other
3
Review

Feiyu G4 Test - 3-Axis Handheld Gimbal

by 7. July 2016
Someone who happens to come across this Feiyu G4 Review may be wondering what makes this "selfie stick" so expensive. However, an 3-Axis gimbal is much more than a selfie stick and has also built in a lot of technology that you would not expect this handheld gimbal outwardly. In the test we took a closer look at the Feiyu G4 gimbal.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

Feiyu

Product

Feiyu G4 3-Axis Handheld Gimbal

Specifications

Compatibility:
* GoPro 3, 3 +, 4
* SJCAM
* Thieye

Engine: Brushless 2804F
Pitch: -160 ° to + 160 °
Roll: -50 ° to + 50 °
Heading: -160 ° to + 160 °

Size: 239 x 75 x 65mm
Weight: 265g

What's in the box

1x gimbal
1x 18350 charger
1x USB cable
1x update dongle
2x thread
4x 18350 battery
1x Owner's Manual & Warranty Card

First impression of the Feiyu G4

Thankfully, the Feiyu G4 Handheld Gimbal has been reviewed for this review TOMTOP.com provided.

What's in the box

Feiyu G4 is delivered well and safely packed. All accessories and also the motors of the gimbal are embedded in foam and thus protected against transport damage. The scope of delivery includes the Gimbal, 4x 900mAh Batteries IMR 18350, a fitting Charging station with USB cable, The USB flash dongle to load a new firmware, two USB bridge cable for video transmission and charging the connected camera, two spare thread, as well as one English manual and warranty card, Not included is a hard shell case. This is supplied only from the Feiyu G4S.

Feiyu G4 3-Axis Gimbal Test / Review & Hands-On

Workmanship and hands-on

The application Feiyu G4 succeeded. The anodization is clean and smooth, the threads of the connectors are full, as well as the control buttons have a good pressure point and sit without play in the housing. The retaining clip of the camera slot is removable and is connected to the slot by means of two extended threaded screws. This slot is perfect for the entire GoPro series, but synonymous to comparable cameras brands SJCAM, ThiEYE, etc. One should make sure that the Case height of Action Cam, 4.1cm does not exceed.

Somewhat unfavorably placed is the power button of the Feiyu G4. This was hidden at the bottom, where there is also a thread to attach a possible extension. So if you want to use an extension, the gimbal must be turned on before you attach it. The cap of the USB port is also negatively noticeable. This small rubber cap is merely attached and is not firmly connected to the gimbal. When carelessness, the rubber cap is lost quickly.

Overall, my first impression of the Feiyu G4 3 gimbal is very positive. It fits comfortably in the hand, has a good weight and the workmanship is convincing.

commissioning

Before putting the device into operation, you should always read the information leaflets as well as the operating instructions. It is essential not to turn on the gimbal without the camera inserted, because otherwise the "brushless motors" are damaged and the joy of the new gimbal is quickly lost.

If you have inserted two of the four 18350 batteries and connected the action cam with the gimbal, this is immediately ready to go. The gimbal is operated via a multifunctional control button. As an extension, there is also a remote control, which can be purchased additionally. One of the two enclosed jumper cables charges the Action Cam by powering the gimbal. The second cable is for video transmission.

Features

Overall, the Feiyu G4 Gimbal offers four modes of operation, Here is an overview including an explanation of the individual modes.

Heading Following Fashion: Slight right and left movements follow the camera gently. On the other hand, vertical movements are balanced so that the camera is held in place. The maximum heading (horizontal direction of movement) is about 320 °.

Heading and Pitch following fashion: Here, the camera follows both right and left movements, as well as the movements up and down. The maximum slope is also 320 °, with the roll axis limited to 100 °.

Heading Lock Mode: All movements are blocked. The camera is held in position throughout.

Inverted Mode: With this the gimbal can be used in the opposite direction.

All modes can be accessed via different key sequences using the multifunctional one-button operation activate.

First recordings with the Feiyu G4

The commissioning was easy for me and my first recordings were impressive. As soon as you have an overview of the individual modes, the change succeeds fluently. The engines were well calibrated with the first commissioning and work altogether accurately. Nevertheless, even with extreme movements, a small irregularity in the engines has become noticeable. Especially when a motor is loaded too much, this is quickly overwhelmed and you can feel how the gimbal vibrates slightly. This problem can also occur with bad or too weak batteries. Nevertheless, the video recordings remained trouble-free.

Feiyu G4 vs. No Stabilization | Footage / Sample

firmware

The firmware of the Feiyu G4 is updated regularly. To perform an update you need a Windows computer, the latest firmware and the included dongle. The software required for updating as well as the firmware can be downloaded from the website of the manufacturer. The update process is explained in detail in the manual and can also be performed by laymen.

Feiyu G4 vs. G4S

At the time I wrote this review, there was already the successor, the Feiyu G4S. This gimbal offers a much improved operation by means of a directional pad, as well as a practical carrying case is included. The maximum inclination, rotation and roll angle have also been increased. With a price difference of about 50 €, the successor currently offers the better overall package.

BUTIf you do not have a GoPro Action Cam and need a gimbal, for example for an SJCAM, you will not be able to use it with the G4S. On the camera insert of the Feiyu G4S is a micro USB port, which is perfectly matched to the housing of the GoPro Hero 3, 3 + and 4. Action cams from other manufacturers that do not have a micro USB socket at the exact same location can not be placed inside the slot.

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

TOMTOP
10-30 working days
172,18€
Amazon
1-5 working days
185,95€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: April 5st, 2020 05:00

Final Words

rating
Positive

Good workmanship
Easy to use
Compaitbel with many action cams
Good stabilization
Four operating modes
Regular firmware updates

Negative

Poorly placed power button
USB cap
Slight vibration during extreme movements

First impression
8.0
8.3
Design
8.5
8.5
everyday practicality
8.5
7.5
Battery life
7.5
8.4
Summary

The Feiyu G4 3 Axis gimbal is well implemented and has met my expectations. The commissioning and the usability are easy and even as a beginner bloody fantastic pictures can be made after a short acclimation. Also interesting is the compatibility with Action Cams from different manufacturers.

If you own a GoPro Hero 3, 3 + or 4, the Feiyu G4S offers the better overall package.

8.1
Our rating
8.2
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

3
Leave a comment

avatar
Latest Oldest
Jack
guest
Jack

Thanks for the review. Do you know if I can use the Xiaomi Yi with the Feiyu G4S as well?

Timo
admin
Timo

If you rebuild the gimbal, it would be possible. However, then the USB port is still in the way!

Rouven
guest
Rouven

Hi can one help me? There is no connection between G6 and sjcam 8 pro. Otherwise runs super, I would like to control the cam on the gimbal.

Sonstige
3
Review

Feiyu G4 Test – 3-Axis Handheld Gimbal

by 7. Juli 2016

Manch einer, der zufällig auf dieses Feiyu G4 Review gestoßen ist, wird sich vielleicht fragen, was diesen „Selfie-Stick“ so teuer macht. Ein 3-Achsen-Gimbal ist allerdings weit mehr als ein Selfie-Stick ist und hat zudem einiges an Technik verbaut, die man diesem Handheld Gimbal äußerlich keinesfalls zumuten würde. Im Test haben wir uns das Feiyu G4 Gimbal näher angesehen.

Überblick
Hersteller

Feiyu

Produktbezeichnung

Feiyu G4 3-Axis Handheld Gimbal

Spezifikationen

Kompatibilität:
*GoPro 3, 3+, 4
*SJCAM
*Thieye

Motor: Brushless 2804F
Pitch: -160° bis +160°
Roll: -50° bis +50°
Heading: -160° bis +160°

Größe: 239 x 75 x 65mm
Gewicht: 265g

Lieferumfang

1x Gimbal
1x 18350 Ladegerät
1x USB Kabel
1x Update Dongle
2x Gewinde
4x 18350 Akku
1x Bedienungsanleitung & Garantiekarte

Erster Eindruck zum Feiyu G4

Das Feiyu G4 Handheld Gimbal wurde für dieses Review dankenderweise von TOMTOP.com bereitgestellt.

Lieferumfang

Das Feiyu G4 wird gut und sicher verpackt geliefert. Alle Zubehörteile und auch die Motoren des Gimbals sind in Schaumstoff eingebettet und somit vor Transportschäden geschützt. Der Lieferumfang umfasst das Gimbal, 4x 900mAh Akkus IMR 18350, eine passende Ladestation samt USB Kabel, den USB Flash-Dongle zum Aufspielen einer neuen Firmware, zwei USB Brückenkabel zur Videoübertragung und zum Aufladen der verbundenen Kamera, zwei Ersatzgewinde, sowie eine englischsprachige Bedienungsanleitung und eine Garantiekarte. Nicht enthalten ist ein Hartschalen-Case. Dieses wird erst ab dem Feiyu G4S mitgeliefert.

Feiyu G4 3-Axis Gimbal Test / Review & Hands-On

Verarbeitung und Hands-On

Die Verarbeitung des Feiyu G4 ist gelungen. Die Anodisierung ist sauber und glatt, die Gewinde der Verbindungsstücke greifen satt, als auch die Bedientasten haben einen guten Druckpunkt und sitzen ohne Spiel im Gehäuse. Die Halteklammer des Kameraeinschubes ist abnehmbar und wird durch zwei verlängerte Gewindeschrauben mit dem Einschub verbunden. Dieser Einschub ist passgenau zu der gesamten GoPro-Reihe, aber auch zu vergleichbaren Kameras der Marken SJCAM, ThiEYE usw. Man sollte darauf achten, dass die Gehäuse-Höhe der Action Cam, 4.1cm nicht überschreitet.

Etwas ungünstig platziert ist die Einschalttaste des Feiyu G4. Diese wurde am unteren Ende versteckt, wo sich ebenfalls ein Gewinde befindet um eine mögliche Verlängerung zu befestigen. Möchte man also eine Verlängerung nutzen, muss das Gimbal eingeschaltet sein, bevor man diese befestigt. Auch die Verschlusskappe des USB Anschlusses macht sich negativ bemerkbar. Diese kleine Gummikappe wird lediglich aufgesteckt und ist nicht mit dem Gimbal fest verbunden. Bei Unachtsamkeit geht die Gummikappe schnell verloren.

Insgesamt ist mein erster Eindruck vom Feiyu G4 3-Achsen-Gimbal überaus positiv. Es liegt griffig in der Hand, besitzt ein gutes Gewicht und auch die Verarbeitung überzeugt.

Inbetriebnahme

Vor der Inbetriebnahme sollte man auf jeden Fall die Hinweiskärtchen, als auch die Bedienungsanleitung durchlesen. Es ist essentiell wichtig, das Gimbal nicht ohne eingelegte Kamera einzuschalten, da ansonsten die „Brushless Motoren“ geschädigt werden und die Freude am neuen Gimbal schnell verloren ist.

Hat man zwei der vier 18350 Akkus eingelegt und die Action Cam mit dem Gimbal verbunden, ist dieses sofort startklar. Bedient wird das Gimbal über eine mehrfunktionale Bedientaste. Als Erweiterung gibt es aber auch eine Fernbedienung, die zusätzlich erworben werden kann. Über eines der beiden beiliegenden Brückenkabel kann die Action Cam mittels der Stromversorgung des Gimbals aufgeladen werden. Das zweite Kabel dient der Videoübertragung.

Funktionen

Insgesamt bietet das Feiyu G4 Gimbal vier Betriebsmodi. Hier eine Übersicht samt Erklärung der einzelnen Modi.

Heading Following Mode: Leichten Rechts- und Linksbewegungen folgt die Kamera sanft. Vertikale Bewegungen werden hingegen ausgeglichen, sodass die Kamera in Position gehalten wird. Das maximale Heading (Horizontale Bewegungsrichtung) liegt bei etwa 320°.

Heading and Pitch Following Mode: Hierbei folgt die Kamera sowohl Rechts- und Linksbewegungen, als auch den Bewegungen nach oben und nach unten. Die maximale Neigung liegt ebenfalls bei 320°, wobei die Rollachse auf 100° begrenzt ist.

Heading Lock Mode: Alle Bewegungen sind gesperrt. Die Kamera wird durchgängig in Position gehalten.

Inverted Mode: Hiemit lässt sich das Gimbal in entgegengesetzter Richtung verwenden.

Alle Modi lassen sich über unterschiedliche Tastenfolgen mittels der multifunktionalen Einknopfbedienung aktivieren.

