Reviews
4
Review

Xiaomi Mi Band 3 Review - The Best of the Cheapest!

by 10. November 2019

Xiaomi unveiled the long-awaited Xiaomi Mi Band 3 at the end of May. The affordable and popular worldwide fitness bracelet shines in a new look and offers, among other things, a new OLED touch display. For several weeks, I extensively tested the fitness tracker. You will find the experiences made in the following review!

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Xiaomi

Product

Xiaomi Mi Band 3

Specifications

Bracelet
Material: TPE
Closure: pin buckle
Size adjustable: 155 - 216 mm
L: 247 mm

tracking unit
Display Type: OLED
Display diagonal: 0.78 inches
Display resolution: 128 x 80 pixels
Bluetooth: Standard 4.2
Heart rate sensor: Yes

Features
Pedometer: Yes
Sleep Monitor: Yes
Heart rate measurement: Yes
Date and time: Yes
Alarm function: Yes
Stopwatch: Yes
Notifications: Yes
Music playback control: Yes
Motor Reminder: Yes

Accumulator
Battery type: lithium polymer
Battery capacity: 110 mAh
Battery life: up to 20 days

other
App: MiFit
Water protection: 5ATM
Size: 17.9 46.9 x x 12 mm
Weight: 20g

Scope of delivery

1x tracking unit
1x bracelet
1x charging adapter
1x user manual

Foreword: Xiaomi Mi Band 3

Two years after the appearance of the Xiaomi Mi Band 2, which has been well received outside of China, Xiaomi released the long-awaited Xiaomi Mi Band 3, That from Huami produced and distributed by Xiaomi Fitness bracelet has been redesigned optically but also on the hardware side and comes with some improvements. It is particularly interesting, however, that Xiaomi remains true to the previous pricing policy and offers the Mi Band 3 at the unbeatable low price of only 169 Yuan (~ 22 €).

Update 10. November 2019

For all bargain hunters we have a new offer ready. With the following coupon you can do that Mi Band 3 International at online retailer Gearbest for just 12 € to buy. Differences to the Chinese Mi Band are the additional ones Markings CE and FCC, as well as the bracelet comes standard with English firmware and English manual. For more deals on where to buy the Xiaomi Mi Band 3, see the price comparison at the end of this post.

9 € GearBest Coupon - Xiaomi Mi Band 3 International

With this GearBest coupon you can buy the Xiaomi Mi Band 3 reduced in the international version for only 12 €.
GBMIBAND3GL
SHOW COUPON
9 € Discount
Valid until 30.11

The Xiaomi Mi Band 3 International is also available on Amazon Germany. The price of the smartband is included 24 €, The sale, as well as the shipping, are made directly through Amazon, so that in addition to the fast shipping also comes to enjoy all the Amazon warranty benefits!

To the Mi Band on Amazon

Packing the Mi Band 3

Design, workmanship and delivery

Bracelet

Like its predecessor, the Mi Band 3 is made of one tracking unit and a interchangeable bracelet together. The bracelet consists of one skin-friendly, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) and is available in black, hot orange and deep blue. Due to the materials used, the bracelet is extremely durable. A Xiaomi disassembly test shows that even after 2000 removal of the tracking unit no wear on the bracelet occurs. Also in the self-test showed after one month use only very minor traces of use.

Mi Band 3 Bracelet (1)

Owners of the predecessor should note that the Wristbands of both smartbands NOT compatible with each other are! The wristband of the Mi Band 3 comes on a total length of 247 mm, is in 9 stages adjustable in size (155 - 216 mm) and is closed by a pin buckle.

Mi Band 3 Bracelet (2)

tracking unit

The capsule-shaped tracking unit has been completely redesigned and is with Dimensions of 17,9 x 46,9 x 12 mm clearly grown. The Display owns one Diagonal of 0.78 inches. In comparison comes the display of the Xiaomi Mi Band 2 only on 0.42 inches. An advantage of the larger display is the display of notification content. The resolution is 128 80 x pixels, More than just white does not represent the (monochrome) display.

Mi Band 3 tracking unit (1)

A Touchscreen is available. This makes possible a practicable operation by swiping gestures. Below the display is an additional, capacitive control button. To criticize is the readability in sunshine. Under direct light is hardly visible on the display. In addition, the touchscreen does not always respond precisely.

Mi Band 3 tracking unit (2)

The tracking unit of the Mi Band 3 is waterproof and hold you Water pressure from 5 Bar (5ATM) was standing. This corresponds to the pressure of a water column of 50 meters. The smartband when showering or swimming to wear is easily possible.

XIAOMI Mi Band 3. My short review on the Fitness Tracker (german)

The colleague of 1techreview Xiaomi Mi Band 3 took a closer look at the video review!

Processing quality and scope of delivery

As expected, Xiaomi Mi Band 3 is well-made. The bracelet is of good quality and shows after repeated removal of the tracking unit, as well as repeated closing of the pin buckle, no wear. The same applies to the tracking unit. A special protective layer prevents fingerprints and scratches.

The Scope of delivery is usually clear. Included are the bracelet, the tracking unit, 2 pin USB charging adapter and Manual, It should be noted that Xiaomi products are mainly intended for the Chinese market. Accordingly, instruction manuals and other product information are in Chinese only. A global sale of the Mi Band 3 is not yet apparent.

Scope of delivery of the Mi Band 3

commissioning

The Xiaomi Mi Band 3 is an app-controlled smartband. For an extensive use the so-called Mi Fit App needed. The app is free and can be used both for Android as well as for iOS be downloaded in the respective app stores. As minimum requirement needs the app Android> 4.4 or iOS> 9.0 mobile device with Bluetooth 4.0 Support. The connection between mobile device and smartband is via Bluetooth. For this is the Mi Band 3 with a Bluetooth 4.2 BLE (Low Energy) Module equipped.

Wristband and tracking unit of the Mi Band 3

The use of the Mi Fit app requires one user account, which can be directly applied via the app. With this user account all stored data of the Mi band are synchronized. The setup and connection of the smartband is uncomplicated and in just a few steps via the app.

App and features

firmware

The Mi Band 3 firmware was released in Chinese only. Meanwhile, updates have been released, which include a English and Spanish language settings enable. Do you want one German user interface, you have to modified community firmwares fall back on. The user interface is now officially available in German! Firmware updates are received via the Mi Fit App and automatically uploaded.

Pedometer and activities

Smartband and App offer a variety of sports features. For movement detection, the bracelet is with a Pedometer fitted. Once you have set an individual daily goal, you can start. In addition to the everyday steps The bracelet also determines the covered track and guess the burned calories.

If you synchronize the data with the Mi Fit app, you will get a detailed overview of all measured data. The stored data can be stored in Daily, weekly and monthly show with corresponding diagram. There are several ways to increase motivation Daily goals and awards.

Display (1)

Within the Mi Fit app are additional Activity programs (running, treadmill, cycling and walking) to select. Activities can only be started via the app. When an activity is started, the app, wristband, steps, distance traveled, and heart rate are displayed in real time. In addition, the Mi Fit activities use the GPS of the mobile device, which allows a precise route including map view.

The Accuracy of the pedometer is based on the predecessor model. Serious incorrect measurements due to driving or other activities that do not represent a stepping motion did not occur in the test.

Heart Rate Monitor

The heart rate sensor is located on the bottom of the bracelet. The Heart rate measurement is done in a classic way with the help of a Photo diode in combination with a green LED, The blood flow under the skin is measured. However, the accuracy of optical heart rate measurement is critical. measurement error can already occur due to too loose fit of the bracelet, by arm hair or tattoos.

With the Mi Band 3 is one Single and interval measurement possible. The interval measurement measures the heart rate every minute, every 10 minutes or every 30 minutes depending on the setting. A continuous measurement is only possible by starting an activity. The measurement accuracy is highly dependent on the measurement conditions. In addition to predominantly plausible measurement results, measurement inaccuracies can occur, especially in the higher pulse range or in diversified activities. The recorded data can be synchronized with the Mi Fit App as well as the movement data and displayed in a detailed diagram view.

Sleep monitor and alarm clock

The sleep monitor rates sleep according to an 100 scoring system. The are measured Falling and waking time, that Time of total sleep, Tiefschlaf, light sleep and the waking hours, To display the collected data, the Mi Fit app has to be used again. This reproduces the measured data to the minute in the detailed bar chart. At the same time, based on the measured data, a Sleep quality analysis (see pictures).

A manual start of the sleep monitor is not necessary and not possible. Instead, the Mi Band 3 recognizes the time of falling asleep with the help of the built-in acceleration sensor, Unfortunately, the sleep detection is based on the system time of the mobile device, so that a sleep monitoring during the day is not possible. The accuracy of the data acquisition has convinced in the test. Falling in and waking time are detected quite accurately. To increase the accuracy again, the "Sleep Wizard" to be activated. This allows (to the detriment of the battery) continuously determined heart rate data to flow into the sleep rating.

With the publication of the Xiaomi Mi Band 2 barely two years ago, the Mi Fit app contained one more Sleep.Phase.Alarm.Clock, This has now been removed from the app. An alarm clock with Snooze is still available. On the basis of create wake-up profiles, it wakes at pre-set times by gently vibrating. The vibration intensity and the vibration pattern can not be adjusted.

Display (2)

Notifications

The Xiaomi Mi Band 3 is capable of receiving incoming notifications on the mobile device. Next Phone and SMS alerts can also App notifications received and displayed. For example, if a WhatsApp message arrives on the connected mobile device, it will be sent to the Mi Band. In the absence of German language support, umlauts are not displayed correctly! Notification receipt can be configured extensively via the Mi Fit app.

Weather

Another feature is the weather function. This will be displayed Daily weather with highest and lowest temperatures, as well as one 2-day weather forecast, The weather data is obtained from the bracelet via the Mi Fit app. The location for weather data collection can be adjusted within the app. From which provider the data comes, does not emerge from the app.

Smart Lock and others

With an Android mobile device it is possible that Xiaomi Mi Band 3 as Smart Lock Device to configure. If the bracelet is close to the mobile device, it can be unlocked without any password or pattern entry. The carrier range is configurable.

Other app and bracelet features are one stop function, One Device search function, One event reminder, One inactivity warning and Do not disturb function, A lock screen is available. "Watch Faces" 3 are available for selection.

Display (3)

Accumulator

The Accumulator owns one Capacity of 110 mAh, A fully charged battery kept testing for daily use of the wristband with regular notification reception and 30-minute heart rate measurement about 11 days. With disabled notification receipt was a term of 14 days reached. The maximum standby time, according to Xiaomi, is 20 days.

The tracking unit is charged via an 2-pin charging adapter. Again, it should be said that this is not compatible with the previous model! A complete charge lasts just under 2 hours.

Questions and Answers

As is the Xiaomi Mi Band 2 to compare with the Xiaomi Mi Band 3?

Do I have to pay attention to whether I receive the Chinese or international model when buying?

So far only one Chinese model is on the market. A Xiaomi Mi band 3 International will be released in August. It offers CE and FCC marking, a multilingual user interface and an English manual.

Are the accessories of the previous models compatible with the Mi Band 3?

No, both bracelets and charging adapters for older models can not be used with the Xiaomi Mi Band 3.

The Chinese model is also available with NFC. Should I get the NFC version?

The Chinese Mi Band 3 with NFC is mainly intended for the Chinese market. Xiaomi thus enables mobile payment with Chinese payment services (eg AliPay). The surcharge for the model with NFC is not worthwhile for local users. To what extent the NFC function can be used elsewhere is not yet apparent.

Can I shower, swim and dive with the fitness bracelet?

The Xiaomi Mi Band 3 is waterproof and withstands water pressure up to 5 Bar (5ATM). Showers, swimming and (easy) diving is possible without any problems.

Has the tracking unit installed a GPS module?

No, the bracelet does not have a stand-alone GPS feature. The route of sports activities, however, can be tracked using the Mi Fit app. For this purpose, the GPS function of the connected mobile device is used.

Do you have any further questions about the Xiaomi Mi Band? The German Mi Band Community on Facebook is guaranteed to help you!

To the Mi Band Community

Price Comparison

You want to buy the Xiaomi Mi Band 3? In our price comparison we list the current offers of the most popular shops. All prices are checked and updated several times a day. Should a shop appear several times, it concerns the different warehouses of the dealer.

Price history

Current prices

GearVita
10-30 working days
18,26€
Gearbest
10-30 working days
21,87€
Banggood
10-30 working days
22,77€
Buy geekbuying
1-5 working days
29,94€
TOMTOP
10-30 working days
35,52€
Amazon
1-5 working days
37,95€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 6. December 2019 19: 04

Final Words

Positive

►Good build quality
►Come wearing comfort
►Waterproof and suitable for showering and swimming
►Large OLED touch display
►Precise pedometer
►Features of the Mi Fit app
►Receiving notification content
►Good battery life

Negative

►Leasurable display in sunshine
►Touchscreen does not always respond precisely
►Heart frequency measurement in higher pulse range inaccurate
►No sleep monitoring during the day
►Notification function does not support (yet) umlauts

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.5
9.3
Design
9.0
9.5
Display
7.5
9.3
Comfort
8.5
9.3
Features
8.0
7.6
everyday practicality
8.0
9.5
App
8.5
9.5
Battery life
7.5
9.3
Summary

With the Xiaomi Mi Band 3 shows the Chinese electronics giant again that a fitness bracelet does not have to cost more than 30 €. At almost unbeatable value for money, the Smartband offers a well-functioning pedometer, a heart rate sensor and all kinds of (software) functions.

Compared to the 2016 released Xiaomi Mi Band 2 was mainly the design revised. The overall larger tracking unit offers a larger display with touch screen and is now also able to display notification content.

Whether these "little things" justify a switch from Mi Band 2 to Mi Band 3, everyone should decide for themselves. However, new buyers who do not yet own a Xiaomi fitness bracelet can access it without hesitation.

8.2
Our rating
9.2
user Rating
2 ratings
You have rated this

4
Leave a comment

avatar
3 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
4 Comment authors
WilliTimoPapabaerHelge E Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
Helge E
guest
Helge E

Hello team, great review, which I can agree with. I've been using my Mi Band 3 for 2 weeks and would like to change the language to German. You write that it is possible. Can I simply play any firmware from the net or do I have to pay attention to the version number? I already know how to do that. And what about the MiFit app when it receives an update. Will my bracelet be dubbed?

Papabaer
guest
Papabaer

Hello team
Very good idea of ​​the tracker which coincide with my experience with the device.
But can not understand why the tracker sleep should not capture the day? I work in 3 shift service and each sleep is reliably recorded no matter what time, even short sleep intervals of 45 minutes are randomly distributed throughout the day

Willi
guest
Willi

One of our two copies of Mi Band 3 is leaking. After a few minutes showering, the smaller characters in the display were barely visible.
So it is not even resistant to jets of water according to IP 65.
Allegedly, the tape can submerge 30 minutes and tolerate pressure from 5 ATM.
The dealer makes a circus because of the warranty. The clear photos of the display with water droplets inside, he allegedly did not receive, to gain more time, six more photos were requested from all sides of the tracker.

Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Xiaomi Mi Band 3 Test – Das Beste der Billigsten!

Testbericht erstellt von Timo A. am 10. November 2019

Xiaomi hat Ende Mai das langersehnte Xiaomi Mi Band 3 vorgestellt. Das preiswerte und weltweit beliebte Fitness-Armband erstrahlt im neuen Look und bietet unter anderem ein neues OLED-Touch-Display. Über mehrere Wochen hinweg habe ich den Fitness-Tracker ausgiebig getestet. Die dabei gemachten Erfahrungen findest du im folgenden Review!

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp Buffer Pin It
8.2
Unsere Bewertung
Technische Daten
Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Modell

Xiaomi Mi Band 3

Spezifikationen

Armband
Material: TPE
Verschluss: Dornschließe
Größenverstellbar: 155 - 216 mm
Länge: 247 mm

Trackingeinheit
Displaytyp: OLED
Displaydiagonale: 0.78 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 128 x 80 Pixel
Bluetooth: Standard 4.2
Herzfrequenzsensor: Ja

Funktionen
Schrittzähler: Ja
Schlafmonitor: Ja
Herzfrequenzmessung: Ja
Datum und Uhrzeit: Ja
Weckfunktion: Ja
Stoppuhr: Ja
Benachrichtigungen: Ja
Musik-Wiedergabesteuerung: Ja
Bewegungserinnerung: Ja

Akku
Akkutyp: Lithium-Polymer
Akkukapazität: 110 mAh
Akkulaufzeit: bis zu 20 Tage

Sonstige
App: MiFit
Wasserschutz: 5ATM
Größe: 17.9 x 46.9 x 12 mm
Gewicht: 20g

Lieferumfang

1x Trackingeinheit
1x Armband
1x Ladeadapter
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Vorwort: Xiaomi Mi Band 3

Zwei Jahre nach dem Erscheinen des Xiaomi Mi Band 2, das auch außerhalb Chinas großen Zuspruch gefunden hat, veröffentlicht Xiaomi das langersehnte Xiaomi Mi Band 3. Das von Huami produzierte und von Xiaomi vertriebene Fitness-Armband wurde optisch aber auch hardwareseitig überarbeitet und kommt mit einigen Verbesserungen daher. Besonders interessant ist jedoch, dass Xiaomi der bisherigen Preispolitik treu bleibt und das Mi Band 3 zum unschlagbar günstigen Preis von nur 169 Yuan (~22€) anbietet.

Verpackung des Mi Band 3

Design, Verarbeitung und Lieferumfang

Armband

Wie auch der Vorgänger, setzt sich das Mi Band 3 aus einer Trackingeinheit und einem austauschbaren Armband zusammen. Das Armband besteht aus einem hautfreundlichen, thermoplastischen Elastomer (TPE) und ist in den Farben Schwarz, Hot Orange und Tiefblau erhältlich. Durch die verwendeten Materialien ist das Armband äußerst strapazierfähig. Ein von Xiaomi durchgeführter Demontagetest zeigt, dass selbst nach 2000-maliger Herausnahme der Trackingeinheit kein Verschleiß am Armband auftritt. Auch im Selbsttest zeigten sich nach einmonatiger Nutzung nur sehr geringe Gebrauchsspuren.

Mi Band 3 Armband (1)

Besitzer des Vorgängers sollten beachten, dass die Armbänder beider Smartbands NICHT miteinander kompatibel sind! Das Armband des Mi Band 3 kommt auf eine Gesamtlänge von 247 mm, ist in 9 Stufen größenverstellbar (155 – 216 mm) und wird durch eine Dornschließe geschlossen.

Mi Band 3 Armband (2)

Trackingeinheit

Die kapselförmige Trackingeinheit wurde komplett überarbeitet und ist mit Maßen von 17,9 x 46,9 x 12 mm deutlich gewachsen. Das Display besitzt eine Diagonale von 0.78 Zoll. Im Vergleich hierzu kommt das Display des Xiaomi Mi Band 2 lediglich auf 0.42 Zoll. Ein Vorteil des größeren Displays ist die Anzeige von Benachrichtigungsinhalten. Die Auflösung beträgt 128 x 80 Pixel. Mehr als nur Weiß stellt das (monochrome) Display nicht dar.

Mi Band 3 Trackingeinheit (1)

Ein Touchscreen ist vorhanden. Möglich wird dadurch eine praktikable Bedienung mittels Wischgesten. Unterhalb des Displays befindet sich eine zusätzliche, kapazitive Steuertaste. Zu kritisieren ist die Lesbarkeit bei Sonnenschein. Unter direktem Lichteinfall ist auf dem Display kaum etwas zu erkennen. Hinzu kommt, dass der Touchscreen nicht immer präzise reagiert.

Mi Band 3 Trackingeinheit (2)

Die Trackingeinheit des Mi Band 3 ist wasserdicht und hält einem Wasserdruck von 5 Bar (5ATM) stand. Das entspricht dem Druck einer Wassersäule aus 50 Metern. Das Smartband beim Duschen oder Schwimmen zu tragen ist problemlos möglich.

XIAOMI Mi Band 3. Mein Kurz-Review zum Fitness Tracker (deutsch)

Der Kollege von 1techreview hat sich das Xiaomi Mi Band 3 im Video-Review näher angesehen!

Verarbeitungsqualität und Lieferumfang

Dass Xiaomi Mi Band 3 ist erwartungsgemäß gut verarbeitet. Das Armband ist von guter Qualität und zeigt nach mehrmaliger Herausnahme der Trackingeinheit, sowie wiederholtem Schließen der Dornschließe, keinen Verschleiß. Gleiches gilt für die Trackingeinheit. Eine spezielle Schutzschicht verhindert Fingerabdrücke und Kratzer.

Der Lieferumfang fällt gewohnt übersichtlich aus. Enthalten sind das Armband, die Trackingeinheit, ein 2-Pin USB-Ladeadapter und eine Bedienungsanleitung. Man sollte beachten, dass Xiaomi Produkte hauptsächlich für den chinesischen Markt bestimmt sind. Dementsprechend sind Bedienungsanleitungen und sonstige Produkthinweise ausschließlich in Chinesisch gehalten. Ein globaler Verkauf des Mi Band 3 ist bislang noch nicht ersichtlich.

Lieferumfang des Mi Band 3

Inbetriebnahme

Das Xiaomi Mi Band 3 ist ein App-gesteuertes Smartband. Für eine umfängliche Verwendung wird die so genannte Mi Fit App benötigt. Die App ist kostenfrei und kann sowohl für Android als auch für iOS in den jeweiligen App-Stores heruntergeladen werden. Als Mindestanforderung benötigt die App ein Android >4.4 oder iOS >9.0 Mobilgerät mit Bluetooth 4.0 Unterstützung. Der Verbindungsaufbau zwischen Mobilgerät und Smartband erfolgt via Bluetooth. Hierfür ist das Mi Band 3 mit einem Bluetooth 4.2 BLE (Low Energy) Modul ausgestattet.

Armband und Trackingeinheit des Mi Band 3

Die Nutzung der Mi Fit App verlangt ein Nutzerkonto, welches sich direkt über die App angelegen lässt. Mit diesem Nutzerkonto werden alle gespeicherten Daten des Mi Bandes synchronisiert. Die Einrichtung sowie Verbindung des Smartbands erfolgt unkompliziert und in nur wenigen Schritten über die App.

App und Funktionen

Firmware

Die Firmware des Mi Band 3 war mit der Veröffentlichung ausschließlich auf Chinesisch verfügbar. Mittlerweile sind Updates erschienen, die auch eine englische und spanische Spracheinstellung ermöglichen. Möchte man eine deutsche Bedienoberfläche, muss man auf modifizierte Community-Firmwares zurückgreifen. Die Benutzeroberfläche ist nun offiziell auch auf Deutsch erhältlich! Firmware-Updates werden über die Mi Fit App empfangen und automatisch aufgespielt.

Schrittzähler und Aktivitäten

Smartband und App bieten vielfältige Sportfunktionen. Zur Bewegungserfassung ist das Armband mit einem Pedometer ausgestattet. Hat man ein individuelles Tagesziel festgelegt, kann es auch schon losgehen. Neben den alltäglichen Schritten ermittelt das Armband zusätzlich die zurückgelegte Strecke und schätzweise die verbrannten Kalorien.

Synchronisiert man die Daten mit der Mi Fit App, erhält man eine detaillierte Übersicht zu sämtlichen Messdaten. Die gespeicherten Daten lassen sich im Tages-, Wochen- und Monatsverlauf mit entsprechendem Diagramm anzeigen. Zur Steigerung der Motivation gibt es verschiedene Tagesziele und Auszeichnungen.

Displayanzeige (1)

Innerhalb der Mi Fit App stehen zusätzliche Aktivitätsprogramme (Laufen, Laufband, Radfahren und Gehen) zur Auswahl. Aktivitäten können nur über die App gestartet werden. Wird eine Aktivität gestartet, werden über die App, als auch über das Armband, die Schritte, die zurückgelegte Strecke und die Herzfrequenz in Echtzeit ausgegeben. Zusätzlich bedienen sich die Mi Fit Aktivitäten dem GPS des Mobilgerätes, wodurch ein präziser Streckenverlauf inklusive Kartenansicht möglich ist.

Die Genauigkeit des Pedometers orientiert sich am Vorgängermodell. Gravierende Fehlmessungen durch Autofahren oder sonstige Tätigkeiten, die keine Schrittbewegung darstellen, traten im Test nicht auf.

Herzfrequenzsensor

Der Herzfrequenzsensor befindet sich auf der Unterseite des Armbandes. Die Herzfrequenzmessung erfolgt ganz klassisch mit Hilfe einer Foto-Diode in Kombination mit einer grün-leuchtenden LED. Gemessen wird der Blutfluss unter der Haut. Die Genauigkeit einer optischen Herzfrequenzmessung ist allerdings kritisch zu betrachten. Messfehler können bereits durch einen zu lockeren Sitz des Armbandes, durch Armbehaarung oder Tätowierungen auftreten.

Mit dem Mi Band 3 ist eine Einzel- und Intervallmessung möglich. Die Intervallmessung misst je nach Einstellung jede Minute, alle 10 Minuten oder alle 30 Minuten die Herzfrequenz. Eine Dauermessung wird nur durch Starten einer Aktivität ermöglicht. Die Messgenauigkeit ist stark von den Messbedingungen abhängig. Neben überwiegend plausiblen Messergebnissen, können gerade im höheren Pulsbereich oder bei abwechslungsreichen Aktivitäten, Messungenauigkeiten auftreten. Die erfassten Daten können genauso wie die Bewegungsdaten mit der Mi Fit App synchronisiert und in einer detaillierten Diagrammansicht angezeigt werden.

Schlafmonitor und Wecker

Der Schlafmonitor bewertet den Schlaf nach einem 100 Punktesystem. Gemessen werden die Einschlaf- und Aufwachzeit, die Zeit des Gesamtschlafes, der Tiefschlaf, der leichte Schlaf und die Wachzeit. Zur Anzeige der gesammelten Daten muss abermals auf die Mi Fit App zurückgegriffen werden. Diese gibt die Messdaten minutengenau im detaillierten Säulendiagramm wieder. Gleichzeitig erfolgt anhand der Messdaten eine Analyse zur Schlafqualität (siehe Bilder).

Ein manuelles Starten des Schlafmonitors ist nicht notwendig und auch nicht möglich. Stattdessen erkennt das Mi Band 3 den Einschlafzeitpunkt mit Hilfe des verbauten Beschleunigungssensors. Leider orientiert sich die Schlaferkennung anhand der Systemzeit des Mobilgerätes, sodass eine Schlafüberwachung bei Tag nicht möglich ist. Die Genauigkeit des Datenerfassung hat im Test überzeugt. Einschlaf- und Aufwachzeitpunkt werden ziemlich präzise erfasst. Um die Genauigkeit nochmals zu erhöhen, kann der „Schlaf-Assistent“ aktiviert werden. Dieser lässt (zum Nachteil des Akkus) durchgängig ermittelte Herzfrequenzdaten mit in die Schlafbewertung einfließen.

Mit der Veröffentlichung des Xiaomi Mi Band 2 vor knapp zwei Jahren, enthielt die Mi Fit App noch einen Schlafphasenwecker. Dieser wurde mittlerweile aus der App entfernt. Ein Wecker mit Snooze-Funktion ist weiterhin vorhanden. Anhand erstellbarer Weckprofile, weckt dieser zur voreingestellten Uhrzeiten durch sanftes Vibrieren. Die Vibrationsstärke und das Vibrationsmuster können nicht angepasst werden.

Displayanzeige (2)

Benachrichtigungen

Das Xiaomi Mi Band 3 ist in der Lage, auf dem Mobilgerät eingehende Benachrichtigungen zu empfangen. Neben Telefon- und SMS-Benachrichtigungen können auch App-Benachrichtigungen empfangen und angezeigt werden. Geht beispielsweise eine WhatsApp Nachricht auf dem verbundenen Mobilgerät ein, wird diese an das Mi Band übertragen. Mangels deutscher Sprachunterstützung werden Umlaute nicht korrekt angezeigt! Der Benachrichtigungsempfang kann umfänglich über die Mi Fit App konfiguriert werden.

Wetter

Ein weiteres Feature ist die Wetterfunktion. Angezeigt werden das tagesaktuelle Wetter samt Höchst- und Tiefsttemperatur, sowie eine 2-tägige Wettervorhersage. Die Wetterdaten bezieht das Armband über die Mi Fit App. Der Standort zur Wetterdatenerfassung lässt sich innerhalb der App anpassen. Von welchem Anbieter die Daten stammen, geht aus der App nicht hervor.

Smart Lock und Sonstige

Mit einem Android Mobilgerät ist es möglich das Xiaomi Mi Band 3 als Smart Lock Device zu konfigurieren. Befindet sich das Armband im näheren Umkreis zum Mobilgerät, kann dieses ganz ohne Passwort- oder Mustereingabe entsperrt werden. Die Trägerreichweite ist konfigurierbar.

Weitere App- und Armband-Funktionen sind eine Stoppfunktion, eine Geräte-Suchfunktion, eine Ereigniserinnerung, eine Inaktivitätswarnung und eine Nicht-Stören-Funktion. Eine Displaysperre ist vorhanden. „Watch-Faces“ stehen insgesamt 3 zur Auswahl.

Displayanzeige (3)

Akku

Der Akku besitzt eine Kapazität von 110 mAh. Ein vollgeladener Akku hielt im Test bei täglicher Verwendungen des Armbandes mit regelmäßigem Benachrichtigungsempfang und 30-minütiger Herzfrequenzmessung etwa 11 Tage. Mit deaktiviertem Benachrichtigungsempfang wurde eine Laufzeit von 14 Tagen erreicht. Die maximale Standby-Zeit liegt laut Xiaomi bei 20 Tagen.

Geladen wird die Trackingeinheit über einen 2-Pin Ladeadapter. Auch hier sei gesagt, dass dieser nicht mit dem Vorgängermodell kompatibel ist! Ein kompletter Ladevorgang dauert knapp 2 Stunden.

Fragen und Antworten

Wie ist das Xiaomi Mi Band 2 mit dem Xiaomi Mi Band 3 zu vergleichen?

Muss ich beim Kauf darauf achten, ob ich das chinesische oder internationale Modell erhalte?

Bisher ist nur ein chinesisches Modell auf dem Markt. Ein Xiaomi Mi Band 3 International wird im August erscheinen. Dieses bietet eine CE und FCC Kennzeichnung, eine mehrsprachige Benutzeroberfläche und eine englischsprachige Bedienungsanleitung.

Sind die Zubehörteile der Vorgängermodelle mit dem Mi Band 3 kompatibel?

Nein, sowohl Armbänder als auch Ladeadapter älterer Modelle können nicht mit dem Xiaomi Mi Band 3 genutzt werden.

Das chinesische Modell ist auch mit NFC erhältlich. Sollte ich mir die NFC Variante zulegen?

Das chinesische Mi Band 3 mit NFC ist hauptsächlich für den chinesischen Markt bestimmt. Xiaomi ermöglicht damit mobiles Bezahlen mit chinesischen Bezahldiensten (z.B. AliPay). Der Aufpreis zum Modell mit NFC lohnt sich für hiesige Nutzer somit nicht. Inwiefern sich die NFC-Funktion anderweitig nutzen lässt, ist bisher nicht ersichtlich.

Kann ich mit dem Fitness-Armband duschen, schwimmen und tauchen?

Das Xiaomi Mi Band 3 ist wasserdicht und hält einem Wasserdruck bis 5 Bar (5ATM) stand. Duschen, Schwimmen und (leichtes) Tauchen ist problemlos möglich.

Hat die Trackingeinheit ein GPS-Modul verbaut?

Nein, das Armband bietet keine eigenständige GPS-Funktion. Der Streckenverlauf von Sportaktivitäten kann allerdings mit Hilfe der Mi Fit App verfolgt werden. Hierfür wird auf die GPS-Funktion des verbundenen Mobilgerätes zurückgegriffen.

Du hast weitere Fragen rund um das Xiaomi Mi Band? Die deutsche Mi Band Community auf Facebook hilft dir garantiert!

Zur Mi Band Community

Bewertung
Positiv

Gute Verarbeitungsqualität
Angenehmer Tragekomfort
Wasserdicht und zum Duschen sowie Schwimmen geeignet
Großes OLED-Touch-Display
Präziser Schrittzähler
Funktionsumfang der Mi Fit App
Empfang von Benachrichtigungsinhalten
Gute Akkulaufzeit

Negativ

Lesbarkeit des Displays bei Sonnenschein
Touchscreen reagiert nicht immer präzise
Herzfrequenzmessung im höheren Pulsbereich ungenau
Keine Schlafüberwachung bei Tag
Benachrichtigungsfunktion unterstützt (noch) keine Umlaute

Fazit

Mit dem Xiaomi Mi Band 3 zeigt der chinesische Elektronik-Riese abermals, dass ein Fitness-Armband nicht mehr als 30€ kosten muss. Zum fast unschlagbaren Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis bietet das Smartband einen gut funktionierenden Schrittzähler, einen Herzfrequenzsensor und allerlei (Software)Funktionen.

Im Vergleich zum 2016 erschienenen Xiaomi Mi Band 2 wurde hauptsächlich das Design überarbeitet. Die insgesamt größere Trackingeinheit bietet ein größeres Display mit Touchscreen und ist nun auch in der Lage Benachrichtigungsinhalte anzuzeigen.

Ob diese „Kleinigkeiten“ einen Umstieg vom Mi Band 2 zum Mi Band 3 rechtfertigen, sollte jeder für sich selbst entscheiden. Neukäufer, die noch kein Xiaomi Fitnessarmband ihr Eigen nennen, können jedoch bedenkenlos zugreifen.

8.2
Unsere Bewertung
Timo Altmeyer Avatar
Verfasser

Hat 2016 die Website techreviewer.de ins Leben gerufen und ist seither aktiver News- und Testberichte-Redakteur in allen Technik-Bereichen.

4 Kommentare

4 Kommentare

  1. Helge E

    22. Juli 2018 um 12:59

    Hallo Team, toller Review, dem ich zustimmen kann. Ich hab mein Mi Band 3 seit 2 Wochen in Betrieb und würde gerne die Sprache auf Deutsch umstellen. Ihr schreibt, dass es möglich sei. Kann ich einfach eine beliebige Firmware aus den Netz aufspielen oder muss ich auf die Versionsnummer achten? Wie das geht weiß ich bereits. Und wie sieht es mit der MiFit App aus wenn die ein Update empfängt. Wird mein Armband dann überspielt?

  2. Papabaer

    1. September 2018 um 10:18

    Hallo Team
    Sehr gute Vorstellung des Trackers die sich mit meinen Erfahrungen mit dem Gerät decken.
    Kann aber nicht nachvollziehen warum der Tracker den Schlaf am Tag nicht erfassen soll? Ich arbeite in 3 Schichtdienst und es wird jeder Schlaf egal zu welcher Uhrzeit zuverlässig aufgezeichnet sogar kurze Schlafintervalle von 45 Minuten wahllos über den Tag verteilt

    • Timo Admin

      3. September 2018 um 19:25

      Hi Papabaer, vielen Dank für den Hinweis. Ich werde mir das mal ansehen. Zum Testzeitpunkt wurde der Schlaf tagsüber nicht erfasst. Vermutlich hat Xiaomi mittlerweile ein Update veröffentlicht

  3. Willi

    19. November 2018 um 15:19

    Eins von unseren zwei Exemplaren vom Mi Band 3 ist undicht. Nach wenigen Minuten Duschen waren die kleineren Zeichen im Display kaum noch zu erkennen.
    Es ist also nicht einmal beständig gegen Strahlwasser gemäß IP 65.
    Angeblich kann das Band 30 Minuten unter Wasser und verträgt einen Druck von 5 ATM.
    Der Händler macht einen Zirkus wegen der Gewährleistung. Die eindeutigen Fotos vom Display mit Wassertropfen drinnen hat er angeblich nicht erhalten, um weitere Zeit zu gewinnen wurden nochmals sechs Fotos von allen Seiten des Trackers abgefordert.

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Modell

Xiaomi Mi Band 3

Spezifikationen

Armband
Material: TPE
Verschluss: Dornschließe
Größenverstellbar: 155 - 216 mm
Länge: 247 mm

Trackingeinheit
Displaytyp: OLED
Displaydiagonale: 0.78 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 128 x 80 Pixel
Bluetooth: Standard 4.2
Herzfrequenzsensor: Ja

Funktionen
Schrittzähler: Ja
Schlafmonitor: Ja
Herzfrequenzmessung: Ja
Datum und Uhrzeit: Ja
Weckfunktion: Ja
Stoppuhr: Ja
Benachrichtigungen: Ja
Musik-Wiedergabesteuerung: Ja
Bewegungserinnerung: Ja

Akku
Akkutyp: Lithium-Polymer
Akkukapazität: 110 mAh
Akkulaufzeit: bis zu 20 Tage

Sonstige
App: MiFit
Wasserschutz: 5ATM
Größe: 17.9 x 46.9 x 12 mm
Gewicht: 20g

Lieferumfang

1x Trackingeinheit
1x Armband
1x Ladeadapter
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Mehr von Xiaomi
Werbung

GOGOBest Juli Banner