Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

POCO M4 Pro 5G Global Version

POCO M4 Pro in the test - an attractive overall package

Test report prepared by Timo on November 18, 2021

Xiaomi's budget brand "POCO" is back and has launched the POCO M4 Pro for the global market. The smartphone is equipped with a 90 Hz display, a MediaTek Dimensity 810 chip that even supports fast 5G cellular communications, a 50MP main camera and a large 5000 mAh battery with a 33W quick charge function. And most importantly: the smartphone is already available for less than 200 euros!

In the test, we took a closer look at POCO's new budget hit. You can find out what the smartphone can do here in the article.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8.3
Our rating
199 € goboo.com
Price Comparison
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

POCO

Model

LITTLE M4 Pro

Specifications

 Processor and memory 
CPU: MediaTek Dimensity 810
GPU: Mali-G57 MC2
RAM: 4GB / 6GB LPDDR4X
Internal memory: 64GB / 128GB UFS2.2
Memory extension: Yes

 Display 
Display diagonal: 6,6 inches
Display resolution: 2400 x 1080 pixels
Display frequency: 90 Hz
Display brightness: 450 nit
Display Type: IPS
Screen Protector: Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Sampling rate: 240 Hz

 cameras 
Main camera: 50 MP (f / 1.8 aperture)
Ultra wide angle camera: 8 MP (119 ° - f / 2.2 aperture)

Front camera: 16 MP (f / 2.45 aperture)

 Mesh 
Dual SIM: Yes
SIM size: Nano SIM
eSIM: No.

GSM: 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
FDD LTE: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B17B20/B28/B32/B66
TDD LTE: B38 / B40 / B41
5G NSA/SA: n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/77/78

 wireless 
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac
Bluetooth: 5.1
GPS: Yes
NFC: Yes

 Sensors 
* Ambient light sensor
* Accelerometer
* Proximity Sensor
* E-Compass
*Gyroscope
* Fingerprint Sensor
* IR blaster

 Accumulator 
Battery: 5.000 mAh
Fast charge function: 33 Watt
Qi store: no

 other 
Operating system: Android 11 (MIUI 12)
Audio: 3.5mm headphones / stereo speakers
Connection: USB-C
Size: 163,56 × 75,78 × 8,75 mm
Weight: 195g

Test: POCO M4 Pro 5G

After the success of Little M3 Pro 5G POCO sends the successor into the race just six months later. In direct comparison, the POCO M4 Pro 5G offers a slightly larger display, an improved main camera, more performance and faster charging.

Offer

The official POCO sales partner "Goboo" is currently offering the POCO M4 Pro 5G for 189 euros (4 + 64GB) or 209 euros (6 + 128GB).

To get the price, I have to call up our discount code (5 euros) and also activate the discount (5 euros) on the product page.

5 € Coupon - POCO M4 Pro 5G

With this Goboo offer you can buy the POCO M4 Pro 5G smartphone reduced for only 189 € or 209 €.
GOBOO995
SHOW COUPON
5€ Discount
Valid until 21.11.021

Goboo ships free of charge from the EU warehouse in Spain. There are no additional costs for shipping within the EU. As an official sales partner, there is an additional 2 year guarantee.

Most of the improvements, however, are in the details and the POCO M4 Pro doesn't make huge leaps compared to its predecessor. We have compared all the differences here in the table. 

 Model   LITTLE M4 Pro 5G   LITTLE M3 Pro 5G 
 chip  MediaTek Dimensity 810 - 6nm  MediaTek Dimensity 700 - 7nm
 CPU  Octa-Core (2 × 2.4 GHz Cortex-A76 & 6 × 2.0 GHz Cortex-A55) Octa-Core (2 × 2.2 GHz Cortex-A76 & 6 × 2.0 GHz Cortex-A55)
 But by the full GPU acceleration tech  Mali-G57 MC2 Mali-G57 MC2
 Speicher  4+64GB, 6+128GB UFS2.2 4+64GB, 6+128GB UFS2.2
 Display   6,6 inch LC display - 90 Hz - 1080 x 2400 pixels - DCI-P3  6,5 inch LC display - 90 Hz - 1080 x 2400 pixels - sRGB
 sampling rate   240 Hz  180 Hz
 cameras   50 MP, f / 1.8, 26mm, PDAF 
 8 MP, f / 2.2, 119˚ wide angle 
 16 MP, f / 2.5, front 
48 MP, f / 1.8, 26mm, 1 / 2.0 ″, 0.8µm, PDAF
 2 MP, f / 2.4, macro 
 2 MP, f / 2.4, depths 
8 MP, f / 2.0, front
 Loudspeakers   stereo  Mono
 NFC  Ja Ja
 Accumulator  5000 mAh - 33W fast charging  5000 mAh - 18W fast charging
 Height Weight  163.6 x 75.8 x 8.8 mm - 195g  161.8 x 75.3 x 8.9 mm - 190g 

POCO M4 Pro: design and workmanship

POCO's corporate color is yellow and this is already shown by the bright yellow box, which not only contains the smartphone but also a transparent protective cover, a 33W fast charger, a USB-C cable, a SIM needle, stickers and a quick guide.

POCO M4 Pro 5G unboxing

 The design of the POCO M4 Pro is unmistakable. The back is particularly eye-catching because the camera is surrounded by a huge black box that contrasts strongly with the rest of the housing. The smartphone is available in "Cool Blue", "POCO Yellow" and "Power Black". There should be something for everyone. Our test device has the color "Power Black", which is less reminiscent of black and more of a dark gray.

POCO M4 Pro 5G scope of delivery

But back to the black box, which adorns a large POCO print next to the camera. The camera is on the left and only protrudes a few millimeters. At first glance you think of 5 cameras. In fact, the POCO M4 Pro only has 2 cameras installed. The other "cameras" are purely decorative and only printed on them. If you ignore the black frame, the POCO M4 Pro resembles the Redmi Note 11, which was recently presented in China. Even the hardware of both smartphones is identical.

POCO M4 Pro 5G back

The plastic back finally merges into the frame, which is also made of plastic. Although a lot of plastic has been used, the smartphone doesn't feel cheap. However, the susceptibility to fingerprints can be criticized. Once in hand, the back of our gray test device is already dirty.

POCO M4 Pro 5G frame bottom

According to IP53, the smartphone is not completely waterproof, but is very well protected against splash water such as rain. You will notice this when you remove the SIM slot, which is provided with a red sealing ring. Either two nano-SIM cards or one nano-SIM card and a microSD memory card can be inserted into the SIM slot. 

POCO M4 Pro 5G frame top

If we walk around the frame, there is the USB-C socket, a microphone, a 3.5 mm jack and one of the two speakers at the bottom. The SIM card slot is on the left, the power button with integrated fingerprint scanner and volume rocker above it is on the right. The buttons are easily accessible with one hand and the smartphone lies securely in the hand. At the top we would have the second loudspeaker, another microphone and an IR transmitter that can be used to control televisions and other devices with IR receivers.

POCO M4 Pro 5G display

At the front we finally have the 6,6 inch LC display, which is protected by scratch and break-resistant Corning Gorilla Glass 3. The black display bezels are not particularly small, but that's not unusual in this price range. POCO has hidden the 16MP front camera in the center of a punch hole.

POCO M4 Pro: display

We also stick to the 6,6 inch LC display, which has a resolution of 1080 x 2400 pixels and reaches 399 PPI. In a direct comparison with the POCO M3 Pro, which has 405 PPI due to the smaller screen diagonal and the same resolution, the sharpness of the display does not change in spite of the lower PPI of the POCO M4 Pro. The display is particularly fluid thanks to the 90 Hz refresh rate. If you are wondering why the display feels jerky after starting it for the first time, you should switch to the display settings as soon as possible.

POCO M4 Pro 5G display from above

Our test device was set to 60 Hz by default. If you select 90 Hz, the difference is immediately noticeable. At the same time, the higher refresh rate also reduces the battery life. To counteract this, the smartphone dynamically adjusts the refresh rate (50, 60 and 90 Hz) to the content. The sampling rate is 240 Hz, which means that the touchscreen works quickly and precisely.

Although the POCO M4 Pro does not have an AMOLED display, the colors are pleasantly crisp and the contrast is good. The POCO M3 Pro now covers the extended DCI-P4 color space. The color space plays a decisive role, especially in US film production. Widevine L1 is also supported, so that Netflix, Disney + and other streaming services can be streamed in high resolution. Individual settings for the display can be made via the display settings. This is where the POCO M4 Pro does not differ from other mid-range smartphones. In addition to the (adaptive) brightness adjustment, you have the choice between a daylight and a dark mode and you can adjust the colors in 3 predefined color profiles.

The brightness of the display is just enough to be able to read the display reasonably in the sunshine. If the sun hits the display directly, even the sunlight mode does not help, which increases the display brightness again. The highly reflective display glass is also to blame. Other smartphones in this price range are neither better nor worse on this point.

POCO M4 Pro: performance and user interface

The POCO M4 Pro is powered by a MediaTek Dimensity 810 chip, which includes an 8-core CPU (2 x 2.4 GHz Cortex-A76 & 6 x 2.0 GHz Cortex-A55), a Mali-G57 MC2 GPU and a 5G modem. Compared to the Dimensity 700 of the POCO M3 Pro, the chip has a slightly higher CPU performance and is manufactured using the more efficient 6nm process. You can see the details in the table above. However, this difference is hardly noticeable in the benchmarks. Especially not in everyday life.

POCO M4 Pro 5G rear side from above

When it comes to storage, you can choose between 4 + 64GB or 6 + 128GB. The main memory is of the type LPDDR4X, the data memory of the type UFS2.2. Both memories showed high write and read rates in the test. The POCO M4 Pro cuts a good figure in everyday life. The MIUI 11 user interface, which is based on Android 12.5, reacts quickly and is easy to use, apps open without long loading times and apps that are already open are also kept in the memory for a long time.

In mobile games it becomes noticeable that the POCO M4 Pro is not a high-end device. If you like to play demanding games, you have to turn down the graphic details. Most games can be played smoothly on a low level of detail. POCO has the heat development under control. Thermal throttling, that is, the performance is reduced, does not occur.

 MIUI 12.5 is not only used in devices from Xiaomi, but also in POCO. The user interface is clearly structured and particularly rich in functions. With the help of extensive themes, the design (icons, backgrounds, effects) can be individually adapted. Unfortunately, POCO has not done without annoying third-party apps and games. However, the unwanted apps can be uninstalled via the app settings.

There are also a number of useful tools, such as a QR code scanner, an FM radio, a screen recording function, a split-screen mode and advanced data protection settings. If you link the smartphone with a Mi account, you have access to other Xiaomi services, such as the Xiaomi Cloud. An update to Android 12 will most likely be released in the course of the next year.

POCO M4 Pro: camera

POCO has put the red pencil on the camera and deleted the macro and depth sensor of the POCO M3 Pro and built an 4MP ultra-wide-angle camera in the POCO M8 Pro in addition to the new main camera.

However, you shouldn't mourn the painted sensors, because less is more here. The two 2MP sensors of the POCO M3 Pro are much more wasted than they are of any greater use. An 8MP ultra-wide-angle camera is much more advantageous here (provided the recording quality is right).

POCO M4 Pro 5G camera

The main camera of the POCO M4 Pro uses the same 50MP Samsung ISOCELL S5KJN1 image sensor that is already in the Redmi 10 (our test) was installed. The sensor uses Samsung's Tetracell technology (pixel binning), which combines four individual pixels into one large pixel.

The resolution of the images is reduced by a quarter as a result, but the technology improves the signal-to-noise ratio and ensures higher light sensitivity, which results in (theoretically) better images at night. The following pictures were taken with the main camera.

The main camera is able to take good pictures. Colors are not oversaturated and look realistic. The main camera can also convince in terms of image sharpness and dynamic range. The Auto-HDR mode hardly has to be switched on at all. Image noise is not noticeable in good lighting conditions. If the lighting conditions decrease, the amount of noise in the image is still kept low, but the image sharpness decreases and colors become increasingly pale. Night mode can save the result to some extent.

The ultra-wide-angle camera, which produces clear and sharp images right up to the edges, was a positive surprise. The colors and level of detail are also right here and the camera copes well with high-contrast scenes. In the dark, however, the ultra-wide-angle camera becomes increasingly unusable.

POCO M4 Pro: Cellular

Mobile

The POCO M3 Pro was one of the first smartphones to bring high-speed 5G cellular communications into the affordable middle class. The POCO M4 Pro addresses this and is also able to connect to fast 5G cellular networks. This is even possible on both SIM card slots (dual standby). In addition to 5G, 4G (LTE), 3G and 2G are of course also supported. Here is an overview of the frequencies and bands available:

  •  GSM: 850/900/1800/1900
  •  WCDMA:  B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
  •  FDD LTE:  B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B17B20/B28/B32/B66
  •  TDD LTE: B38 / B40 / B41
  •  5G NSA/SA:  n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/77/78

The cellular reception of the POCO M4 Pro is good. Unexpected network interruptions or instabilities did not occur in the Vodafone network. Calls can be conducted in good quality both via the handset and the hands-free function. VoLTE and VoWiFi are supported.

POCO M4 Pro 5G SIM card slot

Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

The POCO M4 Pro is fast on the move in WiFi (Dual-AC) and impresses with its high data throughput and stable range. Bluetooth is available in version 5.1.

GPS and sensors

Navigating is also not a hurdle for the POCO M4 Pro. The GPS module quickly finds enough satellites to determine the position with an accuracy of a few meters. The signal is kept constant in the car. In addition to GPS, the satellite navigation systems Galileo, GLONASS and Compass (Beidou) are supported.

The other sensors include an ambient light sensor, an e-compass, a gyroscope, an acceleration sensor and an IR blaster. If you have misplaced the remote control of the television, you can control the television with the help of the IR blaster or infrared transmitter. All you need is an app (e.g. I Remote Controller), which can be downloaded free of charge from the Google PlayStore.

Fingerprint scanner and NFC

The fingerprint scanner is located on the side of the power button. The smartphone can be unlocked quickly with this. The recognition rate is good. NFC is also on board. Payment service providers such as Google Pay are supported.

Audio

The stereo speaker does a good job. The sound is balanced above and below and reaches a high volume. In any case, the stereo loudspeaker of the POCO M4 Pro does not sound like a tin can. Lows come into their own to some extent and the highs are also well covered. What is a bit blurred are the mids, which is particularly evident in vocals, which sometimes sound washed out.

POCO M4 Pro 5G back with camera

Even though many users have now switched to wireless headphones, the 3.5 mm jack connector is fortunately still available.

Accumulator

The 5000 mAh battery of the POCO M4 Pro will get you through the day safely. Even more than 2 days of running time are realistic, provided you are one of the frugal users who mainly use the smartphone for phone calls, WhatsApp and web browsing. The consumption in standby or overnight is extremely low at just a few percentage points.

Of course, we also checked the 33 watt quick charge function in the test. Completely discharged, the battery was fully charged to 63 percent after exactly 100 minutes. That's very close to the 59 minutes that POCO is promoting. If you plug the smartphone into the power supply for just 30 minutes, the percentage display jumps to 55 percent.

Wireless charging is not supported. Although hardly mentioned anywhere, the POCO M4 Pro supports so-called "Reverse.Charging". As a result, the smartphone behaves like a power bank and charges the battery of other devices in the opposite direction.

Price Comparison

iconEuropean warehouse
iconDelivery time 2-5 business days
199,00€
Rating
Positive

Attractive design and good workmanship
Good performance in everyday life
Fast microSD slot
Main and front camera in good lighting conditions
NFC for mobile payment
Stereo speakers and jack connection
5G cellular
Outstanding battery life

Negative

Not a really outstanding highlight
No frills camera (4K etc.)

Summary

In the price range under 200 euros, the POCO M4 Pro is one of the few smartphones that can offer fast 5G cellular communications. The 90 Hz display is of good quality and its presentation is convincing. The performance of the Dimensity 810 chip is completely sufficient for everyday tasks. In demanding mobile games, however, the chip quickly reaches its limits. The camera has little to offer in terms of functionality, but the 50MP main camera takes decent photos and videos in good lighting conditions.

NFC for mobile payment and the large 5000 mAh battery with quick charge function round off the overall positive impression. However, you will look in vain for a prominent highlight. But that doesn't matter, because in its price range the POCO M4 Pro is still a well-equipped smartphone, for which we can make a recommendation without hesitation.

8.3
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

POCO

Model

LITTLE M4 Pro

Specifications

 Processor and memory 
CPU: MediaTek Dimensity 810
GPU: Mali-G57 MC2
RAM: 4GB / 6GB LPDDR4X
Internal memory: 64GB / 128GB UFS2.2
Memory extension: Yes

 Display 
Display diagonal: 6,6 inches
Display resolution: 2400 x 1080 pixels
Display frequency: 90 Hz
Display brightness: 450 nit
Display Type: IPS
Screen Protector: Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Sampling rate: 240 Hz

 cameras 
Main camera: 50 MP (f / 1.8 aperture)
Ultra wide angle camera: 8 MP (119 ° - f / 2.2 aperture)

Front camera: 16 MP (f / 2.45 aperture)

 Mesh 
Dual SIM: Yes
SIM size: Nano SIM
eSIM: No.

GSM: 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
FDD LTE: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B17B20/B28/B32/B66
TDD LTE: B38 / B40 / B41
5G NSA/SA: n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/77/78

 wireless 
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac
Bluetooth: 5.1
GPS: Yes
NFC: Yes

 Sensors 
* Ambient light sensor
* Accelerometer
* Proximity Sensor
* E-Compass
*Gyroscope
* Fingerprint Sensor
* IR blaster

 Accumulator 
Battery: 5.000 mAh
Fast charge function: 33 Watt
Qi store: no

 other 
Operating system: Android 11 (MIUI 12)
Audio: 3.5mm headphones / stereo speakers
Connection: USB-C
Size: 163,56 × 75,78 × 8,75 mm
Weight: 195g

More from POCO

POCO X3 Pro headerPOCO X3 Pro header

News

POCO is known for high performance at a low price. The POCO X3 Pro is the first mid-range smartphone that is based on the new Snapdragon 860 SoC ...

Advertising

Geekbuying Black Friday Sale Sidebar

Banggood Black Friday Sale Sidebar

Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

POCO M4 Pro 5G Globale Version

POCO M4 Pro im Test – Ein attraktives Gesamtpaket

Testbericht erstellt von Timo am 18. November 2021

Xiaomis Budget-Marke „POCO“ ist zurück und hat das POCO M4 Pro für den globalen Markt vorgestellt. Ausgestattet ist das Smartphone mit einem 90 Hz Display, einem MediaTek Dimensity 810 Chip, der sogar schnellen 5G-Mobilfunk unterstützt, einer 50MP Hauptkamera und einem großen 5000 mAh Akku samt 33W Schnellladefunktion. Und das Wichtigste: Das Smartphone ist bereits für unter 200 Euro erhältlich!

Im Test haben wir uns POCOs neuen Budget-Kracher näher angesehen. Was das Smartphone kann, erfährst du hier im Beitrag.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp Buffer Pin It
8.3
Unsere Bewertung
199€ goboo.com
Preisvergleich
Technische Daten
Überblick
Hersteller

POCO

Modell

POCO M4 Pro

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: MediaTek Dimensity 810
GPU: Mali-G57 MC2
RAM: 4GB / 6GB LPDDR4X
Interner Speicher: 64GB / 128GB UFS2.2
Speichererweiterung: Ja

Display
Displaydiagonale: 6,6 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 2400 x 1080 Pixel
Displayfrequenz: 90 Hz
Displayhelligkeit: 450 nit
Displaytyp: IPS
Displayschutz: Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Abtastrate: 240 Hz

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 50 MP (f/1.8 Blende )
Ultraweitwinkelkamera: 8 MP (119° - f/2.2 Blende)

Frontkamera: 16 MP (f/2.45 Blende)

Netz
Dual-SIM: Ja
SIM-Größe: Nano SIM
eSIM: Nein

GSM: 850/900/1800/1900
WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
FDD LTE: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B17B20/B28/B32/B66
TDD LTE: B38/B40/B41
5G NSA/SA: n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/77/78

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth: 5.1
GPS: Ja
NFC: Ja

Sensoren
*Umgebungslichtsensor
*Beschleunigungssensor
*Näherungssensor
*E-Kompass
*Gyroskop
*Fingerabdrucksensor
*IR-Blaster

Akku
Akku: 5.000 mAh
Schnellladefunktion: 33 Watt
Qi-Laden: Nein

Sonstige
Betriebssystem: Android 11 (MIUI 12)
Audio: 3.5mm Kopfhörer / Stereo-Lautsprecher
Anschluss: USB-C
Größe: 163,56 × 75,78 × 8,75 mm
Gewicht: 195g

Test: POCO M4 Pro 5G

Nach dem Erfolg des Poco M3 Pro 5G schickt POCO bereits ein halbes Jahr später den Nachfolger ins Rennen. Im direkten Vergleich bietet das POCO M4 Pro 5G ein etwas größeres Display, eine verbesserte Hauptkamera, mehr Performance und schnelleres Laden.

Angebot

Der offizielle POCO Verkaufspartner „Goboo“ hat das POCO M4 Pro 5G zur Zeit für 189 Euro (4+64GB) bzw. 209 Euro (6+128GB) im Angebot.

Um auf den Preis zu kommen, müsst ich nachfolgend unseren Rabattcode (5 Euro) abrufen und zusätzlich den Rabatt (5 Euro) auf der Produktseite aktivieren.

5€ Coupon - POCO M4 Pro 5G

Mit diesem Goboo Angebot kannst du das POCO M4 Pro 5G Smartphone reduziert für nur 189€ bzw. 209€ kaufen.
GOBOO995
COUPON ZEIGEN
5€ Rabatt
Gültig bis 21.11.021

Der Versand erfolgt bei Goboo kostenfrei aus dem EU-Warenlager in Spanien. Zusätzliche Kosten fallen durch den Versand innerhalb der EU nicht an. Als offizieller Verkaufspartner gibt es zusätzlich 2 Jahre Garantie.

Die meisten Verbesserungen liegen allerdings im Detail und riesige Sprünge macht das POCO M4 Pro im Vergleich zum Vorgänger nicht. Alle Unterschiede haben wir euch hier in der Tabelle gegenübergestellt.

Modell POCO M4 Pro 5G POCO M3 Pro 5G
Chip MediaTek Dimensity 810 – 6nm MediaTek Dimensity 700 – 7nm
CPU Octa-Core (2×2.4 GHz Cortex-A76 & 6×2.0 GHz Cortex-A55) Octa-Core (2×2.2 GHz Cortex-A76 & 6×2.0 GHz Cortex-A55)
GPU Mali-G57 MC2 Mali-G57 MC2
Speicher 4+64GB, 6+128GB UFS2.2 4+64GB, 6+128GB UFS2.2
Display 6,6 Zoll LC-Display – 90 Hz – 1080 x 2400 Pixel – DCI-P3 6,5 Zoll LC-Display – 90 Hz – 1080 x 2400 Pixel – sRGB
Abtastrate 240 Hz 180 Hz
Kameras 50 MP, f/1.8, 26mm, PDAF
8 MP, f/2.2, 119˚ Weitwinkel
16 MP, f/2.5, Front
48 MP, f/1.8, 26mm, 1/2.0″, 0.8µm, PDAF
2 MP, f/2.4, Makro
2 MP, f/2.4, Tiefen
8 MP, f/2.0, Front
Lautsprecher Stereo Mono
NFC Ja Ja
Akku 5000 mAh – 33W Fast-Charging 5000 mAh – 18W Fast-Charging
Größe & Gewicht 163.6 x 75.8 x 8.8 mm – 195g 161.8 x 75.3 x 8.9 mm – 190g

POCO M4 Pro: Design und Verarbeitung

POCOs Unternehmensfarbe ist Gelb und das zeigt bereits der knallig gelbe Karton, in dem sich neben dem Smartphone auch eine transparente Schutzhülle, ein 33W Schnellladegerät, ein USB-C-Kabel, eine SIM-Nadel, Sticker und eine Kurzanleitung befinden.

POCO M4 Pro 5G Unboxing

Das Design des POCO M4 Pro ist unverkennbar. Vor allem die Rückseite sticht dabei ins Auge, denn die Kamera ist von einem riesigen schwarzen Kasten umgeben, der einen starken Kontrast zur restlichen Gehäusefarbe liefert. Erhältlich ist das Smartphone in „Cool Blue“, „POCO Yellow“ und „Power Black“. Da sollte für jeden etwas dabei sein. Unser Testgerät hat die Farbe „Power Black“, was aber weniger an Schwarz, stattdessen mehr an ein dunkles Grau erinnert.

POCO M4 Pro 5G Lieferumfang

Aber zurück zum schwarzen Kasten, der neben der Kamera noch einen großen POCO Aufdruck ziert. Die Kamera befindet sich links und steht nur wenige Millimeter hervor. Auf den ersten Blick denkt man an 5 Kameras. Tatsächlich hat das POCO M4 Pro nur 2 Kameras verbaut. Die übrigen „Kameras“ sind reine Zierde und lediglich aufgedruckt. Denkt man sich den schwarzen Rahmen weg, dann ähnelt das POCO M4 Pro dem kürzlich in China vorgestellten Redmi Note 11. Sogar die Hardware beider Smartphones ist identisch.

POCO M4 Pro 5G Rückseite

Die Kunststoff-Rückseite geht schließlich in den ebenfalls aus Kunststoff gefertigten Rahmen über. Obwohl viel Kunststoff verwendet wurde, fühlt sich das Smartphone nicht billig an. Kritisieren lässt sich aber die Anfälligkeit für Fingerabdrücke. Einmal in der Hand gehabt, zeigen sich bereits Verschmutzungen auf der Rückseite unseres grauen Testgeräts.

POCO M4 Pro 5G Rahmen Unterseite

Nach IP53 ist das Smartphone zwar nicht komplett wasserdicht, dafür aber sehr gut vor Spritzwasser wie z.B. Regen geschützt. Das bemerkt man bereits beim Herausnehmen des SIM-Slots, der mit einem roten Dichtungsring versehen ist. In den SIM-Slot lassen sich entweder zwei Nano-SIM-Karten oder eine Nano-SIM-Karte und eine microSD-Speicherkarte einlegen.

POCO M4 Pro 5G Rahmen Oberseite

Wandern wir einmal um den Rahmen, befinden sich unten die USB-C-Buchse, ein Mikrofon, ein 3.5 mm Klinkenanschluss, und einer der zwei Lautsprecher. An den Seiten befindet sich links der SIM-Karten-Einschub, rechts die Einschalttaste mit integriertem Fingerabdruckscanner und darüberliegender Lautstärkewippe. Die Tasten sind mit einer Hand gut erreichbar und das Smartphone liegt sicher in der Hand. Oben hätten wir dann noch den zweiten Lautsprecher, ein weiteres Mikrofon und einen IR-Sender, mit dem sich Fernsehgeräte und andere Geräte mit IR-Empfänger steuern lassen.

POCO M4 Pro 5G Display

Vorne hätten wir schließlich das 6,6 Zoll LC-Display, das durch kratz und bruchresistentes Corning Gorilla Glass 3 geschützt ist. Die schwarzen Displayränder fallen zwar nicht sonderlich klein aus, in dieser Preisklasse ist das aber auch nicht ungewöhnlich. Die 16MP Frontkamera hat POCO oben mittig in einem Punch-Hole versteckt.

POCO M4 Pro: Display

Wir bleiben auch beim 6,6 Zoll LC-Display, das mit 1080 x 2400 Pixel auflöst und 399 PPI erreicht. Im direkten Vergleich mit dem POCO M3 Pro, das durch die geringere Bildschirmdiagonale und gleicher Auflösung auf 405 PPI kommt, ändert sich trotz weniger PPI des POCO M4 Pro nichts an der Schärfe der Darstellung. Besonders flüssig wird die Darstellung durch die 90 Hz Bildwiederholrate. Wer sich nach dem ersten Starten wundert, wieso das Display sich rucklig anfühlt, der sollte schnellstmöglich in die Displayeinstellungen wechseln.

POCO M4 Pro 5G Display von oben

Unser Testgerät war standardmäßig auf 60 Hz eingestellt. Wählt man 90 Hz aus, macht sich der Unterschied sofort bemerkbar. Gleichzeitig reduziert die höhere Bildwiederholrate aber auch die Akkulaufzeit. Um den entgegenzuwirken, passt das Smartphone die Bildwiederholrate dynamisch (50, 60 und 90 Hz) an Inhalte an. Die Abtastrate liegt bei 240 Hz, wodurch der Touchscreen schnell und präzise arbeitet.

Obwohl das POCO M4 Pro kein AMOLED Display besitzt, sind die Farben angenehm knackig und der Kontrast gut. Den erweiterten DCI-P3 Farbraum deckt das POCO M4 Pro mittlerweile ab. Der Farbraum spielt vor allem in der US-amerikanischen Filmproduktion eine entscheidende Rolle. Ebenfalls unterstützt wird Widevine L1, sodass sich Netflix, Disney+ und andere Streaming-Dienste in hoher Auflösung streamen lassen. Individuelle Einstellungen zur Darstellung können über die Displayeinstellungen vorgenommen werden. Hierin unterscheidet sich das POCO M4 Pro nicht von anderen Mittelklasse-Smartphones.  Neben der (adaptiven) Helligkeitsanpassung hat man die Wahl zwischen einem Tageslicht- und einem Dunkelmodus und man kann die Farben in 3 vorgegebenen Farbprofilen anpassen.

Die Helligkeit des Displays genügt gerade so, um das Display bei Sonnenschein einigermaßen ablesen zu können. Knallt die Sonne direkt auf das Display, dann hilft selbst der Sonnenlichtmodus nicht mehr, der die Displayhelligkeit nochmals erhöht. Schuld ist auch das stark spiegelnde Displayglas. Andere Smartphones in dieser Preisklasse sind bei diesem Punkt aber auch nicht besser oder schlechter.

POCO M4 Pro: Leistung und Benutzeroberfläche

Angetrieben wird das POCO M4 Pro von einem MediaTek Dimensity 810 Chip, der eine 8-Kern CPU (2 x 2.4 GHz Cortex-A76 & 6 x 2.0 GHz Cortex-A55), eine Mali-G57 MC2 GPU und ein 5G-Modem umfasst. Im Vergleich zum Dimensity 700 des POCO M3 Pro hat der Chip eine geringfügig höhere CPU-Leistung und ist im effizienteren 6nm-Verfahren gefertigt. Die Details seht ihr oben in der Tabelle. In den Benchmarks macht sich dieser Unterschied allerdings kaum bemerkbar. Im Alltag erst recht nicht.

POCO M4 Pro 5G Rückseite von oben

Beim Speicher hat man die Wahl zwischen 4+64GB oder 6+128GB. Der Arbeitsspeicher ist vom Typ LPDDR4X, der Datenspeicher vom Typ UFS2.2. Im Test zeigten beide Speicher hohe Schreib- und Leseraten. Im Alltag gibt das POCO M4 Pro eine gute Figur ab. Die auf Android 11 basierende MIUI 12.5 Benutzeroberfläche reagiert schnell und ist flüssig bedienbar, Apps öffnen ohne größere Ladezeiten und auch im Speicher werden bereits geöffnete Apps lange gehalten.

In Mobile Games macht sich bemerkbar, dass das POCO M4 Pro kein High-End Gerät ist. Wer gerne anspruchsvolle Spiele zockt, muss die Grafikdetails runterschrauben. Auf niedriger Detailstufe sind die meisten Spiele allerdings flüssig spielbar. Die Hitzeentwicklung hat POCO im Griff. Thermal Throttling, also das Heruntertakten der Leistung, tritt nicht auf.

MIUI 12.5 kommt nicht nur bei Geräten von Xiaomi, sondern auch bei POCO zum Einsatz. Die Benutzeroberfläche ist übersichtlich aufgebaut und besonders funktionsreich. Mit Hilfe umfangreicher Themes lässt sich das Design (Icons, Hintergründe, Effekte) individuell anpassen. Auf nervige Drittanbieter-Apps und Spiele hat POCO leider nicht verzichtet. Über die App-Einstellungen lassen sich die ungewollten Apps allerdings deinstallieren.

Daneben gibt es aber auch eine Reihe nützlicher Tools, wie z.B. einen QR-Code Scanner, ein UKW-Radio, eine Bildschirmaufnahmefunktion, einen Split-Screen-Modus und erweiterte Datenschutzeinstellungen. Verknüpft man das Smartphone mit einem Mi-Konto, dann hat man Zugriff auf weitere Xiaomi Dienste, wie z.B. der Xiaomi Cloud. Ein Update auf Android 12 wird mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit im Laufe des nächsten Jahres erscheinen.

POCO M4 Pro: Kamera

POCO hat bei der Kamera den Rotstift angesetzt und den Marko- und Tiefensensor des POCO M3 Pro gestrichen und dafür im POCO M4 Pro neben der neuen Hauptkamera eine 8MP Ultraweitwinkelkamera verbaut.

Nachtrauern sollte man den gestrichenen Sensoren allerdings nicht, denn weniger ist hier mehr. Die beiden 2MP Sensoren des POCO M3 Pro sind viel mehr Verschwendung, als dass die einen größeren Nutzen mit sich bringen. Eine 8MP Ultraweitwinkelkamera ist hier deutlich vorteilhafter (sofern die Aufnahmequalität stimmt).

POCO M4 Pro 5G Kamera

Die Hauptkamera des POCO M4 Pro verwendet den gleichen 50MP Samsung ISOCELL S5KJN1 Bildsensor, der bereits im Redmi 10 (unser Test) verbaut wurde. Der Sensor macht dabei von Samsungs Tetracell Technologie (Pixel-Binning) gebrauch, die vier einzelne Pixel zu einem großen Pixel vereint.

Die Auflösung der Bilder reduziert sich dadurch zwar um ein Viertel, die Technologie verbessert jedoch den Signal-Rauschabstand und sorgt für eine höhere Lichtempfindlichkeit, was in (theoretisch) besseren Aufnahmen bei Nacht resultiert. Folgende Bilder wurden mit der Hauptkamera aufgenommen.

Die Hauptkamera ist in der Lage gute Bilder aufzunehmen. Farben sind nicht übersättig und wirken realitätsnah. Überzeugen kann die Hauptkamera auch in Sachen Bildschärfe und Dynamikumfang. Der Auto-HDR-Modus muss sich so gut wie gar nicht dazuschalten. Bildrauschen macht sich bei guten Lichtverhältnissen nicht bemerkbar. Nehmen die Lichtverhältnisse ab, wird der Rauschanteil im Bild zwar weiterhin gering gehalten, die Bildschärfe nimmt jedoch ab und Farben werden zunehmend blass. Der Nachtmodus kann das Ergebnis einigermaßen retten.

Positiv überrascht hat die Ultraweitwinkelkamera, die bis zu den Rändern hin unverzerrte und scharfe Bilder produziert. Farben und Detailgrad stimmen hier ebenfalls und mit kontrastreichen Szenen kommt die Kamera gut zurecht. Im Dunkeln wird die Ultraweitwinkelkamera jedoch zunehmend unbrauchbar.

POCO M4 Pro: Mobilfunk

Mobilfunk

Das POCO M3 Pro war eines der ersten Smartphones, das schnellen 5G Mobilfunk in die günstige Mittelklasse brachte. Das POCO M4 Pro setzt daran an und ist ebenfalls in der Lage zu schnellem 5G-Mobilfunk zu verbinden. Das ist sogar auf beiden SIM-Karten-Slots möglich (Dual-Standby). Neben 5G werden selbstverständlich auch 4G (LTE), 3G und 2G unterstützt. Hier eine Übersicht zu den vorhandenen Frequenzen und Bändern:

  • GSM: 850/900/1800/1900
  • WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
  • FDD LTE: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B17B20/B28/B32/B66
  • TDD LTE: B38/B40/B41
  • 5G NSA/SA: n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/77/78

Der Mobilfunk-Empfang des POCO M4 Pro ist gut. Unerwartete Netzabbrüche oder Instabilitäten sind im Vodafone-Netz nicht aufgetreten. Gespräche lassen sich sowohl über den Hörer, als auch über die Freisprechfunktion, in guter Qualität führen. VoLTE und VoWiFi werden unterstützt.

POCO M4 Pro 5G SIM-Karteneinschub

WLAN und Bluetooth

Im WLAN (Dual-AC) ist das POCO M4 Pro schnell unterwegs und überzeugt durch einen hohen Datendurchsatz und eine stabile Reichweite. Bluetooth steht in Version 5.1 zur Verfügung.

GPS und Sensoren

Navigieren stellt für das POCO M4 Pro ebenfalls keine Hürde dar. Das GPS-Modul findet schnell genügend Satelliten um die Position bis auf wenige Meter Genauigkeit zu bestimmen. Im Auto wird das Signal konstant gehalten. Neben GPS werden die Satellitennavigationssysteme Galileo, GLONASS und Compass (Beidou) unterstützt.

Die weitere Sensorik umfasst einen Umgebungslichtsensor, einen E-Kompass, ein Gyroskop, einen Beschleunigungssensor und einen IR-Blaster. Hat man die Fernbedienung des Fernsehgeräts verlegt, kann man mit Hilfe des IR-Blasters bzw. Infrarot-Senders, den Fernseher steuern. Hierfür wird lediglich eine App (z.B. Mi Remote Controller) benötigt, die man sich kostenfrei im Google PlayStore herunterladen kann.

Fingerabdruckscanner und NFC

Der Fingerabdruckscanner befindet sich seitlich in der Einschalttaste. Das Smartphone lässt sich hierüber schnell entsperren. Die Erkennungsrate ist gut. Ebenfalls mit an Bord ist NFC. Bezahldienstleister wie Google Pay werden unterstützt.

Audio

Der Stereo-Lautsprecher verrichtet gute Arbeit. Der Klang ist oben wie unten ausbalanciert und erreicht eine hohe Lautstärke. Wie aus der Blechdose klingt der Stereo-Lautsprecher des POCO M4 Pro jedenfalls nicht. Tiefen kommen einigermaßen gut zur Geltung und auch die Höhen werden gut abgedeckt. Was etwas verschwimmt sind die Mitten, was vor allem bei Gesang deutlich wird, der teils verwaschen klingt.

POCO M4 Pro 5G Rückseite mit Kamera

Auch wenn viele Nutzer mittlerweile auf kabellose Kopfhörer umgestiegen sind, ist der 3.5 mm Klinkenanschluss erfreulicherweise weiterhin vorhanden.

Akku

Der 5000 mAh Akku des POCO M4 Pro bringt einen sicher über den Tag. Sogar mehr als 2 Tage Laufzeit sind realistisch, sofern man zu den sparsamen Nutzern zählt, die das Smartphone hauptsächlich zum Telefonieren, WhatsAppen und Webbrowsing benutzen. Der Verbrauch im Standby bzw. über Nacht ist mit nur wenigen Prozentpunkten überaus gering.

Im Test haben wir natürlich auch die 33 Watt Schnellladefunktion überprüft. Komplett entladen war der Akku nach exakt 63 Minuten wieder auf 100 Prozent geladen. Das ist sehr nah an den 59 Minuten, die POCO bewirbt. Hängt man das Smartphone für nur 30 Minuten an den Strom, springt die Prozentanzeige bereits auf 55 Prozent.

Kabelloses Laden wird nicht unterstützt. Obwohl so gut wie nirgendwo erwähnt, unterstützt das POCO M4 Pro sogenanntes „Reverse.Charging“. Dadurch verhält sich das Smartphone wie eine Powerbank und lädt in umgekehrte Richtung den Akku anderer Geräte auf.

Preisvergleich

iconEuropäisches Warenlager
iconLieferzeit 2-5 Werktage
199,00€
Bewertung
Positiv

Ansprechendes Design und gute Verarbeitung
Gute Performance im Alltag
Schneller microSD-Slot
Haupt- und Frontkamera bei guten Lichtverhältnissen
NFC für mobiles Bezahlen
Stereo-Lautsprecher und Klinkenanschluss
5G Mobilfunk
Hervorragende Akkulaufzeit

Negativ

Kein wirklich hervorstechendes Highlight
Kamera ohne viel Schnickschnack (4K etc.)

Fazit

In der Preisklasse unter 200 Euro ist das POCO M4 Pro eines der wenigen Smartphones, das mit schnellem 5G Mobilfunk aufwarten kann. Das 90 Hz Display ist von guter Qualität und überzeugt in der Darstellung. Die Leistung des Dimensity 810 Chips ist völlig ausreichend für alltägliche Aufgaben. In anspruchsvollen Mobile Games stößt der Chip allerdings schnell an seine Grenzen. Die Kamera hat funktional zwar wenig zu bieten, bei guten Lichtverhältnissen nimmt die 50MP Hauptkamera allerdings ordentliche Fotos und Videos auf.

NFC für mobiles Bezahlen und der große 5000 mAh Akku samt Schnellladefunktion runden den insgesamt positiven Eindruck ab. Ein hervorstechendes Highlight sucht man allerdings vergebens. Das macht aber auch nichts, denn in seiner Preisklasse ist das POCO M4 Pro dennoch ein gut ausgestattetes Smartphone, für das wir ohne Bedenken eine Empfehlung aussprechen können.

8.3
Unsere Bewertung
Überblick
Hersteller

POCO

Modell

POCO M4 Pro

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: MediaTek Dimensity 810
GPU: Mali-G57 MC2
RAM: 4GB / 6GB LPDDR4X
Interner Speicher: 64GB / 128GB UFS2.2
Speichererweiterung: Ja

Display
Displaydiagonale: 6,6 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 2400 x 1080 Pixel
Displayfrequenz: 90 Hz
Displayhelligkeit: 450 nit
Displaytyp: IPS
Displayschutz: Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Abtastrate: 240 Hz

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 50 MP (f/1.8 Blende )
Ultraweitwinkelkamera: 8 MP (119° - f/2.2 Blende)

Frontkamera: 16 MP (f/2.45 Blende)

Netz
Dual-SIM: Ja
SIM-Größe: Nano SIM
eSIM: Nein

GSM: 850/900/1800/1900
WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B8
FDD LTE: B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B17B20/B28/B32/B66
TDD LTE: B38/B40/B41
5G NSA/SA: n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/77/78

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth: 5.1
GPS: Ja
NFC: Ja

Sensoren
*Umgebungslichtsensor
*Beschleunigungssensor
*Näherungssensor
*E-Kompass
*Gyroskop
*Fingerabdrucksensor
*IR-Blaster

Akku
Akku: 5.000 mAh
Schnellladefunktion: 33 Watt
Qi-Laden: Nein

Sonstige
Betriebssystem: Android 11 (MIUI 12)
Audio: 3.5mm Kopfhörer / Stereo-Lautsprecher
Anschluss: USB-C
Größe: 163,56 × 75,78 × 8,75 mm
Gewicht: 195g

Mehr von POCO

POCO X3 Pro HeaderPOCO X3 Pro Header

News

POCO ist bekannt für viel Leistung zum kleinen Preis. Das POCO X3 Pro ist das erste Mittelklasse-Smartphone, das auf den neuen Snapdragon 860 SoC...

Werbung

Geekbuying Black Friday Sale Sidebar

Banggood Black Friday Sale Sidebar