Audio
0
Review

beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game Test - Gaming Headset

by 19. October 2017

The beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game is a new gaming headset from Germany-based hi-fi company "beyerdynamic". How the headset strikes in everyday life, but also in gaming, you will find out in this review.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

beyerdynamic

Product

beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game

Specifications

Headphone
Frequency range: 5 Hz - 35 kHz
Impedance: 16 ohms
Sound pressure level: 96 dB
Power consumption: 100 mW
Noise Compensation: 18 dBA

Microphone
Microphone type: condenser microphone
Directivity: kidney
Frequency range: 30 Hz - 18 kHz

Electric wire
Cable type: removable 3.5 mm jack
Wired Remote Control: Yes
Cable length: 1.6 m cable + 0.8 m Y cable
Plug: 3.5 mm jack

Other
Headphone Type: Closed
Type: ear enclosing
Weight: 282g

Scope of delivery

1x beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game
1x Y-cable
1x cable with remote control and condenser microphone
1x 6.35mm jack adapter
6x Design Cover
1x Warranty Policy

First impression of the beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game

Scope of delivery

The beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game Headset comes in one gamer-friendly cardboard box delivered, which provides a lot of information about the headset. If you take the headset out of the packaging, it will already be on one practical cardboard stand presents. Of the Scope of delivery includes the headset, a Y-jack extension cable with audio and microphone connection, a plug-in cable with connected microphone and remote control, an 6.35 mm jack audio adapter, 6 design cover and multi-language warranty terms. The manufacturer dispenses with an operating manual and a connecting cable for on the way.

CUSTOM Game Headset included

Design and workmanship

The audience of the beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game are clearly gamers, which is also reflected in the design of the headset. The actual headphones are kept in simple black and consists for the most part of plastic. If you want to spice up the design or individualize, it is possible the 6 included design cover to install. All you have to do is remove the frame element of each ear with 4 screws and use the design cover. Specially designed and printed covers are of course no problem.

The Headphone fork is made of aluminum and is attached to the fork of the beyerdynamic MMX 300 ajar. Made of spring steel and thus very stable Headband is adjustable in several stages. For orientation of the headphones are on both sides of the respective directions (L and R). Disability designed, at least the left direction indication is additionally printed in Braille. The removable headband and the earcups are upholstered and covered with imitation leather. The Microphone is connected to the connection cable. Cables and headphones can be disconnected. About the cable remote control The microphone can be muted, the volume can be controlled and there is a special call acceptance button. Another design feature are the so-called "Sound Slider", More on that later!

Design cover of the beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game

The beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game is completely "Made in Germany". As expected beyerdynamic also delivers this headset excellent workmanship that does justice to the comparatively high price.

field test

Before we turn to the sound qualities of the headset, there are some technical details. The CUSTOM Game is a circumaural, closed headphone with a rated impedance from 16 ohms and one frequency range from 5 Hz to 35.000 Hz. The Sound pressure levelSo the sensitivity indicates beyerdynamic with 96 dB.

beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game Headset

Sound - gaming

A gaming headset, above all, has to be one of tactical games with a tonal subtlety in the foreground accurate sound location deliver. At the same time, a gaming headset should also be a broad and powerful in action-packed single-player games effective sound Offer. In the test, the CUSTOM Game had to face both the tactical "CS: GO", the survival title "PUBG" and the single-player hit "GTA: V".

Headphones (1)

In CS: GO and PUBG it is important to hear your opponents before you even see them. Here come the "Sound Slider" of the headset into play. These are two mechanically movable sliders, which vary in size depending on the position Bass port to open. Especially in tactical games could prove the closed and first position in the test. In the closed position the headphone sounds very neutral. External noise is filtered superbly. The sound localization succeed. Although tonal details such as footsteps and shots are rendered rather flat, the exact origin of the sounds is well crystallizable. In the 2. Slider position the headphone wins at mid-range. Sonic details, such as the steps usually associated with the middle section, are particularly focused.

Headphones (3)

If you want action-packed explosions, we recommend the 4. Position of the slider, In this position, the headphone wins bass. Despite the clear bass boost, the center and highs are hardly affected. Effective sounds come in full, albeit a bit imprecisely to the advantage.

Sound - music

Many gaming headsets have it in common to dominate especially in the low and mid range and wash them down. The beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game behaves differently and convinces over the entire frequency range. Are you one? "Bass Head", delivers the headphones on the 4. Slider position crisp, although as already mentioned, a bit imprecise bass.

Headphones (2)

Moderate behaves the 3. Slider position, which is especially suitable for music playback and a very handy, textured as well as dynamic sound taught. If you prefer a largely neutral sound, the closed sliders will give you a clear, particularly linear frequency response. As you can see, the CUSTOM Game is a real all-rounder and suitable for gaming, listening to music as well as watching movies.

Less suitable is the headset for mobile use. At first, beyerdynamic does not include a conventional connection cable, so you have to rely on the cable and microphone. On Connection cable with cable remote control including microphone can be purchased separately via beyerdynamic. On the other hand, it is more critical that mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets are difficult to power the headphones. It will be a pleasant volume If you want to hear your music a little bit louder, you will get an additional one Headphone Amplifier not around.

Recording quality microphone

Cardioid condenser microphone is not permanently connected to the headphone, but is located on the removable cable, One advantage of this is that you can use the CUSTOM Game without a microphone, as a pure headphone. Assuming one acquires the separately available connection cable without condenser microphone. Another advantage is that in case of a defect of the microphone is not equal to the entire headset is over, but can simply replace the cable and microphone.

The microphone can be positioned via a flexible gooseneck, Unfortunately, this is a little too flexible, so that the orientation likes to slip. In the test had to be readjusted during the gaming sessions more often, which makes in the long run as extremely disturbing. In addition, the connecting piece between the gooseneck and the cable is rigid and does not allow any freedom of movement. Practical is the Mute shift switch the wired remote control. By turning the slide switch, the microphone can be deactivated by the shortest route.

Again, however, could convince the Recording quality of the microphone, Spoken is recorded very clearly and without interference. External noise is filtered through the Popschutz and kidney characteristics knotless. Enclosed you will find an example.

Comfort

Auch der Comfort the beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game leaves nothing to be desired. Headphones and ear cushions are comfortably padded and can through the multi-level height adjustment be extensively adapted. Despite the circumaural shape and the artificial leather cover, the CUSTOM Game does not make you sweat that fast. An unpleasant pressure does not make itself felt after longer sessions.

Product page of the manufacturer: beyerdynamic.de/custom-game.html

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
199,00€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 6. October 2019 23: 03

Final Words

Positive

►High quality workmanship
►A nice design
►Individualizable design cover
►King variety through sound slider
►Precise surround sound
►Top recording quality
►Come wearing comfort

Negative

►Swan neck too limp
►Volume with mobile device
►Innovant bass on 4. Slider

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
9.0
9.2
application
9.0
9.2
Design
9.5
9.5
Klang
9.0
9.3
Comfort
8.5
8.7
Features
8.5
9.0
Gaming suitability
9.0
9.2
Microphone
9.0
9.3
Summary

The beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game is a true all-rounder and in the price range around 200 € one of the best, if not the best all-round headset. This is made possible by the so-called sound sliders, over which the sound can be individually adjusted. Gaming, listening to music and watching movies are not a problem thanks to the sliders, 4 possible sound profiles. Whether you prefer a more neutral sound or powerful basses, the beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game delivers!

The recording quality of the microphone can also score. Speech is recorded very clearly without noise. The only criticism is the somewhat too flexible gooseneck, which likes to slip. Another highlight is the comfortable fit. Headband and ear pads are comfortably padded and allow longer sessions.

If you have the small change and who the extra charge for the beyerdynamic MMX 300 is a bit too much, you will receive a satisfying all-round headset in the best workmanship, "Made in Germany", with the beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game.

8.9
Our rating
9.2
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Audio
0
Review

beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game Test – Gaming-Headset

by October 19, 2017

Das beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game ist ein neues Gaming-Headset der in Deutschland ansässigen HiFi-Schmiede „beyerdynamic“. Wie sich das Headset im Alltag, aber auch beim Gaming schlägt, das erfährst du in diesem Testbericht.

Überblick
Hersteller

beyerdynamic

Produktbezeichnung

beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game

Spezifikationen

Kopfhörer
Frequenzbereich: 5 Hz - 35 kHz
Impedanz: 16 Ohm
Schalldruckpegel: 96 dB
Leistungsaufnahme: 100 mW
Lärmkompensation: 18 dBA

Mikrofon
Mikrofontyp: Kondensatormikrofon
Richtcharakteristik: Niere
Frequenzbereich: 30 Hz - 18 kHz

Kabel
Kabeltyp: abnehmbar 3.5 mm Klinke
Kabelfernbedienung: Ja
Kabellänge: 1.6 m Kabel + 0.8 m Y-Kabel
Stecker: 3.5 mm Klinke

Sonstige
Kopfhörertyp: Geschlossen
Bauform: Ohrumschließend
Gewicht: 282g

Lieferumfang

1x beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game
1x Y-Kabel
1x Kabel mit Fernbedienung und Kondensatormikrofon
1x 6.35mm Klinke Adapter
6x Design Cover
1x Garantiebestimmungen

Erster Eindruck zum beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game

Lieferumfang

Das beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game Headset wird in einer gamergerechten Pappschachtel ausgeliefert, die zahlreiche Informationen zum Headset liefert. Nimmt man das Headset aus der Verpackung heraus, wird es bereits auf einem praktischen Pappständer präsentiert. Der Lieferumfang umfasst einmal das Headset, ein Y-Klinke-Verlängerungskabel mit Audio- und Mikrofonanschluss, ein Steckkabel mit verbundenem Mikrofon und Fernbedienung, einen 6.35 mm Klinke Audio-Adapter, 6 Design-Cover und mehrsprachige Garantiebestimmungen. Auf eine Bedienungsanleitung und ein Anschlusskabel für unterwegs verzichtet der Hersteller.

CUSTOM Game Headset Lieferumfang

Design und Verarbeitung

Die Zielgruppe des beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game sind ganz klar Gamer, was sich auch auf das Design des Headsets niederschlägt. Der eigentliche Kopfhörer ist im schlichten Schwarz gehalten und besteht zum größten Teil aus Kunststoff. Möchte man das Design aufpeppen bzw. individualisieren, ist es möglich die 6 mitgelieferten Design-Cover zu installieren. Hierzu muss lediglich das mit je 4 Schrauben gehaltene Rahmenelement der jeweiligen Ohrmuschel entfernt werden und das Design-Cover eingesetzt werden. Eigens entworfene und ausgedruckte Cover sind natürlich auch kein Problem.

Die Kopfhörergabel besteht aus Aluminium und ist an die Gabel des beyerdynamic MMX 300 angelehnt. Der aus Federstahl gefertigte und somit besonders stabile Kopfhörerbügel ist in mehreren Stufen größenverstellbar. Zur Orientierung des Kopfhörers befinden sich auf beiden Seiten die jeweiligen Richtungsangaben (L und R). Barrierefrei designt, ist zumindest auch die linke Richtungsangabe zusätzlich in Braille aufgedruckt. Das abnehmbare Kopfband und die Ohrmuscheln sind gepolstert und mit einem Lederimitat überzogen. Das Mikrofon ist mit dem Anschlusskabel verbunden. Kabel und Kopfhörer lassen sich trennen. Über die Kabelfernbedienung lässt sich das Mikrofon stummschalten, die Lautstärke regeln und es es gibt eigens eine Taste zur Anrufannahme. Ein weiteres Designmerkmal sind die so genannten „Sound Slider“. Dazu später mehr!

Design Cover des beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game

Das beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game ist komplett “Made in Germany”. Erwartungsgemäß liefert beyerdynamic auch bei diesem Headset eine hervorragende Verarbeitungsqualität ab, die dem vergleichsweise hohen Preis durchaus gerecht wird.

Praxistest

Bevor wir uns den Klangqualitäten des Headsets widmen, noch einige technische Details. Der CUSTOM Game ist ein ohrumschließender, geschlossener Kopfhörer mit einer Nennimpedanz von 16 Ohm und einem Frequenzbereich von 5 Hz bis 35.000 Hz. Der Kennschalldruckpegel, also die Empfindlichkeit gibt beyerdynamic mit 96 dB an.

beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game Headset

Klang – Gaming

Ein Gaming-Headset muss vor allem in taktischen Spielen, deren klangliche Feinheiten im Vordergrund stehen, eine akkurate Geräuschortung liefern. Gleichzeitig sollte ein Gaming-Headset aber auch in actiongeladenen Single-Player Spielen ein breites und effektvolles Klangbild bieten. Im Test musste sich das CUSTOM Game sowohl dem taktischen „CS:GO“, dem Survival-Titel „PUBG“ und dem Single-Player Hit „GTA:V“ stellen.

Kopfhörer (1)

In CS:GO und PUBG ist es wichtig, die Gegner am besten schon zu hören, bevor man sie überhaupt sieht. Hier kommen die „Sound Slider“ des Headsets ins Spiel. Dabei handelt es sich um zwei mechanisch bewegliche Schieberegler, die je nach Position einen unterschiedlich großen Bassreflexkanal öffnen. Gerade bei taktische Spielen konnten sich im Test die geschlossene und erste Position beweisen. In der geschlossenen Position klingt der Kopfhörer überaus neutral. Äußerliche Störgeräusche werden hervorragend gefiltert. Die Geräuschortung gelingt. Klangliche Details wie Schritte und Schüsse werden zwar eher flach wiedergegeben, der genaue Ursprung der Geräusche ist jedoch gut herauskristallisierbar. In der 2. Slider-Position gewinnt der Kopfhörer an Mitten. Klangliche Details, wie die zumeist dem Mitten-Bereich zuzuordnenden Schritte, kommen besonders fokussiert zur Geltung.

Kopfhörer (3)

Möchte man actiongeladene Explosionen, empfiehlt sich die 4. Position der Slider. Auf dieser Position gewinnt der Kopfhörer an Bässen. Trotz der deutlichen Basssteigerung, wird der Mitten- und Höhen-Bereich kaum beeinträchtigt. Effektvolle Geräusche kommen satt, wenn auch etwas unpräzise zur Geltung.

Klang – Musik

Viele Gaming-Headsets haben es gemein, gerade im Tiefen- und Mittenbereich zu dominieren und diese regelrecht zu verwaschen. Das beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game verhält sich anders und überzeugt über den gesamten Frequenzbereich hinweg. Ist man ein „Basshead“, liefert der Kopfhörer auf der 4. Slider-Position knackige, wenn auch wie bereits erwähnt, etwas unpräzise Bässe.

Kopfhörer (2)

Gemäßigter verhält sich die 3. Slider-Position, die sich vor allem für die Musikwiedergabe eignet und einen sehr griffigen, texturierten sowie dynamischen Klang vermittelt. Wer einen weitestgehend neutralen Klang bevorzugt, der bekommt mit den geschlossenen Slidern einen astreinen, besonders linearen Frequenzgang geboten. Wie man sieht, ist der CUSTOM Game ein regelrechtes Allround-Talent und eignet sich sowohl zum Gaming, Musikhören als auch Filmschauen.

Weniger eignet sich der Kopfhörer für die mobile Nutzung. Zunächst legt beyerdynamic kein herkömmliches Anschlusskabel dem Lieferumfang bei, sodass man auf das Kabel samt Mikrofon angewiesen ist. Ein Anschlusskabel mit Kabelfernbedienung samt Mikrofon kann jedoch separat über beyerdynamic bezogen werden. Kritischer ist hingegen, dass Mobilgeräte wie Smartphones und Tablets den Kopfhörer nur schwer angetrieben bekommen. Es wird zwar eine angenehme Lautstärke erreicht, wer seine Musik allerdings lieber etwas lauter hören möchte, kommt um einen zusätzlichen Kopfhörerverstärker nicht herum.

Aufnahmequalität Mikrofon

Das Kondensatormikrofon mit Nierencharakteristik ist nicht fest mit dem Kopfhörer verbunden, sondern befindet sich am abnehmbaren Kabel. Ein Vorteil davon ist, dass man das CUSTOM Game somit auch ohne Mikrofon, als reinen Kopfhörer nutzen kann. Vorausgesetzt man erwirbt das separat erhältliche Anschlusskabel ohne Kondensatormikrofon. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist, dass bei einem eventuellen Defekt des Mikrofons nicht gleich das gesamte Headset hinüber ist, sondern sich einfach das Kabel samt Mikrofon austauschen lässt.

Positionieren lässt sich das Mikrofon über einen flexiblen Schwanenhals. Leider ist dieser etwas zu flexibel, sodass die Ausrichtung gerne mal verrutscht. Im Test musste während der Gaming-Sessions öfters nachjustiert werden, was sich auf Dauer als überaus störend bemerkbar macht. Zusätzlich ist das Verbindungsstück zwischen Schwanenhals und Kabel starr und lässt dahingehend keinen Bewegungsfreiraum zu. Praktisch ist der Stummschaltschalter der Kabelfernbedienung. Durch Umlegen des Schiebeschalters kann das Mikrofon auf kürzestem Wege deaktiviert werden.

Wiederum überzeugen konnte hingegen die Aufnahmequalität des Mikrofons. Gesprochenes wird sehr klar und störungsfrei aufgenommen. Außengeräusche werden durch den Popschutz und die Nierencharakteristik astrein gefiltert. Anbei findest du eine Beispielaufnahme.

Tragekomfort

Auch der Tragekomfort des beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game lässt kaum Wünsche offen. Kopfhörerbügel und Ohrpolster sind angenehm gepolstert und können durch die mehrstufige Höhenverstellung umfangreich angepasst werden. Trotz der ohrumschließenden Bauform und des Kunstlederüberzuges kommt man mit dem CUSTOM Game nicht so schnell ins Schwitzen. Ein unangenehmes Drücken macht sich selbst nach längeren Sessions nicht bemerkbar.

Produktseite des Herstellers: beyerdynamic.de/custom-game.html

Positiv

►Hochwertige Verarbeitung
►Ansprechendes Design
►Individualisierbare Design-Cover
►Klangvielfalt durch Sound-Slider
►Präziser Raumklang
►Top Aufnahmequalität
►Angenehmer Tragekomfort

Negativ

►Schwanenhals zu schlaff
►Lautstärke mit Mobilgerät
►Unpräzise Bässe auf 4. Slider

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
9.0
Verarbeitung
9.0
Design
9.5
Klang
9.0
Tragekomfort
8.5
Funktionsumfang
8.5
Gamingtauglichkeit
9.0
Mikrofon
9.0
Fazit

Das beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game ist ein regelrechtes Allround-Talent und im Preisbereich um 200€ eines der besten, wenn nicht sogar das Beste Allround-Headset. Ermöglicht wird dies durch die so genannten Sound-Slider, worüber sich der Klang individuell anpassen lässt. Gaming, Musikhören und Filmschauen sind durch die Slider realisierten, 4 möglichen Klangprofile kein Problem. Egal ob man einen eher neutralen Klang oder kraftvolle Bässe bevorzugt, das beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game liefert!

Punkten kann auch die Aufnahmequalität des Mikrofons. Gesprochenes wird besonders klar störgeräuschfrei aufgenommen. Einziger Kritikpunkt ist der etwas zu flexible Schwanenhals, der gerne mal verrutscht. Ein weiteres Highlight ist der angenehme Tragekomfort. Kopfhörerbügel und Ohrpolster sind angenehm gepolstert und erlauben auch längere Sessions.

Wer das nötige Kleingeld hat und wem der Aufpreis zum beyerdynamic MMX 300 dann doch etwas zu viel ist, der erhält mit dem beyerdynamic CUSTOM Game ein zufriedenstellendes Allround-Headset in bester Verarbeitungsqualität, "Made in Germany".

8.9
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Sei der Erste, der kommentiert!

Benachrichtigung
avatar
wpDiscuz