Quadcopter
2
Review

Ryze Tello Review - Drone with technology from DJI and Intel

by 4. January

As part of the 2018 Consumer Electronics Show (CES), DJI and Ryze Technology have unveiled a programmable mini-drone with 720p camera that will teach you how to handle drones. Meanwhile, it was possible for me to test the drone in detail. How the Ryze Tello beats, more in the following review!

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Shenzhen RYZE Tech Co., Ltd.

Product

Ryze Tello

Specifications

Drone
Size: 98 92.5 x x 41 mm
Weight: 80g (with battery)

Airspeed: up to 8 m / s
Flight range: to 100 m
Flight time: up to 13 minutes

Hardware
* Range Finder
*Barometer
* LED
* Vision system
* WiFi 802.11n - 2.4 GHz

battery performance
Battery type: LiPo
Capacity: 1100 mAh
Voltage: 3.8V
Energy: 4.18 Wh
Weight: 26g

Camera
Sensor: 5 Megapixel
Field of view: 82.6 °
Stabilization: EIS

Image resolution: to 2592 x 1936
Video resolution: HD 1280 x 720

Photo format: JPEG
Video format: MP4

Features
* Programmable: SDK / Scratch
* Control: App / Bluetooth controller
* Flight Modes: 6 Intelligent Flight Modes
* VR support
* Failsafe

First impression of the Ryze Tello

At this year's Consumer Electronics Show 2018 have the well-known drone manufacturer "DJI" and the first 2017 founded startup "Ryze Technology" that Ryze Tello presented. The similarity to the DJI drone series is hard to miss, the Tello uses among other things Technologies from DJI and Intel, The target group of this drone, which is very reminiscent of a toy, are, above all, experimental drone novices.

The DJI Ryze Tello in the packaging

unwrapped

Already on the basis of the packaging it becomes clear that the Tello drone no official DJI product is. Falsely, the drone is still referred to by many as DJI Tello. Instead of the classic white DJI packaging, the Tello is delivered in a small cardboard box. The transparent front allows a first look at the drone. Two small logos from DJI and Intel indicate accordingly the used technologies.

As "Ready-to-Fly" the drone is ready to go from the factory. All engines, propellers and also the propeller protection are already pre-assembled. Replacement propellers, a tool for loosening the propellers and the battery are included separately. Different colored covers, prop guards, propellers and batteries are available separately. A (replacement) battery costs about 25 € to book.

DJI Ryze Tello delivery with battery, spare propeller, propeller tool and manual

An operating manual that indicates the steps necessary for commissioning is included. If one decides on the Chinese model of the Ryze Tello, which is often cheaper to buy, the manual is written according to the country of origin of the drone in the respective (national) language!

Design and workmanship

Visually, the Tello reminds one to a certain extent "Light variant" of DJI Spark, The top cover contributes to the comparable design. This is interchangeable and available in different colors. The Dimensions are included 98 x 92.5 x 41 mm and a Weight from only 80g. Thus, the Tello is not subject to the labeling requirement according to the Drones Regulation. A compulsory insurance still exists!

Tello drone front side

The drone is mostly one robust plastic manufactured. The propeller arms are fixed to the housing and can not be folded or folded. The drone housing forms the front-facing and fixed 5 megapixel camera, an adjacent status LED, a side power button with opposite MicroUSB socket and the rear battery bay. On the underside of the Tello drone there are distance sensors or the optical vision system. The processing and the choice of materials leave nothing to be desired. Lighter to medium crashes should survive the Tello.

Tello drone underside

The Propellers (3 inches) are interchangeable with a few handles. These are neither quick-release nor self-locking propellers. The propellers are simply plugged onto the shaft of the engine. The propeller guard (Prop Guards) is clipped and is removable. The feet are provided with rubber dampers.

Tello drone backside

commissioning

Before the first flight you should make sure that the battery of the Tello is charged. To recharge it just has to be inserted and the drone connected via the MircoUSB socket to a power source. A special charger is not included. Instead, you can quite easily use a smartphone charger, a PC or a notebook, or a power bank.

For the commissioning of the drone you need the Tello Appthat both for Android, as well as for iOS mobile devices available in the respective app stores. If the app is started for the first time, you will be replaced by a Setup wizard led, among other things, explains the wireless connection between drone and mobile device. To connect the Tello builds its own, initially unencrypted Wi-Fi. An individual SSID and password protection can be set up later via the settings.

Practical test of Ryze Tello

Tello app

The structure of the Tello app is somewhat reminiscent of the DJI Go app. After launching the app and connected drone you get one Live image output with overlay, The lower part of the picture contains the virtual joysticks. The upper part of the screen contains various shortcuts to the flight modes, the settings or the camera modes. Furthermore, the upper part of a status display, which provides, among other things, information about the remaining battery, WiFi, Bluetooth and also the speed and altitude.

The App settings fall out clearly. Here is an overview:

    • Airspeed - "Slow" and "Fast"
    • VR mode
    • Bluetooth Controller Settings - Diagram and How To
    • WiFi SSID and password
    • Advanced Settings
      • Unit system - metric / imperial
      • Picture quality - normal / high
      • Low Battery Warning - 10% - 50%
      • Embroidery Mode - Mode 1 / Mode 2
      • Light value - -3 / 3
      • Bitrate - Auto to 4 MB
      • IMU Status - Caliber
      • Gyro - Calibrate
      • Firmware update
      • App Version
      • Loader version
      • Support

control

The drone is controlled either over the Touch screen of the mobile device or optionally via Bluetooth GamePad, The touchscreen control is via virtual joysticks, As with a mobile game, the respective touch inputs are transmitted to the drone. There is no input delay. Although the control is not quite as precise as with a real controller, it is sufficient to keep the Tello safely in the air and to control it. The operation is made easier by the automatic start and landing at the touch of a button and the automatic compliance with the altitude (Altitude Hold).

More precise control is possible through a GamePad. The Tello is compatible with various Bluetooth controllers. Ryze Technology recommends that GameSir T1's GamePad, An iPega PG-9025 GamePad used in the test also worked, but needed the recognition or key assignment "Octopus" app, The connection between controller and drone is not direct, but via the mobile device as a mediator. All inputs are only transmitted via Bluetooth to the mobile device, which forwards them via WLAN to the Tello. The possible flight range is thus not affected. An adverse input delay does not occur even in the GamePad network.

Safety, flight characteristics and flight maneuvers

Visual Positioning System and Failsafe

Decisive for a good quadrocopter are also one high flight safety, One good flight behavior and long lasting flight duration, Ryze describes the Tello as a "super safe". In collaboration with DJI, Ryze has created a drone that includes a "Visual Positioning System" used, as it also occurs in DJI drones. This vision system consists of a Camera and two 3D infrared sensors together. As a result, the Tello is able to keep the position accurate and compensate for height differences. A GPS module did not integrate the small Tello drone.

Tello drone camera

In the test, the vision system proved surprisingly accurate. When flying outdoors, the Visual Positioning System accurately compensates for minor gusts of wind. The prerequisite is, however, that you are neither on a reflective surface, as well as sufficient brightness ratios are available. Especially in the indoor flight with dimmed evening light, the vision system did not work reliably, which often leads to a drifting drone. Whether the vision system is active is indicated by the status LED, which is located next to the camera.

In addition, the drone offers one Failsafewhich warns of a low battery level or automatically and safely lands the quadrocopter if the connection is broken. The failsafe works reliably. A critical battery level can be recognized by the status LED, battery indicator and warning signals. When a connection is lost, the Tello automatically initiates a landing.

Flight range, airspeed and duration of flight

The maximal Flight range is on 100 meters, a altitude on 10 meters limited. The (safe) flight range reached in practice was about 40 meters. From about 40 meters, outdoor breaks increasingly occurred. In heavily populated areas with many interfering signals, interference can occur after just a few meters. A corresponding overlay on the live image of the drone points out.

Battery bay of the Tello drone

The airspeed is customizable in 2 levels. in the Slow mode accelerates the Tello comparatively slowly and under ideal conditions reaches a maximum airspeed of 4 m / s, The mode is especially suitable for indoor flight and for beginners. For sporty drone aviators there is the Fast modewithin which the Ryze Tello with up to 8 m / s racing through the air.

The maximal flight duration specifies Ryze Technology with 13 minutes. This value is also traceable. On average, the flight time is between 9 and 13 minutes. The possible duration of flight is of various factors, such as the strength of the connection, whether a recording is running and the flight behavior dependent. The flight fun is clouded by the long charging time of the battery. This is included about 90 minutes, The loading progress can be recognized by the status LED.

Battery of the Tello drone

flight modes

The Tello is in total 6 intelligent flight modes equipped.

  • Bounce mode: The drone flies up and down fully automatically. The altitude is limited to 0.5 to 1.2 meters.
  • 360 Modus: The drone turns on its own axis and makes an 360 ° video recording.
  • Throw & Go mode: This mode makes it easier to launch the drone, as it automatically switches to stabilized flight with a skilful throw.
  • 8D flips: By swiping the pilot can determine in which direction the Tello performs a somersault.
  • Up & Away mode: The drone flies up and to the back and makes a video recording. Of course the flight is controlled.
  • Circle mode: The Tello drone orbits the pilot or object and takes an aerial view.

All flight modes are reliable and safe to do. However, many of the flight modes are only for outdoor flight. Accidentally executing one of these flight modes indoors is hardly possible. Each mode must be confirmed individually with appropriate instructions and can also be canceled by pressing a button.

Camera

Another feature is the forward facing 5 megapixel camera, The camera is fixed and a not inclinable. Photos be with one Resolution of 2592 x 1936 pixels recorded. Videos takes the camera in HD (1280 x 720) at 30 pictures-per-second on. The field of view is 82.6 degree, The processing of the recordings takes place with the help of an Intel processor.

Test recording without exposure compensation

Test recording without exposure compensation

The recording quality is acceptable according to the price. Especially photo shoots convince by a pleasant detail and color reproduction. Before each flight, however, it is advisable to adjust the light value (EV) according to the respective ambient conditions. By default, both still pictures and video are taken partially underexposed. To criticize is that the camera settings are not saved and are reset after each start of the app.

Test shot with exposure compensation

Test shot with exposure compensation

acceptable video recordings to make with the Tello is much more difficult. All recordings are transmitted directly to the connected mobile device. The possibility to write to a memory card is missing. What is saved is what you see about the live image transmission. Transmission breaks are thus recorded as well as interferences in the recording. A bad connection to the drone breaks down the bitrate, making it a distinct one artefacts can come.

Ryze Tello Drone Footage / Test Shot

The individual clips of the test recording were recorded under the same conditions. With the standard light value, the picture appears underexposed. The exposure correction requires sensitivity!

Unlike the much more expensive DJI models, the Ryze uses Tello no gimbal stabilization, Instead, the shots electronically stabilized (EIS), The stabilization performance is highly dependent on the ambient conditions. If one flies the Tello in the free one, it can occur more often to image disturbances in the form of the "Jello Effect" come. Vibrations and vibrations that the image stabilization can not compensate for, lead to a veritable distortion of the image information.

programmability

One of the most important features of the Ryze Tello is the free programmability the drone. For this purpose, the manufacturer provides a finished Software Development Kit (SDK) which was created, among others, in collaboration with MIT researchers. In order to especially children to get started in the world of programming to taste, in addition to the Tello SDK and the visual programming language "Scratch" supported. Ryze promises that there are no limits to programmability, which is why users with existing programming skills are offered a very interesting drone.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
94,13€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from China
96,09€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipped from Germany
96,09€
Price comparison - buy offer at TOMTOP
Shipping Shipping from China
127,53€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
134,87€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 11: 02

Final Words

Positive

►Good workmanship and choice of materials
►Easy handling
►App and GamePad control
►Good flight behavior
►Precise Visual Positioning System
►Failsafe
►Good photo recording quality
►Intelligente-flight modes
►Flugdauer
►Programmierbarkeit

Negative

►High price for (replacement) batteries
►Settings are not saved
►Dangerous for interference
Partially underexposed photo and video recordings
►Strong artifact formation in video recordings
►Limited image stabilization
►No MicroSD storage option
►Akkuladezeit

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.5
9.0
application
8.5
8.5
usability
8.0
8.5
flight behavior
9.0
10
flight duration
8.0
9.0
Photo-recording quality
7.0
8.5
Video recording quality
5.5
8.5
Summary

The Ryze Tello is a fun drone that convinces both externally and technically. Of particular interest here are the security features, in particular the well-functioning Visual Positioning System, which many fun drones currently do not offer. At the same time, the Tello costs about 109 € only slightly more than comparable toy drones. The operation is very simple and also the different, at the touch of a button executable flight modes offer a varied fun. The recording quality of the 5 megapixel camera is the price, but reaps criticisms by the lack of ability to record on an SD memory card. All in all, the Ryze Tello is a commendable mini-drone for drone novices, but also for experienced drone pilots.

7.8
Our rating
8.9
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

2
Leave a comment

avatar
2 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
SeraN3rdz Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
N3rdz
guest
N3rdz

Just wow. Krasses part that I'm guaranteed to grow. I've been looking for a quadrocopter for a long time, which you can fly safely and for which you do not need a license plate. I'm really excited about it. Could be a real bestseller at the price and with DJI in the back.

Sera
guest
Sera

Unfortunately, this does not work as described here, I have given my husband the drone for Christmas and after downloading the app (no introduction as stated above at initial start-up !!) The drone reacted, but after the battery was empty and we the loaded again (2 days later) nothing at all responds. The drone only flashes yellow and receives no reception to the mobile. Even when removing the app and reinstalling (even on a second iPhone) the same problem! We also have this 5 Sec. pressed so that supposedly the drone resets to "factory settings" ... No reaction 🙁 Probably the part is already broken?

Quadcopter
1
Review

Ryze Tello Test – Drohne mit Technik von DJI und Intel

by 6. Juli 2018

Im Rahmen der Consumer Electronics Show (CES) 2018 haben DJI und Ryze Technology eine programmierbare Mini-Drohne mit 720p Kamera vorgestellt, die spielend den Umgang mit Drohnen beibringen soll. Mittlerweile war es mir möglich die Drohne ausführlich zu testen. Wie sich die Ryze Tello schlägt, dazu mehr im folgenden Testbericht!

Überblick
Hersteller

Shenzhen RYZE Tech Co. Ltd.

Produktbezeichnung

Ryze Tello

Spezifikationen

Drohne
Größe: 98 x 92.5 x 41 mm
Gewicht: 80g (mit Akku)

Fluggeschwindigkeit: bis 8 m/s
Flugreichweite: bis 100 m
Flugzeit: bis 13 Minuten

Hardware
*Range Finder
*Barometer
*LED
*Sichtsystem
*WiFi 802.11n - 2.4 GHz

Akkuleistung
Akkutyp: LiPo
Kapazität: 1100 mAh
Spannung: 3.8V
Energie: 4.18 Wh
Gewicht: 26g

Kamera
Sensor: 5 Megapixel
Sichtfeld: 82.6°
Stabilisierung: EIS

Bildauflösung: bis 2592 x 1936
Videoauflösung: HD 1280 x 720

Fotoformat: JPEG
Videoformat: MP4

Funktionen
*Programmierbar: SDK / Scratch
*Steuerung: App / Bluetooth-Controller
*Flugmodi: 6 Intelligente-Flugmodi
*VR-Unterstützung
*Failsafe

Erster Eindruck zur Ryze Tello

Update 06. Juli 2018

Aktuell erhältst du bei GearBest die Ryze Tello Drohne für nur 79.72€. Um auf diesen Preis zu kommen benötigst du einen Coupon, den du nachfolgend über unsere Coupon-Box abrufen kannst.

GearBest Coupon - (DJI) Ryze Tello

Mit diesem Coupon erhältst du die Ryze Tello für nur 79.72€. Klicke auf Gutschein anzeigen damit der Code eingeblendet wird.
(Gültig ab 06.07)

GearBest Coupon - (DJI) Ryze Tello

Mit diesem Coupon erhältst du die Ryze Tello für nur 79.72€. Klicke auf Gutschein anzeigen damit der Code eingeblendet wird.
(Gültig ab 06.07)

Auf der diesjährigen Consumer Electronics Show 2018 haben der bekannte Drohnen-Hersteller „DJI“ und das erst 2017 gegründete Startup „Ryze Technology“ die Ryze Tello vorgestellt. Die Ähnlichkeit zur DJI Drohnen-Reihe ist kaum zu verkennen, verwendet die Tello unter anderem auch Technologien von DJI und Intel. Zielgruppe dieser, doch sehr an ein Spielzeug erinnernden Drohne sind vor allem experimentierfreudige Drohnenneulinge.

Die DJI Ryze Tello in der Verpackung

Ausgepackt

Bereits anhand der Verpackung wird klar, dass die Tello Drohne kein offizielles DJI Produkt ist. Fälschlicherweise wird die Drohne dennoch von vielen als DJI Tello bezeichnet. Statt der klassisch weißen DJI Verpackung, wird die Tello in einer schmalen Pappschachtel geliefert. Die transparente Vorderseite lässt einen ersten Blick auf die Drohne zu. Zwei kleine Logos von DJI und Intel weisen entsprechend auf die verwendeten Technologien hin.

Als „Ready-to-Fly“ ist die Drohne bereits ab Werk startklar. Sämtliche Motoren, Propeller und auch der Propeller-Schutz sind bereits vormontiert. Ersatzpropeller, ein Tool zum Lösen der Propeller und auch der Akku sind separat im Lieferumfang enthalten. Verschiedenfarbige Cover, Prop-Guards, Propeller und Akkus sind einzeln erhältlich. Ein (Ersatz)Akku schlägt mit etwa 25€ zu Buche.

DJI Ryze Tello Lieferumfang mit Akku, Ersatzpropeller, Propeller-Tool und Bedienungsanleitung

Eine Bedienungsanleitung, die auf die zur Inbetriebnahme notwendigen Schritte hinweist, ist enthalten. Entscheidet man sich für das chinesische Modell der Ryze Tello, das oftmals günstiger zu erwerben ist, ist die Bedienungsanleitung entsprechend des Herkunftslandes der Drohne in der jeweiligen (Landes)Sprache verfasst!

Design und Verarbeitung

Optisch erinnert die Tello gewissermaßen an eine „Light-Variante“ der DJI Spark. Zum vergleichbaren Design trägt vor allem das oberseitige Cover bei. Dieses ist austauschbar und in verschiedenen Farben erhältlich. Die Abmessungen liegen bei 98 x 92.5 x 41 mm und einem Gewicht von nur 80g. Somit unterliegt die Tello nicht der Kennzeichnungspflicht entsprechend der Drohnen-Verordnung. Eine Versicherungspflicht besteht dennoch!

Tello Drohne Vorderseite

Die Drohne ist größtenteils aus einem robusten Kunststoff gefertigt. Die Propellerarme sind am Gehäuse fixiert und weder klapp- noch faltbar. Das Drohnengehäuse bildet die nach vorne gerichtete und fixierte 5 Megapixel Kamera, eine danebenliegende Status-LED, eine seitliche Einschalttaste mit gegenüberliegender MicroUSB-Buchse sowie den rückseitigen Akkuschacht. Unterseitig der Tello Drohne befinden sich Abstandssensoren bzw. das optische Sichtsystem. Die Verarbeitung und auch die Materialwahl lassen keine Wünsche offen. Leichtere bis mittlere Crashs sollte die Tello durchaus überstehen.

Tello Drohne Unterseite

Die Propeller (3 Zoll) sind mit wenigen Griffen austauschbar. Es handelt sich dabei weder um Quick-Release noch um Selbstsicherende-Propeller. Die Propeller werden lediglich auf die Welle des Motors aufgesteckt. Der Propeller-Schutz (Prop-Guards) wird festgeklippt und ist abnehmbar. Die Standfüße sind mit Gummidämpfern versehen.

Tello Drohne Rückseite

Inbetriebnahme

Vor dem ersten Flug sollte man sich vergewissern, dass der Akku der Tello aufgeladen ist. Zum Aufladen muss dieser lediglich eingelegt und die Drohne über die MircoUSB-Buchse mit einer Stromquelle verbunden werden. Ein spezielles Ladegerät liegt nicht bei. Stattdessen kann man sich ganz unkompliziert einem Smartphone-Ladegerät, einem PC oder einem Notebook, oder aber einer Powerbank bedienen.

Für die Inbetriebnahme der Drohne benötigt man die Tello-App, die sowohl für Android, als auch für iOS Mobilgeräte in den jeweiligen App-Stores zur Verfügung steht. Wird die App erstmalig gestartet, wird man durch einen Einrichtungsassistenten geführt, der unter anderem die WLAN-Verbindung zwischen Drohne und Mobilgerät erklärt. Zur Verbindung baut die Tello ein eigenes, zunächst unverschlüsseltes WLAN auf. Eine individuelle SSID und ein Passwortschutz lassen sich nachträglich über die Einstellungen einrichten.

Praxistest der Ryze Tello

Tello App

Der Aufbau der Tello App erinnert gewissermaßen an die DJI Go App. Nach dem Start der App und mit verbundener Drohne erhält man eine Live-Bildausgabe mit Overlay. Im unteren Bildabschnitt befinden sich die virtuellen Joysticks. Der obere Bildabschnitt enthält verschiedene Shortcuts zu den Flugmodi, den Einstellungen oder aber den Kameramodi. Des Weiteren befindet sich im oberen Teil eine Statusanzeige, die unter anderem Angaben zum verbleibenden Akku, dem WiFi, dem Bluetooth und auch der Geschwindigkeit sowie der Flughöhe liefert.

Die App-Einstellungen fallen übersichtlich aus. Hier eine Übersicht:

    • Fluggeschwindigkeit – „Slow“ und „Fast“
    • VR-Modus
    • Bluetooth-Controller Einstellungen – Diagramm und How To
    • WiFi – SSID und Passwort
    • Erweiterte Einstellungen
      • Einheitensystem – metrisch / imperial
      • Bildqualität – normal / hoch
      • Warnung bei niedrigem Akku – 10% – 50%
      • Stick-Mode – Mode 1 / Mode 2
      • Lichtwert – -3 / 3
      • Bitrate – Auto bis 4 MB
      • IMU Status – Kalibireren
      • Gyro – Kalibieren
      • Firmware – Update
      • App Version
      • Loader Version
      • Support

Steuerung

Gesteuert wird die Drohne entweder über den Touchscreen des Mobilgerätes oder optional über ein Bluetooth-GamePad. Die Touchscreen-Steuerung erfolgt über virtuelle Joysticks. Wie bei einem Mobile-Game werden die jeweiligen Toucheingaben an die Drohne übertragen. Eine Eingabeverzögerung gibt es nicht. Die Steuerung ist zwar nicht ganz so präzise, wie mit einem echten Controller, es genügt jedoch um die Tello sicher in der Luft zu halten und zu steuern. Erleichtert wird die Bedienung zusätzlich durch das automatische Starten und Landen auf Knopfdruck und die automatische Einhaltung der Höhe (Altitude Hold).

Eine präzisere Steuerung ist über ein GamePad möglich. Die Tello ist mit verschiedenen Bluetooth-Controllern kompatibel. Ryze Technology empfiehlt das GameSir T1s GamePad. Ein im Test verwendetes iPega PG-9025 GamePad funktionierte ebenfalls, benötigte jedoch zur Erkennung bzw. Tastenzuteilung die „Octopus“-App. Die Verbindung zwischen Controller und Drohne erfolgt nicht direkt, sondern über das Mobilgerät als Vermittler. Alle Eingaben werden lediglich über Bluetooth an das Mobilgerät übermittelt, welche diese über WLAN an die Tello weiterleitet. Die mögliche Flugreichweite wird somit nicht beeinträchtigt. Eine nachteilige Eingabeverzögerung tritt auch im GamePad-Verbund nicht auf.

Sicherheit, Flugeigenschaften und Flugmanöver

Visual Positioning System und Failsafe

Einscheidend für einen guten Quadrocopter sind vor allem auch eine hohe Flugsicherheit, eine gutes Flugverhalten und eine langanhaltende Flugdauer. Ryze beschreibt die Tello als „Super Safe“. In Zusammenarbeit mit DJI hat Ryze eine Drohne geschaffen, die unter anderem ein „Visual Positioning System“ verwendet, wie es auch in DJI Drohnen vorkommt. Dieses Sichtsystem setzt sich aus einer Kamera und zwei 3D-Infrarot-Sensoren zusammen. Dadurch ist die Tello in der Lage die Position präzise zu halten und Höhenunterschiede auszugleichen. Ein GPS-Modul hat die kleine Tello Drohne nicht integriert.

Tello Drohne Kamera

Im Test erwies sich das Sichtsystem als überraschend präzise. Beim Flug im Freien gleicht das Visual Positioning System kleinere Windböen akkurat aus. Voraussetzung ist jedoch, dass man sich weder über einer reflektierenden Oberfläche befindet, als auch ausreichende Helligkeitsverhältnisse vorhanden sind. Gerade beim Indoor-Flug mit gedimmten Abendlicht funktionierte das Sichtsystem nicht zuverlässig, wodurch es häufiger zu einem Abdriften der Drohne kommt. Ob das Sichtsystem aktiv ist, lässt die Status-LED, die sich neben der Kamera befindet, erkennen.

Daneben bietet die Drohne einen Failsafe, der bei niedrigem Akkustand warnt oder bei einem Verbindungsabbruch den Quadrocopter automatisch und auch sicher landet. Der Failsafe funktioniert zuverlässig. Ein kritischer Akkustand ist über die Status-LED, Akkuanzeige und auch Warnsignale zu erkennen. Bei einem Verbindungsabbruch leitet die Tello automatisch eine Landung ein.

Flugreichweite, Fluggeschwindigkeit und Flugdauer

Die maximale Flugreichweite ist auf 100 Meter, die Flughöhe auf 10 Meter limitiert. Die in der Praxis erreichte (sichere) Flugreichweite lag bei ungefähr 40 Metern. Ab ungefähr 40 Metern traten im Freien vermehrt Übertragungsabbrüche auf. Im stark bewohnten Gebieten mit vielen Störsignalen können bereits nach wenigen Metern Interferenzen auftreten. Eine entsprechende Einblendung über das Live-Bild der Drohne weist darauf hin.

Akkuschacht der Tello Drohne

Die Fluggeschwindigkeit ist in 2 Stufen anpassbar. Im Modus „Slow“ beschleunigt die Tello vergleichsweise langsam und erreicht unter Idealbedingungen eine maximale Fluggeschwindigkeit von 4 m/s. Der Modus eignet sich vor allem für den Indoor-Flug und auch für Anfänger. Für sportliche Drohnenflieger gibt es den Modus „Fast“, innerhalb dessen die Ryze Tello mit bis zu 8 m/s durch die Luft rast.

Die maximale Flugdauer gibt Ryze Technology mit 13 Minuten an. Auch dieser Wert ist nachvollziehbar. Im Schnitt liegt die Flugzeit zwischen 9 und 13 Minuten. Die mögliche Flugdauer ist dabei von verschiedenen Faktoren, wie z.B. der Verbindungsstärke, ob eine Aufnahme läuft und auch dem Flugverhalten abhängig. Getrübt wird der Flugspaß durch die lange Ladezeit des Akkus. Diese liegt bei ungefähr 90 Minuten. Den Ladefortschritt ist über die Status-LED erkennbar.

Akku der Tello Drohne

Flugmodi

Die Tello ist mit insgesamt 6 intelligenten Flugmodi ausgestattet.

  • Bounce Modus: Die Drohne fliegt vollautomatisch auf auf und ab. Die Flughöhe ist dabei auf 0.5 bis 1.2 Meter begrenzt.
  • 360 Modus: Die Drohne dreht sich um die eigene Achse und fertigt eine 360° Videoaufnahme an.
  • Throw & Go Modus: Dieser Modus erleichtert den Start der Drohne, indem diese durch einen geschickten Wurf automatisch in den stabilisierten Flug übergeht.
  • 8D Flips: Durch Wischgesten kann der Pilot bestimmen, in welche Richtung die Tello einen Salto vollführt.
  • Up & Away Modus: Die Drohne fliegt hoch sowie nach hinten davon und fertigt eine Videoaufnahme an. Der Flug erfolgt selbstverständlich kontrolliert.
  • Circle Modus: Die Tello Drohne umkreist den Piloten oder ein Objekt und fertigt eine Luftaufnahme an.

Sämtliche Flugmodi funktionieren zuverlässig und sind sicher durchführbar. Viele der Flugmodi eigenen sich jedoch nur für den Flug im Freien. Aus Versehen einen dieser Flugmodi im Innenbereich auszuführen ist kaum möglich. Jeder Modus muss mit entsprechenden Hinweisen einzeln bestätigt werden und lässt sich zudem auf Knopfdruck abbrechen.

Kamera

Ein weiteres Ausstattungsmerkmal ist die nach vorne gerichtete 5 Megapixel Kamera. Die Kamera ist fixiert und nicht neigbar. Fotos werden mit einer Auflösung von 2592 x 1936 Pixel aufgenommen. Videos nimmt die Kamera in HD (1280 x 720) bei 30 Bildern-pro-Sekunde auf. Das Sichtfeld liegt bei 82.6 Grad. Die Verarbeitung der Aufnahmen erfolgt mit Hilfe eines Intel Prozessors.

Testaufnahme ohne Belichtungskorrektur

Testaufnahme ohne Belichtungskorrektur

Die Aufnahmequalität ist entsprechend dem Preis akzeptabel. Besonders Fotoaufnahmen überzeugen durch eine angenehme Detail- und Farbwiedergabe. Vor jedem Flug empfiehlt es sich jedoch den Lichtwert (EV) entsprechend den jeweiligen Umgebungsbedingungen anzupassen. Standardmäßig werden sowohl Foto- als auch Videoaufnahmen teilweise unterbelichtet aufgenommen. Zu kritisieren ist, dass die Kameraeinstellungen nicht gespeichert werden und nach jedem Start der App zurückgesetzt sind.

Testaufnahme mit Belichtungskorrektur

Testaufnahme mit Belichtungskorrektur

Akzeptable Videoaufnahmen mit der Tello anzufertigen ist deutlich schwieriger. Sämtliche Aufnahmen werden direkt an das verbundene Mobilgerät an übertragen. Die Möglichkeit auf eine Speicherkarte zu schreiben fehlt. Gespeichert wird also das, was man über die Live-Bildübertragung sieht. Übertragungsabrüche werden somit genauso wie auch Interferenzen in der Aufnahme festgehalten. Bei einer schlechten Verbindung zur Drohne bricht auf die Bitrate ein, wodurch es zu einer deutlichen Artefaktbildung kommen kann.

Ryze Tello Drone Footage / Testaufnahme

Die einzelnen Clips der Testaufnahme wurden unter gleichen Bedingungen aufgenommen. Mit dem Standard-Lichtwert erscheint die Aufnahme unterbelichtet. Die Belichtungskorrektur verlangt Feingefühl!

Im Gegensatz zu den deutlich teureren DJI Modellen, verwendet die Ryze Tello keine Gimbal-Stabilisierung. Stattdessen werden die Aufnahmen elektronisch stabilisiert (EIS). Die Stabilisierungsleistung ist stark von den Umgebungsbedingungen abhängig. Fliegt man die Tello im Freien, kann es häufiger zu Bildstörungen im Form des „Jello-Effekts“ kommen. Vibrationen und Erschütterungen die die Bildstabilisierung nicht ausgleichen kann, führen zu einem regelrechten Verzerren der Bildinformationen.

Programmierbarkeit

Eines der wesentlichsten Features der Ryze Tello ist die freie Programmierbarkeit der Drohne. Hierzu stellt der Hersteller ein fertiges Software Development Kit (SDK) zur Verfügung, das unter anderem in Zusammenarbeit mit Forschern des MIT entstanden ist. Um vor allem Kindern den Einstieg in die Welt des Programmierens schmackhaft zu machen, wird neben dem Tello SDK auch die visuelle Programmiersprache „Scratch“ unterstützt. Ryze verspricht, dass kaum Grenzen bezüglich der Programmierbarkeit gesetzt werden, weshalb auch Nutzer mit vorhandenen Programmierkenntnissen eine durchaus interessante Drohne geboten bekommen.

Preisvergleich

GearBest Coupon - (DJI) Ryze Tello

Mit diesem Coupon erhältst du die Ryze Tello für nur 79.72€. Klicke auf Gutschein anzeigen damit der Code eingeblendet wird.
(Gültig ab 06.07)

GearBest Coupon - (DJI) Ryze Tello

Mit diesem Coupon erhältst du die Ryze Tello für nur 79.72€. Klicke auf Gutschein anzeigen damit der Code eingeblendet wird.
(Gültig ab 06.07)
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei GearBest kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
108,42€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Geekbuying kaufen
Versand Versand aus Deutschland
98,65€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Amazon kaufen
Versand Versand aus Deutschland
101,38€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Banggood kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
113,60€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei TOMTOP kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
97,28€
Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 18. Juli 2018 12:00
Positiv

►Gute Verarbeitung und Materialwahl
►Einfache Handhabung
►App und GamePad-Steuerung
►Gutes Flugverhalten
►Präzises Visual Positioning System
►Failsafe
►Gute Foto-Aufnahmequalität
►Intelligente-Flugmodi
►Flugdauer
►Programmierbarkeit

Negativ

►Hoher Preis für (Ersatz)Akkus
►Einstellungen werden nicht gespeichert
►Anfällig für Interferenzen
►Teilweise unterbelichtete Foto- und Videoaufnahmem
►Starke Artefaktbildung in Videoaufnahmen
►Limitierte Bildstabilisierung
►Keine MicroSD Speichermöglichkeit
►Akkuladezeit

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.5
Verarbeitung
8.5
Bedienbarkeit
8.0
Flugverhalten
9.0
Flugdauer
8.0
Foto-Aufnahmequalität
7.0
Video-Aufnahmequalität
5.5
Fazit

Die Ryze Tello ist eine Fun-Drohne, die sowohl äußerlich, als auch technisch überzeugt. Interessant sind dabei vor allem die Sicherheitsfeatures, insbesondere das gut funktionierende Visual Positioning System, das viele Fun-Drohnen gerade nicht bieten. Gleichzeitig kostet die Tello mit ungefähr 109€ nur geringfügig mehr als vergleichbare Spielzeugdrohnen. Die Bedienung ist überaus einfach und auch die verschiedenen, auf Knopfdruck ausführbaren Flugmodi bieten einen abwechlungsreichen Flugspaß. Die Aufnahmequalität der 5 Megapixel Kamera entspricht dem Preis, erntet jedoch Kritikpunkte durch die fehlende Möglichkeit auf eine SD-Speicherkarte aufzunehmen. Alles in allem ist die Ryze Tello eine empfehlenswerte Mini-Drohne für Drohnenneulinge, aber auch für erfahrene Drohnenpiloten.

7.8
Punkte
You have rated this

1
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
N3rdz Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
Neueste Älteste
Benachrichtigung
N3rdz
Gast
N3rdz

Einfach nur WOW. Krasses Teil, das ich mir garantiert zulegen werde. Ich bin schon seit langem auf der Suche nach einem Quadrocopter, den man auch sicher fliegen kann und für den man kein Kennzeichen braucht. Ich bin schon richtig gespannt drauf. Könnte bei dem Preis und mit DJI im Rücken ein richtiger Verkaufsschlager werden.