Reviews
0
Review

Mailbird Review - The best email program 2020 ?!

by 6th of June 2020

Whether professional or private, many users nowadays rely on multiple email accounts. Mail programs are the practical way to manage all accounts centrally. Mailbird is a particularly extensive mail program that also offers a modern and easy-to-use interface.

Over the course of several weeks and everyday use, I took a closer look at the application. More on this in this test.

Overview
Product

Mailbird

Test: Mailbird

Update June 2020

Mailbird has released a major update that includes a new one Email tracking function implemented.

Has been in recent years Thunderbird my daily companion for emails. I managed more than 10 email accounts with it both privately and on business. Thunderbird is an excellent mail program, but something was missing. The design has not changed over the years and Thunderbird has also stopped working.

Mailbird Business email.

A change to Outlook was out of the question, why I tried Google, which application could meet my wishes. I was looking for a mail program that is particularly fast, looks good and can do more than just receive, send and manage mails.

I finally got up a few months ago Mailbird encountered. The Windows application is already there in development since 2012 and is still regularly updated by a small development team. They are a unique selling point numerous extensionsthat make Mailbird the perfect workspace.

Personal or business

To get straight to the point: Mailbird is not freeware! The application is available as a presonal and business version. The Personal license is in monthly Subscription model (2.92 euros / month) or as One-off payment (69 euros) available. The Business license is only available in Subscription model (4.08 euros / month). (As of June 2020)

Mailbird - The best mail program is here!

Special functions, such as the connection with microsoft Exchange, or the LinkedIn search, are withheld from the personal version. How Mailbird Personal and Mailbird Business differ from each other is on the Developer's website listed in detail. The division is fair, without users of Mailbird Personal having to do without essential functions or functions that are important for consumers.

Simple decor

The application is set up in no time. The Windows client download (Yes, Mailbird is ONLY for Windows), follow the installation manager, then specify that Mailbird should be used as the primary mail program and the setup of the mail accounts can begin.

The import function, which allows you to Import email accounts from previously used mail programs. In my case, Mailbird recognized that I had previously used Thunderbird. Accounts and emails can be transferred at the push of a button. In addition to Thunderbird, Outlook and Windows Live Mail are also supported.

Add contacts to Mailbird.

If you want to create a new account, Mailbird will guide you through the settings. Known Mail server the application automatically recognizes from the domain.

User Interface

There's one thing that bothered me a lot about Thunderbird. The order in which the mail accounts are listed cannot be changed easily! It's different with Mailbird. Accounts can be sorted in any order. At the same time, it is possible to have an individual account Colour assign. This provides a better overview, for example, the emails of all accounts in one shared inbox converge. Each account can also have one Icon / avatar be provided.

The appearance of the Mailbird interface can be customized. The inbox and the reading area can be aligned horizontally or vertically. Friends of dark colors get their money's worth, because besides that Light Theme stands up Dark theme to select. To give the surface a little more color, the background color can be adjusted, or you can replace the background completely with a background image.

Features and extensions

All extensions of Mailbird.

All extensions to Mailbird (as of June 2020).

Going into all functions and extensions would go beyond the scope of this test report. As already mentioned, Mailbird has been in development since 2012 and is constantly being expanded with new functions. At the time of this test, Mailbird was in the middle of "12-week feature sprint". A new function every week!

Filter

Filters are a must for any mail program! Mailbird has implemented the function in a particularly user-friendly manner. Select the mail account, set the condition and action, done. The filter makes it possible to label, move, copy or delete mails according to certain rules.

Contacts

Mailbird has integrated a first-class contact manager. The structure and design are similar to the Google Contacts app. Via the contact manager Address books imported from Google, Outlook and Microsoft Exchange. Contacts can be edited, grouped and linked with each other via the manager.

Mailbird address book.

Email tracking

In the extensive June update, Mailbird has one Email tracking function implemented. The shipment tracking works without an additional addon. There is a hidden one in the email Tracking url also sent. Depending on which mail program the recipient uses, he receives a message that a external content (Tracking url). If he refuses to load the external content, the sender receives no read confirmation. On acceptance, two green ticks in the email history confirm that the email has been read. At what time the mail was read is also visible.

Snooze

What was used very often in my daily work with Mailbird was the snooze function. The feature allows to postpone already received mails according to the schedule. When the time is reached, the mail appears again as unread in the mailbox.

Undo Send

Everybody knows it. You click on send and at the same time you notice that you forgot to add the attachment, misspelled the recipient's name or made a spelling mistake. In the Mailbird settings there is an option, one Transmission delay to activate. The delay can be set between 5 and 30 seconds. If you have already clicked Send, you can call the mail back in this time window.

Extensions

A special feature of Mailbird are the numerous extensions with which the range of functions can be adapted according to your own wishes. The mail program unites Microblogging services (e.g. Twitter and Weibo), Soziale Netzwerke (e.g. Facebook), Messenger (e.g. WhatsApp and WeChat), Cloud services (e.g. Dropbox) and Administrative services (e.g. Trello) in only one application.

The direct link between these services and Mailbird brings Benefits with yourself. For example, by integrating cloud services, files can be directly integrated as mail attachments using drag and drop. This makes Mailbird a comprehensive workspace for even more efficient work.

Mailbird - The best mail program for Windows!

Final Words

rating
Positive

Simple decor
Modern and customizable design
Slim and clear interface
Extensive filters and search
Snooze and Undo Send
Functional thanks to extensions

Negative

Available for Windows only
Advertising despite the payment model

rating
8.5
7.0
Summary

Mailbird is an excellent alternative to mail programs like Thunderbrid or Outlook. The application is only available in the payment model, but you also receive regular updates that continuously expand the range of functions. I particularly like the simplicity of use. Accounts are set up in no time at all and the user interface can be operated without prior knowledge. The numerous extensions make Mailbird the perfect workspace. Mailbird combines the best-known web applications in just one program.

Of course there are some things that I don't like. Unfortunately, Mailbird is only available for Windows. Unfortunately, users of other operating systems go away empty-handed. The not disengageable notifications, which pop up here and there despite the payment model, are a bit annoying.

8.5
Our rating
7.0
user Rating
7 ratings
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline feedback
View all comments

Reviews
0
Review

Mailbird Test – Das beste E-Mail Programm 2020?!

by 6. Juni 2020

Egal ob beruflich oder privat, viele Nutzer sind heutzutage auf mehrere E-Mail-Konten angewiesen. Mailprogramme sind der praktikable Weg, um alle Konten zentral zu verwalten. Ein besonders umfangreiches Mailprogramm, das dazu auch noch eine moderne und einfach zu bedienende Oberfläche bietet, ist Mailbird.

In mehrwöchiger und alltäglicher Nutzung habe ich mir die Anwendung näher angesehen. Mehr dazu in diesem Test.

Überblick
Produktbezeichnung

Mailbird

Test: Mailbird

Update Juni 2020

Mailbird hat ein umfängliches Update veröffentlicht, das eine neue E-Mail Trackingfunktion implementiert.

In den letzten Jahren war Thunderbird mein täglicher Begleiter in Sachen Mails. Sowohl privat als auch geschäftlich habe ich mehr als 10 E-Mail-Konten damit verwaltet. Thunderbird ist ein hervorragendes Mailprogramm, doch irgendwas fehlte. Das Design hat sich all die Jahre nicht verändert und auch funktional ist Thunderbird zeitlich stehengeblieben.

Mailbird Business E-Mail.

Ein Wechsel zu Outlook kam nicht in Frage, weshalb ich Google bemühte, welche Anwendung meinen Wünschen gerecht werden könnte. Ich war auf der Suche nach einen Mailprogramm, das besonders schnell ist, gut aussieht und mehr kann als nur Mails empfangen, senden und verwalten.

Vor einigen Monaten bin ich schließlich auf Mailbird gestoßen. Die Windows Anwendung befindet sich bereits seit 2012 in Entwicklung und wird bis heute durch ein kleines Entwicklerteam regelmäßig mit Updates versorgt. Ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal sind die zahlreichen Erweiterungen, die Mailbird zum perfekten Workspace machen.

Personal oder Business

Um es gleich vorweg zu nehmen: Mailbird ist keine Freeware! Die Anwendung ist als Presonal und Business Version erhältlich. Die Personal Lizenz ist im monatlichen Abo-Modell (2.92 Euro / Monat) oder als Einmalzahlung (69 Euro) erhältlich. Die Business Lizenz gibt es ausschließlich im Abo-Modell (4.08 Euro / Monat). (Stand Juni 2020)

Mailbird - Das beste Mailprogramm gibt es hier!

Spezielle Funktionen, wie z.B. die Verbindung mit Microsoft Exchange, oder die LinkedIn Suche, sind der Personal Version vorenthalten. Wie sich Mailbird Personal und Mailbird Business voneinander unterscheiden ist auf der Webseite des Entwicklers im Detail aufgelistet. Die Unterteilung ist fair, ohne dass Nutzer von Mailbird Personal auf wesentliche bzw. für Verbraucher wichtige Funktionen verzichten müssen.

Einfache Einrichtung

Die Anwendung ist im Handumdrehen eingerichtet. Den Windows Client herunterladen (Ja, Mailbird gibt es NUR für Windows), dem Installationsmanager folgen, anschließend festlegen, dass Mailbird als primäres Mailprogramm genutzt werden soll und schon kann die Einrichtung der Mail-Konten beginnen.

Besonders praktisch ist die Import-Funktion, die es gestattet, E-Mail-Konten aus zuvor genutzten Mailprogrammen zu importieren. In meinem Fall hat Mailbird erkannt, dass ich zuvor Thunderbird genutzt habe. Konten und Mails lassen sich auf Knopfdruck übertragen. Unterstützt werden neben Thunderbird auch Outlook und Windows Live Mail.

Mailbird Kontakte hinzufügen.

Möchte man ein neues Konto anlegen, führt Mailbird verständlich durch die Einstellungen. Bekannte Mailserver erkennt die Anwendung automatisch anhand der Domain.

Benutzeroberfläche

Es gibt eine Sache, die mich bei Thunderbird immens gestört hat. Die Reihenfolge, in der die Mail-Konten gelistet sind, lässt sich nicht auf einfachem Wege ändern! Bei Mailbird ist das anders. Konten lassen sich in beliebiger Reihenfolge sortieren. Gleichzeitig ist es möglich, jedem Konto eine eigene Farbe zuzuordnen. Das sorgt für eine bessere Übersicht, sollten beispielsweise die Mails sämtlicher Konten in einem gemeinsamen Posteingang zusammenlaufen. Jedes Konto kann zudem mit einem Symbol / Avatar versehen werden.

Das Aussehen der Mailbird Oberfläche ist individuell anpassbar. Der Posteingang und der Lesebereich lassen sich horizontal oder vertikal ausrichten. Freunde dunkler Farben kommen auf ihre Kosten, denn neben dem Light Theme steht ein Dark Theme zur Auswahl. Um der Oberfläche etwas mehr Farbe zu verleihen ist die Hintergrundfarbe anpassbar, oder man tauscht den Hintergrund komplett durch ein Hintergrundbild aus.

Funktionen und Erweiterungen

Sämtliche Erweiterungen von Mailbird.

Sämtliche Erweiterungen von Mailbird (Stand Juni 2020).

Auf sämtliche Funktionen und Erweiterungen einzugehen, würde den Umfang dieses Testberichts sprengen. Wie bereits erwähnt, befindet sich Mailbird bereits seit 2012 in Entwicklung und wird ständig um neue Funktionen erweitert. Zum Zeitpunkt dieses Tests befand sich Mailbird mitten im „12-week feature sprint“. Jede Woche eine neue Funktion!

Filter

Was bei keinem Mailprogramm fehlen darf, sind Filter! Mailbird hat die Funktion besonders benutzerfreundlich umgesetzt. Das Mailkonto auswählen, die Bedingung und Aktion festlegen, fertig. Der Filter macht es möglich, Mails nach bestimmten Regeln zu kennzeichnen, zu verschieben, zu kopieren oder zu löschen.

Kontakte

Mailbird hat einen erstklassigen Kontaktmanager integriert. Der Aufbau und das Design ähneln der Google Kontakte App. Über den Kontaktmanager können Adressbücher von Google, Outlook und Microsoft Exchange importiert werden. Kontakte lassen sich über den Manager bearbeiten, gruppieren und miteinander verlinken.

Mailbird Adressbuch.

E-Mail Tracking

Im umfänglichen Juni Update hat Mailbird eine E-Mail Trackingfunktion implementiert. Die Sendungsverfolgung funktioniert ohne zusätzliches Addon. In der E-Mail wird eine versteckte Tracking-URL mitgesendet. Je nachdem welches Mail-Programm der Empfänger einsetzt, erhält er einen Hinweis, dass ein externer Inhalt (Tracking-URL) geladen werden möchte. Lehnt er das Laden des externen Inhalts ab, erhält der Sender keine Lesebestätigung. Bei Annahme bestätigen wiederum zwei grüne Haken im E-Mail Verlauf, dass die Mail gelesen wurde. Zu welcher Uhrzeit die Mail gelesen wurde ist ebenfalls einsehbar.

Snooze

Was in meiner täglichen Arbeit mit Mailbird sehr häufig Verwendung fand, war die Snooze-Funktion. Das Feature erlaubt es, bereits erhaltene Mails nach Zeitplan zurückzustellen. Ist der Zeitpunkt erreicht, erscheint die Mail erneut als ungelesen im Postfach.

Undo Send

Jeder kennt es. Man klickt auf senden und im gleichen Augenblick bemerkt man, dass man vergessen hat den Anhang beizufügen, den Namen des Empfängers falsch geschrieben hat oder ein Rechtschreibfehler unterlaufen ist. In den Einstellungen von Mailbird gibt es die Option, eine Sendeverzögerung zu aktivieren. Die Verzögerung ist zwischen 5 und 30 Sekunden einstellbar. Hat man bereits auf Senden geklickt, besteht die Möglichkeit, die Mail in diesem Zeitfenster zurückzurufen.

Erweiterungen

Eine Besonderheit von Mailbird sind die zahlreichen Erweiterungen, mit denen sich der Funktionsumfang nach eigenen Wünschen anpassen lässt. Das Mailprogramm vereint Mikroblogging-Dienste (z.B. Twitter und Weibo), Soziale Netzwerke (z.B. Facebook), Messenger (z.B. WhatsApp und WeChat), Cloud-Dienste (z.B. Dropbox) und Verwaltungs-Dienste (z.B. Trello) in nur einer Anwendung.

Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen diesen Diensten und Mailbird bringt Vorteile mit sich. Beispielsweise können durch die Integration von Cloud-Diensten, Dateien per Drag and Drop direkt als Mail-Anhang eingebunden werden. Dadurch ist Mailbird ein umfänglicher Workspace für noch effizienteres Arbeiten.

Mailbird - Das beste Mailprogramm für Windows!

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Einfache Einrichtung
Modernes und anpassbares Design
Schlanke und übersichtliche Oberfläche
Umfangreiche Filter und Suche
Snooze und Undo Send
Funktionsstark durch Erweiterungen

Negativ

Nur für Windows erhältlich
Werbung trotz Bezahlmodell

Bewertung
8.5
7.0
Fazit

Mailbird ist eine hervorragende Alternative zu Mailprogrammen wie Thunderbrid oder Outlook. Zwar gibt es die Anwendung nur im Bezahlmodell, dafür erhält man aber auch regelmäßige Updates, die den Funktionsumfang fortlaufend erweitern. Besonders gefällt mir die Einfachheit der Anwendung. Konten sind im Handumdrehen eingerichtet und die Benutzeroberfläche ist ohne Vorkenntnisse bedienbar. Die zahlreichen Erweiterungen machen Mailbird zum perfekten Workspace. Die bekanntesten Webanwendungen vereint Mailbird in nur einem Programm.

Natürlich gibt es auch einige Dinge, die mir nicht gefallen. Leider gibt es Mailbird ausschließlich für Windows. Nutzer anderer Betriebssysteme gehen leider leer aus. Etwas störend sind die nicht abschaltbaren Benachrichtigungen, die trotz Bezahlmodell hier und da aufpoppen.

8.5
Unsere Bewertung
7.0
Nutzerbewertung
7 ratings
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments