Reviews
1
Review

Optoma GT1080 Darbee Test - DLP short throw projector

by 9. August 2017
The Optoma GT1080 Darbee is a short throw projector with integrated DARBEE visual presence technology designed to deliver a sharper image and a more realistic image. For this test report, the projector was used over a period of 4 weeks in everyday life.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

optoma

Product

Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Specifications

General
Type: DLP
Chip: Single 0.65 "1080p DC3
Lens: F / 2.8 f = 7.42mm

Brightness: 3000 ANSI Lumens
Resolution: 1920 x 1080 pixels
Picture format: 16: 9 (4: 3)
Projection size: 45.3 "- 300"
Projection Ratio: 0.49: 1
Contrast: 28.000: 1

Focus: Manual
Zoom: Digital

Connections
2x HDMI 1.4a (1x MHL)
1x 3.5mm jack (audio out)
1x 3D Sync Port
1x USB Type-A female
1x USB mini-B female connector
1x 12V output

other
Lamp life: 8000 / 6000 / 5000
Speaker: 16W
WiFi: Optional
Power consumption: 225W / 187W (Eco) / 0.5W (standby)
Size: 315 224 x x 114 mm
Weight: 2.66 kg

First impression of the Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Unlike conventional projectors, are Short Throw Projectors Like the GT1080 Darbee, it is able to project an extensive picture at the shortest distance. Sense makes such a beamer, especially where there are no mounting options or the projection distance due to shadows can not be met. Even gamers benefit from short throw projectors, which is why the Gaming suitability was included in the test.

With Dimensions of 31.5 x 22.4 x 11.4 cm and a Weight of 2.66 kg the projector is comparatively compact and is therefore also suitable for a movie night with friends. The beamer can be used standing as well as hanging. On the bottom there are three rubberized and height-adjustable feet, as well as a Ceiling mounting option, To protect against theft, the projector can be back with a Kensington lock be provided.

On the one hand, the GT1080 Darbee can be operated via the operating surface above the glossy white plastic case, as well as the supplied Remote Control, The focus is on a mechanical knob. There is no optical zoom option or optical lens shift. The connection options Optoma has placed this device on the left side of the case. These are two HDMI 1.4a sockets with 3D and MHL 1.2 support, an 3.5 mm audio output, an 12V output, a USB-A socket with an output voltage of 1A, a USB mini-B socket and an 3D sync port. There are no other video interfaces like DVI or VGA. The build quality convinces.

Connection options of the Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Hardware

The Optoma GT1080 Darbee is a Full HD DLP projector with .65 "DC3 chip from Texas Instruments. The maximum possible Brightness is 3.000 ANSI lumens. The Konstrastverhältnis specifies Optoma with 28.000: 1. Depending on which display mode is used, the Lifespan of the lamp from 5000 to 8000 hours. A speaker is integrated.

The Beamer is advertised with the "Darbee Visual Presence Technology", which provides above all for a particularly clear picture with better depth of field. Also part of the game is Optomas "Amazing Color"After which the projector adheres to the Rec.709 color scheme and more accurate and rich colors are displayed. The so-called "Dynamic Black Technology" optimizes the contrast ratio and adapts to the scene. By the 3D support Pretty much any 3D video footage can be leaked.

As already indicated, the projector has no optical zoom. Although a digital zoom is available, unlike an optical zoom, the image can not be enlarged without loss. However, since this is a short throw projector, you can "zoom in manually" by slightly shifting the distance. The maximal Screen size lies between 45,3 "and 300", at a distance between 0.5 and 3.35 meters. Optionally, the projector with the Optoma HDCast Pro dongle in a Wifi be integrated so that playback material can be received wirelessly.

Control buttons of the Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Commissioning and user interface

Commissioning is not associated with any hurdles and can also be carried out by a technical layman. If the beamer is connected to the power, only the playback device must be connected via HDMI and after a really short warm-up phase the picture already appears. Connected devices are automatically detected and selected as the source with the first connection.

Service

The operation can on the one hand via the device itself, or via the supplied Remote Control respectively. No matter which operating option you choose, all functions can be accessed via both operating modes and are clearly indicated by symbols as well as a caption (remote control). In addition, the remote control is illuminated in blue so that the GT1080 Darbee can be operated easily in the dark. Whether you stand in front of, next to or behind the projector, the infrared remote control works from any position. Three LED indicators on the top of the projector provide additional information about the operating status.

Remote control of the Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Home theater capability

As a short throw projector, the Optoma GT1080 Darbee is already capable of one Distance of less than a meter an about 90 inches big and especially to project high-resolution image. In home theater, the projector compares well. A total of 5 display modes are available by default. A custom mode allows you to create your own preset.

If you turn on the projector for the first time, this is in the so-called "Vivid display mode", This creates a particularly bright picture, which is especially suitable for the not completely darkened room. However, the contrast is rather moderate in this mode. Dark hues appear slightly washed out in Vivid mode. Dark scenes are covered with a visible gray haze.

In the darkened room above all convinced "Game" and "Cinema" display mode, Combined with the Darbee & Dynamic Black technology, it produces a very sharp image with excellent depth of focus, rich colors and acceptable contrast. The intensity of the Darbee technology can be customized within the display settings. The fan volume of the beamer is comparable to other devices. In bright mode, the projector is quite audible. In ECO mode, the fan noise the movie experience never disturbed. At normal TV or movie volume, the fan noise is simply lost. The integrated Loudspeakers delivers a balanced sound with high volume, which allows the projector without external playback source for one or the other film can be used.

Wide Angle Lens of the Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Gaming suitability

The Optoma GT1080 Darbee wants to be one of the best gaming projectors. For this the device is with a "Enhanced Gaming Mode" which reduces the response time from 33 ms to 18 ms. Compared to current gaming monitors, the GT1080 Darbee still hangs behind. Especially experienced PC gamers, who especially prefer shooters, will feel the difference between a responsive monitor and the GT1080 Darbee. On the other hand, for consoleros who play mostly on TV, the difference is unlikely to be significant. The Darbee technology has made a particularly positive impression during gaming. Due to the increased sharpness, textures appear particularly detailed. The caused by many DLP projectors "Rainbow effect" has hardly occurred during the test phase.

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

Amazon
1-5 working days
769,99€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: April 6st, 2020 05:01

Final Words

rating
Positive

Compact design
Good workmanship
Accurate color representation
Particularly sharp picture
High brightness
Extensive setting options
Good gaming suitability

Negative

No optical zoom
Weak "Vivid mode"
No VGA / DVI
No integrated WiFi

First impression
8.5
6.7
application
8.5
8.9
Design
8.5
10
Features
8.0
9.5
usability
8.0
10
Home theater capability
9.0
5.5
Gaming suitability
9.0
10
picture quality
8.5
10
Loudspeakers
7.0
10
Operation Volume
7.0
10
Summary

The Optoma GT1080 Darbee is a versatile projector suitable for the home cinema user as well as the console player. As a short throw projector, the GT1080 Darbee can be set up virtually anywhere and its compact size also makes it suitable for a movie night with friends. The beamer was especially convincing due to the outstanding color brilliance, the pleasant operating volume (ECO) and the Darbee technology, which ensures particularly sharp textures in gaming.

8.2
Our rating
9.1
user Rating
3 ratings
You have rated this

1
Leave a comment

avatar
Latest Oldest
Amila
guest
Amila

The picture is very good, even if the room is not completely darkened. But the blacks are not deep black, but that does not bother me at all. The projector runs nice and quiet. I'm very satisfied.

Reviews
1
Review

Optoma GT1080 Darbee Test – DLP Kurzdistanzprojektor

by 9. August 2017
Der Optoma GT1080 Darbee ist ein Kurzdistanzprojektor mit integrierter DARBEE Visual Presence Technologie, die fĂŒr ein noch schĂ€rferes Bild und eine realitĂ€tstreuere Darstellung sorgen soll. FĂŒr diesen Testbericht wurde der Beamer ĂŒber einen Zeitraum von 4 Wochen im Alltag eingesetzt.
Überblick
Hersteller

Optoma

Produktbezeichnung

Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Spezifikationen

Allgemein
Typ: DLP
Chip: Single 0.65” 1080p DC3
Linse: F/2.8 f=7.42mm

Helligkeit: 3000 ANSI Lumen
Auflösung: 1920 x 1080 Pixel
Bildformat: 16:9 (4:3)
ProjektionsgrĂ¶ĂŸe: 45.3" - 300"
ProjektionsverhÀltnis: 0.49:1
Kontrast: 28.000 : 1

Fokus: Manuell
Zoom: Digital

AnschlĂŒsse
2x HDMI 1.4a (1x MHL)
1x 3.5mm Klinke (Audio-Out)
1x 3D-Sync Port
1x USB-Typ-A Buchse
1x USB-Mini-B Buchse
1x 12V Ausgang

Sonstige
Lampenlebensdauer: 8000/6000/5000
Lautsprecher: 16W
WiFi: Optional
Stromverbrauch: 225W / 187W (Eco) / 0.5W (Standby)
GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 315 x 224 x 114 mm
Gewicht: 2.66 kg

Erster Eindruck zum Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Projektoren, sind Kurzdistanzprojektoren wie der GT1080 Darbee in der Lage, bereits auf kĂŒrzester Distanz ein umfangreiches Bild zu projizieren. Sinn macht ein solcher Beamer vor allem dort, wo es keine Befestigungsmöglichkeiten gibt oder der Projektionsabstand wegen Schattenwurfes nicht eingehalten werden kann. Auch Gamer profitieren von Kurzdistanzprojektoren, weshalb auch die Gamingtauglichkeit in den Test mit eingeflossen ist.

Mit Maßen von 31.5 x 22.4 x 11.4 cm und einem Gewicht von 2.66 kg ist der Projektor vergleichsweise kompakt und eignet sich somit auch fĂŒr einen Kinoabend bei Freunden. Verwenden lĂ€sst sich der Beamer sowohl stehend, als auch hĂ€ngend. Auf der Unterseite befinden sich hierzu drei gummierte und höhenverstellbare StandfĂŒĂŸe, sowie eine Deckenbefestigungsmöglichkeit. Zum Schutz vor Diebstahl kann der Projektor rĂŒckseitig mit einem Kensington Lock versehen werden.

Bedienen lĂ€sst sich der GT1080 Darbee einerseits ĂŒber die BedienflĂ€che oberhalb des weiß-glĂ€nzenden KunststoffgehĂ€uses, als auch ĂŒber die mitgelieferte Fernbedienung. Fokussiert wird ĂŒber einen mechanischen Drehregler. Eine optische Zoommöglichkeit oder einen optischen Lens-Shift gibt es nicht. Die Anschlussmöglichkeiten hat Optoma bei diesem GerĂ€t auf der linken GehĂ€useseite platziert. Dabei handelt es sich um zwei HDMI 1.4a Buchsen mit 3D und MHL 1.2 UnterstĂŒtzung, einen 3.5 mm Audioausgang, einen 12V Ausgang, eine USB-A Buchse mit einer Ausgangsspannung von 1A, eine USB Mini-B Buchse sowie einen 3D-Sync Port. Sonstige Videoschnittstellen wie DVI oder VGA gibt es nicht. Die VerarbeitungsqualitĂ€t ĂŒberzeugt.

Anschlussmöglichkeiten des Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Hardware

Der Optoma GT1080 Darbee ist ein Full-HD DLP Beamer mit .65“ DC3 Chip von Texas Instruments. Die maximal mögliche Helligkeit betrĂ€gt 3.000 ANSI Lumen. Das KonstrastverhĂ€ltnis gibt Optoma mit 28.000:1 an. Je nachdem welcher Anzeigemodus verwendet wird, reicht die Lebensdauer der Lampe von 5000 bis 8000 Stunden. Ein Lautsprecher ist integriert.

Beworben wird der Beamer mit der „Darbee Visual Presence Technologie“, die vor allem fĂŒr ein besonders klares Bild mit besserer TiefenschĂ€rfe sorgt. Mit von der Partie ist auch Optomas „Amazing Colour“, wonach sich der Projektor an das Rec.709 Farbschema hĂ€lt und prĂ€zisere und sattere Farben dargestellt werden. Die so genannte „Dynamic Black Technologie“ optimiert das KontrastverhĂ€ltnis und passt sich der jeweiligen Szene an. Durch die 3D UnterstĂŒtzung kann so ziemlich jedes 3D-Videomaterial zugespielt werden.

Wie bereits angedeutet besitzt der Beamer keinen optischen Zoom. Zwar steht ein digitaler Zoom zur Auswahl, im Gegensatz zu einem optischen Zoom kann das Bild jedoch nicht verlustfrei vergrĂ¶ĂŸert werden. Da es sich hierbei allerdings um einen Kurzdistanzprojektor handelt, kann man bereits durch geringes verschieben des Abstandes „manuell zoomen“. Die maximale ProjektionsgrĂ¶ĂŸe liegt zwischen 45,3″ und 300″, bei einem Abstand zwischen 0.5 und 3.35 Metern. Optional kann der Beamer mittels des Optoma HDCast Pro Dongle auch in ein WLAN eingebunden werden, sodass Abspielmaterial kabellos empfangen werden kann.

Bedientasten des Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Inbetriebnahme und BedienoberflÀche

Die Inbetriebnahme ist mit keinerlei HĂŒrden verbunden und kann auch von einem technischen Laien durchgefĂŒhrt werden. Ist der Beamer mit dem Strom verbunden, muss lediglich das WiedergabegerĂ€t per HDMI angeschlossen werden und nach einer wirklich kurzen AufwĂ€rmphase erscheint bereits das Bild. Angeschlossene GerĂ€te werden dabei automatisch erkannt und mit dem ersten Verbinden als Quelle ausgewĂ€hlt.

Bedienung

Die Bedienung kann einerseits ĂŒber das GerĂ€t selbst, oder ĂŒber die mitgelieferte Fernbedienung erfolgen. Egal welche Bedienmöglichkeit man wĂ€hlt, sĂ€mtliche Funktionen sind ĂŒber beide Bedienarten erreichbar und durch Symbole sowie durch eine Beschriftung (Fernbedienung) verstĂ€ndlich gekennzeichnet. ZusĂ€tzlich ist die Fernbedienung blau beleuchtet sodass sich der GT1080 Darbee auch im Dunkeln problemlos bedienen lĂ€sst. Egal ob man vor, neben oder hinter dem Beamer steht, die Infrarot-Fernbedienung funktioniert aus jeder Position. Drei LED Indikatoren auf der Oberseite des Projektors liefern zusĂ€tzliche Informationen zum Betriebsstatus.

Fernbedienung des Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Heimkinotauglichkeit

Als Kurzdistanzprojektor ist der Optoma GT1080 Darbee in der Lage bereits aus einem Abstand von weniger als einem Meter ein etwa 90 Zoll großes und vor allem hochauflösendes Bild zu projizieren. Im Heimkino schlĂ€gt sich der Beamer vergleichsweise gut. Insgesamt 5 Anzeigemodi stehen standardmĂ€ĂŸig zur Auswahl. Ein Benutzerdefinierter Modus erlaubt es ein eigenes Preset anzulegen.

Schaltet man den Projektor erstmalig ein, befindet sich dieser im so genannten „Vivid Anzeigemodus“. Dieser erzeugt ein besonders helles Bild, das sich vor allem fĂŒr den nicht komplett abgedunkelten Raum eignet. Der Kontrast fĂ€llt in diesem Modus jedoch eher mĂ€ĂŸig aus. Dunkle Farbtöne erscheinen im Vivid Modus leicht verwaschen. Dunkle Szenen sind mit einem sichtbaren Grauschleier ĂŒberzogen.

Im abgedunkelten Raum ĂŒberzeugten vor allem der „Spiel“ und „Kino“ Anzeigemodus. In Kombination mit der Darbee & Dynamic Black Technologie wird ein sehr scharfes Bild mit gleichzeitig hervorragender TiefenschĂ€rfe, krĂ€ftigen Farben und akzeptabler Kontrastabstimmung erzeugt. Die IntensitĂ€t der Darbee Technologie kann innerhalb der Anzeigeeinstellungen individuell angepasst werden. Die LĂŒfterlautstĂ€rke des Beamers ist mit anderen GerĂ€ten vergleichbar. Im Modus Hell ist der Beamer durchaus heraushörbar. Im ECO-Modus haben die LĂŒftergerĂ€usche das Filmerlebnis zu keiner Zeit gestört. Bei normaler Fernseh- oder FilmlautstĂ€rke gehen die LĂŒftergerĂ€usche schlichtweg unter. Der integrierte Lautsprecher liefert einen ausgeglichenen Klang mit hoher LautstĂ€rke, wodurch sich der Projektor auch ohne externe Wiedergabequelle fĂŒr den ein oder anderen Film einsetzen lĂ€sst.

Weitwinkellinse des Optoma GT1080 Darbee

Gamingtauglichkeit

Der Optoma GT1080 Darbee möchte zu den besten Gaming-Projektoren zĂ€hlen. HierfĂŒr ist das GerĂ€t mit einem „Enhanced Gaming Mode“ ausgestattet, der die Reaktionszeit von 33 ms auf 18 ms herunterschraubt. Im Vergleich zu aktuellen Gaming-Monitoren, hĂ€ngt der GT1080 Darbee dennoch hinterher. Gerade geĂŒbte PC Gamer, die vor allem Shooter bevorzugen, werden den Unterschied zwischen einem reaktionsschnellen Monitor und dem GT1080 Darbee spĂŒren. FĂŒr Konsoleros hingegen, die ĂŒberwiegend am TV spielen, wird der Unterschied vermutlich kaum ins Gewicht fallen. Besonders positiv hat sich die Darbee Technologie wĂ€hrend des Gaming bemerkbar gemacht. Durch die erhöhte SchĂ€rfedarstellung erscheinen Texturen besonders detailliert. Der von vielen DLP-Beamern verursachte „Regenbogeneffekt“ ist wĂ€hrend der Testphase kaum aufgetreten.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
876,34€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 10. Juli 2020 12:00

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Kompaktes Design
Gute Verarbeitung
Akkurate Farbdarstellung
Besonders scharfes Bild
Hohe Helligkeit
Umfangreiche Einstellungsmöglichkeiten
Gute Gamingtauglichkeit

Negativ

Kein optischer Zoom
Schwacher "Vivid Modus"
Kein VGA / DVI
Kein integriertes WiFi

Erster Eindruck
8.5
6.7
Verarbeitung
8.5
8.9
Design
8.5
10
Funktionsumfang
8.0
9.5
Bedienbarkeit
8.0
9.3
Heimkinotauglichkeit
9.0
5.5
Gamingtauglichkeit
9.0
10
BildqualitÀt
8.5
10
Lautsprecher
7.0
10
BetriebslautstÀrke
7.0
10
Fazit

Der Optoma GT1080 Darbee ist ein vielseitig einsetzbarer Projektor, der sich sowohl fĂŒr den Heimkinoanwender, aber auch fĂŒr den Konsolenspieler eignet. Als Kurzdistanzprojektor kann der GT1080 Darbee so gut wie ĂŒberall aufgestellt werden und eignet sich durch die kompakte GrĂ¶ĂŸe auch fĂŒr einen Filmabend bei Freunden. Überzeugen konnte der Beamer vor allem durch die hervorragende Farbbrillanz, die angenehme BetriebslautstĂ€rke (ECO) und die Darbee Technologie, die gerade beim Gaming fĂŒr besonders scharfe Texturen sorgt.

8.2
Unsere Bewertung
9.0
Nutzerbewertung
3 ratings
You have rated this
guest
1 Kommentar
Älteste
Neueste
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Amila

Das Bild ist sehr gut, auch wenn der Raum nicht ganz abgedunkelt ist. DafĂŒr sind die Schwarztöne nicht tiefschwarz, aber das stört mich ĂŒberhaupt nicht.Der Beamer lĂ€uft schön leise. Ich bin sehr zufrieden.