Reviews
0
Review

Cubot Z100 in the test

by 3. March 2016

In February, Chinese smartphone maker Cubot launched four new smartphone models. One of them is the Cubot Z100, which is available under 100 € and is more likely to be part of the low budget models. A cheap smartphone does not have to be the same. In the detailed test you will learn what the Cubot Z100 has on the box.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Cubot

Product

Cubot Z100

Specifications

OS: Android 5.1
SoC: MTK6735 quad-core 1GHz
Memory: 1GB RAM, 8GB internal memory
Display: 5 inch HD IPS (1280x720)
Battery: 2450mAh

Camera:
13 megapixels (interpolated)
8 megapixels (interpolated)

Sensors:
Accelerometer, Proximity Sensor, Brightness Sensor

Network:
GSM: 850, 900, 1800, 1900
UMTS / WCDMA: 850, 900, 1900, 2100
LTE (4G): Tape 1 / 3 / 7 / 20

Scope of delivery

1x Cubot Z100
1x charger
1x screen protector
1x plastic case
1x micro USB data or charging cable

Cubot Z100 Smartphone - Unboxing

Unboxing the Cubot Z100

Who would have thought, even the Cubot Z100 will be delivered in the typical Cubot box. As usual with Cubot, the delivery includes a matching plastic case and a screen protector. A screen protector is incidentally already applied. Often, however, these are in the production dirty and applied with Staubeinschlüssen, which is why you have at least a replacement with the additional screen protector. Also included was a charger (5V 1A), a micro USB data or charging cable and a multilingual user manual. Although the operating instructions are in German, they are sometimes formulated incomprehensibly.

Externally, the Cubot Z100 makes a good impression. The brushed aluminum frame with the likewise aluminum control buttons is well made and looks high quality. The control buttons (volume rocker and power button) are fixed and even with fast movements I could not detect any unpleasant rattling. At the upper edge of the case there is an 3.5mm jack audio output, at the lower edge of the case a micro USB socket is attached.

Also nice is the 2.5D Curved Glass, so that the edge of the display is not too strict, but slightly rounded. Below the display there are also three capacitive buttons. These do not have backlighting, but are visibly recessed in the front.

The back is made of plastic and is removable. Due to the finely grooved design, the Cubot Z100 looks not only damn good on the back, it also fits better in the hand. Depending on how the back is turned in the light, the grooved structure changes its appearance. Incidentally, the same back has also been used on the Cubot P11! In addition, there is an 13 megapixel camera on the back, an LED flash and a loudspeaker.

If you open the back, the 2450mAh large battery comes to light. Obehalb are two SIM slots, left next to the micro SD card slot.

My first impression of the Cubot Z100 is quite good. Good workmanship and a great design are not everything ...

Cubot Z100 Smartphone - Test / Review

Display

The Cubot Z100 has an IPS HD display (1280 × 720) with 2.5D Curved Glass. With "Curved Glass", the edges of the display are slightly rounded, which mainly contributes to the design. The DPI number is according to the Display Tester app at 320. The colors of the display are really very strong, to my taste, rather too bright. If you like supersaturated and bright colors à la Samsung or AMOLED Display, you'll really enjoy the Cubot Z100! Alternatively, in the settings of the Z100 "MiraVision" was added, which can not only adjust the color saturation and the color temperature, but also the contrast, the image brightness and the sharpness can be adjusted individually with MiraVision. With MiraVison I could then, but in my opinion, pleasant colors on the display conjure.

The maximum brightness of the display is good. The viewing angle stability is commensurate with the price. However, with stronger, vertical inclination, I could clearly see that the colors were slightly distorted. The readability of the display was nevertheless good from all angles.

Five fingers Multi-Touch are no problem for the touch screen of the Cubot Z100. Also with regard to the accuracy of the touch screen, I could not find anything negative during the test. Inputs were recognized exactly.

Performance

Every year Cubot also uses a Mediatek MTK6735 quad-core with a clock speed of 1.0GHz. The RAM is 1GB, the internal memory is 16GB. The performance is good and is enough for an everyday browsing of the WWW or WhatsAppen completely. Low performing games (Angry Birds and Co.) are also possible with the Cubot Z100. In hardware-intensive games, however, the smartphone reaches its limits. Apps open as far as possible promptly.

User Interface

As used by Cubot, the Cubot Z100 also uses an "almost" clean stock Android 5.1 Lollipop. Only the Clean Master App from Cheetah Mobile is again pre-installed as a third-party app. Incidentally, the app is on every newer Cubot smartphone, as the manufacturer has partnered with "Cheetah Mobile" (Cheetah-Phone can greet!). Uninstall the app via the App Manager.

Also the settings menu of the Cubot Z100 has been extended. In addition to MiraVision, the smartphone also has the functions "Smart Wake" and "Gesture Sensing". Among other things, it can be used to wake up individual apps via the switched-off screen, or by swiping across the display, you can switch through the App Drawer, trigger the camera, etc. The smartphone OTA (Over-The-Air) can be updated.

Camera

The Cubot Z100 has an 13 megapixel rear camera and an 8 megapixel front camera. These are of course interpolated values. The actual resolution of the sensors is 8 and 5 megapixels. The rear camera also has an auto focus and an LED flash. The camera app uses the well-known Mediatek camera app.

The pictures with the rear camera of the Z100 could not convince me in the practical test. The auto focus is slow and rarely focused precisely. The LED flash is rather sparse. The camera is still the price. With good illumination, the images are quite useful. In poor lighting conditions, the camera becomes sluggish and the pictures are noisy without a flash. Despite the active image stabilizer, I also found it incomprehensibly difficult to shoot a clean shot.

In comparison, the front camera has promised me earlier. With this I was able to achieve beautiful selfies.

Cubot Z100 rear camera

Cubot Z100 front camera

Fronkamera1

Telephony, WLAN and Bluetooth

In the LTE network, the Cubot Z100 is doing quite well. All LTE bands required in the German network are supported. There were no performance dips or unexpected connection breaks. The telephony was clear and understandable with this smartphone.

Incidentally, the dual SIM function can be fully utilized with this smartphone. There was no hybrid slot installed, so you do not have to release a SIM slot for the eventual memory expansion.

When Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, I noticed nothing negative regarding the Cubot Z100. The connections were stable and the range average.

GPS Compass

The GPS of the Cubot Z100 could be a bit better. The GPS fix lasted for a comparatively long time, as well as the signal was not stable throughout. For permanent navigation, I would not use this smartphone.

Accumulator

The capacity of the battery is 2450mAh. In the battery benchmark, this small battery is a real force. With almost 9 hours, 30 minutes, the small battery puts so many other smartphone with a larger battery easily into the bag. This shows that Cubot has adapted the operating system well to the hardware.

Even in the practical test, I was able to survive the day well with ordinary use. Even in the evening I had enough leftover battery to get by on the second day.

Final Words

Positive

►High quality workmanship
►Design of the back
►Good performance
►Sauber Android 5.1
►Good display
►Frontkamera

Negative

►Hauptkamera
►GPS

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.5
-
application
8.5
-
Design
9.0
-
Display
7.5
-
Performance
8.0
-
User Interface
8.5
-
Camera
6.5
-
connectivity
8.0
-
GPS & sensors
6.0
-
Audio
7.5
-
Accumulator
8.5
-
Summary

The Cubot Z100 is a mix of the Cubot P11 and P12. Despite many improvements over the previous models, the Z100 could not convince me solely with the camera. I was also skeptical about the display at first, but with some adjustments within MiraVision, I was able to get the most out of the display for me. If you can do without a good camera or shoot spontaneous shots, you will still be offered a solid entry-level smartphone.

7.9
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Reviews
0
Review

Cubot Z100 im Test

by 3. März 2016

Im Februar hat der chinesische Smartphone-Hersteller „Cubot“ gleich vier neue Smartphone Modelle auf den Markt gebracht. Eines davon ist das Cubot Z100, welches für unter 100€ erhältlich ist und eher zu den Low Budget Modellen zu zählen ist. Ein günstiges Smartphone muss aber nicht gleich schlecht sein. Im detaillierten Test erfahrt ihr, was das Cubot Z100 auf dem Kasten hat.

Überblick
Hersteller

Cubot

Produktbezeichnung

Cubot Z100

Spezifikationen

OS: Android 5.1
SoC: MTK6735 Quad-Core 1GHz
Speicher: 1GB RAM, 8GB interner Speicher
Display: 5 Zoll HD IPS (1280x720)
Akku: 2450mAh

Kamera:
13 Megapixel (interpoliert)
8 Megapixel (interpoliert)

Sensoren:
Beschleunigungssensor, Näherungssensor, Helligkeitssensor

Netz:
GSM: 850, 900, 1800, 1900
UMTS/WCDMA: 850, 900, 1900, 2100
LTE (4G): Band 1/3/7/20

Lieferumfang

1x Cubot Z100
1x Ladegerät
1x Displayschutzfolie
1x Kunststoff-Case
1x micro USB Daten- bzw. Ladekabel

Cubot Z100 Smartphone – Unboxing

 

Unboxing des Cubot Z100

Wer hätte es gedacht, auch das Cubot Z100 wird im typischen Cubot Karton geliefert. Wie auch von Cubot gewohnt lagen dem Lieferumfang ein passendes Kunststoff-Case und eine Displayschutzfolie bei. Eine Displayschutzfolie ist übrigens auch bereits aufgetragen. Oftmals werden diese aber in der Fertigung unsauber und mit Staubeinschlüssen aufgetragen, weshalb man mit der zusätzlichen Displayschutzfolie zumindest einen Ersatz hat. Ebenso enthalten war ein Ladegerät (5V 1A), ein micro USB Daten- bzw. Ladekabel und eine mehrsprachige Betriebsanleitung. Die Betriebsanleitung ist zwar auf Deutsch, teilweise ist sie aber dennoch unverständlich formuliert.

Äußerlich macht das Cubot Z100 einen guten Eindruck. Der gebürstete Aluminiumrahmen mit den ebenfalls aus Aluminium bestehenden Bedientasten ist gut verarbeitet und wirkt hochwertig. Die Bedientasten (Lautstärkewippe und Powertaste) sitzen fest und auch bei schnellen Bewegungen konnte ich kein unangenehmes Klappern feststellen. Am oberen Gehäuserand befindet sich ein 3.5mm Klinke Audioausgang, am unteren Gehäuserand ist eine micro USB Buchse angebracht.

Schön ist zudem das 2.5D Curved Glass, wodurch der Rand des Displays nicht zu strikt, sondern leicht abgerundet verläuft. Unterhalb des Displays befinden sich zudem drei kapazitive Tasten. Diese besitzen keine Hintergrundbeleuchtung, sondern sind sichtbar in die Front eingelassen.

Die Rückseite besteht aus Kunststoff und ist abnehmbar. Durch das fein gerillte Design sieht das Cubot Z100 rückseitig nicht nur verdammt gut aus, es liegt auch besser in der Hand. Je nachdem wie man die Rückseite im Licht wendet, verändert die gerillte Struktur ihr Aussehen. Die gleiche Rückseite wurde übrigens auch schon beim Cubot P11 verwendet! Zusätzlich befinden sich rückseitig eine 13 Megapixel Kamera, ein LED Blitz und ein Lautsprecher.

Öffnet man die Rückseite, kommt der 2450mAh große Akku zum Vorschein. Obehalb befinden sich zwei SIM-Slots, links daneben der micro SD-Kartenslot.

Mein erster Eindruck vom Cubot Z100 ist durchaus gut. Eine gute Verarbeitung und ein tolles Design sind jedoch nicht alles…

Cubot Z100 Smartphone – Test / Review

Display

Das Cubot Z100 besitzt ein IPS HD Display (1280×720) mit 2.5D Curved Glass. Bei „Curved Glass“ sind die Kanten des Displays leicht abgerundet, was vor allem zum Design beiträgt. Die DPI Zahl liegt laut der Displaytester-App bei 320. Die Farben des Displays sind wirklich sehr kräftig, meinem Geschmack nach schon eher zu grell. Wer übersättigte und grelle Farben à la Samsung bzw. AMOLED Display mag, wird mit dem Cubot Z100 seine wahre Freude haben! Alternativ wurde in den Einstellungen des Z100 „MiraVision“ beigefügt, womit man nicht nur die Farbsättigung und die Farbtemperatur anpassen kann, sondern auch der Kontrast, die Bildhelligkeit als auch die Schärfe lassen sich mit MiraVision individuell anpassen. Mit MiraVison konnte ich dann doch, meinem Empfinden nach, angenehmere Farben auf das Display zaubern.

Die maximale Helligkeit des Displays ist gut. Die Blickwinkelstabilität ist dem Preis entsprechend. Bei stärkerer, vertikaler Neigung konnte ich jedoch erkennbar feststellen, dass die Farben leicht verfälscht wurden. Die Lesbarkeit des Displays war dennoch aus allen Blickwinkeln gut.

Fünf Finger Multi-Touch sind für den Touchscreen des Cubot Z100 kein Problem. Auch hinsichtlich der Genauigkeit des Touchscreen konnte ich während des Tests nichts Negatives feststellen. Eingaben wurden genau erkannt.

 

Leistung

Alle Jahre wieder verwendet Cubot auch bei diesem Smartphone einen Mediatek MTK6735 Quad-Core mit einer Taktrate von 1.0GHz. Der RAM beläuft sich auf 1GB, der interne Speicher beträgt 16GB. Die Leistung ist gut und reicht für ein alltägliches Browsen des WWW oder WhatsAppen vollkommen aus. Leistungsschwache Spiele (Angry Birds und Co.) sind mit dem Cubot Z100 auch möglich. Bei hardwareintensiven Spielen stößt das Smartphone allerdings an seine Grenzen. Apps öffnen sich weitestgehend zeitnah.

 

Benutzeroberfläche

Wie von Cubot gewohnt verwendet auch das Cubot Z100 ein „fast“ sauberes Stock-Android 5.1 Lollipop. Lediglich die Clean Master App von Cheetah Mobile ist auch hier wieder als Drittanbieter-App vorinstalliert. Die App befindet sich übrigens auf jedem neueren Cubot Smartphone, da der Hersteller mit „Cheetah Mobile“ eine Partnerschaft eingegangen ist (Cheetah-Phone lässt grüßen!). Deinstallieren lässt sich die App über den App-Manager.

Auch das Einstellungsmenü des Cubot Z100 wurde etwas erweitert. Neben MiraVision verfügt das Smartphone auch über die Funktionen „Smart Wake“ und „Gesture Sensing“. Hiermit kann man unter anderem einzelne Apps über den ausgeschalteten Bildschirm aufwecken, oder aber durch eine Wischbewegung über das Display kann man durch den App Drawer wechseln, die Kamera auslösen etc. Updaten lässt sich das Smartphone OTA (Over-The-Air).

Kamera

Das Cubot Z100 besitzt eine 13 Megapixel Rückkamera und eine 8 Megapixel Frontkamera. Hierbei handelt es sich natürlich um interpolierte Werte. Die tatsächliche Auflösung der Sensoren beträgt 8 und 5 Megapixel. Die rückseitige Kamera besitzt zudem einen Auto Fokus und einen LED Blitz. Bei der Kamera-App wird die altbekannte Mediatek Kamera-App verwendet.

Die Aufnahmen mit der Rückkamera des Z100 konnten mich im Praxistest nicht überzeugen. Der Auto Fokus ist langsam und fokussiert selten genau. Der LED Blitz ist eher spärlich. Die Kamera ist dennoch dem Preis entsprechend. Bei guter Ausleuchtung sind die Aufnahmen durchaus zu gebrauchen. Bei schlechteren Lichtverhältnissen wird auch die Kamera träge und die Bilder wirken ohne Blitz verrauscht. Trotz des aktiven Bildstabilisators empfand ich es auch unbegreiflich schwer eine saubere Aufnahme zu schießen.

Im Vergleich hat mir die Frontkamera schon eher zugesagt. Hiermit konnte ich durchaus schöne Selfies erzielen.

Cubot Z100 Rückkamera

Cubot Z100 Frontkamera

Fronkamera1

 

Telefonie, WLAN und Bluetooth

Im LTE Netz macht sich das Cubot Z100 recht gut. Alle im deutschen Netz benötigten LTE Bänder werden unterstützt. Leistungseinbrüche oder unerwartete Verbindungsabrüche gab es keine. Auch die Telefonie war mit diesem Smartphone klar und verständlich.

Die Dual-SIM-Funktion kann bei diesem Smartphone übrigens voll genutzt werden. Es wurde kein Hybrid Slot verbaut, weshalb man keinen SIM Slot für die eventuelle Speichererweiterung freigeben muss.

Beim WLAN und Bluetooth ist mir bezüglich des Cubot Z100 nichts negativ aufgefallen. Die Verbindungen waren stabil und die Reichweite durchschnittlich.

 

GPS

Das GPS des Cubot Z100 könnte etwas besser sein. Der GPS Fix dauerte doch vergleichsweise lange, als auch war das Signal nicht durchgehend stabil. Zum dauerhaften Navigieren würde ich dieses Smartphone nicht verwenden.

 

Akku

Die Kapazität des Akkus beläuft sich auf 2450mAh. Im Batterie-Benchmark ist dieser kleine Akku eine wahre Wucht. Mit fast 9 Stunden, 30 Minuten steckt der kleine Akku so manch anderes Smartphone mit größerem Akku locker in die Tasche. Hier zeigt sich, dass Cubot das Betriebssystem gut an die Hardware angepasst hat.

Auch im Praxistest konnte ich mit gewöhnlicher Nutzung den Tag gut überstehen. Selbst am Abend hatte ich noch genügend Restakku, um auch am zweiten Tag gerade so über die Runden zu kommen.

Positiv

►Hochwertige Verarbeitung
►Design der Rückseite
►Gute Leistung
►Sauberes Android 5.1
►Gutes Display
►Frontkamera

Negativ

►Hauptkamera
►GPS

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.5
Verarbeitung
8.5
Design
9.0
Display
7.5
Leistung
8.0
Benutzeroberfläche
8.5
Kamera
6.5
Konnektivität
8.0
GPS & Sensoren
6.0
Audio
7.5
Akku
8.5
Fazit

Das Cubot Z100 ist ein Mix aus dem Cubot P11 und P12. Trotz vieler Verbesserungen gegenüber den Vorgängermodellen konnte mich das Z100 einzig bei der Kamera nicht überzeugen. Auch beim Display war ich anfangs skeptisch, doch mit einigen Einstellungen innerhalb von MiraVision konnte ich das für mich einigermaßen Beste aus dem Display herausholen. Wer auf eine gute Kamera verzichten kann oder nur spontane Aufnahmen schießen möchte, bekommt dennoch ein solides Einsteiger-Smartphone geboten.

7.9
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
  Subscribe  
Benachrichtigung