Reviews
0
Review

Cubot Note S Test - Low Budget Smartphone

by 18. March 2016

The Cubot Note S is a reasonably priced Chinaphone with a remarkable hardware combination. Originally, the smartphone was mainly intended to conquer the African market, but in this country as well, the Cubot Note S is enjoying ever-increasing popularity. Whether the low budget smartphone has something on the box, you can read in this detailed review.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Cubot

Product

Cubot Note S

Specifications

Display: 5.5 inch HD IPS with 2.5D Curved Glass
SoC: MediaTek MT6580
Memory: 2GB RAM, 16GB internal (expandable)
Cameras: 5 and 2 megapixels
Battery: 4150mAh
Networks: 2G and 3G
Sensors: proximity sensor, accelerometer, brightness sensor, gyroscope

Scope of delivery

1x Cubot Note S
1x Charger 5V 1A
1x protective cover
1x user manual

First impression of the Cubot Note S

Surprisingly, that became Cubot Note S not delivered in the typical "cubot box", but in a customized, white box. Included were next to the smartphone still one micro USB cable, 5V charger with 1A, a transparent one Silicone Case, as well as a multilingual Manual, A Displayschutfolie was already applied by factory. Normally, Cubot smartphones still another, separate screen protector enclosed, here, however, was waived.

The white Cubot Note S that I tested looks like a big "plastic bomber" on the one hand, but the workmanship is still neat. On a high-quality metal frame was omitted for cost reasons. Alternatively, a gold-colored plastic frame was used here. The volume rocker on the right edge of the housing and the switch-on button are also made of plastic and remain optically faithful to the frame. The keys have no play and have a good pressure point. The back of the smartphone has a mother-of-pearl look, is removable and is also made of plastic. Overall, the design of the Cubot Note S looks modern and appealing.

The upper edge of the case houses the micro USB port and the 3.5mm audio output. At the bottom of this smartphone has no connections. The speaker is on the back. Also on the back is an 8 megapixel camera with LED flash. There are three capacitive buttons on the front and below the display, but they are not lit. Next to the front camera is a proximity sensor and the earpiece.

Display

The smartphone has a 5.5 inch IPS HD display (1280 × 720) with 2.5 Curved Glass and a Anti-fingerprint coating, The point density is PPI 267, The contrast ratio is at 3000:1, the brightness at 450cd / m².

In view of the price here was a really very nice panel installed, which was quite convincing in the test. Even with very close viewing of the display, individual pixels are barely visible. The colors are strong, natural and just at the maximum brightness, this display convinced me. The viewing angle stability is also good. Only at extreme inclination occur slight color changes. Characters stay legible at all inclinations.

The display settings of the Note S have been changed to "Miravision"Expanded. In MiraVision, the contrast, saturation, image brightness, sharpness and color temperature can be individually adjusted. There is also an option for dynamic contrast there.

Performance

The SoC (System-on-Chip) used here is one MediaTek MT6580, The Indian 32bit Architecture made Quad-core processor clocks with 1.3GHz, The GPU of the chip is one Mali 400 MPUnfortunately, they are not compatible with the current graphical interfaces OpenCL 1.2 and OpenGL ES 3.0. This chip also supports no LTE, but more on that later!

The memory amounts to RAM 2GB and a 16GB internal memory, The internal memory is also with a micro SD memory card expandable. For this, none of the dual-SIM slots must be sacrificed.

In the course of the review, I could hardly notice any performance drops. Apps can be opened quickly, multitasking is also largely possible. HD videos plays the Cubot Note S liquid. Performance dips, however, are noticeable in some games. If, for example, you want to play "Asphalt 8", the smartphone quickly reaches its limits. A fairly fluent game is possible on low settings, but with higher graphics settings you can feel how the controller slows down and the pictures per second decrease.

User Interface

The operating system is a clean one Android 5.1in which only the Cheetah Clean Master App was preinstalled as a third-party app. Additional extensions can be found in the settings. In addition to the already mentioned MiraVision there is one more HotKnot Function for mobile data transmission. A Gesture control or Smart Wake was omitted in the Cubot Note S.

Security updates receives the Note S OTA (Over The Air). You should not expect an upgrade to Android 6.

Camera

The cameras of the Cubot Note S solve according to data sheet with 8 and 5 megapixels. These are interpolated values. The actual resolution of the image sensors is 5 and 2 megapixels, About the image sensors is only known that for the rear camera Samsung sensor with a 5P lens and a f / 2.0 aperture has been used. a Autofocus and one LED flash owns the rear camera as well.

The camera app is one MediaTek Camera Appwhich is equipped with gadgets such as a face recognition, a real-time HDR mode, a panorama mode and more.

In good light conditions, the back camera produces quite useful images, which correspond to the price of the smartphone. In low light conditions, the camera is sluggish and the pictures are noisy with no flash. The front camera is suitable for video telephony. Who likes to shoot selfies, should hope for good lighting conditions here.

Cubot Note S rear camera

Cubot Note S front camera

Image capture front camera

Telephony, WLAN, Bluetooth

The dual-SIM smartphone supports mobile standards 2G and a 3G, Unfortunately, the Note S is not capable of LTE. With regard to the voice quality and the reception quality I noticed nothing negative. The same applies to the WLAN and the Bluetooth connection.

GPS Compass

The GPS is good for the price. An e-compass has been omitted, but for a normal navigation, the Cubot Note S is quite suitable. The GPS fix was found in the test pleasantly fast. The stability of the signal remained constant except for minor dropouts.

Accumulator

The capacity of the battery is 4150mAh, The charger is fully charged after 6 hours at the latest. In everyday life, this battery is easy to get through the day. With moderate use are also loose 2-3 days in it.

Final Words

Positive

►Good display
►Good battery
►Sauber Android 5.1
►Good connectivity

Negative

►No LTE
►Poor front camera

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.0
-
application
7.5
-
Design
8.5
-
Display
8.5
-
Performance
7.0
-
User Interface
8.0
-
Camera
7.0
-
connectivity
8.0
-
GPS & sensors
7.5
-
Audio
7.0
-
Accumulator
8.0
-
Summary

The Cubot Note S does justice to its price and brings a pleasant user feeling with it. The workmanship is good, but a high-quality metal frame has been omitted. LTE was not necessarily expected at this price. The two cameras allow us to take useful pictures in good lighting conditions. Highlight of the smartphone is that, considering the price, good display and the long-lasting battery.

7.7
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Reviews
0
Review

Cubot Note S Test – Low Budget Smartphone

by März 18, 2016

Das Cubot Note S ist ein preisgünstiges Chinaphone mit beachtlicher Hardware-Kombination. Ursprünglich sollte mit dem Smartphone hauptsächlich der afrikanische Markt erobert werden, doch auch hierzulande erfreut sich das Cubot Note S einer stets wachsenden Beliebtheit. Ob das Low Budget Smartphone auch etwas auf dem Kasten hat, könnt ihr in diesem detaillierten Testbericht nachlesen.

Überblick
Hersteller

Cubot

Produktbezeichnung

Cubot Note S

Spezifikationen

Display: 5.5 Zoll HD IPS mit 2.5D Curved Glass
SoC: MediaTek MT6580
Speicher: 2GB RAM, 16GB intern (erweiterbar)
Kameras: 5 und 2 Megapixel
Akku: 4150mAh
Netze: 2G und 3G
Sensoren: Näherungssensor, Beschleunigungssensor, Helligkeitssensor, Gyroskop

Lieferumfang

1x Cubot Note S
1x Ladegerät 5V 1A
1x Schutzhülle
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Sonstige

Zum Preisvergleich

Erster Eindruck zum Cubot Note S

Überraschenderweise wurde das Cubot Note S nicht im typischen „Cubot Karton“ geliefert, sondern in einem angepassten, weißen Karton. Enthalten waren neben dem Smartphone noch ein micro USB-Kabel, ein 5V Ladegerät mit 1A, eine transparente Silikonschutzhülle, sowie eine mehrsprachige Bedienungsanleitung. Eine Displayschutfolie war von Werk aus bereits aufgetragen. Üblicherweise wird bei Cubot Smartphones noch eine weitere, separate Displayschutzfolie beigelegt, hier wurde allerdings darauf verzichtet.

Das von mir getestete weiße Cubot Note S wirkt einerseits wie ein großer „Plastikbomber“, andererseits ist die Verarbeitung dennoch ordentlich. Auf einen hochwertigen Metallrahmen wurde aus Kostengründen verzichtet. Alternativ wurde hier ein goldfarbener Kunststoffrahmen verwendet. Die am rechten Gehäuserand eingelassene Lautstärkewippe und die Einschalttaste bestehen ebenfalls aus Kunststoff und bleiben optisch dem Gehäuserahmen treu. Die Tasten haben keinerlei Spiel und besitzen einen guten Druckpunkt. Die Rückseite des Smartphones besitzt eine Perlmuttoptik, ist abnehmbar und besteht ebenfalls aus Kunststoff. Insgesamt wirkt das Design des Cubot Note S modern und ansprechend.

Am oberen Gehäuserand befinden sich der micro USB Anschluss und der 3.5mm Audioausgang. Am unteren Rand hat dieses Smartphone keinerlei Anschlüsse. Der Lautsprecher befindet sich rückseitig. Auch rückseitig befindet sich eine 8 Megapixel Kamera samt LED-Blitz. Vorderseitig und unterhalb des Displays gibt es drei kapazitive Tasten, die allerdings nicht beleuchtet sind. Neben der Frontkamera befinden sich ein Näherungssensor und die Hörmuschel.

Display

Das Smartphone besitzt ein 5.5 Zoll IPS HD Display (1280×720) mit 2.5 Curved Glass und einer Anti-Fingerprint Beschichtung. Die Punktdichte beträgt 267 PPI. Das Kontrastverhältnis liegt bei 3000:1, die Helligkeit bei 450cd/m².

In Anbetracht des Preises wurde hier ein wirklich sehr schönes Panel verbaut, das im Test durchaus überzeugen konnte. Selbst bei sehr nahem Betrachten des Displays sind einzelne Pixel kaum zu erkennen. Die Farben wirken kräftig, natürlich und gerade bei der maximalen Helligkeit konnte mich dieses Display überzeugen. Die Blickwinkelstabilität ist ebenfalls gut. Lediglich bei extremer Neigung treten leichte Farbveränderungen auf. Schriftzeichen bleiben bei jeglicher Neigung gut lesbar.

Die Displayeinstellungen des Note S wurden um „MiraVision“ erweitert. In MiraVision lassen sich der Kontrast, die Sättigung, die Bildhelligkeit, die Schärfe aber auch die Farbtemperatur individuell anpassen. Eine Option für den dynamischen Kontrast gibt es dort ebenfalls.

Leistung

Bei dem hier verwendeten SoC (System-on-Chip) handelt es sich um einen MediaTek MT6580. Der in der 32bit Architektur gefertigte Quad-Core Prozessor taktet mit 1.3GHz. Bei der GPU des Chips handelt es sich um einen Mali-400 MP, die leider nicht mit den aktuellen Grafikschnittstellen OpenCL 1.2 und OpenGL ES 3.0 kompatibel. Dieser Chip unterstützt auch kein LTE, hierzu aber später mehr!

Der Speicher beläuft sich auf 2GB RAM und 16GB internen Speicher. Der interne Speicher ist zudem mit einer micro SD-Speicherkarte erweiterbar. Hierfür muss auch keiner der Dual-SIM-Slots geopfert werden.

Im Laufe des Review konnte ich kaum Leistungseinbrüche feststellen. Apps lassen sich zügig öffnen, Multitasking ist ebenfalls weitestgehend flüssig möglich. HD Videos spielt das Cubot Note S flüssig ab. Leistungseinbrüche sind jedoch bei so manchen Spielen bemerkbar. Möchte man beispielsweise „Asphalt 8“ spielen, gelangt das Smartphone ziemlich schnell an seine Grenzen. Ein einigermaßen flüssiges Spielen ist auf niedrigen Einstellungen zwar möglich, doch bei höheren Grafikeinstellungen spürt man wie die Steuerung träge wird und auch die Bilder-pro-Sekunde abnehmen.

Benutzeroberfläche

Beim Betriebssystem handelt es sich um ein sauberes Android 5.1, bei dem lediglich die Cheetah Clean Master App als Drittanbieter-App vorinstalliert war. Zusätzliche Erweiterungen finden sich unter anderem in den Einstellungen. Neben dem hier bereits genannten MiraVision gibt es noch eine HotKnot Funktion zur mobilen Datenübertragung. Auf eine Gestensteuerung oder Smart Wake wurde beim Cubot Note S verzichtet.

Sicherheitsupdates erhält das Note S OTA (Over The Air). Mit einem Upgrade auf Android 6 sollte man nicht rechnen.

Kamera

Die Kameras des Cubot Note S lösen laut Datenblatt mit 8 und 5 Megapixel auf. Hierbei handelt es sich aber um interpolierte Werte. Die tatsächliche Auflösung der Bildsensoren beträgt 5 und 2 Megapixel. Über die Bildsensoren ist nur bekannt, dass für die rückseitige Kamera ein Samsung Sensor mit einer 5P Linse und einer f/2.0 Blende verwendet wurde. Einen Autofokus und einen LED-Blitz besitzt die Rückkamera ebenfalls.

Bei der Kamera-App handelt es sich um eine MediaTek Kamera-App, die mit Spielereien wie einer Gesichtserkennung, einem Echtzeit HDR-Modus, einem Panoramamodus und mehr ausgestattet ist.

Bei guten Lichtverhältnissen produziert die rückseitige Kamera durchaus brauchbare Bildaufnahmen, die dem Preis des Smartphones entsprechen. Bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen ist die Kamera träge und die Aufnahmen sind ohne Blitz stark verrauscht. Die Frontkamera eignet sich zur Videotelefonie. Wer gerne Selfies schießt, sollte auch hier auf gute Lichtverhältnisse hoffen.

Cubot Note S Rückkamera

Cubot Note S Frontkamera

Bildaufnahme Frontkamera

Telefonie, WLAN, Bluetooth

Das Dual-SIM Smartphone unterstützt die Mobilfunkstandards 2G und 3G. Leider ist das Note S nicht LTE fähig. Hinsichtlich der Sprachqualität und der Empfangsqualität ist mir nichts negativ aufgefallen. Gleiches gilt für die WLAN und die Bluetooth Verbindung.

GPS

Das GPS ist dem Preis entsprechend gut. Auf einen E-Kompass wurde verzichtet, doch für eine normale Navigation eignet sich das Cubot Note S durchaus. Der GPS Fix wurde im Test angenehm schnell gefunden. Die Stabilität des Signals blieb bis auf kleinere Aussetzer konstant.

Akku

Die Kapazität des Akkus beträgt 4150mAh. Mit dem beigelegten Ladegerät ist dieser nach spätestens 6 Stunden vollständig aufgeladen. Im Alltag kommt man mit diesem Akku locker über den Tag. Bei gemäßigter Nutzung sind auch locker 2-3 Tage drin.

Preisvergleich

amzprice
  • 89.99€
  • Versand DE
gearbestprice
  • 72.44€
  • Versand CN
Positiv

►Gutes Display
►Guter Akku
►Sauberes Android 5.1
►Gute Konnektivität

Negativ

►Kein LTE
►Schlechte Frontkamera

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.0
Verarbeitung
7.5
Design
8.5
Display
8.5
Leistung
7.0
Benutzeroberfläche
8.0
Kamera
7.0
Konnektivität
8.0
GPS & Sensoren
7.5
Audio
7.0
Akku
8.0
Fazit

Das Cubot Note S wird seinem Preis gerecht und bringt ein angenehmes Nutzer-Gefühl mit sich. Die Verarbeitung ist gut, auf einen hochwertigen Metallrahmen wurde allerdings verzichtet. LTE war bei diesem Preis nicht unbedingt zu erwarten. Die beiden Kameras ermöglichen bei guten Lichtverhältnissen brauchbare Bildaufnahmen. Highlight des Smartphones ist das, in Anbetracht des Preises, gute Display und der langanhaltende Akku.

7.7
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Sei der Erste, der kommentiert!

Benachrichtigung
avatar
wpDiscuz