Connect with us

Hey what are you looking for?

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Generation Test

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd generation - test report

Updated by Timo Altmeyer on the 24. October 2023

Popular among gamers, the beyerdynamic MMX 300 gaming headset has been upgraded and released as 2. Generation the 1. Generation of the headset. In the manufactory of the Heilbronn headphone specialist, I have the headset individually put together. Which innovations there are and how it beats, more in the following review!

9.2
Our rating
222 € amazon
Price Comparison

What's in the box

The headset is delivered, as well as the  beyerdnymaic Custom Game , in a gamer-friendly cardboard box that lists, among other things, all the specifications for the headphones and the microphone. In addition to the headset, the scope of delivery includes both a 2.5 meter and a 1.2 meter audio cable, each with an inline remote control, a 6.35 mm jack adapter, a transport case and multilingual warranty conditions. Beyerdynamic does not provide printed operating instructions. Instead, a web address for the instruction manual is printed on the cardboard box.

The scope of delivery of the beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd generation with the headset, a carrying case, cables and a user manual

Design and workmanship

In terms of design, the 2nd generation of the MMX 300 remains largely true to the 1st generation. Matt black ear cups with a distinctive aluminum ring are decisive for the design. A high-quality aluminum fork with 8-stage size adjustment and a padded synthetic leather headband that can be removed via Velcro enable precise head adjustment.

The beyerdynamic MMX 300 headset in a transport case

To orientate the headphones, the respective directions (L and R) are located on both sides, which can also be felt in relief writing without barriers. In addition, the left direction is shown in braille. The circumaural ear pads of the closed stereo headset are softly padded and can be removed or replaced in a few simple steps.

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Gen. Gaming Headset

A major innovation of the MMX 300 2nd generation is the detachable headphone cable. With the two plug-in cables supplied, the headset can be used in classic PC mode (Y-jack cable) as well as with a mobile device (4-pin jack cable). The cable remote control of the respective plug-in cable allows the microphone to be muted, the volume to be adjusted and incoming calls to be accepted. The condenser microphone with flexible gooseneck is not detachable, but firmly attached to the housing of the left auricle.

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Gen. Gaming Headset with engraving

The beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd generation is "Made in Germany". As expected, beyerdynamic also delivers excellent workmanship with this headset, which certainly does justice to the comparatively high price.

field test

Before we turn to the sound quality of the headset, a few technical details. The beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd generation is a circumaural, closed headset with an optional nominal impedance of 32 ohms or 600 ohms. The frequency range is between 5 Hz and 35.000 Hz. The sound pressure level, i.e. the sensitivity, is given by beyerdynamic as 96 dB.

Headset earcups

Due to the high level of efficiency, the 600 ohm version of the headphones can even be driven by a good onboard sound. The 600 ohm model is less suitable for mobile use without a headphone amplifier. Depending on the mobile device, a comfortable playback volume is achieved, but if you prefer to hear your music a little louder, you can't avoid an additional headphone amplifier.

Sound - gaming

The beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd generation was tested in the tactical Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, the action-packed Playerunknown's Battlegrounds and the versatile single and multiplayer title Grand Theft Auto V.

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Gen. Comfort (1)

A good gaming headset should be able to score especially in tactical games, where the most important thing is the precise and early location of opponents. The MMX 300 conveys an extremely spatial sound with an excellently tuned frequency response. Due to its detailed tonal character, the headset does not hide any subtleties that take place in the background. Sound details such as (distant) steps or (distant) shots can therefore be heard very well. Precise noise localization is possible even without additional sound settings.

The headset also cuts a fine figure in action-packed titles. Explosions are reproduced powerfully and crisply. In general, bass, midrange and treble reproduction are in tonal balance without being annoying.

Sound - music

Due to the very harmonious sound character, listening to music with the beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd generation is a real pleasure. Regardless of the music style, the music reproduction is impulsive, downright lively. Individual instruments are extracted cleanly and can be heard without any effort. Singing sounds full without the fundamental range covering the treble range. The treble reproduction is present without sounding annoying or sharp. Electronic music lovers will also get their money's worth. The bass comes out powerfully without dominating.

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Gen. Comfort (2)

Microphone

The cardioid condenser microphone is in contrast to the  beyerdynamic Custom Game  Headset firmly connected to the headphones. The disadvantage here is that in the case of a defect, not only the cable must be replaced, but the entire headset must be sent for repair.

Connection

The condenser microphone can be aligned with the microphone arm holder and folded away completely when not in use. At the same time, a 15 cm long, flexible gooseneck ensures precise positioning. The gooseneck holds the position permanently, so that it does not have to be readjusted during longer gaming sessions. The mute function of the cable remote control is practical, as it deactivates the microphone by flipping a slide switch.

cable remote control

The recording quality of the beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd generation microphone is convincing. What is spoken is recorded in a way that is understandable and clear and without background noise. Outside noises are filtered as best as possible by the pop filter and the cardioid pattern. Enclosed you will find an example recording.

Click the button below to load the content from w.soundcloud.com.

Load content

comfort

With a weight of 294g (without cable) the MMX 300 is not a lightweight. The ear pads and headband are pleasantly softly padded and adapt very well to the wearer. Even if you wear glasses, you won't feel uncomfortable feeling of pressure after long periods of wear. Good isolation from outside noise is achieved by the circumaural ear pads. An unpleasant heat development does not occur. Overall, the headset is long-lasting and extremely comfortable to wear.

beyerdynamic manufactory

The beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd generation headset is available as a matt black standard model, and the headphones can also be individually put together in the so-called beyerdynamic manufactory.

In the visual online editor of the beyerdynamic Manufaktur, the headband, the ear pads and the decorative aluminum ring can be adjusted to suit personal taste. In addition to color customization, the manufactory also offers the option of freely choosing the material of the ear pads (velor / synthetic leather). A double-sided engraving (14 characters) on the headphone fork gives the headphones a special finish.

To beyerdynamic manufactory

Another advantage of the manufactory compared to the standard model is the free choice of nominal impedance between 32 or 600 ohms. It took a week from ordering to delivery of the manufactory headset.

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Generation Test

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. generation

9.2
Rating
Positive

High quality manufacturing
Attractive design
Removable cable with remote control
Very precise surround sound
Tonal balance
Top recording quality
Pleasant wearing comfort

Negative

Microphone cannot be removed
Volume with mobile device

Conclusion

Also the 2. The generation of the beyerdynamic MMX 300 headset is one of the best gaming headsets in the 300 € price range. The gaming headset convinces with an excellent build quality "Made in Germany", an appealing design with a correspondingly good wearing comfort and a first-class sound and recording quality.

If you are looking for a gaming headset that does justice to hi-fi standards beyond the norm, you should definitely take a look at the beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Throw Generation!

Price Comparison
222,00€
Timo Altmeyer avatar
author

Timo is the founder of techreviewer.de and a real technology expert. From smartphones to e-bikes, from home cinema to smart homes, he always has his finger on the pulse of the latest trends.

3 comments

3 comments

  1. Case Knaxus

    27. March 2020 15 to: 00

    microphone quality

    Hello there!

    first of all thanks for this great review.

    I have one more question about the quality of the microphone. Was the headset connected to a PC or laptop during the sound test performed above and was an internal or external sound card used?

    I have the problem that the microphone does not sound good either on the PS4 or on my laptop. Colleagues in Discord have made this clear to me.

    Do I have to change anything in the sound settings in Windows or what could be the problem?

    • Timo admin

      27. March 2020 15 to: 08

      Hi case Knaxus, I am glad that you like the review. I still use the MMX 300 every day and have already used it on several PCs and notebooks. In the Windows settings I set the microphone volume to 100 and the microphone gain to + 20dB. Do you have any microphone effects such as noise suppression or acoustic echo cancellation active? These "enhancers" are activated by default, especially with Realtek sound cards.

  2. Volker

    6. October 2020 01 to: 07

    Thanks for the great review. I will probably get the MMX 300 soon too.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

More from beyerdynamic
Overview
Manufacturer

beyerdynamic

Model

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. generation

Specifications

 Headphones 
Frequency range: 5 Hz - 35 kHz
Impedance: 32 ohms / 600 ohms
Sound pressure level: 96 dB
Power consumption: 100 mW
Noise Compensation: 18 dBA

 Microphone 
Microphone type: condenser microphone
Directivity: kidney
Frequency range: 30 Hz - 18 kHz

 Cables 
Cable type: removable 3.5 mm jack
Wired Remote Control: Yes
Cable length: 1.2 m cable + 2.5 m Y cable
Plug: 3.5 mm jack

 Other 
Headphone Type: Closed
Type: ear enclosing
Weight: 294g

What's in the box

1x beyerdynamic MMX 300
1x transport case
1x cable (Y) with remote control
1x cable with remote control
1x 6.35 mm jack adapter
1x Warranty Policy

Audio
0
Review

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation – Testbericht

by Mai 17, 2018

Das unter Gamern beliebte beyerdynamic MMX 300 Gaming-Headset hat ein Upgrade erfahren und löst als 2. Generation die 1. Generation des Headsets ab. In der Manufaktur des Heilbronner Kopfhörer-Spezialisten habe ich mir das Headset individuell zusammenstellen lassen. Welche Neuerungen es gibt und wie es sich schlägt, dazu mehr im folgenden Testbericht!

Überblick
Hersteller

beyerdynamic

Produktbezeichnung

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation

Spezifikationen

Kopfhörer
Frequenzbereich: 5 Hz - 35 kHz
Impedanz: 32 Ohm / 600 Ohm
Schalldruckpegel: 96 dB
Leistungsaufnahme: 100 mW
Lärmkompensation: 18 dBA

Mikrofon
Mikrofontyp: Kondensatormikrofon
Richtcharakteristik: Niere
Frequenzbereich: 30 Hz - 18 kHz

Kabel
Kabeltyp: abnehmbar 3.5 mm Klinke
Kabelfernbedienung: Ja
Kabellänge: 1.2 m Kabel + 2.5 m Y-Kabel
Stecker: 3.5 mm Klinke

Sonstige
Kopfhörertyp: Geschlossen
Bauform: Ohrumschließend
Gewicht: 294g

Lieferumfang

1x beyerdynamic MMX 300
1x Transportcase
1x Kabel (Y) mit Fernbedienung
1x Kabel mit Fernbedienung
1x 6.35 mm Klinkenadapter
1x Garantiebestimmungen

Erster Eindruck zum beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation

Lieferumfang

Ausgeliefert wird das Headset, wie auch das beyerdnymaic Custom Game, in einer gamergerechten Pappschachtel, die unter anderem sämtliche Spezifikationen zum Kopfhörer und dem Mikrofon aufführt. Neben dem Headset umfasst der Lieferumfang sowohl ein 2.5 Meter, als auch ein 1.2 Meter langes Audiokabel, jeweils mit Inline-Fernbedienung, einen 6.35 mm Klinkenadapter, ein Transportcase und mehrsprachige Garantiebestimmungen. Auf eine Bedienungsanleitung in Druckform verzichtet beyerdynamic. Stattdessen ist eine Webadresse zur Bedienungsanleitung auf der Pappschachtel abgedruckt.

Der Lieferumfang des beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Generation mit dem Headset, einem Transportcase, Kabeln und einer Bedienungsanleitung

Design und Verarbeitung

Designbezogen bleibt die 2. Generation des MMX 300, der 1. Generation weitestgehend treu. Matt-schwarze Ohrmuscheln mit markantem Aluminium-Ring sind für das Design ausschlaggebend. Eine hochwertige Aluminium-Gabel mit 8-stufiger Größenverstellung und ein, über Klettverschluss abnehmbares, gepolstertes Kunstleder-Kopfband ermöglichen eine präzise Kopfanpassung.

Das beyerdynamic MMX 300 Headset im Transport-Case

Zur Orientierung des Kopfhörers befinden sich auf beiden Seiten die jeweiligen Richtungsangaben (L und R), die barrierefrei auch in Reliefschrift ertastbar sind. Zusätzlich ist die linke Richtungsangabe in Punktschrift abgebildet. Die ohrumschließenden Ohrpolster des geschlossenen Stereo-Headsets sind weich gepolstert und lassen sich mit wenigen Handgriffen abnehmen bzw. austauschen.

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Gen. Gaming Headset

Eine wesentliche Neuerung des MMX 300 2. Generation ist das abnehmbare Kopfhörerkabel. Durch die beiden mitgelieferten Steckkabel kann das Headset im klassischen PC-Betrieb (Y-Klinkenkabel), als auch mit einem Mobilgerät verwendet werden (4-Pol Klinkenkabel). Die Kabelfernbedienung der jeweiligen Steckkabel erlaubt es das Mikrofon stummzuschalten, die Lautstärke anzupassen und eingehende Anrufe anzunehmen. Das Kondensatormikrofon mit flexiblem Schwanenhals ist nicht abnehmbar, sondern fest mit dem Gehäuse der linken Ohrmuschel verbunden.

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Gen. Gaming Headset mit Gravur

Das beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation ist „Made in Germany“. Erwartungsgemäß liefert beyerdynamic auch bei diesem Headset eine hervorragende Verarbeitungsqualität ab, die dem vergleichsweise hohen Preis durchaus gerecht wird.

Praxistest

Bevor wir uns den Klangqualitäten des Headsets widmen, noch einige technische Details. Das beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation ist ein ohrumschließendes, geschlossenes Headset mit einer wahlweisen Nennimpedanz von 32 Ohm oder 600 Ohm. Der Frequenzbereich liegt zwischen 5 Hz und 35.000 Hz. Der Kennschalldruckpegel, also die Empfindlichkeit, gibt beyerdynamic mit 96 dB an.

Headset Ohrmuscheln

Aufgrund des hohen Wirkungsgrades lässt sich der Kopfhörer in der 600 Ohm Variante sogar an einem guten Onboard-Sound antreiben. Weniger eignet sich das 600 Ohm Modell für die mobile Nutzung ohne Kopfhörerverstärker. Je nach Mobilgerät wird zwar eine angenehme Wiedergabelautstärke erreicht, wer seine Musik allerdings lieber etwas lauter hören möchte, kommt um einen zusätzlichen Kopfhörerverstärker nicht herum.

Klang – Gaming

Getestet wurde das beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation sowohl im taktischen Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, dem actiongeladenen Playerunknown’s Battlegrounds und dem vielseitigen Single- und Multiplayertitel Grand Theft Auto V.

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Gen. Tragekomfort (1)

Ein gutes Gaming-Headset sollte gerade bei taktischen Spielen, bei denen es vor allem auf die präzise und frühzeitige Ortung von Gegner ankommt, punkten können. Das MMX 300 vermittelt einen überaus räumlichen Klang mit einem hervorragend abgestimmten Frequenzgang. Durch seinen klanglichen Detailcharakter verschweigt das Headset keinerlei Feinheiten, die sich im Hintergrund abspielen. Klangdetails, wie z.B. (entfernte) Schritte oder (entfernte) Schüsse, sind dadurch sehr gut heraushörbar. Selbst ohne zusätzliche Sound-Settings ist eine genaue Geräuschortung möglich.

Auch in actiongeladenen Titeln gibt das Headset eine sehr gute Figur ab. Explosionen werden druckvoll und knackig wiedergegeben. Allgemein stehen Tiefton-, Mitten- und Höhenwiedergabe in tonaler Balance ohne störend hervorzutreten.

Klang – Musik

Durch den sehr harmonischen Klangcharakter ist auch das Musikhören mit dem beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation eine wahre Freude. Egal welcher Musikstil, die Musikwiedergabe ist impulsiv, regelrecht lebendig. Einzelne Istrumente werden sauber extrahiert und sind ohne Anstrengung heraushörbar. Gesang klingt füllig, ohne dass der Grundtonbereich den Höhenbereich überdeckt. Die Höhenwiedergabe ist präsent, ohne lästig bzw. scharf zu klingen. Liebhaber elektronischer Musik kommen ebenfalls auf Ihre Kosten. Bässe kommen kraftvoll zur Geltung, ohne dabei zu dominieren.

beyerdynamic MMX 300 2nd Gen. Tragekomfort (2)

Mikrofon

Das Kondensatormikrofon mit Nierencharakteristik ist im Gegensatz zum beyerdynamic Custom Game Headset fest mit dem Kopfhörer verbunden. Nachteilig ist dabei, dass im Falle eines Defekts nicht nur das Kabel getauscht werden muss, sondern das gesamte Headset zur Reparatur eingeschickt werden muss.

Anschluss

Über den Mikrofonarmhalter lässt sich das Kondensatormikrofon beliebig ausrichten und im Falle des Nichtgebrauchs komplett wegklappen. Gleichzeitig sorgt ein 15 cm langer, flexibler Schwanenhals für eine präzise Positionierung. Die Position hält der Schwanenhals auf Dauer, sodass auch während längeren Gaming-Session nicht nachjustiert werden muss. Praktisch ist die Stummschaltfunktion der Kabelfernbedienung, die das Mikrofon durch Umlegen eines Schiebeschalters deaktiviert.

Kabelfernbedienung

Die Aufnahmequalität des beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation Mikrofons überzeugt. Gesprochenes wird verständlich klar und ohne Störgeräusche aufgenommen. Außengeräusche werden durch den Popschutz und die Nierencharakteristik bestmöglich gefiltert. Anbei findest du eine Beispielaufnahme.

Tragekomfort

Mit einem Gewicht von 294g (ohne Kabel) ist das MMX 300 kein Leichtgewicht. Ohrpolster und Kopfbügel sind angenehm weich gepolstert und passen sich dem Träger sehr gut an. Selbst als Brillenträger macht sich nach längerem Tragen kein unangenehmes Druckgefühl bemerkbar. Eine gute Außengeräuschisolierung wird durch die ohrumschließenden Ohrpolster erreicht. Eine unangenehme Hitzeentwicklung tritt nicht auf. Insgesamt vermittelt das Headset einen langanhaltenden und äußerst angenehmen Tragekomfort.

beyerdynamic Manufaktur

Das beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation Headset ist sowohl als matt-schwarzes Standardmodell erhältlich, als auch lässt sich der Kopfhörer in der so genannten beyerdynamic Manufaktur individuell zusammenstellen.

Im visuellen Online-Editor der beyerdynamic Manufaktur können unter anderem das Kopfband, die Ohrpolster und auch der verzierende Aluring dem persönlichen Geschmack entsprechend angepasst werden. Neben einer farblichen Individualisierung bietet die Manufaktur auch die Möglichkeit das Material der Ohrpolster (Velour / Kunstleder) frei zu wählen. Eine beidseitige Gravur (14 Zeichen) der Kopfhörergabel gibt dem Kopfhörer ein besonderes Finish.

Hier geht es zur beyerdynamic Manufaktur

Ein weiterer Vorteil der Manufaktur gegenüber dem Standardmodell ist die kostenfreie Wahl der Nennimpedanz zwischen 32 oder 600 Ohm. Von der Bestellung bis hin zur Auslieferung des Manufaktur-Headsets dauerte es eine Woche.

Positiv

►Hochwertige Verarbeitung
►Ansprechendes Design
►Abnehmbares Kabel mit Fernbedienung
►Sehr präziser Raumklang
►Tonale Balance
►Top Aufnahmequalität
►Angenehmer Tragekomfort

Negativ

►Mikrofon nicht abnehmbar
►Lautstärke mit Mobilgerät

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
9.5
Verarbeitung
9.5
Design
9.5
Klang
9.5
Tragekomfort
9.0
Funktionsumfang
8.5
Gamingtauglichkeit
8.5
Mikrofon
9.5
Fazit

Auch die 2. Generation des beyerdynamic MMX 300 Headsets zählt zu den besten Gaming-Headsets in der 300€ Preisklasse. Das Gaming-Headset überzeugt durch eine hervorragende Verarbeitungsqualität „Made in Germany“, ein ansprechendes Design mit einhergehend gutem Tragekomfort und einer erstklassigen Klang- und Aufnahmequalität.

Wer auf der Suche nach einem Gaming-Headset ist, welches jenseits der Norm auch HiFi-Standards gerecht wird, der sollte auf alle Fälle einen Blick auf das beyerdynamic MMX 300 2. Generation werfen!

9.2
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
  Subscribe  
Benachrichtigung