Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Xiaomi Mi Band 4 review

Xiaomi Mi Band 4 test - fitness tracker with color display!

Test report prepared by Timo on October 4, 2020

Xiaomi has released the Mi Band 4! The new model of this popular fitness tracker also features an 0.95 inch color display, numerous new sports functions and is waterproof up to 50 meters. In the test lasting several weeks, I took a closer look at the new Xiaomi fitness tracker.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8.6
Our rating
€ 25 saturn.de
Price Comparison
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

Xiaomi

Model

Xiaomi Mi Band 4

Specifications

 Bracelet 
Material: TPU
Closure: pin buckle
Size adjustable: 155 - 216 mm
L: 247 mm

 tracking unit 
Display Type: OLED (color)
Display diagonal: 0.95 inches
Display resolution: 120 x 240 pixels
Display brightness: 400 nit
Color depth: 24bit

Bluetooth: Standard 5.0 BLE
Heart rate sensor: Yes

 Features 
Pedometer: Yes
Sleep Monitor: Yes
Heart rate measurement: Yes
Date and time: Yes
Alarm function: Yes
Stopwatch: Yes
Notifications: Yes
Music playback control: Yes
Motor Reminder: Yes

 Accumulator 
Battery type: lithium polymer
Battery capacity: 135 mAh
Battery life: up to 20 days

 other 
App: MiFit
Water protection: 5ATM
Size: 17.9 46.9 x x 12.6 mm
Weight: 22.1g

What's in the box

1x tracking unit
1x bracelet
1x charging adapter
1x user manual

Introduction: Xiaomi Mi Band 4

That is at the end of May 2018 Xiaomi Mi Band 3 published. Xiaomi continued the release cycle and presented the Xiaomi Mi Band 2019 in China at the beginning of June 4. We had to wait a few months before a multilingual global version was published, but the popular fitness tracker from China is now officially available in this country as well. The global version is CE-marked, but dispenses with NFC and the new Xiao AI functions. Our test refers to the Mi Band 4 Global. 

The front of the Mi Band 4 with the OLED color display.

Design and display

Xiaomi remains true to the compact design of the previous Mi bands. The bracelet is made of TPU, is 18 mm wide and adjustable in size between 155 - 216 mm. A pin buckle holds the bracelet tightly on the wrist. The bracelet size that is identical to the Mi Band 3 is practical. If you want to switch from the predecessor to the Xiaomi Mi Band 4, you can continue to use your old bracelet! 

Mi Band 4 capsule with TPU strap

 The 0.95 inch touch display is new. This is of the AMOLED type and now also displays colors (24bit). The high resolution of 240 x 120 pixels ensures a pin-sharp display with a low display diagonal. Special features of the AMOLED are the particularly strong colors and the almost infinite contrast. If black is displayed, the pixels that are lit by themselves simply remain switched off. As a practical side effect, the energy consumption of the panel is reduced.

Tracking unit with OLED color display and backside heart rate sensor

Due to the high display brightness of 400 nit, the display remains very easy to read even in sunshine. There are a total of 5 brightness levels to choose from. What the display lacks is an automatic brightness adjustment. The panel is protected by a hardened protective glass. The 2.5D curved cut ensures rounded edges and an accompanying better look. The capsule-shaped tracking unit is removable and is charged via a 2-pin connector. The charging pins are now on the underside, so that the charger of the predecessor, unlike the bracelet, is not compatible! The fitness armband is waterproof to 5ATM (50 meters) and can therefore be worn while swimming without any problems. 

Processing and delivery

There is nothing wrong with the workmanship. As expected, the Mi Band 4 is well made. Even after removing it several times, the tracker inlet and shutter will not decrease. The wearing comfort is excellent. The scope of delivery includes the TPU bracelet, the tracking unit, the USB charging adapter and a user manual.

Mi Band 4 included with charger, strap and manual

Xiaomi Mi Band 4 features

Better tracking and new sports modes

The 6-axis motion sensor (3-axis acceleration sensor + 3-axis gyroscope) gives the Mi Band 4 new possibilities to track an even wider range of sports. There are a total of 6 sports to choose from. In addition to running, treadmill and walking, there is cycling, swimming and free training. All training units can be started directly via the smartband. A PPG sensor measures the heart rate of the user. This actually works pretty precisely and delivers reasonably comprehensible results even in the high pulse range.

