cameras
0
Review

EKEN H9R / H9 Test - Budget Action Cam

by 8. September 2018

An Action Cam that supports resolutions up to 4K does not have to be expensive. A good example of this is the reasonably priced China action cam "EKEN H9R", which at first glance delivers a favorable overall package. To what extent the EKEN H9R can also convince with regard to the recording quality and what else the camera has to offer, you will learn in this review.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

EKEN

Product

EKEN H9R

Specifications

Hardware
Image processor: Sunplus 6350
Image sensor: OV4689 (OmniVision)
Viewing angle: 170 °

Display: 2.0 inch LCD
Resolution: 320 x 240

Connections: MicroUSB, MicroHDMI
SD card: SDHC / SDXC up to 64 GB
Battery: 1050mAh

video Resolution
4K @ 25fps
2.7K @ 30fps
1080p @ 60 / 30fps
720 @ 120pfps

picture resolution
12M
10M
8M
5M

Other
* WiFi and App
* Time-lapse image
* Loop Recording
* Size: 59 * 41 * 24.6 mm
* Housing material: ABS

Scope of delivery

1x EKEN H9R
1x Bluetooth remote control
1x battery
1x Waterproof Case
13x mounts
2x cleaning cloth
1x charger
1x USB cable
1x user manual

The action cam is now also called "EKEN H9S"Available. The image sensor and the image processor, as well as the appearance are identical to the EKEN H9 or H9R. Slightly improved, however, was the 4K recording capability. Please find attached our review of the "new" EKEN Budget Action Cam.

To the EKEN H9S test report

First impression of the EKEN H9R

Scope of delivery

Unlike other China action cams, the EKEN H9R differs only slightly, which is why this camera is also supplied in a typical cardboard box with a wide range of accessories. In addition to the various brackets also a waterproof housing is included, which makes a good impression on the outside. Although the shutter closes a bit difficult, but otherwise the camera can be well served by the housing. The pressure points are not too soft, but not too hard. The size of the EKEN H9R is similar to the well-known SJCAM SJ4000, which makes the accessories compatible with each other. The enclosed battery has a capacity of 1050mAh. A matching charging adapter is included.

Particularly interesting is the included remote control, which can be paired with the camera. It can be used to trigger video or photo recordings remotely. An English-language operating manual for the camera and remote control is also included. Overall, the set includes 21 parts.

Eken H9R / H9 Action Cam review

Optics and workmanship

The EKEN H9R Action Cam is available in 7 different colors. The workmanship is average good. Only the cap of the battery sits in my test copy comparatively easy.

Front is the power or fashion button. On the back side, a large 2 inch LCD color display was installed. The menu navigation buttons are located on the right edge of the case. This also activates the WiFi of the camera. The connections are on the left side. These amount to a micro HDMI socket, a micro USB socket and an SD memory card slot. Memory cards are accepted with up to 64GB. In addition to the record button, on the upper edge of the case, there is still a large recording LED, which shows the current state of the camera. Except for the loose cover of the battery compartment, the EKEN H9R is neatly processed. Also the included accessories convinced.

Commissioning and user interface

With the battery inserted and the SD memory card inserted, the EKEN H9R is ready for use immediately. The included user manual goes back to all necessary steps in detail and explains both the settings, but also the remote connection via WiFi. When switched on, you will immediately receive the live edition. The icons on the edge indicate, among other things, the recording mode, the recording resolution, the current recording time and remaining recording time, and the battery level. With the Mode button you can switch between the video mode, the photo mode, the burst mode and the timelapse mode.

The setting options of the EKEN H9R are very limited. The following settings can be made.

Video resolution (1080p @ 60p / 30p, 4K @ 25p, 2.7K @ 30p 720 @ 120p) | Loop mode | Date stamp | Exposure | Image Resolution (12MP, 8MP, 5MP, 4MP | Series Mode | Interval Mode | Time Lapse | Refresh Rate (50Hz / 60Hz / Auto) | Language | Date & Time | Sounds | 180 ° Rotate | Auto LCD | Power Saving Mode | Format | Factory Default

Settings for WiFi mode can not be made. Thus, no individual password can be set, so anyone with the default password (1234567890) could access the camera.

Video and picture quality

Hardware

The EKEN H9R uses an OmniVision OV4689 image sensor and a Sunplus 6350 image processor. This combination is rather weak-breasted and clearly attributable to the low price segment.

Although the Action Cam promises recordings with a resolution of maximum 4K, but these are artificially extrapolated, which is why this value is purely interpolated. The native resolution of the image sensor is just 4 megapixels. Native 12 megapixels were not to be expected at this price. The wide angle is the usual for Action Cams 170 °. The recording format is .mov, compressed with the .h264 codec and .jpg.

video recordings

The quality of the video recordings is good in good lighting conditions. In low light conditions, the picture looks pale and a clear blur can be seen. On the other hand, the brightness adjustment of the EKEN H9R is good and the maximum 60 images per second on 1080p are shown in a smooth flow. The recorded sound is comparable to conventional action cams and thus extremely quiet. Clearly recognizable is the blur towards the edge of the image.

Eken H9 / H9R | 4K Footage / Recording Sample

image capture

The pictures taken are unfortunately blurred and at the same time washed out. The colors look pale and the image dynamics are lost.

firmware

The special feature of the EKEN H9R is the large developer community behind this reasonably priced Action Cam. Firmware updates appear regularly to get the best possible video quality out of this camera. For example, the standard 10 images per second at 4K resolution has been increased to a whopping 25 images-per-second.

WiFi feature and app

WiFi can be activated on this camera with the lower menu guide button. The SSID and the password can not be set individually in the settings. To use the camera with your smartphone or tablet, you need the EZ iCam app, available for download from the Google Play Store and the iOS Store.

About the app a live image of the camera is output. The delay is low and the display ran in the test without any artifact formation. General settings are limited to white balance and refresh rate. In Video mode, you can only switch between 1080p @ 60 or 30 FPS. Despite these few setting options, the app is clearly implemented and easy to use. Recordings can be started directly from them, saved to the smartphone or tablet and even shared with friends via social media.

Price Comparison

You want to know where to buy the EKEN H9R? In our price comparison we list the current offers of the most popular shops. All prices are checked and updated several times a day. Should a shop appear several times, it concerns the different warehouses of the dealer.

Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
48,54€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from China
48,54€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
49,90€
Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
89,00€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 02: 00

Final Words

Positive

►Preis
►Full scope of delivery
►Anschlussmöglichkeiten
►Good build quality
►Acceptable recording quality
►Remote control
►Community firmware

Negative

►Free connections
►Little setting options
►Marginals app

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.0
-
application
7.5
-
Design
8.0
-
Display
7.5
-
User Interface
7.5
-
Features
4.5
-
usability
7.0
-
video quality
6.5
-
picture quality
6.0
-
Microphone
4.0
-
App
5.0
-
Battery life
6.5
-
Summary

The EKEN H9R does not offer the best video quality and is by no means comparable to a much more expensive GoPro. Nevertheless, this camera achieves a liquid 4K resolution, which is quite admirable at this price. In addition, the Action Cam has a large developer community, which constantly releases new updates. Overall, the EKEN H9R does justice to its price and provides reasonable results.

6.5
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Kameras
0
Review

EKEN H9R / H9 Test – Budget Action Cam

by 8. September 2018
Eine Action Cam, die Auflösungen bis 4K unterstĂŒtzt muss nicht teuer sein. Ein gutes Beispiel hierfĂŒr ist die preiswerte China-Action-Cam „EKEN H9R“, die auf den ersten Blick ein gĂŒnstiges Gesamtpaket abliefert. Inwiefern die EKEN H9R aber auch hinsichtlich der AufnahmequalitĂ€t ĂŒberzeugen kann und was die Kamera sonst zu bieten hat, erfahrt ihr in diesem Review.
Überblick
Hersteller

EKEN

Produktbezeichnung

EKEN H9R

Spezifikationen

Hardware
Bildprozessor: Sunplus 6350
Bildsensor: OV4689 (OmniVision)
Betrachtungswinkel : 170°

Display: 2.0 Zoll LCD
Auflösung: 320 x 240

AnschlĂŒsse: MicroUSB, MicroHDMI
SD-Karte: SDHC / SDXC bis zu 64 GB
Batterie: 1050mAh

Videoauflösung
4K@25fps
2.7K@30fps
1080p@60/30fps
720@120pfps

Fotoauflösung
12M
10M
8M
5M

Sonstige
*WiFi und App
*Zeitraffer-Bild
*Loop-Aufnahme
*GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 59 * 41 * 24.6 mm
*GehÀusematerial: ABS

Lieferumfang

1x EKEN H9R
1x Bluetooth Fernbedienung
1x Akku
1x Wasserdichtes GehÀuse
13x Halterungen
2x Reinigungstuch
1x LadegerÀt
1x USB Kabel
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Die Action Cam ist nun auch unter der Bezeichnung „EKEN H9S“ erhĂ€ltlich. Der Bildsensor und der Bildprozessor, sowie das Aussehen sind zur EKEN H9 bzw. H9R identisch. GeringfĂŒgig verbessert wurde allerdings die 4K-AufnahmefĂ€higkeit. Anbei findest du unseren Testbericht zur „neuen“ EKEN Budget Action Cam.

Zum EKEN H9S Testbericht

Erster Eindruck zur EKEN H9R

Lieferumfang

Von anderen China-Action-Cams unterscheidet sich die EKEN H9R nur wenig, weshalb auch diese Kamera im typischen Pappkarton samt einem vielzĂ€hligen Zubehör-Set geliefert wird. Neben den verschiedensten Halterungen ist zudem ein wasserdichtes GehĂ€use enthalten, das Ă€ußerlich einen guten Eindruck macht. Der Verschluss schließt zwar etwas schwer, aber sonst lĂ€sst sich die Kamera gut durch das GehĂ€use bedienen. Die Druckpunkte sind nicht zu weich, aber auch nicht zur hart. Die GrĂ¶ĂŸe der EKEN H9R ist gleich mit der bekannten SJCAM SJ4000, wodurch die Zubehörteile untereinander kompatibel sind. Der beiliegende Akku besitzt eine KapazitĂ€t von 1050mAh. Ein passender Ladeadapter liegt bei.

Besonders interessant ist die im Lieferumfang enthaltene Fernbedienung, die sich mit der Kamera koppeln lĂ€sst. Hiermit lassen sich Video- oder Fotoaufnahmen „remote“ auslösen. Auch eine englischsprachige Bedienungsanleitung zur Kamera sowie zur Remote-Steuerung ist enthalten. Insgesamt umfasst das Set 21 Teile.

Eken H9R / H9 Action Cam Review

Optik und Verarbeitung

Die EKEN H9R Action Cam ist in 7 verschiedenen Farben erhÀltlich. Die Verarbeitung ist durchschnittlich gut. Lediglich die Verschlusskappe des Akkus sitzt bei meinem Testexemplar vergleichsweise locker.

Vorderseitig befindet die Einschalt- bzw. Modetaste. RĂŒckseitig wurde ein großes 2 Zoll LCD Farbdisplay verbaut. Die Tasten zur MenĂŒfĂŒhrung befinden sich am rechten GehĂ€userand. HierĂŒber wird auch das WiFi der Kamera aktiviert. Die AnschlĂŒsse befinden sich auf der linken Seite. Diese belaufen sich eine micro HDMI Buchse, eine micro USB Buchse und einen SD-Speicherkartenslot. Speicherkarten werden mit bis zu 64GB akzeptiert. Neben der Aufnahmetaste, am oberen GehĂ€userand, befindet sich noch eine große Aufnahme-LED, die den aktuellen Zustand der Kamera anzeigt. Bis auf die lockere Abdeckung des Akkuschachtes, ist die EKEN H9R ordentlich verarbeitet. Auch das im Lieferumfang enthaltene Zubehör ĂŒberzeugt.

Inbetriebnahme und BenutzeroberflÀche

Mit eingelegtem Akku und eingelegter SD-Speicherkarte, ist die EKEN H9R sofort startklar. Die enthaltene Bedienungsanleitung geht nochmals auf alle notwendigen Schritte ausfĂŒhrlich ein und erklĂ€rt sowohl die Einstellungsmöglichkeiten, aber auch die Remote Verbindung ĂŒber WiFi. Eingeschaltet erhĂ€lt man sofort die Live Ausgabe. Die am Rand befindlichen Symbole zeigen unter anderem den Aufnahmemodus, die Aufnahmeauflösung, die aktuelle Aufnahmezeit und verbleibende Aufnahmezeit, sowie den Akkustand an. Mit der Modetaste kann man zwischen dem Videomodus, dem Fotomodus, dem Burstmodus und dem Timelapse-Modus wechseln.

Die Einstellungsmöglichkeiten der EKEN H9R sind stark begrenzt. Folgende Einstellungen lassen sich vornehmen.

Videoauflösung (1080p@60p/30p, 4K@25p, 2.7K@30p 720@120p) | Loop-Modus | Datumstempel | Belichtung | Bildauflösung (12MP, 8MP, 5MP, 4MP | Serien-Modus | Intervall-Modus | Zeitraffer | Bildwiederholfrequenz (50Hz / 60Hz / Auto) | Sprache | Datum & Uhrzeit | Töne | 180° Drehen | Auto LCD | Stromsparmodus | Formatieren | Werkseinstellungen  Version

Einstellungen zum WiFi-Modus können nicht vorgenommen werden. Somit lÀsst sich kein individuelles Passwort festlegen, weshalb jeder mit dem Standardpasswort (1234567890) auf die Kamera zugreifen könnte.

Video- und BildqualitÀt

Hardware

Die EKEN H9R verwendet einen OmniVision OV4689 Bildsensor und einen Sunplus 6350 Bildprozessor. Diese Kombination ist eher schwachbrĂŒstig und klar dem Niedrigpreissegment zuzuordnen.

Zwar verspricht die Action Cam Aufnahmen mit einer Auflösung von maximalen 4K, allerdings werden diese kĂŒnstlich hochgerechnet, weshalb dieser Wert rein interpoliert ist. Die native Auflösung des Bildsensors betrĂ€gt lediglich 4 Megapixel. Native 12 Megapixel sind bei diesem Preis auch keinesfalls zu erwarten gewesen. Der Weitwinkel liegt bei den fĂŒr Action Cams ĂŒblichen 170°. Das Aufnahmeformat belĂ€uft sich auf .mov, komprimiert mit dem .h264 Codec und .jpg.

Videoaufnahmen

Die QualitĂ€t der Videoaufnahmen ist bei guten LichtverhĂ€ltnissen gut. Bei schlechten LichtverhĂ€ltnissen wirkt das Bild blass und eine deutliche UnschĂ€rfe ist zu erkennen. Die Helligkeitsanpassung gelingt der EKEN H9R hingegen gut und auch die maximalen 60 Bilder-pro-Sekunde auf 1080p werden flĂŒssig dargestellt. Der aufgenommene Ton ist mit herkömmlichen Action Cams vergleichbar und somit ĂŒberaus leise. Deutlich zu erkennen ist die UnschĂ€rfe zum Bildrand hin.

Eken H9 / H9R | 4K Footage / Aufnahme Sample

Bildaufnahmen

Die aufgenommenen Bilder sind leider unscharf und zugleich verwaschen. Die Farben wirken blass und auch die Bilddynamik geht verloren.

Firmware

Das besondere an der EKEN H9R ist die große Entwicklercommunity hinter dieser preiswerten Action Cam. Firmware Updates erscheinen regelmĂ€ĂŸig um die bestmögliche VideoqualitĂ€t aus dieser Kamera herauszuholen. So wurden beispielsweise die standardmĂ€ĂŸigen 10 Bilder-pro-Sekunde bei einer 4K Auflösung auf satte 25 Bilder-pro-Sekunde erhöht.

WiFi Funktion und App

Das WiFi lĂ€sst sich an dieser Kamera mit der unteren MenĂŒfĂŒhrungstaste aktivieren. Die SSID als auch das Passwort können in den Einstellungen nicht individuell eingerichtet werden. Damit man die Kamera mit dem Smartphone oder Tablet verwenden kann, benötigt man die EZ iCam App, die es im Google Play Store und im iOS Store zum Herunterladen gibt.

Über die App wird ein Live Bild der Kamera ausgegeben. Die Verzögerung ist gering und die Darstellung verlief im Test ohne jegliche Artefaktbildung. Die allgemeinen Einstellungen sind auf den Weißabgleich und die Bildwiederholfrequenz beschrĂ€nkt. Beim Videomodus kann zudem nur zwischen 1080p@ 60 oder 30 FPS gewechselt werden. Trotz dieser wenigen Einstellungsmöglichkeiten ist die App ĂŒbersichtlich umgesetzt und einfach zu bedienen. Aufnahmen können direkt darĂŒber gestartet werden, auf das Smartphone oder Tablet gespeichert werden und sogar mit Freunden ĂŒber die sozialen Medien geteilt werden.

Preisvergleich

Du möchtest wissen, wo du die EKEN H9R kaufen kannst? In unserem Preisvergleich listen wir die aktuellen Angebote der bekanntesten Shops. Alle Preise werden mehrmals tĂ€glich ĂŒberprĂŒft und aktualisiert. Sollte ein Shop mehrmals auftauchen, handelt es sich um die verschiedenen Warenlager des HĂ€ndlers.

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Banggood
10-30 Werktage
46,84€
Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
75,73€
Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
77,71€
Amazon
1-5 Werktage
95,99€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 10. Juli 2020 00:09

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Preis
Umfangreicher Lieferumfang
Anschlussmöglichkeiten
Gute VerarbeitungsqualitÀt
Akzeptable AufnahmequalitÀt
Remote-Steuerung
Community-Firmware

Negativ

Freiliegende AnschlĂŒsse
Wenige Einstellungsmöglichkeiten
Marginale App

Erster Eindruck
8.0
9.1
Verarbeitung
7.5
8.2
Design
8.0
7.2
Display
7.5
8.0
BenutzeroberflÀche
7.5
8.0
Funktionsumfang
4.5
8.7
Bedienbarkeit
7.0
8.5
VideoqualitÀt
6.5
7.5
BildqualitÀt
6.0
7.8
Mikrofon
4.0
7.9
App
5.0
8.3
Akkulaufzeit
6.5
8.1
Fazit

Die EKEN H9R bietet nicht die beste VideoqualitĂ€t und ist mit einer vielfach teureren GoPro keineswegs vergleichbar. Dennoch erreicht diese Kamera eine flĂŒssige 4K Auflösung, was bei diesem Preis durchaus bewundernswert ist. Zudem besitzt die Action Cam eine große Entwickler Community, die stĂ€ndig neue Updates veröffentlicht. Insgesamt wird die EKEN H9R ihrem Preis gerecht und liefert angemessene Ergebnisse.

6.5
Unsere Bewertung
8.1
Nutzerbewertung
1 rating
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments