Reviews
8
Review

Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate Test - Video editing software

by 3. October 2016

Slowly but steadily HD is replaced by UHD (4K) and also current video editing programs have to be adapted to the new UHD resolution. Pinnacle Studio 20 is an editing software of the renowned developer "Corel". To what extent Pinnacle Studio 20 in the Ultimate version is suitable for editing 4K recordings and how beginner-friendly the software is designed, you will learn in this review.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Corel Corporation

Product

Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate

Scope of delivery

1x Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate CD
1x product key
1x Note Card (Digital Download)

First impression of Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate

Versions

Pinnacle Studio 20 is available in three different versions. These are divided into a standard version, which works without effects and plugins of "NewBlue" and is mainly suitable for easy editing of amateur recordings. The Plus version has been enhanced with additional effects and also supports the editing of 3D recordings. Only the Ultimate version combines all functions of the first two versions and also offers additional cutting effects, as well as templates.

If you want to cut 20 4K video recordings with Pinnacle Studio, its selection is inevitably limited to the Ultimate version, as only this supports 4K video editing. Unfortunately, the developer does not offer trial versions of Pinnacle Studio 20.

Scope of delivery

If you buy the "Boxed" version of Pinnacle Studio 20, you get one CD with the editing software, The product key and Note card for the digital download. On Manual is not included and has to be downloaded as PDF.

Installation

The installation is straightforward. To start the installation, the product key must be entered. Within the installation can be selected, whether one beside the main program also additional software and bonus content want to install. However, these are downloaded separately in the Installation Manager. Updates are also downloaded and installed via the Installation Manager.

Unfortunately, the bonus content was not installed correctly during my first installation, which caused errors during the installation. Only the digital download could help.

Surface and application

Clarity and usability

The Surface is clearly arranged and hardly different from other video editing programs. In addition to the project window, where you can create projects, import files and load effects, there is also a video player with timeline, an overview of the video and sound tracks and a toolbar. The size of each window can be customized. Which tools can be seen on the toolbar can also be selected. Only the position of the windows can not be determined.

All settings are easy to reach and include a short explanation. The extensive keyboard shortcuts can be adapted freely. Film and image files can only be accessed via the import Manager Imported. A function to drag the files directly from the Windows Explorer into the section bar does not exist.

video Editing

Video editing with Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate is easy. Imported files can be added to the A / V tracks be pulled and cut with the "razor blade tool". With the magnetic grid Cut files can be easily put together. To cut the soundtrack, it can be automatically separated from the video.

Effects and image correction

There are many effects in Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate. Except for occasional transition effects and the "NewBlue effects" However, the rest of the 3D effects and audio effects are not suitable for YouTube videos. The effects are sometimes poorly animated and out of date. On the other hand, NewBlue offers attractive filters, similar to those of Instagram, as well as well-implemented image stabilization.

keyframes

The work with keyframes succeeds over the Media or effect editor, The operation of the keyframes is explained in detail in the manual. At first glance, this function seems a bit hidden and complicated, but after a short read it can be easily work with the keyframes.

Export

Completed projects can be exported to various formats. In addition to the usual standards (.MOV, .AVI, MPEG, etc.) also become more special DivX and the Sony XAVC Standard supported. Frame rate, resolution, or bitrate settings can be adjusted according to the standard. To speed up the rendering of the videos can also be an additional Hardware acceleration (Cuda, Intel) to be activated.

An interesting and also useful feature is that shots directly into the Cloud charge. For this you only choose the destination (Box, Facebook, YouTube or Vimeo) and Pinnacle Studio 20 does the rest. DVDs can also be created using the Export Manager.

To the product

Final Words

Positive

►Funktionsumfang
►Extensive 4K support
►Export possibilities
►Reasonable user interface
►Easy video editing

Negative

►Not a trial version
►Installation error (CD installation)
►Only digital manual
►Not contemporary 3D effects

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
7.0
-
Features
8.5
-
usability
8.0
-
everyday practicality
8.0
-
Summary

Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate is an easy-to-use video editing software. The interface is clearly arranged and profound functions can be read through a brief glance at the manual. Less convincing are the included 3D effects, which are mostly out of date.

Convince Pinnacle Studio 20, however, in the 4K video editing. Recordings that may cause problems for other editing programs Play and edit Pinnacle Studio 20 correctly. The options available for export are many. Current codecs are all supported. Overall, Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate is a solid and comprehensive video editing program that covers a wide range of applications.

7.9
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

8
Leave a comment

avatar
3 Comment threads
5 Thread replies
1 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
5 Comment authors
TimoHELMUT LEISZDetlefGerhardharald Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
harald
guest
harald

Unfortunately, the image stabilization does not work at all - image should be zoomed - not for me - synonymous None
Stabilization - why?

Timo
admin
Timo

Hello Harald, what image stabilization do you use? The integrated in the basic program or the advanced of NewBlue?

Gerhard
guest
Gerhard

In Pinnacle 20, the movie preview does not work with NVIDIA cards. Must be disabled, otherwise the picture stops, the sound continues to run. Prodad products like Mercalli work in Pinnacle dissatisfied or not at all !! With the title generator Pinnacle hangs after several attempts!

Detlef
guest
Detlef

Hello Gerhard
The problem I would also like to know if you have a solution.

HELMUT LEISZ
guest
HELMUT LEISZ

hello - I have installed the new Studio 20 ultimate of a box version - unfortunately actually NOTHING NORMAL- EVERYTHING takes an awfully long time - the program does not crash - but I'm sitting in front of it for minutes - you can hear the PC working - but NOTHING happens - At some point it will continue again - soon after that it will be the same tiresome problem again - THE NERVT UNHEHEUER!
Where is the dog buried?

Timo
admin
Timo

The mistake has not come to me yet. Which operating system is used and which hardware does the PC have? Does the program have a large number of imported files to load? Possibly. The hangers are created by accessing the hard disk.

HELMUT LEISZ
guest
HELMUT LEISZ

SG ADMINISTRATOR - have you checked the box version in the meantime - or is ALL the same as in the beginning -
after this review, the error is not in my area - PLEASE REPLY - THANKS! - HELMET

Timo
admin
Timo

Hello, it's best to contact Corel support. They certainly know what to do. On my system Pinnacle Studio 20 is still running around!

Reviews
8
Review

Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate Test – Videoschnittsoftware

by 3. Oktober 2016
Langsam aber stetig wird HD von UHD (4K) abgel√∂st und auch aktuelle Videoschnittprogramme m√ľssen auf die neue UHD Aufl√∂sung angepasst werden. Pinnacle Studio 20 ist eine Schnittsoftware des renommierten Entwicklers ‚ÄěCorel‚Äú. Inwiefern sich Pinnacle Studio 20 in der Ultimate Version zum Schnitt von 4K Aufnahmen eignet und wie einsteigerfreundlich die Software gestaltet ist, erfahrt ihr in diesem Testbericht.
√úberblick
Hersteller

Corel Corporation

Produktbezeichnung

Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate

Lieferumfang

1x Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate CD
1x Produktschl√ľssel
1x Hinweiskarte (Digitaler Download)

Erster Eindruck zu Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate

Versionen

Pinnacle Studio 20 gibt es in drei verschiedenen Versionen. Diese sind unterteilt in eine Standard Version, die ohne Effekte und Plugins von ‚ÄěNewBlue‚Äú auskommt und sich haupts√§chlich zum einfachen Schnitt von Amateuraufnahmen eignet. Die Plus Version wurde um zus√§tzliche Effekte erweitert und unterst√ľtzt auch den Schnitt von 3D Aufnahmen. Lediglich die Ultimate Version vereint alle Funktionen der ersten beiden Versionen und bietet zudem zus√§tzliche Schnitteffekte, als auch Vorlagen.

Wer mit Pinnacle Studio 20 4K Videoaufnahmen schneiden m√∂chte, dessen Auswahl ist zwangsl√§ufig auf die Ultimate Version beschr√§nkt, da nur diese den 4K Videoschnitt unterst√ľtzt. Leider bietet der Entwickler keine Testversionen zu Pinnacle Studio 20 an.

Lieferumfang

Erwirbt man die ‚ÄěBoxed‚Äú Version von Pinnacle Studio 20, erh√§lt man eine CD mit der Schnittsoftware, den Produktschl√ľssel und eine Hinweiskarte f√ľr den digitalen Download. Ein Handbuch ist nicht enthalten und muss als PDF heruntergeladen werden.

Installation

Die Installation ist unkompliziert. Um die Installation beginnen zu k√∂nnen, muss der Produktschl√ľssel eingegeben werden. Innerhalb der Installation kann ausgew√§hlt werden, ob man neben des Hauptprogramms auch zus√§tzliche Software und Bonusinhalte installieren m√∂chte. Diese werden allerdings separat im Installationsmanager heruntergeladen. Updates werden ebenfalls √ľber den Installationsmanager heruntergeladen und installiert.

Leider wurden bei meiner ersten Installation die Bonusinhalte nicht korrekt installiert, weshalb es noch während der Installation zu Fehlern kam. Erst der digitale Download konnte Abhilfe schaffen.

Oberfläche und Anwendung

√úbersichtlichkeit und Bedienbarkeit

Die Oberfl√§che ist √ľbersichtlich gestaltet und unterscheidet sich kaum von Videoschnittprogrammen anderer Entwickler. Neben dem Projektfenster, √ľber das sich Projekte anlegen, Dateien importieren und Effekte laden lassen, gibt es zus√§tzlich einen Videoplayer mit Timeline, eine √úbersicht zu den Video- und Tonspuren und eine Werkzeugleiste. Die Gr√∂√üe der einzelnen Fenster kann individuell angepasst werden. Welche Werkzeuge auf der Werkzeugleiste zu sehen sind, l√§sst sich ebenfalls ausw√§hlen. Lediglich die Position der Fenster ist nicht bestimmbar.

S√§mtliche Einstellungen sind unkompliziert erreichbar und beinhalten eine kurze Erkl√§rung. Die umfangreichen Tastaturk√ľrzel k√∂nnen frei angepasst werden. Film- und Bilddateien k√∂nnen nur √ľber den Importmanager importiert werden. Eine Funktion, die Dateien direkt aus dem Windows Explorer in die Schnittleiste zu ziehen existiert leider nicht.

Videoschnitt

Der Videoschnitt mit Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate ist einfach. Importierte Dateien k√∂nnen in die A/V Spuren gezogen werden und mit dem ‚ÄěRasierklingen-Werkzeug‚Äú geschnitten werden. Mit dem Magnetraster k√∂nnen geschnittene Dateien unkompliziert zusammengef√ľgt werden. Zum Schnitt der Tonspur kann diese automatisch vom Video getrennt werden.

Effekte und Bildkorrektur

Effekte gibt es in Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate zahlreiche. Bis auf vereinzelte √úbergangseffekte und die ‚ÄěNewBlue Effekte‚Äú eignen sich die restlichen 3D-Effekte und auch Audio-Effekte allerdings nicht f√ľr YouTube Videos. Die Effekte sind zum Teil schlecht animiert und nicht mehr zeitgem√§√ü. NewBlue bietet hingegen ansprechende Filter, √§hnlich denen von Instagram sowie¬†eine gut umgesetzte Bildstabilisierung.

Keyframes

Die Arbeit mit Keyframes gelingt √ľber den Media- bzw. Effekt-Editor. In der Bedienungsanleitung ist die Funktion der Keyframes ausf√ľhrlich erkl√§rt. Auf den ersten Blick wirkt diese Funktion zwar etwas versteckt und auch kompliziert, nach kurzem Einlesen l√§sst es sich¬†aber problemlos mit den Keyframes arbeiten.

Export

Abgeschlossene Projekte lassen sich in verschiedene Formate exportieren. Neben den g√§ngigen Standards (.MOV, .AVI, MPEG usw.) werden auch speziellere DivX und der Sony XAVC Standard unterst√ľtzt. Einstellungen zu der Frame-Rate, der Aufl√∂sung oder aber der Bitrate k√∂nnen je nach Standard vorgenommen werden. Um das Rendern der Videos zu beschleunigen kann auch eine zus√§tzliche Hardwarebeschleunigung (Cuda, Intel) aktiviert werden.

Eine interessante und auch n√ľtzliche Funktion ist, dass sich Aufnahmen direkt in die Cloud laden lassen. Hierf√ľr w√§hlt man lediglich das Ziel (Box, Facebook, YouTube oder Vimeo) aus und Pinnacle Studio 20 erledigt den Rest. DVDs k√∂nnen ebenfalls √ľber den Export-Manager erstellt werden.

Zum Produkt

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Funktionsumfang
Umfangreiche 4K Unterst√ľtzung
Export Möglichkeiten
Verständliche Benutzeroberfläche
Einfacher Videoschnitt

Negativ

Keine Trial-Version
Installationsfehler (CD-Installation)
Nur digitales Handbuch
Nicht zeitgemäße 3D-Effekte

Erster Eindruck
7.0
3.0
Funktionsumfang
8.5
8.4
Bedienbarkeit
8.0
7.2
Alltagstauglichkeit
8.0
8.2
Fazit

Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate ist eine einfach zu bedienende Videoschnittsoftware. Die Oberfl√§che ist √ľbersichtlich gestaltet und tiefgreifende Funktionen lassen sich durch einen kurzen Blick ins Handbuch nachlesen. Weniger √ľberzeugend sind die enthaltenen 3D Effekte, die zum gr√∂√üten Teil nicht mehr zeitgem√§√ü sind.

√úberzeugen kann Pinnacle Studio 20 allerdings bei der 4K Videobearbeitung. Aufnahmen, die anderen Schnittprogrammen Probleme bereiten kann Pinnacle Studio 20 fehlerfrei wiedergeben und bearbeiten. Die beim Export zur Verf√ľgung stehenden Einstellungsm√∂glichkeiten sind vielz√§hlig. Aktuelle Codecs werden allesamt unterst√ľtzt. Insgesamt ist Pinnacle Studio 20 Ultimate ein solides und umfangreiches Videoschnittprogramm, das verschiedensten Anwendungsbereichen gerecht wird.

7.9
Unsere Bewertung
6.7
Nutzerbewertung
2 ratings
You have rated this
guest
8 Comments
√Ąlteste
Neueste
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
harald

leider funktioniert die Bildstabilisierung √ľberhaupt nicht – Bild sollte gezoomt sein- bei mir nicht – auch keinerlei
Stabilisierung – warum?

Timo

Hallo Harald, welche Bildstabilisierung verwendest du? Die im Grundprogramm integrierte oder die erweiterte von NewBlue?

Gerhard

In Pinnacle 20 funktioniert der Bildvorlauf beim Film-Schnitt nicht mit NVIDIA Karten. M√ľssen deaktiviert werden, sonst bleibt das Bild stehen, der Ton l√§uft weiter. Prodad Produkte wie Mercalli arbeiten in Pinnacle unzufrieden oder garnicht !! Mit dem Titelgenerator h√§ngt sich Pinnacle nach mehrmaligem Versuch auf!

Detlef

Hallo Gerhard
Das Problem habe ich auch w√ľrde gerne wissen ob Du eine L√∂sung hast.

HELMUT LEISZ

hallo – ich habe das neue Studio 20 ultimate von einer box-version installiert – leider fuktioniert eigentlich NICHTS NORMAL- ALLES dauert unheimlich lange – das Programm st√ľrzt zwar nicht ab – aber ich sitze minutenlang davor – man h√∂rt den PC arbeiten – aber NICHTS passiert – irgendwann geht es dann wieder weiter – bald darauf gibt es das gleiche leidige Problem wieder – DAS NERVT UNGEHEUER!
Wo liegt da der Hund wohl begraben?

Timo

Der Fehler ist mir selbst noch nicht untergekommen. Welches Betriebssystem wird denn verwendet und welche Hardware besitzt der PC? Hat das Programm eine Vielzahl an importierten Dateien zu laden? Evtl. entstehen die Hänger durch Zugriffe auf die Festplatte.

HELMUT LEISZ

SG ADMINISTRATOR – habt ihr die Boxversion inzwischen √ľberpr√ľft – oder l√§uft das ALLES so wie am Anfang –
nach diesem Testbericht liegt der Fehler nicht in meinem Bereich – BITTE UM ANTWORT – DANKE! – HELMUT

Timo

Hallo, am besten du wendest dich an den Support von Corel. Die wissen sicherlich was zu tun ist. Auf meinem System läuft Pinnacle Studio 20 weiterhin rund!