelligence uses the collected data and uses it to create a health profile of the user (PAI). Among other things, the 24/7 stress level and to what extent physical fitness changes over time.

Zepp E Smartwatch also suitable for swimming.

The Zepp E can also be used to track sporting activities. Total stand 11 sports programs to choose from including running, biking, climbing, and skiing Swimming (5 ATM waterproof). The synchronization (Bluetooth 5.0) of the collected data takes place via the already mentioned Zepp app.

Long-lasting battery

A battery with only 188 mAh It doesn't sound like a lot of capacity, but Zepp promises a running time 7 days under normal use and 15 days in “Basic Watch Mode”. The smartwatch is charged via a magnetic 2-pin charging cradle. The charging time is given as 2 hours.

Zepp E Smartwatch in different colors.

Price and availability

The Zepp E is now available in Germany. The recommended retail price is 249 euros.

Source: Press Release

Website: zepp.com

guest
4 Comments
Oldest
Latest
Inline feedback
View all comments
Pen

Hi and thanks for the informative contribution. On another page I read that the watch also has GPS and even NFC built in. Instead, I read the exact opposite with you. What's wrong now?

Steffi

Hello, I've been thinking about getting a smartwatch for a few days. At the moment I am wavering between the Amazfit GTS and the Zepp E, which are both from the same manufacturer and use the same app (right?). The watch is primarily intended to help with sports tracking.
The Zepp E now costs € 250 on Amazon. I would get the GTS for a fair bit less. The price difference is huge and I don't really know whether the extra charge is worth it. Now my question: What are the differences that justify the higher price?

News
4

Zepp E – Huami (Amazfit) enthüllt neue Smartwatch

by Timo10. September 2020
Mit "Zepp" hat der chinesische Smartwatch-Hersteller "Huami" eine weitere Marke ins Rennen geschickt. Die Zepp E ist die erste Smartwatch der neuen (Premium) Marke, die sich voll und ganz auf das digitale Wohlbefinden des Nutzers konzentriert und Gewohnheiten durch künstliche Intelligenz verbessern möchte.

Huami – Amazfit – Zepp

Update 10. September 2020

Neue Infos zum Deutschlandstart der Zepp E! Mit einer Unverbindlichen Preisempfehlung von 249 Euro ist die Smartwatch nun auch in Deutschland erhältlich. Der Amazfit Official Store auf Amazon hat die Zepp E in 5 verschiedenen Farben gelistet.

Einigen Amazfit Nutzern ist es sicherlich schon aufgefallen. Ende August wurde die Amazfit App in Zepp umbenannt. Bis auf die neue Namensgebung und ein “Σ” (Sigma) als Logo, ist die App bislang unverändert geblieben. Hinter der Marke Zepp steckt allerdings eine lange Geschichte. Bereits 2012 wurde Zepp in Los Gatos, Kalifornien (USA) gegründet. Der Fokus des Unternehmens lag auf smarter Sensorik für Baseballer, Tennisspieler und Golfer. Mitte 2018 wurde Zepp schließlich von Huami, dem Unternehmen hinter der weitaus bekannteren Marke “Amazfit”, übernommen.

Zepp E in Rund und Quadratisch.

Zepp ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür, wie Huami versucht die Marktstrategie im Bereich Sport und Fitness weiterzuentwickeln. Durch die Übernahme von Zepp konnte sich das chinesische Unternehmen Patente zu Sensoren, Algorithmen und Deep Learning sichern, wodurch die Entwicklung von (Gesundheits)Systemen wie PAI (Personal Activity Intelligence) möglich wurde. Gut zwei Jahre nach der Übernahme lässt Huami die fast vergessenen Marke wieder aufleben.

Zepp E Smartwatch

Edles Design mit AMOLED Display

Zepp platziert sich neben Amazfit als “Profi-Marke für das digitale Management des Nutzerwohlbefindens”. Die Zepp E ist die erste Smartwatch, die Huami unter Zepp vermarktet. Beim Design legt das Unternehmen viel Wert auf ein besonders edles Aussehen, das auch einem Business Casual Dresscode gerecht wird. Hierfür erscheint die Smartwatch in zwei Varianten. Die Zapp E Circle mit kreisrundem 1.28 Zoll AMOLED Display (326 DPI), eingebettet im hochwertigen Edelstahlgehäuse, oder die Zepp E Square mit quadratischem 1.65 Zoll AMOLED Display (341 DPI), ebenfalls im stilechten Edelstahlgehäuse.

Zepp E Smartwatch (1)

Das gehärtete Schutzglas ist bei beidem Modellen zu den Rändern hin gekrümmt und geht nahezu nahtlos in das Gehäuse über. Für noch mehr Vielfalt erscheint die Zapp E in mehr als 5 verschiedenen Farben. Je nach Farbe ist die Smartwatch mit einem Leder-, Fluorelastomer- oder Metall-Armband ausgestattet. Austauschbare Watchfaces sorgen zusätzlich für Individualität.

AllgemeinMarke: Zepp
Modell: Zepp E
Typ: Smartwatch
DisplayTyp: AMOLED
Diagonale: 1.28″ (Square) 1.65″ (Circle)
Auflösung: 348×442 (Square) 416×416 (Circle)
Sensoren*Biological Tracking Optical Sensor
*Acceleration Sensor
*Geomagnetic Sensor
*Ambient Light Sensor
*Linear Vibration Motor
AkkuKapazität: 188 mAh
Laufzeit: bis 15 Tage
Ladezeit: 2 Stunden
AbmessungenGewicht: 36g (Square) 32g (Circle)
Größe: 43.3×35.7×9.0 mm (Square) 42.2×42.2×9.1 mm (Circle)

Funktionen der Zepp E Smartwatch

Der Funktionsumfang der Zepp E lässt bisher keine größeren Unterschiede zu den Amazfit Modellen erkennen. Am ehesten ist die Smartwatch mit der Amazfit GTS vergleichbar, wobei die Zepp E ohne GPS auskommt. Der Gesundheitszustand des Trägers wird durch einen optischen BioTracker überwacht. Der Sensor misst die Herzfrequenz und schätzt die Sauerstoffmenge im Blut (SpO2). Künstliche Intelligenz verwertet die gesammelten Daten und erstellt draus ein Gesundheitsprofil des Nutzers (PAI). Herauslesen lassen sich unter anderem der 24/7 Stresslevel und inwiefern sich die körperliche Fitness auf Dauer verändert.

Zepp E Smartwatch auch zum Schwimmen geeignet.

Daneben ist die Zepp E auch zum Tracken sportlicher Aktivitäten einsetzbar. Insgesamt stehen 11 Sportprogramme zur Auswahl, darunter Laufen, Fahrradfahren, Klettern, Skifahren und Schwimmen (5 ATM wasserdicht). Die Synchronisation (Bluetooth 5.0) der gesammelten Daten erfolgt über die bereits erwähnte Zepp App.

Ausdauernder Akku

Ein Akku mit nur 188 mAh hört sich zwar nach nicht sonderlich viel Kapazität an, Zepp verspricht jedoch eine Laufzeit mit 7 Tagen unter normaler Nutzung und 15 Tagen im “Basic Watch Mode”. Geladen wird die Smartwatch über eine magnetische 2-Pin Ladeschale. Die Ladezeit wird mit 2 Stunden angegeben.

Zepp E Smartwatch in verschiedenen Farben.

Preis und Verfügbarkeit

Die Zepp E ist ab sofort in Deutschland erhältlich. Die Unverbindliche Preisempfehlung beträgt 249 Euro.

Quelle: Pressemitteilung

Webseite: zepp.com

guest
4 Comments
Älteste
Neueste
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Pen

Hi und danke für den informativen Beitrag. Auf einer anderen Seite habe ich gelesen, dass die Uhr auch GPS und sogar NFC verbaut hat. Bei euch lese ich stattdessen das genaue Gegenteil. Was stimmt denn jetzt?

Steffi

Hallo, ich überlege seit einigen Tagen mir eine Smartwatch zuzulegen. Im Moment schwanke ich zwischen der Amazfit GTS und der Zepp E, die ja beide vom gleichen Hersteller sind und die gleiche App verwenden (stimmt so?). Die Uhr soll überwiegend beim Sport-Tracking helfen.
Auf Amazon kostet die Zepp E jetzt 250€. Die GTS würde ich für ein gutes Stück weniger bekommen. Der Preisunterschied ist schon immens und ich weiß nicht so recht, ob sich der Aufpreis dafür lohnt. Jetzt meine Frage: Was sind de Unterschiede die den höheren Preis rechtfertigen?