News
0

EKEN V8S - 4K Action Cam with image stabilization

by Timo12th of June 2017

Action cam producer "EKEN" is best known for feature-rich yet affordable action cams. With the EKEN V8S, an action cam from the manufacturer is being released for the first time, capable of electronically stabilizing high-resolution 4K video recordings.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

EKEN

Product

EKEN V8S

Specifications

Hardware
Image processor: Ambarella A12LS75
Image sensor: Panasonic MN34112 (14MP)
Display: 2 inch LCD + front
SD card: SDHC up to 128 GB
Battery: 1050mAh

video Resolution
4K @ 25
2.7K @ 30
1080p @ 60 / 30

Other
Wireless: WiFi, Bluetooth and App
Outputs: Micro USB, Micro HDMI
Stabilization: EIS

Size: 59.3 x 21.4 x 41.1
Weight: 66g

EKEN V8S Action Cam

EKEN V8S test

Image sensor and image processor

The EKEN V8S Action Cam comes with a Ambarella A12S75 image processor and a 14 Megapixel Panasonic MN34112 Image Sensor fitted. The camera is capable of using the Ambarella A12S75 in combination with the Panasonic image sensor native 4K video footage at 25 frames-per-second record. Incidentally, the A12S75 image processor is also used in many other China Action Cams. The most famous models are the Hawkeye Firefly 8S, a ThiEYE T5e and the SJCAM SJ7 Star, How to estimate the video quality of the EKEN V8S you can find in the following videos.

4K @ 25 test recording

Eken V8S 4k 25 fps

Stabilization, display and connections

The EKEN V8S is able to electronically stabilize the image even with high-resolution 4K. As the electronic image stabilization (EIS) by EKEN, the manufacturer does not reveal. After all, only since the Ambarella H2 Bildrpozessor 4K image stabilization officially supported. In addition, the first users of Action Cam report that the EIS can not be deactivated at any resolution! On the back of the case is a 2 inch large LCD displayexploding with 320 x 240 pixels. An operation via touch screen is not available. In addition, there is a small LCD display on the front, which shows the status of the camera. The connections amount to one micro HDMI and a Micro USB socket, as well as one Micro SD memory card slot, The possibility to connect an external microphone is not supported!

WiFi, App and Battery

The EKEN V8S can be controlled via a 2.4G Remotehow to get it from the EKEN H9R knows, as well as there is again the possibility of control via a smartphone or tablet. For this is the Action Cam with a WiFi module (802.11 b / g / n) fitted. Operation is via the EZ iCam app, which is available for Android and iOS devices. The Accumulator owns one Capacity of 1050 mAh, The dimensions of the battery differ from the widely used "SJ4000 standard", which is why most third-party batteries can not be inserted into the EKEN V8S. One battery charge allows an approximate 4K recording time of 50 minutes. But here, too, will only be shown in the first tests, as it actually behaves with the battery life.

EKEN V8S Review

Preview-Conclusion

EKEN takes an unusual direction with the V8S. An action cam that takes natively in 4K and even stabilizes the image electronically sounds tempting at first. The fact that the EIS function can not be deactivated at any resolution and that the 4K EIS is officially supported only with the Ambarella H2 advises caution when buying this Action Cam!

As soon as our test copy has arrived, the detailed review follows!

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
113,32€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from China
129,00€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 11: 02

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

News
0

EKEN V8S – 4K Action Cam mit Bildstabilisierung

by Timo12. Juni 2017

Der Action Cam Produzent "EKEN" ist vor allem für funktionsreiche und dennoch preiswerte Action Cams bekannt. Mit der EKEN V8S erscheint erstmals eine Action Cam des Herstellers, die in der Lage ist hochauflösende 4K Videoaufnahmen elektronisch zu stabilisieren.

Überblick
Hersteller

EKEN

Produktbezeichnung

EKEN V8S

Spezifikationen

Hardware
Bildprozessor: Ambarella A12LS75
Bildsensor: Panasonic MN34112 (14MP)
Display: 2 Zoll LCD + Front
SD-Karte: SDHC bis zu 128 GB
Batterie: 1050mAh

Videoauflösung
4K@25
2.7K@30
1080p@60/30

Sonstige
Wireless: WiFi, Bluetooth und App
Ausgänge: Micro USB, Micro HDMI
Stabilisierung: EIS

Größe: 59.3 x 21.4 x 41.1
Gewicht: 66g

EKEN V8S Action Cam

EKEN V8S Test

Bildsensor und Bildprozessor

Die EKEN V8S Action Cam ist mit einem Ambarella A12S75 Bildprozessor und einem 14 Megapixel Panasonic MN34112 Bildsensor ausgestattet. Durch die Verwendung des Ambarella A12S75 in Kombination mit dem Panasonic Bildsensor ist die Kamera in der Lage natives 4K Videomaterial bei 25 Bildern-pro-Sekunde aufzuzeichnen. Der A12S75 Bildprozessor wird übrigens auch in vielen anderen China Action Cams verwendet. Die wohl bekanntesten Modelle sind die Hawkeye Firefly 8S, die ThiEYE T5e und die SJCAM SJ7 Star. Wie die Videoqualität der EKEN V8S einzuschätzen ist, kannst du den folgenden Videos entnehmen.

4K@25 Testaufnahme

Stabilisierung, Display und Anschlüsse

Die EKEN V8S ist in der Lage selbst bei hochauflösenden 4K das Bild elektronisch zu stabilisieren. Wie die elektronische Bildstabilisierung (EIS) von EKEN umgesetzt wurde, verrät der Hersteller nicht. Immerhin wird erst seit dem Ambarella H2 Bildrpozessor eine 4K Bildstabilisierung offiziell unterstützt. Zudem berichten die ersten Nutzer der Action Cam, dass sich die EIS bei keiner Auflösung deaktivieren lässt! Auf der Gehäuserückseite befindet sich ein 2 Zoll großes LCD Display, das mit 320 x 240 Pixel auflöst. Eine Bedienung mittels Touchscreen ist nicht vorhanden. Zusätzlich befindet sich vorderseitig ein kleines LCD Display, worüber sich der Status der Kamera ablesen lässt. Die Anschlüsse belaufen sich auf eine Micro HDMI und Micro USB Buchse, sowie einen Micro SD-Speicherkartenslot. Die Möglichkeit ein externes Mikrofon anzuschließen wird nicht unterstützt!

WiFi, App und Akku

Steuern lässt sich die EKEN V8S über eine 2.4G Remote, wie man sie von der EKEN H9R kennt, als auch gibt es wieder die Möglichkeit der Steuerung über ein Smartphone oder Tablet. Hierfür ist die Action Cam mit einem WiFi Modul (802.11 b/g/n) ausgestattet. Die Bedienung erfolgt über die EZ iCam App, die für Android und iOS Geräte erhältlich ist. Der Akku besitzt eine Kapazität von 1050 mAh. Die Maße des Akkus unterscheiden sich vom weit verbreiteten „SJ4000 Standard“, weshalb die meisten Drittanbieter-Akkus nicht in die EKEN V8S eingelegt werden können. Eine Akkuladung ermöglicht eine ungefähre 4K Aufnahmezeit von 50 Minuten. Aber auch hier wird sich erst in ersten Tests zeigen, wie es sich tatsächlich mit der Akkulaufzeit verhält.

EKEN V8S Review

Preview-Fazit

EKEN schlägt mit der V8S eine ungewöhnliche Richtung ein. Eine Action Cam, die nativ in 4K aufnimmt und dabei sogar das Bild elektronisch stabilisiert klingt im ersten Moment verlockend. Dass sich die EIS Funktion allerdings bei keiner Auflösung deaktivieren lässt und dass die 4K EIS offiziell erst mit dem Ambarella H2 unterstützt wird, rät zur Vorsicht beim Kauf dieser Action Cam!

Sobald unser Testexemplar eingetroffen ist, folgt das ausführliche Review an dieser Stelle!

Preisvergleich

Preisvergleich - Angebot bei GearBest kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
109,96€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Banggood kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
129,00€
Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 15. Dezember 2018 19:02

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
  Subscribe  
Benachrichtigung