Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Amazfit GTS

Amazfit GTS Review - Smartwatch for everyday life & sport

Test report prepared by Timo on May 25, 2021

The Amazfit GTS looks suspiciously similar to the Apple Watch. However, the smartwatch from China only costs a fraction of the well-known brand watch and is not comparable to a full-fledged smartwatch. You can find out why this is the case and for whom the watch could be interesting in the following review of the Amazfit GTS.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
7.9
Our rating
€ 77 saturn.de
Price Comparison
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

Huami

Model

Amazfit GTS

Specifications

 Display 
Display: AMOLED
Display diagonal: 1.65 inches
Display resolution: 348 x 442 pixels
Screen Protector: Gorilla Glass 3

 Processor and memory 
CPU: Unknown
RAM: Unknown
Internal storage: Unknown
Memory extension: no

 other 
Bluetooth: 5.0 BLE
WiFi: no
GPS: Yes
Pedometer: Yes
Heart rate monitor: PPG BioTracker

OS: Android / iOS
Battery: 220 mAh

Waterproof: up to 5 ATM
Size: 43.25 36.25 x x 9.4 mm
Weight: 25g (without bracelet)

Test: Amazfit GTS Smartwatch

Update 25. May 2021

The Amazfit GTS is available in the current Cyberport offer at a reduced price for only 59 euros including shipping. Simply subscribe to the Cyberport newsletter and use the 5 euro voucher.

Get Offer

The Amazfit GTS was presented for the international market as early as September 2019. The manufacturer is the China-based company Huami, which is also responsible for the development and production of various Xiaomi wearables (e.g. Xiaomi Mi Band 4) responsible for.

Like all previously released Amazfit wearables, the GTS is also equipped with the proprietary Amazfit OS. The target group are primarily amateur athletes, to whom Amazfit OS offers more than 12 sports programs.

The front of the Amazfit GTS with the 1.65 inch AMOLED display.

Design

At first glance, the Amazfit GTS looks confusingly similar to the Apple Watch. Both watches share a rectangular watch case with a curved display glass. The watch case is 43.25 mm high and 36.25 mm wide. The thickness is only 9.4 mm. Thanks to its compact design, the smartwatch looks very discreet, even on narrow wrists. The weight is just under 25g without the bracelet and 39g with the bracelet.

Silicone bracelet with quick release

Speaking of the bracelet: This is made of skin-friendly silicone, 20 cm long, 20 mm wide and adjustable in size in 13 steps. A pin buckle and two loops hold the GTS securely on the wrist. The bracelet can be exchanged in no time using the quick release fastener. Replacement wristbands with quick release fasteners are available in all possible variations. Only the width of 20 mm has to fit.

High quality aluminum frame

A high-resolution AMOLED display is hidden behind the curved display glass. The sloping display glass merges into a chic aluminum frame. The power button is the only physical control element on the right. The back of the smartwatch, which is only made of plastic, is of less quality.

The Amazfit GTS scope of delivery with the charger, the smartwatch and the operating instructions.

Waterproof to 5 ATM

The water resistance up to 5 ATM is also worth mentioning. That means as much as that the smartwatch can withstand the pressure of an assumed water column of 50 meters. In everyday use, the GTS is not afraid of water and can confidently remain on the wrist while washing hands and showering. Swimming is also possible with the Amazfit GTS, after all, the watch also has its own sports program. Diving and salt water should be avoided.

Six different colors

The Amazfit GTS is available in 6 different colors. In addition to classic black and gray, gold, pink, orange and blue are also available.

The front of the Amazfit GTS Smartwatch.

Display

In contrast to the older Amazfit models, which rely on a transflective display, the GTS uses a 1.65 inch AMOLED display.

Bold colors, deep black

The display type is characterized by particularly strong colors (100% NTSC) and a deep black. The deep black is achieved by simply turning off the (black) pixels that are not required. At the same time, the energy consumption is reduced so that the GTS achieves a long battery life even in always-on operation. (You can find more about battery life at the end of the review.)

Razor-sharp representation

Given the price of the watch, the display is a real highlight. The small 1.65 inch display has an extremely high display resolution of 348 x 442 pixels, which in turn corresponds to a razor-sharp 341 PPI. It is hardly possible to recognize individual pixels with the naked eye. The brightness and contrast are flawless and the display cuts a fine figure even in strong light. A brightness sensor automatically adjusts the display brightness to the ambient light. The small touchscreen reacts precisely to inputs. Only the animations are slightly jerky and delayed, which is due to the Amazfit OS.

Scratch-resistant display glass

The particularly scratch-resistant Gorilla Glass 3 does what it says on the tin. Even after several weeks of daily use of the watch, no scratches can be seen at the end of the test phase. The anti-fingerprint coating prevents annoying fingerprints and at the same time ensures better gliding on the display.

The back of the Amazfit GTS Smartwatch.

Functions of the Amazfit GTS

 The Amazfit GTS is not a watch with which you can make phone calls, WhatsAppen, make mobile payments or just surf the Internet. The focus of the smartwatch is mainly on the extensive sports functions. Strictly speaking, the GTS is a mix of a fitness bracelet and a smartwatch. Anyone expecting a full-fledged smartwatch like the Apple Watch is clearly out of place with Huami watches!

Because of the proprietary Amazfit OS, no own apps can be installed, which is why one is dependent on the apps and functions that Amazfit specifies. At the same time, the GTS is strongly linked to the Amazfit app. A Bluetooth connection to the smartphone is required to set up the smartwatch, to evaluate the data collected and to receive notifications.

Amazfit GTS firmware updates at a glance

 Update 26. June 2020 

New firmware 0.0.9.12 released. This is a new feature update. The Amazfit GTS is now able to monitor nap time. Only sleep that lasts longer than 20 minutes is tracked. The evaluation of the afternoon nap is included in the overall evaluation of sleep.

 Update 31. May 2020 

New firmware 0.0.9.05 released. This update fixes unspecified bugs.

Update 30. April 2020

New firmware 0.0.8.90 released. With this update, the smartwatch receives a weather and UVI control center.

Update 28. March 2020

New firmware 0.0.8.56 released. The update improves the performance of the smartwatch, adds a vibration when it is switched off and shows a stop button as soon as the alarm sounds. The bug fixes concern PAI and the stopwatch.

Update 17. January 2020

The Amazfit GTS has received an update. According to the changelog, firmware 0.0.8.37 improves GPS speed and GPS accuracy. This improvement could be reproduced in the test. Compared to firmware 0.0.8.33, the GPS fix is ​​found faster overall and the location accuracy is also a little more precise.

Pedometer and sports programs

The fact that the GTS essentially wants to be a sports watch is shown by the total of 12 sports programs and the extensive sensor system, consisting of GPS, a PPG BioTracker, a 6-axis acceleration sensor and a 3-axis G-sensor.

The GTS reliably records steps. Arm movements while sitting or driving are not counted as steps. A daily goal can be set in steps of 1000 using the Amazfit app. The watch itself clearly shows the steps taken, the route and the calories burned. An inactivity warning provides information about sitting for too long.

The user interface of the Amazfit GTS with watch faces and simple operation

 The following sports programs are available to the user: 

  • Running (outdoor)
  • Running (indoor)
  • Walking / hiking (outdoor)
  • Biking (outdoor)
  • Cycling (indoor)
  • Swimming (swimming pool)
  • Swimming (open water)
  • elliptical trainer
  • Climbing
  • Trail Running
  • Skiing
  • free training

Each of the sports programs is tailored to the respective sport. For example, if you choose to swim in a pool, the pool length must first be determined. Activity goals can be set in terms of distance, duration and consumption. Depending on the selected sports program, there are also reminder options for distance, heart rate and speed. Some of the data, such as speed or heart rate, can also be displayed in the form of a real-time diagram. All relevant data can be viewed at a glance.

The auto-pause function of the sports programs is practical. As soon as the sports program is interrupted, the GTS pauses data acquisition. In the test, the feature worked largely precisely. However, one should note that the auto-pause function is set very sharply. If you put in a short gear unit during running training, the watch can pause the sports program!

The user interface of the Amazfit GTS with weather forecast margin and 12 sports programs

GPS and outdoor

In order to be able to track outdoor activities even more precisely, the Amazfit GTS is equipped with GPS. What sounds excellent in theory still requires a lot of improvement in practice. It usually takes 15-60 seconds until a stable GPS signal is established. This is especially annoying when you are in a hurry.

The same applies to the route, which is very imprecise depending on the environment. In the open field, the deviation is already 1-2 meters. In the forest or urban areas, deviations of a good 6-10 meters are possible. An export and import option for GPX or TCX files is not available by default. The training data can only be exported in the appropriate format using third-party apps.

Heart rate and PAI

The heart rate is determined by a PPG sensor (photoplethysmography). In the measurement process, light is directed into the skin and it is measured how much light is backscattered depending on the blood flow. In the Amazfit app, the detection frequency can be set in 1, 5, 10 or 30 minutes. The sensor works continuously in the work-out.

Unfortunately, the determination of the heart rate is only partially reliable. During the work-out in particular, there were more frequent failures and incorrect measurements. Despite constant performance, the heart rate fell from 130 to less than 80 and only slowly recovered to a realistic value. It is not possible to connect a heart rate belt to the watch. 

A new feature introduced by Huami is “Personal Activity Intelligence” (PAI). PAI is a scientifically recognized procedure for determining the state of health. In a time window of 7 days, the so-called PAI score (1-100) is recorded, which uses the heart rate to evaluate the individual health status. In order to increase your own fitness or to motivate yourself, PAI is a very interesting function. How reliable the value is remains questionable due to the sometimes incorrect heart rate recording.

Sleep monitor and alarm clock

The sleep recording starts automatically when you fall asleep. Manual control is not possible. The data collected includes the time to fall asleep and wake up as well as the various sleep phases. The detection of sleep and wake-up times is accurate to within a few minutes. The always-on display is annoying and does not switch off during sleep monitoring.

Several wake-up profiles can be set via the GTS or the app. The alarm clock works reliably and also wakes up from a firmer sleep.

WhatsApp notification on the Amazfit GTS

Notifications, music and others

If the GTS is connected to a smartphone, incoming notifications on the smartphone can be transmitted to the watch. For example, WhatApp messages or incoming calls can be displayed. However, it is not possible to reply to the messages. Which app notifications are forwarded to the smartwatch can be set via the Amazfit app.

The watch's music function is not a music player, but a pure control element for music playback on the connected smartphone. The volume can be adjusted, songs can be skipped and playback paused.

The other functions of the Amazfit GTS include a 7-day weather forecast with UV index, humidity and wind strength, a compass, a timer, a countdown and a mobile phone search function.

Amazfit app

As already mentioned, the smartwatch is very strongly tied to the Amazfit app. The app can be downloaded for free from Google Play or the Apple Store. As an alternative to the Amazfit app, the data can also be synchronized with the Mi Fit app and imported into Google Fit or Strava.

Sports summary

In addition to managing the watch, the Amazfit app also evaluates the data collected. Sports activities can be presented in a prepared manner so that conclusions can be drawn about the average heart rate, the distance covered or the calories burned. All activities and daily steps can be filtered by days, weeks and months.

Watch Faces

There are more than 102 watch faces to choose from for customizing the smartwatch. The Watfach can be conveniently selected via the Amazfit app and synchronized with the smartwatch at the push of a button. If the selection is too small for you, you can create your own watch faces or use watch faces from the community.

 Install your own watch faces on the Amazfit GTS? 

  1. Create a watch face in .BIN format or download a watch face.
  2. Synchronize a watchface via the Amazfit app.
  3. Open the file path Android \ data \ com.huami.watch.hmwatchmanager \ files \ watch_skin_local on your smartphone
  4. Copy the file name of the file stored there and replace your .BIN Watchface with this file name.
  5. After a new synchronization, your new watchface is on the watch.

Accumulator

The Amazfit GTS battery has a capacity of 220 mAh. For charging, the smartwatch is plugged into a magnetic 2-pin charging connector. The charging time is just under 100 minutes. The battery life is highly dependent on the respective use.

With always-on display, 2-hour sports program, about 30 notifications a day and GPS turned off, the battery lasts about 4 days. If you deactivate the always-on display, the battery lasts an average of 15 days. GPS is rapidly reducing battery life. If you walk in the forest for an hour and use GPS, you lose about 20% of the battery.

Price Comparison

 Would you like to know where you can buy the Amazfit GTS? In our price comparison we list the current offers from the most popular shops. All prices are checked and updated several times a day. If a shop appears several times, it is the dealer's various warehouses.

iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
76,90€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
79,90€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
83,88€
iconEuropean warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
94,57€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
99,99€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
99,99€
iconEuropean warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
101,04€
rating
Positive

Chic design
Sharp, colorful and bright display
Extensive sports functions
Waterproof to 5 ATM
Accurate pedometer
More than 102 Watchfaces
Decent battery life

Negative

Strongly tied to the Amazfit app
Sometimes incorrect heart rate measurement
Always-on display even during sleep tracking
GPS with deviations
Minor performance drops

Summary

The Amazfit GTS looks chic, but disappointed functional. Considering the design and the excellent display, you could have done more with the GTS. Instead, the GTS is once again heavily tied to the Amazfit app, which takes some getting used to. Essential functions of a smartwatch, such as phone calls and mobile payments, are not available. Thus, the GTS is "only" another Amazfit fitness tracker with a smartwatch look.

If the design is important and if you attach great importance to the sport functions, the Amazfit GTS could be the right wearable. Assuming Huami is still fixing the last software bugs.

7.9
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

Huami

Model

Amazfit GTS

Specifications

 Display 
Display: AMOLED
Display diagonal: 1.65 inches
Display resolution: 348 x 442 pixels
Screen Protector: Gorilla Glass 3

 Processor and memory 
CPU: Unknown
RAM: Unknown
Internal storage: Unknown
Memory extension: no

 other 
Bluetooth: 5.0 BLE
WiFi: no
GPS: Yes
Pedometer: Yes
Heart rate monitor: PPG BioTracker

OS: Android / iOS
Battery: 220 mAh

Waterproof: up to 5 ATM
Size: 43.25 36.25 x x 9.4 mm
Weight: 25g (without bracelet)

More from Amazfit

Amazfit t-rexAmazfit t-rex

Reviews

Huami can also do “outdoor” and has brought the Amazfit T-Rex onto the market for this. The T-Rex is aimed at all sports enthusiasts who ...

Advertising

Oclean X Elite Amazon Prime Promo

Reviews
6
Review

Amazfit GTS im Test – Smartwatch für Alltag & Sport

by 14. August 2020
Die Amazfit GTS ist eine sportliche Smartwatch, die optisch stark an eine Apple Watch erinnert. Doch kann die Smartwatch, die nur einen Bruchteil der Markenuhr kostet, auch mit dieser mithalten? Dem bin ich auf den Grund gegangen und habe mir die Amazfit GTS im Test näher angesehen.
Überblick
Hersteller

Huami

Produktbezeichnung

Amazfit GTS

Spezifikationen

Display
Display: AMOLED
Displaydiagonale: 1.65 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 348 x 442 Pixel
Displayschutz: Gorilla Glass 3

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Unbekannt
RAM: Unbekannt
Interner Speicher: Unbekannt
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Sonstige
Bluetooth: 5.0 BLE
WiFi: Nein
GPS: Ja
Pedometer: Ja
Herzfrequenzmesser: PPG BioTracker

OS: Android / iOS
Akku: 220 mAh

Wasserdicht: bis 5 ATM
Größe: 43.25 x 36.25 x 9.4 mm
Gewicht: 25g (ohne Armband)

Amazfit GTS Smartwatch

Bereits im September 2019 wurde die Amazfit GTS für den internationalen Markt vorgestellt. Hersteller ist das in China ansässige Unternehmen Huami, das auch für die Entwicklung und Produktion verschiedener Xiaomi Wearables (z.B. Xiaomi Mi Band 4) verantwortlich ist.

Wie alle bisher erschienenen Amazfit Wearables, ist auch die GTS mit dem proprietären Amazfit OS ausgestattet. Die Zielgruppe sind vor allem Hobbysportler, denen Amazfit OS mehr als 12 Sportprogramme bietet.

Die Vorderseite der Amazfit GTS mit dem 1.65 Zoll AMOLED Display.

Design

Auf den ersten Blick sieht die Amazfit GTS der Apple Watch zum Verwechseln ähnlich. Beide Uhren teilen sich ein rechteckiges Uhrengehäuse mit einem gekrümmten Displayglas. Das Uhrengehäuse ist 43.25 mm hoch und 36.25 mm breit. Die Dicke beträgt lediglich 9.4 mm. Durch das kompakte Design wirkt die Smartwatch selbst an schmalen Handgelenken sehr dezent. Das Gewicht beträgt ohne Armband knapp 25g und mit Armband 39g.

Silikonarmband mit Schnellverschluss

Apropos Armband: Dieses ist aus hautfreundlichem Silikon gefertigt, 20 cm lang, 20 mm breit und in 13 Stufen größenverstellbar. Eine Dornschließe und zwei Schlaufen halten die GTS sicher am Handgelenk. Über den Schnellverschluss lässt sich das Armband im Handumdrehen austauschen. Ersatzarmbänder mit Schnellverschluss gibt es in allen möglichen Variationen. Lediglich die Breite von 20 mm muss passen.

Hochwertiger Aluminiumrahmen

Hinter dem gekrümmten Displayglas verbirgt sich ein hochauflösendes AMOLED Display. Das abfallende Displayglas geht in einen schicken Aluminiumrahmen über. Rechterhand befindet sich die Powertaste als einziges, physisches Bedienelement. Weniger hochwertig ist die Rückseite der Smartwatch, die lediglich aus Kunststoff gefertigt ist.

Der Amazfit GTS Lieferumfang mit dem Ladegerät, der Smartwatch und der Bedienungsanleitung.

Wasserdicht bis 5 ATM

Erwähnenswert ist noch die Wasserdichtigkeit bis 5 ATM. Das heißt so viel wie, dass die Smartwatch dem Druck einer angenommenen Wassersäule von 50 Metern standhält. Im täglichen Gebrauch scheut die GTS also kein Wasser und kann getrost beim Händewaschen und Duschen am Handgelenk bleiben. Auch schwimmen ist mit der Amazfit GTS möglich, immerhin bietet die Uhr hierfür auch ein eigenes Sportprogramm. Tauchen und Salzwasser sollte man jedoch meiden.

Sechs verschiedene Farben

Die Amazfit GTS ist in 6 verschiedenen Farben erhältlich. Neben klassischem Schwarz und Grau stehen Gold, Pink, Orange und Blau zur Auswahl.

Die Vorderseite der Amazfit GTS Smartwatch.

Display

Im Gegensatz zu den älteren Amazfit Modellen, die auf ein transflektives Display setzen, nutzt die GTS ein 1.65 Zoll AMOLED Display.

Kräftige Farben, tiefes Schwarz

Der Displaytyp zeichnet sich durch besonders kräftige Farben (100% NTSC) und ein tiefes Schwarz aus. Das tiefe Schwarz wird dadurch erreicht, dass die nicht benötigten (schwarzen) Pixel einfach ausgeschaltet bleiben. Gleichzeitig wird so der Energieverbrauch reduziert, sodass die GTS selbst im Always-On Betrieb eine langanhaltende Akkulaufzeit erreicht. (Mehr zur Akkulaufzeit findest du am Ende des Testberichts.)

Gestochen scharfe Darstellung

Angesichts des Preises der Uhr ist das Display ein echtes Highlight. Auf das kleine 1.65 Zoll Display trifft eine überaus hohe Displayauflösung von 348 x 442 Pixel, was wiederum gestochen scharfen 341 PPI entspricht. Einzelne Pixel mit bloßen Augen zu erkennen ist kaum möglich. Die Helligkeit und der Kontrast sind tadellos und selbst bei starkem Lichteinfall gibt das Display eine gute Figur ab. Ein Helligkeitssensor passt die Displayhelligkeit automatisch dem Umgebungslicht an. Auf Eingaben reagiert der kleine Touchscreen präzise. Lediglich die Animationen sind leicht ruckelig und verzögert, was jedoch dem Amazfit OS geschuldet ist.

Kratzresistentes Displayglas

Das besonders kratzresistente Gorilla Glass 3 hält was es verspricht. Selbst nach mehrwöchiger, täglicher Nutzung der Uhr ist am Ende der Testphase kein Kratzer zu erkennen. Die Anti-Fingerprint Beschichtung verhindert nervige Fingerabdrücke und sorgt gleichzeitig für eine bessere Gleitfähigkeit auf dem Display.

Die Rückseite der Amazfit GTS Smartwatch.

Funktionen der Amazfit GTS

Die Amazfit GTS ist keine Uhr mit der man telefonieren, WhatsAppen, mobil bezahlen oder mal eben im Internet surfen kann. Der Fokus der Smartwatch liegt hauptsächlich auf den umfangreichen Sportfunktionen. Strenggenommen ist die GTS ein Mix aus Fitnessarmband und Smartwatch. Wer eine vollwertige Smartwatch wie die Apple Watch erwartet, ist bei den Uhren von Huami eindeutig fehl am Platz!

Wegen des proprietären Amazfit OS lassen sich keine eigenen Apps installieren, weshalb man auf die Apps und Funktionen angewiesen ist, die Amazfit vorgibt. Zugleich ist die GTS stark an die Amazfit App gebunden. Zur Einrichtung der Smartwatch, zur Auswertung der gesammelten Daten und zum Benachrichtigungsempfang wird eine Bluetooth-Verbindung zum Smartphone vorausgesetzt.

Amazfit GTS Firmware-Updates im Überblick

Update 26. Juni 2020

Neue Firmware 0.0.9.12 erschienen. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein neues Feature-Update. Die Amazfit GTS ist jetzt in der Lage auch den Mittagsschlaf zu überwachen. Getrackt wird nur der Schlaf, der länger als 20 Minuten andauert. Die Bewertung des Mittagsschlafs fließt dabei in die Gesamtbewertung des Schlafs mit ein.

Update 31. Mai 2020

Neue Firmware 0.0.9.05 erschienen. Dieses Update behebt nicht näher genannte Bugs.

Update 30. April 2020

Neue Firmware 0.0.8.90 erschienen. Die Smartwatch erhält mit diesem Update ein Wetter und UVI Control Center.

Update 28. März 2020

Neue Firmware 0.0.8.56 erschienen. Das Update verbessert die Performance der Smartwatch, fügt eine Vibration beim Ausschalten hinzu und zeigt einen Stop-Button, sobald der Alarm ertönt. Die Bug-Fixes betreffen PAI und die Stoppuhr.

Update 17. Januar 2020

Die Amazfit GTS hat ein Update erhalten. Laut Changelog verbessert die Firmware 0.0.8.37 die GPS-Geschwindigkeit und GPS-Genauigkeit. Im Test konnte diese Verbesserung nachvollzogen werden. Der GPS-Fix wird im Vergleich zur Firmware 0.0.8.33 insgesamt schneller gefunden und auch die Standortgenauigkeit ist ein wenig präziser.

Schrittzähler und Sportprogramme

Dass die GTS im Wesentlichen eine Sportuhr sein möchte, zeigen die insgesamt 12 Sportprogramme und die umfangreiche Sensorik, bestehend aus GPS, einem PPG BioTracker, einem 6-Achsen Beschleunigungssensor sowie einem 3-Achsen G-Sensor.

Schritte zeichnet die GTS zuverlässig auf. Armbewegungen im Sitzen oder beim Autofahren werden nicht als Schritte gezählt. Ein Tagesziel kann in 1000er Schritten über die Amazfit App festgelegt werden. Die Uhr selbst zeigt die zurückgelegten Schritte, die Strecke und die verbrannten Kalorien übersichtlich an. Eine Inaktivitätswarnung informiert über zu langes Sitzen.

Die Benutzeroberfläche der Amazfit GTS mit Watchfaces und einfacher Bedienung

Folgende Sportprogramme stehen dem Nutzer zur Verfügung:

  • Laufen (Outdoor)
  • Laufen (Indoor)
  • Gehen / Wandern (Outdoor)
  • Fahrradfahren (Outdoor)
  • Fahrradfahren (Indoor)
  • Schwimmen (Schwimmbecken)
  • Schwimmen (Freiwasser)
  • Ellipsentrainer
  • Klettern
  • Trailrunning
  • Skiing
  • Freies Training

Jedes der Sportprogramme ist auf die jeweilige Sportart zugeschnitten. Wählt man beispielsweise Schwimmen im Schwimmbecken aus, muss zunächst die Beckenlänge festgelegt werden. Aktivitätsziele lassen sich in Strecke, Dauer und Verbrauch festlegen. Je nach gewähltem Sportprogramm stehen auch Erinnerungsmöglichkeiten zur Distanz, Herzfrequenz und Geschwindigkeit zur Auswahl. Einige der Daten, wie z.B. die Geschwindigkeit oder die Herzfrequenz, lassen sich zusätzlich in Form eines Echtzeit-Diagramms darstellen. Alle relevanten Daten sind auf einen Blick einsehbar.

Praktisch ist die Auto-Pause Funktion der Sportprogramme. Sobald das Sportprogramm unterbrochen wird, pausiert die GTS die Datenerfassung. Im Test funktionierte das Feature weitestgehend präzise. Beachten sollte man allerdings, dass die Auto-Pause Funktion sehr scharf eingestellt ist. Legt man während des Lauftrainings eine kurze Gangeinheit ein, kann die Uhr bereits das Sportprogramm pausieren!

Die Benutzeroberfläche der Amazfit GTS mit Wettervorhersarge und 12 Sportprogrammen

GPS und Outdoor

Um Outdoor-Aktivitäten noch präziser tracken zu können, ist die Amazfit GTS mit GPS ausgestattet. Was in der Theorie hervorragend klingt, verlangt in der Praxis noch einiges an Verbesserungsbedarf. Bis ein stabiles GPS-Signal aufgebaut ist, vergehen meist 15-60 Sekunden. Das ist vor allem dann nervig, wenn man es eilig hat.

Gleiches gilt für den Streckenverlauf, der je nach Umgebung sehr ungenau ausfällt. Auf freiem Feld liegt die Abweichung bereits bei 1-2 Metern. Im Wald oder städtischem Raum sind Abweichungen von gut 6-10 Metern möglich. Eine Export- und Importmöglichkeit für GPX bzw. TCX Dateien ist von Haus aus nicht vorhanden. Lediglich über Drittanbieter-Apps lassen sich die Trainingsdaten im entsprechenden Format exportieren.

Herzfrequenz und PAI

Die Herzfrequenz wird über einen PPG-Sensor (Photoplethysmographie) ermittelt. Im Messverfahren wird Licht in die Haut geleitet und gemessen, wie viel Licht abhängig vom Blutstrom zurückgestreut wird. In der Amazfit App lässt sich die Erkennungsfrequenz in 1, 5, 10 oder 30 Minuten einstellen. Im Work-Out arbeitet der Sensor durchgängig.

Leider ist die Herzfrequenzermittlung nur bedingt zuverlässig. Gerade während dem Work-Out gab es häufiger Ausfälle und Fehlmessungen. Trotz konstanter Leistung fiel die Herzfrequenz von 130 auf weniger als 80 und erholte sich erst wieder langsam auf einen realistischen Wert. Die Möglichkeit einen Pulsgurt mit der Uhr zu verbinden gibt es nicht.

Ein von Huami neu eingeführtes Feature ist die „Personal Activity Intelligence“ (PAI). PAI ist ein wissenschaftlich anerkanntes Verfahren zur Ermittlung des Gesundheitszustandes. Im Zeitfenster von 7 Tagen wird der so genannte PAI-Score (1-100) erfasst, der anhand der Herzfrequenz den individuellen Gesundheitszustand bewertet. Um die eigene Fitness zu steigern bzw. sich selbst zu motivieren ist PAI eine durchaus interessante Funktion. Wie zuverlässig der Wert ist, bleibt auf Grund der teilweise fehlerhaften Herzfrequenzaufzeichnung fraglich.

Schlafmonitor und Wecker

Die Schlafaufzeichnung wird automatisch mit dem Einschlafen gestartet. Eine manuelle Steuerung ist nicht möglich. Die gesammelten Daten umfassen die Einschlaf- und Aufwachzeit sowie die verschiedenen Schlafphasen. Die Erkennung der Einschlaf- und Aufwachzeit ist bis auf wenige Minuten Abweichung genau. Störend ist das Always-On Display, das sich während der Schlafüberwachung nicht abschaltet.

Mehrere Weckprofile können über die GTS oder die App gestellt werden. Der Wecker arbeitet zuverlässig und weckt auch aus einem festeren Schlaf auf.

WhatsApp Benachrichtigung auf der Amazfit GTS

Benachrichtigungen, Musik und Sonstige

Ist die GTS mit einem Smartphone verbunden, können auf dem Smartphone eingehende Benachrichtigungen an die Uhr übertragen werden. So lassen sich beispielsweise WhatApp Nachrichten oder eingehende Anrufe anzeigen. Auf die Nachrichten zu antworten ist allerdings nicht möglich. Welche App-Benachrichtigungen an die Smartwatch weitergeleitet werden, lässt sich über die Amazfit App festlegen.

Die Musik-Funktion der Uhr ist kein Musikplayer, sondern ein reines Steuerelement für die Musikwiedergabe des verbundenen Smartphones. Die Lautstärke ist anpassbar, Songs lassen sich überspringen und die Wiedergabe pausieren.

Zu den sonstigen Funktionen der Amazfit GTS zählen eine 7-Tage Wettervorhersage mit UV-Index, Luftfeuchtigkeit und Windstärke, ein Kompass, ein Timer, ein Countdown, sowie eine Handy-Suchfunktion.

Amazfit App

Wie bereits erwähnt ist die Smartwatch sehr stark an die Amazfit App gebunden. Die App kann kostenlos über den Google Play oder den Apple Store heruntergeladen werden. Alternativ zur Amazfit App lassen sich die Daten auch mit der Mi Fit App synchronisieren und in Google Fit oder Strava importieren.

Sportübersicht

Neben der Verwaltung der Uhr übernimmt die Amazfit App auch die Auswertung der gesammelten Daten. Sportaktivitäten lassen sich aufbereitet darstellen, sodass sich Rückschlüsse zur durchschnittlichen Herzfrequenz, der zurückgelegten Strecke oder den verbrannten Kalorien ziehen lassen. Alle Aktivitäten und die täglich erfassten Schritte können nach Tagen, Wochen und Monaten gefiltert werden.

Watchfaces

Zur Individualisierung der Smartwatch stehen mehr als 102 Watchfaces zur Auswahl. Die Watfaches lassen sich bequem über die Amazfit App auswählen und auf Knopfdruck mit der Smartwatch synchronisieren. Wem die Auswahl zu klein ist, der hat die Möglichkeit eigene Watchfaces zu erstellen oder auf Watchfaces aus der Community zurückzugreifen.

Eigene Watchfaces auf der Amazfit GTS installieren?

  1. Erstelle ein Watchface im Format .BIN oder lade dir ein Watchface herunter.
  2. Synchronisiere ein Watchface über die Amazfit App.
  3. Öffne auf deinem Smartphone den Dateipfad Android\data\com.huami.watch.hmwatchmanager\files\watch_skin_local
  4. Kopiere den Dateinamen der dort hinterlegten Datei und ersetze dein .BIN Watchface mit diesem Dateinamen.
  5. Nach einer erneuten Synchronisation befindet sich dein neues Watchface auf der Uhr.

Akku

Der Akku der Amazfit GTS hat eine Kapazität von 220 mAh. Zum Laden wird die Smartwatch in einen magnetischen 2-Pin Ladeconnector gesteckt. Die Ladezeit beträgt knapp 100 Minuten. Die Akkulaufzeit ist stark von der jeweiligen Nutzung abhängig.

Mit Always-On Display, 2 Stunden Sportprogramm, ungefähr 30 Benachrichtigungen am Tag und ausgeschaltetem GPS hält der Akku ungefähr 4 Tage. Deaktiviert man das Always-On Display, hält der Akku im Schnitt 15 Tage durch. GPS reduziert die Akkulaufzeit rapide. Wer eine Stunde im Wald läuft und dabei GPS nutzt, verliert in etwa 20% Akku.

Preisvergleich

Du möchtest wissen, wo du die Amazfit GTS kaufen kannst? In unserem Preisvergleich listen wir die aktuellen Angebote der bekanntesten Shops. Alle Preise werden mehrmals täglich überprüft und aktualisiert. Sollte ein Shop mehrmals auftauchen, handelt es sich um die verschiedenen Warenlager des Händlers.

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Cyberport
1-5 Werktage
102,90€
Notebooksbilliger
1-5 Werktage
104,90€
Alternate
3-7 Werktage
104,90€
Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
120,40€
Banggood
10-30 Werktage
127,00€
Amazon
1-5 Werktage
129,99€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 22. September 2020 09:42

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Schickes Design
Scharfes, farbkräftiges und helles Display
Umfangreiche Sportfunktionen
Wasserdicht bis 5 ATM
Genauer Schrittzähler
Mehr als 102 Watchfaces
Ordentliche Akkulaufzeit

Negativ

Stark an die Amazfit App gebunden
Teilweise fehlerhafte Herzfrequenzmessung
Display auch während Schlaftracking Always-On
GPS mit Abweichungen
Kleinere Performanceeinbrüche

Erster Eindruck
8.5
7.2
Verarbeitung
8.5
7.3
Design
9.0
9.3
Display
8.5
9.9
Benutzeroberfläche
8.5
8.9
GPS & Sensoren
6.5
7.6
Akku
7.0
7.0
Tragekomfort
8.0
8.2
Funktionsumfang
7.0
8.8
App
7.0
6.9
Fazit

Die Amazfit GTS sieht schick aus, enttäuscht aber funktional. Gerade in Anbetracht des Designs und dem hervorragenden Display, hätte man mehr aus der GTS machen können. Stattdessen ist die GTS abermals stark an die etwas gewöhnungsbedürftige Amazfit App gebunden. Essentielle Funktionen einer Smartwatch, wie z.B. Telefonieren und mobiles Bezahlen, bleiben aus. Somit ist die GTS „nur“ ein weiterer Amazfit Fitnesstracker im Smartwatch-Look.

Wem das Design wichtig ist und wer viel Wert auf die Sportfunktionen legt, für den könnte die Amazfit GTS durchaus das passende Wearable sein. Vorausgesetzt Huami beseitigt noch die letzten Software-Fehler.

7.9
Unsere Bewertung
8.1
Nutzerbewertung
5 ratings
You have rated this
guest
6 Comments
Älteste
Neueste
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ricardo

Ich habe einen Polar Brustgurt, kann ich den mit der Uhr koppeln? LG

Stefan

Nein kann man nicht. Steht so auch im Test falls du den gelesen hast.

Ricardo

Danke, dann habe ich das wohl überlesen. Das spricht dann natürlich gegen die GTS, sofern die Herzfrequenzmessung wirklich so ungenau ist, wie der Autor schreibt. Auf anderen Seiten liest man was anderes. Ich habe keine Ahnung was ich jetzt glauben soll.

Silke

Hallo, ich habe mir die Amazfit GTS bei Aldi gekauft. Bin soweit zufrieden mit der Uhr, aber jetzt nach knapp zwei Monaten löst sich das Armband auf. Wo bekomme ich ein Ersatzarmband für die Uhr?

heiko

Du kannst da ganz normale Uhrenarmbänder mit sonem Pin-Verschluss nehmen. Habe an meine auch ein anderes Armband gemacht. Gleiches Problem wie bei dir.