Erste Aufnahmen mit dem Feiyu G4

Die Inbetriebnahme fiel mir leicht und auch meine ersten Aufnahmen konnten sich sehen lassen. Sobald man sich einen Überblick zu den einzelnen Modi verschafft hat, gelingt der Wechsel fließend. Die Motoren waren bereits mit der ersten Inbetriebnahme gut kalibriert und arbeiten insgesamt akkurat. Dennoch hat sich gerade bei extremen Bewegungen eine kleine Unregelmäßigkeit bei den Motoren bemerkbar gemacht. Gerade wenn ein Motor zu sehr belastet wird, ist dieser schnell überfordert und man spürt wie das Gimbal leicht vibriert. Dieses Problem kann aber auch bei schlechten oder zu schwachen Akkus auftreten. Trotzdem blieben die Videoaufnahmen störungsfrei.

Feiyu G4 vs. No Stabilization | Footage / Sample

Firmware

Die Firmware des Feiyu G4 wird regelmäßig geupdatet. Um ein Update durchzuführen benötigt man einen Windows Rechner, die aktuelle Firmware und den im Lieferumfang enthaltenen Dongle. Die zum Updaten benötigte Software, als auch die Firmware können über die Webseite des Herstellers heruntergeladen werden. Der Updatevorgang wird in der Bedienungsanleitung ausführlich erklärt und kann auch von Laien durchgeführt werden.

Feiyu G4 vs. G4S

Zum Zeitpunkt, als ich dieses Review schrieb, gab es bereits den Nachfolger, das Feiyu G4S. Dieses Gimbal bietet eine weitaus verbesserte Bedienung mittels eines Steuerkreuzes, als auch ist ein praktischer Transportkoffer im Lieferumfang enthalten. Auch der maximale Neigungs-, Dreh- und Rollwinkel wurden erhöht. Bei einem Preisunterschied von etwa 50€ bietet der Nachfolger derzeit das bessere Gesamtpaket.

ABER, wer keine GoPro Action Cam besitzt und ein Gimbal, beispielsweise für eine SJCAM benötigt, der wird diese nicht mit dem G4S verwenden können. Am Kameraeinschub des Feiyu G4S befindet sich ein micro USB Anschluss, der passgenau auf das Gehäuse der GoPro Hero 3, 3+ und 4 abgestimmt ist. Action Cams anderer Hersteller, die eine micro USB Buchse nicht an der exakt gleichen Stelle haben, lassen sich somit nicht innerhalb des Einschubes platzieren.

Preisvergleich

Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Amazon kaufen
Versand Versand aus Deutschland
157,00€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei TOMTOP kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
166,13€
Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 15. Dezember 2018 10:01
Positiv

►Gute Verarbeitung
►Einfache Handhabung
►Kompaitbel mit vielen Action Cams
►Gute Stabilisierung
►Vier Betriebsmodi
►Regelmäßige Firmware Updates

Negativ

►Ungünstig platzierte Einschalttaste
►USB Verschlusskappe
►Leichtes Vibrieren bei extremen Bewegungen

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.0
Design
8.5
Alltagstauglichkeit
8.5
Akkulaufzeit
7.5
Fazit

Das Feiyu G4 3 Axis Gimbal ist gut umgesetzt und hat meine Erwartungen erfüllt. Die Inbetriebnahme und die Bedienbarkeit sind einfach und auch als blutiger Anfänger lassen sich nach kurzer Eingewöhnung fantastische Aufnahmen anfertigen. Interessant ist zudem die Kompatibilität zu Action Cams verschiedener Hersteller.

Wer hingegen eine GoPro Hero 3, 3+ oder 4 besitzt, für den bietet das Feiyu G4S das derzeit bessere Gesamtpaket.

8.1
Punkte
You have rated this

3
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
2 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
3 Comment authors
RouvenTimoJack Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
Neueste Älteste
Benachrichtigung
Jack
Gast
Jack

Danke für den Testbericht. Weißt du ob ich die Xiaomi Yi auch mit dem Feiyu G4S verwenden kann?

Timo
Admin
Timo

Wenn du das Gimbal entsprechend umbaust, wäre es durchaus möglich. Allerdings ist dann immer noch der USB Anschluss im Weg!

Rouven
Gast
Rouven

Hi kann mir einer helfen? Kriege keine Verbindung zwischen G6 und sjcam 8 pro hin. Läuft sonst super bloß würde ich gerne die cam über das gimbal steuern.