No GPS, but MiFit GPS

A GPS module is not installed. Instead, the GPS of the connected mobile device can be used for more precise tracking. But even without GPS, the step counter delivers extremely precise results. Depending on the sport, the following data is collected, among others: 

  • Elapsed time
  • steps
  • Removal
  • calorie consumption
  • Speed
  • stride
  • heart rate
  • height difference
  • Performance VO2Max
  • Swolf
  • beat number

All data is transferred to the MiFit app via Bluetooth 5.0 BLE and can be viewed in prepared statistics. In addition to the prepared display of all sports data, the MiFit is the control center of the Mi Band. Settings for the bracelet, the receipt of notifications, the weather or the alarm clock can be made directly via the app.

More than 53 Watchfaces

To customize the user interface, Xiaomi offers 53 different watch faces to choose from. The high-resolution AMOLED display opens up new options for displaying even more unusual watch faces. In addition to the time, date and steps, animations can also be displayed.

 The possibility to develop your own watch faces for the Mi Band is particularly interesting. Own creations or watch faces from the community can be loaded directly onto the bracelet via the app (MiBand4 - Watchface).

Language Assistant and NFC

!! The following applies exclusively to the Chinese version of Mi Band 4 !!

In China, the NFC model supports the Xiao AI language assistant. The Xiao AI is indeed equated with "Western" language assistants like Google Voice, Alexa or Siri understands so far but only Chinese, and is therefore of interest only to the Chinese users.

To what extent the Xiaomi Mi Band 4 will receive a Western language assistant remains to be seen. The Xiaomi company Huami has a close relationship with the Amazfit Verge already made. Instead of the Xiao AI, the international model of the Smartwatch with Amazon Alexa has appeared. The NFC function is also denied to the Chinese market, so that mobile payment with eg Google Pay is not possible!

Notifications, music control and more

In addition to sports functions, the Mi Band 4 also offers other functions that make everyday life easier for the user. Incoming app and call notifications on the smartphone can be displayed directly on the fitness tracker. For example, if you receive a WhatsApp message, you can call it up on the bracelet. However, it is not possible to reply to messages or SMS!

Xiaomi Mi Band 4 color display with status

The music function enables the songs played on the smartphone to be controlled via the Mi Band. Songs can be paused and skipped, and the playback volume can be adjusted. The name of the currently playing song is also displayed on the fitness tracker.

Xiaomi Mi Band 4 color display with weather indicator

Own vibration patterns, which can be created via the MiFit app, individualize the recognizability of incoming notifications. Other functions are: 

  • The display of the weather with weather forecast
  • An alarm clock, a stopwatch and a timer
  • A DND sleep mode so that no more notifications are received
  • Look for the smartphone with the Mi band, or vice versa to search the Mi band with the smartphone
  • Safely unlock the smartphone with the Mi Band
  • Record the sleep and display the sleep data or sleep irregularities via the Mi Fit app
  • A motion memory

Accumulator

The capacity of the battery has been increased to 135 mAh or 125 mAh (NFC model). Xiaomi itself specifies the battery life with up to 20 days.

In practice, a runtime of 3 days was measured at brightness level 24, 6-hour heart rate measurement and 16 hours of exercise / week as well as constant Bluetooth connection to the smartphone. A full charge takes 80 minutes.

Price Comparison

 Would you like to know where you can buy the Xiaomi Mi Band 4? In our price comparison we list the current offers from the most popular shops. All prices are checked and updated several times a day. If a shop appears several times, it is the dealer's various warehouses.

iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
24,90€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
26,99€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
27,90€
iconChinese warehouse
iconDelivery time 15 to 20 working days
29,92€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
31,42€
iconGerman warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
39,99€
iconEuropean warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
29,00€
Rating
Positive

Good workmanship
Pleasant wearing comfort
Waterproof to 5ATM and swim mode
Color display with good legibility
Individual watch faces
Precise pedometer
Functional range of the Mi Fit app
Receive notification content
Sound control
Good battery life

Negative

No automatic brightness adjustment
Heart rate measurement in the higher pulse range slightly inaccurate
No response to notifications
Global version without NFC and voice assistant

Summary

With the Xiaomi Mi Band 4, the Chinese electronics giant once again presents a very well-equipped fitness bracelet for a small price. The OLED display extends the range of functions even further. In addition to fancy watchfaces, the readability in sunshine has improved significantly.

Also interesting are the new sports modes. With the sport mode "swimming" and the 5ATM waterproofness, users also get far-reaching possibilities of use in the water. The battery life is still very good with realistic 16 days. Overall, the Xiaomi Mi Band 4 is unreservedly recommended!

8.6
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

Xiaomi

Model

Xiaomi Mi Band 4

Specifications

 Bracelet 
Material: TPU
Closure: pin buckle
Size adjustable: 155 - 216 mm
L: 247 mm

 tracking unit 
Display Type: OLED (color)
Display diagonal: 0.95 inches
Display resolution: 120 x 240 pixels
Display brightness: 400 nit
Color depth: 24bit

Bluetooth: Standard 5.0 BLE
Heart rate sensor: Yes

 Features 
Pedometer: Yes
Sleep Monitor: Yes
Heart rate measurement: Yes
Date and time: Yes
Alarm function: Yes
Stopwatch: Yes
Notifications: Yes
Music playback control: Yes
Motor Reminder: Yes

 Accumulator 
Battery type: lithium polymer
Battery capacity: 135 mAh
Battery life: up to 20 days

 other 
App: MiFit
Water protection: 5ATM
Size: 17.9 46.9 x x 12.6 mm
Weight: 22.1g

What's in the box

1x tracking unit
1x bracelet
1x charging adapter
1x user manual

Advertising

Geekbuying Black Friday Sale Sidebar

Banggood Black Friday Sale Sidebar

Reviews
0
Review

Xiaomi Mi Band 4 Test – Fitnesstracker mit Farbdisplay!

by 4. Oktober 2020
Wir haben das Xiaomi Mi Band 4 für euch getestet! Das aktuelle Modell des auch hierzulande beliebten Fitnesstrackers bietet unter anderem ein 0.95 Zoll Farbdisplay, zahlreiche neue Sportfunktionen und ist bis zu 50 Meter wasserdicht. Unsere Erfahrungen mit dem Xiaomi Fitnesstracker findest du zusammengefasst im folgenden Testbericht.
Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Produktbezeichnung

Xiaomi Mi Band 4

Spezifikationen

Armband
Material: TPU
Verschluss: Dornschließe
Größenverstellbar: 155 - 216 mm
Länge: 247 mm

Trackingeinheit
Displaytyp: OLED (Farbe)
Displaydiagonale: 0.95 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 120 x 240 Pixel
Displayhelligkeit: 400 nit
Farbtiefe: 24bit

Bluetooth: Standard 5.0 BLE
Herzfrequenzsensor: Ja

Funktionen
Schrittzähler: Ja
Schlafmonitor: Ja
Herzfrequenzmessung: Ja
Datum und Uhrzeit: Ja
Weckfunktion: Ja
Stoppuhr: Ja
Benachrichtigungen: Ja
Musik-Wiedergabesteuerung: Ja
Bewegungserinnerung: Ja

Akku
Akkutyp: Lithium-Polymer
Akkukapazität: 135 mAh
Akkulaufzeit: bis zu 20 Tage

Sonstige
App: MiFit
Wasserschutz: 5ATM
Größe: 17.9 x 46.9 x 12.6 mm
Gewicht: 22.1g

Lieferumfang

1x Trackingeinheit
1x Armband
1x Ladeadapter
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Einleitung: Xiaomi Mi Band 4

Update 04. Oktober 2020

Bei Amazon gibt es das Xiaomi Mi Band 4 Global derzeit reduziert für nur 18,78 Euro zu kaufen. Der Versand erfolgt direkt durch Amazon.

Amazon Angebot - Xiaomi Mi Band 4

Das Xiaomi Mi Band 4 für nur 18,78 Euro bei Amazon! Versandkostenfrei aus Deutschland mit Amazon Prime.
DEAL AKTIVIEREN
18€ 22€
Gültig bis 31.10

Ende Mai 2018 ist das Xiaomi Mi Band 3 erschienen. Den Release-Zyklus hat Xiaomi fortgeführt und Anfang Juni 2019 das Xiaomi Mi Band 4 in China vorgestellt. Bis zur Veröffentlichung einer mehrsprachigen Global Version mussten wir uns einige Monate gedulden, doch mittlerweile ist der beliebte Fitnesstracker aus China auch hierzulande offiziell erhältlich. Die Global Version ist CE-gekennzeichnet, verzichtet jedoch auf NFC und die neuen Xiao AI Funktionen. Unser Test bezieht sich auf das Mi Band 4 Global.

Die Vorderseite des Mi Band 4 mit dem OLED Farbdisplay.

Design und Display

Dem kompakten Design der bisherigen Mi Bänder bleibt Xiaomi treu. Das Armband besteht aus TPU, ist 18 mm breit und zwischen 155 – 216 mm größenverstellbar. Eine Dornschließe hält das Armband fest am Handgelenk. Praktisch ist die identische Armbandgröße zum Mi Band 3. Wer vom Vorgänger zum Xiaomi Mi Band 4 umsteigen möchte, kann sein altes Armband weiterverwenden!

Mi Band 4 Kapsel mit TPU Armband

Neu ist das 0.95 Zoll große Touch-Display. Dieses ist vom Typ AMOLED und stellt nun auch Farben (24bit) dar. Die hohe Auflösung von 240 x 120 Pixel sorgt bei niedriger Displaydiagonale für eine gestochen-scharfe Darstellung. Besondere Merkmale des AMOLED sind die besonders kräftigen Farben und der fast unendliche Kontrast. Wird Schwarz dargestellt, bleiben die von sich aus leuchtenden Pixel einfach ausgeschaltet. Als praktischer Nebeneffekt reduziert sich der Energieverbrauch des Panels.

Trackingeinheit mit OLED Farbdisplay und rückseitigem Herzfrequenzsensor

Durch die hohe Displayhelligkeit von 400 Nit bleibt das Display auch bei Sonnenschein sehr gut lesbar. Insgesamt stehen 5 Helligkeitsstufen zur Auswahl. Was das Display leider vermisst ist eine automatische Helligkeitsanpassung. Geschützt wird das Panel durch ein gehärtetes Schutzglas. Der 2.5D Curved-Schliff sorgt für abgerundete Kanten und eine einhergehend bessere Optik. Die kapselförmige Trackingeinheit ist herausnehmbar und wird über einen 2-Pin Connector geladen. Die Lade-Pins befinden sich nun aber auf der Unterseite, sodass das Ladegerät des Vorgänger im Gegensatz zum Armband nicht kompatibel ist! Das Fitnessarmband ist bis 5ATM (50 Meter) wasserdicht und kann somit problemlos beim Schwimmen getragen werden.

Verarbeitung und Lieferumfang

An der Verarbeitungsqualität gibt es nichts auszusetzen. Das Mi Band 4 ist erwartungsgemäß gut verarbeitet. Selbst nach mehrmaligen Entfernen lassen der Einlass des Trackers und der Verschluss nicht nach. Der Tragekomfort ist hervorragend. Der Lieferumfang umfasst das TPU Armband, die Trackingeinheit, den USB-Ladeadapter und eine Bedienungsanleitung.

Mi Band 4 Lieferumfang mit Ladegerät, Armband und Bedienungsanleitung

Xiaomi Mi Band 4 Funktionen

Besseres Tracking und neue Sportmodi

Der 6-Achsen Bewegungssensor (3-Achsen Beschleunigungssensor + 3-Achsen Gyroskop) verleiht dem Mi Band 4 neue Möglichkeiten um ein noch weiteres Spektrum an Sportarten zu tracken. Insgesamt stehen 6 Sportarten zur Auswahl. Neben Laufen, Laufband und Gehen gibt es Fahrradfahren, Schwimmen und freies Training. Sämtliche Trainingseinheiten können direkt über das Smartband gestartet werden. Ein PPG-Sensor misst die Herzfrequenz des Nutzers. Dieser funktioniert sogar ziemlich genau und liefert auch im hohen Pulsbereich noch einigermaßen nachvollziehbare Ergebnisse.

Kein GPS, dafür aber MiFit GPS

Ein GPS-Modul ist nicht verbaut. Stattdessen kann für ein genaueres Tracken auf das GPS des verbundenen Mobilgerätes zurückgegriffen werden. Aber auch ohne GPS liefert der Schrittzähler überaus präzise Ergebnisse. Je nach Sportart werden unter anderem folgende Daten gesammelt:

  • Verstrichene Zeit
  • Schritte
  • Entfernung
  • Kalorienverbrauch
  • Geschwindigkeit
  • Schrittlänge
  • Herzfrequenz
  • Höhendifferenz
  • Leistung VO2Max
  • SWOLF
  • Schlaganzahl

Sämtliche Daten werden per Bluetooth 5.0 BLE an die MiFit App übertragen und können in aufbereiteten Statistiken angesehen werden. Neben der aufbereiteten Anzeige sämtlicher Sportdaten ist die MiFit die Schaltzentrale des Mi Bands. Einstellungen zum Armband, dem Benachrichtigungsempfang, dem Wetter oder dem Wecker können direkt über die App vorgenommen werden.

Mehr als 53 Watchfaces

Zur Individualisierung der Benutzeroberfläche stellt Xiaomi gleich 53 verschiedene Watchfaces zur Auswahl. Durch das hochauflösende AMOLED Display bieten sich neue Möglichkeiten noch ausgefallenere Watchfaces darzustellen. Neben Uhrzeit, Datum und Schritten können auch Animationen angezeigt werden.

Besonders interessant ist die Möglichkeit eigene Watchfaces für das Mi Band zu entwickeln. Eigenkreationen oder Watchfaces aus der Community lassen sich per App (MiBand4 – Watchface) direkt auf das Armband laden.

Sprachassistent und NFC

!! Folgendes gilt ausschließlich für die chinesische Version des Mi Band 4 !!

In China unterstützt das NFC-Modell den Xiao AI Sprachassistenten. Die Xiao AI ist zwar mit „westlichen“ Sprachassistenten wie Google Voice, Alexa oder Siri gleichzusetzen, versteht bisher aber nur Chinesisch und ist somit nur für den chinesischen Anwender interessant.

Inwiefern das Xiaomi Mi Band 4 einen westlichen Sprachassistenten erhalten wird, bleibt abzuwarten. Das aus Xiaomi hervorgegangene Unternehmen „Huami“ hat es mit der Amazfit Verge bereits vorgemacht. Anstelle der Xiao AI ist das internationale Modell der Smartwatch mit Amazons Alexa erschienen. Die NFC Funktion ist ebenfalls dem chinesischen Markt vorenthalten, sodass mobiles Bezahlen mit z.B. Google Pay nicht möglich ist!

Benachrichtigungen, Musiksteuerung und mehr

Neben Sportfunktionen bietet das Mi Band 4 auch weitere Funktionen, die dem Nutzer den Alltag erleichtern. Auf dem Smartphone eingehende App- und Anrufbenachrichtigungen lassen sich direkt auf dem Fitnesstracker anzeigen. Erhält man beispielsweise eine WhatsApp Nachricht, kann man diese über das Armband abrufen. Auf Nachrichten oder SMS zu antworten ist jedoch nicht möglich!

Xiaomi Mi Band 4 Farbdisplay mit Status

Die Musikfunktion ermöglicht es die auf dem Smartphone abgespielten Songs über das Mi Band zu steuern. Songs lassen sich pausieren und überspringen, als auch lässt sich die Wiedergabelautstärke anpassen. Der Name des aktuell abgespielten Songs wird ebenfalls auf dem Fitnesstracker angezeigt.

Xiaomi Mi Band 4 Farbdisplay mit Wetteranzeige

Eigene Vibrationsmuster, die sich über die MiFit App erstellen lassen, individualisieren die Erkennbarkeit von eingehenden Benachrichtigungen. Weitere Funktionen sind:

  • Die Anzeige des Wetters mit Wettervorhersage
  • Ein Wecker, eine Stoppuhr und ein Timer
  • Ein DND Schlafmodus sodass keine Benachrichtigungen mehr eingehen
  • Das Smartphone mit dem Mi Band suchen, oder umgekehrt das Mi Band mit dem Smartphone suchen
  • Das Smartphone mit dem Mi Band sicher entsperren
  • Den Schlaf aufzeichnen und Anzeige der Schlafdaten bzw. Schlafunregelmäßigkeiten über die Mi Fit App
  • Eine Bewegungserinnerung

Akku

Die Kapazität des Akkus wurde auf 135 mAh bzw. 125 mAh (NFC-Modell) angehoben. Xiaomi selbst gibt die Akkulaufzeit mit bis zu 20 Tagen an.

In der Praxis wurde auf Helligkeitsstufe 3, 24-stündiger Herzfrequenzmessung und 6 Stunden Sport / Woche sowie ständiger Bluetooth-Verbindung zum Smartphone eine Laufzeit von 16 Tagen gemessen. Ein vollständiger Ladevorgang nimmt 80 Minuten in Anspruch.

Preisvergleich

Du möchtest wissen, wo du das Xiaomi Mi Band 4 kaufen kannst? In unserem Preisvergleich listen wir die aktuellen Angebote der bekanntesten Shops. Alle Preise werden mehrmals täglich überprüft und aktualisiert. Sollte ein Shop mehrmals auftauchen, handelt es sich um die verschiedenen Warenlager des Händlers.

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Alternate
1-5 Werktage
21,99€
Banggood
10-30 Werktage
22,28€
Notebooksbilliger
1-5 Werktage
22,99€
Cyberport
1-5 Werktage
24,90€
Amazon
1-5 Werktage
25,99€
Geekbuying kaufen
1-5 Werktage
30,09€
Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
30,10€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 25. Oktober 2020 15:43

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Gute Verarbeitungsqualität
Angenehmer Tragekomfort
Bis 5ATM wasserdicht und Schwimmmodus
Farbdisplay mit guter Lesbarkeit
Individuelle Watchfaces
Präziser Schrittzähler
Funktionsumfang der Mi Fit App
Empfang von Benachrichtigungsinhalten
Musiksteuerung
Gute Akkulaufzeit

Negativ

Keine automatische Helligkeitsanpassung
Herzfrequenzmessung im höheren Pulsbereich leicht ungenau
Keine Antwortmöglichkeit auf Benachrichtigungen
Global Version ohne NFC und Sprachassistent

Erster Eindruck
9.0
7.7
Design
9.0
8.2
Display
9.0
8.1
Tragekomfort
8.5
8.3
Funktionsumfang
8.5
8.5
App
8.5
8.8
Akkulaufzeit
7.5
9.4
Fazit

Mit dem Xiaomi Mi Band 4 präsentiert uns der chinesische Elektronikriese abermals ein sehr gut ausgestattetes Fitnessarmband zum kleinen Preis. Durch das OLED Display wird der Funktionsumfang nochmals erweitert. Neben ausgefallenen Watchfaces hat sich auch die Lesbarkeit bei Sonnenschein deutlich verbessert.

Interessant sind auch die neuen Sportmodi. Mit dem Sportmodus „Schwimmen“ und der 5ATM Wasserdichtigkeit bekommen Nutzer auch im Wasser weitreichende Nutzungsmöglichkeiten geboten. Die Akkulaufzeit ist mit realistischen 16 Tagen weiterhin sehr gut. Insgesamt ist das Xiaomi Mi Band 4 uneingeschränkt zu empfehlen!

8.6
Unsere Bewertung
8.4
Nutzerbewertung
7 ratings
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments