News
0

Hawkeye Firefly 8S - 4K Action Cam

by Timo4th of June 2018

Only a few weeks ago it was announced that Hawkeye has a new action cam in the band. Meanwhile, the current 2017er model "Hawkeye Firefly 8S" is available. What features the Action Cam has to offer and our first assessment of the camera, we have summarized in this article.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Hawkeye

Product

Hawkeye Firefly 8S

Specifications

Hardware
Image processor: Ambarella A12LS75
Image sensor: Sony IMX117
Display: 2 inch LCD
Outputs: Mini USB, Micro HDMI
SD card: SDHC up to 128 GB
Battery: 1200mAh

video Resolution
4K @ 30
1080p @ 120
720p @ 240

Other
* WiFi, Bluetooth and App
*ICE CREAM
* External microphone

Hawkeye Firefly 8S

Buy Hawkeye Firefly 8S

Image sensor and image processor

Action Cams by Hawkeye are among the better action cams from China. In addition to a solid hardware combination, the models of the Firefly series are also very popular within the community, as the manufacturer regularly releases firmware updates for its Action Cams. Inside, a combination works out Ambarella A12S75 image processor and an 12.40 megapixel Sony IMX117 image sensor, This combination is also used by many competing models (eg ThiEYE T5e or SJCAM SJ7 Star) and could just look through the native 4K video recording function and the low price, prove by an excellent price-performance ratio. How to estimate the video quality of the Hawkeye Firefly 8S, you can see the following two videos.

Update: Originally the action cam was with a 170 ° wide angle presented. Meanwhile, the camera is also called "No Distortion" variant with a 90 ° wide angle available!

4K video recording

a Short video of Hawkeye FIREFLY 8S 4K action camera

1080p60 video recording

Hawkeye FIREFLY 8S on Car sunny day

Stabilization, display and connections

Like already the Hawkeye Firefly 7S The Firefly 8S also offers an electronic Image stabilization using an 6-axis gyroscope, How the image stabilization beats, will show up in upcoming tests. At least the predecessor was well-optimized and delivered acceptable results. On the back is a 2 inch large LCD displayexploding with 640 x 480 pixels. An operation via touch screen is not available. The connections amount to one micro HDMI and a Micro USB socket, as well as one Micro SD memory card slot, Especially interesting is the possibility external microphone to connect with the camera, so that a much better sound recording can be achieved.

WiFi, App and Battery

Wirelessly, the Firefly 8S over WiFi and Bluetooth be addressed. With the right one Firefly Appwhich is also available in Google PlayStore, the Action Cam can be completely remotely controlled and you have direct access to the recordings stored on the SD memory card. Also worth mentioning is the 1.200 mAh strong battery, which is slightly larger compared to competing models. The manufacturer promises runtimes of 99 minutes. A quite realistic value, unless you include in 4K. On 4K, values ​​between 60 and 70 minutes are realistic. But even here will only show in the first tests, how it actually behaves with the battery life.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
106,79€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from Hong Kong
112,21€
Price comparison - buy offer at TOMTOP
Shipping Shipping from China
118,42€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from China
134,06€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from China
134,15€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 14: 01
Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
89,99€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from China
115,83€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China
115,83€
Price comparison - buy offer at TOMTOP
Shipping Shipping from China
127,53€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 14: 01

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

News
0

Hawkeye Firefly 8S – 4K Action Cam

by Timo4. Juni 2018
Erst vor wenigen Wochen wurde bekannt, dass Hawkeye eine neue Action Cam im Petto hat. Mittlerweile ist das aktuelle 2017er Modell "Hawkeye Firefly 8S" erhÀltlich. Welche Features die Action Cam zu bieten hat und unsere erste EinschÀtzung zur Kamera, haben wir in diesem Beitrag zusammengefasst.
Überblick
Hersteller

Hawkeye

Produktbezeichnung

Hawkeye Firefly 8S

Spezifikationen

Hardware
Bildprozessor: Ambarella A12LS75
Bildsensor: Sony IMX117
Display: 2 Zoll LCD
AusgÀnge: Mini USB, Micro HDMI
SD-Karte: SDHC bis zu 128 GB
Batterie: 1200mAh

Videoauflösung
4K@30
1080p@120
720p@240

Sonstige
*WiFi, Bluetooth und App
*EIS
*Externes Mikrofon

Hawkeye Firefly 8S

Hawkeye Firefly 8S kaufen

Bildsensor und Bildprozessor

Action Cams von Hawkeye zĂ€hlen zu den besseren Action Cams aus China. Neben einer soliden Hardwarekombination sind die Modelle der Firefly Reihe auch innerhalb der Community sehr beliebt, da der Hersteller regelmĂ€ĂŸig Firmware-Updates fĂŒr seine Action Cams veröffentlicht. Im Inneren werkelt eine Kombination aus Ambarella A12S75 Bildprozessor und ein 12.40 Megapixel Sony IMX117 Bildsensor. Diese Kombination wird auch von vielen Konkurrenzmodellen verwendet (z.B. ThiEYE T5e oder SJCAM SJ7 Star) und konnte sich gerade durch die native 4K Video-Aufnahmefunktion und den geringen Preis, durch ein hervorragendes Preis-LeistungsverhĂ€ltnis beweisen. Wie die VideoqualitĂ€t der Hawkeye Firefly 8S einzuschĂ€tzen ist, könnt ihr den beiden folgenden Videos entnehmen.

Update: UrsprĂŒnglich wurde die Action Cam mit einem 170° Weitwinkel vorgestellt. Mittlerweile ist die Kamera auch als „No Distortion“ Variante mit einem 90° Weitwinkel erhĂ€ltlich!

4K Videoaufnahme

a Short video of Hawkeye FIREFLY 8S 4K action camera

1080p60 Videoaufnahme

Hawkeye FIREFLY 8S on Car sunny day

Stabilisierung, Display und AnschlĂŒsse

Wie bereits die Hawkeye Firefly 7S bietet auch die Firefly 8S eine elektronische Bildstabilisierung mittels eines 6-Achsen Gyroskops. Wie sich die Bildstabiliserung schlĂ€gt, wird sich erst in kommenden Tests zeigen. Zumindest der VorgĂ€nger war dahingehend gut optimiert und lieferte akzeptable Ergebnisse. RĂŒckseitig befindet sich ein 2 Zoll großes LCD Display, das mit 640 x 480 Pixel auflöst. Eine Bedienung mittels Touchscreen ist nicht vorhanden. Die AnschlĂŒsse belaufen sich auf eine Micro HDMI und Micro USB Buchse, sowie einen Micro SD-Speicherkartenslot. Besonders interessant ist die Möglichkeit ein externes Mikrofon mit der Kamera zu verbinden, sodass eine deutlich bessere Tonaufnahme erzielt werden kann.

WiFi, App und Akku

Kabellos kann die Firefly 8S ĂŒber WiFi und Bluetooth angesprochen werden. Mit der passenden Firefly App, die es auch im Google PlayStore gibt, kann die Action Cam komplett ferngesteuert werden und man hat einen direkten Zugriff auf die, auf der SD-Speicherkarte befindlichen, gespeicherten Aufnahmen. Ebenfalls erwĂ€hnenswert ist der 1.200 mAh starke Akku, der im Vergleich zu Konkurrenzmodellen geringfĂŒgig grĂ¶ĂŸer ausfĂ€llt. Der Hersteller verspricht Laufzeiten von 99 Minuten. Ein durchaus realistischer Wert, sofern man nicht in 4K aufnimmt. Auf 4K sind Werte zwischen 60 und 70 Minuten realistisch. Aber auch hier wird sich erst in ersten Tests zeigen, wie es sich tatsĂ€chlich mit der Akkulaufzeit verhĂ€lt.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
112,58€
TOMTOP
10-30 Werktage
117,64€
Geekbuying kaufen
10-30 Werktage
132,41€
Banggood
10-30 Werktage
134,06€
Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
186,23€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 2. Juli 2020 12:00

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
82,76€
TOMTOP
10-30 Werktage
126,69€
Banggood
10-30 Werktage
132,36€
Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
202,65€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 2. Juli 2020 12:00
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments