Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DBPOWER SJ4000 header

DBPOWER SJ4000 Action Cam in the test

Test report prepared by Timo on October 27, 2015

Described as DBPOWER SJ4000, the well-known Chinese producer "DBPOWER" markets an action cam that hardly differs from the well-known SJCAM SJ4000 model. You can find out in this test whether this Sports Cam can keep up with the original.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
7.6
Our rating
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

DBPOWER

Model

DBPOWER SJ4000

Specifications

12 Megapixel
170 ° wide angle
1.5 inch LCD

Video resolution:
1080p @ 30
720p @ @ 60 30

What's in the box

1x DBPOWER action camera
1x Waterproof Case
1x replacement back
1x bike mount
1x angle bracket
1 x helmet mount
3x straps
1x cleaning cloth
2x adhesive pads
1x micro USB cable
1x User's Guide
2x battery

First impression of the DBPOWER SJ4000

Already the box in which the DBPOWER SJ4000 was delivered differs a bit from that of a usual China action cam. Nevertheless, the same accessories were included in the delivery. A waterproof housing was also included. It is interesting, however, that DBPOWER has included this camera with 2 batteries.

In the operating instructions, the Action Cam is listed as SJ4000. The best-known manufacturer and actual producer of the SJ4000 is the Chinese manufacturer "SJCAM". Unfortunately, this camera is also often counterfeited, which is why a counterfeit can hardly be distinguished from an original SJCAM from the outside. In terms of hardware, however, there are considerable differences. However, the "DBPOWER SJ4000" could only be a rebranding. You would get an original SJCAM, but with the DBPOWER logo. Especially older models of the SJCAM were delivered without branding.

The DBPOWER SJ4000 has a 12 megapixel CMOS image sensor and a 170 ° wide-angle lens installed on the hardware side. Unfortunately, the product description does not indicate which image processor or image sensor was used. Here, however, one can assume that at least the image processor uses a Novatek chipset. With a resolution of 1080p, the DBPOWER SJ4000 achieves the usual 30 images per second. At 720p, 30 and 60 frames per second are possible.

The camera has of course also built in a microphone so that sound recordings are also possible. This camera does not differ in connection options either. Of course we would have a micro USB port, a micro HDMI port and a micro SD card slot. The battery of the SJ4000 has a capacity of 900mAh. The standardized replacement batteries of the SJCAM can also be used here. There is also a 1.5 inch LCD display on the back.

commissioning

An SD card has to be inserted for commissioning. However, this only recognizes SD cards up to 32GB. After switching on, every connoisseur should notice that the firmware used here differs from that of an original SJCAM. The DBPOWER start logo already indicates a separate firmware. Not only is the menu designed differently, you can also see a different firmware name under the menu item "Version".

The installed firmware can be downloaded as a backup from the DBPOWER website. Out of interest I flashed the original SJCAM firmware onto the DBPOWER SJ4000. The firmware was accepted by the camera without any problems, but the menu navigation no longer worked as it should. The confirmation or trigger button no longer worked and the confirmation function was now on the side menu buttons. It can be guessed that at least similar hardware was installed.

The camera has several control buttons. The power button is located next to the lens. At the same time, you can use this button to change the recording mode or to the settings. LEDs on the housing indicate whether the camera is switched on and whether a recording is in progress. The camera's user interface offers numerous setting options that are clearly listed in the operating instructions. In addition to the resolution, the image stabilization, the white balance or the ISO can be changed, for example.

Picture and video quality

Compared to a SJCAM SJ4000, the video quality of the DBPOWER SJ4000 is almost the same. There were only small differences in the color temperature. It is therefore quite possible that the same hardware was installed here and only the DBPOWER firmware was adapted. The image quality is also good and can hardly be distinguished. If this action cam is a replica, it was implemented very well.

The sound quality is not worse with the SJ4000 from DBPOWER, but no better than the original. Especially through the waterproof housing, the sound recording but very quiet.

Rating
Positive

Good video and picture quality
Good scope of accessories with 2 batteries
Clear menu

Negative

Quiet sound recordings
Pressure point waterproof housing

Summary

The DBPOWER SJ4000 can certainly compete with the original. The biggest difference between the two cameras is the firmware, which is just a design difference. In the video or image quality, there are only differences in the color temperature. I could not tell a difference in terms of sharpness or a possible image noise. Overall, the DBPOWER SJ4000 is a good action cam that comes very close to the original SJCAM

7.6
Our rating
Comment on

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Overview
Manufacturer

DBPOWER

Model

DBPOWER SJ4000

Specifications

12 Megapixel
170 ° wide angle
1.5 inch LCD

Video resolution:
1080p @ 30
720p @ @ 60 30

What's in the box

1x DBPOWER action camera
1x Waterproof Case
1x replacement back
1x bike mount
1x angle bracket
1 x helmet mount
3x straps
1x cleaning cloth
2x adhesive pads
1x micro USB cable
1x User's Guide
2x battery

Advertising

Banggood Advent Calendar Sidebar

Kameras
0
Review

DBPOWER SJ4000 Action Cam im Test

by 27. Oktober 2015
Als DBPOWER SJ4000 beschrieben, vermarktet der doch recht bekannte, chinesische Produzent "DBPOWER" eine Action Cam, die sich kaum von dem bekannten Modell SJCAM SJ4000 unterscheidet. Ob diese Sports Cam aber auch mit dem Original mithalten kann, erfahrt ihr in diesem Test.
Überblick
Hersteller

DBPOWER

Produktbezeichnung

DBPOWER SJ4000

Spezifikationen

12 Megapixel
170° Weitwinkel
1.5 Zoll LCD

Videoauflösung:
1080p@30
720p@60@30

Lieferumfang

1x DBPOWER Actionkamera
1x Wasserdichtes GehÀuse
1x ErsatzrĂŒckseite
1x Fahrradhalterung
1x Winkelhalterung
1 x Helmhalterung
3x Gurte
1x Reinigungstuch
2x Klebepads
1x micro USB-Kabel
1x Benutzerhandbuch
2x Akku

Testbericht zur DBPOWER SJ4000 Action Cam

Erster Eindruck zur DBPOWER SJ4000

Bereits der Karton, in dem die DBPOWER SJ4000 geliefert wurde unterscheidet sich etwas von dem einer ĂŒblichen China-Action-Cam. Dennoch war im Lieferumfang das gleiche Zubehör enthalten. Ein wasserdichtes GehĂ€use befand sich natĂŒrlich auch im Lieferumfang. Interessant ist allerdings, dass DBPOWER dieser kamera gleich 2 Akkus beigelegt hat.

In der Betriebsanleitung wird die Action Cam als SJ4000 aufgefĂŒhrt. Bekanntester Hersteller und eigentlicher Produzent der SJ4000 ist der chinesische Hersteller „SJCAM“. Leider wird diese Kamera aber auch vielfach gefĂ€lscht, weshalb eine FĂ€lschung Ă€ußerlich kaum mehr von einer originalen SJCAM zu unterscheiden ist. In Sachen Hardware gibt es allerdings beachtliche Unterschiede. Bei der „DBPOWER SJ4000“ könnte es sich jedoch lediglich um ein Rebranding handeln. Man wĂŒrde eine original SJCAM erhalten, die jedoch den DBPOWER Schriftzug trĂ€gt. Vor allem Ă€ltere Modelle der SJCAM wurden gar ohne Branding ausgeliefert.

Die DBPOWER SJ4000 hat hardwareseitig einen 12 Megapixel CMOS Bildsensor und ein 170° Weitwinkelobjektiv verbaut. Welcher Bildprozessor oder Bildsensor verwendet wurde ist der Produktbeschreibung leider nicht zu entnehmen. Hier kann man allerdings davon ausgehen, dass zumindest beim Bildprozessor ein Novatek Chipsatz zum Einsatz kommt. Mit einer Auflösung von 1080p erreicht die DBPOWER SJ4000 ĂŒbliche 30 Bilder-pro-Sekunde. Auf 720p sind 30 und 60 Bilder-pro-Sekunde möglich.

Ein Mikrofon hat die Kamera natĂŒrlich auch verbaut, so dass auch Tonaufnahmen möglich sind. Auch bei den Anschlussmöglichkeiten unterscheidet sich diese Kamera nicht. NatĂŒrlich hĂ€tten wir hier einen Micro USB Anschluss, einen Micro HDMI Anschluss sowie einen Micro SD Kartenslot. Der Akku der SJ4000 besitzt eine KapazitĂ€t von 900mAh. Hier können auch die standardisierten Ersatzakkus der SJCAM verwendet werden. RĂŒckseitig befindet sich noch ein 1.5 Zoll LCD Display.

Inbetriebnahme

Zur Inbetriebnahme muss man eine SD-Karte einlegen. Dieser erkennt allerdings nur SD-Karte bis 32GB. Nach dem Einschalten sollte jedem Kenner auffallen, dass sich die hier verwendete Firmware von der einer originalen SJCAM unterscheidet. Bereits das DBPOWER Startlogo deutet auf eine gesonderte Firmware hin. Nicht nur das MenĂŒ ist anders gestaltet, auch unter dem MenĂŒpunkt „Version“ sieht man einen andere Firmwarebezeichnung.

Die installierte Firmware gibt es auf der DBPOWER Webseite als Backup zum Herunterladen. Aus Interesse habe ich die original SJCAM Firmware auf die DBPOWER SJ4000 geflasht. Die Firmware wurde von der Kamera problemlos angenommen, allerdings funktionierte danach die MenĂŒfĂŒhrung nicht mehr so wie sie sollte. Die BestĂ€tigungs- bzw. Auslösetaste funktionierte nicht mehr und die BestĂ€tigungsfunktion befand sich nun auf den seitlichen MenĂŒtasten. Es lĂ€sst sich erahnen, dass zumindest eine Ă€hnliche Hardware installiert wurde.

Die Kamera besitzt mehrere Bedientasten. Der Powerknopf befindet sich neben der Linse. Zugleich wechselt man mit dieser Taste den Aufnahmemodus oder aber in die Einstellungen. LEDs am GehĂ€use zeigen an, ob die Kamera eingeschaltet ist und ob eine Aufnahme lĂ€uft. Die BenutzeroberflĂ€che der Kamera bietet zahlreiche Einstellungsmöglichkeiten, die gut verstĂ€ndlich in der Betriebsanleitung aufgelistet wurden. Neben der Auflösung lassen sich beispielsweise die Bildstabilisierung, der Weißabgleich oder aber der ISO verĂ€ndern.

Bild- und VideoqualitÀt

Verglichen mit einer SJCAM SJ4000 ist die VideoqualitÀt der DBPOWER SJ4000 fast gleich. Lediglich bei der Farbtemperatur gab es kleine Unterschiede. Es ist also durchaus möglich, dass hier die gleiche Hardware verbaut wurde und lediglich die Firmware von DBPOWER angepasst wurde. Die BildqualitÀt ist ebenfalls gut und ist kaum zu unterscheiden. Sollte es sich bei dieser Action Cam um einen Nachbau handeln, wurde dieser doch sehr gut umgesetzt.

Testaufnahme mit der DBPOWER Action Cam

Die TonqualitÀt ist bei der SJ4000 von DBPOWER nicht schlechter, aber auch nicht besser als bei dem Original. Gerade durch das wasserdichte GehÀuse wirkt die Tonaufnahme doch sehr leise.

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Gute Video- und BildqualitÀt
Guter Zubehörumfang mit 2 Akkus
Übersichtliches MenĂŒ

Negativ

Leise Tonaufnahmen
Druckpunkt wasserdichtes GehÀuse

Erster Eindruck
8.0
10
Verarbeitung
8.0
Design
7.0
Display
7.5
BenutzeroberflÀche
8.0
Bedienbarkeit
8.0
VideoqualitÀt
8.0
BildqualitÀt
8.0
Mikrofon
6.5
Akkulaufzeit
7.0
Fazit

Die DBPOWER SJ4000 kann es durchaus mit dem Original aufnehmen. Der grĂ¶ĂŸte Unterschied zwischen den beiden Kameras liegt bei der Firmware, wobei es sich hierbei auch nur um einen designtechnischen Unterschied handelt. Bei der Video- bzw. BildqualitĂ€t gibt es lediglich Unterschiede bei der Farbtemperatur. Einen Unterschied hinsichtlich der SchĂ€rfe oder einem möglichen Bildrauschen konnte ich nicht feststellen. Insgesamt ist die DBPOWER SJ4000 eine gute Action Cam, die dem Original von SJCAM doch sehr nahe kommt

7.6
Unsere Bewertung
10
Nutzerbewertung
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments