other
0
Review

The Deepcool Captain 240 AIO in the test

by 1. January
A water cooling is an optimal cooling option, especially for overclockers. Often, however, the construction of a complex water cooling system is no alternative to air cooling, especially for laymen. An AIO (All-In-One) water cooling, on the other hand, also tries to enable laypersons to enter the world of liquid cooling options. Radiator, pump and cooling element are already connected here and even the coolant is already firmly integrated into the circuit. An AIO just has to be installed like an air cooler and is ready to go. The Deepcool Captain 240 is such an AIO. I took a closer look at this package and also tested the cooling performance and volume more closely.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

DEEPCOOL

Product

DEEPCOOL CAPTAIN 240 AIO

Specifications

* Fan Dimensions: 120X120X25mm (2pcs)
* Net weight: 1183 ± 10g
* Fan speed: 600 ± 200 ~ 2200 ± 10% RPM
* Fan Airflow: 182.24CFM (MAX)
* Fan air pressure: 3.71mmH2O (MAX)
* Fan life expectancy: 100000 hours
* Fan noise level: 17.6 ~ 39.3dB (A)
* Fan bearing (type): fluid bearing
* Fan connection: 4Pin
* Fan rated voltage: 12VDC
* Fan rated current: 0.26 ± 10% A (MAX)
* Fan power consumption: 3.12W

* Radiator Dimensions: 274X120X27mm
* Radiator material: aluminum

* Pump life expectancy: 120000 hours
* Pump connection: 3Pin
* Pump operating voltage: 6 ~ 13.8VDC
* Pump rated voltage: 12VDC
* Pump speed: 2800 ± 10% RPM
* Pump current: 0.25 ± 10% A (MAX)
* Pump power consumption: 3.0W

What's in the box

* 2 120mm PWM fan
* 4 Port USB Hub
*Operating manual
* Mounts Intel and AMD

First impression

Delivered is the Captain 240 with an two 120mm PWM fans, One 4 port fan HUB, which has only one 4 pin connection for power supply, an imaged Operating Instructions and all necessary brackets for both Intel and AMD systems. As the supported sockets are not listed on the product page, here is a short list:

Intel:
LGA2011-v3 | LGA2011 | LGA1366 | LGA115X
AMD:
FM2 + | FM2 | FM1 | AM3 + | AM3 | AM2 + | AM2

Deepcool Captain 240 AIO Unpacked

The Deepcool Captain 240 is well made. The pump and cooling unit is made of plastic, but makes a solid impression. The cooling element is made of copper, which I could not find any uneven surface or scratches. A layer of thermal paste is already applied. Unfortunately, no further tube of thermal compound was added here. Overall, the pump and cooling element are quite powerful. The pump is also illuminated during operation and lights up pulsating red.

The hose between radiator and pump is firmly connected and made of hard plastic. He is not too soft, but not too hard, so it can be bent well in the housing by the ribbed design. The hose between the pump and the cooling element, however, is transparent and made of PVC. Here you can see nicely the reddish coolant.

The radiator is quite flat with just 27mm. Nice, however, are the very fine lamellae that this radiator possesses.
The two 120mm fans make a good impression. These are PWM fans, which have a rubberized housing, which should additionally prevent vibrations. The maximum speed is about 2200 RPM.

I was surprised by the small fan hub, which was included. Here you have the possibility to connect a total of 4 fans. Unfortunately there is no fan control. Here you either have to rely on the BIOS or you use Speedfan.

Installation

The installation of the Captain 240 AIO is easy. The included backplate has two directions, either for an Intel or an AMD system. This is also labeled, so you really can not go wrong. Small plastic inserts that prevent the screws from spinning have also been included and prove to be extremely useful. If the backplate is connected to the mainboard, the pump and cooling element are only screwed to the CPU. The installation hardly differs from an installation of a conventional air cooler. Power is supplied to the pump via the CPU fan connector on the mainboard.

Deepcool Captain 240 AIO review

Cooling capacity & volume

I connected the watercooling to a Core i7 920 (D0 stepping), which I overclocked to 4.2 GHz. The VCore is 1.26V.

When idle at about 1% CPU utilization and a fan speed of 1400 RPM, the average temperature is about 40-44 ° C. The volume of the fan is still in the frame and falls by no means unpleasant.

With Prime95 with active Small FFTs test, the maximum temperature rises to about 20 minutes after average 64-67 ° C. The fans are turning at full speed, but the volume is more likely to be conspicuous and becomes unpleasant in the long run. However, one should note that as good as any fan under full load noticeable.

The pump of the Captain 240 works quietly. A soft hum can be heard only when listening really close.

Deepcool Captain 240 AIO review

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

Amazon
1-5 working days
68,90€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: April 5st, 2020 05:02

Final Words

rating
Positive

Good cooling performance
Good workmanship
Great design
Simple installation

Negative

With max RPM loud

First impression
9.0
-
Design
9.0
-
everyday practicality
8.5
-
cooling capacity
8.0
-
volume
7.0
-
Summary

The Deepcool Captain 240 AIO offers one thing above all. It looks damn good and can stand out from other AIOs due to the black and red color combination. The workmanship is good and the installation is also easy.

The cooling performance of the Captain 240 would be compared to other AIOs, average to good. With high fan speed you can quite a few comparable AIO and air cooling can be left. Unfortunately, the full load operation of the fan is not a suitable steady state, which is clearly noticeable in the volume. Although the cooling performance is decent in idle, there is hardly any difference compared to good air cooling.

However, what impressed me about the Captain 240 AIO is that the temperature is kept constant and temperature jumps are almost non-existent. Especially the radiator is really great designed by the very narrow slats and done in spite of the low height of 27mm his task very neat. This AIO is also recommended for overclockers since the maximum temperature of the individual cores is kept relatively low even under full load.

As an overclocker, the Deepcool Captain lived up to my expectations. As a normal user I would rather resort to a good air cooling, as this clearly offers the better price / performance ratio. But if you are looking for a stylish cooling solution, you should definitely take a look at the Deepcool Captain 240.

8.3
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar

Sonstige
0
Review

Die Deepcool Captain 240 AIO im Test

by 1. Januar 2016
Eine Wasserk├╝hlung ist besonders f├╝r Overclocker eine optimale K├╝hlm├Âglichkeit. Oftmals ist aber der Aufbau einer komplexen Wasserk├╝hlung gerade f├╝r Laien keine Alternative zur Luftk├╝hlung. Eine AIO (All-In-One) Wasserk├╝hlung hingegen versucht auch Laien den Einstieg in die Welt der Fl├╝ssigk├╝hlm├Âglichkeiten zu erm├Âglichen. Radiator, Pumpe und K├╝hlelement sind hier bereits verbunden und sogar die K├╝hlfl├╝ssigkeit ist bereits fest in den Kreislauf eingebunden. Eine AIO muss lediglich wie ein Luftk├╝hler installiert werden und ist sofort startklar. Die Deepcool Captain 240 ist eine solche AIO. Dieses Gesamtpaket habe ich mir n├Ąher angesehen und auch die K├╝hlleistung und Lautst├Ąrke n├Ąher getestet.
├ťberblick
Hersteller

DEEPCOOL

Produktbezeichnung

DEEPCOOL CAPTAIN 240 AIO

Spezifikationen

*L├╝fter Ma├če: 120X120X25mm(2pcs)
*Nettogewicht:1183┬▒10g
*L├╝ftergeschwindigkeit: 600┬▒200~2200┬▒10%RPM
*L├╝fter Luftstrom: 182.24CFM (MAX)
*L├╝fter Luftdruck : 3.71mmH2O(MAX)
*L├╝fter Lebenserwartung: 100000 hours
*L├╝fter Ger├Ąuschpegel: 17.6~39.3dB(A)
*L├╝fter Lager (Typ): Fl├╝ssigkeitslager
*L├╝fter Anschluss: 4Pin
*L├╝fter Nennspannung: 12VDC
*L├╝fter Nennstrom: 0.26┬▒10%A(MAX)
*L├╝fter Stromverbrauch: 3.12W

*Radiator Ma├če: 274X120X27mm
*Radiator Material: Aluminium

*Pumpe Lebenserwartung: 120000 hours
*Pumpe Anschluss: 3Pin
*Pumpe Betriebsspannung: 6~13.8VDC
*Pumpe Nennspannung: 12VDC
*Pumpe Geschwindigkeit: 2800┬▒10%RPM
*Pumpenstrom: 0.25┬▒10%A(MAX)
*Pumpe Stromverbrauch: 3.0W

Lieferumfang

*2 120mm PWM L├╝fter
*4 Port USB Hub
*Betriebsanleitung
*Halterungen Intel und AMD

Erster Eindruck

Geliefert wird die Captain 240 mit zwei 120mm PWM Lüftern, einem 4 Port Lüfter HUB, der allerdings nur einen 4 PIN Anschluss zur Stromversorgung besitzt, einer bebilderten Betriebsanleitung und allen notwendigen Halterungen sowohl für Intel als auch AMD Systeme. Da die unterstützen Sockel auf der Produktseite nicht gelistet sind, hier eine kurze Liste:

Intel:
LGA2011-v3 | LGA2011 | LGA1366 | LGA115X
AMD:
FM2+ | FM2 | FM1 | AM3+ | AM3 | AM2+ |AM2

Deepcool Captain 240 AIO Ausgepackt

Die Deepcool Captain 240 ist gut verarbeitet. Die Pumpe samt K├╝hleinheit besteht zwar aus Kunststoff, macht aber einen soliden Eindruck. Das K├╝hlelement besteht aus Kupfer, bei dem ich keine unebene Oberfl├Ąche oder gar Kratzer feststellen konnte. Eine Schicht W├Ąrmeleitpaste ist bereits aufgetragen. Leider wurde hier keine weitere Tube W├Ąrmeleitpaste beigelegt. Die Pumpe samt K├╝hlelement wirkt insgesamt recht wuchtig. Die Pumpe ist bei Betrieb zudem beleuchtet und leuchtet pulsierend rot.

Der Schlauch zwischen Radiator und Pumpe ist fest verbunden und besteht aus hartem Kunststoff. Er ist nicht zu weich, aber auch nicht zu hart, sodass man ihn durch die gerippte Machart gut im Geh├Ąuse biegen kann. Das Schlauchst├╝ck zwischen der Pumpe und dem K├╝hlelement ist hingegen transparent und besteht aus PVC. Hier sieht man sch├Ân die r├Âtliche K├╝hlfl├╝ssigkeit.

Der Radiator ist mit gerade einmal 27mm recht flach. Sch├Ân sind hingegen die sehr feinen Lamellen, die dieser Radiator besitzt.
Auch die beiden 120mm L├╝fter machen einen guten Eindruck. Es handelt sich hierbei um PWM L├╝fter, die ein gummiertes Geh├Ąuse besitzen, welches zus├Ątzlich Vibrationen verhindern soll. Die maximale Geschwindigkeit liegt bei etwa 2200 RPM.

├ťberrascht war ich von dem kleinen L├╝fter-HUB, der im Lieferumfang enthalten war. Hier hat man die M├Âglichkeit insgesamt 4 L├╝fter anzuschlie├čen. Eine L├╝ftersteuerung gibt es leider nicht. Hier ist man entweder auf das BIOS angewiesen oder aber man verwendet Speedfan.

Installation

Die Installation der Captain 240 AIO gestaltet sich einfach. Die enthaltene Backplate besitzt zwei Richtungen, entweder f├╝r ein Intel oder ein AMD System. Diese ist zudem beschriftet, sodass man hier wirklich nichts falsch machen kann. Kleine Plastikeinlagen, die ein Durchdrehen der Schrauben verhindern, wurden ebenfalls beigelegt und erweisen sich als ├Ąu├čerst n├╝tzlich. Ist die Backplate mit dem Mainboard verbunden, wird die Pumpe samt K├╝hlelement nur noch mit der CPU verschraubt. Die Installation unterscheidet sich hier kaum von einer Installation eines herk├Âmmlichen Luftk├╝hlers. Strom erh├Ąlt die Pumpe ├╝ber den CPU L├╝fteranschluss auf dem Mainboard.

Deepcool Captain 240 AIO Test

K├╝hlleistung & Lautst├Ąrke

Ich habe die Wasserk├╝hlung mit einem Core i7 920 (D0 Stepping) verbunden, den ich auf 4.2 GHz ├╝bertaktet habe. Der VCore betr├Ągt hierbei 1.26V.

Im Idle bei ungef├Ąhr 1% Prozessorauslastung und einer L├╝fterdrehzahl von 1400 RPM betr├Ągt die durchschnittliche Temperatur ungef├Ąhr 40-44┬░C. Die Lautst├Ąrke der L├╝fter h├Ąlt sich hierbei noch im Rahmen und f├Ąllt keineswegs unangenehm auf.

Mit Prime95 mit aktivem Small FFTs Test steigt die maximale Temperatur nach ungef├Ąhr 20 Minuten auf durchschnittliche 64-67┬░C. Die L├╝fter drehen hierbei mit voller Geschwindigkeit wobei die Lautst├Ąrke doch schon eher ins auff├Ąllige geht und auf Dauer unangenehm wird. Allerdings sollte man beachten, dass sich so gut wie jeder L├╝fter unter Volllast bemerkbar macht.

Die Pumpe der Captain 240 arbeitet leise. Ein leises Brummen ist nur bei wirklich nahem Hinh├Âren zu vernehmen.

Deepcool Captain 240 AIO Test

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
68,90€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 1. April 2020 17:00

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Gute K├╝hlleistung
Gute Verarbeitung
Tolles Design
Einfache Installation

Negativ

Mit max RPM laut

Erster Eindruck
9.0
Design
9.0
Alltagstauglichkeit
8.5
K├╝hlleistung
8.0
Lautst├Ąrke
7.0
Fazit

Die Deepcool Captain 240 AIO bietet vor allem eines. Sie sieht verdammt gut aus und kann sich durch die schwarz-rote Farbkombination auch von anderen AIOs abheben. Die Verarbeitung ist gut und auch die Installation geht einfach von der Hand.

Die K├╝hlleistung der Captain 240 w├╝rde ich, verglichen mit anderen AIOs, als durchschnittlich bis gut bezeichnen. Mit hoher L├╝fterdrehzahl kann man durchaus so manche vergleichbare AIO und auch Luftk├╝hlung links liegen lassen. Leider ist der Volllastbetrieb der L├╝fter aber kein geeigneter Dauerzustand, was sich ganz klar in der Lautst├Ąrke bemerkbar macht. Im Idle ist die K├╝hlleistung zwar ordentlich, verglichen mit einer guten Luftk├╝hlung ist allerdings kaum ein Unterschied festzustellen.

Was mich bei der Captain 240 AIO allerdings begeistert ist, dass die Temperatur konstant gehalten wird und Temperaturspr├╝nge so gut wie gar nicht vorkommen. Gerade der Radiator ist durch die sehr schmalen Lamellen wirklich toll designt und erledigt trotz der geringen H├Âhe von 27mm seine Aufgabe sehr ordentlich. Auch f├╝r Overclocker ist diese AIO zu empfehlen, da die maximale Temperatur der einzelnen Kerne auch unter Volllast im vergleichsweise niedrigem Bereich gehalten wird.

Als Overclocker wurde die Deepcool Captain meinen Erwartungen gerecht. Als normaler Nutzer w├╝rde ich eher zu einer guten Luftk├╝hlung greifen, da diese eindeutig das bessere Preis-/Leistungsverh├Ąltnis bietet. Wer jedoch eine stylische K├╝hll├Âsung sucht, sollte sich auf jeden Fall die Deepcool Captain 240 anschauen.

8.3
Unsere Bewertung
Nutzerbewertung
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar