Reviews
1
Review

NO.1 G4 Test - Smartwatch

by 8th of June 2016
With the NO.1 G4, the Chinese watch manufacturer NO.1 has continued its "G series" and released a smartwatch, which focuses on an elegant design. Which innovations the current model contains and how it differentiates this watch from the other models, you'll find out in this review of the NO.1 G4.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

NO.1

Product

NO.1 G4

Specifications

SoC: MediaTek MT2502
Display: 1.2 inches (240 * 240)

RAM: 64MB
ROM: 128MB
Memory extension: 16GB

Network:
2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz

Battery: 350mAh

What's in the box

1x NO.1 G4
1x 4 pin charging cable
1x user manual

First impression of the NO.1 G4

The NO.1 G4 is delivered in a simple watch carton, on which all specifications of the watch are already printed. The entire scope of delivery is extremely tight and includes in addition to the smartwatch only an 4 pin charging cable and a user manual in Chinese and English.

The presentation of the NO.1 G4 differs from the other models by a simple yet elegant metal bracelet with round watch case. After unpacking, however, I noticed immediately that the bracelet is quite sharp. The deployment clasp closes well and provides support. For size adjustment, individual links of the bracelet can be removed. For this, however, you need clock tool.

NO.1 G4 Smartwatch Review (Unboxing / Hands-On / Test)

The buttons on the side of the case have a slightly too soft pressure point. Also, the keys are a bit loose in the case. The back of the NO.1 G4 is made of plastic. To get to the SIM and memory card slot, the back is removable. Behind the back hides also the 350mAh large battery, which is soldered to the board firmly. As network standard GSM is supported, whereby telephony with the NO.1 G4 is possible. On the back of the smartwatch are also the 4 pin charge connector and the optical heart rate monitor.

Display

The display diagonal of the NO.1 G4 is 1.3 inches. The resolution of the round display is 240x240 pixels. The color representation is successful. The black level is rich and other colors are also strong, but still natural. Individual pixels can only be seen on closer inspection. The brightness of the display can be changed by 5 levels in the settings. In direct sunlight, the round display is easy to read, as is the maximum viewing angle. To extend the battery life, you can set how long the display should be active. In the more special "Motion" settings, you can set whether the display should activate automatically as soon as you tilt the watch or bring it into view.

Performance and usability

According to the manufacturer, the NO.1 G4 uses a MediaTek MTK6261 processor. On the watch carton, however, the name MTK2505 is printed. The memory of the smartwatch is 64MB. The internal memory is located at 128MB and can be expanded with a micro SD memory card by additional 16GB.

The usability is good overall. The menu navigation is largely fluid and the pre-installed apps can be opened quickly.

Apps and Watchfaces

The NO.1 G4 offers a total of 32 apps and 4 watchfaces. You should not compare Smartwach with Android Wear. Apps can not be added later, which is why you rely on the pre-installed apps. Watchfaces, however, could be added later, according to the manufacturer.

In addition to the apps required for telephony, such as the phone book, the message input or the number dialing, the NO.1 G4 also offers numerous fitness apps. These include a pedometer that counts steps, including statistics on calories burned and distance traveled, a sleep monitor that determines sleep patterns at night, a motion memory, as well as a UV detection and apps to measure your sleep Pulses are preinstalled.

In addition, there are also other useful apps on the clock, such as a file manager, an app for music playback, an app for making sound recordings, a calculator and many more.

The NO.1 G4 has so far all the necessary apps. The individual apps are well implemented at a low price. The heart rate monitor is to be estimated as reasonably accurate. The pedometer is similar to the NO.1 G3, with the counted steps slightly different from those of the Xiaomi Mi band.

Telephony

Due to the back-integrated SIM slot, the NO.1 G4 resembles a small smartphone. Calls can be made directly with the Smartwach. However, only GSM is supported.

The call quality is good. In the test, the caller could understand me, but the recording quality of the microphone is a bit tinny. This can also be used as a hands-free device via the external loudspeaker of the watch, as well as calls from the smartphone can be received and made via Bluetooth.

I could not convince myself of the telephony function. I still prefer to use the smartphone to make a phone call.

Fundo Companion

To connect the NO.1 G4 via Bluetooth with the smartphone, you need the app "Fundo Companion", which is available in the Google Play Store. There is no comparable app for Apple iOS, however, the smartphone can be automatically synchronized with the NO.1 G4 as soon as a Bluetooth connection has been established. To the "Fundo Companion" ever nu

Within the app, among other things, the fitness data recorded by the smartwatch can be synchronized and displayed in a graphical overview. For this one must furnish however a user account with the manufacturer. It also manages notifications to be received by the watch, as well as call and SMS settings.

Accumulator

The capacity of the battery is 350mAh. The runtime is average good, but you should recharge the watch after normal use in the evening. In standby, however, the consumption is very low, which is why the smartwatch can also be several days. A power saving mode dims the display and can extend the runtime.

The implementation with the 4 pin charging cable is less successful. The magnets are very weak, as well as missing indentations, which is why the connector rests only loosely. With the slightest movement on the cable, the connector slips and you have to place it again accurately. Also, the loading time takes a relatively long time. In the test, I was only able to measure a charge current of 190mA with a multimeter. The loading time is thus almost 2 hours.

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

Gearbest
3-7 working days
40,37โ‚ฌ

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: April 5st, 2020 17:00

Final Words

rating
Positive

Good display
Numerous apps
Receive notifications
GSM

Negative

Sharp-edged watch strap
Shaky charging connector
What's in the box

First impression
7.5
-
Design
8.0
-
Display
8.5
-
everyday practicality
8.5
-
Battery life
8.5
-
Summary

The NO.1 G4 is the most elegant version of the NO.1 "G-Series". The interface has remained the same and the apps have been taken over as far as possible. A big no-go, however, is the sharp-edged watch strap. If you have the smartwatch in the shortlist, I recommend the variant with the leather strap. For those who value fitness, the NO.1 G3 is the better choice.

8.2
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

1
Leave a comment

avatar
Latest Oldest
Matthias
guest
Matthias

How to turn off / mute the speaker of the watch?

Reviews
1
Review

NO.1 G4 Test – Smartwatch

by 8. Juni 2016

Mit der NO.1 G4 hat der chinesische Smartwatch-Hersteller NO.1 seine "G-Serie" fortgesetzt und eine Smartwatch herausgebracht, die vor allem auf ein elegantes Design setzt. Welche Neuerungen das derzeit aktuelle Modell beinhaltet und wie sie sich diese Smartwatch von den anderen Modellen unterscheidet, das erfahrt ihr in diesem Review zur NO.1 G4.

Überblick
Hersteller

NO.1

Produktbezeichnung

NO.1 G4

Spezifikationen

SoC: MediaTek MT2502
Display: 1.2 Zoll (240*240)

RAM: 64MB
ROM: 128MB
Speichererweiterung: 16GB

Netz:
2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz

Akku: 350mAh

Lieferumfang

1x NO.1 G4
1x 4-Pin Ladekabel
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Erster Eindruck zur NO.1 G4

Die NO.1 G4 wird im schlichten Uhrenkarton geliefert, auf dem bereits sämtliche Spezifikationen der Uhr abgedruckt sind. Der gesamte Lieferumfang fällt überaus knapp aus und beinhaltet neben der Smartwatch lediglich noch ein 4 Pin Ladekabel und eine Bedienungsanleitung in chinesischer und englischer Sprache.

Die Aufmachung der NO.1 G4 unterscheidet sich von den anderen Modellen durch ein schlichtes und gleichzeitiges elegantes Metall-Armband mit rundem Uhrengehäuse. Nach dem Auspacken ist mir allerdings sofort aufgefallen, dass das Armband doch recht scharfkantig ist. Die Faltschließe lässt sich gut schließen und bietet Halt. Zur Größenanpassung lassen sich einzelne Glieder des Armbandes entfernen. Hierfür benötigt man allerdings Uhrenwerkzeug.

NO.1 G4 Smartwatch Review (Unboxing / Hands-On / Test)

Die seitlich am Gehäuse der Uhr angebrachten Bedientasten haben einen etwas zu weichen Druckpunkt. Auch sitzen die Tasten etwas locker im Gehäuse. Die Tragseite der NO.1 G4 besteht aus Kunststoff. Um an den SIM- und Speicherkartenslot zu gelangen ist die Rückseite abnehmbar. Hinter der Rückseite verbirgt sich zudem der 350mAh große Akku, der mit der Platine fest verlötet ist. Als Netzstandard wird GSM unterstützt, wodurch Telefonie mit der NO.1 G4 möglich ist. Auf der Tragseite der Smartwatch befinden sich des Weiteren der 4 Pin Ladeconnector und der optische Pulsmesser.

Display

Die Displaydiagonale der NO.1 G4 beträgt 1.3 Zoll. Die Auflösung des runden Displays beträgt 240×240 Pixel. Die Farbdarstellung ist gelungen. Der Schwarzwert ist satt und auch sonstige Farben werden kräftig, aber dennoch natürlich dargestellt. Einzelne Pixel sind nur bei näherem Betrachten zu erkennen. Die Helligkeit des Displays lässt sich in den Einstellungen um 5 Stufen verändern. Bei direkter Sonneneinstrahlung ist das runde Display gut ablesbar, als auch überzeugt der maximale Blickwinkel. Um die Laufzeit des Akkus zu verlängern lässt sich einstellen, wie lange das Display aktiv sein soll. In den spezielleren „Motion“ Einstellungen kann eingestellt werden, ob sich das Display automatisch aktivieren soll, sobald man die Uhr neigt bzw. ins Blickfeld führt.

Leistung und Bedienbarkeit

Laut Hersteller verwendet die NO.1 G4 einen MediaTek MTK6261 Prozessor. Auf dem Uhrenkarton ist hingegen die Bezeichnung MTK2505 abgedruckt. Der Arbeitsspeicher der Smartwatch beträgt 64MB. Der interne Speicher liegt bei 128MB und ist mit einer micro SD-Speicherkarte um zusätzliche 16GB erweiterbar.

Die Bedienbarkeit ist insgesamt gut. Die Menüführung ist weitestgehend flüssig und die vorinstallierten Apps lassen sich zügig öffnen.

Apps und Watchfaces

Die NO.1 G4 bietet insgesamt 32 Apps und 4 Watchfaces. Man sollte die Smartwach keinesfalls mit Android Wear vergleichen. Apps lassen sich nachträglich nicht hinzufügen, weshalb man auf die vorinstallierten Apps angewiesen ist. Watchfaces hingegen könnten laut Hersteller nachträglich hinzugefügt werden.

Neben den zur Telefonie benötigten Apps wie z.B. dem Telefonbuch, dem Nachrichteneingang oder aber der Nummernwahl, bietet die NO.1 G4 auch zahlreiche Fitness-Apps. Diese belaufen sich unter anderem auf ein Pedometer, der Schritte zählt und auch in einer Statistik die verbrannten Kalorien und die zurückgelegte Strecke erfasst, ein Schlafmonitor, der den nächtlichen Schlafrhythmus ermittelt, eine Bewegungserinnerung, aber auch eine UV-Erkennung und eine Apps zum Messen des Pulses sind vorinstalliert.

Daneben befinden sich auch weitere nützliche Apps auf der Uhr, wie beispielsweise ein Dateimanager, eine App zur Musikwiedergabe, eine App zum Anfertigen von Tonaufnahmen, ein Taschenrechner und viele Weitere.

Die NO.1 G4 besitzt soweit alle notwendigen Apps. Die einzelnen Apps sind dem geringen Preis entsprechend gut umgesetzt. Der Pulsmesser ist als einigermaßen genau einzuschätzen. Der Schrittzähler ist mit dem der NO.1 G3 vergleichbar, wobei die gezählten Schritte etwas von denen des Xiaomi Mi Bands abweichen.

Telefonie

Durch den rückseitig integrierten SIM Slot ähnelt die NO.1 G4 einem kleinen Smartphone. Anrufe können direkt mit der Smartwach getätigt werden. Allerdings wird hierbei nur GSM unterstützt.

Die Anrufqualität ist gut. Im Test konnte mich der Gesprächspartner verstehen, allerdings ist die Aufnahmequalität des Mikrofons etwas blechern. Über den externen Lautsprecher der Uhr kann diese auch als Freisprecheinrichtung genutzt werden, als auch können Anrufe des Smartphones über Bluetooth entgegengenommen und getätigt werden.

Mich selbst konnte die Telefoniefunktion nicht überzeugen. Ich bevorzuge es weiterhin mit dem Smartphone zu telefonieren.

Fundo Companion

Um die NO.1 G4 über Bluetooth mit dem Smartphone zu verbinden, benötigt man die App „Fundo Companion“, die unter anderem im Google Play Store erhältlich ist. Für Apple iOS gibt es keine vergleichbare App, allerdings lässt sich das Smartphone automatisch mit der NO.1 G4 synchronisieren, sobald eine Bluetooth Verbindung hergestellt wurde. Um die „Fundo Companion“ überhaupt nu

Innerhalb der App können unter anderem die von der Smartwatch erfassten Fitness-Daten synchronisiert werden und in einer grafischen Übersicht dargestellt werden. Hierzu muss man sich allerdings ein Nutzerkonto beim Hersteller einrichten. Des Weiteren lassen sich die Benachrichtigungen verwalten, die von der Smartwatch empfangen werden sollen, als auch lassen sich Anruf- und SMS-Einstellungen vornehmen.

Akku

Die Kapazität des Akkus beträgt 350mAh. Die Laufzeit ist durchschnittlich gut, jedoch sollte man die Smartwatch nach gewöhnlicher Nutzung am Abend wieder aufladen. Im Standby ist der Verbrauch hingegen sehr gering, weshalb die Smartwatch auch mehrere Tage liegen kann. Ein Energiesparmodus dimmt das Display zusätzlich und kann die Laufzeit etwas verlängern.

Die Umsetzung mit dem 4 Pin Ladekabel ist weniger gelungen. Die Magnete sind sehr schwach, als auch fehlen Einbuchtungen, weshalb der Connector nur locker aufliegt. Bei der kleinsten Bewegung am Kabel verrutscht der Connector und man muss diesen erneut akkurat platzieren. Auch dauert die Ladezeit verhältnismäßig lange. Im Test konnte ich mit einem Multimeter lediglich einen Ladestrom von 190mA messen. Die Ladezeit liegt somit bei knapp 2 Stunden.

Preisvergleich

Preisvergleich - Angebot bei GearBest kaufen
Versand Versand aus Europa
23,69€
Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 12. Dezember 2018 07:00
Positiv

►Gutes Display
►Zahlreiche Apps
►Empfang von Benachrichtigungen
►GSM

Negativ

►Scharfkantiges Uhrenarmband
►Wackeliger Ladeconnector
►Lieferumfang

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
7.5
Design
8.0
Display
8.5
Alltagstauglichkeit
8.5
Akkulaufzeit
8.5
Fazit

Die NO.1 G4 ist die eleganteste Variante der NO.1 "G-Serie". Die Oberfläche ist gleichgeblieben und auch die Apps wurden weitestgehend übernommen. Ein großes No-Go ist allerdings das scharfkantige Uhrenarmband. Sollte man die Smartwatch in der engeren Auswahl haben, empfehle ich die Variante mit dem Lederarmband. Wer zudem viel Wert auf die Fitnessfunktionen legt, für den ist die NO.1 G3 die besser Wahl.

8.2
Punkte
You have rated this

1
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
Matthias Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
Neueste Älteste
Benachrichtigung
Matthias
Gast
Matthias

Wie kann man den Lautsprecher der Smartwatch ausschalten bzw. stummschalten?